DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Barroom Brawls
by Paul K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/22/2015 09:42:09
This was my first purchase from Raging Swan Press, and if this is indicative of their products, I'll buy more. It's billed as a Pathfinder sourcebook, but it's general enough to be easily converted to other systems (I bought it for a 5e D&D game). Unlike some products, the tables and outcomes listed here are just the right mix of fun and realism and it helps give you a quick reference when running a tavern fight, or a good source of inspiration. It's very attractive, well organized, and easy to read. Really I have no complaints, other than the all-black front and back covers - I skipped those when printing to save ink :-) Well worth the $1.

Unfortunately for me, I had prepped what I had hoped to be an epic tavern brawl to introduce a new NPC. Instead, the party Druid shifted into a bear and stopped everything down before it could get started. Damn players never do what they're supposed to ;-)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Barroom Brawls
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks very much for the review, Paul. I much appreciate it and I\'m glad you enjoyed Barroom Brawls! I hope (eventually) your players get to enjoy them as well!
Urban Dressing: War-Torn Town
by John D H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2015 14:32:00
A well-presented helpful addition to any gamemasters bag of tricks, it contains settings, characters and many other things needed for the typical war-torn town to set into your campaign. It can used ahead of time or on the fly to add meat to your description of the town that your characters have come upon.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Urban Dressing: War-Torn Town
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks very much for the review, John. I\'m glad you enjoyed Urban Dressing: War-Torn Town!
GM's Monthly Miscellany: February 2015
by Alan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2015 05:49:38
Great little product (for the price!) I especially liked the random table for war torn villages. Thanks!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GM's Monthly Miscellany: February 2015
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks very much for the review, Alan! Much appreciated (and I\'m glad you enjoyed this instalment!)
Urban Dressing: Plague Town
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/18/2015 08:18:25
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This installment of what I'd tentatively call the "new" Urban Dressing-series clocks in at 12 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial/ToC, 1 page SRD, 1 page advertisement, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 7 pages of content, so let's take a look!



Josh Voght kicks off this installment of the new and improved urban dressing-series with a massive list of 100 sights and sounds - and, as ppropriate for a town struck by plague, what one can see is NOT pretty - abandoned children at the wayside, black-clad people on plague carts, pudgy pseudo-healer charlatans, clouds hanging ominously in eldritch patterns in the sky - even for Josh Vogts's admittedly pronounced talent for creating diverse lists like that, this one stands out. Take e.g. the observation that people who have caught a disease have their shadow point in the wrong direction - not that is class A creepy!



The second table covers 50 businesses, with macabre names like "Drink before you Die"-tavern and traumatised people like the taxidermist that wears a full-blown bearsuit, complete with claws and teeth. Once again, the table provides top-notch bleak and creep fodder for your adventures.



The third table, covering 50 folk, stand in no way behind these glorious tables - from aristocrats ousted from their homes, to mad-dog like psychos to head-stone carvers and tong-using, sadistic tax-collectors, the table is inspiring in all the right ways - not one entry left me cold. Not ONE.



The final table contains 20 hooks and complications, essentially providing great hooks - from a demographic strangely immune to the plague and thus potentially subject to persecution to PCs finding diseased meat in their food, civilians panicking about the dead rising to living people thrown into plague pits - the potential is vast!



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I noticed no glitches. Layout adheres to Raging Swan Press' 2-column b/w-standard and the artwork is thematically fitting b/w-stock. The pdf comes fully bookmarked and in two versions - one optimized for the printer and one optimized for screen-use.



OMG. I have a penchant for the macabre and for dark fantasy/horror and this urban dressing delivers in ALL the right ways. The tables are inspiring and whether you play "Seven Days to the Grave", "The Reaping Stone", the classic "Shades of Grey" or any other scenario featuring plagues (or a subdued endtimes vibe - not a band, but a whimper) - this pdf just blows it out of the park. Like Babe Ruth at the top of his game, this pdf hits every ball and knocks it out of the stadium. This is the best Urban Dressing Josh Vogt has delivered so far, the best in the whole series. Full blown must-have recommendation and final verdict of 5 stars + seal of approval!



Superb job!

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Urban Dressing: Plague Town
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

GM's Miscellany: Urban Dressing
by Karl K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/09/2015 14:37:08
GM’s Miscellany: Urban Dressing lived up to everything I had hope for! Awesome product! I love the 1st edition feel. Great info! Looking forward to more Raging Swan purchases in the near future.

A must buy for any DM/GM that runs Urban adventures! Makes running a trip to the city a breeze!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GM's Miscellany: Urban Dressing
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks so much for the review, Karl. I\'m delighted you\'ve found GM\'s Miscellany: Urban Dressing so useful!
Town Backdrop: Deksport
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/04/2015 06:38:31
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This pdf clocks in at a massive 37 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page advertisement, 1 page editorial, 1 page ToC, 1 page statblocks by CR-index, 1 page advice on how to read statblocks, 1 page SRD, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 30 pages of content, so let's take a look!



So, the pirate town of Deksport...wait, keep reading. No, this is no yet another (semi-)tropical pirate town à la Freeport or Port Shaw. Keep reading. So, Deksport is an isolated place - separated (hidden, one might even say) from the curious eyes of authority by the forest of grey spires, the place's immediate environments are not only lavishly detailed, they also sport 4 villages (I smell village backdrops!) and what amounts to the first hints of a mini-setting akin to the lonely coast - the peninsula depicted in lavish cartography would definitely warrant such a treatment, especially since I would enjoy handy travel/weather tables for the area in a potential future supplement.



Now, if you've read my review of the last Town Backdrop, you'll notice that this time around, the town with its statblock, lore, locations etc. once again swims in details - while we receive slightly less notable locations, we do get more notable people. A total of 50 whispers and rumors (which are evocative) provide ample curious threads to weave or ignore, but especially history and the demographics should prove interesting - Deksport has a significant green-skin population and as such, racial tensions and potential grudges can easily be developed into tighter hooks, should one choose to do so.



Deksport itself sport a sheltered bay protected by an old breakwater, docks and is a walled community, though one less structured and less crammed than Wolverton. The town sports a little trickle of a river and has forests nearby, as well as an elevated, fortified palace from which the "ruler" exerts his control - or rather, lack thereof, for essentially 3 individuals vie for control over the town.



A total of 50 entries in a table of sights and sounds help you drive home the uniqueness of Deksport. Unless I have miscounted, a table of 43 entries provides further events to act as inspiration for DMs to develop into hooks or full-blown adventures. In contrast to Wolverton, you'll realize a rather specific distinction - unlike in Wolverton, you receive significantly less little hook-boxes with fully developed adventure hooks. HOWEVER, the level of detail provided for Deksport may still actually surpass that of Wolverton thanks to tables to generate tenements (intact and ruined), stores, vendors, tavern and inns (at one glance - quality, room available - very handy!) and there's another new feature: From the Spire of the Beacon Eternal, a combined beacon/temple on a small island, reachable primarily via the encrusted Breakwater dam, to the docks, the respective environments sport handy DCs to use in conjunction with skills.



Speaking of docks - a handy table of ships and ship names, captains and where the individual entries can be found in the book help you make the most out of this particular section. Also interesting - brief summaries of relevant NPCs can be found in the respective entries alongside e.g. food and drink prices, prices for renting or buying slaves or what about the dread prison, the Wailing Tower, which houses captives that come with full information on the ransom required to take them out there.



The level of detail extends to the copious sample characters - sample personas are provided for the generic statblocks (for e.g. goblin pirates), while the respective named NPCs receive the level of detailed treatment scarcely seen for NPCs. In fact, even for Raging Swan Press' standards, the attention to detail with which these people are depicted, makes for a fun supplement. It should also be noted that multiclassed and archetype'd NPCs constitute the rule rather than the exception here - heck, there even is a greater barghest with class levels here, though I will not reveal the identity of the beast!



Against a backdrop of mutual distrust and jockeying to become the sole ruler, the 3 rulers of the place are walking a tight rope - as might be the whole town...after all, racial tensions may flare up any minute and the swashbuckling villains generally tend to have not that much scruples when dealing with foes...



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I did not notice any significant glitches. Layout adheres to raging Swan Press' b/w-two-column standard, is printer-friendly and generally nice to look at. The artworks range from thematically fitting stock art to pieces I haven't seen before and the cartography is awesome - the town makes sense and looks rather neat. The pdf comes in two versions, one optimized for screen-use, one to be printed out, and both come excessively bookmarked.



I can't comment on the dead tree version, since I don't have it.



When I opened this pdf, I was disappointed - "Not yet another pirate town!", I groaned. Well, I shouldn't have drawn hasty conclusions. While I probably am a bit burned out on pirate towns and cities, Deksport still managed to capture my interest - thanks to the unusual, non-Caribbean setting, the racial tensions and adventure potential evident on every page and most of all - the attention to detail. The vast array of small tidbits and simply comfortable helpers for the DM, the gloriously concise layout that makes looking up a given piece of information ridiculously easy.



To state the obvious here - this is one of the most user-friendly books I've ever read. I had simply NO issue running this town right from the pages. The place is great, full of details and Raging Swan Press' mastermind Creighton Broadhurst once again proves why he has his stellar reputation - this book managed to captivate me, in spite of me being rather burned out on pirate's nests. Deksport is distinct and walks the line between modularity and uniqueness - can you scavenge this pdf for any other pirate town? Heck yes, you can. But in my opinion, you'd lose out on a pirate town that is distinct, has plenty of reasons to visit (and not to torch), even for good characters. Finally, the copious statblocks and tables can be considered extremely useful even if you're not interested at all in the town.



So what will be my final rating? I tried, honestly and rather hard, to find something I could properly complain about, but found nothing - I tried not to like this book due to my personal pirate-town oversaturation, and I still consider it great. There are not many books that managed to accomplish this feat and hence, my final verdict will clock in at 5 stars + seal of approval.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Town Backdrop: Deksport
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

So What's For Sale, Anyway? II
by Don M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/31/2015 11:51:03
Great followup on the first product in this series. Recommended highly.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
So What's For Sale, Anyway? II
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

So What's For Sale, Anyway?
by Don M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/31/2015 11:27:58
This is a really great product. One of the first questions the players ask when their characters get into a new town is "What's available in the magic shop?". This product makes it easy for me to answer that question. I just keep a note as to which list I present at each town/city/etc so the inventory doesn't change too quickly, and it works great. Players find something that they want to save up for, and usually it's still available. I highly recommend this product.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
So What's For Sale, Anyway?
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Urban Dressing: Port Town
by Mark C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/30/2015 16:03:03
Urban Dressing: Port Town is the latest release from Raging Swan Press. This 12 page booklet is chock full of the sights and sounds, people, and places of a small port. The book contains four sets of tables detailing different aspects of a port -- Sights and Sounds, Businesses, Folk of Interest, and Hooks, Complications, and Opportunites. None of the tables disappoint; each provides solid info that a GM could use either on-the-fly or as part of his or her game prep. If you want a solid GM resource for helping with nautical adventures for a price even a stingy Dutchman would pay, then look no further. Even if you hate it, the money-back guarantee makes purchasing this a no-brainer. Get Urban Dressing: Port Town today; you'll be glad you did.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Urban Dressing: Port Town
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks very much for the review, Mark! I much appreciate the time it took you to do it. Also, thanks for the stingy Dutchman reference; it\'s my first!
GM's Miscellany: Village Backdrops II
by John G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/30/2015 11:53:54
I came across the Raging Swan range of books by "accident" but am very happy to recommend them to anyone who GM's a role playing game, anyone wants ideas for their own Fantasy stories, or who like me plays Role Playing games solo with the use of random tables, random information look up sources and so on. Although described as "Pathfinder" resources these books will easily work with ANY RPG game system and you can amend any character stats to your own game method. And let me stress its ONLY the NPC stats you would need to change if relevant, everything else is generic. This book will supply everything you could want to know about several villages, there people, the life of the village and rich details to make you feel you are "there"

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GM's Miscellany: Village Backdrops II
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Urban Dressing: Slum Town
by John G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/30/2015 11:51:47
I came across the Raging Swan range of books by "accident" but am very happy to recommend them to anyone who GM's a role playing game, anyone wants ideas for their own Fantasy stories, or who like me plays Role Playing games solo with the use of random tables, random information look up sources and so on. Although described as "Pathfinder" resources these books will easily work with ANY RPG game system and you can amend any character stats to your own game method. And let me stress its ONLY the NPC stats you would need to change if relevant, everything else is generic.Like the Village Backdrops these are ready to insert into almost any campaign and an excellent addition to my library

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Urban Dressing: Slum Town
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Village Backdrop: Arrowhill
by John G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/30/2015 11:50:08
I came across the Raging Swan range of books by "accident" but am very happy to recommend them to anyone who GM's a role playing game, anyone wants ideas for their own Fantasy stories, or who like me plays Role Playing games solo with the use of random tables, random information look up sources and so on. Although described as "Pathfinder" resources these books will easily work with ANY RPG game system and you can amend any character stats to your own game method. And let me stress its ONLY the NPC stats you would need to change if relevant, everything else is generic.These Village Backdrops are short detailed supplements that present a single village ready to insert into almost any campaign and an excellent addition to my library

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Village Backdrop: Arrowhill
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Village Backdrop: Edgewood
by John G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/30/2015 11:48:20
I came across the Raging Swan range of books by "accident" but am very happy to recommend them to anyone who GM's a role playing game, anyone wants ideas for their own Fantasy stories, or who like me plays Role Playing games solo with the use of random tables, random information look up sources and so on. Although described as "Pathfinder" resources these books will easily work with ANY RPG game system and you can amend any character stats to your own game method. And let me stress its ONLY the NPC stats you would need to change if relevant, everything else is generic.These Village Backdrops are short detailed supplements that present a single village ready to insert into almost any campaign and an excellent addition to my library

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Village Backdrop: Edgewood
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks very much for the review, John. It\'s much appreciated and I\'m glad you enjoyed Village Backdrop: Edgewood, I hope it makes an excellent addition to your campaign!
Alternate Dungeons: Mystic Ruins
by John G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/30/2015 11:44:00
I came across the Raging Swan range of books by "accident" but am very happy to recommend them to anyone who GM's a role playing game, anyone wants ideas for their own Fantasy stories, or who like me plays Role Playing games solo with the use of random tables, random information look up sources and so on. Although described as "Pathfinder" resources these books will easily work with ANY RPG game system and you can amend any character stats to your own game method. And let me stress its ONLY the NPC stats you would need to change if relevant, everything else is generic. This book will supply some alternatives to the "usual" for you - excellent publication.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Alternate Dungeons: Mystic Ruins
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

GM's Monthly Miscellany: January 2014
by John G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/30/2015 11:39:49
Anyone interested in Pathfinder or indeed ANY other RPG system HAS to get these every month for the wonderful content in them each month. If you are NOT using Pathfinder the content is easily adaptable to any generic role playing system to give many ideas and backdrops or adventure plots. I play solitaire and the content is invaluable each month and the price is suitable for anyone !!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GM's Monthly Miscellany: January 2014
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 76 to 90 (of 580 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates