DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
RPGPundit Presents #26: Mutant Hordes of the Last Sun
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/05/2018 20:31:59

So today it wad great anticipation that I grabbed a copy of Rpg Pundit Presents 26 Mutant Hordes of the Last Sun.

I asked for this copy of what looks like Rpg Pundit's dip into the OSR post apocalyptic rpg scene with the Last Sun setting. Sort of a Dying Earth meets gonzo OSR rpg style game setting, Dungeon Crawl Classic or Mutant Crawl Classic players are going to feel right at home here as will Mutant Future rpg fans. There's also a good shot of Tolkein's Middle Earth playing to the strains of some weird Eighties sound track here. None of this is a bad thing for the OSR zine presentation of this setting;

" In the gonzo world of the Last Sun, human beings are an endangered species. After the Great Disaster, human numbers have steadily declined throughout the world. Although a few areas still contain a human majority (like the city of Arkhome, detailed in RPGPunditPresents #16 and #20), true humans are a very rare breed throughoutmost of the world. While humans have been hunted to near-extinction in some areas (like the Middle-Northern Wildlands, detailed in RPGPundit Presents #15), it was mostly mutation rather than depredation that has apparently doomed humanity. The time of the Great Disaster, when the Dark Ones entered the world of the Last Sun and waged war against all life, caused an enormous amount of ecological damage to the world. The disappearance of the Ancients, crash of G.O.D. into Emergency Mode, and rebellion of the AI Daemons meant that there was no central control. The loss of the Dwarven Machineholds to the servants of the Dark One also meant that all the machinery that kept strict control over the climate of the world was no longer accessible. The war of the Pythian Elves and their allies against the Dark Ones on the surface of the world created devastation, both technological (radiation and other toxic effects) and magical. As a result of all this, not only did many humans die, but many more were mutated into horrific monsters and monster-races, like the humanoids usually described as goblin-kin. A majority were changed into what are now simply referred to as mutants—they are human-like, but no longer human creatures" So basically Rpg Pundit is steadily working on an OSR post apocalyptic rpg and testing the waters of the marketplace with a slick mutant race generator with a strong eye towards the gonzo end of the spectrum. This product clocks in at eighteen pages & is full of random generators for everything from your mutant's tribal factional background, powers, type, color, & potential additional physical qualities. In addition there's a psychic powers system built into the product that can work in a wide variety of OSR products. Finally there's a random mutant quirky qualities & weirdness table. And there's actually a couple of pieces of pretty decent artwork along with the usual quality layout to the product line.
Mutant generators walk a very fine line when it comes to execution they have to have enough useful information & lots of great random tables without taking away from the tool box nature of the product. Rpg Pundit Presents 26 Mutant Hordes of the Last Sun succeeds in that regard. The three dollar price tag means that the dungeon master can roll up a wide variety of NPC mutants without breaking the bank. It also means that the players have addition customization tools right at their finger tips. There's enough meet on the Mutant Hordes of the Last Sun eighteen pages to give a good idea of the direction of the product without boxing the players completely and utterly into the setting. There's just enough guidance to randomly determine if your PC is a mutant, and what kind of classes he can play without strong arming the player into a corner of dead ends & penalties that many other OSR & old school post apocalyptic products have done in the past. Yes I'm looking at you Ares section of Dragon magazines of ages past. There's a lot here that can be done with Rpg Pundit Presents 26 Mutant Hordes of the Last Sun

from factional NPC mutant characters to full fledged psychic mutant PC's whose presence won't destroy your wastelands. The inclusion of a working psychic powers system is a nice addition for only three dollars & I can see using this generator for creating humanoid mutant alien species as well. This generator would work well for creating mutant tribes & NPC's on failed colony worlds for science fiction or science fantasy worlds. There's enough here to add mutant PC's to a wide variety of OSR games. The three dollar price tag makes this a nice & solid product for use with OSR games. I don't know if the Last Sun setting is for me but the Rpg Pundit Presents 26 Mutant Hordes of the Last Sun is a welcome addition to the post apocalyptic Dungeon master's arsenal. So this one is a five out of five in my book! Want to get more original OSR & original post apocalytic content? Then subscribe to https://darkcornersofrpging.blogspot.com/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RPGPundit Presents #26: Mutant Hordes of the Last Sun
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Swords & Six-Siders
by Stuart J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/02/2018 15:23:37

It's agood useable system, with a small amount of tweaking I've adapted it to a post apocalypse, alien invasion style game, simple but totally great basics for a mixed player age group



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Swords & Six-Siders
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Swords & Six-Siders
by Christopher C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/24/2018 20:06:51

This is a super lite fantasy offering in the vein of 0-e of the original RPG. In it you will find ideas for the standard races and classes found in most fantasy games.

The games hook is that you use a single d6 for all rolls. This means attributes are generated with 1d6, tasks are performed the same way. It is a perfect way of doing things for a pick-up group or even a longer term set of sessions. It is lite enough to allow for quick play but has room to add things as you go.

Very fun and quite worth the read!

And lest I forget... there is a small group dedicated to this game forming up over on G+

https://plus.google.com/u/0/communities/100500584349717966351



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Swords & Six-Siders
by John A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/24/2018 17:09:34

This rules-lite RPG is brilliant in its simplicity. Contained in these 60 pages is everything you need to play, gamemaster, and design your own monsters and adventures. Monster design and their tiny stat block are ingenious. Plus, I love Steve Robertson's art. It is a perfect match to his text, only detailed enough to be inspiring in its simplicity.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Swords & Six-Siders
by Jerry L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2018 21:56:24

Swords & Six-Siders is basically a 1d6 version of the original role-playing game. It is dripping with old-school goo (that's a GOOD thing), from writing to art to the feeling of nostalgia just by reading it. No other dice are used except a good ol' d6, the most convenient type that is accessible in every home, even if you have to raid a dusty old board game tucked in a closet. Your standard races are present (Dwarf, Elf, Halfling, Human) and there are three of the four familiar classes (Fighter, Thief, Wizard). No Clerics, but there is the Myrmidon class which is a compromise since they can fight and cast spells. Your level of play goes from 1-6, the equivalency of levels 1-12 in other OSR games. Monsters are handled so efficiently by the genius of using Monster Levels (ML) to determine their stats. No more extensive stat blocks followed by long-toothed descriptions. Combat's a cinch. Roll 1d6 +/- any modifiers and hit the opponent's Armor Class. Other things I like about the game is that any natural roll of "6" is a success and "1" is a failure. Yep, even the greatest heroes and foes have at least a 1-in-6 probability of flubbing, and the weakest still have a chance for success. This game is so easy to build your own adventures, races, and monsters for -- and with the forthcoming supplement license, we'll soon be creating and sharing our ideas enough to elevate this little gem of a game to new heights previously unimaginable. With enough buy-in from all of the great OSR gamers and authors (and there are a TON of you, FWIW), it should be a fun ride!

Disliked: Myrmidons instead of Clerics - easily remedied with the Supplement license... hint, hint ;) Liked: Everything else!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Active Exploits Diceless Roleplaying
by Goran E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/11/2018 13:33:41

First, let's get rid of a common mistake. It's written diceless not rules-less. so it has rules, quite a lot in fact but they all circle the single identical idea of resource manageament. It's not that this is a bad idea at all, but for example you won't find the grand world-shattering competitive ways to roleplay that Amber introduced. Because yes you need to talk about Amber when you talk about diceless rpg.

So Active Exploits is not designed with a stable group of players in mind, there is no bidding process and all. Here you buy things, and there are quite a few to pick from: ABILITIES which are stats, there are 4 of them. ASPECTS namely luck and discipline which have base values according to game level of reality, SKILLS that you may take and a which level still according to reality level, GIMMICKS (as many as you want as long as the referee agrees) and PRINCIPLES like codes, faults and objectives. Creating a character is easy in fact, the reality level telling all you need, however it is not written in the most explicit way I've seen, but it's just my opinion. What is important is that it is quick, easy, but that players really need to be able to make the differences betwen all the differnt names given to all different possible values.

In fact the system is built upon the idea that you have a base value equals to ability + skill and that you need to burn points of bo uses (like luck etc) to get a sum that is over the target level. You can even spend XP spent on skills to get a temporary boost. It's quite crystal clear except that you need to make really sure players are aware of the many pools they can pick pints from. Especially with the advanced rules that introduces even more pools like flairs (say subskills), convictions, fields of expertise, threads linking characters.

The main problem according to me are these advanced chapters. Because you have character creation, system and combats THEN advanced versions of the same ones then others. All in all I love the way things get described with category after category enhancing game experience. But I must admit that this very depth is also the deepest flaw of the game system because it's easy to get lost and not being able to succeed because you fail at giving a reason why you could add this bonus or that one.

It is a very good game, not doubts. But there are so many resources to manage from that I wonder how far it is a playable game. You need a very committed group that will move farther, advanced option after advanced option. And that will be very difficult to introduce new players in the middle because of the sheer amount of variables to take into account when comes the moment to chose where you pick points from. I tried two games which is not a lot I admit, but each time we had to shatter that wall of "how I am supposed to do that?". In a typical dice-driven game you don't have it because you have clear values to add to a random die result. Here you never know if burning a point or a skill XP on that is useful or silly. On the first game I made all characters were quickly exhausted and succeeding difficult tasks became impossible, on the second one it was the reverse: nobody wanted to burn a dot and the story wasn't proceeding on.

I love this game but I don't know how to make it work properly in fact. How do you play a resource management system when you have no resources left or when no one does want to spend them? And it's the moment we get back to Amber...



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Active Exploits Diceless Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Disposable Heroes Superhero Statix 1
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/15/2018 10:50:42

I was looking around for superhero paper miniatures. I tried a couple on DriveThruRPG and this one is the best of the bunch. High quality images formatted for inch squares. Nice selection of generic superheros. Comes with bifold and trifold (like TSR's Marvel Superheroes Fold Ups) versions. Definitely going to look at the publishers other offerings for other genres. If your looking for generic superhero miniatures this set is a solid 5 star.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Disposable Heroes Superhero Statix 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

RPGPundit Presents #13: Dragon Corpses
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2018 09:20:15

This pdf contains five half-pages of game information, plus the requisite covers and OGL statement. As befits a product supporting the OSR, mechanical rules are few.

There are subjects including what to use dragon teeth, droppings, etc., just like the cover states. There is mention of the Lion & Dragon RPG, but the information herein can easily be used for any OSR game.

I rated the supplement at 4 stars because the information is great, and spawns several potential adventure ideas as the PCs bring the dragon's corpse back to civilization. The value is well worth the $1 I spent. There seem to be a couple items missing that I would love to hear the author's take on - dragon bones and organs, such as the eyes or the heart. Granted, using this product as a guideline can get me traction in that regard, but it seems like using a femur to craft a javelin could be covered, if only to say "dragon bones are actually unsuited for crafting, being highly porous and delicate once the magical life energy of the beast dissapates upon its death." Which as I write this makes total sense, and will likely be my explaination should it ever come up in a game.

I am very happy with this purchase; it is getting printed and placed into my "GM Notebook of Miscellany" because my players don't always kill dragons, but when they do I want to have an answer for "Hey, can we collect some of it's breath acid?"



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
RPGPundit Presents #13: Dragon Corpses
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Coyote Trail: Shady Gulch Revisited
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/04/2018 05:34:50

A very solid product. Good attention to detail. Since I have to use 50 characters, I will also say I enjoyed it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Coyote Trail: Shady Gulch Revisited
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

RPGPundit Presents #9: The Book of the Art of Hours
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/29/2017 20:37:08

So I went to Rpg Pundits publisher & asked to get myself a copy of RPGPundit Presents #9: The Book of the Art of Hours. for review. This isn't a regular book of hours, a regular book of hours is, "a Christian devotional book popular in the Middle Ages. ... Like every manuscript, each manuscript book of hours is unique in one way or another, but most contain a similar collection of texts, prayers and psalms, often with appropriate decorations, for Christian devotion." Umm no this isn't remote a book like that, instead this a book of magick & occult knowledge that I happen to know something about. This is a text of occult knowledge that I wished I had when running Lamentations of the Flame Princess & Dark Albion. Why because the Book of the Art of Hours provides rites & rituals that do something different & unique within an occult context that a wizard needs within an old school campaign that makes him or her unique & dangerous. Like many occult & magick texts this one is ascribed to a powerful Christian Saint of some renowned. So what is the Book of the Art of Hours? "The strange and powerful Book of the Art of Hours was said to have been revealed to the great wizard St. Apollonius at Corinth, where he ascended to the Third Sphere of the Seven Heavens. It reveals the method of contacting and summoning discarnate spirits that rule over the twenty-four magical hours of the day, and describes what gifts those spirits can provide." Book of the Art of Hours provides a fast & flexible ritual system that quickly & easily adds more scope to a wizard by providing them with a series of incantations & spells that can aid in old school play. These are rituals that only take fifteen minutes within the game setting & provide some very interesting & dangerous spirits at the caster's beckon & call provided that they have a Table of Operations available to them.

"This text reveals the method of contacting discarnate spirits that rule over the twenty-four magical hours of the day. These hours are not quite the normal hours of a day, because they must be calculated in a certain way. There are twelve hours of day and twelve of night. To know the time each hour takes, you must calculate the moment of sunrise and sunset. Taking the whole time from sunrise to sunset and dividing it by twelve gets you the length of each hour of day; doing the same from sunset to sunrise gives you each hour of night. Thus, the hours of the day are longer than night at certain times of year, or vice-versa at other times. Each of the twenty-four spirits can only be summoned on their particular hour of the day or night. The ritual of summoning itself takes only about fifteen minutes to perform, but it requires that the magician ceremonially wash himself beforehand (this can be done before the hour of the summoning starts). To summon the spirit, the magician requires the use of a Table of Operations, which is a special board that contains symbols of the sun and planets. These are arranged in a certain orientation, depending on the spirit being summoned. The construction of a Table of Operations costs about 30gp (2L in Dark Albion), and requires 1d4 weeks at the hands of a skilled craftsman."

Clocking in at only ten pages I surprised & delighted at the layout & easy of reading material. This isn't stodgy & over the top OSR rpg magick book. Instead its simple down to Earth with language that covers the reader in exactly what its trying to do. RPGPundit Presents #9: The Book of the Art of Hours. presents a ritual & rite system for the summoning of the spirits of the Hours in the first book & a very dangerous second section that discusses a death rite that has all kinds of applications for adventure construction.

What the hell I'm I talking about? Well let's take a look at the spirit of the eleventh hour number 11. Athos Spirit of the Eleventh Hour (DC: 16+1d4) This spirit can cause a house of the magician’s choosing to collapse. It can be constructed of wood or bricks, but not solid stone. There is obviously a risk of anyone inside taking damage. The magician can instead request a person be compelled to walk out of a house (this person can make a saving throw if they have strong enough motive to remain inside the house)." Minor shrines, small Roman style miniature temples, etc can all be brought down on the heads of priests or officials. Doesn't seem like a big deal but when your talking about a retroclone game such as Lamentations or Dark Albion it could get a PC burnt at the stake. For Lamentations of the Flame Princess this is a great addition because The Book of the Art of Hours. is exactly the sort of weird occult tome that would be present in a an academic occultist's library or an educated witch's study. Just the sort of tome to get the PC's in way in over their collective heads when their own wizard tries these rites and rituals. For Dark Albion the book's character doesn't have to change & its timing in history is right for the War of the Roses. Copies of this book might be under lock & key especially when some of its content can alter the behavior of Albion royals, temple guards,even minor couriers might be affected by some of the spells. There's also that tricky little matter of possession by spirits. Take for example the spirit of the third hour;"3. Thena Spirit of the Third Hour (DC: 10+1d8) This spirit causes discord, making two individuals of the magician’s choosing enter into conflict. The magician must know the true name of both individuals. If the two individuals have an intense love (platonic, familial, or romantic) for each other, they both get a saving throw to resist." Given the lower tier NPC levels of Dark Albion some of the spells in The Book of the Art of Hours. could change the tide of a campaign's direction. But given some of the forces of the occult from Dark Albion's Cults of Chaos, the PC's are going to need the edge that the spirits of the Book of the Art of Hours bring to the table. Surely there's nothing then that The Book of the Art of Hours could offer a traditional original, Advanced Dungeons & Dragons , or B/X Dungeons & Dragons party?

Well given that some of these spirits have a practical & very down to Earth application there are definitely some solid spirits that a wizard could bring to bare. The spirit of the first hour is perfect for a wide variety of applications especially for party's thieves, bards, and other outlaws;1. Thamore Spirit of the First Hour (DC: 10+1d10) The spirit can free a captive from their bonds or cells—jail doors open, and shackles or ropes slip off, for example. The magician must know the captive’s name and where he is imprisoned."

The second half of the book has a rite of death magick that allows one to know the circumstances surrounding the death of the spell's target. There's an air of destiny about this spell that touches on dealing with the spirit of Death herself. Now I mentioned earlier in this review about the great wizard St. Apollonius at Corinth, where he ascended to the Third Sphere of the Seven Heavens. Well dallying in the affairs of death & having truck with spirits of Death is essentially necromancy. The Seventh Heavens are present in many of the worlds religions & the third Heaven is mentioned in the epistle of the Apostle Paul as very important;

"An epistle of the Apostle Paul, included in the New Testament, contains an explicit reference to the Third Heaven. In a letter to the Corinthian church he writes, "I know a man in Christ" (usually interpreted as: himself) "who fourteen years ago was caught up to the Third Heaven. Whether it was in the body or out of the body I do not know—God knows. And I know that this man—whether in the body or apart from the body I do not know, but God knows—was caught up to paradise. He heard inexpressible things, things that man is not permitted to tell." (2 Corinthians 12:2–4) The Greek says "caught away", not "caught up" possibly reflecting Jewish beliefs that Paradise was somewhere other than the uppermost heaven.[16]

In the Second Book of Enoch, Enoch travels through the seven heavens and gives geographical and visual documentation of them, describing houses, olive oil and flowers. He passes through the Garden of Eden in the Third Heaven on his way to meet the Lord in the 7th Heaven" There are secrets that The Book of the Art of Hours

might reveal that might mean the intersession of an angel of Death or worse if abused. PC's dallying with such occult books must watch their steps. The Book of the Art of Hours

like all good rpg products spins more adventure fodder the more one dives into it. Are there quibbles? My only minor quibble is that there should have been more to it with a bit of the book's back history & perhaps its place within real world history. The The Book of the Art of Hours

appearance during the Hundred Years War at a pivot moment in history & time might have contributed to a some decisive directions that history took in both the real world & Albion. Do I think The Book of the Art of Hours is worth getting? In a word yes because of the ideas,spirits, rituals, and substance that this product brings to the gaming table. The product does all of this in ten pages & at two dollars. So yes its a five out of five product in my book.

Eric Fabiaschi Swords & Stitchery Blog Want to see more reviews & support for this & other OSR products? Then please subcribe to https://swordsandstitchery.blogspot.com/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RPGPundit Presents #9: The Book of the Art of Hours
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

RPGPundit Presents #3: High-Tech Weapons
by Dan D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2017 22:12:24

As Robert P mentioned, it is a nice little book if you want to add firearms to an OSR campaign. For the most part, it is functional and if you are running Science Fiction or Space Opera, and maybe even Hard Science Fiction, then the book covers it fine.

I have already mentioned to Pundit that I have a couple of mild disagreements sort of and I think a bit of the material can be expanded on. The book itself is basically an abridged take on firearms, which is not a bad thing. My comments are mostly personal preference.

My major disagreement is Pundit's assertion that plasma weapons do not use burst fire. Every single blaster in Star Wars is a plasma weapon, and if you happen to be a being of living tissue over a metal endoskeleton firing a Westinghouse M-27 Phased Plasma Pulse Rifle, then you most certainly have burst fire. That is easily fixed by the GM simple allowig plasma weapons to have burst fire, so no big deal.

In any case, if you want a quick source of guns for your OSR game, be it fantasy or otherwise, this is a decent book to pick up. It's only a couple of bucks.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
RPGPundit Presents #3: High-Tech Weapons
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

RPGPundit Presents #3: High-Tech Weapons
by Robert P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2017 18:06:22

Excellent product! If you want to add some hi-tech weaponry to your OSR games - from slug throwers to precision lasers. Covers a lot of material in eight pages with some good mechanics for implementing them into your game. Good production quality as well… Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RPGPundit Presents #2: The Goetia
by Ron D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/10/2017 16:11:58

In need of a demon and the kind of stuff he can do to your victim Eh pc ? Expert GM's may not need this for the summoning spell, but it does have a list of the kind of stuff demons inspired by medieval occult lore could do.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RPGPundit Presents #2: The Goetia
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

RPGPundit Presents #1: DungeonChef
by Ron D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2017 10:12:57

It's short and sweet. If you need a few guidelines on what to tell your players when they decide to snack on a random creature then this will help you. It's nothing a good GM couldn't improvise himself, but to newbies like me it is interesting to see how one could apply rules to this type of question.

It does make me wonder what the fantasy equivalent to a "Bear Grylls' survival handbook" would be like ...

Summary : I'm hungry for more.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
RPGPundit Presents #1: DungeonChef
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Solo Wargaming Guide
by Peter J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/29/2016 15:37:22

The system for determining weather will be particularly useful. I also enjoyed reading the examples of the author's campaigns.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Solo Wargaming Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 312 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates