DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Disposable Heroes: Western Set 1
by Mark G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/31/2007 00:00:00

<Disposable Heroes: Western Set 1> is a 30 miniature set/service by Politically Incorrect games. Upon purchasing any Disposable Heroes product you will need to set up an account at www.pigames.net to access your minis and disposable heroes service. However, As <Disposable Heroes> is both a service with certain features and a product line of paper miniatures I thought I would detail exactly what each aspect provides.

The <Disposable Heroes> set allows me to customize a number of things in the way that my miniatures are presented. If I am in a rush and want to use the product quickly I can download a colour or black and white version of the miniature set. The miniatures are triangular with a flat base and two open sides when printed and assembled. This quick download approach provides you with a sheet of instructions, a list of included miniatures and one copy of each miniature with a shaded/black back (for facing purposes). This feature is extremely easy to use and serves as a default setting. Secondly, you could opt to click the preview customize option that allows for significant customization including:

  • Selecting specific counters to be included
  • Selecting colour or black and white
  • Selecting the figure to have a mirrored back (there are black arrows on the front side.)
  • Flat square counters or Standee miniatures.
  • Selecting a single or multiple miniatures at a time (Armies)
  • Print a full sheet of a single type or multiple types (Armies)
  • Provide labels for a download set such as an army of 3 different types labeled <militia>

The customization is even greater if you have multiple sets of <Disposable Heroes> because the service allows another feature called <Mix and Match> customize that allows you can select up to 30 paper miniatures or 70 counters to print at one time. This includes printing armies. All miniatures are organized on this page by identifier code (which is stamped on all miniatures), name and set they come in. So using my list I could print up a sheet of Outlaws and Rough Riders (from this set), some cattle to rustle (from the Critters Set 2), and a moose for added scenery (from Critters set 1) if I needed them for my game quickly and efficiently.

Disposable Heroes features have been updated a number of times to suit the needs of users.

Western Set 1 is a 30 figure set of paper miniatures. There are 28 paper miniatures on one page and a second page with the last two miniatures in the default format. The miniature set includes the following figures: Bandito, Buffalo Hunter, Cowboy, Cowgirl, Gambler, Gunslinger, Marshall, Sheriff, Outlaw, Rough Rider, Woodsman, Trail Boss, Businessman, Clerk, Homesteader, Homesteader?s Wife, Drifter, Drunk, Proper Lady, Saloon Girl, Widow, Nosy Kid (male and female), Mexican Boy, Mexican Woman, Soldier, Officer, Brave, Chief and Indian Woman. The art is really well done and highly stylized with a cell-shaded/animation look to it. The miniatures are very clear and evocative of their subjects without being too cluttered by details. This product is labeled to be used with the Coyote Trail roleplaying game that is also produced by Politically Incorrect Games, I do not possess a copy of the product so I can?t say how closely they over lap but the range of miniatures presented seem to cover most, if not all of the traditional western archetypes. This miniature set should be a must have for anyone who likes an animation style type of art and who is playing a western genre roleplaying game.
<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Highly detailed miniatures. Covers a full range of archetypes. Disposable Heroes service is really handy at meeting specific mini needs. Good and fast customer support from PIG to questions. <br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I?m missing three miniatures I would like to see: a clergy member, an undertaker, and a fur trader/trapper (though I expect the Woodsman would cover this).<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Disposable Heroes: Western Set 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Disposable Heroes: HARP Set 1
by John B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/29/2007 00:00:00

I have come to really appreciate paper miniatures after years of painting (and storeing) lead miniatures. These are some of the best minis that I've seen in a long time. They are viusually beautiful and exciting. The ability to set up a complete sheet of a select figure is a bonus!<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The beautiful color images print well with vivid color.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Disposable Heroes: HARP Set 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Atomik CyberTek
by Patrick M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/24/2007 02:53:08

I love this book. It's inexpensive, especially for the quantity and quality of the content. Moreover it's easily adaptable to any game which I love because I use a home-brewed system.

53 pages of CyberTek gold.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Atomik CyberTek
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher's Assistant Clipart: Fantasy Set 1
by John W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/18/2007 00:00:00

Slightly better than average compared to its competition, this package provides and opportunity to expand my collection of stock art even further.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Good art at a great price.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher's Assistant Clipart: Fantasy Set 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Atomik Magick & Grimoire
by Austin D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2007 00:00:00

This is a good product with a lot of good infomtion. For all of the GMs out there who want to design their own magic system, this is an excellent resource.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The PDF source is an excellent way to store RPG books.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: A PDF does not have the same hands on feel of more traditional books.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Atomik Magick & Grimoire
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Disposable Heroes: Cyberpunk Set 2 (Gritty 203X)
by Mark G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/11/2007 00:00:00

Disposable Heroes: Cyberpunk ? Set 2 (Gritty 203X) by Politically Incorrect Games is a in unique product/service combination for your paper miniature needs. Upon purchasing any Disposable Heroes product you will need to set up an account at www.pigames.net to access your minis and disposable heroes service. As ?Disposable Heroes? is both a service with certain features and a product line of paper miniatures I thought I would detail exactly what each aspect provides.

The ?Disposable Heroes? set allows me to customize a number of things in the way that my miniatures are presented. If I am in a rush and want to use the product quickly I can download a colour or black and white version of the miniature set. The miniatures are triangular with a flat base and two open sides when printed and assembled. This quick download approach provides you with a sheet of instructions, a list of included miniatures and one copy of each miniature with a shaded/black back (for facing purposes). This feature is extremely easy to use and serves as a default setting. Secondly, you could opt to click the preview customize option that allows for significant customization including:

  • Selecting specific counters to be included
  • Selecting colour or black and white
  • Selecting the figure to have a mirrored back (there are black arrows on the front side.)
  • Flat square counters or Standee miniatures.
  • Selecting a single or multiple miniatures at a time (Armies)
  • Print a full sheet of a single type or multiple types (Armies)
  • Provide labels for a download set such as an army of 3 different types labelled ?militia?

The customization is even greater if you have multiple sets of ?Disposable Heroes? because the service allows another feature called ?Mix and Match? customize that allows you can select up to 30 paper miniatures or 70 counters to print at one time. This includes printing armies. All miniatures are organized on this page by identifier code (which is stamped on all miniatures), name and set they come in. So using my list I could print up a sheet of Transporters (from this set), Goats and Duck, and a Squidman if I needed them for my game quickly and efficiently.

Disposable Heroes features have been updated a number of time to suit the needs of users. Some features I listed above such as the ability to produce counters did not exist when I reviewed and earlier product.

Cyberpunk Set 2 (Gritty 203X) is a 30 figure set of paper miniatures. There are 28 paper miniatures on one page and a second page with the last two miniatures in the default format. The miniature set includes the following figures: Solos (3 versions), Tech, Media, Netrunner, Combat Master, Shifter, Divemaster, Mechajock, Panzergirl, Whaleboy, Trade, Idol (2 versions), Imaginator, Protector, Security Op, Scout (2 versions), Streetdealer, Warrior, City Fighter, Shaman, Wisewoman, Beastmaster (2 versions), Surfrider, Transporter and Dragoon. The art is really well done and highly detailed. One a couple of the miniatures (particularly heavy cybernetic ones) the detail might be a little too much making the image a little muddled at miniature size. This product closely mirrors the Cyberpunk Templates on p.57-72 of R. Talsorian Groups Cyberpunk v.3, except that it misses the Subjock template making this an excellent resource for representing those Cyberpunk archtypes on your tabletop.

<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Highly detailed miniatures. Covers a full range of archtypes. Disposable Heroes service is really handy at meeting specific mini needs. Good and fast customer support from PIG to questions.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Some of the miniatures seemed too detailed to me because of the size of paper miniatures. I would have like the counters to only use partial images, as currently used it makes the image smaller yet.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br><BR>[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]<BR>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Disposable Heroes: Cyberpunk Set 2 (Gritty 203X)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hunger: Zombies Must Feed (GDi)
by peter s. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2007 00:00:00

I've always be a big fan of the zombie movies, What a great concept, luv it,now i'm feeling peckish, wonder who's the kitchen? Another nice piece work from PIG!<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: I've always be a big fan of the zombie movies, What a great concept, luv it<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: now i'm feeling peckish, wonder who's in the kitchen?<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hunger: Zombies Must Feed (GDi)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Coyote Trail Expanded Edition
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/05/2007 00:00:00

Excellent set of rules with an incredibly detailed setting. Yeah, I know, it's the wild West, but the rules cover a bunch of different aspects of the setting. The rules can be used to show the wild West from the movies, but you can also have a grittier, more realistic setting. It's all here, and the characters are included so you can be up and running within a few minutes of reading the rules.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: It's complete and ready to run, with and excellent streamlined system that treats mounts and wagons like characters, so mounted combat is simple, yet meaningful.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I guess I'd like to see MORE of it, but at this price, I can afford to pick up more supplements.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Coyote Trail Expanded Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Atomik Alienz
by Mike O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/24/2006 00:00:00

I hate him, I hate him I hate him. If I was going to design and alien book (and I was in the process of doing so) this is exactly how I would do it. What this essentially means, is this book rocks. If you need an alien maker this is pretty much it. It is in depth, and reads much like a text book, but gives you a near complete evolutionary path. God, I hate these guys, for beating me to it.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Regretfully....everything. It even mentions the Drake Equation!!!! (If you don't know what that is you shouldn't be trying to make aliens.)<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I didn't come out with it first<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Atomik Alienz
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Coyote Trail: Colonial Record
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/19/2006 00:00:00

Brilliant! If you like any other GenreDiversion product, then get Colonial Record. If you like this period, then get Colonial Record. I was blown away by this iteration of GenreDiversion. Colonial Record takes all the elegance of the core rules and improves upon them. The fort/army rules are brilliant. Even if this period doesn't appeal to you, get Colonial Record just for fort/army rules. I'm going to add those rules to my other GenreDiversion and Impresa campaigns. This is PIGames best product so far, and they've already set the bar quite high!

<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: The fort/army rules are simply brilliant! Forts and armies get their own character sheets and combat between them is as simple as combat between characters. This is useful for every other GenreDiversion and Impresa campaign that I will ever run.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: The historical section is a bit redundant, as most people who are going to get this product will already be familiar with this period of American history. But, I suppose if it didn't have this section, someone would complain about the lack of background.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br><BR>[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]<BR>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Coyote Trail: Colonial Record
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

HardNova 2 Enhancement Pack Beta
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/15/2006 00:00:00

This is a great addition to an already excellent game. There's some new rules and equipment to help flesh out your game world. There's also a good scenario. For the money, I expected a great deal less than what I got. If you like Hard Nova ][, then this enhancement pack is well worth getting.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The new character sheet, extra character templates, and printer friendly map of the sector are excellent.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I want MORE Hard Nova explansions and scenarios, and soon, please.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
HardNova 2 Enhancement Pack Beta
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Disposable Heroes: HARP Set 1
by Nathan C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/11/2006 00:00:00

Let us get the meat of this review out of the way.

Dispoable Heroes: Harp Set 1 is a nicely designed set of fantasy minis that you can print and use for any campaign in which you need some cheap miniatures and do not have the time to put paint to pewter.

There are 40 miniatures in this collection, more than I have seen in most similar products. The product is labeled for the Harp system but, considering that they are just minis, they will fit into any fantasy setting you wish. Though the artwork is not crisp and realistic, each one is well drawn and contains some nice fantasy elements. The set is broken down into six races with each race having its own subset of five base classes: warrior, fighter, mage, rogue and cleric. For each race/class combination, there is both a male and female version. The races themselves are what you will find in traditional fantasy with the exception of the Gryx, whom look very similar to half-orcs.

The PDF includes very detailed instructions at the beginning to help you print out your minis, which for the most part is self explanatory. There are two versions of the minis allowing you to print them as flat tiles or stand up figures with a front and a back. There are also some really neat customary things you can do with the PDF, which include numbering them, replacing images with fronts and backs and printing off a certain number.

All in all, this is one of the better tile sets I have seen. Of course, the hard part is seeing it. Unfortunately, Politically Correct Games, places their PDFs under a stern lock and key clamped with a chastity belt. Even after you buy the product, you must then sign up on their website with all of your personal information to receive the actual product. Why the company needs to know your address and phone number is beyond me. And do not try to put in a dummy e-mail address, as most people often do for these types of spam things, you can not receive your product if you do not put in the same e-mail address you used at RPGNow. For the typical PDF buyer this is extremely annoying. Obtaining the product feels like a serious invasion of privacy. I usually register my $399 Vista Operating system, but not my $5.99 collection of paper minis. Imagine this. You buy Madden 2007 at Gamestop, only for them to tell you that before you go home, you must go travel upstairs to the KB Toys, fill out a long form, and get your product up there. Why go through all those steps when I could just pick up a similar product that does not require the hassle.

For the DM The minis are nice fantasy pieces. Again, the artwork is really geared towards fun fantasy and not extremely detailed in coloring. Still these were nice if you need a mini to represent female and male versions of each of the base races and their classes.

The Iron Word This is a good product. But a product is more than the pages within it, customer service and attention to detail are also wrapped inside it. When you buy a product, you expect to receive the product relatively promptly with few hoops. The hoops I had to jump through here made me thinking I should be talking to detectives Stabler and Benson. Minus the hurdles, this product could have easily been a 4. I wish there was a three dimensional version and a bit more colors in the artwork, but the amount of features made up for them. The product does kick itself with its name as well. ITs a set of fantasy minis that could easily fit into anygame system, why hamper it down by saying it is "for this particular system." <br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: - nice artwork

  • great print options for pdfs
  • lots of minis for the price<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: - naming is not as marketable as it could have been
  • no complete 3d printing
  • the artwork gets repetitive
  • artwork is more friendly fantasy than gritty fantasy
  • All my other quips are minor when i consider that I had to jump to through many hurdles to receive the product. <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Disappointed<br>


Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Disposable Heroes: HARP Set 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Disposable Heroes: Sci-Fi Set 1 (HardNova 2)
by joel s. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/01/2006 00:00:00

Art is ok, but I was expecting more of a selection of units. <br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I couldnt figure out how to pick the units I wanted, as advertized<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Disposable Heroes: Sci-Fi Set 1 (HardNova 2)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher's Assistant Clipart: Fantasy Set 1
by Geoff H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/07/2006 00:00:00

A good small collection of clipart. Rick has a wonderful style and really brings his sketches alive. That's one of the reasons I was happy to have him work on Brixbrix's Field Guide to the Creatures of Ados.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Simple, clean sketches that are useful for any fantasy publication.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I'd have liked more pics, even if I had to pay a little bit more.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher's Assistant Clipart: Fantasy Set 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Disposable Heroes: Fantasy Set 2 (Humanoids)
by JERRY M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/30/2006 00:00:00

This was a good set of minis, covering the common "cannon fodder" humanoids in most RPGs: Goblins, Hobgoblins, Kobolds, Orcs, Gnolls, Bugbears, and Lizardmen/Troglodytes.

The detail is a little cartoony, but the models all have character and some interesting weapons. (And the kobolds look perfect for use in Kobolds ate My Baby...with similar gear and so on to that game.)

A few problems, however:

1) The pieces are all about the same size, giving a 3' 80# kobold the same sized piece as a 7'6" 350# bugbear.

2) Like all of the disposable hero sets, the pieces print out as 1 sheet plus a few more, meaning that you end up wasting a lot of cardstock on 6 to 10 counters. I assume this can be rectified by changing the download style from the website, but it was annoying.

3) It would have been nice to get a few more poses for each of the races. For the price, I would have expected maybe 8-10 of each race instead of 4. And that would also solve the printing problem.

However, for the price, they were fun. <br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Detail was nice.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Not as many poses for the cost. The odd print layout meant wasted cardstock.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Disposable Heroes: Fantasy Set 2 (Humanoids)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 136 to 150 (of 312 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]  ... 10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates