DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide
by jonEthan L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/09/2016 11:17:11

The Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide is an outstanding first run product. I am amazed at how well both systems have been blended togeter and have kept the feel of both. Having read the Guide through I can't say enough good things. The excellence of the Players guide makes me all but drool in expectation for the rest of the line to be released! The art work is flavorful and feeds the imagintion wonderfully. The lay out is clean and easy to follow. The system just screams "make a character and play". The initial character creation steps are staright forward and fun (Personally, creating the character and building a back story has always been half the fun). It lends itself to complex and flavorful character creation which in turn leads to great role-playing. The combat system...works!!! It has blended the Savage mechanic with the Rifts MDC flavor in such a way as it makes sense and works!!! It's fast, simple and neat and is just cool to see in place with the Rifts tech.

Kudos to the team! My 2 favorite sytems blended as one...it's like chocolate and peanut butter all over again!!!

J.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Savage Rifts: Character Sheet
by Tony M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2016 02:18:32

I was so impressed by Jeff C's entitlement that I just had see what he was missing.

Nice sheet.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: Character Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide
by jonathan m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2016 17:56:41

SEems like what ive been waiting for since 1990. CAnt be sure till the other to core books are out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide
by Erik B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/03/2016 08:44:52

This is a review of the early draft of savage world's rifts player guide so be aware there is a lot of errata to be addressed. That being said this book allows one to use savage world to play over the top characters in the over the top world of rifts earth. The player guide has many of the iconic character classes associated with the Rifts universe. Reading the book provides so many cool characters to play no one will be wanting for an uber awesome character to start applying two fisted justice with. Overall I'm extremely happy with this book. If I had to pick one weak points it would be the equipment section. There is a plethora of body armor, vehicles, weapons, power armor, ect but very few illustrations making everything just a stream of numbers with no personality. Outside of that small caveat, this book is going to be the cause of many gonzo adventures for you and your group.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide
by Russell L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/01/2016 21:12:22

I was so excited when I heard of the RIFTS setting moving to another system, if for nothing else but verriety. Unfortunately I dont think this was the right system for it. What used to be a massive magical tome for castors with spells that could take you to the stars and beyond, make magic scrolls, drop a meteorite on a demon, feed the hungy or drop into the astral plane, was replaced with a pure combat spell book. Palladium combat did need speeding up and it does this well, the mdc (heavy armor) md (heavy weapons) works well, the bennies and shorter ranges not so much. Launching heavy missiles hundreds of miles is gone, but sdc damage actually has a place now. Not a fan of juicers extremely shortened play time to as low as 10 games either, 5 years is a far cry from that. The MARS system is good as it cuts down on the 100 plus occs it covers. Wish the techno Wizards were still full casters, the couple items they make doesn't feel at all the same more of an after thought to making a full class .

To me this take on RIFTS fell short, fast furius and fun is a good tag line but the game seems like its better suited for one shots and short campaigns. When the gm book and the foes book come out my table will be trying it out as a full game. (Little disapointed some of the kick starter stretch goals like the cs field guide wont be in print. )

Minor note that im not a fan of the new art, but thats purely taste, its not skimpy it just not my cup of tea, to clean I suppose.

If you are a fan of RIFTS get the book, maybe you will like it more, its to diffrent for my tastes in flavor, setting, and appearance.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide
by Daniel W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/01/2016 15:51:34

Savage Rifts: the Tomorrow Legion is the translation you were hoping for, Savage players.

Here we have the classic classes, reimagined for Savage Worlds, in all thier glory. Combat Cyborg, Headhunter, Burster, Ley Line Walker, they are all here. The only missing classes from the Classic Rifts book (Sorry Ultimate Rifts fans, no Fusionists or other Ultimate classes.) is the Summoner. Everyone else is here, translated into the Savage Worlds engine.

MDC is handled with the Heavy Weapons rules in the core Savage Worlds rules. In short, much like in Rifts, if you dont deal MDC then you can not harm that item/armor/creature. Aside from that the damage code is the same, so a missle that deals 6d6 MDC does 6d6 to anything, even MDC structures.

With the Savage Rules intigrated, combat is faster and deadlier, as there is not hundreds of points common in Rifts and Palladium games. With MD weapons being much less common, and harder to get, a lot of things just boince off MDC favored armors and creatures until it something MD comes to bear, then things get real and get real FAST. The default setting also discourages letting heros get killed by a bad roll, so while getting incapacitated is bad its not as bad as it could be.

The setting rules also support going to 11 on the dial, which can be very cool when your trying to play the mage in a group of cyborgs and glitter boys. Trappings have some amazing new options, special shout out to the Mystic only trapping that lets them bypass armor(!!!!) and makes the class go from a neat idea to as powerful an option as the Mind Melter and Cyber Knight,

I am currently using the Kickstarter version of the book, so as corrections are made and typo's defeated the copy will get better but I have found that this is a very worthy conversion that keeps the spriit of the crazynes of Rifts and the faster nature of Savage Worlds without insulting its roots. There will be, no doubt, fans of both types of games but this is an amazing conversion, well worth the price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: Glitter Boy Preview
by Jeff C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2016 03:52:31

I wish I had known and had money to throw at this Kickstarter. It seems the publisher has more regard for the Kickstarter backers than us regular consumers. I understand being nice to the backers, but what about the rest of us? The backers got their pdfs two weeks ago and it still isn't available to us peasants. Why? I've been a Rifts fan from day one and a Savage World from Deadlands first ed. But, between the way this Kickstarter was handled and Pinnacle's seeming disregard for regular fans, I don't know if I can buy or recommend the finished product (if/when the rest of us are deemed worthy to see it.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: Glitter Boy Preview
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Savage Rifts: Making Of 3
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/27/2016 15:23:44

The Savage Rifts previews are getting me really excited about the upcoming product. The third 'Making of' was especially informative, discussing the thoughts behind what period of time to set the game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: Making Of 3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Savage Rifts: Making Of
by Remi B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/05/2016 00:48:26

Loved the insight into the reimagining of Rifts using the Savage Worlds game system. To Shannon who also wrote a review, the heavy armor/weapon mechanic haven't changed. Pinnacle just changed the name to MDC to give it that Rifts flavour. Otherwise, it functions exactly like the Savage Worlds core rules.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: Making Of
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Savage Rifts: Making Of
by Shannon J B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/03/2016 20:29:15

Too bad you didnt stay with the SW Heavy Weapons/Heavy Armor, I would have purchased SW Rifts for sure.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The Last Parsec: Core
by Peter C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2016 12:41:16

A Savage Worlds fairly by -the-numbers science fiction setting with the usual assortment of aliens,hyper ftl spaceships,robots and all that. The deaders are one example-worms that attach themselves to the recently deceased and use the bodies in a parasitic /symbiotic manner. Support includes short fiction and the one story I read involved a Deader who avenges its host's recent death so a bit too like Dax from Deep Space Nine.

I wonder whether the pitcher has been to this well too many times



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Last Parsec: Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lankhmar: City of Thieves
by Bartek E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/08/2016 23:15:36

Awesome! I absolutely love Lankhmar, and I'm so glad to see a Lankhmar setting book for my favourite RPG. I like the magic system, which uses casting modifiers rather than power points.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lankhmar: City of Thieves
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Deadlands Classic: Rascals, Varmints, & Critters II
by Dominic W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/27/2016 20:34:44

good supplement. helpful to expand campaing. informitive.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Classic: Rascals, Varmints, & Critters II
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Deadlands Reloaded: Smith & Robards 1880 Catalog
by Dominic W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/27/2016 20:34:00

good supplement. helpful to expand campaing. informitive



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Reloaded: Smith & Robards 1880 Catalog
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Sixth Gun Roleplaying Game
by Roger L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/23/2016 02:30:19

http://wp.me/p1Hoys-6J0

Als bekennender Deadlands-Fan habe ich mich etwas zurückhalten müssen, als Pinnacle den Kickstarter für The Sixth Gun für Savage Worlds anpries. Da ich die Comicvorlage aber nie in Händen hielt, habe ich es mir mal ausnahmsweise verkniffen, mein Geld in noch eine weitere Crowdfunding-Kampagne zu stecken. Darum bin ich auch dann später gerne auf das Angebot eingegangen, mir das Ding für eine Rezension anzusehen. War mir da etwas entgangen?

Inhalt

Mal ganz frei von der Leber weg: The Sixth Gun Role-Playing Game präsentiert seine Welt eher schlecht. Generell leidet das gesamte Produkt an einem schludrigen Aufbau, der Übersichtlichkeit vermissen lässt. Damit will ich nicht sagen, dass es als Rollenspielprodukt versagt. Man darf hier nur wenig Handreiche erwarten, wenn einem die Comic-Reihe nicht geläufig ist. Wer The Sixth Gun also im Rollenspielladen spontan aus dem Regal nimmt, könnte später von seinem Kauf eher enttäuscht sein.

Am Setting liegt das zunächst mal nicht. Da gibt es sechs Superknarren, die eigentlich die Menschheit beschützen sollen. Durch die Jahrtausende sind sie in immer neuer Form aufgetaucht, und wer die Schießeisen in seine Gewalt bringt, kann die Realität umschreiben. Jede dieser Wummen hat auch ihren eigenen Trick auf Lager:

  • Nummer 1 hat die Durchschlagskraft einer Kanone.
  • Nummer 2 kann Leute in Brand stecken oder eine ganze Fläche mit Feuer eindecken.
  • Nummer 3 verbreitet Pestilenz.
  • Nummer 4 kann eine bestimmte Sorte Untoter beschwören.
  • Nummer 5 heilt den Träger, wenn andere damit verletzt werden. Ewige Jugend gibt es noch obendrauf.
  • Nummer 6 ist natürlich der Lamborghini unter diesen Waffen. Je willensstärker der Träger, desto mehr übernatürliche Kräfte werden freigestaltet, inklusive extreme Treffsicherheit, Astralreisen oder Vorahnungen.

Das wäre jetzt alles ganz toll. Dummerweise wurden die sechs Colts in einem dunklen Ritual beschworen, um damit die Unterjochung der Menschheit einzuleiten. Bevor der Weltuntergang während des Amerikanischen Bürgerkriegs eingeleitet worden konnte, griffen noch ein paar Mutige ein und die Sechste verschwand erst mal von der Bildfläche. Das Spiel selbst beginnt viele Jahre später, im Jahre 1887. Was dazwischen so passiert ist, reißt das Buch eher an. Entscheidend jedoch ist, dass fünf der Wunderwummen in den Händen von Bösewichten sind, die Amerika unsicher machen.

Ohne Zusammenhang

Was macht die USA aus? Und was definiert den „Westen“? Das vorliegende Buch scheint sich nicht so gern mit so grundlegenden Fragen auseinanderzusetzen, sonst würde ich mich bei genauerem Hinsehen wahrscheinlich weniger wundern. Trotz der Vorgeschichte im Bürgerkrieg hätte ich mir gedacht, dass die Abenteuer sich im Wesentlichen im (Wilden) Westen abspielen. Drei der fünf beiliegenden Abenteuer sicherlich nicht! Tennessee, Missouri und Kentucky? Alle schon brav Staaten (nicht nur Territorien) seit spätestens 1822. Das wilde Siedlerleben dürfte dort vorbei sein. Überhaupt stellt sich die Frage, wie die Spieler die enormen Distanzen überwinden werden, die zwischen den einzelnen Handlungsorten liegen. Erwähnt werden Nevada, Lousiana, Texas, New Mexico, Tennessee, Utah und Mexico als besondere Orte in der Spielwelt. Damit wären zwei Drittel der Gesamtfläche der Staaten schon mal abgedeckt. The Sixth Gun bietet keine Reiseregeln oder Anhaltspunkte für den SL, wie das vonstatten gehen soll. Man darf mal vermuten, dass mit gnädigem Handwedeln die Helden überall da auftauchen, wo sie gebraucht werden. Wer die „Savage Tales“ aus diesem Band an ihren Originalorten belässt, schießt sich jedenfalls selbst ins Knie ...

Noch besser gefiel mir aber der Absatz, der auf die zahlreichen historischen Quellen über das Amerika des 19. Jahrhunderts verwies. Der „Gazetteer“ ist denn auch dementsprechend dünn. Es ist also alles, wie es wirklich war, außer diese komischen übernatürlichen Sachen, die eigentlich überall sind. Das ist mir für ein Setting aber viel zu wenig! Noch erstaunlicher ist aber, dass eine Westernstadt für die Spieler fünf Seiten ausgewalzt wird. Immerhin gibt es dort eine dieser Waffen zu finden, obwohl das für Neulinge kaum zu bewältigen sein dürfte. Hier stehen also viele Details den groben Pinselstrichen des restlichen Werks gegenüber.

Positive Aspekte

Das alles ist deswegen so enttäuschend, weil im Großen und Ganzen The Sixth Gun RPG eigentlich ein kleiner Batzen Inspiration ist. Es enthält keine Plot-Point-Kampagne, aber immerhin einen brauchbaren Abenteuergenerator. Die fünf enthaltenen Savage Tales könnten zwar auch in jedem Band der Savage Tales of Horror auftauchen, aber sie machen einen guten, spielbaren Eindruck.

Noch besser steht es um die Spielregeln. The Sixth Gun gibt sich als Deadlands Reloaded „light“. Es erfindet das Rad nicht neu, sondern nimmt gelungene Regeln und Konzepte und verwendet sie weiter. Es gibt drei Arkane Hintergründe: Voodoo, Zauberei und Schamanismus. Alle drei orientieren sich mehr an den Savage Worlds Grundregeln als an Deadlands. Sehen wir mal von der Macht „Fluch“ ab, die beinahe wortwörtlich aus dem Weird West übernommen wurde. Mit ein paar zusätzlichen Mächten, Talenten und Handicaps wird die Grundidee von The Sixth Gun gut und mit geringem Einarbeitungsaufwand abgebildet. Für manche Leute noch schöner: Hier gibt es das Übernatürliche, aber keinen Steampunk. Wem Deadlands also zu abgedreht und variantenreich ist, der kann immer noch zu The Sixth Gun greifen. Theoretisch reichen die Regeln hier für jede übernatürliche Wildwestkampagne, und die angebotenen Regeln sind nicht so stark ans Setting gebunden wie im Weird West (wo viele Spielkonzepte direkt an die Existenz von Ghost Rock oder die Manitous gebunden sind). Umgekehrt hindert einen auch nichts daran, das Spektakel um die Schießeisen in den Weird West zu verlegen. So bewarb es ja Pinnacle auch anlässlich seines Kickstarters.

Eine zentrale Rolle im Spiel nehmen die Reliquien ein, Artefakte, die übernatürliche Effekte zugänglich machen. Es wird an mehreren Stellen angenommen, dass die Spieler entweder aktiv nach diesen Reliquien suchen oder sich denen in den Weg stellen, die das für ihre eigenen Zwecke tun. Zusammen mit der umfangreichen Monstersammlung und den vielen stimmungsvollen NSC sollte das auch einige Abenteuer inspirieren können.

Wer mehr will, kann auch zu diesen Produkten greifen.

Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis

Wie schon oben erwähnt, enthält der 96-seitige Band einiges an inspirierendem Material, das sich für alle möglichen Savage Worlds und Deadlands Kampagnen eignen kann. Das ist sicher die knapp 10 USD wert, die Pinnacle für das PDF haben will. Das entspricht auch meiner persönlichen Erwartung an das Verhältnis zwischen Seitenzahl und Preis.

Erscheinungsbild

Sixth Gun Cover Pinnacle Entertainment GroupSettings für Savage Worlds erscheinen bei Pinnacle jetzt typischerweise in kleinen Hardcovern unter 100 Seiten, so auch The Sixth Gun. Wie bei einer Comic-Adaptation nicht anders zu erwarten, bedient sich das Buch bei der Vorlage, wenn es um die Illustrationen geht. Das erinnert an Marvel Heroic, aber bei weitem nicht jede Seite ist dermaßen verziert.

Ein schön gelayoutetes Produkt, keine Frage, aber bei dem begutachteten PDF erscheint mir die Schrift ein wenig zu klein und irgendwie verwaschen. Setze ich den Zoom auf 150%, ist es zwar am Bildschirm gut zu lesen. Die immer noch leicht verblichene Schrift könnte eine Anspielung auf älteren Schriftsatz sein. Egal, was der Grund sein mag, für das Auge ist The Sixth Gun, so wie es mir vorlag, weniger leserlich als vergleichbare Produkte aus gleichem Hause (Lankhmar – City of Thieves oder Savage Tales of Horror).

Bonus/Downloadcontent

Wie zu vielen anderen Savage Worlds-Produkten gibt es auch für The Sixth Gun ein paar Kurzabenteuer und einen Charakterbogen zum Download.

Fazit

Will man The Sixth Gun schnell zusammenfassen, dann könnte man auch sagen: Nimm Deadlands Reloaded, reiß die meisten Seiten raus, ändere ein paar Details, und fertig ist The Sixth Gun. Während Pinnacles Flaggschiff Deadlands viele Zusatzregeln hat, um den Weird West abzubilden, ist The Sixth Gun eigentlich nur ein kleiner Aufsatz auf Savage Worlds. Was nicht schlecht sein muss!

Handwerklich ist das Ganze gut gelöst. Ein paar Arkane Hintergründe, Settingregeln, Talente und Handicaps genügen, um loszulegen. Wirklich Fleisch auf die Knochen kriegt das Ganze aber erst durch die vielen NSC und mächtigen Artefakte, die dieses Setting prägen. Dazu noch ein paar Monster, die auch in Deadlands gut reinpassen (oder dort schon existieren), und der wilde Reigen kann beginnen.

Inhaltlich leidet The Sixth Gun wie andere Pinnacle-Lizenzen daran, ein Leichtgewicht zu sein. Genauso wie bei Lankhmar setzt man wohl darauf, dass existierende Fans (hier: des Comics) zugreifen. Will man sich wirklich in das Setting einarbeiten, ist das Buch zu seicht. Das ist für ein Rollenspielprodukt eher schwach, vergleicht man Deponia, wo die Autoren (und der ursprüngliche Schöpfer der Vorlage) weit über den Kanon der Computerspiele hinausgingen. Auch The One Ring hat es gewagt, den Kanon dort fortzuschreiben, wo Tolkien Details offen ließ.

The Sixth Gun verbleibt als solides Produkt für SL, die diese Arbeit mit etwas Inspiration am liebsten selbst leisten oder einfach der Vorlage verfallen sind. Alle anderen werden mehr als dieses eine Buch brauchen, um eine überzeugende Kampagne in der Welt der Six hinzulegen.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Sixth Gun Roleplaying Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 46 to 60 (of 671 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates