DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Book of the Warlord
by Andrew E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2015 12:03:02
I purchased the PDF and hardcover book. My gaming group purchased the KAP 5.1, Book of the Estate, and Book of the Entourage. Those were all solid purchases that I felt added many new and interesting things to the game.

I felt Book of the Warlord did not bring nearly as much to the table, especially considering it's price. It read like a lot of expanded on fluff that is already in prior books and did not improve or add anything to my enjoyment of KAP.

I was unimpressed with the mechanics of the graft as well.

If you are just a die hard fan of Pendragon I would suggest only purchasing the PDF, if that, and waiting till the price dropped significantly.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Book of the Warlord
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Book of the Manor
by Shannon M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/26/2015 15:26:41
Some would say this is the mini-game for the King Arthur Pendragon RPG. This is all about running your manor which is something of a side issue to what your character does gloriously in an Arthurian setting.
That said, it’s a lot of fun for the right type of gamer.

You can make improvements for profit and/or to get checks to certain traits (an apiary will make you busy and therefore let you check the energetic trait every Winter Phase), you can get a traveling troupe which gives you a check to your intrigue as you now have a spy network, you can put up your manor defenses, you can hire specialists, you can get mercenaries and quite a bit more.

There is also a section on how you treat your peasants. If you treat them poorly there is a passion they pick up which is hatred towards their lord. Love it.

If you’re building an improvement with the intent to make a profit then an apiary seems to be the popular first choice.

OVERALL GRADE: A minus.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of the Manor
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

King Arthur Pendragon: Edition 5.1
by Tom B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/13/2015 12:39:02
Haven't finished reading it...but so far it's a great system very in depth on what a knight was and the medieval milieu. I'm stealing vast swaths of the information for my campaign (a heavily modified D20 style game)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
King Arthur Pendragon: Edition 5.1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gunman's Law Main Rulebook
by Scott F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/29/2015 19:25:34
This has to be the most accurate portrayal of cinematic gunfights in a tactical situation since Cowboys. It also serves as a brilliant solo/multi-player RPG to boot. I highly recommend it to anyone into the western cinematic gaming genre: fans of Boot Hill (2e but to a minor extent 3e), Cowboys, or Coyote Trail will get their moneys worth on this one.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gunman's Law Main Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Great Pendragon Campaign
by Nathan G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2015 05:05:08
To put it simply, this may be the single greatest RPG campaign I've ever read. I'm using this for a solo game for my spouse, and it's just wonderful.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Great Pendragon Campaign
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Book of the Warlord
by Nathan G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2015 05:03:26
The Book of the Warlord definitely has some interesting parts to it. I found the examples of three Warlords holdings quite interesting. That really gives you an idea of how spread out those holding may be (take Ulfius as the prime example).

The rules for graft won't be of use to me, but others may care for this.

I'm really not a fan of changing a bunch of the place names. It's Mr. Stafford's game, and he can do as he likes, but I'm not a fan of making things more complicated and making it harder to figure out what is being talked about. I also hope that they update the GPC and core rulebook PDF's extremely quickly, so that other newer players don't have to deal with place name confusion. To be honest, I'm glad I got the earlier version, as with one exception I prefer the old names.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Book of the Warlord
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Book of the Warlord
by Roberto M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/10/2014 15:43:04
The usual high-quality book from Greg Stafford's mind.
A highly modular book, where every GM will find something useful to enrich his/her campaign.
I recommend it!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of the Warlord
by Todd R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/07/2014 21:23:18
An excellent sourcebook for Pendragon 5.1. It's a wonderful source for "scaling up" the game to play as powerful Lords (and their officers), and expands the scope of the game beyond the default "adventuring knights" setup. A must have for players and GM's of Pendragon.

For non-Pendragon fans, it represent an excellent source for an early medieval kingdom. How the Barons and Dukes are organized and relate to each other, how exactly various Counties are organized, and the effort necessary to run a domain are all in there. The tables and rules are easily translated to any system, but it's really the information and knowledge in the book that gives you an in-depth understanding of how a kingdom is organized, and how it's various power players and families interact with each other. It's truly useful for an medieval/fantasy role-playing game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gunman's Law Main Rulebook
by Eric B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/08/2014 01:07:47
I am a backer of this game on Kickstarter. One never knows quite what to expect the game to be by what's on the Kickstarter page. This is why I love the preview PDF approach. It gives me a little better idea of what I am getting into. The file is clearly well put together and really wets my appetite for the game. The rule book looks great. I can truly tell what the game is going to be by what I see. The presentation of the game on the Kickstarter gave me a good enough indication that I wanted to take a chance on this game, but seeing this PDF assured me that I was not going to be disappointed and will recommend it to a lot of people.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gunman's Law Main Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gunman's Law Player Aids
by Eric B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/08/2014 01:05:20
I am a backer of this game on Kickstarter. One never knows quite what to expect the game to be by what's on the Kickstarter page. This is why I love the preview PDF approach. It gives me a little better idea of what I am getting into. The file is clearly well put together and really wets my appetite for the game. The aids look great. I can truly tell what the game is going to be by what I see. The presentation of the game on the Kickstarter gave me a good enough indication that I wanted to take a chance on this game, but seeing this PDF assured me that I was not going to be disappointed and will recommend it to a lot of people.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gunman's Law Player Aids
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gunman's Law Scenario Maps
by Eric B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/08/2014 01:04:13
I am a backer of this game on Kickstarter. One never knows quite what to expect the game to be by what's on the Kickstarter page. This is why I love the preview PDF approach. It gives me a little better idea of what I am getting into. The file is clearly well put together and really wets my appetite for the game. The maps look great. I can truly tell what the game is going to be by what I see. The presentation of the game on the Kickstarter gave me a good enough indication that I wanted to take a chance on this game, but seeing this PDF assured me that I was not going to be disappointed and will recommend it to a lot of people.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gunman's Law Scenario Maps
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gunman's Law Card Decks
by Eric B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/08/2014 01:03:24
I am a backer of this game on Kickstarter. One never knows quite what to expect the game to be by what's on the Kickstarter page. This is why I love the preview PDF approach. It gives me a little better idea of what I am getting into. The file is clearly well put together and really wets my appetite for the game. The cards look great. I can truly tell what the game is going to be by what I see. The presentation of the game on the Kickstarter gave me a good enough indication that I wanted to take a chance on this game, but seeing this PDF assured me that I was not going to be disappointed and will recommend it to a lot of people.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gunman's Law Card Decks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

King Arthur Pendragon: 4th Edition
by Mark M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/26/2014 10:35:45
First things first...what this game ISN'T...

This is not any form of D&D, or an old-school retro clone. This is not high magic fantasy. This is not level-based D20.

What it is, is a game of Arthurian fantasy filled with knights, damsels in distress, mysterious magic and an elegant system for backing up role play with mechanics. The Passions and Traits are a beautifully simple way of having consistent (well, consistent-ish) characterization while not feeling intrusive during play.

The game's mechanics are simple, but not simplistic. Combat is realistically brutal and harsh, but not arbitrary. When you win, you won with skill, and when you lose, you lose because your opponent was likely more skilled. I like too that the damage dealt with hand weapons is based more on the character than on the weapon type, with modification made for the type. It *feels* more right to me.

Character creation can be long, but as a process in itself is fun. It isn't just a case of slapping down stats and then figuring out where you fit in the world. You truly build a character from the ground up with a background, history and a place in the rich campaign world that is part and parcel of the Pendragon system.

And speaking of that campaign world, it is richly detailed within the book, and well supported by the author and the community with many additional books and adventures. But that said, it would be convertible to other realms. I'd prefer this system to run a Middle Earth campaign.

I will say that I went with 4th edition over 5th because this edition includes magic rules, which the 5th doesn't. Personal preference but I like to have the magic rules. But I really like the fact that the changes between editions are evolutionary not revolutionary so there's a lot of compatibility even back to the 1st edition!

This is the game I've been looking for since I got my 1st Ed AD&D books and wanted to play a chivalric knight.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
King Arthur Pendragon: 4th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Book of Records Vol I: Knights
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2014 18:06:38
I applaud the attempt to start automating the more mundane aspects of KAP, but this product fell flat for me. The use of Adobe for the form limits the functionality that can be included. Even the publisher's notes warn that one mis-click can reset all your characters personality traits -- using a proper application platform would have avoided these issues. As an IT professional who works with open-source software regularly, I have seen what the next wave of software products are like -- giving users the ability to work around bugs themselves, and customize the product to their liking, especially since Pendragon (as most games) has a good number of variant rules and house rules that have built up over time.

Positives I should note: (1) a $5 price tag means it isn't a great loss to buy the character sheet to try out, and (2) the artwork and overall "look" of the character sheet is very nice, especially since both color and b/w versions were provided.

I am very much looking forward to seeing how the Manor record sheets come out -- a software product to help lead players through the entire winter phase would be a big help in my campaign!

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Records Vol I: Knights
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Book of Battle 2nd Edition
by Simon S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/15/2013 04:00:33
This is a VERY complex system. That in itself does not make me hate this pdf so much. Note that I refer to the pdf and not the book. The pdf is completely devoid of an interactive table of contents. This is insane. The system is so complex that it necessitates referring back and forth through book during the course of a battle and without an itemized and hot linked table of contents it's almost impossible to run a streamlined battle. This is not the only problem, by far. The tutorial for the opening battle of the GPC (Great Pendragon Campaign) is incredibly flawed. It directs the players and to refer to specific tables and rules throughout the book. This would be bad enough without the table of contents, however, many of the referrals actually specify no page numbers, so good luck running an interesting first battle. The example tables are also inconsistently presented and either insufficiently or incorrectly filled out. I actually like this system, it provides a sufficiently diverse and "realistic" abstraction of what I imagine a medieval battle would consist of. It's not the system that is at fault, it's the awkward and seemingly unfinished layout. If you want to learn to run a good battle, do NOT read the whole book and then run through the tutorial with your player knights, as the book suggests. Your players will likely lose interest in running a battle ever again, unless they're saints, or make their Merciful checks. Read the book through several times and then roll up some bare-bones NPCs (with just their relevant combat skills, stats and derived stats) and run them through a few of your own battles at a slow pace, as if they were player knights. It's going to feel like studying for exams from a badly edited chemistry textbook from the 1980s, because really, it is.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Battle 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 44 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates