DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Doom-Cave of the Crystal-Headed Children
by cesar j. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/05/2016 06:18:10

This was the first adventure I've run with this game, and works amazing. I used to literally almost step by step and it worked excellently. And I used my usual group game and a couple of sessions of play away from home with strangers and the result was quite different, but always fun ... this adventure has essential elements that are unique to the game -and his spirit- and generally it is easy to assemble so that you may bring your players from their classic vision of "the dungeon experience", using the same rules as always, but proposing a different attitude to play ... as an adventure game start, and also free, I think it's an excellent product (greetings from Chile !!)


Para jugadores de habla hispana_
Esta ha sido la primera aventura que he corrido con este juego, y funcionó asombrosamente. La usé al pie de la letra prácticamente paso a paso y corrió de manera excelente. Ya la he usado con mi grupo de juego habitual y en un par de sesiones de juego fuera de casa con desconocidos y el resultado fue totalmente distinto, pero siempre muy divertido... esta aventura tiene elementos esenciales que son propios del juego -y su espíritu- y en general es fácil de montar de manera que saques a tus jugadores de su visión clásica de "la experiencia del dungeon", usando las mismas reglas de siempre, pero proponiendo una actitud de juego distinta... como aventura de inicio, y además gratuita, creo que es un excelente producto (saludos desde Chile!!).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Doom-Cave of the Crystal-Headed Children
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Carcosa
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/26/2015 21:30:05

The layout, artwork, and material are very striking and atmospheric. I have no complaints at all with that aspect of it. This is the only reason I've giving it 2 stars instead of 1 star.


Unfortunately, this product cannot be printed in the current format, nor can it be easily read on my tablet. Since I can't haul my PC to gaming sessions, this makes the product basically unusable to me. I've wasted paper and ink trying to get it to print in a usable form, but no use. The two-page per 8 1/2 X 11 format doesn't work on any of my printers. Had I known this product could not be printed, I would not have purchased it. I'd gladly delete my copy for a refund.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Carcosa
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
What\'s happening? \"Two-page per 8 1/2 X 11 format\"? What is the name of the file that you downloaded?
The Doom-Cave of the Crystal-Headed Children
by Justin B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/26/2015 14:32:38

The introductory section of the adventure is fine, but the rest is incredibly bad and obviously phoned in nonsense. The final random table entry reads to the effect of, "12. I'm bored with these stupid pointless tables, you think of something."


The first few rooms are pretty interesting, and could probably be salvaged or just set to work on their own without the rest of the dungeon. The majority of the dungeon is winding, useless hallways (attempting to draw these was excruciating, and eventually we just started narrating everything.) Everything in the remainder of the dungeon is a pointless death trap with no possible purpose, theme, or use. The players have no reason to explore the dungeon and no way to understand any of it. My players would later state they preferred the Tomb of Horrors... read into that what you will.


After the initial amusement of murdering children wears off, the children themselves are agonizing to combat*. No one wants to sit around slogging through one hundred of the same, boring enemy (children.) Attempting to group them up so that a large number of them could serve as singular enemies would ruin their primary mechanic.



  • Protip: Don't play this module with someone who just miscarried.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The Doom-Cave of the Crystal-Headed Children
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Vornheim: The Complete City Kit
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/01/2015 00:38:45

In this book is a strange city. It's not like a standard city source book as it contains tables for generating much of the city on the fly. Only a few locations are actually mapped. It generally gives advice for running this city but the ideas are good enough that you might want to use similar ideas for other cities in your campaign. The locations and tables contain enough weird and intriguing stuff to entertain and puzzle your players for a good while. A very good book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vornheim: The Complete City Kit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tower of the Stargazer
by Frank R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/02/2015 10:11:22

It took us two session to play through this adventure. It is indeed well suited for a new group of players and first-level characters. We used D&D 5e. A few adjustments were needed becuase of this, but it was simple enough to do. Placing the tower in a larger campaign is no problem. It is self-contained. Does not rely on anything outside the tower and won't affect anything outside.


I think everyone enjoyed this weird little trip. Like, a LOT.


Things that may not be clear from the description:



  1. The adventure is low on combat. If the players are smart, they can actually avoid almost every single combat encounter. Which may a good thing.

  2. The adventure assumes a certain level of technology. The title should be a hint that it takes place in a world where stuff like telescopes exist. If you want to use this in a pre-renaissance setting, you may have to shift things around a bit.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tower of the Stargazer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Vornheim: The Complete City Kit
by Ahimsa K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/05/2015 12:56:14

Probably few people will use or appreciate everything in this book (neither the library nor the zoo quest struck me as easy to run), but almost every GM will find lots of worth in here. Unquestionably belongs in the RPG sourcebook canon.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Vornheim: The Complete City Kit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Carcosa
by Ahimsa K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/05/2015 12:51:51

I don't actually dig the hex based layout, that's not the way I visualize games. I also wonder why anyone would ever play a sorcerer? (Not for puritanical reasons but just because one failed save and they utterly pancaked.)


That said, it's a great world with truly new mechanics. The dice and pysionics alone are terrific, and the world actually reminds me a lot of Hyberborea (of ASSoH), except for even more honked up.


I haven't run any adventurers here yet, but you can be sure there is always a chance for them to descend into this nightmare.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Carcosa
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Red & Pleasant Land
by Ahimsa K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/05/2015 12:42:53

One of the few things truly worthy of the hype. $15 seems expensive to me for a pdf but if you are gaming it is well worth it.


I could go on about the guest charts and the alice class but there's nothing I could say that wasn't already said better by the greatest author of weird in our generation.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Red & Pleasant Land
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Isle of the Unknown
by Ahimsa K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/05/2015 12:39:32

This is actually more of a funky bestiary than a sourcebook which I didn't quite grok when I bought it, but the level of invention is incredible enough that it doesn't really matter.


It's rather impossible not to read or even thumb through and not get really inspired in all kinds of ways. I dig the monster mashups, the statues, and especially the ways all the things are triggered to interact.


A great supplement for almost any game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Isle of the Unknown
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Death Love Doom
by Robert G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2015 00:08:23

A truly terrifying adventure, with art and subjects sure to even spook the game master. More splatter/shock gore than haunted horror, but still effectively horrifying. Worth every penny.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Death Love Doom
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Pale Lady
by Pa T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2015 15:22:23

This short adventure differs from some of the more recent LotFP modules in that it is not set in a specific place on Earth, though it does start in a generalized abbey that can be dropped anywhere. The bulk of the adventure actually takes place in a small fairy domain. The adventure kicks off with a raving man in an abbey and a story of coming back from the Pale Lady's hall, along with strange artifacts kept inside the hall.


The inhabitants of this pocket area are the Pale Lady and a race of creepy rabbit-men, along with their kidnapped human slaves. The hall and surrounding area are mapped and keyed, but this adventure is not really a dungeon crawl. There are no gruesome traps as are expected in many other LotFP adventures, and the emphasis is more placed on stealth (or combat?) and social interactions with the strange inhabitants.


There is a strange artifact at the center of the hall, and its general weirdness is alike to the time cube from another Zzarchov Kowolski book, Scenic Dunnsmouth. It breaks the fundamental rules of physics and will affect future games for everyone affected. It even suggests letting the players take time to dwell on the philosophy of what these changes mean for their characters after the event occurs, which is what really helps to sink the other-worldliness of the artifact in.


One of the problems I have with the adventure is that without interacting with the artifact in the hall, nothing else really happens. If the players somehow manage to murder hobo their way through the Pale Lady's domain, they end up missing the best parts (first time I saw this run, the players merely fought some rabbit-men and escaped with a handful of freed slaves). If the players do meet with the Pale Lady and fail at socializing, they end up missing the good stuff again. Even if they succeed at winning her over, they may miss the artifact and accept a different boon from her.


It feels a little bit like a one-trick pony adventure; either you get it or you don't, but if the pieces fall into place, it does make for quite a creepy adventure with far-reaching consequences and even a few morality questions.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Pale Lady
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

LotFP Rules & Magic Free Version
by William T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/19/2015 10:59:31

This is a fairly basic RPG, but don't let the simple rules deceive you. Read it. Understand that the rules, themselves, are written to build a horror mindset. Fighters are not noble, but bitter survivors of many battles. Wizards are meddling with things that can unravel reality. Dwarves are a bitter, dying race. Everything is written to create a dark, depressing mindset before you even start playing. Then your game master will send you forth into a terrible situation where things can only go downhill.


This book sets up the mindset of "not quite right, but pretty much guaranteed to go downhill."



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
LotFP Rules & Magic Free Version
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Carcosa
by Sven F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/19/2015 04:07:14

Really excellent hexcrawl module, within a dark, evocative setting drawing inspiration from Lovecraft and pulp science fiction rather than Tolkien. If you consider yourself a fantasy and/or RPG connoisseur, buy this for the read alone!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Carcosa
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Death Love Doom
by John T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2015 16:47:35

First, there is a clear warning attached to this product.
It is graphic and is mature content (e.g. Cannibal Corpse, Carcass, Autopsy artwork), if the adventure had a soundtrack it would be old school death metal.
This is a fact.


If you play this style and you aren't a "drama-queen", this adventure is nuts!


We ran this adventure recently. It was heavy and nasty but everyone left talking about what an amazing session we had.
For lack of a better descriptor DLD is very much a modern take on a haunted house.
Gore and horror usurping slamming doors and strange sounds, but they are present nevertheless.
Lets be honest, "your arm hairs are standing on end and it feels like something is breathing on the back of your neck" would get real stale very quickly. We live in a time where horror needs to deliver in a visceral fashion to have a measurable result.


For those that have a problem with that blame your crappy society not Mr. Raggi who is simply providing a product of our times.


I don't really like talking specific details of LotFP materials because it spoils the surprise.
If you like horror, if you really like horror then DLD delivers actual horror for the discerning adult.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Death Love Doom
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tales of the Scarecrow
by John T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2015 16:22:54

I have bought and GM'd this product.
I would consider this an elaborate encounter/trap/puzzle.


Simply put we enjoyed the hell out of it.
LotFP does a great job of embodying the spirit of the OSR.
Death is around every corner for those that don't utilize the "old-style of play".
If you are a fan of Raggi's mature themed pulp/occult/horror game you will enjoy this.
If you are not you should move along.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tales of the Scarecrow
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 167 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates