DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Things We Leave Behind
by Michael F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/03/2017 13:10:40

I'll just start off by throwing right out there why I gave this a three star: print quality. I'm new to Drive Thru RPG, and I acknowledge that there are some ins and outs in understanding how this works. I feel like I got burned on my first go. I now understand that there is a difference between standard quality printing and other varieties like "standard heavyweight" and that I now need to look for that when I order physical copies from this site, since that is important to me.

I purchased this at the hardcover sale 29.99 price point around Halloween 2017. It has now returned to the standard price of 39.99. I understand that smaller publishers have higher costs, but the hardcover version of this is simply not worth that price. I'm not even sure it is worth the 29.99 price I paid, but I don't have the desire to go through the effort of a return for content that I like. The print quality and paper of the printing is not worth that price point, in my opinion. When you pay considerably more for print copies, you expect it to be something better than what this is. The binding is great and maybe that is where the cost is? A glossy, full-color hardback. Great. The paper just doesn't match this same level of quality. It is a hair above photocopy paper on a basic photocopier. I feel there was just a major compromise made that will make me think twice about not doing investigation into print quality before I order on here again. I understand that it is cheaper to print things in bulk in China. I simply would not have invested in a hardcover had I understood the quality ahead of time.

The module itself is very good for a newly started company. Even if you were not to run these scenarios as is, there is plenty of great mineable material for crafting your own games and scenarios from the bits and pieces. They all have compelling premises. The content is challenging from an ethical standpoint, which I think the Intro does a good job of addressing respectfully up front. Yet, some of the interior content choices then break this respect. (Indian Burial Ground? Really? Published 2016. Come on.) The style of the writing of several of the adventures comes from a clearly inexperienced pen (repetition of phrasing and sentences starters being most common) , but the real meat of this is the ideas, and the ideas are strong. The ideas can be, with some working, be dropped into any era, but especially easily into 1920s. So, don't let the Modern tag scare you away, unless you are a "run the adventure as is" style of Keeper and want to do 1920s. The very excellent first scenario will not work if just grafted into the 1920s. Technology plays a big role. The scenarios get shorter and shorter as you go through the book, but I think it is worth noting that the word count per page is very high. An adventure of 12 pages is not a typical twelve pages of huge font size and watered down. It's 12 pages of depth.

My only other criticism of the content is the art. Many of the portraits are subpar and look like they are drawn with some weird mismash of hand-drawing and computer graphics. Proportions of many of the faces just don't make sense and look odd. But ideas are more important to me than art for a module of this nature.

In conclusion, I highly recommend that any Call of Cthulhu player or Keeper pick up this product as a PDF, even if you do not normally run Modern. I cannot recommend the print versions of this for the price. You may feel differently from me.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Things We Leave Behind
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hi Michael, I'm sorry you found the paper quality a letdown, I'd have to disagree with you regarding it being a little above 'photocopy level quality'. That said, this book was produced when there was only one choice of a hardback. Since then, DriveThru has brought in Premium Heavyweight paper which is a marked improvement (a lot of complaining by publishers has paid off!) Since this book, we now make a PDF, softcover in standard paper, and a hardcover in Heavyweight. All our books are also now colour with the exception of TTWLB. I anticipate a future edition will be in colour. You're right about the cost, the colour heavyweight version costs a small fortune as they printed one at a time and on demand in the US, UK, and (IIRC) Australia. They don't come from China. For example, a premium colour version of TTWLB would cost £18. With authors, artists, and an editor to pay, this leaves little for me and the company. I wish it were different but you go with what you can. Thanks for the feedback on the scenarios, I'll keep it in mind when our other books are being created. In terms of art, I enjoyed Davide's interpretations but as we've moved into colour we've gone in a different artistic direction. I'm really glad you found the book had depth and can use the scenarios to create new scenarios if the scenarios as-is prove unsuitable. I hope you'll keep an eye out for our other titles and consider buying our books in the future. Stephanie
The Things We Leave Behind
by mark w. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/07/2017 13:00:35

The pdf is well worth the price for the scenario titled "Forget Me Not." The writing for Forget Me Not was fantastic and you can tell that the author spent a lot of time on it. It would be a great scenario to establish a group of investigators in any campaign you decide to run. The other noteworthy scenario was Ladybug. Ladybug was well thought out and has a good amount of detail. If the book only had these two scenarios in it, I'd give it 5 stars.

The scenario "Roots" was very hard to read through because of the terrible grammar and somewhat silly approach to the scenario. I really didn't care for the Hell In Texas scenario. It was a bit too edge lord for me.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Mark of Evil
by OneMean T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2017 02:25:36

Todd here couldn't have said it better. A great collection of props and play aids for the outstanding Things We Leave Behind. Whats not to like?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Mark of Evil
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Things We Leave Behind
by Haydn B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/23/2017 18:02:32

Outstanding! TTWLB is a fantastic collection of beautifully dark modern Cthulhu scenarios. It stays edgy without straying into that 'trying too hard' area you might find in certain other games. I'm hanging for their next publication.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Things We Leave Behind
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Mark of Evil
by Todd C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2017 22:08:10

The Things We Leave Behind is just some of the best modern horror material I've ever read. Period.

This is a nice supplement to that, but I just wanted to commend TWLB again.

Also, I want to make a plug for "Fear's Sharp Little Needles" in Kickstarter. It is a follow on to TWLB and I can't wait!

https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/stephaniemcalea/fears-sharp-little-needles-adventures-for-call-of



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Mark of Evil
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Things We Leave Behind
by Todd C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/28/2017 21:22:17

I've read through all the scenarios and I am currently using one. Just beautiful dark, investigative horror stories. I don't care about the system really but these are brilliant!

Where is the new Kickstarter? I guess there is NO way to buy the stuff for the overarching details.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Things We Leave Behind
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
I'm afraid not, Todd. It was a commitment made to our backers not to release any exclusive content on general release. Our Kickstarter has begun and we've blasted through our stretch goals and 'backer exclusive' content has come up again so go on over! I'd like to thank you for all the kind words and your review. it fuels our desire to keep producing! Stephanie.
Cartomancy 4:Conway Class Starbase
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/15/2016 08:30:11

There is a PDF, JPG, and TIF of this space station. JPG & TIF: 4961x3508 There are 3 layers: Superstructure, Reference and Base (PDF). At 40 pence/50 cents, it's worth the purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cartomancy 4:Conway Class Starbase
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Things We Leave Behind
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2016 16:10:48

I bought the pdf when it was released because I was looking for modern scenario's for the 7th edition rules. I am running Forget Me Not next week, Ladybug, Ladybug a couple of weeks after that, and a double feature for Halloween weekend at our local gamestore featuring Forget Me Not and Hell in Texas. I'm excited to run the material; I have printed it, made notes, and am rereading it to put on an intriquing game for a group of new Call of Cthulhu players. After I have run a few sessions of the scenarios, I will edit my review to reflect the results.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Things We Leave Behind
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Things We Leave Behind
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/31/2016 12:29:28

Having read through the scenarios now I can say this is probably my favorite release of the year, and I think it's an important one because it handily accomplishes something even some official Chaosium releases haven't (for me at least) in the past, and that is fashion some truly effecting scenarios meant to be played in the modern era.

This isn't lightly given praise either, its VERY difficult (or at least it had been for me in my 10+ years) to construct a Cthulhu scenario that isn't just easily accomplished in the classical era minus a modern invention or two, and I've seen many a scenario that tie cell phones or computers into the plot but don't properly capture or depict the modern era and circumstances or people of that era, much less realistic situations and/or reactions to that zeitgesit in light Cthonian horrors. Not only is this very difficult to peg down feel well accomplished, its done with flair, excellently plotted, tightly written scenarios, simple but evocative images, and a overall aesthetic and style rarely seen outside of professional circles. As Keeper (or GameMaster) my favorite scenarios were Ladybug Ladybug, in which a child abduction and the pursuit of the kidnapper lead to a terrifying confrontation with an angel of death, Hell in Texas, in which strange goings on at a struggling Church's Hell House leads investigators into a confrontation with human despair and Roots, in which a young girl seeking her birth parents goes missing in rural town. Well done Stygian press, I'm looking forward to future installments!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you so much for your kind words! We look forward to you enjoying further books from us!
Cartomancy 12: The Deep Dark
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2016 05:19:04

A detailed map of stars surrounding the Sol sector. Similar to the Mars map, it has 3 files: TIF, JPG, and PDF.

It details used planets, jump points, and planets containing sentient species.

Depending on your computer system, redrawing the map when you increase/decrease detail, or move the map takes a few seconds.

At £0.76p/$1.00 it's worth a look (it might give you some ideas, etc).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cartomancy 12: The Deep Dark
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for your kind comments, Stephen. I\'ll take today to try and reduce the size of the PDFs of future publications/editions, thereby reducing loading times.
Cartomancy 14: Red Eden
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2016 05:11:11

You get 3 files with the download: TIF, JPG, and PDF files. Each give a detailed section of Mars (a long valley/trench-like sector). Each part of this sector is claimed by various countries fairly similar to todays countries (Chinese Heartland Republic, Brazil, Japan, United States Reformation, European Union, Russian Federation, etc).

Very tempted to use this for my own RPG system. The PDF file seems slightly slow loading (background, then planet, then the valley section), but it is rather detailed. At £0.76p/$1.00 it's worth the purchase.

NOTE: it does not detail vevery part of Mars, just the valley section.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cartomancy 14: Red Eden
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you once again for your kind words! Enjoy using the map at your gaming table.
Cartomancy 1: Antediluvia
by Clint S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/19/2016 13:10:52

This is a very nice map, just waiting for you to write your campaign around! Several formats and sizes are included.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cartomancy 1: Antediluvia
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for a good review, Clint! :)
Cartomancy 1: Antediluvia
by James G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/19/2016 10:48:38

Another great map from a great artist. If you are lookig for a map for your Homebrew or fantasy campaign whatever system you use this map will work great.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you so much, James!
Colonial Times 6
by Shawn B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2016 23:45:31

My only complaint is that I'm left waiting for more! :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Colonial Times 6
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Colonial Times 5
by Shawn B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2016 23:44:37

Magnificent as usual! Looking forward to more. Stygian Fox doesn't fail to please with this fanzine.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Colonial Times 5
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 37 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates