DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Tales of Honor: Bred to Kill #4
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/23/2016 14:20:20

I enjoyed the book, and like the graphic novel. Trying to read them all, but seem to be more than one version of the same story...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tales of Honor: Bred to Kill #4
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tracker Trade
by Flames R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/04/2016 20:15:22

I had a couple of sneak peeks at this volume of Tracker as the issues were being released, and I have to say it’s really nice to see it all together in one volume. The Issue 0 preview and Issue 4 just whet my appetite for what looked like a great werewolf story. As it turns out, the story is exactly what those bits and pieces promised.
Alex O’Rourke is one of the best trackers in the FBI — he’s so good that his instincts are the only thing helping the FBI track down Herod, a serial killer whose vicious attacks look more animal than human. Alex gets into the middle of an attack, following a hunch that Herod will be there, and miraculously survives, recovering on the autopsy table. His girlfriend, Tory, is grateful that he survived — especially after having been called in to identify his body — but she still refuses to marry him until he gives up working in the field. Alex’s partner, Jezzie, however, is glad to see Alex back at work, well before he’s supposed to be. While most of the story is about Alex vs. Herod, the push and pull set up at the beginning of the story between Tory and Jezzie has a huge impact on Alex: does he choose the woman he loves? Or does he choose the job — and, thus, the woman who understands him.
As we know from the back cover of the graphic novel, Herod is a werewolf — and, due to surviving the attack, now Alex is, too. Our werewolf expert is the ambiguous Dr. Cyril Tucker, who works for the mysterious Handel Foundation. Dr. Tucker is willing to help Alex — but he also appears to be working behind the scenes with Herod. Tucker tells Alex that the only way for Alex to be cured of lycanthropy is by obtaining some of Herod’s living blood. Alex effectively tells Tucker to shove it… but as he comes to realize that Tucker isn’t making things up, and he starts to rely more and more on his new lupine sense, Alex turns to Tucker for help. This, of course, makes the end of the story — where it’s clear that the Handel Foundation is up to all sorts of no good — a great lead in to further stories in the world.
Without spoiling Alex’s struggle against both his inner beast and against Herod, I will say that the serial killer horror level amps up as the story goes on — and because Herod needs something from Alex, he targets Alex for his own personal terror. Alex has to decide how far he’ll go, and what he’ll sacrifice, to defeat Herod once and for all. There’s plenty of violence, and lots of blood in the art work, as well as detached limbs and a severed head for good measure. The artwork uses an almost sepia cast to the colors, giving it a gritty feel that works for the brutal nature of the story’s violence.
Overall, Tracker works as an origin story. Alex is an appealing hero with the true potential to become an anti-hero at any point when the scales tip in favor of his inner beast. The werewolves here aren’t very wolf-like: the beast draws on strong emotions to change them into a monster, not a forest dweller who’d rather avoid humans than battle them. With a lot of kinder, gentler werewolves in urban fantasy these days, it’s nice to see a hard-core monster style werewolf; even if several of the werewolves featured in the volume aren’t monsters in the human side, they all have the potential to become so if they lose control. That story is an old one — but it hasn’t lost its appeal, and it works particularly well when the hero of the story is a law enforcer, who has to choose whether or not to throw the rules out the window. Definitely check this one out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tracker Trade
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Velocity #1
by Ray M. D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/05/2015 12:50:11

Engaging heroine, looks great as a regular comic found on newsstands, but quite tame for an adult title.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Velocity #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sunstone Volume 1
by Kevin H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/21/2015 13:31:12

The characters really sell this story, their flaws and the verisimilitude of their inner thoughts elevate this graphic novel from erotic titillation to the likes of Heavy Metal magazine's best stories. I cannot recommend it enough and look forward to further volumes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sunstone Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Postal #3
by John G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/11/2015 11:59:37

Postal #3 is a solid chapter that is better if you have read the first two issues. Even so, the book flows well and will suck you in, regardless.


Eden is the sheltered community of Postal. It is a town that is created by the bad guys, for the bad guys wishing to escape their former lives and associated troubles. People mind their business. Transactions are in cash. And the FBI has its watchful eye on the place.


In the midst of it all is the mayor, who comes across kind but rules with a loaded shotgun. The only law is discretion. The only town goal is to stay off the radar of the outside world. The mayor's son is the town Postmaster, and he is the focus of this series. He falls somewhere on the autistic spectrum, but it is clear that he is routinely underestimated and disregarded. It's clear that this perception will allow some big changes to take place as his life experience expands.


The writing is smart, and the dialogue stays true to sharply developed characters. There are interesting people here, and it's clear from how they act that they all have different stories. And writer Matt Hawkins continues to make us question reality, religion, and where morals are properly placed.


The artwork is made better by some excellent coloring by Betsy Gonia, who does a solid job of relaying the mood while keeping the linework clean. You can read the book without words and know what the feel of the scene is supposed to be.


The book is worth grabbing, either to complete the mini-series run or as part of the complete trade paperback when released.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Postal #3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Madame Mirage #1
by Grant S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/13/2015 12:56:26

Good art. Good story. Sort of an updated "Shadow"-type character, with some high-tech twists. I would be interested in reading more Madame Mirage from this taste.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Madame Mirage #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Aphrodite IX #0
by Wilfred D. T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2015 18:09:25

Interesting start for this cheesecake character.


The art is amazing done by several Top Cow legendary artists. But you can't deny its really meant to heighten the young male blood with its "voyuerism tendency" when the wind blows under her skirt thing.


What is interesting though is....yes, she is started as an eye candy but the later take on her character improved and gave her more substance not only in character but also her presence at the Top Cow Universe.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Aphrodite IX #0
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Witchblade Rebirth Volume 2
by Nate K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/12/2014 12:23:14

Solid entry in the series that continues to play with the Witchblade mythos.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Witchblade Rebirth Volume 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Aphrodite IX/Cyber Force #1
by John G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/30/2014 09:42:51

If you are excited about the IXth Generation coming next month (and you should be), then you should grab this important chapter in the Top Cow Universe story.


Yes, this takes place hundreds of years in the future. Yes, there are Artifacts, and lots of them. Yes, one Artifact in particular has taken the upper hand . . . can you guess which one? And there are some interesting tips and reveals that will satisfy fans of the TCU, especially CyberForce.


We get some more of the Pantheon, the special group of IX generation creations, all named after the gods. For delicious effect, it is the female gods who are clearly in charge and closely tied with the whims of "Mother," who descends from the Cyber Data Chairwoman herself.


The art is terrific, carried through in the "new" style of Stjepan Sejic - this is not his painted work; this is classic sequential art with the style and beauty that Stjepan brings to the table.


And you'll ask yourself . . . how can some of these people survive so many hundreds of years?!?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Aphrodite IX/Cyber Force #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Velocity #1
by Everard M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2014 11:37:07

I enjoyed this quite a bit. I can only describe the artwork as "raw". The sketchiness gives an active feel to the panels which works well with the character and her abilities. It's energetic and kept me running along with the character. Really good job on the presentation.


I felt though that not enough was shared about the character's origin. We found out a lot about the doctor, but we really don't know much about Velocity. If that was intentional, then it was successful. But I wasn't given enough to become invested in the character. I know she has something to do, and a little bit of time to do it, but I don't know the compelling reason. I'm interested in what happens next for sure, but I think more could have been done to make me a little more interested.


Overall a really good showing. Keep it up.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Velocity #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Madame Mirage #1
by Pent G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2014 10:10:47

Good art, good story. I'm willing to stick with this, could be an excellent series if the quality is kept up.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Madame Mirage #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cyberforce #0
by Pent G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2014 10:05:11

Awesome art, how can you not love this book?!? Silvestri is amazing, story not so much but who buys these for the stories?!? Love Cyber Force.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberforce #0
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Twilight Guardian #3
by Nate K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2014 08:58:57

I'm not sure how I feel about this issue. On the one hand, the writing continued to be stellar--amusing without being over-the-top, poignant without being heavy-handed. On the other hand, the problems established in the first issue continue to remain unaddressed--her ex-boyfriend is still missing with no leads, the Dusk Devil is still out there, etc. And I'm conflicted about that. Do I want the story to progress? Because that sounds stressful, and one of the things I like about this comic is how it's so relaxing. Nothing bad can really happen.


I don't know. I'm torn. Read it and figure out how you feel about it for yourself. I liked it a lot.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Twilight Guardian #3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tales of Honor #1
by Nate K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2014 08:53:28

A solid adaptation of my favorite military sci-fi series. Can't wait to see how the comic progresses. Although I am a little surprised that they made Nimitz so large--he looks too big to hang out on Honor's shoulders. But the visual style is great, and the writing is solid and well-aced.


Oh, and the mobile game, despite being free-to-play, isn't completely terrible. That was a pleasant surprise.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tales of Honor #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Madame Mirage #1
by M.Eugene T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/23/2014 12:36:35

I Loved this Series- They Should Write MORE Adventures. I'd also love to see a Madame Mirage/Ghost Team-up. Paul Dini was as usual Spectacular in his writing and Pacing. The back story is engaging and leads towards a prequel or two. The Love of the two sisters and the unlife as a hologram reminds me of another favorite Character- Roya of CrossGen Comics' Sigil.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Madame Mirage #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 126 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates