DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Fantasy Craft NPC Builder
by max l. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/09/2009 04:01:56
both products the "npc stat converter" and the "web npc builder" work very well! the npc builder is an awesome online tool to create FantasyCraft monsters. since the npc system lets you create monsters that can be scaled for an threat lvl. , you need to convert your stats into the appropriate in game lvl. you want. the stat converter will manage this for you and turn your npc stats into a "ready to play" npc stat block.
i wish more companies would offer such useful GM freebies!!!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Craft NPC Builder
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fantasy Craft Second Printing
by Kyle H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/27/2009 15:06:35
FantasyCraft is a true epic fantasy game, with streamlined, yet detailed and flexible, combat rules.

At nearly 16,000 possible character combinations, FantasyCraft provides 100x the options for starting characters than D&D 3.5 or 4th edition, due to its Origin system.

FantasyCraft lists 12 distinct non-human species, which is double what D&D 3.5 offered. There is no half-this or half-that, which I find refreshing, as it opens up species which I have not seen readily available to play, such as Drakes.

Humans have 25 talents to choose from, which are one-word adjectives that define who your character is. These really help distinguish starting characters from one another, along with specialties.

In addition, all characters get to choose a specialty for their character. These define your character’s role, as much as the class you pick. Each provides an assortment of abilities tailored for that role. Among the lists are each of the D&D 3.5 base classes, as they are so weaksauce that they’re only a specialty, and you should go pick a real class.

The classes have a wider variety than D&D 3.5 or 4th edition offers, with each one unique and distinct.

Mages have access to all spells, including healing, which follows almost all fantasy settings not based on D&D. Priests gain abilities based on their path (faith), which can include spells, but not always. A priest can be used to emulate a “witch doctor” quite easily.

The only issue I have with the system is that it encourages most of the non-human Species to follow the iconic roles their species does best.

It is a wonderful book from cover to cover. With being a player’s guide, gm’s reference, and bestiary all in one, it is well worth having.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Craft Second Printing
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fantasy Craft Second Printing
by max l. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/25/2009 11:49:33
FC is the most extensive toolbox for d20 fantasy gaming I know of. There is enough material within these 400 pages to fill 2 player’s guides, a dm guide and a monster manual. It also includes a npc generation system that beats everything I have ever seen. I really can’t imagine a monster type you can’t build with this system. The system is flexible enough to play any fantasy setting I know of, from all the classic D&D settings to 7hsea or Warhammer, just pick what you like.
Classes: 12 of them+Expert and Master classes! This chapter gives you classes that can build nearly any fantasy char you want.
It’s more versatile than other systems and classes offer more options.
Origins=Race: 24 different human species talents!! 12 other fantasy races!! Races in FC are stronger than other d20 races. That means a dwarven warrior is something completely different than a human warrior throughout all lvls.
Specialty: resembles the background your char comes from (barbarian, aristocrat, artist, archer…). Among other things it gives you an additional starting feat.
Feats:
Lots of them! FC feats are all about giving your char tricks and stances. There is no boring feat like “you get a plus 1 bonus”. Every feat gives you something special and crunchy. If you’d like to play a classic d20 setting like the Realms or Eberron, these feats will enable you to do so (in my opinion better than the 3.5 system)
Skills:
The best d20 skill system, I have used so far. Fast and streamlined but also detailed enough to make building weapons and other stuff an interesting part of the game instead of a boring single dice roll
Every skill is mechanically useful; a Halfling cook can buff his teammates with a nice breakfast.
Magic: Spellcasting requires a Spellcasting skill check. Spells cost Spellpoints which are gained by several sources. 0 lvl spells cost no Spellpoints, so casters have an endless pool of cantrips. Saving throws against spells are DC 10 + the caster’s charisma
modifier + the caster’s number of Spellcasting feats.
Gear:
My favorite chapter, lots of weapons! While most d20 weapons simply do dmg, different weapon qualities ensure that every weapon has different effects. That means weapons differ al lot more than only by means of dmg and crit range. The damage reduction of armor in combination with different armor piercing values makes weapons and armor much more fun and interesting.
Reputation and Prizes:
In short: players need to spend reputation they earn through completing adventures to be able to buy and create magic weapons. This works also for holdings and contacts (-_ could be a source that sells potions).
Renown is also bought with reputation, and resembles your social status. This is important to call in Favors (combat training, blessings, hirelings…)
Keep in mind that these rules can also be excluded from the game.
Combat:
If you are familiar with d20 combat, you will easily find your way in this chapter. It focuses more on playability than realism, it’s fast and tactical. You can plan ambushes with tactics checks (skill) and teamwork can be improved with feats.
Worlds:
This is a DM chapter, it gives you everything you’d expect from a DM guide, but due to the Mastercraft system, I think the game is better manageable for the dm. (Action Dice, giving Reputation…)

To summarize: I don’t think I’ll ever play another d20 fantasy system than FantasyCraft!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Craft Second Printing
by Rodrigo J. R. T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2009 01:39:03
I really think this book is great!!

As mentioned by others:
*** An excelent system to create NPCs
*** FEATs again are escencial.
*** NOT a hack an slash system (but can be if u want)
*** 3 new very interesting things: Reputation, Lifestyle and action dices!!!

The only thing Im not very "happy" or maybe dont find the correct form is the magic for the mage.

I didnt find any restriction to know spells then a mage healer is posible and with divine assistance...
but I think the rules are so flexible that I can say (as a DM or GM lol) what kind of magic any one can use!!!

Excellent work 5 stars is correct!!!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Craft Second Printing
by Derek H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/12/2009 21:11:25
Hoping that I could find a good middle ground between what 3.5 did right, what 4e fixed, and avoiding what 4e broke, I bought Fantasy Craft. I was not disappointed, and was in fact given more for my money than I had dared to hope for. Ridiculously diverse races and classes, the ability to run any kind of adventure at any level due to sliding monster stats, a great gear system, are great points of the book. But the big thing is only when you've taken in the whole package, just well-thought-out and obviously extensively playtested rules throughout the book have removed all of those strange quirks you saw in 3.5, and the balance is just great. The only thing I found wrong was that a couple skills have been split, but some others have been logically joined together and everyone has tons of skill points, so the impact of this little bit of strangeness is minimized. Highly recommended.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Craft Second Printing
by Joshua K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/12/2009 11:56:49
After giving D&D 4th Ed. a go, and giving it up in complete disillusionment, I looked forward to FantasyCraft. I was not disappointed in the slightest.

The book's already many classes are easily customized with Specialties to bring an entirely new flavor to the character, like the old 'class kits'. Instead of ECLs we have special abilities granted by feats, bringing user-friendliness to a lot of popular character types.

The NPC creation system allows an adventure to be scaled quickly and easily to any character Level. And the Reputation system helps GMs control the 'magic item lottery' that focuses too many fantasy games on all the magic 'bling' the characters can accumulate, and not on their innate skills.

Finally, the system actively encourages tweaking, through the use of campaign qualities. Want a historical game and no magic? Easily do-able. Want characters to have more/less feats, skill points, critical hits? All easily done.

All in all, I can't recommend FantasyCraft too highly.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Craft Second Printing
by Raymond K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2009 11:21:27
FantasyCraft, a Crafty-Games game. A D20-based Fantasy-genre RPG. In an already crowded category, I won't post that this book features Dragons and Elves. At this point, what book doesn't? I WILL, however, what makes me choose FantasyCraft over the various other options.

1. The Skill System: FantasyCraft's skill system, while still very familiar to the D20 formula, is a staple within the engine. Not a small sidenote to accent your character's Damage-per-round like in other systems, but an actual fleshed out system to handle everything (and probably thensome) of what a character would want to do.

2. The NPC creation system. Remember spending hours upon hours trying to drudge up and balance NPCs in other systems? The mind-numbing death spiral of time spent that went into creating 'bosses' for your group to fight? Not any more! FantasyCraft's NPC system is, perhaps, the most fluid, easy to use system I've ever seen. The NPC design scales (almost effortlessly) to fit the party. ..and it's actually FUN (again..) to create NPCs!
2b. OGL Monster Conversion. Want to toss in your favorite D20 monster? Worried about how X ability will match up in
FantasyCraft? They did the worrying for you. The OGL conversion chart is amazingly verbose and flexible.

3. Cheating Death. It's an optional rule within the book aimed at preserving the player's character, but at the same time creating a DM twist. The optional rule is almost worth the price of the book alone! lol. Okay, maybe not that drastic, but 'Cheating Death' is very unqiue and very fun.

4. For the newbies out there, the book will help you flesh out your own Fantasy World even if this is your very first venture into RPGs.

5. Feats. Just like in Spycraft, the Feats in FantasyCraft are one of the strongest character options to date. It gives your player tricks, tools and a flair that most other systems just don't bother with.

6. RPG friendly. That may venture the question, "How can an RPG book be RPG unfriendly?" Well... just look at other systems. It treats RPGing as second nature, and merely a small diversion to hacking and slashing. In FantasyCraft, your skills and your imagination can lead the way. Not everything is about Damage....

I could go on and on, but those are my main positives on FantasyCraft without spoiling the entire book. All in all, it's an amazing product that'll rekindle your "want" to play a Fantasy RPG. (...and minis are optional...)

5 Stars out of 5. And that's from a guy who didn't enjoy FantasyRPG 3.X.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Craft Second Printing
by Ronald W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2009 09:12:21
FantasyCraft is another great roduct from the folks at Crafty Games. The game is the first to be published under the "MasterCraft" system logo and let me tell you, it is top of the line.
My favorite part of the book is chapter 6: Foes. It allows you to build any type of npc that you can dream up. The OGL conversion section makes me glad that I never threw out my 3.x monster manuals. If you are familiar with the excellent SPYCRAFT game system then you know what I am talking about.
I pre ordered the print version of this game through my FLGS. Being able to see the finished product before hand is just an added bonus. Thanks CRAFTY!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Spellbound: The Seer
by max l. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2009 14:05:39
Spellbound presents the magic engine for Spycraft. Every pdf contains all the rules, including spells that you need to play the presented class and school of magic. The system is easy and fast but more variable and balanced than other d20 systems. Spellcasting classes can wear armor without penalty, which means that they do not suck completely in non-magical combat like in many other d20 systems. Also you have an unlimited number of lvl. 0 spells! You get access to the Spellcasting Skill, which works like any other skill accept that it is limited to magic users. The higher the spell you want to cast the higher the dc.
This pdf contains the Seer which, simply put, is a Gandalf like class. The pure beauty of Spellbound is that a sorcery class like the Seer is as useful and fun to play, as a very offensive caster like the Channeler.
I’m very satisfied with this product; so far it is the best d20 magic system I know.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Spellbound: The Seer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Origin of the Species: Transmechs Revised
by Carl A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/03/2009 15:46:29
I bought this shortly after I received the email about the release and though I was skeptical, I'm glad I bought it. The rules are quite well done and balanced. The feats do a good job of covering all the bases without eating up too many of your precious feat slots. So far, this is the best system I've seen for role playing the Transformers.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Origin of the Species: Transmechs Revised
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Origin of the Species: Transmechs Revised
by Marcin S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/02/2009 06:53:38
I was quite surprised by the unannounced release of this toolkit. After buying it I must say that it almost completely covers the Transformers, with their sometimes unique technology. Included are feats that allow the creation of combiners, pretenders, triple-changers etc. The only missing element are the headmasters (and all other "masters"), but their inclusion would probably require more rules to make them work.

This high quality pdf is a must for every transformers fan/spycraft gamer.
For it's price it includes more than enough for several campaigns filled with gigantic transforming robots.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Origin of the Species: Transmechs Revised
by Marc R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2009 07:44:34
It should first be noted that I am not at all familiar with how Spycraft has been altered since it's d20 roots, or even just Spycraft in general. I bought this product mainly for the NPCs. Only problem with that being: they are all but unusable for normal d20. As I apparently now know, Spycraft is not backwards compatible with general OGL / d20 products. As such, I'd have to ay I was disappointed to say the least. If you play Spycaft, this might be worth getting, but otherwise.... Avoid.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Spycraft 2.0 Control Screen
by Ronald W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2009 08:58:58
If you run Spycraft 2.0 then you will find this product vey helpful. Everything that you need right away is right in front of you.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Spycraft 2.0 Control Screen
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Classic Spycraft: Fixer/Pointman Class Guide
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/06/2009 08:55:36
This is a solid contribution to the Spycraft line, with plenty of 'core' rules material over and above the expected detail aimed particularly at Fixer and Pointman characters.

The Introduction spells out the rationale between the pairing of these two core classes in this book. The Fixer and the Pointman are the archetype 'spies' - the people who undertake infiltration missions, who conduct the essential tradecraft activities like dead-drops and brush passes, who play the Great Game through anything from threats through burglary to bribery. Suitably, then, the rules section concentrates on providing the necessary information to simulate the practice of tradecraft in your game. There's a lot of information to assimilate, and most should be read by both GCs and players - particularly those who have Fixer or Pointman levels.

The first chapter contains several new prestige classes, which are of use to any agent but particularly, of course, Fixers and Pointmen. The first is the Cleaner - a genius at clearing up, making things (and people) disappear. Then there is the Courier, a specialist in transporting information and small items across the most tightly-controlled borders. They are experts in international travel as well as in protecting the item he's carrying. The Forward is a scout, a 'forward observer' in military parlance, able to operate on his own deep in enemy territory to identify target locations for further investigation (or desctruction) by other members of the team. They are taelented in surveillance and in the use of electronic devices including unmanned drones.

The Goodfella knows his way around organised crime, having good contacts if not actual membership within Triad, Yakuza clan or Mafia family (organisation must be chosen when this Prestige Class is taken). They are good with smooth talk and more strong-arm tactics, using both with equal facility to achieve their objectives. The Grifter is also a criminal, but of a lesser order - his specialty is street crime and casual opportunist theft. They are good at quick searches of premises, finding whatever cash or information is there, however well hidden; and they are past masters at 'acquiring' useful items although it's wise not to enquire too closely as to where the Grifter obtained it! The Inventor is a cunning chap who can manufacture seemingly anything out of any old junk - the epitome of the old TV show "The A-Team" where you could lock them in a shed and they'd come out with an armoured car blazing away. These fellows will end up running your 'Q Branch' when they retire from active service. The Ninja specialises in stealthy infiltration and sheer physical violence. An Officer is a leader type, able to interact with the hierarchy of command and manipulate it to his advantage. They can inspire their team to great heights of achievement. The Provocateur is a more indirect sort of fellow. They are archetypal 'wasps' - small and irritating, able to sow chaos amongst the enemy often by indirect and sneaky means; and masters of psychological warfare ('Psy-Ops'). The Ranger is an expert in wilderness operations, able to survive and continue the mission in the most hostile of conditions. The Saboteur is the demolitions specialist, being able to create improvised explosive devices or disarm other people's bombs with equal ease. The Smuggler is another one good at moving stuff around, especially into and out of places he shouldn't. While you might think this sounds very much like the Courier, the Smuggler is better with large items, and he's also good at finding items and more unusual modes of transportation.

Chapter 2 is entitled 'New Rules' - and contains new departments and backgrounds, some new feats and ideas for new ways to use existing skills. It also looks at the existing departments from the standpoint of a Fixer or Pointman, explaining how such a character would fit in and explain his background.

The 2 backgrounds are a bit vague. One is 'Liaison' - taking this means that you have a reputation as a negotiator, the more points spent increases the importance and mutual hostility of the groups you are known to. It's not really clear how it can be used within a game, though, except possibly as a bit of flavour. The other is that GC's dream - the character is wanted for some crime, which they may or may not have actually committed. The more points spent, the more serious the crime, the more determined those hunting for the character are and the more severe the consequences if caught. That said, most groups I've run games for have developed their own list of crimes for which they are wanted very quickly without the need for expenditure of skill points!

The Departments section first runs through the existing (D0 to The Basement) ones from the core rulebook, explaining why each might be interested in recruiting potential Fixers and Pointmen to their ranks; and then moves on to a vast range of new Departments which a new character can choose from. Perhaps you are a Freelancer, an independent operator who has been recruited by whatever agency the game is built around, or at the other extreme some agencies adopt Orphans and raise them to be agents. Or you may be a Search & Rescue specialist, recruited for your expertise under hazardous conditions and talent for emergency medicine... or even a Thrill Seeker whose exploits have attracted attention. More detail is given on Organised Crime as a 'Department' (where you might have a background in the Mafia from one of a range of locations, a South American cartel, a street gang, a Chinese Triad or the Japanese Yakuza). More legitimate recruits may come from a Special Operations unit - examples given are the South African 1st Recce Regiment, French GIGN, Colombia's Lanceros, China's Special Operations Force, US Navy SEALs, the British SAS (who, despite the error in the core rulebook are an army regiment not part of the air force!) or the Russian Spetznaz. In the real world, it's unlikely that anyone from one of these units would join the intelligence services of any but their own nation; but you may decide that things are different in your game - or be forming an international unit in which such varying backgrounds only serve to add flavour.

The next section runs through some new uses for existing skills... such as using Bluff to pretend to be a law enforcement officer and so commandeer someone's vehicle for your own use! Or maybe your Craft specialisation is in the manufacture and safe use of poison. Maybe your Hobby is hypnosis (someone used this on my character very effectively in a Shatterzone game...) or a Professional Smuggler can use his skill and contacts to turn a few (dis)honest pennies on the side, or arrange to piggy-back his mission on an existing shipment of goods.

Two new Combat Actions are then presented: Threaten and Trick. Both are half actions. Threaten, if used successfully, has an adverse effect on your opponent's morale; while Trick enables you - the actual mechanism whereby this is accomplished as opposed to the rule is not clear - to deal subdual damage without striking your target.

Next comes the expected plethora of new Feats. There's a good range of covert feats like Aquatic Training (SCUBA, anyone?) or Firefighter Training (you don't suffer adverse effects from smoky environments, for example), or enhanced abilities at evading or setting security systems. There are gear feats relating to drones, electronic surveillance, explosives and poisons and new things you can add to the existing Safe House feat to make the place even more useful.

Scattered throughout this chapter there are sidebars on various things, like a few new equipment Bundles, rules for fencing stolen items, new ability options for Pointmen and Fixers and so on. However, after the Feats section, the main text turns to rules, the rules for running reconnaisance drones. This leads on to a whole array of new vehicle options, rules and gadgets; and then a collection of infiltration gear. I am not sure how all the devices are supposed to work in the real world, but their use as game abstractions of infiltration techniques could be useful!

The next chapter is possibly the most useful - Tradecraft! Herein are presented game rules for conducting ambushes, brainwashing people, harassment and even interrogation. While ambushes and harassment are presented as tasks that the agents can undertake, for some reason these rules assume that the PC agents are the targets of any interrogation attempt - they obviously haven't met my agents who are extremely fond of interrogating any of my NPCs that they can get their hands on! It's not too difficult to reverse the rules to cater for this, and the squeamish amongst us can be relieved that these are very abstract rules!

There's a very useful section on police operations, including likely agent actions that might trigger law enforcement interest as well as the resources and procedures available to local police officers. This provides some useful rules for conducting, for example, manhunts in search of the agents.... and like most of the rules, provide a quick means for abstraction if you do not wish to role-play events. There are also mechanics for making and using street contacts, cutting deals, etc.; but I feel that these are better role-played than abstracted.

The chapter ends with a useful collection of ready-made NPCs under the heading of Specialists and Street Contacts. Activists, athletes, con men, various experts, EMTs, journalists, lawyers and even a mistress can be supplied at the flip of a page!

The final chapter, Mission Guide, is aimed purely at GCs designing serials or whole campaigns. If you use the very mechanical Mastermind System to structure the opposition that the players will face, it gives you a whole range more options. If you don't, it's still worth a scan through to give you ideas for more 'artistic' plotting of your villains and their organisations. One useful bit is a selection of security systems complete with the relevant DCs for attempting to bypass, penetrate or defeat them... although I am not sure why it is easier to bypass a retinal scanner than it is to get past a swipe card reader! An oddity is a set of rules for 'streamlining' - read abstracting - an assault on an enemy facility. Surely that's the sort of thing that you'll want to play out in some detail, it's the core of any action game even if you want to skim through intelligence gathering and preparatory stages? Well, the option's there anyway.

Overall, the book is a useful addition to any Spycraft player's shelf, particularly for the additional classes, departments and feats. The latter parts run the risk of taking the ROLE-playing out of the game if followed too slavishly, but are good for ideas, particularly if you are the GC.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Classic Spycraft: Fixer/Pointman Class Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Spycraft 2.0 Rulebook - Second Printing
by Ronald W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/05/2009 08:51:48
Spycraft 2.0 is modern d20 at its best. The book is more like a huge toolkit that provides for your every need.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Spycraft 2.0 Rulebook - Second Printing
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 91 to 105 (of 160 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates