DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Vornheim: The Complete City Kit
by Bartek E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2016 23:11:14

One of my all-time favourite RPG books. I play Savage Worlds rather than LotFP, but I still often read this book because of its awesome flavour and excellent advice for running city campaigns. Vornheim is definitely the most compelling fantasy city I've ever seen in an RPG.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vornheim: The Complete City Kit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Forgive Us
by Preston P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/03/2016 18:37:46

Pretty solid adventure with interesting locations, the minor adventures are also golden. Each of the three adventures has an original premise and was lovingly given detail.


My only real complaint is that the stats for things like firearms or the drugs aren't included in the adventure, which is just so damn lazy. It really would have been much more convenient if these things were printed in the book instead of references to where they can be found in other books. I guess a minor complaint is that the art may be too cartoony for some, but now I'm just nitpicking.


The PDF works well and the maps are beautifully done.


Overall a quality piece of work with a funny tone and great ideas-- it's what you want out of an adventure you buy.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Forgive Us
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Single, Small Cut
by Preston P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/29/2016 22:20:33

"A Single, Small Cut" was a pretty neat mini-adventure really meant to be a small side-encounter. Be warned that this -is- very short because you're only paying two dollars for it.


That considered, the illustrations are excellent, as is the writing. While many LotFP products may have pretty questionable difficulty and obscene content (I mean that's half the fun, right?) "A Single, Small Cut" is just the right blend of challenging and is G-rated in case that matters to you. It also has a great magic item and some neat lore that'll spice up your game.


The scan is pretty clean and everything on the technical side is also good quality. 5/5



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Single, Small Cut
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

World of the Lost
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/27/2016 19:28:48

What happens when your Lamentations of the Flame Princess adventurers stumble upon an African lost world setting of massive proportions? You get World of the Lost from the pen of Rafael Chandler and the warped minds of some of the OSR's premiere artists. This is an entire expansion of the LoFP system in my humble opinion. There are some pieces of great PC options from character generation expansion, new spells, equipment, regional weaponry, dark magic, techno science fantasy secrets, and more for about ten bucks! This isn't a shelf warmer its a book like Vornhiem that your going to be reaching for again and again.


There are books you see as an old school gamer that you know are going to be worth waiting for and World of The Lost is one of those. This is massive campaign resource of a book that details an a the fictional city of Khirima, in a 17th-century Nigeria. The territory depicted in the map is dominated by a large
plateau inhabited by bellowing dinosaurs and strange monsters. It is one of the must have books to get besides Carcosa in my humble opinion for Lamentations of the Flame Princess. This book enables a dungeon master from the ground up straight out of hand to create their own version of the setting. This book takes many of the 'Lost World' setting cliches and turns them on their ears. The heroes here can be anything from the native Africans to your own LoFP PC's and your going to need them. This book sports an adventure for characters levels 1-4, featuring a 200-encounter wilderness hexcrawl, a city sourcebook, a dungeon, quests, diseases, new spells, and new magic items. And that's really the start of it, this book allows the DM to create their own version of Khirima from the ground up for cities, towns, and tons of wilderness options. All of this can be expanded up on the fantastic maps that come with this adventure sourcebook. If this is the direction that Lamentations of the Flame Princess is going to take then sign me up. Khirima (kurr-EE-mah) is the capital of a large kingdom surrounded by villages and towns for many miles. And World of the Lost has table after random table to create your own version of this setting. You're PC options are all across the table in this book with options for everyone from the fighter to the cleric and every wizard in between with an African lost world flare. Merchants, lodging, weapons, etc. is all there right off the bat as you open this book. And it all works. Don't screw with these people or you will have your PC's flesh flayed off. Seriously these are serious folks and this book covers every single aspect of their lives. Did I happen to mention the prehistoric life forms that inhabit certain sections of everywhere in World of the Lost? Everything from Dinosaurs to Ice Age giant mammals stalks the wild and wants to eat your face off. This book is post apocalyptic primeval setting with African overtones of weirdness. This book is dense, rich, and can't be taken in on one sitting. I've been dipping into it again and again for two days running and haven't even begun to scratch the surface. This book is has a massive featuring a 200-encounter wilderness hexcrawl with detailed entries like;"The city of Akabo. By day, smoke from the fire is visible from adjacent
hexes; by night, one can see the glow from the flames. A necromancer named Henriette (now in hex 23-A) cursed the city, and the dead have risen. These undead, known as ogbanje, attacked the living, and the curse
spread to those who have been bitten. The entire city is overrun. Countless swarms of ogbanje (1d100 per swarm) wander the streets. Most survivors fled north, rather than brave the bandits and wild beasts
around the plateau. Should the adventurers enter the city, they’ll find its
layout similar to that of Khirima (Chapter 1: City can be used to flesh out details). Most of the city is ablaze, and other than a few survivors hiding from the ogbanje, Akabo belongs to the undead."
This is the level of detail that your going to get from this sourcebook and it's on par with some of the best Lamentations of the Flame Princess books. The fact that you get locals as adventuring PC's is awesome and they're detailed as human beings and with clear cut motives for helping or hindering other characters. World of The Lost is like Robert Howard's Africa slept with Carcosa and then fused together elements of Nigerian & UFO mythology to produce this campaign setting. I feel that this is a new corner stone for the Lamentations system.
I haven't gotten to the dungeon known as 'The Temple of Ages That Are Not' this is a science fantasy dungeon on par with the Expedition to the Barrier Peaks dungeon adventure. There are elements that I won't go into here in this review but are very raw, dangerous and brutal. On par with Mr. Chandler's Slaughter Gird for style and substance and actually takes some of that style and expands upon it with a deadly dungeon grace all of its own with a sci fi fantasy twist all of its own . The pdf is fully cross listed and referenced for each and every encounter with rules, entries, and references throughout the book's digital format.
To expand upon the content of 'World Of The Lost' there are some of the most weird and deadly lifeforms besides the prehistoric dinosaurs, plants, mutated horrors that inhabit this campaign setting that I've seen in a long while. There's enough content for seven or eight campaign's worth of material.
I can't recommend this book enough! Seriously one of the best campaign and setting books for 2016 so far in my humble opinion and if your going to spend ten dollars then get this book!


Eric Fabiaschi
Swords and Stitchery blog
Like this review and want to see more
support for this and other OSR products?
Subscribe at http://swordsa-
ndstitchery.blogspot.com



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World of the Lost
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Towers Two
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/27/2016 17:05:41

I want you to take a look at the cover art for the Two Towers adventure. Go ahead and look at it! This isn't an OSR adventure for the easily offended or the pantie waists out there. This is an adventure that has torn open a slime laden murder blunt trauma hole in reality's sky and poured in the awesome. It has leaked onto a campaign adventure source book of twisted proportions. You dear reader are in for a ride of sex, death magick, twisted adventure, and a hell of a ton of mutating weirdness. In the interest of full disclosure and all of that crap; I begged James Raggi for a copy of this adventure. First of all I'm friends with a few of the people who worked on this adventure/sourcebook and whose writing and artwork I happen to be a fan of. This is a media pack of OSR old school and new school goodness. You get a teaser version of the adventure, a stat pack which contains stats for Pathfinder and D20 versions of the creatures and horrors of the Two Towers, and a final version of the complete Towers Two.
I've always been a fan of Gwar going all the way back to late Eighties when they crashed through the local New England music scene like a blunt trauma induced liquid spewing rage machine. The details of the nights that I saw the band are best left to the annals of interstellar legend. So when I heard that Dave Brockie (GWAR, Whargoul) was partnering with James Raggi for an adventure. I was utterly aghast with shock & fan delight! And then he died before the completion of his vision. In comes Jobe Bittman (The Monster Alphabet, The One Who Watches from Below) to take on the task of completing this awesome piece of OSR adventure. Not since Carcosa have I see a homage and love letter to a particular style of role playing. The pdf adventure is an artifact to behold. The artwork for this adventure is wall to freaking wall of brain melting awesomeness first of all. Then there's the death #$#@ sex toy magick which plays a central role in the middle of this adventure. You see this isn't one for the kids at all unless the kids happen to be twenty one or older. Seriously its that nasty in some respects but if your playing Lamentations of the Flame Princess you're going to be used to this sort of thing.
But is there a playable adventure in all of this? As a matter of fact there is and more. There are two brothers fighting with each other and your PC's are dragged into the middle of this little affair along with some mercenaries, psychotic monsters, sex death magic toys and artifacts, and an bunch of deadly circumstances guaranteed to make you wish you had other PC's lurking in the background waiting to help replace the current ones. They might die in a blood induced hazy of epic proportions.
But is the Towers Two actually useful? In word yes! The adventure design focuses on the Two Towers as both adventure and source book. The tone here is half way between a twisted episode of He Man peppered with some of the most adult content seen since a Gwar stage show mixed in with lots of D&D. Everything here has a ton of attention to detail and is central to adventure from the setting, the monsters, the artwork, the incredible maps of the region this is an incredible product and like nothing that would ever be release by a main stream rpg gaming company. This is mini campaign in the happening and many of the bits and pieces can be used for other OSR game systems as well.
I don't know that much about Pathfinder but if that's your bag then you can run this bad boy and that's with an X certificate if this was a grind house cult film. And this is one of those adventures that doesn't play nice with your PC's at all. This is a playable adventure that will keep your players busy for months to come. The writing is solid, the cartography is excellent and this is about as close to a head banging heavy metal OD&D adventure as I've ever seen. Five out of five and go grab this one! Its definitely not for the kids but man this was fun and deadly to read! Highly recommended!


Eric Fabiaschi
Like what you've read in this
review? Want to see more for this and other old school rpgs
then be sure to subscribe to
http://swordsa-
ndstitchery.blogspot.com



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Towers Two
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Pale Lady
by cesar j. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/25/2016 10:38:47

This short adventure is quite simple to read and follow, without losing the taste "weird" that every good adventure of LotFP must have.: With only minimal adjustment is easily adaptable to any campaign you're running, or as a one -shot, simple and lightweight. Everything starts with the story of a mad man, on which account the White Lady, a mysterious and powerful woman, who lives in a place out of this world, guarded by horrible rabbit-mens who abduct children for her. Adventure, being simple in its approach, open spaces for a party want to try social movements or engage in one or two fights that the DM can easily adapt to the level of their players. Special mention of the possibility that a player is willing to engage in a more intimate bond with the Lady.
High points: easy to read and follow, will allow one or two sessions perfectly. It gives possible ways forward later and the magical object present at the end of the adventure can give a huge amount of frames and ideas for future adventures ... the possible rewards in experience are fine for a party of low levels with little or no experience.
Lows: Being a closed environment, does not allow a game of exploration and travel, no less exploring a large dungeon, solving riddles or sophisticated and dangerous traps. It is a well bounded adventure. In that sense, the level of challenge for more experienced players may be a bit low, but that is easily adjustable.
Overall it is a simple adventure and more than adequate for the level that is designed, requiring only a few adjustments for customization, at a convenient price. And I ran a couple of times with good results, including scenes of sex, violence and existential questioning by the players.


Versión en español, para los colegas de América Latina y en especial Chile:
Esta aventura corta es bastante simple de leer y seguir, sin perder ese sabor weird que toda buena aventura de LotFP debe tener.: Con tan sólo unos minimos ajustes es fácilmente adaptable a cualquier campaña que estés dirigiendo, o como un one –shot sencillo y ligero. Todo parte con el relato de un hombre loco, en el que se cuenta de la Dama Blanca, una misteriosa y poderosa mujer, que vive en un lugar fuera de este mundo, custodiada por horribles hombres conejos que secuestran niños para ella. La aventura, siendo simple en sus planteamientos, abre espacios para una party que desee intentar movimientos sociales o dedicarse a uno o dos combates que el DM podrá fácilmente adaptar al nivel de sus jugadores. Especial mención a la posibilidad de que algún jugador este dispuesto a entablar un vínculo más íntimo con la Dama.
Puntos altos: sencilla de leer y seguir, permitirá una o dos sesiones perfectamente. Te da posibles caminos a seguir posteriormente y el objeto mágico presente al final de la aventura puede dar una enorme cantidad de tramas e ideas para futuras aventuras… las eventuales recompensas en experiencia están muy bien para una party de niveles bajos y con poca o nula experiencia.
Puntos bajos: Al ser un entorno cerrado, no permite una partida de exploración y viajes, ni menos la exploración de un gran dungeon, resolución de enigmas o trampas sofisticadas y peligrosas. Es una aventura bien acotada. En ese sentido, el nivel de desafío para jugadores con más experiencia puede ser un poco bajo, si bien eso es facilmente ajustable.


En general, es una aventura sencilla y más que adecuada para el nivel que está diseñada, que requiere sólo unos pocos ajustes para su personalización, a un precio conveniente. Ya la corrí un par de veces con buenos resultados, incluyendo escenas de sexo, violencia y cuestionamiento existencial por parte de los jugadores.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Pale Lady
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Doom-Cave of the Crystal-Headed Children
by cesar j. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/05/2016 06:18:10

This was the first adventure I've run with this game, and works amazing. I used to literally almost step by step and it worked excellently. And I used my usual group game and a couple of sessions of play away from home with strangers and the result was quite different, but always fun ... this adventure has essential elements that are unique to the game -and his spirit- and generally it is easy to assemble so that you may bring your players from their classic vision of "the dungeon experience", using the same rules as always, but proposing a different attitude to play ... as an adventure game start, and also free, I think it's an excellent product (greetings from Chile !!)


Para jugadores de habla hispana_
Esta ha sido la primera aventura que he corrido con este juego, y funcionó asombrosamente. La usé al pie de la letra prácticamente paso a paso y corrió de manera excelente. Ya la he usado con mi grupo de juego habitual y en un par de sesiones de juego fuera de casa con desconocidos y el resultado fue totalmente distinto, pero siempre muy divertido... esta aventura tiene elementos esenciales que son propios del juego -y su espíritu- y en general es fácil de montar de manera que saques a tus jugadores de su visión clásica de "la experiencia del dungeon", usando las mismas reglas de siempre, pero proponiendo una actitud de juego distinta... como aventura de inicio, y además gratuita, creo que es un excelente producto (saludos desde Chile!!).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Doom-Cave of the Crystal-Headed Children
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Carcosa
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/26/2015 21:30:05

The layout, artwork, and material are very striking and atmospheric. I have no complaints at all with that aspect of it. This is the only reason I've giving it 2 stars instead of 1 star.


Unfortunately, this product cannot be printed in the current format, nor can it be easily read on my tablet. Since I can't haul my PC to gaming sessions, this makes the product basically unusable to me. I've wasted paper and ink trying to get it to print in a usable form, but no use. The two-page per 8 1/2 X 11 format doesn't work on any of my printers. Had I known this product could not be printed, I would not have purchased it. I'd gladly delete my copy for a refund.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Carcosa
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
What\'s happening? \"Two-page per 8 1/2 X 11 format\"? What is the name of the file that you downloaded?
The Doom-Cave of the Crystal-Headed Children
by Justin B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/26/2015 14:32:38

The introductory section of the adventure is fine, but the rest is incredibly bad and obviously phoned in nonsense. The final random table entry reads to the effect of, "12. I'm bored with these stupid pointless tables, you think of something."


The first few rooms are pretty interesting, and could probably be salvaged or just set to work on their own without the rest of the dungeon. The majority of the dungeon is winding, useless hallways (attempting to draw these was excruciating, and eventually we just started narrating everything.) Everything in the remainder of the dungeon is a pointless death trap with no possible purpose, theme, or use. The players have no reason to explore the dungeon and no way to understand any of it. My players would later state they preferred the Tomb of Horrors... read into that what you will.


After the initial amusement of murdering children wears off, the children themselves are agonizing to combat*. No one wants to sit around slogging through one hundred of the same, boring enemy (children.) Attempting to group them up so that a large number of them could serve as singular enemies would ruin their primary mechanic.



  • Protip: Don't play this module with someone who just miscarried.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The Doom-Cave of the Crystal-Headed Children
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Vornheim: The Complete City Kit
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/01/2015 00:38:45

In this book is a strange city. It's not like a standard city source book as it contains tables for generating much of the city on the fly. Only a few locations are actually mapped. It generally gives advice for running this city but the ideas are good enough that you might want to use similar ideas for other cities in your campaign. The locations and tables contain enough weird and intriguing stuff to entertain and puzzle your players for a good while. A very good book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vornheim: The Complete City Kit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tower of the Stargazer
by Frank R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/02/2015 10:11:22

It took us two session to play through this adventure. It is indeed well suited for a new group of players and first-level characters. We used D&D 5e. A few adjustments were needed becuase of this, but it was simple enough to do. Placing the tower in a larger campaign is no problem. It is self-contained. Does not rely on anything outside the tower and won't affect anything outside.


I think everyone enjoyed this weird little trip. Like, a LOT.


Things that may not be clear from the description:



  1. The adventure is low on combat. If the players are smart, they can actually avoid almost every single combat encounter. Which may a good thing.

  2. The adventure assumes a certain level of technology. The title should be a hint that it takes place in a world where stuff like telescopes exist. If you want to use this in a pre-renaissance setting, you may have to shift things around a bit.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tower of the Stargazer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Vornheim: The Complete City Kit
by Ahimsa K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/05/2015 12:56:14

Probably few people will use or appreciate everything in this book (neither the library nor the zoo quest struck me as easy to run), but almost every GM will find lots of worth in here. Unquestionably belongs in the RPG sourcebook canon.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Vornheim: The Complete City Kit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Carcosa
by Ahimsa K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/05/2015 12:51:51

I don't actually dig the hex based layout, that's not the way I visualize games. I also wonder why anyone would ever play a sorcerer? (Not for puritanical reasons but just because one failed save and they utterly pancaked.)


That said, it's a great world with truly new mechanics. The dice and pysionics alone are terrific, and the world actually reminds me a lot of Hyberborea (of ASSoH), except for even more honked up.


I haven't run any adventurers here yet, but you can be sure there is always a chance for them to descend into this nightmare.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Carcosa
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Red & Pleasant Land
by Ahimsa K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/05/2015 12:42:53

One of the few things truly worthy of the hype. $15 seems expensive to me for a pdf but if you are gaming it is well worth it.


I could go on about the guest charts and the alice class but there's nothing I could say that wasn't already said better by the greatest author of weird in our generation.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Red & Pleasant Land
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Isle of the Unknown
by Ahimsa K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/05/2015 12:39:32

This is actually more of a funky bestiary than a sourcebook which I didn't quite grok when I bought it, but the level of invention is incredible enough that it doesn't really matter.


It's rather impossible not to read or even thumb through and not get really inspired in all kinds of ways. I dig the monster mashups, the statues, and especially the ways all the things are triggered to interact.


A great supplement for almost any game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Isle of the Unknown
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 173 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates