DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
HardNova 2 Enhancement Pack Beta
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/15/2006 00:00:00

This is a great addition to an already excellent game. There's some new rules and equipment to help flesh out your game world. There's also a good scenario. For the money, I expected a great deal less than what I got. If you like Hard Nova ][, then this enhancement pack is well worth getting.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The new character sheet, extra character templates, and printer friendly map of the sector are excellent.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I want MORE Hard Nova explansions and scenarios, and soon, please.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
HardNova 2 Enhancement Pack Beta
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Disposable Heroes: HARP Set 1
by Nathan C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/11/2006 00:00:00

Let us get the meat of this review out of the way.

Dispoable Heroes: Harp Set 1 is a nicely designed set of fantasy minis that you can print and use for any campaign in which you need some cheap miniatures and do not have the time to put paint to pewter.

There are 40 miniatures in this collection, more than I have seen in most similar products. The product is labeled for the Harp system but, considering that they are just minis, they will fit into any fantasy setting you wish. Though the artwork is not crisp and realistic, each one is well drawn and contains some nice fantasy elements. The set is broken down into six races with each race having its own subset of five base classes: warrior, fighter, mage, rogue and cleric. For each race/class combination, there is both a male and female version. The races themselves are what you will find in traditional fantasy with the exception of the Gryx, whom look very similar to half-orcs.

The PDF includes very detailed instructions at the beginning to help you print out your minis, which for the most part is self explanatory. There are two versions of the minis allowing you to print them as flat tiles or stand up figures with a front and a back. There are also some really neat customary things you can do with the PDF, which include numbering them, replacing images with fronts and backs and printing off a certain number.

All in all, this is one of the better tile sets I have seen. Of course, the hard part is seeing it. Unfortunately, Politically Correct Games, places their PDFs under a stern lock and key clamped with a chastity belt. Even after you buy the product, you must then sign up on their website with all of your personal information to receive the actual product. Why the company needs to know your address and phone number is beyond me. And do not try to put in a dummy e-mail address, as most people often do for these types of spam things, you can not receive your product if you do not put in the same e-mail address you used at RPGNow. For the typical PDF buyer this is extremely annoying. Obtaining the product feels like a serious invasion of privacy. I usually register my $399 Vista Operating system, but not my $5.99 collection of paper minis. Imagine this. You buy Madden 2007 at Gamestop, only for them to tell you that before you go home, you must go travel upstairs to the KB Toys, fill out a long form, and get your product up there. Why go through all those steps when I could just pick up a similar product that does not require the hassle.

For the DM The minis are nice fantasy pieces. Again, the artwork is really geared towards fun fantasy and not extremely detailed in coloring. Still these were nice if you need a mini to represent female and male versions of each of the base races and their classes.

The Iron Word This is a good product. But a product is more than the pages within it, customer service and attention to detail are also wrapped inside it. When you buy a product, you expect to receive the product relatively promptly with few hoops. The hoops I had to jump through here made me thinking I should be talking to detectives Stabler and Benson. Minus the hurdles, this product could have easily been a 4. I wish there was a three dimensional version and a bit more colors in the artwork, but the amount of features made up for them. The product does kick itself with its name as well. ITs a set of fantasy minis that could easily fit into anygame system, why hamper it down by saying it is "for this particular system." <br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: - nice artwork

  • great print options for pdfs
  • lots of minis for the price<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: - naming is not as marketable as it could have been
  • no complete 3d printing
  • the artwork gets repetitive
  • artwork is more friendly fantasy than gritty fantasy
  • All my other quips are minor when i consider that I had to jump to through many hurdles to receive the product. <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Disappointed<br>


Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Disposable Heroes: HARP Set 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Disposable Heroes: Sci-Fi Set 1 (HardNova 2)
by joel s. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/01/2006 00:00:00

Art is ok, but I was expecting more of a selection of units. <br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I couldnt figure out how to pick the units I wanted, as advertized<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Disposable Heroes: Sci-Fi Set 1 (HardNova 2)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher's Assistant Clipart: Fantasy Set 1
by Geoff H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/07/2006 00:00:00

A good small collection of clipart. Rick has a wonderful style and really brings his sketches alive. That's one of the reasons I was happy to have him work on Brixbrix's Field Guide to the Creatures of Ados.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Simple, clean sketches that are useful for any fantasy publication.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I'd have liked more pics, even if I had to pay a little bit more.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher's Assistant Clipart: Fantasy Set 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Disposable Heroes: Fantasy Set 2 (Humanoids)
by JERRY M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/30/2006 00:00:00

This was a good set of minis, covering the common "cannon fodder" humanoids in most RPGs: Goblins, Hobgoblins, Kobolds, Orcs, Gnolls, Bugbears, and Lizardmen/Troglodytes.

The detail is a little cartoony, but the models all have character and some interesting weapons. (And the kobolds look perfect for use in Kobolds ate My Baby...with similar gear and so on to that game.)

A few problems, however:

1) The pieces are all about the same size, giving a 3' 80# kobold the same sized piece as a 7'6" 350# bugbear.

2) Like all of the disposable hero sets, the pieces print out as 1 sheet plus a few more, meaning that you end up wasting a lot of cardstock on 6 to 10 counters. I assume this can be rectified by changing the download style from the website, but it was annoying.

3) It would have been nice to get a few more poses for each of the races. For the price, I would have expected maybe 8-10 of each race instead of 4. And that would also solve the printing problem.

However, for the price, they were fun. <br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Detail was nice.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Not as many poses for the cost. The odd print layout meant wasted cardstock.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Disposable Heroes: Fantasy Set 2 (Humanoids)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Disposable Heroes: Critters Set 2 (Farm & Domestic)
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/25/2006 00:00:00

Disposable Heroes is an excellent service, and Critters Set 2 is a great addition to it. I've used the horses and cattle to provide a herd for an Old West scenario. I've used the domesticated fowl for a few village adventures. Finally, the included dogs allowed me to run a "Lady and the Tramp" scenario for my kids. As much as I love the rest of the Disposable Heroes line, I find that I keep using this set more than the others.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The on-line customization was a big plus when I needed to print a bunch of horses and cattle.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I'd like to see more animals included, perhaps another set? Soon?<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Disposable Heroes: Critters Set 2 (Farm & Domestic)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Unorthodox Warriors (for Iron Gauntlets)
by Jens H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/08/2006 00:00:00

A very useful book. It is not the ultimate book that EVERY Gamer MUST HAVE- but it works well. The classes are very well thought out and balanced. If you lokk for some special fighter/warrior - THIS book can help<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The multitude of classes and the creativity the author proved<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: There schould have been more classes for my taste, but this is just my personal wish. You get a lot for your money;-)<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Unorthodox Warriors (for Iron Gauntlets)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Disposable Heroes: Fantasy Set 3 (Undead)
by Robert R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/02/2006 00:00:00

Great set of counters/minis. Like the other PiG mini's you can print out custom sets so that you can get say a whole sheet of just one character if you so desire.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Ability to custom print.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: nothing<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Disposable Heroes: Fantasy Set 3 (Undead)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Disposable Heroes: Critters Set 2 (Farm & Domestic)
by Robert R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/02/2006 00:00:00

Excellent set of animals to round out your miniature setting, also easy to make icons out of for online play.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Is what it says it is. Ability to do custom printing from PiG's website is ultracool.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: nothing<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Disposable Heroes: Critters Set 2 (Farm & Domestic)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Disposable Heroes: Critters Set 2 (Farm & Domestic)
by Tony R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/01/2006 00:00:00

these figure do provide a wide selection of animals and are drawn nicely. While some people might not think they are much use I must disagree. In most ancient society wealth was in form of things owne d more then in actual coins and gems. So a wealthy man might not own a silver coin but own hundreds of cows and sheep. And stealing ones enemies livestock is a time honored tradition in mamy parts of the world In a scenario I came up with after I purchased these figured I had the enemy clan of my players steal the local sheep and of course they had to get them back( And if they brought back extra the clan elders of course would be more then happy0<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: nICE DRAW AND IT ALLOWS YOU TO MAKE A PAGE OF WHAT EVER YOU NEED<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Two-Fisted Tales: The Definitive Pulp RPG
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/30/2006 00:00:00

Two-Fisted Tales is the best pulp action RPG, ever. This game has it all for the genre. The system seems to be built from the ground up to play pulp action. The combat system is deadly, so players must avoid combat or wait until they can get the drop on the villains, just like in the pulps. The system includes rules for weird science gadgets, magic, and even hypnotism. The rules for interacting with animals allow for the creation of characters like Tarzan or Sheena. Character creation is quick and easy, with templates for different character types provided, but each template can be customized easily, so any genre character you can imagine can be created.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The Game Master's Guide chapter is an excellent treatment of the genre.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: A few brief adventures would be a welcome addition.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Two-Fisted Tales: The Definitive Pulp RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

HardNova 2 (Core PDF)
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2006 00:00:00

Hard Nova ][ is an excellent set of rules for use in an excellent setting. The genreDiversion i rules are quite good and have been well adapted to the the space opera setting presented here. Hard Nova ][ is also well supported with a line of excellent products. These core rules allow you to play right away, with a number of scenarios included as well as a bunch of pre-generated characters and spacecraft. It really is ready to play "out of the box." The fact the characters and ships are almost 100% compatible with PIGames Impresa system is a big plus, too. As such, you have a fully developed magic system by using Iron Gauntlets.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The scenarios and the pre-generated characters make it easy to get started. The compatibility with Impresa and Active Exploits Diceless are great, too.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I would have liked to have a few paper minis included, like they did with Iron Gauntlets. Some ship counters would be nice, too. The Hard Nova ][ Dispoable Heroes are excellent, and also available from PIGames.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HardNova 2 (Core PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Iron Gauntlets Core PDF
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2006 00:00:00

Iron Gauntlets is what fantasy role playing should be. The Impresa system is excellent, and I'm already in the process of converting some of my existing campaigns to the Impresa system. Iron Gauntlets puts Impresa to good use. The use of vocations, flairs, and gimmicks is a great example of game design. The magic system is excellent; it's complete but also expandable. All the fantasy races are present in Iron Gauntlets, including centaurs. It's a great set of rules and I've begun to use it with my kids. I guess the best thing I can say is that my 8-year old has no trouble with the system, while at the same time, I find the rules have all the depth I require of a role-playing game.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The added paper minis and map tiles were a nice touch to get my campaign started.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: The artwork is of inconsistent quality and tone.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Iron Gauntlets Core PDF
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Disposable Heroes: Western Set 1
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/09/2006 00:00:00

This set features a fair number of classic old west types. The artwork is a bit cartoonish, but is very good. The ability to customize a set of figures for download from the PIG website is a definite plus which has saved me a great deal of ink and cardstock.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Customized layouts and labels available on line.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: There is no back artwork for the set. Silouette or mirror image are the only choices.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Disposable Heroes: Western Set 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Disposable Heroes: Customizable Fantasy Collection
by Jacob L. L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/24/2006 00:00:00

More paper fig companies should take a lesson from PIG and offer customization within and/or across sets of figures!<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Customizability. Stand-Ups OR Tokens!<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Silhouette backgrounds or duplicate the front image on each side. I much prefer the full color artwork reverses.

If you want armies with each page repeating a single different figuire, its easy . . . unless you want tokens. Token armies can only be processed one image at a time, so in order to get all 120 figures I had to DL & rename 120 seperate files.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Disposable Heroes: Customizable Fantasy Collection
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 136 to 150 (of 302 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]  ... 10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates