DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Info Editeur









Retour
Autres commentaires laissés par cet éditeur:
Deniable
par Michael M. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 01/23/2016 14:47:29

The following review is based on initial impressions after reading the game but not based on playing it. Deniable is another entry into the rules-light story based RPGs dealing with character connections and other “indie” elements. There are other games in this space that I find it difficult to define but other examples of this place in the RPG hobby include Fiasco, Dogs in the Vineyard, Prime Time Adventures, Hill folk, Lady Blackbird and so forth. I personally really like this and part of the hobby, which is the reason that I purchased Deniable for the reduced price of $10 USD. I was hoping for some other approach to this space of the hobby. The end result is that the game is fine I do not think it is any better or worse than other games that are likewise attempting to do this. However, as a value for the money evaluation I would say that $10 USD was too high.


Deniable’s major character element appears to be the each PC having a connection to a family which has some sort of baggage to it. Added to this is that these family can be portrayed by others at the table. Added to this are idiosyncratic elements of the character themselves. Finally, there are means of taking damage, called stress, and means of altering the action, called “cred”. Actions are based on small die pools of two dice, a D6 plus something else depending on how go or not your character is in that area. This role would be compared to a static scale which determines the degree of success or not.


Although Deniable clears has a developed perspective it is not adding anything to the space. I might feel otherwise when I can get a chance to get it to the table but based on other games in the same area there is not anything here that makes it unique nor something that makes it particularly suited to the genre of story that it is aiming at, normal people caught up in espionage, other than that the authors appear to want it run that way, there are photos to reinforce that and the example in the book is of that. In my view it is a simple rules-light system with limited growth potential suited to one-off story heavy games but there is no need to purchase it merely for that system. This same thing can be done in many other ways, which is to say there is nothing special about how this game does it.


The system aside the book is well written and easy to understand. I was able to skim it for a half hour and feel confident that I could run it without a hitch, as an experienced RPG enthusiast. The pictures are good and trying to underscore the theme of the game as well. For my taste I could have done without the added money from the pictures as they do not add anything for me. However, others might disagree. There is an example that is at times very helpful in defining things that are perhaps not well defined otherwise and still left up to interpretation to some degree. Additionally, at times the writing is to be funny or immersive when, really, the act of playing the game itself should be the fun and the rules just get across what you need to know and do to access that fun with your group. Thus, at times I could have done without the added “humor” or immersive elements that did not help me or my group enjoys the game. This was not a major issue but cropped up and was solved by skipping those parts.


I am not sure to whom to recommend this game. As I have said it is not bad but it’s just not special either. One might say it is for those looking for an introduction to this place in the hobby but there are really good games that can do that and are free or much lower cost. Perhaps this is for those that have not liked other games in the same place as this one but want to, but I do not see how this solves that at all. All games in this part of the RPG world rely heavily on the group of people playing it getting into it, the system is irrelevant to that. Furthermore, there is nothing here that would help those that like this genre of fiction tell these stories better than some other rules light system or improvising your own system. All games of this style stress relationships and character development in the form of baggage, beliefs or other similar facets. I suppose in the simplest way one might say that of any game, but there are games that have pushed the hobby or these areas of it, add something to make this genre come alive or do something interesting with the system or story-system interaction that is truly unique. This game, at its heart, is just generic as it has nothing special but window dressing trying to make it so. If the information on the game had just explain that it was a general rules-light story heavy game for use the same space as others, than it would, at least be honest about the game. Furthermore, since it is not tailored to the genre in any way it does not even push the genre it claims to be designed for.


Although it is a average game, it is not worth the $10 USD nor does it break any ground in this space. This game might be for the person that really likes this place in the hobby and collects such games. I consequently rated it a 3/5 to convey that it is average, in the middle but not specifically bad or deficient in any way. Please remember that taste in games are like many other subjective things, meaning you might find something here I did not, but I would play it somewhere before buying it at its full price or the $10 discounted price that I found it for.



Classement:
[3 sur 5 étoiles!]
Deniable
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Blood of the Innocent: A Savage Worlds mission set in the jungles of Evil
par Carles A. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 05/23/2015 07:13:54

Ive had the chance to play this adventure twice with different groups and its a great product.


The game components and overall design is top notch.


The adventure is solid and intriguing and if played properly manages to scare the sh*t out of the players, specially the first zombie encounter.


The scene of the Church is totally great.


The fact that one of the PCs knows stuff also makes some interesting PC interaction.


Great fun.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Blood of the Innocent: A Savage Worlds mission set in the jungles of Evil
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

High-Space Interactive Planetary Log
par James J. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 04/30/2015 04:09:20

Yeah, this is pretty good. A time saver.


I already use Campaign Cosmographer with the plugins, and some other planet fractal generators to do planets similar to this, but this is nice in that I can rig up planet, moon, display etc, pretty quick. The planets here are pretty cool for space opera flavor. Traveller gearheads will balk at some of the more garish colors of worlds like Greenhouse mostly green or variations of pink and purple. But overall, a solid product, the glowing reviews here for it are true. It's pretty cool, and gives tyou a nice planetary layout view from space template, much as the old Star wars d6 planetary guide did.


It's not a 20 sided die map of the surface, rather you get the look of a planet and some moons in a graphic display, from a database. Great for an overview to give the feeling of the Library data entry in some explorer's database. Definitely worth a look or buying.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
High-Space Interactive Planetary Log
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Rapture: The End of Days, Sci-Fi Soundscapes Set 4 - Satanic Versus
par Daniel W. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 12/12/2014 17:57:12

Delightfully unusual, and creepy to boot. Only complaint to level at the tracks is that the vocal track ( Transcription I guess! ) is sometimes drowned out by the score to a obnoxious degree.



Classement:
[4 sur 5 étoiles!]
Rapture: The End of Days, Sci-Fi Soundscapes Set 4 - Satanic Versus
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Savage Worlds Vietnam Era Battlemaps & Character Tokens
par Anne T. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 09/26/2014 22:41:23

Frankly, this is one of the very best values I've ever seen in battlemaps &/or map tiles, here or anywhere else.


The quality is excellent, the detail level good, the grid lines clear but not intrusive or overwhelming, the colours bright but not too much (nor too dark to print well).


The only (possible) downside is that the file is not a layered PDF, so what-you-see-is-what-you-get.


But what you get are tiles that you could use for any tropical location, from deep jungle to forest edge, bare ground, garden patch, paths, stone/concrete ruins (era-neutral), a wooden fort/palisade you can build yourself from various tiles (so size/layout entirely up to you), a couple of buildings, an outside table w/chairs and a hearth, a small chapel/temple, a pit trap, a couple of water features (including one with a man in a cage or spike trap). There are several tiles that could be used for temperate locales as well, since not all show palm trees. But since tropical maps/tiles are few and far between, that's my primary goal in purchasing the set.


All this (plus setting specific tokens and a map of Vietnam, none of which I'll be using in my fantasy games) for about $1.20 (less when it goes on sale) - good product, and great value.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Savage Worlds Vietnam Era Battlemaps & Character Tokens
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

High Space Core Rules (v1.2)
par Michael B. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 08/11/2014 08:36:25

Having purchased High-Space, I can guarantee that I will not be using Mercenary Breed or Science-Fiction Companion books in any of my games (except possibly for the odd Edge or Hindrance).


--CHARACTER ANALECTS--
Character (human) creation is extremely detailed, where players have to choose a Culture (starting skills prior to purchasing more) and Career (starting equipment prior to requisitioning more). Some generic Alien Race types are presented, but this portion is not as detailed as the Science-Fiction Companion.


Skills are expanded with the inclusion of multiple piloting skills, philosophy (debating), psychiatry (help remove technology shock and restore "Equilibrium"), programming, security, and spacewise. All skills have a very clear use in this setting, and none seem unnecessary.


Hindrances and Edges have a very strong genre feel, and the inclusion of "Glanding" has an almost Shadowrun-esque feel. Cybernetic implants are dealt with through acquiring edges, and may be overly simplified (even compared to Science Fiction Companion) for some people's taste.


--FLEET MANUAL--
This book lets you "write up" your ship with the same level of detail that you would a character. You select attributes (Maneuver, Computer, FTL, Displacement/Size, Quality), Design Edges (describing the original purpose of the vehicle and determining basic features), Edges (Shock Pods, Positronic Core, Cargo Container, X-Ray Lasers) and Hindrances (Non-Atmospheric, Pulls to the Left, etc).


The rules indicate that a ship's "Automatics" can take care of every function per round, but a WildCard character can override the function and perform it manually. Included are a variety of Tactical Maneuvers (Align for Impact, Weapons Release, etc). Damage is resolved using "Compromises" and "Breaches" as rolled on a damage table, with cumulative penalties. There is also a large section on space Hazards.


--OVERALL--
While the Science Fiction Companion grazed over multiple settings, High Space instead focuses pretty squarely on space ships, exploration, and space combat. The setting has done a great job of providing detail to characters, personality to ships, and a number of inspirations throughout the three books. I strongly recommend this product for someone wanting a Sci-Fi Savage Worlds.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
High Space Core Rules (v1.2)
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

High-Space Interactive Planetary Log
par Walter H. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 07/31/2014 19:38:51

I bought this for two reasons:


I am running a High Space campaign
I am running an Edge of the Empire campaign


I wanted something to make good quality "reports" on planets they discover or go to. This does that very well.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
High-Space Interactive Planetary Log
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Hael Core Rules
par Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Ajoutée: 06/12/2014 21:46:36

WHAT WORKS: A few very original twists on the standard fantasy world. "The Bad Guys Won" has been done before, but rarely with the twist of "and then they became kinda good". I really liked the art, as it had an evocative style, kinda comic-booky, but not in a "kids" way.


WHAT DOESN'T WORK: The overpowering of the Edges and the construction of the races will limit the utility of this for anyone who might want to pluck from this for another Savage Worlds game. Some of the Call-En powers sure seem like they could be overpowered in comparison to the other Arcane Backgrounds. The editing and proofreading could have been a lot tighter as well, given outright contradictions at points in the book.


CONCLUSION: I like the setting quite a bit, as there's a lot of potential there. However, I think the book could seriously do with a revision bringing it more in line with the Savage Worlds rules in regards to Race creation and the strength of the Edges. I'm not a super big stickler for "game balance", but you are asking for trouble when you obviously set up one option as being mechanically superior to others, and folding the required Edges and Hindrances into racial packages would then allow more flexibility at character creation (and keep one from being an obviously better deal than the others). The Call-En feel a LOT like AD&D2e Psionics to me, which I was actually a huge fan of, and the addition of the aliens and the tech reminds me of Tale of the Comet, which I was also a huge fan of. As I said above, the setting has some great potential, with the powderkeg between the Daeorcs and Yaena, the hostility of the "uncivilized races" and the conflict between The Strangers and Nuclarine...I do suspect that bits like the overpowered Edges won't be a huge issue as they are contained to the setting, but I would still love to see it line up better with Savage Worlds Deluxe Edition.


For my full review, please visit http://mostunreadblogever.blog-
spot.com/2014/06/tommys-take-on-hael-core-rules.html



Classement:
[4 sur 5 étoiles!]
Hael Core Rules
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

High Space Core Rules (v1.2)
par Henry M. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 04/28/2014 22:17:13

A good B- or C+ product. It’s got a lot of great stuff to steal for your sci-fi games, especially if you’re aiming for more Space Opera or Star Trek than Honor Harrington or Hammer’s Slammers. However while many of the bits are great (eminently theft-worthy even), as a stand-alone product/campaign it didn’t quite come together for me.


It’s got very high production quality, and the obvious errata-fodder is very minimal. I really liked many of the character creation tweaks, and plan to steal them shamelessly. It seemed to me that the alien entries were kinda abbreviated and there just because they felt like they HAD to put them there to still be Sci-Fi. The campaign material certainly doesn’t do anything to emphasize them. But they were plenty robust for anyone who wanted to create or import their own. The computer and ship rules are clever and an easy ways to approach things. As has been mentioned elsewhere, the cyberware and augmentation edges are also a great implementation method – vastly better than “whatever the character can afford” or I guess in this case “whatever they can acquire based on rank”. Several of the skills, edges and hindrances are right at home in most any sci-fi game. The Lantern setting also has plenty of stuff to steal or use outright for a bunch of different flavors of sci-fi. These are all very good things and well worth your time.


And while the acquisition system is novel, and very useful for keeping things fast, the whole post-scarcity economy is a bust as far as I can tell. Not just because I personally think it’s a crock for any “hard” sci-fi genre, but because the game itself treats it as a crock. All 3 books go on to repeatedly emphasize wealth, possessions, trade, sales, deals, and commissions as the things that make the world turn, not just at the character/peon level, but also at the “powers that be” level economy. The post-scarcity shtick looks like it got ladled on at a later date to explain the acquisition system but everything else had already been written. My suggestion is to keep the acquisition system for character generation and for major story items like ships, but just admit it’s hand-wavium for convenience sake and go back to using money for everything else. I’d also delete every single reference to Equilibrium. It smacks of the Guts rolls that used to be in base SW rules and were dumped for good reason. I’m not a fan of extra stats to book-keep whose sole purpose is to occasionally screw over the character on random die rolls. There’s no upside to using it, the situation that triggered the roll usually has plenty of consequences already, and I’m content to fall back on Spirit rolls for the times I need something like that situationally or as some kind of campaign based sanity management.


All in all, I’ve spent far more money for far less valuable gaming material. I’m not overawed, but I’m also perfectly satisfied with my purchase.



Classement:
[3 sur 5 étoiles!]
High Space Core Rules (v1.2)
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

High-Space Ship Schematics 1
par Gonzalo D. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 04/28/2014 04:56:58

StoryWeaver people put a lot of passion and heart into their products, and High-Space is a great way to run Space Opera / "Hard" Sci-Fi Savage Worlds games.


I love The Lantern setting, the Anti-Pattern meta-plot and the huge possibilities that offers to GM imagination in order to expand the High-Space setting.


With High-Space Schematics 1 you get info about 7 ships (including deck plans) with short flavor text explaining the source and purpose of every ship.


If you are looking for ship battle maps this is not your product, but High Schematics 1 is perfect if you want to use these ships just as starting point for your own creations or if you want to use the deck plans in order to run narrative scenes or to create tactical complications inside a ship.


The ships are not heavy armed, that is good for starting groups and small factions but if you want to use them for strong organizations in your game, you will need to increase the Adquisition Points and upgrade the basic ships (U.R.C, PTILE or UGP Military ships should be better armed than basic ships because their bigger budgets).


Supporting an indie company like StoryWeaver is a true pleasure for me and of course, I'm waiting for new stuff...



Classement:
[4 sur 5 étoiles!]
High-Space Ship Schematics 1
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

High Space Core Rules (v1.2)
par Timothy S. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 03/15/2014 00:45:07

Wonderful space opera. Great rules, great art, and I love the "ships as characters" in the second book. This is now my go-to space book for Savage Worlds... with a little Star Frontiers thrown in. As a matter of fact, the only thing missing from High Space are setting-specific, original alien races. Luckily, Savage Worlds makes it super easy to design any playable races you want.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
High Space Core Rules (v1.2)
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

High-Space Battlemaps: Firelight Scout Ship
par Andrew J. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 03/04/2014 19:17:49

I want to encourage those who put in the time to provide us with maps, so I really wanted to like this product.


However, it was simply poorly thought out and poorly executed. One often can't tell exactly what they're looking at. This is often due to small, avoidable errors. Like the door frames or furniture in rooms casting their shadows over nearby walls, forcing the mind to perceive them as being part of the floor instead of walls.


The ships designs would make more sense if there were a consistent design philosophy behind them. Rooms in spaceships are purpose built, not just the empty spaces inside the hull frame randomly filled with furnishings. In all this product suffered from "using the templates and tokens I have" rather than "finding the templates that work well".



Classement:
[2 sur 5 étoiles!]
High-Space Battlemaps: Firelight Scout Ship
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

High-Space Interactive Planetary Log
par Michael F. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 01/31/2014 02:17:40

Love it! Super great addition to my Sci Fi game!
Its very easy to use to customize different systems and it isn't system specific.
The only question I'd had was how to save a copy of the first one I'd completed- you just use the print to .pdf function and you're done. They even mention that in the video.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
High-Space Interactive Planetary Log
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

High-Space Figure Set 1: Starter Kit
par Jacob R. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 10/30/2013 01:45:51

As a mmatter of full disclosure, I received a free copy of this product from the publisher. These minis are fantastic. Inside you will find a good assortment of sci-fi minis that don't simply consist of generic Halo ripoffs. The figures are colorful and detailed and can be used with just about any setting.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
High-Space Figure Set 1: Starter Kit
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Gamers vs Hellfire: Emergency Fund Raiser
par Shane B. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 10/25/2013 00:12:38

Great thought, and great timing. Was looking at Rapture just yesterday. Its good to be able to use my hobby to help support my fellow Australians that are suffering.


.. and to show support for StoryWeaver I will get my hands on the High Space stuff as well.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Gamers vs Hellfire: Emergency Fund Raiser
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Affichage 1 de 15 (sur 62 critiques) Pages de Résultats:  1  2  3  4  5  [Prochain >>] 
0 article
 Derniers Produits
 Gift Certificates