DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
AFTERLIVES: or All Good Characters Go To Heaven
by Katrina B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/12/2018 10:58:56

Afterlives is a diceless system that can seamlessly stack atop pretty much any game where PCs worship deities or god-like beings.

It's designed for when PCs die and you want something more dramatic and meanignful than "make a new PC and divide up dead PC's gear" or "I cast Raise Dead". It's designed such that the normal DM opperates as the Persecutor and a guest player acts as the Judge.

It doesn't offer any true game mechanics but does give a pretty solid, easy-to-follow outline for how to build a case for a PC's eternal soul. Overall, a great read and def something I'll consider using when I next find myself with a deceased PC.

Full review here.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
AFTERLIVES: or All Good Characters Go To Heaven
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Alas Vegas
by Jason M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/28/2017 08:55:46

Non-spoiler review: I was a kickstarter backer and rode the long wait for this game to see the light of day, and it was absolutely worth it. This is one of the best story-driven RPGs I've ever ran. The book recommends swapping GMs for the 4 parts, but I ended up running the whole thing for my group based on how we play (long 10-hour sessions once every three months), and it worked out really well - we're a seasoned group of CoC players and had a blast with this game.

The less the players know about this game going in, the better. There's a big reveal at the end of Act 2 that's best not spoiled, so if you plan on playing in this game, I recommend you don't read the entire book (or any spoilery reviews).

The story / narrative is the game's strongest point. It works perfectly with the fugue system, where you build your characters by having "flashbacks" to remember them doing things - for example, someone might approach you with a knife, and you have a flashback to being a knife fighter - so now "knife fighting" is a skill you have. The flashbacks also serve to help build your character's backstory, and eventually the backstory of the entire group, for a fresh take on the whole idea of bonds and connections.

The conflict resolution system is a modified version of blackjack played with a tarot deck. It works pretty well, especially once you're used to it - the game recommends using the imagery on the cards to help narrate what you're doing, but we ended up just kind of making our own stuff up as we went, and it worked out just fine. The first combat is designed to get everyone up to speed on how it works, but I highly recommend the GM run some mock combats before the first session to famliarize themselves with how it works.

All in all, Alas Vegas is a stunning self-contained game with a heck of a narrative punch. My group ran it in two 10-hour sessions. I highly recommend this game for a unique, one-or-two-or-four-off game that will leave your group talking about it for weeks afterward.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Alas Vegas
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Alas Vegas
by Howard S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/23/2016 15:21:38

This was a wait, boy was it a wait... BUT SOOO WORTH IT! :D

Beautiful artwork, a fantastic premise and the gameplay seems good (even if I am stuck out in the sticks & have not been able to give it a good run).

Thank you so much for a great addition to my games collection.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Night
by Curt K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/16/2012 12:10:50

Must agree with the others. This is absolutely great representations of soooo many games. I have been this ref, and much to my chagrin, I have probably been the Warrior or the Jester as well.

This is must read for any referee, potential ref or gamer with aspirations. Most gamers will find it painfully accurate...and I'm sure some will take umbrage about how "Their Character" is treated.

Already buying a copy of this for my oldest son!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Night
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Flying Serpent, or Strange News Out Of Essex
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/08/2012 21:09:07

An excellent prop for a horror or urban fantasy RPG, this is a 12 page document on the appearance of a flying serpent. The pages are yellowed and creased with age, and the entire document looks very authentic. I'd love to see more ready-made props like this one.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Flying Serpent, or Strange News Out Of Essex
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dragon Warriors: Introductory Book
by Nathan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/07/2012 21:00:39

Dragon Warriors was one of the first RPG's I ever played, and I remember it fondly. This introductory book concisely covers character generation, combat and the setting, and is filled with all the stuff I remember and love. Mind you, it is a much neater, slicker and updated version and looks really good, too! Dragon Warriors is a very straightforward system that lets you get straight into the action, and well worth a look. Check it out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Warriors: Introductory Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dragon Warriors RPG
by Ardon L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2011 21:54:12

An excellent book. I've the original Dragonwarriors RPG books which was published in the 80's in paperback. This new edition is a faithful reproduction of the original with some new abilities added for most of the character classes. It has also been reorganized and is now more consistent. My only disapointment is that the timeline (as presented in this new edition) is still fixed at the same time as the original version. 30 years is not a long time in a medieval context but it is still enough time for a new generation to arise. There should have been some (minor) changes in the game world of Legend. Other than that, this is an excellent introduction to the Dragonwarriors RPG.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Warriors RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dragon Warriors: Introductory Book
by Adrian S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/23/2010 21:47:44

This marks the triumphant return of 'Dragon Warriors' to the marketplace. In the 1980s, this RPG was published as a series of novel-sized rulebooks that have now become almost impossible to locate; so this reprinting is welcomed heartily.

The 'Dragon Warriors' RPG is a well-conceived game that meets all of your stock-standard fantasy needs. The classes are what you'd come to expect, but are all written with a clean, smooth set of rules that ensures that the core concept of the class shines through.

The mechanics of the game are easily learned, especially if you have ever played D&D, and don't try to be too complex. It was very nice to see that the explanatory comic was included, giving you examples of how the game mechanics translated to actions.

The Introductory Book provides you with enough information to describe the world, play the game, and includes an enjoyable 'first adventure' in the back. The world is derived from the British Isles during the High Middle Ages with the obvious magical and fantastical elements incorporated. As such, there are plenty of 'touchstones' to familiarize new players with the setting.

Purchase this one, and run it for a few sessions - although I'd recommend bookmarking the full rulebook to make it easier to find when you return - and you will.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Warriors: Introductory Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dragon Warriors: Fury of the Deep
by Adrian S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/28/2010 22:00:10

It has been a true pleasure to see Dragon Warriors reenter the RPG market and the developers of this module deserve to be congratulated. The module is very smoothly presented, with plenty of opportunities for the GM to tailor events to their own campaign needs. The style is very free-flowing, offering a fine balance between combat and RP, with a lot of chances for PCs to interact with the world on a much deeper level. A lot of thought has been put into the ecologies, and there is a commitment to internal consistency.

I'd strongly recommend this module to anyone running a fantasy campaign, no matter what the system. Mechanics are easily replaced, but the good ideas in this product aren't found often.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Warriors: Fury of the Deep
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dragon Warriors: Fury of the Deep
by Lee B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/09/2010 12:40:49

Fury of the Deep is an excellent adventure for the Dragon Warriors system, detailing an intelligently thought-through underworlde adventure that goes far beyond the standard dungeon-bash - there is plenty of area background, evocative narrative and role-playing opportunity throughout. Nor is this a linear adventure with only one route through to an inevitable conclusion - the players' choices have actual consequences in the module, which is all too rare in adventure modules these days.

All told, this is a great module and, because the emphasis is definitely not on creature and NPC statistics or the detailed minutiae of specific rules, would be an inspirational purchase for other game systems.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Night
by Stu V. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/13/2010 14:40:47

This is a must-read for RPGers. Jonny Nexus, author of the now-defunct criticalmiss online 'zine, is one of the funniest authors in the RPG space.

The novel tells the tale of a group of gods sitting around a table playing a role-playing game. Each of the gods lampoons a player archetype with stinging accuracy. The twist to the story is the fact that what these gods imagine becomes reality, and all the changes, do-overs and metagaming have mind-numbing consequences in the PCs' world.

I found myself laughing out loud more than once.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Night
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dragon Warriors: Introductory Book
by Jonathan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/09/2010 16:47:35

A superb introduction to a fantastic game. This little book will keep you in adventures for a while, but it's the main core book that has the real meat. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Warriors: Introductory Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Game Night
by linda e. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/01/2010 15:42:33

Oh good lord. Ok, I want to know how long Johnny Nexus as been planting bugs in my gaming group! Every one of the gods (players) in this is an archetype that most gamers will have played with (and if you've ever been Lord Warrior I hope you got yours next game along!) and may find embarrassingly familiar.

The structure of the story works extremely well, flicking back and forth between the gaming group and the hapless mortals they are manipulating for their own amusement; the use of "I didn't actually DO that" moments is well judged, with a bizarre knockon effect to the game world. The potions sequence on the cliff had me giggling out loud: I would NOT recommend reading this on public transport.

This is hysterical. Just buy it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Night
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Chronicles of the Magi trilogy [BUNDLE]
by Stephen D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2009 02:01:04

A bundle of novels set in the same Land of Legend as the Dragon Warriors RPG, these books will help any aspiring GM to understand that world, though for my money, Legend as described in these books is less gritty and more fantastic than it is in the actual game.

The plot is intriguing and the books generally well written and evocative, though it does lapse into D&Disms in a few places, unlike the RPG.

Overall an excellent lite fantasy read with the added attraction for fans of Legend.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Chronicles of the Magi trilogy [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dragon Warriors: Prince of Darkness
by Stephen D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2009 01:50:51

An update of the 1980s adventure first published as part of Dragon Warriors Bk 5 "The Power of Darkness" this is a huge improvement over the original. I say this because of the extensive 30 page section that covers the fief of Glissom, where the adenture is set: previously, this was a blob that was not fleshed out at all, but now we have maps of Glissom city and an outlying settlement and learn enough about the Reivers, the druids and other elements that you could actually run a campaign here.

The adventure itself is tweaked to remove some of the "show-stopers" that the original suffered from, but the real improvement is how the beginning and end of the adventure is handled. The PCs are now companions of Doron (secretly heir to the throne of Glissom) and there are suggestions for a number of pre-adventures that can easily be played without any work on the part of the GM, as they draw on NPCs and locations that are now described.

The adventure itself is largely unchanged, although the new artwork really adds a great feel to it: the B&W illustrations are properly grim. It centers around an evil spellcaster who killed the King and then used his undead corpse to change laws and get hinself named heir. The PCs have to journey north to the Lost City of Nem and find evidence of this spell-caster's evil. The encounter with the Vampire Innkeeper is one of the most memorable parts of any fantasy adventiure: I love the way the beds descend into the cellars below, so he can kill the PCs one by one.

The end of the adventure is also now better, since once the PCs have driven off the evil elementalist who had usurped power, there is scope for a whole campaign involving the Reivers. I really love the Reivers: think gypsy knight/vagabonds with no morality and you are half-way there.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Warriors: Prince of Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 27 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates