DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Green Devil Face #5
by Troy V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2015 19:29:04
This supplement periodical had elements and ideas I found informative, unusual, and interesting, including the new experience mechanic and the new character creation and advancement techniques.

P.S. The following is a shout-out to the publisher.

While some of the system's ideas may be interesting, the referee style and attitude towards players it encourages leaves VOLUMES to be desired. Inserting compulsory "player-f***ers" into the game simply because you can is incredibly perturbing.

A number of my reviews may have been copied. Nevertheless, they are my honest judgments regarding those adventures and the game system, and I am allowed to critique them as I paid for them.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but did not you (or Zak S.) say something in the manner of, "Even bad media is still media?"

I'll admit I was quite annoyed with the system, and perhaps the numerous negative reviews were impulsive, but I made my bed and I will sleep in it. If you have a low opinion of me from now on due to my decision, very well.

Pardon me for my drawn out last words.

I willfully agree to disagree with you, and anyone else who doesn't share my outlook on game theory, development, and execution.

Troy V.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Green Devil Face #5
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Monolith from beyond Space and Time
by Troy V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2015 07:50:31
In the typical LotFP fashion, the "winning" scenario is damn near impossible, the adventure contains numerous devices which screw player characters royally, and is grimdark to a fault, replacing wit and imagination with tragedy and cruel jokes. Your characters might as well just stay in the tavern, tea house, inn, or drug den. Better yet, tell your referee to lighten up or replace your referee, and stop pulling these tasteless, depressing pranks on you and the rest of the players.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The Monolith from beyond Space and Time
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
I\'d like to point out that this reviewer has placed this exact review, verbatim, on eight different products written by six different people, including on one product not released by LotFP. You can decide for yourself whether this harms the credibility of the reviewer.
The Idea from Space
by Troy V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2015 07:49:44
In the typical LotFP fashion, the "winning" scenario is damn near impossible, the adventure contains numerous devices which screw player characters royally, and is grimdark to a fault, replacing wit and imagination with tragedy and cruel jokes. Your characters might as well just stay in the tavern, tea house, inn, or drug den. Better yet, tell your referee to lighten up or replace your referee, and stop pulling these tasteless, depressing pranks on you and the rest of the players.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The Idea from Space
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
I\'d like to point out that this reviewer has placed this exact review, verbatim, on eight different products written by six different people, including on one product not released by LotFP. You can decide for yourself whether this harms the credibility of the reviewer.
The Grinding Gear
by Troy V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2015 07:47:32
In the typical LotFP fashion, the "winning" scenario is damn near impossible, the adventure contains numerous devices which screw player characters royally, and is grimdark to a fault, replacing wit and imagination with tragedy and cruel jokes. Your characters might as well just stay in the tavern, tea house, inn, or drug den. Better yet, tell your referee to lighten up or replace your referee, and stop pulling these tasteless, depressing pranks on you and the rest of the players.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The Grinding Gear
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
I\'d like to point out that this reviewer has placed this exact review, verbatim, on eight different products written by six different people, including on one product not released by LotFP. You can decide for yourself whether this harms the credibility of the reviewer.
Tales of the Scarecrow
by Troy V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2015 07:46:55
In the typical LotFP fashion, the "winning" scenario is damn near impossible, the adventure contains numerous devices which screw player characters royally, and is grimdark to a fault, replacing wit and imagination with tragedy and cruel jokes. Your characters might as well just stay in the tavern, tea house, inn, or drug den. Better yet, tell your referee to lighten up or replace your referee, and stop pulling these tasteless, depressing pranks on you and the rest of the players.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Tales of the Scarecrow
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
I\'d like to point out that this reviewer has placed this exact review, verbatim, on eight different products written by six different people, including on one product not released by LotFP. You can decide for yourself whether this harms the credibility of the reviewer.
Qelong
by Troy V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2015 07:46:16
In the typical LotFP fashion, the "winning" scenario is damn near impossible, the adventure contains numerous devices which screw player characters royally, and is grimdark to a fault, replacing wit and imagination with tragedy and cruel jokes. Your characters might as well just stay in the tavern, tea house, inn, or drug den. Better yet, tell your referee to lighten up or replace your referee, and stop pulling these tasteless, depressing pranks on you and the rest of the players.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Qelong
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
I\'d like to point out that this reviewer has placed this exact review, verbatim, on eight different products written by six different people, including on one product not released by LotFP. You can decide for yourself whether this harms the credibility of the reviewer.
No Salvation for Witches
by Troy V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2015 07:43:54
In the typical LotFP fashion, the "winning" scenario is damn near impossible, the adventure contains numerous devices which screw player characters royally, and is grimdark to a fault, replacing wit and imagination with tragedy and cruel jokes. Your characters might as well just stay in the tavern, tea house, inn, or drug den. Better yet, tell your referee to lighten up or replace your referee, and stop pulling these tasteless, depressing pranks on you and the rest of the players.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
No Salvation for Witches
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
I\'d like to point out that this reviewer has placed this exact review, verbatim, on eight different products written by six different people, including on one product not released by LotFP. You can decide for yourself whether this harms the credibility of the reviewer.
LotFP Referee Book (old Grindhouse Edition)
by Troy V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2015 07:41:48
I do not respect any book which uses the nonsensical, loaded words homophobic or homophobe as derogatory or derisive terms, as the sweeping majority of people so labeled have no irrational fear of queers.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
LotFP Referee Book (old Grindhouse Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Classy.
Fuck For Satan
by Troy V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2015 07:30:42
This is absolutely tasteless nonsense. A cock-shaped alien and its pheromones are responsible for everything that's gone wrong in the adventure. The bear (now intelligent due to the alien's influence) who has eaten the missing children is encountered only RANDOMLY, unless the ref sees otherwise. If I could give zero stars, I would.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Fuck For Satan
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Death Frost Doom
by Troy V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2015 07:22:40
In the typical LotFP fashion, the "winning" scenario is damn near impossible, the adventure contains numerous devices which screw player characters royally, and is grimdark to a fault, replacing wit and imagination with tragedy and cruel jokes. Your characters might as well just stay in the tavern, tea house, inn, or drug den. Better yet, tell your referee to lighten up or replace your referee, and stop pulling these tasteless, depressing pranks on you and the rest of the players.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Death Frost Doom
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
I\'d like to point out that this reviewer has placed this exact review, verbatim, on eight different products written by six different people, including on one product not released by LotFP. You can decide for yourself whether this harms the credibility of the reviewer.
The Seclusium of Orphone of the Three Visions
by Chris B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/16/2015 11:50:04
Obscure jargon, badly organized, with redundant sections and no real inspirational value. Absolutely not recommended.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The Seclusium of Orphone of the Three Visions
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Red & Pleasant Land
by Paxton K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/11/2015 18:15:35
1st) Why only 4 stars? It ended. While it has a high page count, many are wasted with useful information and not describing the setting. The setting is plenty detailed. If you buy it, you will understand.

2nd) It was worth every cent of $15; but, for gamers on a budget, it is a little pricey. If you can afford it, it is some of the most interesting work done in gaming.

3rd) Which rules? LotFP is a retro clone. The art is amazing and the flavor unbelievable. This module/campaign would play out in many game systems. I hate to say "better"; but I will. The grit of Warhammer 1st or 2nd could really work. Oddly, First Fable came to mind first. Maybe for kids, probably not.

AR&PL reminded me of the Ravenloft setting. It could easily fit in as a realm there; although it would be the cool one. It also could fit as "behind the hedge" for Changeling or the other White Wolf games.

Bottom line, it is genius.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Red & Pleasant Land
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Vornheim: The Complete City Kit
by David M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/04/2015 11:57:45
I like this a lot and find that it's full of interesting ideas that I can use. I don't think $9 is expensive considering the amount of usable ideas in it. I liked "A Red and Pleasant Land" very much, so this author seems to be creating product that I enjoy. It'll be interesting to start creating various cities (or even just one!) using "Vornheim". It works for me, that's all I can say. I also think the artwork is cool.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vornheim: The Complete City Kit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Red & Pleasant Land
by David M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/04/2015 11:49:25
This is very, very impressive. It's full of information and great ideas. I didn't have the money to buy the print version, which looks amazing, so I got the PDF version. The collision of worlds between Alice in Wonderland and vampires appealed to me. It looks like it would take quite a time to run the whole campaign, which is excellent, but there are also lots of ideas to take and use elsewhere. I have no idea how long it took the author to create this, but I'm glad they did. First class work.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Red & Pleasant Land
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Death Frost Doom
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2015 13:29:02
I approached James Raggi IV for a copy of this pdf about two days ago and downloaded it prepared for something of a total party kill adventure. Nothing could be further from the truth. This is a stone cold horror adventure done in the round robin way of isolated Heavy Metal album covers and European myth & legend. Where as the first Death Frost Doom was a scattered tapestry of horrific elements, Zak Smith has rewritten the entire adventure from the ground up to weave every morbid facet of this adventure as a whole. And its done very well. The cover art (in color) was done by Yannick Bouchard and the black and white interior illustrations, cartography and design were done by Jez Gordon. These elements are all done very, very, well. From just a look over of the material we're plunged into a peusdo European world of horror and twisted dark mythology with an entirely new take on the undead. Everything in this module echoes so far the charm of a romp through the darkest corners of imagination with bits of Lovecraftian adventure throughout out the first couple of pages. To get into the ins and outs of this module is like looking at a horror film with a subplot that runs through it in a smart and very well way. There is the feel of European legend here mixed in with horror films then set on high and poured into a setting waiting to spring on the PC's. And I'm not talking about a total kill straight out of the gate. Instead what we're looking at is an adventure that takes full advantage of the horror tropes in well done but different way. Ways that actually fit into a wide variety of old school quasi- historical backgrounds and setting for which Lamentations of the Flame Princess is well known. This adventure can not only seamlessly fit into the back space of existing campaigns but can be used to generate entire local sub spaces for such. The adventure elements add an entire sub mythology and myth to the adventure. This is something that Zak Smith has done before as an author and designer. I see this all of the time on his blog but to see it done in an adventure using the old Death Frost Doom material is something else entirely.
Straight up this is a very well done adventure and I'll get more into it in the second part. My intial impress is that not only can this adventure work for Lamentations of the Flame Princess but I would use this adventure for other old school rpg's as well. I'm thinking here of OD&D with a dark horror theme or even Cthulhu Dark Ages. The conversion would be quite painless and easy to accomplish. Death Frost Doom is an adventure of supernatural horror and intrigue with a veneer of OD&D. This is not a light weight adventure but one that needs far more attention then it has been getting. Please remember these are only my initial impressions of the adventure. But for those DM's already running a LoFP campaign who bought the original adventure, go back and grab this one. This is a completely different animal then the first adventure and be prepared for that.
Death Frost Doom is an adventure that literally draws you into the center of its world like a black hole of wintry death. This is a place that has gone beyond the pale of mere myth and legend into a world of all its own. And the adventurers are drawn up into the module's magick and malevolence. This is a horror movie starring your PC's and the situations described are ones with an internal world all their own. You've just stumbled into the world of Death Frost Doom. So what the hell is it about DFD that is so intriguing? The writing, the plot, or construction of the adventure or perhaps Zak Smith's writing? Maybe the artwork? None of the above really. There's an internal mechanism of menace to the adventure that makes it part investigation, part dungeon crawl, and part monster menace all rolled into one package.There's a nice quality of high weirdness and depravity to the events of DFD that give the DM plenty to work with. And if played correctly with a solid group of players will have them experiencing something akin to Evil Dead part two and some dark twisted European fairy tale on steroids. Adding to mix is the cover art (in color) was done by Yannick Bouchard and the black and white interior illustrations, cartography and design were done by Jez Gordon. All of those seem to add to the total feel of the adventure and it can be added straight into a pre existing LoFP campaign with little issue. Heck this could be added straight into any horror themed campaign. There are reminders and echoes of old Gothic European, Romanian, and Russian legends in DFD. This is adventure that Ravenloft wouldn't have the balls to pull off, and yet the horror elements bring some new stuff to the LoFP. There is a totally new take on the undead in this adventure that has some very cool implications for your LoFP adventures if you decide to take this option on board your campaigns. Lots of miliage of this adventure if you decide to adopt some of the ideas, mythology, and high weirdness that lurks between the pages of DFD. As a frame work to me at least this adventure has a ton of potential to take your adventures in some dark and dangerous directions!
This is an adventure that pulls heavily from the legendary roots of its own mythology and deals with its encounters as a series of events set in motion with balance and terror all in one. Something that really well done horror movies try to do. But be warned this is a horrific module that can and will wreck PC's if dumb decisions are made.
So is Death Frost Doom worth the price of admission? Yes I not only think so but I actually one of the essential LoFP books because of the way that it handles the game's material. This is a solidly dark and disturbing read,run, and rabble through the underbelly of the Lamentations universe for characters. I'd put this adventure high on the list of runs for a mid level group of LoFP adventurers. Five out of five for a reinvention of a fantastic adventure.
Eric Sword and Stitchery and The Dark Corner Blog

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Death Frost Doom
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 145 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates