DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
WBO03: Tower of Boon Companions
by James S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/15/2015 06:31:16

Small Niche Games is known for fantastic old school adventures. Inn of Lost Heroes, Pyramid of the Dragon, and Shrine of St. Aleena are some of my personal favorites. Tower of the Boon Companions continues SNG's trend of taking classic fantasy gaming tropes and turning them on their ear. Nominally set in SNG's world of Amherth, Tower of Boon Companions is still very much a "drop in and play" module. In addition to providing a unique adventure to keep your players on their toes, it also gives a small bestiary of new monsters for your Swords and Wizardry WhiteBox campaign, a handful of new magic items and the thief class - the latter of which was originally found in the White Box Omnibus by Barrel Rider Games.


For three bucks, you get several nights of great adventure, a corral of new monsters, a new class, and brand new magic items (one of which could kick off an entire campaign). Well worth the price of admission.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WBO03: Tower of Boon Companions
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

WSS002: Gray Nebula: Crewmen, Con-Men, and Lawmen
by Jeff R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/28/2015 15:27:32

REVIEW
At 21 pages and a price $1.99 it is a good deal for three new classes. It is a must buy for the GM who the problem of Real Life getting in the way of gaming, which is most of us. To have classes that can be used for the campaign and fully statted NPCs with adventure hooks not only for the GM on a time budget but a good buy for the last minute game session ideas.


5/5 for saving the busy gamer some time and for helping out the GM fleshing out his or her game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WSS002: Gray Nebula: Crewmen, Con-Men, and Lawmen
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

WSS001: Star Gods Help Us
by Jeff R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/28/2015 12:52:29

Every gaming group has the player who's never satisfied with the core classes. You know the player that has to be different. This book is for them, and to save the GM from trying to shoehorn that player into playing something that they don’t want to play.
Star Gods Help Us is a POP cultured filled collection of new classes for that one player who just has to be different. It contains twelve (12) quirky race/class combinations including giant cockroach junkers, spiritual mammoths, living oozes, malfunctioning lawbots, zombie crewmen, and other bizarre creatures that will leave you shaking your head.
Here is a list of what mattered to me as a player and a GM, especially if you are new to White Star.
• Clocking in at $2.99 it’s a steal. Price 5/5
• Each of the 12 race/classes has art work that gives you an idea of the race’s looks 5/5
• Format for the class entries includes roleplaying tips and a typical Quote of the race. 5/5
• No Glaring typos or format errors 5/5 (please note I’m not a grammar specialist).
• Reference to pop culture that will make you laugh 5/5


This is a good humorous add on for your White Star rpg. The only thing that I thought was missing was the race/class combos for Dogs, Cats, Monkeys and Toads.
I did get a free copy for review, however it was on my buy list anyways because I am one of those players and GMs that like the chance to be silly and goofy.


At a 5/5 and $2.99 price go buy it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WSS001: Star Gods Help Us
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

WSS001: Star Gods Help Us
by Joe J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2015 12:25:11

Observers of pop culture from the 60s, 70s and 80s should recognize the inspiration for the twelve new classes contained within. Some of these go together thematically very well, like the zombie-like Zeddines and the butler like Gurches. For those players less concerned with achieving missions and more interested in silliness, a party of Radiobuddies, Gloops and Giltors will have trouble just getting organized to leave their own ship.


This collection strongly evokes a lot of the sci-fi silliness found in abundance within the pages of Dragon magazine and TSR's early catalog. The content and illustrations within this supplement are pitch-perfect. At $2.99, the PDF is a non-brainer.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
LLA006: The Shrine of St. Aleena
by Trevor h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/01/2015 22:04:13

I am currently running this for my players. They really enjoy it! This is a great little adventure! It has some great encounters in it that you can use before the party even gets to the meat of the actual adventure in the shrine, with plenty of npc characters. There is danger aplenty, but not to difficult for my group of second level characters. It is simple and easy to run..... which is perfect as I am just getting back into playing
again. Experienced DM' s should have no problem making this short adventure really shine!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
LLA006: The Shrine of St. Aleena
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

LLA005: The Stealer of Children
by Charlotte A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2015 22:26:10

A good module for beginner roleplayers. I DM'd with a party of 5 people who had never played before, using Labyrinth Lord. It's quite easy for the players as well as the DM which is ideal if you're just starting out. The whole story took about 3 hours. It is a very easy campaign but I would recommend it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
LLA005: The Stealer of Children
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TZE001: TROPES: Zombie Edition (PDF)
by Chad K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/07/2015 10:53:10

Awesome Zombie game! Quick, fun, easy! I have many zombie games AFMBE, Dead Reign, Rotworld, etc. These are great rules for a quick fun Zombie game. Not complicated, easy to learn. You can probably hand out the nice Player Sheets, pick a few characters, and start playing in about 15-30 minutes, even with someone new to RPG.
Includes different types of zombies from movies and video games.


Throw a few bucks to a fellow gamer and support TZE!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TZE001: TROPES: Zombie Edition (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

BTL005: Brave the Labyrinth - Issue #5 (PDF)
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/01/2015 14:45:07

'Brave The Labyrinth' is one of those OSR zines with so many varied uses its not even funny. I admit I haven't kept up with the zine as much as I should. In point of fact I haven't kept up as much as I should with as many of Goblinoid Games as I'd like to. This is one hell of a nice little resource zine and of exceptional quality with some great and varied content for the Labyrinth Lord game and 90% of the retroclones out on the market. This is a really packed piece of OSR gaming zine right here.
But what's in this issue of awesomeness? According to the blurb from Drivethrurpg :
Brave the Labyrinth is a quarterly fanzine published by Small Niche Games for the Labyrinth Lord™ roleplaying game community. It consists of fan-created material designed to cover all types of Labyrinth Lord™ and Advanced Edition Companion™ gaming.
In this Issue you get:
-a new demon lord - This is a really nice variation on the lords of the Abyss and a good contribution to a region where you can really vary the enemies.
-new elf variations - Yet more of these pointed eared PC favorites, these are always welcome and very nicely balanced.
-an amazing map of Andrel Castle - Sold map of a very cool adventure location
-sainted icons of the Church of Law and Order -Finally! Some very nice minions of the powers of Law! Very useful for my games.
-tools, keys, and magic items for thieves - Thief themed items that tie directly into the class. Very nicely done.
-three (3) new monsters - Monsters are always welcome and these are nicely balanced.
-a green wizard who sought to cheat death - Very cool.
-a review of the Caves of Ortok - A really nice overview of an adventure module that needs more spotlights on it. Hoping my players don't get a chance to read this overview because I so want to run it.
-artwork contributions by by JV West and Jim Wampler- Really nice pieces of artwork and old school inspiration.


All in all this to me is a really nice issue of Brave The Labyrinth and a pretty solid old school resource. There are several articles and entries here that tie directly into some of the campaigns I'm running. I think that this is well worth your time and energy to take a look into if your a DM with any interest in old school gaming. Small Niche games has consistently put out some quality products in the past and this is certainly among those in my opinion. Throw these folks a few gold pieces and get to using some great old school material.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
BTL005: Brave the Labyrinth - Issue #5 (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

COA03: Guidebook to the City of Dolmvay (Special Edition)
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/23/2015 10:21:25

This is about the Hard cover book, but the review I did for the PDF still applies.
Dolmvay is not only a highly detailed city complete with maps, npcs, new monsters and pretty much everything you need, it is also a shared city.


You get 260 pages worth of material; the original Dolmvay guide and the adventure "Oak Grove Whispers". There are the maps I mentioned, but there is also a fairly detailed history. You could easily drop this into any game, and let's be honest, any system. If you are familiar with other products from SNG then takes place in the World of Amherth setting. But this book (and most of the Amherth books) are easily adapted to any setting.


There is a chapter on adventuring in the city. How the local churches react to magic and what can be expected of travelling adventurers.
Makes it perfect for a way point between adventures, but you would be missing all the fun.
The book also details an number houses, factions and NPCs and their own desires for the city. If you like games of political intrigue and courtly drama then this is a good place to start.


The bulk of the book details the layout of the city. In this respect it reads like a guide book. NPCs, hooks and other information is given. There is plenty here for new GM to use it as is and plenty more for an experienced GM to add their own information.
It strikes a nice balance between detail and flexibility. Among my favorite items are the random rumor table and the common greetings and gestures. Things like this give a setting life of it's own.


Common businesses are covered as well as a sampling of Taverns and Inns. City encounters and even some new monsters.
Venture into the sewers or the Island of Heroes.


There is a section on random NPC generation as well.


Dolmvay the concept is the idea that this is a shared City. If developers want to create their own encounters, adventures or anything else really and set it in Dolmvay then there is an easy to use and free license to do so.
It is such a great idea I am surprised that no one else has done it before.


At $19.99 this book is steal. Really. I am not sure how they are making money on this. It's a think, full hardcover book priced like it was 1983.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
COA03: Guidebook to the City of Dolmvay (Special Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

BTL001: Brave the Labyrinth - Issue #1 (PDF)
by James W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/04/2015 15:15:20

Awesome zine for fans of old school play! The layout is clear and consistent and each issue brings you cool, useful things to use at your table. Right off the bat in issue #1 you get new spells and a new magic item all linked together thematically by way of a powerful and evil wizard. The description of the wizard is short and to the point. This is good stuff you can easily drop into any campaign with virtually no fuss. The issue also contains more magic items, a group of NPCs fully detailed, animal retainers, an awesome character sheet, cool map, full adventure by Dyson Logos (with awesome map), rules for eating candles (!), review, and the kitchen sink.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BTL001: Brave the Labyrinth - Issue #1 (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

COA03: Guidebook to the City of Dolmvay (PDF)
by Ralph G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/18/2014 12:39:16

Reminds me of some of the old Judge's Guild stuff, only better. (Remember the old newsprint JG used?) Can't wait to see what SNG comes out with next.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
COA03: Guidebook to the City of Dolmvay (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

P002: Time Of The Dying Stars: Book One (PDF)
by James S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2014 22:31:00

Pete Spahn's Time of the Dying Stars is a brisk, pulpy read with noir overtones set in the Small Niche Games setting of Amherth - more specifically, the City of Dolmvay. While this work of fiction stands on its own as an enjoyable, light read it also serves as a vehicle for enterprising game masters looking to infuse a bit of urban adventure into their Labyrinth Lord games. Spahn's stories are a kind of "lead by example," and the fiction presented here is ripe with story seeds, NPCs and plot hooks ripe for the picking. It's offered as a pay what you want product, but certainly worth a few bucks. When combined with his Guidebook to the City of Dolmvay, a campaign almost builds itself. Well worth a look.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
P002: Time Of The Dying Stars: Book One (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

COA03: Guidebook to the City of Dolmvay (PDF)
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/23/2014 22:07:56

WHAT WORKS: The bulk of the information is stat-free, so it is totally usable in just about any fantasy game, not just Labyrinth Lord, with virtually no problem. A great balance of detail and GM interpretation is presented as well. The fact that SNG not only allows, but encourages, other publishers to use the city is cool as well. And oh, dear God...I love random tables. Plus, it's Pay What You Want. Literally no reason not to check it out.


WHAT DOESN'T WORK: I am a big fan of the slightly Ravenloft-ish gothic horror vibe to the Small Niche Games adventures, and that vibe is almost completely absent from the Guidebook, which is a little disappointing.


CONCLUSION: As my eyes drift back more and more towards D&D and D&Desque games, The Chronicles of Amherth and the surrounding adventures all look very appealing to me, and The City of Dolmvay would be a pretty great jumping off point for that, as I have no issue going low magic. The random tables are great, and the history has a lot of callbacks to the earlier adventures in the series. It's pretty much recommended for any GM who is running a retroclone or any fantasy RPG on the lower end of the magic/power spectrum, especially since you can set the price (and for those who don't get how that works, you can "buy" it for nothing, then rebuy it for what you think is a fair price). Another great outing from Small Niche Games.


For my full review, please visit http://mostunreadblogever-
.blogspot.com/2014/05/tommys-take-on-guidebook-to-city-of.ht-
ml



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
COA03: Guidebook to the City of Dolmvay (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

COA03: Guidebook to the City of Dolmvay (PDF)
by Jim M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2014 02:17:08

The nuts and bolts of the Guidebook have been adequately covered by other reviews so I'll just cover what I like and dislike and why you should get it.


The book itself is similar to other SNG products in that it sits in the middle ground between amateurishly produced content and the overly slick output of the big boys. It has a very personal feel yet also has good production and presentation. The final product is easy to read and use in any form.


Every section has something of interest whether you plan to use it whole as part of the Amherth setting, plan to drop it into another world or even just use some of the parts.


The guidebook is large and contains a ton of material. The sewers alone could occupy a party for years! One of the best aspect of the books is the sheer number of NPCs to be found in the city. There are dozens and dozens of them and If you need more quickly the NPC generator will come in handy. Sometimes it seems people forget that RPG is ROLE PLAYING game and one meets too many cardboard cutouts. Not so in Dolmvay. Another unique feature is The Church. In my world there are lots of religions most of which are pretty informal and usually don't bather each other. Dolmvay, on the other hand, has a dominant religion that is not very tolerant of other faiths. This makes for a definite feel that is a distinguishing feature of the city. Think Medieval Catholic Church.


My only complaint is that I would have liked more maps. O.K. I admit that I'm a map nut, but I would have liked to see a map of the immediate area around the city and maybe a regional map. Those may be coming in a future SNG product.


So why should you get it? Because it's a ridiculously good deal. Where else can you get a 200+ page sourcebook for pay what you want? Through a strange twist of events I have the PDF, Softcover and Hardcover and can recommend any of the three. Just pick your price point.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Hi Jim! Yes, a regional map will be detailed in the upcoming Guidebook to the Duchy of Valnwall (which will also be funded through Kickstarter, hopefully!). I\'ll keep you posted. Thanks for taking the time to comment!
COA03: Guidebook to the City of Dolmvay (PDF)
by Shannon F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/19/2014 14:17:35

This supplement is fantastic. So much good information for DMs and Labyrinth Lords. A bargain.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Thanks!
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 42 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates