DriveThruRPG.com
Find Category











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Eclipse Phase: Rimward
by Nenad R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/05/2012 05:30:16

This product has an excellent overview of the outer soalr system in the Eclipse Phase World. It gives a lot of interesting locations, factions and ideas that can easily incorporated in any Eclipse Phase games, even in the inner system, as it explains the impact that the Outer System has on the inner.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Rimward
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Eclipse Phase: Gatecrashing Hack Pack
by john f. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2012 00:23:58

Absolutely of the same caliber and quality as the original core book: the production values and the depth of creativity are the same. The book fits perfectly into the atmosphere established by the core book and expands very naturally from a solar system inhabited by a refugee human race, highly modified by technology and its experiences, to the very highly risky exploration of the universe beyond using a science fiction concept ('stargates') that, while one might say is a tad threadbare, sees fresh new life in the hands of masters.

'Gatecrashing' allows the GM to create explosive new stories for her or his players, and the artwork available for use is of the best quality. Posthuman Studios' open license and 'hack packs' truly make the product available to the player to make her or his own.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Gatecrashing Hack Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Eclipse Phase (first edition)
by john f. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2012 00:15:33

Simply put, an epic science-fiction roleplaying game written with a deep sense of human mind and culture and a sense of what technology does FOR and TO the human race. This is such a fresh and original take on the concept of 'post-apocalypse' that it truly deserves to be set apart from games that fit that description. Indeed, 'Eclipse Phase' is merely leaning on the 'post-apocalyptic sci-fi horror' handle because there's no descriptor for something this innovative, at least for now. Let me try:

'Post-human Survival/Technological Paradigm (sci-fi)'.

Do I really propse such a genre moniker? Well, no, it's rather unweildy. What I attempt to do is make my reader understand that just like the Jimi Hendrix Experience's first album, 'this one makes you wider'. Learning the world of this game introduces you to so many issues, existing and potential, in such a graceful and accessible way, that I believe the authors have succeeded in making the RPG (and here I mean the hobby) a true venue for social discourse and the contemplation of social and technological theories.

I'm sure the writers themselves could explain this better; they all have PhD's or will shortly. This core book could sit next to discussions of technology and society by people like Carl Sagan, Isaac Asimov and even works, for example, of Noam Chomsky. There is even a tongue-in-cheek reference to Zinn's 'A People's History of the United States', which pleases me to no end.

Have no fear, for while the world created in this book is fully developed, and a highly evolved animal, the gaming mechanics have been kept reasonably simple. The GM and her or his players will be free to explore Transhuman Society post-apocalypse without getting weighted down with too many charts and die rolls. (The game runs on d100 percentiles.)

I'm also impressed that the authors open-sourced the game and encourage players to modify their work to taste.

'Eclipse Phase' is one of the most masterful, powerful classics in gaming, and even succeeds in being a literary touchstone. In the right hands, it will generate contemplation and conversation that will expand minds.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase (first edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Eclipse Phase: NPC File 1: Prime
by Daniel K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/01/2012 08:39:15

So I'm a lazy GM when it comes to writing up NPCs, and thus this is a great toolbox for me. The NPCs are written up neatly, with some good details about their jobs and roles in the world of Eclipse Phase. A personal favorite is the fork variant of the anarchist saboteur.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: NPC File 1: Prime
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Eclipse Phase: Rimward
by Patrick N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/12/2012 15:53:45

"Rimward" fits the entire Eclipse Phase line perfectly, as complement to "Sunward", detailing all factions and places that "Sunward" did not (with one notable exception, the Argonauts). Description of all kinds of autonomists and brinkers is very good, along with articles on Ultimates. There are minor issues that could be addressed better (like better description of economy, maybe along with some solutions in game mechanics), yet the book itself exceeded my expectations, and I consider it necessary for anyone GMing or playing a story in Sol System.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Rimward
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Eclipse Phase: Rimward
by Kyle W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/27/2012 17:24:53

Yeah, I'm a major fan of Eclipse Phase, so this shouldn't come as a shock to anyone, but Rimward is absolutely amazing. It lives up to my expectations, delivering Posthuman Studios' high quality and insightful transhuman setting in a simple package.

Rimward is 90% setting, and about 10% numbers, but when you actually look at it it's well worth it-everything is written in such a way as to detail the universe of Eclipse Phase and be a great asset to players and game masters, even if it's not a list of numbers on a page. It's actually a joy to read, with a boatload of new content.

All-in-all, I'd say Rimward is the perfect supplement to Sunward, and makes Eclipse Phase that much better as a game-my normal caution about Eclipse Phase not being for the kiddies still applies, but other than that it's a top-notch product I recommend to anyone who likes Eclipse Phase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase Second Edition: Quick-Start Rules
by James D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/19/2012 01:54:05

These are very succinct, while letting you glimpse the iceberg underneath. I own the hardcopy of the main book for this and i use the quick start rules to introduce new players to the system and setting. The main book can be a bit intimidating in both size and density of subject matter. These quick start rules are both friendly and still covers the main topics so that a new player isn't completely out of their depth.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase Second Edition: Quick-Start Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Eclipse Phase: Bump in the Night
by Jordi F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2012 17:13:45

I'm a bit disappointed with this adventure.

EP can be a daunting task to GM ... Glory is a good example as an adventure that guides you and teach you how the inner gears of EP works. Bump in the night is like "here there are NPC, here are maps, and this is the plot ... good luck".

And I don't lack imagination, what I lack is time and experience with the setting. And this adventure isn't helpful at all.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Bump in the Night
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Eclipse Phase: An Infinite Horizon
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/20/2012 13:16:02

Great little piece of fiction, perfect for getting into the mood for some Eclipse Phase!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: An Infinite Horizon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Eclipse Phase: Panopticon
by Idle R. H. P. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/11/2012 04:11:52

Panopticon is a great supplement for Eclipse Phase that discusses three separate areas of the game setting.

Part one explains how the transparent society of EP came about, how it functions, and how people function in it. There are sections about how identification works when individuals can change bodies at will, the ethics of a transparent society, and surveillance/counter-surveillance technology. Part two details the different kinds of habitats, the various systems contained therein, and a general discussion of the difficulties of life in space. The last part is a great discussion on uplifts, including more information on the various types (including several new ones) and the social issues surrounding them.

As with other Eclipse Phase books, this one starts out with a short story and puts all the game related information in the back. This title is a great resource for GMs and players alike, as each section sheds a lot of light on how various parts of the EP setting work. Anyone interested in playing as an uplift would do well to read the relevant section of this book, as would anyone interested in playing as a hacker.

Panopticon is a great read, even if you don't intend on running or playing in an Eclipse Phase game. It is well worth the $10.00 price tag.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Panopticon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Eclipse Phase: Lack
by Gerry S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/09/2012 00:11:37

A nice short story set in the Eclipse Phase Universe. Not owning the game, I bought this to get a feel for the setting, and enjoyed it. Well written characters, and good action. A nice intro to the EP universe, and a good sci-fi story in general



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Lack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Eclipse Phase: The Stars Our Destination
by Idle R. H. P. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/08/2012 05:29:57

The Stars Our Destination is a great product at a fantastic price. It gives Eclipse Phase GMs a nicely detailed view of a notable Scum swarm, including swarm politics, sample ships, and sample characters. It does not provide a set adventure or any definite way of using the swarm in your game, but what it does provide is a whole host of plot hooks, story ideas, and interesting tidbits for GMs to mine from. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: The Stars Our Destination
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Eclipse Phase: The Stars Our Destination
by Samuel S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/04/2012 14:29:17

I wish it was longer, but for 5 bucks it's reasonable. It great for a GM who needs a ready made scum fleet, or is trying to wrap his/her head around the idea of a scum fleet.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase Core Hack Pack
by Bertil H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2012 04:27:38

Excellent to use during a game to enhance the experience for the players. A picture tells more than thousand words.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase Core Hack Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Eclipse Phase: Panopticon
by Bertil H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2012 04:21:03

Panopticon was something worth waiting for. This book gives much more "meat to the bones" when it comes to security, habitats and uplifts for the Eclipse Phase universe. When I bought this product there was no hesitation if it would be worth it. Eclipse phase over all is a high quality product with writers who knows what their customers appreciate. The layout is great. The writing is informative and catching. The chapter about Uplifts was particular good since one gets the explanation WHY the uplifts where brought to sentient status.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Panopticon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 61 to 75 (of 128 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates