DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Pegasus Magazine I (Apr-May 1981)
by Dominic L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2014 14:23:03

(I bought the 12 issue bundle which is excellent value).

This is a great magazine, each issue is like 90 odd pages,and most have a massive (40+) page adventure based in JG fantasy worlds. I play AD&D first edition, so this is 100% usable material for me. There is a wealth of articles about character classes, equipment, spells and every aspect of dungeoneering you can think of. Later issues have stuff on Traveller, Tunnels & Trolls and Runequest- all of which are fascinating. There is some fiction too which I look forward to reading. This really is a trasure trove of ideas. The presentation is a little basic compared to polished products of today- but I really love the retro look, and the basic illustrations which were the norm back then. I never collected this back at the time (I was a White Dwarf fan)- and its fantastic to be able to have this now. The bundle is excellent value- each mag works out at $1.50 or something! Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pegasus Magazine I (Apr-May 1981)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

City State of the Invincible Overlord - Revised
by Dominic L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2014 14:14:35

Firstly- the product is great, wonderful, detailed city, I've wanted this for ages.

But I have to say that the scans are very difficult to read. I think this is because the font is small- much smaller than other modules like Dark Tower. This makes it very hard to read when printed . Its OK if you view as PDF and can zoom in. It should be rescanned and the full use of the page, because currently there is aband of wasted space at the bottom of each page. The text should be zoomed (even if it means losing the page number). This way the text would be more legible.

I've never had a problem with any other RPG Now downloads- they have all been excellent. But CIty State was a bit disappointing- hampered by the sheer volume of info packed on each page.

Thanks,

DL



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
City State of the Invincible Overlord - Revised
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Tower (1979)
by Dominic L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2014 16:02:36

This was one of the tantalising titles I remember seeing on the shelves at my local game shop back in 1981 or so- and I remember the cover etched in my mind- so 32 years later I bought it and really enjoyed reading it. I have to say that I haven't played this adventure- only read it. I plan to run it for my son when his party is higher level, the reason being that it is a TOUGH dungeon for very high level characters. The theme is two buried towers, and the party must fight down one,and up the other. Each tower is populated by either the Set or Mitra factions. Another thing to note is that there is little treasure really considering the incredible strength of the opponents. Still, when I run it I will certainly up the level of treasure and place additional major magic items for the players to find. Tough dungeons are great- but there must be big rewards if you consider how much experience a character must have to go up a level at high level.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Tower (1979)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Under the Storm Giant's Castle (1979)
by Jonas M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/12/2013 03:20:31

This is truly a bit crazy adventure. Unconventional, strange and funny but the age really shows. There are tons of better dungeon crawls out there.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Under the Storm Giant's Castle (1979)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

City State of the Invincible Overlord - Revised
by Arnie W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/02/2013 02:34:25

Yes, the holy grail of geekdom in all it's glory! I have been trying to find a hard copy of this for years, literally. I have been unable to find it, but I was happy to find it here. Yes, it is a bit tough to read and yes some of the scans are not perfect BUT some of the original Judge's guild products were not perfect (Not trying to be rude, but these were the days of typewriters and mimeograph machines and some of you weren't born then or you have forgotten that it was often difficult to take a test on those "lovely" copies). I am sure that some of the subtle shades are lost from PDF to print, and I am sure this is frustrating to some but it is easily overcome. To me, it has all the flair and mystic it should. It seems to me to be perfectly accurate and intact. I have already printed it out in it's entirety and added the detail I wanted to for the new (yes, NEW) campaign I am starting for a group of gamers who remember the days these classics were on the shelf at the local shop like I do. For those of you who don't know, a lot of the Judge's Guild products were a bit vague in spots to allow for easy DM customization for their particular campaigns, or so we always believed. I have often thought that Judge's Guild products were formalizations of the individual DM notes and maps of a campaign somewhere that the authors were running or playing in, but that had some of the details left out. I have been VERY pleased with the downloads and this site is AMAZING!

To give a good review I would have to say that the product printed very well. I am using an old Laser-jet 6p and it looked good when done printing, even the maps. I have yet to get a bad download, and I have downloaded almost 20 products from here. Most of the downloads were old D&D products (First Edition and Basic) from TSR or Judges Guild. Some of the downloads are taken from the "in house" copies (read as actually used on game night, probably for a long time) and I have seen one pen mark (on a different download) that was not removed from one of these copies. One pen mark out of the thousands of scans these good folks had to do is easy for me to forgive. Overall rating is a 9.9 out of 5. Yes, that high.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
City State of the Invincible Overlord - Revised
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Guide to the City State (1976)
by James S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/23/2013 13:54:34

Guide to the City State is classic Judges Guild. There are literally thousands of adventure hooks buried in the descriptions, and left for the individual judge to do what he wants with them.
Enough detail to get you started, without bogging you down.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Guide to the City State (1976)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

City State of the Invincible Overlord - Revised
by Tim M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/03/2013 08:10:29

If you are unfamiliar with the City State it is a bare bones, house by house, description of an entire city. Every lord, merchant, thief and hooker gets full stats and a brief description. Plenty to build upon, but not so much that you feel your creativity being stifled. Easy to slip into an existing campaign, or to use as a jumping off point for a new one, or several new ones. You could run three simultaneous campaigns out of here and have a high probability that they'd never cross paths. The additional, essentially blank, player map of the city allows your players to make notations of important locals, and now that we can print it off you can give them several copies for different information. Or no copies and make them squirrel it all out on their own.

The only thing I miss in this product is a full sheet version of the GM and players maps of the city. You can print out the several sheet version and tape it together, but I'd love to be able to run down to the local office store and print out one big one.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
City State of the Invincible Overlord - Revised
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

City State Player's Map
by Peter F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2013 17:25:49

I found this to be a decidedly "Meh!" product. Yes, I now have a map that roughly goes with the sparse notes about the city state found in the actual module, but in my humble opinion the map leaves a lot to be desired. I am aware that this is 30+ years old but still, I would have expected something just a bit more useful for play. Sadly the entire PDF collection doesn't seem to feature a map for the judge, apart from the hex map version on the back of the original module. I guess I'll have to hope that either someone will redo such a map using modern tools or that I can eventually afford the revised city state bundle.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
City State Player's Map
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Initial Guidelines Booklet I (1976)
by Matthew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/26/2013 13:51:10

This is more CSIO street info you need to run the original, real-deal, 1970's version of City State of the Invincible Overlord! This is the most awesome & storied metropolis in gaming history. This is absolutely terrific that the team running Judges Guild is making these old pieces of gaming history available in the original format (my physical copies are too fragile to game with!). Thanks Judges Guild!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Initial Guidelines Booklet I (1976)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Guide to the City State (1976)
by Matthew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/26/2013 13:47:38

This is the original real-deal City State of the Invincible Overlord! This is the most awesome & storied metropolis in gaming history. However, there is more CSIO street info you need in Initial Guidelines Booklet I. You also need a map, and DriveThru RPG only sells a PDF of the player's map to the city state. Note also that Initial Guidelines Booklet J is not available, and that contains information about Thunderhold and Sunstone Caverns, both about 100 miles to the north above city state. So, whomever is handling Judges Guild, please see if we can get Initial Guidelines Book J and a single copy of a judge's map for City State. That would be awesome historical goodness!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Guide to the City State (1976)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pegasus Magazine II (Jun-Jul 1981)
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2013 16:02:19

Classic D&D materials. Good scan, timeless material to draw upon for gaming ideas. I love JG products, even though they are rough compared to modern day, or even 80's vintage AD&D products. Still valuable for the enterprising DM. The entire collection of Pegasus Magazines can be had, and for the price, they're a good deal, in my opinion. Cheers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pegasus Magazine II (Jun-Jul 1981)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pegasus Magazine IX (Aug-Sep 1982)
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2013 16:01:43

Classic D&D materials. Good scan, timeless material to draw upon for gaming ideas. I love JG products, even though they are rough compared to modern day, or even 80's vintage AD&D products. Still valuable for the enterprising DM. The entire collection of Pegasus Magazines can be had, and for the price, they're a good deal, in my opinion. Cheers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pegasus Magazine IX (Aug-Sep 1982)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pegasus Magazine I (Apr-May 1981)
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2013 16:01:21

Classic D&D materials. Good scan, timeless material to draw upon for gaming ideas. I love JG products, even though they are rough compared to modern day, or even 80's vintage AD&D products. Still valuable for the enterprising DM. The entire collection of Pegasus Magazines can be had, and for the price, they're a good deal, in my opinion. Cheers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pegasus Magazine I (Apr-May 1981)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pegasus Magazine X (Oct-Nov 1982)
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2013 16:01:01

Classic D&D materials. Good scan, timeless material to draw upon for gaming ideas. I love JG products, even though they are rough compared to modern day, or even 80's vintage AD&D products. Still valuable for the enterprising DM. The entire collection of Pegasus Magazines can be had, and for the price, they're a good deal, in my opinion. Cheers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pegasus Magazine X (Oct-Nov 1982)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pegasus Magazine XI (Dec-Jan 1983)
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2013 16:00:43

Classic D&D materials. Good scan, timeless material to draw upon for gaming ideas. I love JG products, even though they are rough compared to modern day, or even 80's vintage AD&D products. Still valuable for the enterprising DM. The entire collection of Pegasus Magazines can be had, and for the price, they're a good deal, in my opinion. Cheers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pegasus Magazine XI (Dec-Jan 1983)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 31 to 45 (of 163 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates