DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Evernight Figure Flats
by Carlos L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2014 09:43:45

First, the bad: Orc Chieftain and Ogre are missing (I'm finishing Act I, so maybe there's more). The good: Super easy to print and "assemble", I can't imagine other way to play Evernight without it. Obs: it's the same art of the book, which is not so great - especially the heroes, monsters are ok. But, well, it's the book's art. That's how the book's publisher wanted.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Evernight Figure Flats
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

50 Fathoms Explorer's Edition
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2014 13:41:22

AMAZING WORK. A+ -- I don't even play Savage Worlds yet. I bought it last year and, on the strength of what I read, I also got the Fantasy Companion, and a bunch of Beasts and Barbarians stuff because I'm a Robert Howard, Clark Ashton Smith type of guy.

So, as I say, knowing that I cannot vouch for the system or 50 Fathoms in action, I will say that this is one of the best conceived and composed world/ adventure modules I've ever read. The world concept is bold, and the adventure has a definite point to it -- clear objectives are written into the world, and a large number of adventures big and small would allow you to explore this world for years, or just go hell-bent for the big brass ring -- saving the world, of course.

Saving the world. Big deal, right. Always we gotta save the world. But this time, it's different. Not only are there big bads, but what they have done to threaten the world is so big, so concrete, so evident in the everyday, and so prosaic in its way, that it's an irrestistible objective:

Three crazy sisters, in love with arcane power and executed by drowning for the heinous crimes that followed from their twisted desire, have cursed their world to drown. Now, a mysterious sending of a ghostly maiden is luring people of Earth, sailors and other wanderers, to her world to save it, and also of course to pirate, or trade, or whatever, their way across the face of the ocean and the archipelagoes that are all that remain of the great empires of a few decades before.

In its overall campaign concept, and in the detailed adventures that support, or color, or having nothing to do with that campaign at all, this is a winner, written by those who know a good idea and how to express it, and also know how to assemble a book with intelligence and get the right illustrators to come along.

If you play or like SW, or pirates, or just examples of good adventure writing, buy it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
50 Fathoms Explorer's Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

50 Fathoms Explorer's Edition
by Kevin K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/22/2014 21:35:49

First off 50 Fathoms is a fantastic setting! Great concept and beautiful artwork. Pinnacle did it again hitting this one out of the park.

The flavor of this setting make for the definitive fantasy feel with the added bonus of pirates. I originally bought this book to read through the plot-point campaign because I had heard that it set the bar for all plot-point campaigns. IT DOES! It is a compelling read and a rich story. I wouldn't look anywhere else to see THE sample for how to build a fantasy world in Savage Worlds. This is it! If you are considering a fantasy-type setting to play in for Savage Worlds, or to build your own fantasy setting then start here. The setting rules give Savage Worlds the flavor and feel of fantasy while showing you exactly how to tweak the generic system into a genre clutching game.

Personally, I read PDFs to get a feel for a setting and rarely buy in print unless I want to run that setting. I will be purchasing 50 Fathoms in print, however, because of the art, the writing, and the story. It holds the bar for a setting in Savage Worlds to me...very nearly replacing Deadlands with flavor and style.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Science Fiction Companion
by john h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/11/2014 12:47:06

Great companion. Perfect for most sci-fi games. I'm using it for a star wars games and the race builder came in especially handy, to to mention the fantastic gear section.

Only complaint is there isn't a summed up section for the gear, but it's a small complaint. The companion offers everything you'd need for making robots, cyborgs, aliens, and giant mech. A++ on this companion



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Science Fiction Companion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Necessary Evil Explorer's Edition
by Luke M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2014 00:44:06

at least 30% of this book is just reprints of the supers book. very few new abilites or rules. The setting is nice, but the reprinting of stuff from the supers book is NOT ok.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Necessary Evil Explorer's Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Texter
by Jason E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/21/2014 12:32:38

This concept is interesting and for the most part works at the beginning. The way the story is told through the texting seems fairly natural and not forced and the story unfolds in an intriguing way. However, the mystery of what is happening is fairly transparent early on even if the reason is covered up for a little while. But that too becomes fairly obvious so that when the full scope of the event that triggers what is happening in this story is revealed it isn't that amazing. Plus, the wrap up seems completely unrealistic considering how much effort and thought went into to whole event happening in this story that a simple foolish mistake as a single text undoes everything. This may not make sense but I'm trying not to give spoilers. In the end, for a buck it is worth reading to see how this concept is handled.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Texter
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Texter
by Ria H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/12/2014 23:08:27

This is a really quick read, but it's just the right length, I think. I like the format; the texts seem natural, right down to cursing the autocorrect and that one person who insists on abbreviating everything. I really liked the way that as the texts progressed, you got a sense of what was going on underneath it all. In a way, I thought the implications were actually better than the reveal at the end, and the ending did seem a little sudden to me. It did all fit together really well, so I might just be nitpicking.

All in all, excellent story, quick read, and I highly recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Science Fiction Companion
by Shawn S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2014 13:21:45

Admittedly, anything Savage Worlds doesn't have to try too hard to make me happy.

This companion is a little light in the edges / hindrances / powers segment, but great in the pregen-npc's, mechanics, world creation, and creative-encouragement departments.

If you are doing something Sci-Fi with your campaign, having this companion allows you to make it more believable, more alive, and generally more thought-out than it may have been otherwise.

Great work, thanks, team!

SKS



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Science Fiction Companion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Savage Worlds Super Powers Companion (2nd Ed)
by Luke M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/22/2014 08:58:34

excellent rulebook for those wanting some comic book style action for Savage Worlds.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Super Powers Companion (2nd Ed)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Savage Worlds Science Fiction Companion
by Mike W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/07/2014 12:13:47

Tremendously useful and crammed with information from building races to starships to Star system generation. Given the player friendliness of the Savage Worlds system this was a long overdue supplement that is adaptable to any campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Science Fiction Companion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Deadlands Reloaded: Murder on the Hellstromme Express
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/03/2014 00:36:39

WHAT YOU SHOULD KNOW: Murder on the Hellstromme Express is packed in with the Deadlands Reloaded GM screen, but is also available separately in PDF. It is perfectly suitable for use as an introductory adventure, but can also be dropped into any campaign in which the posse has a need to take jobs for money. The adventure is designed to run from Chicago to Dodge City, with the PCs serving as escorts for a Mad Scientist on a train full of 'em, each trying to impress a Hellstromme Industries auditor and earn points for the big Kansas Scientific Symposium. Wackiness ensues as the agendas of the various scientists bubble to the forefront, intersecting with a raid by a vicious Indian War Party. Assuming everyone makes it to the Symposium itself intact, one of the scientists has a final surprise for the posse...and the amount of help they have in that final battle relates directly to how well they managed the personalities on the train.

WHAT WORKS: All of the scientists on the train are interesting and were a blast to play as GM. Having the posse's interaction with them factor into the end game was a great touch. It makes for a good introductory adventure due to the mundane beginnings that help introduce more arcane elements of the setting.

WHAT DOESN'T WORK: Might not be enough action for some posse members in the early going. When I ran it, I did have one player get very restless waiting on a fight. It is, literally, a railroady adventure, what with most of it taking place on a train.

CONCLUSION: I wouldn't recommend buying the PDF unless you are completely unable to find the GM screen. Buy that and take this as the extra included with it instead. When I ran the adventure, the mad scientists thoroughly exhausted my players, and - as noted above - one of them got really restless with the lack of action, though that was due in part to the posse averting one issue with intimidation, and another through the well timed use of explosives. Definitely recommended if you need an excuse to get your PCs to Dodge City, or if you just want to show off the mad science in the setting.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Reloaded: Murder on the Hellstromme Express
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Savage Worlds Super Powers Companion (2nd Ed)
by James C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/31/2014 12:44:25

The price was fine. The changes from the first edition though were pretty small and I didn't see any that made me want to adopt them immediately.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Super Powers Companion (2nd Ed)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Savage Worlds Deluxe: Explorer's Edition
by Jason F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/25/2014 08:34:34

Die-hard, (ancient) Dungeons and Dragons 2nd Edition fanatic here.

That said, I bought and learned (and taught my preteen children) Cubicle Seven's Doctor Who relatively simplistic RPG in 2013 . Savage Worlds is incredibly similar to this mechanism (enough to where I am assuming at this point that Cubicle Seven was HEAVILY influenced by this product, but I could be wrong), and once I obtain their "Space 1889" (of which I have been a huge fan for over 25 years), I plan on spreading the good word, so to speak.

I believe that this system is a must-have for RPG aficionados, especially for those who are looking for a rules system that provides an incredible range of flexibility for the Game Master - story telling versus rules lawyering.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Deluxe: Explorer's Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Savage Worlds Deluxe: Explorer's Edition
by Heath D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/24/2014 17:17:11

Having already owned the hard copy of this, I saw the sale you had and snapped up a digital copy for use on my chrome book where I use roll20.net to manage my campaigns. Ever since a friend of mine introduced me to this system, I have been hooked. I now use this system pretty much exclusively.

The PDF quality is good. No scanning errors detected.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Super Powers Companion (2nd Ed)
by Jay S. A. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/23/2014 00:47:17

I've always had a thing for Supers games. Because of that, when I heard that Savage Worlds was coming out with a new Super Powers Companion for the latest edition of Savage Worlds, I had to check it out.

My experience with superhero systems have ranged from the extremely detailed with the HERO system, to more narrative rulesets like the recent Marvel Heroic Roleplaying game. Unfortunately with my current state of life as being more busy with work than ever before, getting a rule system that will deliver the kind of granularity I was used to without the time investment necessary for HERO was hard to find.

Thankfully PEG has managed to knock this one right out of the park. The Super Powers companion is a lean volume of less than a hundred pages, but one that manages to stuff nearly everything you need into it.

The Super Powers Companion establishes four different levels of power for a campaign, ranging from Pulp Heroes to Cosmic level, with each of the campaign tiers giving a pool of Power Points which the players can spend to buy their powers. There is a power limit of 1/3rd of the total Power Points per campaign that can be applied to each power.

New Hindrances and Edges are also introduced, covering a wide array of superhero tropes from Alien Form to the ever popular Dependent.

One of the more interesting things introduced is a Defeat Table, where the fate of a fallen hero or villain is randomized in an amusing table that covers a wide range of comic book comebacks (and changes) to the character.

The next section details the various gear available for the super powered sort. Ranging from the ubiquitous grapnel gun to more interesting weapons, there's enough here to keep a game going without it devolving to hours spend shopping for gear.

The Powers Construction System is perhaps the very meat of the book, and details how players can put together their character's powers. The system itself is relatively painless, with picking a base powers and applying various modifiers that will either increase or decrease the power point cost.

The complexity of the powers you can generate are admittedly fairly good, and this powers creation set can easily match Mutants and Masterminds in terms of ease of use.

The last creation section of the book involves the building of HQs, including a few examples that can be used by the GM when he needs something right away.

Nearly a good half of the book is taken up by a large rogues gallery for all of the power levels discussed earlier in the book. The villains all have a full treatment, with a short biography and their statistics and powers listed in an easy to use fashion. Definitely a plus for a busy GM like myself.

PEG is one of the few companies that can do no wrong, and their latest offering of the Super Powers Companion lives up to that reputation. Creative, useful and fun, this supplement is a must have for GMs looking for a rules-medium supers game that's easy to get up and running with a minimum of GM prep time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Super Powers Companion (2nd Ed)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 106 to 120 (of 660 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates