DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Tiny Frontiers
by Lasse K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/06/2016 17:16:58

Tiny Frontiers is for you when you want a sci-fi exploration game quickly up and running. 'Tiny' refers to the amount of system mastery you need; it is very much a full game providing a firm framework for players and gamemasters. The system is simple but broad. Every feature is there, just in a simple and approachable form. Handwaving and fiat are necessary, but the book is very good at presenting ideas and ways for what and how you should build over the simple base mechanics.

Overall it is very well written and laid out; beginner groups should find it very suitable for themselves. The gamemaster section is especially helpful for putting together an adventure. There is a good amount of ready material, from encounter guidelines and alien artifact tables, to sixteen whole micro-settings to get your game up fast. The settings are very diverse and at least some are sure to strike your fancy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Frontiers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tiny Frontiers
by Terence F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2016 10:29:19

As a person who prefers science fiction more than fantasy settings it nice to have another science ficition roleplaying game especially one in which the minimal rules are easy to follow; and they allow for various types of characters without having to rely on either a class system or point buy. Not only do you get the rules but 16 different micro-settings that can the seeds for either a quick one time adventure or for a full on campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Frontiers
by Richard A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/21/2016 09:00:26

The new RPG, Tiny Frontiers, is a minimalistic science-fiction RPG, meaning it has only a small set of rules, which you can learn in about 5 minutes. That makes it perfect for a quick pick-up game when your players don't want to spend the time to learn a hundred pages of rules. It will also work well at conventions, limiting the amount of time players need to learn the rules, allowing them more time to actually play the game. Or you can play it just if you want a simple system for your RP.

Though the rules are simple, the mechanics work well in play and still allow the players many options. It is definitely role play over rules play. Character creation is also simple, though with enough diversity to allow for a wide range of characters. In addition, the game is easily expandable by the game master, who can add any new rules he wants.

The game presents 16 interesting micro-settings for the game, showcasing a myriad of campaign and adventure ideas for the game master. So, it's almost like having 16 science fiction games in one. And the micro-settings also provide examples so a game master can create his own setting if he so desires. Simple, innovative, and fun, I strongly recommend you pick up a copy of Tiny Frontiers.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Frontiers Character Sheet
by William M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2016 00:08:38

Nice to have a sheet for a ship. Good to have color and B/W options. Very easy and minimalist, just the way it should be. Also, FREE is good :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Frontiers Character Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Aquelarre — Translated Introduction
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2016 02:38:45

I can only say that the translation and layout/printing looks solid, having read and played the original in Spanish. Adding, too, the illustrations are superb, by none other that Jaime G. Mendoza, a panamanian with genius-level talent.

Promising!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Aquelarre — Translated Introduction
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gunman's Law Card Decks
by Giordano P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2016 10:14:09

The card system is good, but 13 € for a pdf in black and white without colors is a BAD PRODUCT!!! :-(



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Gunman's Law Card Decks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Aquelarre — Translated Introduction
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/14/2016 06:55:20

This introduction showcases the beautiful artwork and gives a glimpse as to the history behind the game. Definitely worth picking up to get an idea of what the finished product will look like.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Aquelarre — Translated Introduction
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Whimsy Cards (PNP)
by Sean W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/07/2016 11:56:19

Used these to spark some creativity and challenges in a multi-DM event. It added some great twists and turns that DM's and Players had to work with. Might not be great for every game, but with some creativity and experience, it's a fun diversion.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Whimsy Cards (PNP)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Whimsy Cards (PNP)
by Graysire H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2016 19:05:18

These are very useful for a non-serious campaign, even then though, I advise that you only give these to those you tust not to use them entirely for party advantage. For example, I gave them to my silliest player and he has both aided and hurt the party many times through his use of these(they still don't know he has them though)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Whimsy Cards (PNP)
by Patrick E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2016 01:15:39

I find these Whimsies to be very useful in developing stories. I have not used them during play as perhaps intended, but select a few in advance for use at slow points of an evenings gaming, being too lazy to print them and create cards. I am confident they would be useful as pulled cards during play too.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Whimsy Cards (PNP)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/26/2016 07:32:31

Fun idea. It lets players feel as though they have more control over the narrative. To be used with caution, however. Not every card will work with every session or game, and the GM should only use them if they are confident in their ability to think on their feet. Also, they have the potential to change the course of planned events, to plan accordingly. If used properly, it can definitely make the game more enjoyable for everyone involved.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Marriage of Count Roderick
by Ryan O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/10/2015 15:24:25

Product Rating: 5 out of 5 Cost Value: 5 out of 5 Total Pages: 6

So here's this FREE supplement for King Arthur Pendragon 5.1 and you're thinking, "well it must be short on content and minimal on game play addition". And you'd be wrong.

The Marriage of Count Roderick gives detailed information on the courtship and marriage of the Player's liege lord. It seeds for future adventures in the rivarly between Roderick and Sir Blains, giving a background to what started it all. This supplement changes the effective ages of Countess Ellen and especially Lady Jenna, the pair's daughter. This makes her a interesting prospect for courtship and political intrigue in the future dynasties of the Player Knights. The example of the Courtship itself is a look into how these matters are handled in ancient Britain and can be a useful template to Game Masters when running Pendragon games of love.

Okay, so that's the short little adventure, now let's focus on the other big addition contained in these free pages. Courtly Experience is a new challenge for players that includes a table and rules for events that take place when visiting a Lord's Court. From duels to dancing, this table allows Game Masters to really spice up the action, allows for potential role-playing, and award experience to Players during the many, many Feasts and visits that take place during the course of Pendragon play. This new official table and rules provide all the excitement needed for Game Masters looking for something more when the swords remain in the sheaths.

Overall I can say I was delighted with this product and received far more from it that I could have expected. I hope this is a sign of things to come from Nocturnal and I'll be watching.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Marriage of Count Roderick
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Book of the Warlord
by Andrew E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2015 12:03:02

I purchased the PDF and hardcover book. My gaming group purchased the KAP 5.1, Book of the Estate, and Book of the Entourage. Those were all solid purchases that I felt added many new and interesting things to the game.

I felt Book of the Warlord did not bring nearly as much to the table, especially considering it's price. It read like a lot of expanded on fluff that is already in prior books and did not improve or add anything to my enjoyment of KAP.

I was unimpressed with the mechanics of the graft as well.

If you are just a die hard fan of Pendragon I would suggest only purchasing the PDF, if that, and waiting till the price dropped significantly.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Book of the Warlord
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Book of the Manor
by Shannon M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/26/2015 15:26:41

Some would say this is the mini-game for the King Arthur Pendragon RPG. This is all about running your manor which is something of a side issue to what your character does gloriously in an Arthurian setting. That said, it’s a lot of fun for the right type of gamer.

You can make improvements for profit and/or to get checks to certain traits (an apiary will make you busy and therefore let you check the energetic trait every Winter Phase), you can get a traveling troupe which gives you a check to your intrigue as you now have a spy network, you can put up your manor defenses, you can hire specialists, you can get mercenaries and quite a bit more.

There is also a section on how you treat your peasants. If you treat them poorly there is a passion they pick up which is hatred towards their lord. Love it.

If you’re building an improvement with the intent to make a profit then an apiary seems to be the popular first choice.

OVERALL GRADE: A minus.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of the Manor
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

King Arthur Pendragon: Edition 5.1
by Tom B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/13/2015 12:39:02

Haven't finished reading it...but so far it's a great system very in depth on what a knight was and the medieval milieu. I'm stealing vast swaths of the information for my campaign (a heavily modified D20 style game)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
King Arthur Pendragon: Edition 5.1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 73 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates