DriveThruRPG.com
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Zombies! F***!
by Sl J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/04/2017 01:25:50

Yes, yes, yes, f---, you need this one !

Reading this collection is like watching a horror anthology -- one of the good ones. It is made up of 9 short stories:

Zombies! Fuck! / The Thing In The Cellar / The End Of Emptiness / Alice Aster / Stranger / Dust Bunnies / In The Woods / Bestseller / The Sky Is Falling

Charlie Fleming calls Z!F! a screenplay, but to me every one of the 9 pieces is a screenplay or the script for a horror comic. The dialog throughout is excellent: funny, evocative, hilarious, energetic, focused, pointedly-drawn, vivid, character-driven. Z!F! actually contains the largest amount of descriptive text. The other stories are entirely dialog, without descriptive text. Each piece works so well because your brain creates the graphic/visual element, which it does better than adjectives can, especially when fed so well by the characters and their conversations.

There is no hokey awkward dialog like you usually get in horror and sci-fi for exposition. There is no irritating internal dialog, which makes each story feel very direct and real or authentic. For anyone who has suffered through too many barely-watchable B-movies or hack pulp novels with stilted dialog, there is none of that here. The conversations move smoothly and dramatically and never stumble. There's always a reason for what's said, but it always feels natural.

Charlie Fleming has a way with words. Oh, and his spelling and grammar often sucks, but it is completely irrelevant. It's that good, for real. This is real entertainment, and even if some plot points are familiar, the verbal back-and-forth between the characters is stunningly good.

You can read and re-read this. In fact, you should read it out loud (maybe with a friend playing the other part) and I bet it will make your ears and brain very happy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Zombies! F***!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Psychopod
by Sl J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2017 12:46:09

Bill D. gave a perfect review. This one is superfluous. But if you want to read a second review...

I love Psychopod. At first I said wtf is this, then I realized this is what Steve Jackson used to do in the 1970s: design brilliant (mini) games. SJ would have put it in a baggie with some cardboard chits and a folded hex sheet and charged $6-8 back then (e.g., Ogre, Car Wars, Melee, Wizard). SJ is still selling those same old brilliant pieces of pop art, gussified and commercialized for the modern buyer for $20+. Here you have everything you would get from a SJ (mini) masterpiece, except you have to do some minor assembly. All the essentials are there. And, if the concept is the right one for you, you will be excited to add your own energy to make gameplay phenomenal.

How do you know whether Psychopod is the right concept for you, though? If you read this far and have $1, you've answered the question for yourself. But, to help a poor gamer out, if you like sci-fi and/or horror movies, Psychopod is probably right for you. Even if you don't play, I bet it will give you pleasure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Psychopod
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Psychopod
by Bill D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/12/2017 22:35:22

Psychopod is very cool. I just DL'd and read it and haven't had a chance to run yet but it's awesome. The product itself is very thematic, written as a mental infodump from the Psychopod motherbrain-thing that is currently assimilating you. It's chilling and very cool. There are rules for enhancements (leveling up) so this can be played as a campaign. Psychopod will take some getting used to, which is one of its best qualities. Oh, and your PC is a sphere. :-) Psychopod is a deliciously weird sci-fi romp. Just buy this, it's awesome.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hobb Sized Adventures!
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/12/2016 03:32:03

A great little solo adventure series. I love the bite-sized stories that are, even though impossibly shorty, filled with choices, randomness, rewards, and (sometimes deadly) consequences. I took this book along to a weekend festival, as something to play in my downtime, and it worked out brilliantly. It was engrossing, but convenient and manageable. Amazingly, I didn't even get through the whole book (to be fair, I can be a fairly methodical player).

In short, it's a fun book full of fun adventures in a very Tunnels & Trolls (light-hearted, whimsical, silly) style. Definitely worth a play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hobb Sized Adventures!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tweaks
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/29/2016 10:54:10

Competent & functional. Contains just enough setting, plus a few vague story prompts; enough to go on but you can do whatever you want with it. One flaw: Characters start with an amount of money between $111 and $444, which is maybe enough to buy one upgrade. So it's either street-level teenage shenanigans, or you'll want to make some allowances for starting equipment.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tweaks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Librarians of Doom
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/28/2016 18:47:55

This seems like it would be hilarious, but 2/3 of this is devoted to the system (even though they advise you to buy another download containing the rules), and the explanations of setting are vague to the point of being useless. In essence, they're like, "Hey, wouldn't it be funny if librarians were evil and there was some quasi-religious order fighting them? You should do something with that." Thanks, guys, but that's what I paid you for.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Librarians of Doom
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mysteries In The Dark - Rarr I'm A Pocket Game #3
by felbrigg h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/27/2016 06:47:31

I like the PocketMod format for micro RPGs and so I was predisposed to like this before I read it. After the read through I can confirm I like what I've read.

The trick with pocketmod games is getting a rules system and a "feel" for the game all stuffed into 8 tiny pages. I believe the publisher has managed that.

The core die roll mechanisms in here are D6 based with actions generally being "save vs stat" with some modifiers. That's pretty standard affair, but your character can also have special mysterious abilities, or might even be cursed before the game starts. There's not a lot of crunch here, and that's the right way to go with such a small game.

Hard to believe, but the rules also cater for character skill progression and a creeping level of fear that could turn your hero into a quivering wreck.

As to the feel, I get the pulp-era horror magazine feel from the game. The "mummy" cover is very pulpy with a monster stealing a beautiful young woman, and this continues inside with the suggestions of mysteries to investigate.

In summary, a simple (and tiny) system to throw in your top pocket and take with you everywhere.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mysteries In The Dark - Rarr I'm A Pocket Game #3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Solo Hack
by Jojo B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/10/2016 01:46:34

I wont go into a long diatribe about this. Instead, I will say that I played three adventures for about three hours. My guy went in ugly and stupid, came out dashing and smart.

It's an excellent addition to TBH, and Iwould love to see more in the future!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Solo Hack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Bikini Hack
by Robert B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/14/2016 00:02:56

I bought this mostly to see what it was. Basically it has some ideas and rules for running a 60s style beach party setting. There are some rules to do some stuff for that settting.. but nothing about the setting, no adventure ideas, no examples of what you should be expected to do. I would suggest 1- a price list or guide lines of what stuff cost in this setting, 2-a short generic description of a local beach and town, 3-a page of adventure ideas (10 or so one liners or a mad lib kind of thing), This could have been useful but as it is now it's like a rushed job just put out there to captialize on the Black Hack wave. I will update this if the product is improved. ;)



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Bikini Hack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Whole Lotta RArr! [BUNDLE]
by Gerwazy B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/24/2015 01:58:13

A reasonable amount of games for a reasonable amount of cash. I am content with such a deal.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Whole Lotta RArr! [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Roll With Words
by Randal M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/09/2015 18:14:37

Simple and nice. LARP, Kids Games, and more... Thanks for sharing this as a free download! Can I reference this in my kids game ( Stargazing ) as an alternative to my own rules?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Roll With Words
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Roll With Words
by Ettrick R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2015 20:00:44

Brilliant solution.

I am always on a quest to find another method of generating results without depending on a roll of die or dice. I'm going to run a session this weekend simply to explore the mechanics.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Roll With Words
by Don C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2015 17:02:59

This is a great idea and I can definitely see myself using this when caught without dice or phone-based rollers, say playing a solo dungeon or rolling up characters on a train. The included tables save a lot of effort, but it wouldn't take long to set up a couple of tables from scratch with just a pen and some plain paper if you had to. Well worth downloading for free to recognise a great idea.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sanctuary of the Sorcerer -T&T Edition
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/25/2014 02:24:21

Loved it when it was QADD. Now it's even better (and faster!) as a TnT adventure.

Remind me to tell you how half the party killed itself before ever reaching the Sanctuary!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sanctuary of the Sorcerer -T&T Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Monster Menagerie
by Jerry T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2014 11:07:31

I have a very limited understanding of the Monsters! Monsters! game. In essence, it is very similar to Tunnels & Trolls, using the the similar modifiers to the base rolled stats to create a character for the monster's view of the world - kidnapping and eating dirty human villagers, moving into a dungeon and setting up its defenses against those trespassing delvers, or just simply trying to amass a horde of like minded monsters to rampage and pillage.

Monster Menagerie does a wonderful job of presenting some new monster types for use with either game. My first opinion of the work is that I want more! There are some wonderful ideas for new monsters that the creative T&T GM can use and expand for his own use. Many special abilities are mentioned that could be expanded to be included as special attacks as a result of Spite rolls by the monsters to make them a bit more unique. The artwork is very distinct and nice touch to the overall look and feel for the tome.

There is a very expansive and creative list of spells for the mysterious 'Eeek' monster that sadly does not seem to have an illustration (either internally or in the cover image), unless the Eeeks are the glowing eyes in the background of the cover? I believe some of the spells could use a bit more information or examples regarding how they would work in a game, but just my own personal and selfish opinion.

More creative and inspired monster lists are something that I feel are definitely needed to support growth for the T&T game. For those that may be new to T&T, and with the upcoming release of Deluxe Tunnels & Trolls by Flying Buffalo, keep in mind that the basics of the game are quite consistent. This and many works by companies that support the game system are compatible across all rules editions.

This is a very good and promising start to what will hopefully be a series of supplements from this author. Who knows, maybe I need to give Monsters! Monsters! a chance at my table.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Menagerie
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 35 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates