DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Great Pendragon Campaign
by Nathan G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2015 05:05:08

To put it simply, this may be the single greatest RPG campaign I've ever read. I'm using this for a solo game for my spouse, and it's just wonderful.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Great Pendragon Campaign
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Book of the Warlord
by Nathan G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2015 05:03:26

The Book of the Warlord definitely has some interesting parts to it. I found the examples of three Warlords holdings quite interesting. That really gives you an idea of how spread out those holding may be (take Ulfius as the prime example).

The rules for graft won't be of use to me, but others may care for this.

I'm really not a fan of changing a bunch of the place names. It's Mr. Stafford's game, and he can do as he likes, but I'm not a fan of making things more complicated and making it harder to figure out what is being talked about. I also hope that they update the GPC and core rulebook PDF's extremely quickly, so that other newer players don't have to deal with place name confusion. To be honest, I'm glad I got the earlier version, as with one exception I prefer the old names.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Book of the Warlord
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Book of the Warlord
by Roberto M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/10/2014 15:43:04

The usual high-quality book from Greg Stafford's mind. A highly modular book, where every GM will find something useful to enrich his/her campaign. I recommend it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of the Warlord
by Todd R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/07/2014 21:23:18

An excellent sourcebook for Pendragon 5.1. It's a wonderful source for "scaling up" the game to play as powerful Lords (and their officers), and expands the scope of the game beyond the default "adventuring knights" setup. A must have for players and GM's of Pendragon.

For non-Pendragon fans, it represent an excellent source for an early medieval kingdom. How the Barons and Dukes are organized and relate to each other, how exactly various Counties are organized, and the effort necessary to run a domain are all in there. The tables and rules are easily translated to any system, but it's really the information and knowledge in the book that gives you an in-depth understanding of how a kingdom is organized, and how it's various power players and families interact with each other. It's truly useful for an medieval/fantasy role-playing game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gunman's Law Main Rulebook
by Eric B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/08/2014 01:07:47

I am a backer of this game on Kickstarter. One never knows quite what to expect the game to be by what's on the Kickstarter page. This is why I love the preview PDF approach. It gives me a little better idea of what I am getting into. The file is clearly well put together and really wets my appetite for the game. The rule book looks great. I can truly tell what the game is going to be by what I see. The presentation of the game on the Kickstarter gave me a good enough indication that I wanted to take a chance on this game, but seeing this PDF assured me that I was not going to be disappointed and will recommend it to a lot of people.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gunman's Law Main Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gunman's Law Player Aids
by Eric B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/08/2014 01:05:20

I am a backer of this game on Kickstarter. One never knows quite what to expect the game to be by what's on the Kickstarter page. This is why I love the preview PDF approach. It gives me a little better idea of what I am getting into. The file is clearly well put together and really wets my appetite for the game. The aids look great. I can truly tell what the game is going to be by what I see. The presentation of the game on the Kickstarter gave me a good enough indication that I wanted to take a chance on this game, but seeing this PDF assured me that I was not going to be disappointed and will recommend it to a lot of people.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gunman's Law Player Aids
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gunman's Law Scenario Maps
by Eric B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/08/2014 01:04:13

I am a backer of this game on Kickstarter. One never knows quite what to expect the game to be by what's on the Kickstarter page. This is why I love the preview PDF approach. It gives me a little better idea of what I am getting into. The file is clearly well put together and really wets my appetite for the game. The maps look great. I can truly tell what the game is going to be by what I see. The presentation of the game on the Kickstarter gave me a good enough indication that I wanted to take a chance on this game, but seeing this PDF assured me that I was not going to be disappointed and will recommend it to a lot of people.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gunman's Law Scenario Maps
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gunman's Law Card Decks
by Eric B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/08/2014 01:03:24

I am a backer of this game on Kickstarter. One never knows quite what to expect the game to be by what's on the Kickstarter page. This is why I love the preview PDF approach. It gives me a little better idea of what I am getting into. The file is clearly well put together and really wets my appetite for the game. The cards look great. I can truly tell what the game is going to be by what I see. The presentation of the game on the Kickstarter gave me a good enough indication that I wanted to take a chance on this game, but seeing this PDF assured me that I was not going to be disappointed and will recommend it to a lot of people.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gunman's Law Card Decks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Adventures in the East Mark - Narrator Screen
by Darrick D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/12/2014 11:59:34

I received a free PDF of the East Mark Narrator's Screen for the purposes of reviewing. Here we go...

TL;DR: Yikes! I didn't love it.

The headings are right on the edge between elegantly fancy and too hard to read. After all, GMs can easily find themselves in high pressure situations. We need to take in a lot of information at a glance. Please don't make it harder on us, publishers, graphic designers, and layout people.

For some Americans, the kg and meters is not only off-putting but difficult to use. Yes, I'm afraid we much prefer pounds and feet.

I created my own little litmus test for the weapons table (which is also included in the screen): trident vs. heavy whip. Ok, looks like we've got 1d6 and 1d8, respectively. Say what? I'm not going to go through the entire weapons list but that doesn't bode well.

AC gets better as it gets lower? I thought we all had a meeting about that. Sure, original D&D used descending armor class, but come on! This is the 21st century. FYI, not a retro-clone or OSR hater. Quite the opposite, in fact.

The PDF has fairly small letters and numbers. I'm not sure how this looks in person but the diminutive characters might irritate some GMs.

Not only does each character class have its very own saving throw table (Really? Why not a unified saving throw system? Does a Dwarf need levels 1 - 3 while a Cleric needs 1 - 4 brackets?) - each of them are printed twice! I'm not sure how that could be. I triple checked it and yep... two sets of each saving throw table by character class. What gives?

Minor typo - the Monster Reaction Table shows "Resultado". Also, result 9 - 11 reads "Untreatable, can attack." Huh? Both the reaction table and turning undead table use 2d6.

There's an attack matrix table, so after you look to see what character class and level you are and what HD the monster is, you have to adjust the to-hit number according to range, strength, and/or magic (possibly with other modifiers thrown in as well). In today's modern world, that just seems like a lot of work to me.

Speaking of math, movement rate divided by 3? Sorry, no.

Let's look at the Sequence of Combat table. It's a little confusing. Each side rolls for initiative but then the text assumes the characters/adventurers are always going first. Also, I just noticed that it never tells you what to roll in order to determine initiative. Sure, it's in the rulebook (I'm assuming), but then so is the Sequence of Combat (another assumption). Why provide one and not the other?

The thief skills (percentile, of course) is split up so that the far left part of the table is on one page while the rest is on another. If you wanted to just use these as single sheets for reference... well, that will probably disappoint you.

Again with the math! The terrain movement adjustments are as follows: -1/3, -1/2, and +1/2. What does any of that even mean?

I do like the "possibility of losing direction" based on terrain table. That's a little quirky yet handy. Nice.

Ok, back to the bad stuff. There's only one picture! Yes, the red dragon fighting a human warrior is phenomenally gorgeous! In fact, it's the single best thing about this Narrator Screen PDF. Unfortunately, that's all the artwork you get. Normally, screens have illustrations covering the entire back side. Not this one.

I was going to give this two stars, but after reviewing my review... I can't recommend this screen to anyone. Although, if you're a die hard Adventures in the East Mark fan, then I don't know... why not?



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Adventures in the East Mark - Narrator Screen
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Just a quick note- The duplicated saving throws are because on the print version of this, one set is interior for the GM and the other set is on the exterior for the players to reference, hence the single piece of artwork.
Adventures in the East Mark - Basic Rule Set (Red Box)
by Eric S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2014 07:04:12

This product reminds me a lot of Dungeons & Dragons 1st edition which I was always a big fan of. The rules seem well written especially considering that translation had to take place as well. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a good relatively basic fantasy rpg game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Adventures in the East Mark - Basic Rule Set (Red Box)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Adventures in the East Mark - Basic Rule Set (Red Box)
by Vernon F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2014 12:40:22

Adventures in the East Mark is an old-school, 144 page, level-based, d20 rpg inspired by the Mentzer BECM D&D box sets. The game takes the familiar rules and weds them to the East Mark campaign world, creating a unique setting for adventuring. Character classes in the game are Clerics, Explorers (rangers), Mages, Paladins, Thieves, Warriors, and the race-as-class Dwarves, Elves, and Halflings. True to the BECM source material, the demi-humans have level limits. The artwork is very nice, evoking a dark, gritty world. I was very pleased with the section on weapons, armor, and equipment which is more extensive than those usually found in old-school games. The magic section contains a selection of popular spells, some of them renamed. The chapters on adventuring and running a campaign covers the basics that one needs without bogging down in too much detail, and the bestiary contains a nice selection of over 60 creatures and monsters. The book concludes with a gazetteer of the East Mark, an introductory adventure, and a character sheet. I highly recommend this game to fans of BECM D&D or anyone interested in old-school rpgs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
King Arthur Pendragon: 4th Edition
by Mark M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/26/2014 10:35:45

First things first...what this game ISN'T...

This is not any form of D&D, or an old-school retro clone. This is not high magic fantasy. This is not level-based D20.

What it is, is a game of Arthurian fantasy filled with knights, damsels in distress, mysterious magic and an elegant system for backing up role play with mechanics. The Passions and Traits are a beautifully simple way of having consistent (well, consistent-ish) characterization while not feeling intrusive during play.

The game's mechanics are simple, but not simplistic. Combat is realistically brutal and harsh, but not arbitrary. When you win, you won with skill, and when you lose, you lose because your opponent was likely more skilled. I like too that the damage dealt with hand weapons is based more on the character than on the weapon type, with modification made for the type. It feels more right to me.

Character creation can be long, but as a process in itself is fun. It isn't just a case of slapping down stats and then figuring out where you fit in the world. You truly build a character from the ground up with a background, history and a place in the rich campaign world that is part and parcel of the Pendragon system.

And speaking of that campaign world, it is richly detailed within the book, and well supported by the author and the community with many additional books and adventures. But that said, it would be convertible to other realms. I'd prefer this system to run a Middle Earth campaign.

I will say that I went with 4th edition over 5th because this edition includes magic rules, which the 5th doesn't. Personal preference but I like to have the magic rules. But I really like the fact that the changes between editions are evolutionary not revolutionary so there's a lot of compatibility even back to the 1st edition!

This is the game I've been looking for since I got my 1st Ed AD&D books and wanted to play a chivalric knight.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
King Arthur Pendragon: 4th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Book of Records Vol I: Knights
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2014 18:06:38

I applaud the attempt to start automating the more mundane aspects of KAP, but this product fell flat for me. The use of Adobe for the form limits the functionality that can be included. Even the publisher's notes warn that one mis-click can reset all your characters personality traits -- using a proper application platform would have avoided these issues. As an IT professional who works with open-source software regularly, I have seen what the next wave of software products are like -- giving users the ability to work around bugs themselves, and customize the product to their liking, especially since Pendragon (as most games) has a good number of variant rules and house rules that have built up over time.

Positives I should note: (1) a $5 price tag means it isn't a great loss to buy the character sheet to try out, and (2) the artwork and overall "look" of the character sheet is very nice, especially since both color and b/w versions were provided.

I am very much looking forward to seeing how the Manor record sheets come out -- a software product to help lead players through the entire winter phase would be a big help in my campaign!



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Records Vol I: Knights
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Book of Battle 2nd Edition
by Simon S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/15/2013 04:00:33

This is a VERY complex system. That in itself does not make me hate this pdf so much. Note that I refer to the pdf and not the book. The pdf is completely devoid of an interactive table of contents. This is insane. The system is so complex that it necessitates referring back and forth through book during the course of a battle and without an itemized and hot linked table of contents it's almost impossible to run a streamlined battle. This is not the only problem, by far. The tutorial for the opening battle of the GPC (Great Pendragon Campaign) is incredibly flawed. It directs the players and to refer to specific tables and rules throughout the book. This would be bad enough without the table of contents, however, many of the referrals actually specify no page numbers, so good luck running an interesting first battle. The example tables are also inconsistently presented and either insufficiently or incorrectly filled out. I actually like this system, it provides a sufficiently diverse and "realistic" abstraction of what I imagine a medieval battle would consist of. It's not the system that is at fault, it's the awkward and seemingly unfinished layout. If you want to learn to run a good battle, do NOT read the whole book and then run through the tutorial with your player knights, as the book suggests. Your players will likely lose interest in running a battle ever again, unless they're saints, or make their Merciful checks. Read the book through several times and then roll up some bare-bones NPCs (with just their relevant combat skills, stats and derived stats) and run them through a few of your own battles at a slow pace, as if they were player knights. It's going to feel like studying for exams from a badly edited chemistry textbook from the 1980s, because really, it is.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Battle 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

King Arthur Pendragon: Edition 5.1
by Anthony B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/22/2013 07:59:07

This is a game with a long and storied history, marked by a continuous effort to hone and refine it into a thing of great beauty. Much has been written about the game and its great ability to evoke a sense of the Knights of the Round Table in King Arthur's Britain, so this review will not delve into that. Playing Pendragon is an experience, and it is an immersion into the genre of Arthurian literature that is both supported and compelled by the mechanics of the game in ways that few games undertake. Moreso than in many other games, players will discover their characters and the world they live in, in play. I would strongly recommend this game to anyone with a love of Arthurian fiction, fantasy roleplay, or interesting game mechanics.

This 5.1 edition is, as it states on the back, a cleaned up version of 5th Edition. On a surface scan, little is different, other than the shift from Arthaus to Nocturnal. For players of earlier editions, there are greater differences. Character generation has dropped the random method for point assignment, and the wider character options which marred or made 4th Edition (depending on your PoV) have been cast aside as well. This rule set focuses on generating Knights from Salisbury in a clean and efficient manner to get people into the game without delay. For newcomers, it is excellent. For old hands, some might prefer to fall back on chargen from previous editions then sally forth with the rest of 5.1 intact.

The look of the pages in the PDF is sharp and attractive. The organization throughout is easy to follow. A small but surprising complaint is that this title lacks bookmarks and hyperlinks which is extremely frustrating for use at the table. Other than this issue, the PDF is an fantastic value and very satisfying.

The print on demand version of the book I received, however, left something to be desired. In hardcover, the covers were extremely warped and the pages rippled into several waves so that the book cannot lay flat. So extreme a curve was present that the lower corner of the cover coating are pulling open.

Inside, the book is as gorgeous as one would expect. The pages are crisp and of good paper, with a strong binding. For someone who does not care how their books look, or who treats them with tough love, there would be no problem. For someone who appreciates a well-cared-for book, this curvature of cover and rippling of pages is annoying, and very disappointing concerning the purchase price.

Delivery time for print on demand was extraordinary and I have nothing but praise for this aspect of the program. I have ordered print on demand from DrivethruRPG before and had no reason to complain: everything was flawless. On this order, however, with this title and one other I ordered with it (The Great Pendragon Campaign), I was not completely satisfied and would hesitate before trying PoD again.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
King Arthur Pendragon: Edition 5.1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 55 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates