DriveThruRPG.com
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Deadlands Reloaded: Player's Guide
by Brandon W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/27/2017 11:28:04

Deadlands is an iconic license from the RPG frontier days, and it gets the polish it deserves here. The lore is interesting and delivered with gusto. Many designers have forgotten the importance of flavor, and this book serves as a reminder. Its also a reminder of how important it is to know your game's genre niche and play to those strengths. Shadowrun had cyberpunk fantasy, D&D had high fantasy, Mechwarrior had war sci-fi, Cyberpunk 2020 had pure cyber, Star Wars had space opera and Deadlands had the Western. Like a grizzled gunslinger, the Reloaded edition evokes that genre spirit at every turn. The mechanics stay true to their roots, but engrave that six shooter with the best that modern design has to offer. If your going to run a Western game, this is your ride pard.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Reloaded: Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Savage Tales of Horror: Volume 3
by Cedric C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/25/2017 02:45:30

Introduction: Savage Tales of Horror is a three-volume set of independent adventures for the Savage Worlds roleplaying game. Even though Savage Worlds has its Savage Worlds Horror Companion, these scenarios can be played with just the core rules. The adventures are based on different Savage World settings, but, again, only the core rules are necessary. This is definitely an unusual approach for adventure collections, which typically center around only one roleplaying game setting. However, given the mortality rates in horror, and gaming groups who can only meet for a one-shot game, these collections are an excellent way for roleplayers to play a variety of horror settings without having to learn another roleplaying game system. They also introduce the gaming group to Savage World's other game systems, which they might not otherwise be exposed to. Spoilers ahead, of course.

Isle of Death: This adventure takes place within Savage World's Weird War II setting. The players are on a routine mission, which crash lands on a Nazi testing island. Up until the lab, much of the adventure is novel for gamers mostly used to generic fantasy or Cthulhu Mythos roleplaying. Players will involve themselves in a dogfight (read up on the Dogfight Chase rules!), encounter zombie soldiers while in a crashed plane, and skulk around a POW camp to free some prisoners. However, once in the lab, most of the encounters just end with a monster of the week fight. Gamemasters with some experience should be able to change the mood of the adventure and NPCs to focus more on stealth, or interacting with prisoners and staff who'd rather escape. If you like Savage Worlds as a miniatures game, the adventure has plenty of opportunities for miniatures combat. No pregenerated characters are included, but most players should have an idea how to create a World War II allied soldier.

The Final Page: This adventure takes place in Morden Savage Worlds setting. "The world of Morden is part of a setting book for Savage Worlds named Accursed, a place of dark fantasy where the themes and tropes of Hellboy meet those of Solomon Kane. Only those bearing the forms of monsters can stand against the tide of the Witches’ evil. The Accursed are this world’s only hope — they must learn to embrace their curse or fight against it in order to free their world from the grip of darkness." As someone not familiar with The Accursed, it's a little unclear from this sidebar what sort of character should be generated. I think pregenerated characters would have helped. The Accursed roleplaying site, accursedrpg.com, has a wealth of information about this setting, more than enough to run this adventure. You should also be able to run the adventure with generic fantasy heroes, treated as outsiders sent by an unwelcome body. The adventure primarily happens in a mansion, so it's not too difficult to modify it to a Gothic adventure. With some editing and scaling down of encounters, the adventure could be modified into a Call of Cthulhu-style scenario (or even a Tom Baker Dr. Who adventure, "The Witch in the Mirrors", with its science-fiction-y explanation of horror events!).

Hear Your Scream: This adventure takes place in the Last Parsec setting, and optionally uses the the Savage Worlds Science Fiction Companion. Savage World's Last Parsec Primer free download has additional background the gamemaster and players may wish to use. The gamemaster may also wish to play the free non-horror Last Parsec's Unexpected Colony download adventure beforehand. With the characters in space, their communication devices will go dead, and the players will have to communicate non-verbally. The last pages of the adventure have stats for entities encountee during the adventure, a synopsis of the Kobold crew, and pregenerated characters who may be used in other sf games. The adventure starts off with a distress signal, and the players find themselves having to make a decision: who stays on the ship, and who boards the disabled space craft? Tales then divides up its adventure into location-based encounters on the disabled space craft, and event-driven ones on the rescuing ship. The plot is a bit more straightforward than I'd like. Two alien crystaline intelligences have been squabbling about for eons, but, being crystals, couldn't do anything about their philosophical opponents. Milleniea ago, mobile aliens found these alien crystals, which then took over their bodies and resulted in planetary war and doom. Time passed, and the Kobold crew discovered these crystals, which took them over as well, resulting in their demise as the aliens, both as crew members and the mobile aliens, fought each other again. Thankfully, one of the crew, who can be revived in the medical bay, isn't quite telling the truth, and can be played by a wily gamemaster (or co-GM). A creative gamemaster can think of other ways for the different entities in this scenario to have their own interests, with the players caught in-between (or having motives of their own). If players are late to the game, the gamemaster can also try some flashback roleplaying of the crew of the Kobold, so that the players can look at them as more than "extras".

Hotel 96: This adventure takes place in the East Texas University world, or can be placed in any modern horror, mystery, or noir setting. Our heroes find their car (and, mysteriously, cell phones) breaking down in front of the ominous Hotel 96. As they enter the hotel, they find themselves within celebration -- of the last night of Prohibition. Alas, they are soon told, by the charred spirits of the hotel, that they must "end this". The hotel of the adventure reminds me quite a bit of that of The Shining, so you may want to watch that movie (with a bright light) for ideas and encounters with those of the hotel's past. As the characters investigate the rooms, they have various premonitions and encounters with various NPCs. Activities which result in disrupting the environment result in various "haunting" effects that happen to the characters. Myself, I would have liked the adventure to be more subtle, giving clues rather than direct instructions, and the NPC encounters fleshed out more into subplots. Pregenerated characters (Freshmen (Novices) with two advances) are included, and may be used in other East Texas University campaigns.

Dance of the Dead: This adventure "is a Soloman Kane adventure for veteran level characters or higher set in London and the wilds of Scotland." Soloman Kane himself is a pulp-era late 16th to early 17th century Puritan, and creation of Conan the Barbarian writer, Robert E. Howard. N'Longa, one of the characters of Soloman Kane, makes an appearance. The adventure itself can fit any generic fantasy city (with a book seller), and its beginning a particularly good model for designing a town adventure. The adventure also features a variety of ghosts from different eras and you can adjust the difficulty levels of the ghosts pretty easily, from wispy to fully material. The adventure is on the linear side, and assumes the characters will act heroically, rather than ally against the enemy, or even defeat him and take his place. Thematically, characters will need to have weapons that can affect ghosts, although the Friends and Foes section says the ghosts the characters fight are material, and do not have the Ethereal ability (can only be harmed with magic attacks) that Ghosts in the core book have.

PDF vs. Hardcopy: For adventures, I typically recommend PDFs over hardcopies. With a PDF, you can print out the adventure you're playing for the night, rather than bring the entire book with you. You can print pages on color, then cut them out as visual handouts (some of the Tales of Horror adventures also have handouts). You can cut out and give the players any pregenerated characters (although I would have preferred them to be on half-pages, rather than across a two-column format). You can take notes on the printouts. And, of course, the PDFs are less expensive.

Free Test Drive: I should note that Savage Worlds has a free Test Drive modern-day horror adventure, The Wild Hunt, originally given out on Free RPG Day 2011. The sixteen-page PDF has a short four-page adventure, pregenerated characters, figure flats, and six-page core rules including character generation. A review can be found on RPG.net : https://www.rpg.net/reviews/archive/15/15319.phtml

Conclusion: I would describe these Savage Tales of Horror as adventures, as much as horror. Characters can fight off most of the threats, though the foes are often flexible enough for a game master to adjust ad hoc. Some investigation and stealth is necessary. Some of the adventures are on the linear side. And, as said, the adventures are for different Savage Worlds, so they're best played by players who prefer or can only play one-off adventures.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Tales of Horror: Volume 3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Deadlands Reloaded: Heroes o' Gloom
by Ronald L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2017 13:51:28

An interesting assortment of characters, with a good background for each. However my main requirement as a novice Marshall is a set of decently statted characters for practice one-shots with my gaming group. This product does not deliver in this regard, in that I have 0 certainty that the characters contained within are compatible with the most recent Deadlands Reloaded rule set. Instead, this set of pregens includes a character with Arcane Background(Miracles) along with a listed set of powers, and experience purchased edges in Power Points. This is wholly incompatible with the current Deadlands Reloaded ruleset for AB(Miracles) in which the background grants all available powers and powerpoints are irrelevant.

In short: do not expect this product to be compatible with Deadlands Reloaded.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Reloaded: Heroes o' Gloom
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Deadlands Reloaded: The Tombstone Seven
by Ronald L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2017 13:48:42

An interesting assortment of characters, with a good background for each. However my main requirement as a novice Marshall is a set of decently statted characters for practice one-shots with my gaming group. This product does not deliver in this regard, in that I have 0 certainty that the characters contained within are compatible with the most recent Deadlands Reloaded rule set. Instead, this set of pregens includes a character with Arcane Background(Hex-slinger), which in the current rules has been rolled into Arcane Background(Magic), aka the Huckster.

In short: do not expect this product to be compatible with Deadlands Reloaded.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Reloaded: The Tombstone Seven
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Savage Rifts: Coalition Field Manual
by Gary W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/06/2017 22:23:54

haven't had the opportunity to put this stuff into action, but I love the layout and the art work has me drooling. really excited about playing with all these new toys!!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: Coalition Field Manual
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Savage Rifts: Bookmarks
by Gary W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/06/2017 22:16:27

Haven't had the chance to put stuff into use yet but I love the look and colors and layout. really inspiring, has me chomping at the bit to put it all in play.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: Bookmarks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Savage Worlds Science Fiction Companion
by David D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2017 13:40:20

Everything I needed and more. The shining jewel of the book is the 30 page bestiary and NPC gallery but it also has multiple species and a species builder, multiple spaceships and a spaceship builder, multiple suits of power armor and a power armor builder, as well as rules for alien worlds, robots, cybernetics, and mecha. All are modular and easy to use.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Science Fiction Companion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Deadlands Reloaded: Combat Map Set 2
by Tim K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/02/2017 15:59:56

(This is a duplicate of my review for Combat Map Set 1)

This map pack is a bit like a stray shot. It was well-intentioned, but it missed the mark by a good little bit.

The included JPGs and PNG files are maps of the interiors of various westren buildings. Porches come as a independent file. The interiors are without a scale, but an included PNG file has the missing grid.

Thus, you will need a graphics program in order to create an interior with a grid. And you will need to expand the dimensions along one axis to leave enough space to add the missing porch - and the missing porches grid.

So if you bought this with the intent of using it for a VTT session, it might take a little work - or a lot of work if you are not comfortable with a graphics editor. I bought this to have quickly usuable interiors and I am somewhat annoyed that I will have to do the work. (Normally, guys, the publisher provides 2 maps, one with a grid and another without. As for the porches being seperate pieces.... well, whatever - it makes no logical sense. As long as I am forced to add the grid, I guess adding the porch is something I may as well do.)

Anyhow, this product doesn't seem to know it's market. It could either elect to provide the building blocks for someone to do all the work (give us chairs, bar stools, bottles, wooden walls, jail cell walls etc), or provide a finished product. Instead, they elected to give us something not quite finished.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Reloaded: Combat Map Set 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Deadlands Reloaded: Combat Map Set 1
by Tim K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/02/2017 15:57:49

This map pack is a bit like a stray shot. It was well-intentioned, but it missed the mark by a good little bit.

The included JPGs and PNG files are maps of the interiors of various westren buildings. Porches come as a independent file. The interiors are without a scale, but an included PNG file has the missing grid.

Thus, you will need a graphics program in order to create an interior with a grid. And you will need to expand the dimensions along one axis to leave enough space to add the missing porch - and the missing porches grid.

So if you bought this with the intent of using it for a VTT session, it might take a little work - or a lot of work if you are not comfortable with a graphics editor. I bought this to have quickly usuable interiors and I am somewhat annoyed that I will have to do the work. (Normally, guys, the publisher provides 2 maps, one with a grid and another without. As for the porches being seperate pieces.... well, whatever - it makes no logical sense. As long as I am forced to add the grid, I guess adding the porch is something I may as well do.)

Anyhow, this product doesn't seem to know it's market. It could either elect to provide the building blocks for someone to do all the work (give us chairs, bar stools, bottles, wooden walls, jail cell walls etc), or provide a finished product. Instead, they elected to give us something not quite finished.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Reloaded: Combat Map Set 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Modern Ops
by John G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2017 14:13:58

First, the complaint. The product is good for what it is, but it needs to be made clear that this is a miniatures skirkmish game that uses the Savage Worlds ruleset. I had hoped that I would find solid background information on real-world special ops units, feats unique to such, what skills they should possess, and detailed weapons information. What I got was a glossing over of the Savage Worlds rules and extensive details for using miniatures to play out real-world special ops scenarios. I needed solid information on weapons, such as costs and weights. Encumbrance is not accounted in the skirmish system and costs are in point values, not dollars. I understand that many of these weapons are exclusive to the military, but it would have been nice to know what the cost in dollars of a MP7 is (not to mention what it weighs). There are no new feats. What was good about the product for my purposes was that it at least told me how a particular spec ops unit should be kitted out, providing many NPC examples.

That said, as a supplement for minitaures gaming using the Savage Worlds rules as a base, the product succeeds very nicely. It's just another example of how diverse Savage Worlds can be. Many real-world spec ops units are fully detailed as extras, both friendlies and enemies. There are several new vehicles and a host of new guns. Sadly, not a lot is said about them. Included is a mission generator and eight Savage Tales (with more promised on the website). If I used miniatures, this would be invaluable. Unfortunately, I don't.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Ops
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

12TM: Last Rites: Savaged edition
by Tim K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/01/2017 15:46:44

I got it for Halloween and it did not disappoint. The plot is based off of a Nazi dying of old age - that was much more plausible in 2005ish when it was written than now.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
12TM: Last Rites: Savaged edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Savage Worlds Deluxe
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/16/2017 00:41:10

If you are looking for a simple yet not simplistic universal rules system that gives you plenty of tactical crunch for you combat; this is it. If you love using polyhedral dice definitely the game you want. If you are tired of getting stuck in a class based advancement system this is worth the price of admission.

This game system came out of a mix of the very detailed Deadlands and a table top game called the Great Railwars. The designers used the experience gained from the above mentioned games and came up with a streamlined rules system that covers a lot of ground and presently has dozens of settings.

This game is for gamers who like to push miniatures around on the table top, but don't want to spend an hour fighting a battle between a half dozen figures. I have consistenly been able to run combats with in excess of 2 dozen figures in a half hour or less. The action is Fast, Fun, and Furious. A great game for grognards and neophytes alike.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Deluxe
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Savage Rifts: Savaging Your Favorite Rifts Ideas
by Jeffrey A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2017 08:31:14

Meh.

Realisiticly this entire product could have been presented in one sentence:

"The math to do an actual translation into our system would be insane, so take your best guess - good luck!"



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: Savaging Your Favorite Rifts Ideas
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide
by Nawaf M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/02/2017 11:02:39

If I hadn't gotten my hands on this pdf per a forum where someone had posted the file, I wouldn't have given it a second glance. One would've thought trying to mesh a rules-light system such as Savage Worlds and a messy rules system would end in a catastrophe... but somehow the end result is far greater than the sum of it's parts. I've never played Rifts before, because someone always simply quit during character creation. Now I've had a chance to and I have to say I'm impressed with the Savage Worlds version. That being said, it is somewhat on the short side with 146 pages.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide
by Nicolas A. D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/01/2017 14:08:31

My expectations were maybe too high, but this book is overpriced. The content of the book is good but it is only setting history and character creation rules. If you want the officials monsters you will need another book same thing for vehicles and weapons.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 677 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates