DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Far Away Land RPG: Quick Start Rules
by Fred D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2015 13:20:55
Far Away Land is a role-playing game full of unique art that catches the eye (unless it doesn't for you), and novel rules that have that old school, rules-lite feel, but use different mechanics, so this is not a clone, folks. This is a re-imagined fantasy role-play experience that is both comfortably familiar and freshly new. The art, done by the author, or other-way-around, the rules, written by the artist really pulls me into the world of Far Away Land where I want to create my own experience inside the game. There are a lot of role-play games out there and many are a rehash of what some of us have been playing for many decades now, but Far Away Land takes me to a place I haven't been to before, a place that frankly makes me smile. This game, based on rolling a number of d6s and keeping the highest score, may not be the perfect fit for everyone, but it definitely isn't what we have come to expect in a fantasy role-play game. Far Away Land is a new experience in the frp gaming hobby, and I am liking it. The Quick Start Rules offers a complete game, but there is even more Far Away Land available. S get your appetite primed with the Quick Start Rules and then really dive in with the Tome of Awesome which combines all the titles in the Far Away Land system into one awesome book, yeah! Count me among the fans that have allowed the Tome of Awesome to take me to a Far Away Land of fun and adventure!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Far Away Land RPG: Quick Start Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Far Away Land RPG: Quick Start Rules
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/29/2015 12:27:10
I would give it to a beginner and then switch him to a different system once he grasps the basic ideas. While simple and easy to use, it is too one of a kind to really use other adventures etc. without massive rewrite.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Far Away Land RPG: Core Rules
by walter w. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/27/2015 08:33:16
-This game is incomplete and toolboxy.
-There are no rules for creating Non-Human characters. This was my biggest disappointment.
-Many spells are given fluff descriptions with no game effect
-Many rules are unclear.
-Many rules are unbalanced.
-Not worth $8. I got it on sale for $5.60 and it wasn't worth that IMHO.
+Cool artwork.
+Good special abilities(for creatures) section that I will adapt to other systems.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Far Away Land RPG: Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Far Away Land RPG: Creatures Vol. I
by walter w. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/27/2015 08:21:58
-Let me start off by saying I do not care for the Far Away Land system.
-Not worth $8 IMHO. I got it on sale for $5.60 which was a fair price.
+Cool artwork.
+Many Unique monster concepts which I will adapt to other systems.
+Each creature gets a full color illustration.
+Good section on creating custom monsters which I will adapt to other systems.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Far Away Land RPG: Creatures Vol. I
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Far Away Land RPG: Core Rules
by Jojo B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/21/2015 19:12:23
Deceptively cute, the game sports a streamlined system that promotes flexibility and creativity of the GMs and the players ala. OSR style games. As a person who feels swamped by myriads of rules, this game is awesome. I'm even planning on busting out this game for some role playing newbies....and they're not kids!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Far Away Land RPG: Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Far Away Land RPG: Tome of Awesome
by Kevin B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/17/2015 17:40:13
It would be easy to hate Dirk Stanley. He's that guy that walks into the room, that does everything you do, only a million times better. He's probably a pretty cool guy, to boot. And that would just make him hate you more. Far Away Land is not a game that everyone is going to embrace: it's too unique for that. But in the context of what it does, it does everything right. Let's start with the art. This book is worth the price of admission simply as a collection of great fantasy art. Stanley manages to conjure up Tom Wham, Matt Groening, and Scott McCloud all at the same time. The art might be jarring and not correct for a darker game, but it is perfect for this. The tone of the game is light hearted high adventure. This feels a lot like the early, heady days of TSR. Imagine walking into a bungalow where Tom Wham and James Ward have been on a blackout drunk designing a game...pages everywhere...and when you put them together, it's a lot like this. The rules lite approach allows him to cram his core rules, optional rules, side games, Monster Manual, and Deities and Demigods into one set of covers, with room left over for the world itself with more detail than E. Gary Gygax put into the first edition of Greyhawk. In hand, this book is small but gorgeous. It says Tome of Awesome right on the cover, and it is that.

Game design is a quiet art, without a lot of real world accolades and one of the smallest target audiences one can labor to please. It would be easy to hate Dirk Stanley for being so damned brilliant, but let's not do that. Instead, if ever we see this guy at a panel or onstage at a con, let's stand up and shake the rafters. Ladies and Gentleman, I give you Mr. Dirk Stanley....

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Far Away Land RPG: Tome of Awesome
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Far Away Land RPG Adventures: Isle of the Rat Wizard
by Vincent F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/03/2015 13:02:21
I gave this adventure a full review here on my blog

http://www.theevilgm.com/2015/03/the-evil-gm-review-of-a-
1-far-away-land.html

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Far Away Land RPG Adventures: Isle of the Rat Wizard
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Far Away Land Adventures: Crazy Maze Daze
by Mickael D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/01/2015 14:14:50
I just loved the original idea of this maze, it is really fun to play and full of crazy little détails, a must have ! All Dirk Stanley créations are amazing anyway ! ;)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Far Away Land Adventures: Crazy Maze Daze
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Far Away Land Adventures: Pawns and Knights
by Luke W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/01/2015 13:58:46
Unlike the previous adventure offerings, Pawns and Knights provides a mini-campaign starter for the FAL GM. There is a map and details of Londol, as well as an initial hook by way of working for a dubious pawnbroker called Mus Sak. If you need a first stepping stone into the world of FAL, but unsure what that might be, P&K is well worth the look.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Far Away Land Adventures: Pawns and Knights
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Far Away Land RPG: Tome of Awesome
by James S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/14/2015 16:39:52
LOVE IT.

First, I have to say, the easy mechanics and gonzo Adventure Time-esque Setting are fantastic. The mechanics are simple, sensible and a terrific way to introduce children to the hobby.

Now, for the artwork: I suppose many would call it hyperbole, but I haven't seen a Campaign Setting and its accompanying artwork mesh so well since Brom and Dark Sun.

There Is only one quibble: Mechanically, when two make opposed rolls and tie, the defender wins. I'd rather the win go to the attacker instead.

But that is minor and easily house ruled.

Otherwise, buy this. Reward true creativity. Have a blast!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Far Away Land RPG: Tome of Awesome
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Far Away Land RPG: Tome of Awesome
by erik f. t. t. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/07/2015 23:50:06
Sometimes when you check out the most recent free releases on RPGNow, you start a journey that leads you to an awesome not free release. Such is my story when it comes to Far Away Land.

You see, when I stubbled across Far Away Land RPG Adventures: Journey Into the White I was intrigued by the cover art. It seemed old school D&Dish with quirky as hell art. As it was PWYW, I was able to peek for free. And peek i did. And it was good. Short, but good. It also seemed to be sandboxie, which I like.

In for a penny, in for a pound. I almost bought the core book in print with PDF for $25, but then I saw the Tome of Awesome, which is core plus 3 expansions, was $35. Damn it! Yes, I'm in.

So, what is the system like? It reminds me a bit of a hybrid of Old School D&D, Tunnels & Trolls, Adventure Time and a bit of crazy. It is a D6 system where you roll a pool of dice and just keep the highest roll. Fairly simple. Pools are based on one of three Stats - BRT (Strength / Con), DEX (er, dex) and WIT (Int / Wis / Cha rolled into one) and Boons (think skills like melee for combat, arcane for spell casting, subterfuge for picking locks and dealing with traps - you get the idea) and Flaws (narrowly defined disadvantages.) Armor absorbs damage (much like T&T), there are hit points, levels and spell levels (the spell list certainly hues close to D&D.)

The art is simply amazing to my eyes. You'll either love it or hate it. I love it. It captures the quirkiness of the system and the setting (from the little I've read of the setting.) I've only read the actual core rules thus far - there is so much more to dig through.

The PDF looks nice on my tablet and the color hardcover is nice solid book. No noticeable bleed through the pages, which is impressive with the amount of color art in FAW.

A version of this review appears at TenkarsTavern.com

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Far Away Land RPG: Pawn Pack 1
by Stephen B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/31/2015 23:20:02
Fun and Useful the Pawn pack is yet another free resource for FAL players.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Far Away Land RPG: Pawn Pack 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Far Away Land RPG: Creatures Vol. I
by Brian J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/30/2015 16:31:06
Loaded with the Art you love from this game.... great notes on all the creatures and a wonderful variety of creatures to fit any campaign

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Far Away Land RPG: Creatures Vol. I
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Far Away Land RPG: Core Rules
by Brian J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2015 05:59:11
Excellent, Simple, Weird, Flexible .... This game is a must buy. The art is insane, the rules flexible and simple, the company is a good one. Support these Devs. They are going somewhere.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Far Away Land RPG: Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Far Away Land Adventures: Whoa! Here Come the Dead
by Kyrinn E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2014 12:12:37
See my review of Isle of the Rat Wizard for conversion to various D&Ds

I'll be honest when I say I preferred the Isle of the Rat Wizard, but this little adventure should be thought of more as a great drop-in piece with the potential to be a Secret of Saltmarsh meets Secret of Bone Hill mashup. Seemingly fall-off-a-log-simple adventure with throw away plot, this little nugget could really be used well as the mate with IotRW, as they suggest in the beginning of W!HCtD. I even thought of running this one first and then placing the mcguffin for defeating the baddie in this adventure on the Isle of the Rat Wizard. The magic items in each are strangely, alluringly similar, suggesting a possible greater unseen whole.

Buy this and give it its due expansion and integration in your setting. Buy IotRW, too, and combine them.

Please pay these folks something, they are well worth your time.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Far Away Land Adventures: Whoa! Here Come the Dead
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 22 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates