DriveThruRPG.com
Find Category











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Savage Rifts: Archetypes Set 1
by John P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2016 09:20:32

What more can I say? These are exactly what we were promised and they look great. Will be easy to hand these out to new players or use as prepared NPC’s. The picture for each one Archetype is welcome as well. Nothing quite captures the “feel” of a Framework like a picture. I appreciate that they mixed in some races as well that many would not normally try out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: Archetypes Set 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Savage Rifts: Savage Foes of North America
by John P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2016 08:53:41

This is exactly what I was hoping for. I even like the way they partitioned the book so that you had the big players and their stats for the most common troops. These include The Coalition States, The Federation of Magic, The Black Market, the 1st Apocalyptic Cavalry, the Pecos Empire, and Atlantis. They even took the time to stat out the leaders of each of those organizations (though I can't imagine letting my group take a crack at those guys anytime soon).

I was most surprised and impressed by the addition of the Mercenaries & Specialists section. Here you will find most of the classes built and ready to go. These can be used to give a new player a class to play with or just create an instant opposing or ally group.

The monsters section was a little light, but very similar to what you get when you purchase the Rifts Ultimate Guide and Sourcebook One from Palladium. The best part of this section is the random creature creation guide. You can create most creatures just using those charts and even use it as a sort of conversion guide for your favorite ones. Give yourself about 5 minutes and you can have a fully random or handcrafted creature/encounter interesting enough for most Savavge Rifts groups.

A final touch that wasn't necessary but appreciated, was the addition of 5 ready to go adventures using these new creatures and troops. These combined with some of the Random Creature/Encounter Generators mean many great and interesting hours of play in the future for my gaming group. It's my opinion that Pinnacle has done an outstanding job with this "Monster Manual" of theirs and the extras they included in a reasonable page count is exactly what we needed to help bring Savage Rifts alive.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: Savage Foes of North America
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Savage Rifts: Coalition Field Manual
by John P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2016 08:35:14

I'm a little on the fence on this one. First off, it's great to get some of the new gear for the Coalition. The most common gear is detailed and given to us. However, it was smaller than expected/hoped for, but still useful. I got it as part of the Kickstarter and frankly, I really wasn't expecting a lot. Impressions are that I think they're holding out the rest of the equipment upgrades for a future sourcebook. And also frankly, I'm ok with that. After all, it took 224 pages for Palladium to do the same.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: Coalition Field Manual
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide
by Patrick G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/28/2016 14:01:26

Rifts has always been asetting I loved. The rules system was always clunky and slow. When I heard Rifts was made using another system I was very happy to say the least! I had always heard good things about Savage Worlds. Ihave to say, I'm less than impressed with the system so far. Maybe the system works better than it seems to read. But I've never liked the exploding dice mechanic. The art is decent. The tomorrow legion is a good setting hook. It gets three stars until I've had the chance to play the system.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Savage Rifts: Game Master's Handbook
by James C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/28/2016 06:58:43

The savage Rifts: Game Master's Handbook does a good job exploring and describing various characters of note, factions, motivations and goals but for me, it really shines in the actual rifts section, detailing the numerous Ley Lines, nexus points and other rift variables found randomly generated across several tables. The SR:DMH also includes the full color map of Rifts North America and the map of Castle Refuge so if you are considering buying the $3.99 PDF of either of those maps, I highly recommend you buy this book instead.

The only negative for me is the lack of artwork and battle maps. What is there is beautifully rendered in full color but it would be great if Pinnacle released images of all the races, power armors, robot vehicles and weapons found in the world of Rifts. Hopefully we will get to see more of these items in upcoming releases.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: Game Master's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/17/2016 22:07:42

I was on the fence about getting a book for a setting I had no personal connection with, but I regret nothing. I'm not sure if I'll be running Rifts, but it's contents basically make it one of the must have books for Savage Worlds, just like the Sci Fi Companion and the Fantasy Companion.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wendigo Tales: The Last Parsec: A Clear Understanding of Honor
by Peter C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/17/2016 08:20:43

If I wanted to gain an idea of what The Last Parsec setting was all about from reading this short story I would conclude that this was Pinancle's attempt to do a bad Star Trek rip off and I would probably avoid TLP like the plague.. TLP is not a Star Trek clone although I suppose if you really want it to be it couold work like that. It needs to be its own setting though and this story does not help.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Wendigo Tales: The Last Parsec: A Clear Understanding of Honor
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide
by Ismael A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/08/2016 01:44:41

I have to say, I was skeptical. I stopped buying Rifts books at the turn of the century. I stopped playing shortly after that. I don't know what Savage Worlds is, and I haven't really given Rifts a second look in over 15 years. And yet... something about this kickstarter really got me wondering. And so I bit in for the miminum level to get the player book, and I have to say that I am impressed. It seems like this book is an update to every gripe and quibble that I ever had. I am still learning Savage Worlds, but the system seems really impressive and robust, and the people who put this conversion together love Rifts just as much as I once did, which almost rekindles something in my cynical heart. It might be a while before I can free myself up to actually play this, but I am eager and hopeful that I can make it happen, and relive the magic that led me into role playing in the first place. That magic exists in this book. I kind of want it in print now, too...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Savage Rifts: Savage Foes of North America
by Erik B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2016 17:10:43

It's obvious after reading through Foes that more books going into deeper details of various factions such as the Coalition and Zitichic are down the road. What this book offers is a decent selection of base advasaries to throw against your heroes. This book alone will allow you to run years worth of adventures and is a must have for anyone running Savage Rifts. That being said the book has one major drawback; art. The book is sparsely illistrated and many of those illistrations are mediocre at best. Many of the creatures have no art, only text descriptions while the images of mech are perhaps the poorest in the book. Normally I wouldn't hold uninspired art against a product but Rifts has some very iconic creatures,mech, and characters that those who never played Palladium Rifts will be at a loss or just nonplussed with what some of these characters physically look like. Overall this is a worth while book only marred by its visual presentation.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: Savage Foes of North America
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Savage Rifts: Savage Foes of North America
by Jason E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2016 12:33:55

I got this from the Savage Rifts Kickstarter, and it is awesome! I played Rifts for years a decade or two ago (or maybe more), but lost interest as my RPG tastes changed toward "balance" and "reasonable rules" that "make sense." So when I saw Savage Rifts, the combination of the well-regarded Savage Worlds ruleset merged with the awesome gonzo, over the top setting of Rifts, I jumped on it immediately. I've made a bunch of characters and GMd a one-shot, and it was pretty much just as fantastic as I hoped. I'm excited to see all of the other books from the KS come out soon.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
50 Fathoms Figure Flats
by Steven B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/01/2016 16:18:43

The 50 Fathoms Figure Flat pack covers the entire Encounters Section in 20 pages. You get a solid amount of small figures, some large-sized figures, three huge spiders, and four gargantuan figures. At $6.00, its a steal at .30 cents per page for flats for any kind of pirate-themed game and 50 Fathoms specifically.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
50 Fathoms Figure Flats
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Savage Rifts: Savage Foes of North America
by Chris F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/01/2016 15:53:15

Savage Foes of North America is a book I've waited years for. I've wanted a comprehensive 'monster manual' for the Rifts setting, with pre-statted enemies like Dead Boy platoons, ready-to-fight Juicers, easy to run combat mages, and so forth ever since Palladium put out the first printing of Rifts. Finally, thanks to the Savage Rifts line, we've got something like that. Savage Foes of North America is a dense, content rich bestiary, complete with a few short and simple adventures, complete with tactical maps, that take good advantage of the stat-blocks presented here.

Inside, you'll find ready to use statblocks for the most common humanoid NPCs running around Rifts Earth: various Coalition troops, Line Walkers, a pre-made Glitterboy, Juicers, and so on. In addition, you've got stats for some of the most iconic monsters of the setting: Wild and Secondary Vampires, Fury Beetles, Gargoyles and Broadkil, and a lot more. You'll recognize all the names here, if you're a long time Rifts fan. There's even a random monster builder chart similar to the great creature-creator found in the first edition of Rifts. There's a new emphasis on the Black Market as an actual faction, with it's own agenda, rather than just a logistical handwave to allow players to acquire heavy weapons, and as such a few Black Market NPCs are presented. There's a rather nice stealth/espionage oriented magic user stat-block: I imagine that's a stat-block that will be repurposed a lot as an occult espionage agent.

Most of the monsters are illustrated, but probably due to art budget issues, a few old favorites just get a written description, rather than an illustration. Most case of text-only description is the Splugorth. I can understand the omission, in that the target market for this game is probably long-term and lasped Rifts gamer, who certainly know what a Slugorth looks like, but I'd of loved to have seen a new illustration of this iconic beastie. Still, given the sucess of Savage Rifts to date, I'm extremely hopeful an Atlantis (and an Archie-3 sourcebook, pretty please?) is around the corner.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: Savage Foes of North America
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Sixth Gun: Fractured Frontiers
by Ron M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2016 18:40:15

I love how this supplement allows players and GMs to grab a little from both Weird Western settings. I highly recommend any of the Sixth Gun property.

Ron



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sixth Gun: Fractured Frontiers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Sixth Gun: Circle the Wagons
by Ron M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2016 18:38:50

Being a fan of the established Comic series, I absolutlely loved how the marriage of the comicbook and the rpg came together. I ran this adventure and my players were instantly hooked into the Sixth Gun world. I would definitley recommend it/

Ron



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sixth Gun: Circle the Wagons
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

50 Fathoms Explorer's Edition
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2016 23:55:03

I GMed the first adventure, Maiden Voyage for a total party kill. However, we were new to Savage Worlds, so many mistakes had been made, and the players very much wanted to try again--as soon as possible.

At novice level very few of the set adventures are safe for the characters, but the players can opt to engage in trade, smuggling, pirating, exploring, or--when they get enough money--privateering.

The campaign has a main arc, a secondary arc, a tertiary arc, and there are disconected adventures as well.

I have read through the book once.

  1. The interconnection between the adventures is non-obvious, except for the main arc.
  2. The adventures tend to be starter kits, inviting substantial preparation except for the most experienced GM.
  3. Despite point #2, the author's intention was that characters can wander and discover as they will. Also, see point #1 where the sequence of adventures is non-obvious, and without an overall chart.
  4. Suggested character levels for adventures are only indicated sometimes. Savage Worlds is also a pretty leathal system, so good share of many adventures available should have non-violent, role played solutions. 50 Fathoms is pretty combat oriented. Characters are going to die. Hopefully the players do not induce a TPK, since continuity is crucial to the campaign.

Despite the above, the campaign setting looks like it will be great, and much fun is expected to be had by all.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
50 Fathoms Explorer's Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 46 to 60 (of 688 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates