DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Night Witches
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2016 22:02:00

This is basically genius. It's one of the weirder niche settings I've encountered, but somehow all the more powerful for it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Night Witches
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Old Friends
by Tore P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/01/2016 11:57:10

A very well-written game. The rules are brief and concise, containing everything you need to play. The only thing that prevents you from running this game in ten minutes from printing is that it takes a while to cut the cards. I've now run the game five times, and the stories that emerged varied wildly, from love stories to murder mysteries to the cthulhuoid. The mask has been used as described in the rules, but also forced unto players to send them to Hell, used as self-sacrifice and everything in between. It's an awesome tool! If the game lacks anything, it would be a list of pitfalls to avoid. Last run I had, the players played themselves into a corner where they needed a non-existing NPC to be physically present to conclude the game, but luckily they managed to kidnap a bystander (I was filming the session, normally I'd have participated).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Old Friends
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Skeletons
by Tomer G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2016 19:10:41

I got this earlier in the year, and have play/run it about 3-4 times. The first time it was with just 2 of us, the next times it was a short play-test with 3, and the last time I ran it as a pseudo-GM/facilitator with 5 players.

This game does some really clever things. You start with a character sheet that is almost entirely blank. You have no memory of your past life. You get to draw over the skeleton on the sheet, so there is a little art period, where you add a sword, or helmet, or whatever. I.e. what you might look like.

The great thing is that the questionairre on the character sheet gets filled out during the game, as you play... you start to fill in your path and remember things.

And then there are quite periods during the long dark between scenes, where you sit, quiet, in the dark, for a few minutes. It really catures some great essence.

If interested, I write about my sessions in pictures / more details / writeup: http://www.supernovembergames.com/tomes-of-tomes/2016/9/6/strategicon-gateway-2016-saturday-and-god-and-praxis (about half-way down) http://www.supernovembergames.com/tomes-of-tomes/2016/7/12/the-skeletons-in-space-a-very-short-playtest http://www.supernovembergames.com/tomes-of-tomes/2016/6/3/astg-the-skeletons



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Skeletons
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Warren
by Tomer G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2016 13:55:17

After funding the KickStarter, but not getting to play or run it yet, I finally got to play this at Big Bad Con 2016 at a convention game. The game does such a brilliant job of allowing you to play prey. The world is a rough and dangerous place, and you feel it at every turn. At the convention game they had the accompanying deck of cards, which is a nice touch, but by no means necessary.

If you are familiar with PbtA (Apocalypse World-based) games, then you will already be familiar with the success / success with complications / fail forward mechanics. One thing that differentiates this game from many other RPGs, is that there is really not much in the way of "combat". Being prey does have its disadvantages. That said, one brilliant mechanic in this game is the Innovate move, which allows you to cleverly come up with new moves that your bunnies discover or create. In our game we created "Speak for the first bunny" (i.e. Proselytize... i.e. Religion). A nearby table innovated a move to start fires, in helping fighting off the humans... but which resulted in a complete forest fire.

All in all, I can see this working equally well with younger audiences, but also can be brutal and dark with those that want it so. It also allows for easy progression of new characters in the continued tale-telling of the same rabbit warren, which means that even though characters can die easily, that doesn't have to stop the game.

Great game. My writeup of the con game is somewhere in here: http://www.supernovembergames.com/tomes-of-tomes/2016/10/19/big-bad-con-2016-saturday



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Warren
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fiasco
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/26/2016 14:05:11

So glad I went out on a limb and bought this game. I'm used to playing more traditional dice and minature games but when I heard the description of Fiasco I had to pick up a copy. It has changed my gaming life. Highly recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fiasco
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Skeletons
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2016 03:39:44

I haven't had the chance to play it yet, but it's a very intriguing game. The rules "proper" are just one page (plus a second page of optional rules and things to try), and the rest are tables, somewhat akin to Fiasco's Playsets. You get to sets of tables: the standard one, and Sara Williamson's variant.

This game is certainly not for everyone, and will probably vary wildly depending on which players you play with. I'm looking forward to trying this out. If you like "artsy" or indie games, or if the description sounded appealing, I think it's totally worth the eight bucks. If you or your players are into min-maxing and rules... stay away.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Skeletons
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fiasco
by Sean B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/10/2016 18:50:28

Excellent system for people who want an RP experience that requires minimal setup time in a GM-less environment. I picked this up after finding out my usual GM couldn't show up for our FATE campaign. We set up the game vanilla, and chose relationships before we built our characters. Then we picked the needs, objects, and locations to make things super insane. The result was a total blast, full of awesome stories, ridiculous twists, and more than a few missing limbs. I would recommend this game to anyone who is looking for a new collaborative game to play with friends or anyone who needs a break from their usual RP session.

One thing I noticed was that the players who traditionally take RPing less seriously (making decisions that are unimaginative, responding n dialogue with jokes for cheap laughs instead of advancing the story, etc) found themselves in positions in the late game where their characters didn't have anything interesting going on, while everyone else was caught up in glorious chaos that they had collectively created It didn't hinder our experience too much, but I can see that this could hinder some players who are shy, having a bad day, etc. and leave them disappointed. If you are in this position, try to keep them engaged by having your character bring the trouble to them whenever possible (which is delightfully easy in Fiasco!).

A great game to pick up and play, and can be set up and finished in one session. Get it. You will not be disappointed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fiasco
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Skeletons
by Scott A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/08/2016 22:06:23

Played this game tonight with my regular group instead of our regular game. I hadn't done my prep this week so it seemed like a good exuse to pull this one off the shelf. I was skeptical if this game was going to work as intended, but was pleasantly surprised at how quickly my players picked it up. We made a great story about honor, loss, and what meaning a human life can have after it is long forgotten. I would reccomend this game to GMs needing a one shot to fill a week when you don't have time to prep or to any story gamer types to be part of your regular rotation of games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Skeletons
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Skeletons
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/18/2016 12:35:51

I played The Skeletons at a local story games meetup. We played it with 6 players. This was the first time any of us had played this game. 5/6 of us could be considered veteran story gamers, and our 6th was new to the story game side of gaming, but an experienced gamer.

Playing this in a public space with 6 people certainly had its challenges, but the game itself appeared to be at its core very fun (not to mention just a GREAT idea for a game), but its execution has a few traps in it.

What I mean by traps is that all play occurs in these small bursts of combat, but its important to note how little the combats actually matter.

It's also important to not fall into some freeform RPG traps such as asking for permission. This is just something to be aware of when playing a light game like this. This can slow one's game down and dilute the fun experience!

My full play experience can be found here on my blog.

Thank you for reading!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Warren
by Andrew S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/26/2016 22:50:18

My son (10) says:

This is the best role playing game I have played in my life. The whole family can play it. It is easy to understand. It makes you think differently about the world. It can be terrifying, and the more you think about it, the sadder you feel for rabbits in real life. I am not a vegetarian, but this game makes me feel sad about eating meat.

I say:

This can play like a slasher film or a fairy tale. Or both. I love it. The world is easy to create and engage in for players new to role playing or veterans alike.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Warren
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Warren
by Patrick L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2016 19:06:59

A funny little romp around the warren...

Easy character generation and unique character generation...

A fun look at rabbits and their problems...predators...and predilections...

It's worth a look...with an old school Bunnies & Burrows kinda feel.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Warren
by Tun K. P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/07/2016 21:15:45

The Warren is a low-complexity indie storygame about rabbits. Like the novel Watership Down, it's about survival in a wild and strange world, and it's about building communities and creating stories that will form the folklore and history of your community. Powered by Vincent Baker's Apocalypse World system, but simplified, the game emphasizes stealth, guile and talking because combat almost always turns out badly for rabbits. There are also rules for Panic, an ever-present problem for twitchy rabbits, and even reproduction and multi-generational play. And there's a couple of rules options that take out the sex and messy stuff so you can play a child-friendly version of the game. A fine first choice I can turn to for RPGing with kids.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fiasco: Transatlantic
by George H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/14/2015 12:48:06

Let me start out by saying that this was free. Now, as a DM who is runnig a mostly-historical Victorian era game, this will be handy. You see, the party is based in London, England, but have made several trips "across the pond" to the USA. This is giving me some ideas for making those week-long voyages less uneventful. This is for the Fiasco system, which I am NOT using. But the ideas presented in the tables of this little jewel spark my own ability to create something interesting that can happen on the party's normally mundane trips across the pond. For the ideas alone, I gave it a good rating.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fiasco: Transatlantic
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Night Witches
by Andrew S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2015 03:06:27

Another amazing game from Bully Pulpit...we are currently playing a game that is seeing our only surviving Grey Ranks character turning up as a 'volunteer' at the airbase in late 1944.

Awesome



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Night Witches
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Night Witches
by Gunther B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/04/2015 00:58:40

Excellent set of rules with good background material; on a rarely covered World War II subject. Female Soviet Pilots flying NIGHT ground attack missions in military trainer biplanes. Many had hundreds of missions and seversl were awarded Russia's highest award HERO OF THE SOVIET UNION. This was no 25 missions and go home. They fought the entire war all the way from Stalingrad to Berlin The game takes into account both combat and down time. Logistics and maintenance problems as well as political officers of the NKVD. As female unit the 588th was discriminated against and look down upon; but eventually they would earn elite GUARDS unit status I also like the system that allows for rotating who is game master; frequently; when your pilot would be out of action, do to wounds or discipline problems among other things. You take over as a staff officer or squadron commander. The character creation system allows you to flesh out your character both in the air or on the ground. Sergeants have more skill while officers have more clout. Role Playing and especially military role playing has been predominately male and this gives players a chance to recruit the ladies in a some what nontraditional role as the front line troops not support units. One last spin off is its compatability with AFTERMATH and TWILIGHT 2000 1st edition. Due to the low tech nature of this unit some its aging veterans could still be flying or teaching others. For instance when out of bombs they dropped railroad ties Highly recommended; their web site has additional material for air bases, npcs, and decorations in download format. My gaming group The SAMOS SWORDSMEN Chapter of the BLADE & BLASTER GAMING SOCIETY suggests you give it a try. Survive & Succeed



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 53 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates