DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Eclipse Phase: Transhuman
by Jason B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/07/2013 11:20:05
Another stunning book by Posthuman!

If you happen to be one of the many who had misgivings over how involved the PC generation of Eclipse Phase was in the Corebook, Transhuman provides not ONE but TWO fixes!

One involves putting together 'packages' of skills and benefits, while the other is a Lifepath Generation system, which can easily provide hours of fun!

Also, the book includes a wealth of new Positive and Negative Traits for character creation, new Morphs, and even a Morph Creation System!

It also has large sections on how AGIs, and Uplifts, have radically different outlooks and 'upbringings' in the EP world.

This book is a MUST-HAVE for any EP gamer!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Transhuman
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Eclipse Phase Sample Characters (iPad)
by Bruce S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2013 12:05:08
Good example characters, wide variety. Loving an open source game system.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase Sample Characters (iPad)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Eclipse Phase
by Joseph M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/01/2013 11:55:23
One of the best sci-fi rpgs out there in the last decade. And that's saying a lot when you factor in GURPS: Transhuman Space. But, the team at Posthuman Studios loves their work and they really graps the transhuman/posthuman elements of modern sci-fi. This setting has elements of Mythos horror, but handles it differently. Less strange magical aliens, and more strange technologies that we just don't understand yet. As far as settings go, it's not as hard as Transhuman Space was, but that leadway fixes one of the few problems that THS had. Lack of focus.

The key issue, the drive for PCs in Eclipse Phase is survival. Either on a personal level in the post TITANS era of dispora from earth, or on a species level when humanity kissed a singularity event and came away bloody but still living. Technology is your salvation and damnation. The real key, is how your characters deal with it.

Body swapping, AI life, aliens that are REALLY alien, and just enough WOW factor to make the game exciting. There is PSI powers, but they are handled interestingly...a dangerous legacy left behind by the alien AIs the TITANS became.

Mechanically it uses a d100 system that flows smoothly, but takes a little getting use too. It's serviceable. And that's GREAT! The 3rd Printing of the corebook (which the pdf is a copy of) has little mechanical tweeks and fixes that fix most of the weird early errata bugs.

The core gameplay has the PCs as members of Firewall, a 'save humanity at any cost' type group...and it works. But you will have the freedom to just explore the setting and culture.

Worth the price. Hands down. Fine book.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Eclipse Phase
by Luca N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2013 07:30:12
The setting is amazing, intriguing and well written. The rules are easy, based on a 1d100, and they permitt to go from a fast (and extremely deadly) firefight to an hacking mission using the same concepts and mechanism.
The character creation is based on few, important choises and Points to spend. it permitts to generate very interesting profiles and to play any kind of PG you like.
Trauma and Stress enable to play horror stories and to see your players going crazy.
The books are well made, well written and with amazing images.
It's a mature game and I really love it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Quick-Start Rules
by Steve S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/17/2013 09:50:16
Within 24 hours of reading this I had purchased the full rule book, and I am so glad I did

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Quick-Start Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Eclipse Phase: Rimward
by Nenad R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/05/2012 05:30:16
This product has an excellent overview of the outer soalr system in the Eclipse Phase World. It gives a lot of interesting locations, factions and ideas that can easily incorporated in any Eclipse Phase games, even in the inner system, as it explains the impact that the Outer System has on the inner.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Rimward
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Eclipse Phase: Gatecrashing Hack Pack
by john f. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2012 00:23:58
Absolutely of the same caliber and quality as the original core book: the production values and the depth of creativity are the same. The book fits perfectly into the atmosphere established by the core book and expands very naturally from a solar system inhabited by a refugee human race, highly modified by technology and its experiences, to the very highly risky exploration of the universe beyond using a science fiction concept ('stargates') that, while one might say is a tad threadbare, sees fresh new life in the hands of masters.

'Gatecrashing' allows the GM to create explosive new stories for her or his players, and the artwork available for use is of the best quality. Posthuman Studios' open license and 'hack packs' truly make the product available to the player to make her or his own.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Gatecrashing Hack Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Eclipse Phase
by john f. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2012 00:15:33
Simply put, an epic science-fiction roleplaying game written with a deep sense of human mind and culture and a sense of what technology does FOR and TO the human race. This is such a fresh and original take on the concept of 'post-apocalypse' that it truly deserves to be set apart from games that fit that description. Indeed, 'Eclipse Phase' is merely leaning on the 'post-apocalyptic sci-fi horror' handle because there's no descriptor for something this innovative, at least for now. Let me try:

'Post-human Survival/Technological Paradigm (sci-fi)'.

Do I really propse such a genre moniker? Well, no, it's rather unweildy. What I attempt to do is make my reader understand that just like the Jimi Hendrix Experience's first album, 'this one makes you wider'. Learning the world of this game introduces you to so many issues, existing and potential, in such a graceful and accessible way, that I believe the authors have succeeded in making the RPG (and here I mean the hobby) a true venue for social discourse and the contemplation of social and technological theories.

I'm sure the writers themselves could explain this better; they all have PhD's or will shortly. This core book could sit next to discussions of technology and society by people like Carl Sagan, Isaac Asimov and even works, for example, of Noam Chomsky. There is even a tongue-in-cheek reference to Zinn's 'A People's History of the United States', which pleases me to no end.

Have no fear, for while the world created in this book is fully developed, and a highly evolved animal, the gaming mechanics have been kept reasonably simple. The GM and her or his players will be free to explore Transhuman Society post-apocalypse without getting weighted down with too many charts and die rolls. (The game runs on d100 percentiles.)

I'm also impressed that the authors open-sourced the game and encourage players to modify their work to taste.

'Eclipse Phase' is one of the most masterful, powerful classics in gaming, and even succeeds in being a literary touchstone. In the right hands, it will generate contemplation and conversation that will expand minds.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Eclipse Phase: NPC File 1: Prime
by Daniel K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/01/2012 08:39:15
So I'm a lazy GM when it comes to writing up NPCs, and thus this is a great toolbox for me. The NPCs are written up neatly, with some good details about their jobs and roles in the world of Eclipse Phase. A personal favorite is the fork variant of the anarchist saboteur.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: NPC File 1: Prime
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Eclipse Phase: Rimward
by Patrick N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/12/2012 15:53:45
"Rimward" fits the entire Eclipse Phase line perfectly, as complement to "Sunward", detailing all factions and places that "Sunward" did not (with one notable exception, the Argonauts). Description of all kinds of autonomists and brinkers is very good, along with articles on Ultimates. There are minor issues that could be addressed better (like better description of economy, maybe along with some solutions in game mechanics), yet the book itself exceeded my expectations, and I consider it necessary for anyone GMing or playing a story in Sol System.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Rimward
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Eclipse Phase: Rimward
by Kyle W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/27/2012 17:24:53
Yeah, I'm a major fan of Eclipse Phase, so this shouldn't come as a shock to anyone, but Rimward is absolutely amazing. It lives up to my expectations, delivering Posthuman Studios' high quality and insightful transhuman setting in a simple package.

Rimward is 90% setting, and about 10% numbers, but when you actually look at it it's well worth it-everything is written in such a way as to detail the universe of Eclipse Phase and be a great asset to players and game masters, even if it's not a list of numbers on a page. It's actually a joy to read, with a boatload of new content.

All-in-all, I'd say Rimward is the perfect supplement to Sunward, and makes Eclipse Phase that much better as a game-my normal caution about Eclipse Phase not being for the kiddies still applies, but other than that it's a top-notch product I recommend to anyone who likes Eclipse Phase.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Quick-Start Rules
by James D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/19/2012 01:54:05
These are very succinct, while letting you glimpse the iceberg underneath. I own the hardcopy of the main book for this and i use the quick start rules to introduce new players to the system and setting. The main book can be a bit intimidating in both size and density of subject matter. These quick start rules are both friendly and still covers the main topics so that a new player isn't completely out of their depth.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Quick-Start Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Eclipse Phase: Bump in the Night
by Jordi F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2012 17:13:45
I'm a bit disappointed with this adventure.

EP can be a daunting task to GM ... Glory is a good example as an adventure that guides you and teach you how the inner gears of EP works. Bump in the night is like "here there are NPC, here are maps, and this is the plot ... good luck".

And I don't lack imagination, what I lack is time and experience with the setting. And this adventure isn't helpful at all.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Bump in the Night
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Eclipse Phase: An Infinite Horizon
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/20/2012 13:16:02
Great little piece of fiction, perfect for getting into the mood for some Eclipse Phase!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: An Infinite Horizon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Eclipse Phase: Panopticon
by Idle R. H. P. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/11/2012 04:11:52
Panopticon is a great supplement for Eclipse Phase that discusses three separate areas of the game setting.

Part one explains how the transparent society of EP came about, how it functions, and how people function in it. There are sections about how identification works when individuals can change bodies at will, the ethics of a transparent society, and surveillance/counter-surveillance technology. Part two details the different kinds of habitats, the various systems contained therein, and a general discussion of the difficulties of life in space. The last part is a great discussion on uplifts, including more information on the various types (including several new ones) and the social issues surrounding them.

As with other Eclipse Phase books, this one starts out with a short story and puts all the game related information in the back. This title is a great resource for GMs and players alike, as each section sheds a lot of light on how various parts of the EP setting work. Anyone interested in playing as an uplift would do well to read the relevant section of this book, as would anyone interested in playing as a hacker.

Panopticon is a great read, even if you don't intend on running or playing in an Eclipse Phase game. It is well worth the $10.00 price tag.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Panopticon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 31 to 45 (of 104 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates