DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Rifts Northern Gun One Sneak Preview
by Stephen D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/15/2013 21:02:17

It was an awesome preview. I am extremely happy to actually have the book!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rifts Northern Gun One Sneak Preview
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Palladium Fantasy Role-Playing Game Revised Edition - 1st Edition Rules
by Gary M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2013 13:25:49

My problem with this PDF was not the content - I bought this as a replacement for a missing softcover and knew exactly what was in it. My complaint, or dissatisfaction, or whatever is that the PDF is of execrable quality.


Firstly, this is an image-scan - every page - and the compression algorithm leaves haloes around every piece of text and art. It makes the text blurry at Fit to Page scale (which happens to be 72% zoom on this monitor) and a strain to read up until about Fit to Width at 180% zoom - which is not a convenient size for page scanning.


And you will do a lot of page scanning, because - secondly, and more astonishing - there are no bookmarks. The page numbers weren't modified to fit the printed index in the back. And the DRM means that you can't even add your own bookmarks. This is 2013! Roleplaying games on PDF are ubiquitous! Why the crap aren't there bookmarks in this stinkin' thing?


Add to that the 5 or 6% of pages that were scanned askew and your pleasant afternoon Palladium nostalgia trip turns into a squinty haze. At least mine did.


To recap: for $12.49 I would expect a little more effort than slicing the book apart, running it through a sheet scanner, clicking Reduce File Size, and calling it done. If I were to do it all over again, I'd find a printed copy on eBay.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Palladium Fantasy Role-Playing Game Revised Edition - 1st Edition Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Palladium Fantasy Role-Playing Game Revised Edition - 1st Edition Rules
by antony s. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2013 15:43:51

OK so it’s a soft cover but the art work on the front is pretty cool and evokes a feeling of old school RPG action. A knight in shining armour wielding a magic sword sits on the back of a Pegasus as he faces down a huge Dragon! What more could you ask for in a fantasy game?


Note: the 1st printing had an equally old school picture on the cover but we are reviewing the most current version.


Art work is consistently good throughout and the book is well laid out with all of the rules where you would want them to be (something that went a little wrong in some later Palladium products).


Overall a standard quality book that is worth the money. However there is plenty more to this book than production values!


Character Creation


With 13 player races and 23 OCC’s or classes of which 10 are caster types you will have no shortage of choices!


The races range from the standard Dwarf, Human and Elf to the more exotic Changeling (a shape shifter) and Troglodite (a peaceful cave dweller with a legendary temper) to the downright nasty Orcs, Ogres and Trolls! However just because you pick a stereotypically evil race doesn’t mean you will automatically evil. You could easily make an Orc with a noble heart and a kind soul.


The first character I ever made (over 15 years ago) was a Troll. Something about the description of Trolls really did it for me; I think it was their wickedly friendly temperament. Oh and the picture showing a 12ft monster man sat on a pile of skulls!


Rolling the stats was simple enough and then I checked what bonuses I might have. As expected my Troll was strong and so added extra damage to his attacks, he was agile and gained bonuses to strike and parry and he had epic endurance so he could resist poison and magic! What more could I want from a character?


Next I chose my OCC or class. I decided to go for a thief as they can locate secret doors and at later levels do double (or more) damage from behind! Now I didn’t make any old standard thief because the choices you can make within your class allows for great variety. OK so I can pick locks and prowl but I can also wield large swords and large shields, I can even poison my weapons!


You can round out your character by randomly rolling or choosing a back ground. I chose men at arms simply because I did not see my Trolls parents as nobles or merchants! They definitely weren’t farmers (although they almost certainly stole from farmers).


Twenty minutes later he is ready! Mugwort the Bold adventurer extraordinaire! His friends were a Wolfen (giant wolf man) Warlock who specialised in the element of air and an Elven assassin! With all of our alignments being selfish this meant despite racial prejudice we would likely work well with each other as long as the coin and the glory kept rolling in.


The System


This system uses most of the common dice you will have seen before. The D20 is used for your combat actions or saves again magic/poison/psionics or what have you. Magic is handled excellently and is neither too powerful nor underpowered. In fact I shall give the sheer variety of magic a section to itself!


You can also switch your class at any point and start levelling another class. Mugwort the bold would go on to be trained as a Paladin and many years later (both in game and out) he learnt the arts of wizardry. All the while it was still so easy for our GM to come up with fantastic enemies and great story plots to keep us wanting more!


However one of the systems strongest points is how much it encourages you to role-play your character. There is such a vast multitude of things that you can be doing outside of combat/dungeon crawling. Want to go fishing it’s there, want to whittle a statue of your dear uncle? Go for it! Want to seduce the tavern staff? Sure if you have the charm. All of these things a dealt with in a simple but effective way that never slows the game down.


Combat


I found combat to be fast and brutal it reminded me very much of the 80’s film Excalibur, with iron clad Juggernauts swinging huge weapons to devastating effect. I still find the Hit Point to weapon damage ratio to be amongst the very best in the trade. No fight seems drawn out and yet all have an air of desperation, a dagger in the right hands can fell the mightiest knight. It has an almost perfect balance of speed and intensity in my opinion.
Once you have levelled up you will find that every aspect of your character improves quite a lot. When you reach 4th level you will look back at your first level character and realise you have developed massively.


Magic


Wow, just wow! OK even a standard Wizard could be your tradition Gandalf type with the ability to influence others and wield a sword. You might make a combat Wizard who can buff his and his allies’ strength and protect others with magical armours. How about a Wizard thief that can scale walls in a way that would make Spider-Man proud and all the while remain completely invisible! All of the above combinations and much more are available to the standard Wizard class.
But it’s not all about the Wizard, we have the Psionic class which is like a super charge Jedi capable of moving huge objects and warping the minds of all around them to deadly effect.


Then there is the Warlock who can command the elements of fire, earth, air and water. This guy can also summon giant elemental beings to do battle for him!


The Summoner can summon and control just about every being in the game except the gods. On top of this if the Summoner has the time to prepare he can create circles that can control and dominate others or even protect him from his enemies!


The Diabolist is the thinking man’s caster, he can utilise powerful wards and runes to protect his equipment or certain areas. With enough forward planning a Diabolist makes for a very powerful opponent.


We have the clergy, priest of great power who can ask the gods for extra spells or to boost their combat powers, some can even raise the dead to aid him in combat!
Witches sell their souls in dark pacts with devil and demon and in return they receive great magical and physical power.


Driuds can transform into animals and use nature itself to boost their attributes. They can summon packs of their totem animals to aid them in combat and the forest itself will speak to the druid and tell him any secrets they may know.


The main thing worth noting is that every single caster can be completely different and even if more than one player picks the same class it won’t matter by the time you get into the game you will see that each character is truly unique.


Conclusion


With literally dozens upon dozens of Devils, Demons, Elementals, Angels, Fairies, Giants, Gods, Monsters, the standard races and their related politics and of course Dragons you will never be lacking enemies for the players to face and with maps and descriptions of each major area you will never be lacking a place to find said enemies! On top of this you get a very well written and presented adventure called “The Tombs of Gersidi” at the back of the book. Be warned however that this adventure of for characters that have one or two levels under their belts therefore it might be a bit hardcore for first level adventurers!


Trying to tell you about all about the fun I have had playing and GM’ing this game would require much more space than we have here and could well take months to write.


If you are looking for a high fantasy swords and sorcery setting with some of the best magic classes of any game out there then look no further.
Compliment this with the fact that there are so many skills and abilities that can be used outside of combat/dungeon scenarios and you are onto a true winner.


Highly recommended
>http://www.ding-irl.com/Palladium-Fantasy-Review.htmlp>

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Splicers
by Jeff A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/07/2013 15:13:51

Ok, so getting the two Con's out of the way first:



  1. Cover Art: sucks and is completely NOT what the book is about.

  2. There are some logic/plot-holes in the story that can be somewhat annoying to overcome/overlook.


The Pros:



  1. Awesome!! Love it, the basic setting, the tech, the deep character / NPC interactions are great!!

  2. The tech: Power Armor and Robots, that grow WITH the character!!! Love it!!!!! Wanted something like this (non-magic) forever, and it is done VERY well! Lots of options, etc...

  3. The main villian, ok... not exactly original, and a little-bit spotty on the logic, but VERY interesting take, and VERY well laid out! Fun too!

  4. Great artwork inside, lots of different things illustrated to help bring the world and it's unique tech "to life".

  5. Completeness, even though the author has stated many times that a LOT of the book hit the cutting room floor, the setting is quite complete and playable as is (for those wanting more, there are several rifters that have new tech, OCC's, and even Great Houses, plus some adventures).


Overall LOVE IT!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Splicers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Compendium of Contemporary Weapons
by Corey B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/01/2013 18:29:51

Lacking in many newer weapons systems, it still has a large amount of information useful for Palladium fans.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Compendium of Contemporary Weapons
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Palladium Fantasy Role-Playing Game Revised Edition - 1st Edition Rules
by Nathan B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/26/2013 22:32:18

Fantastic transfer of an old favorite.


Hailing from a simpler time when anyone could understand the paladium system and characters didnt need a million tricks to be great.


Lots of character classes, decent magic system, amazing psionics.
Get it for your nostalgia or try it out for the first time. You will find there's more here than you expected. A role players game.


Well worth the 12.49 price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Palladium Fantasy Role-Playing Game Revised Edition - 1st Edition Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rifts Northern Gun One Advance Preview
by Matt P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/07/2012 15:03:18

This preview has me so psyched for the actual product release! I cannot wait! Thank you



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rifts Northern Gun One Advance Preview
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

2012 Catalog of Palladium Books
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2012 13:00:42

It's a catalog. Fans of Palladium Books will find this product interesting and somewhat useful in planning their purchases. As always Palladium Books has a mediocre track record when it comes to releasing new books on time. It is the nature of the beast so any future release dates should be taken with a large grain of salt. For those books already on the market double check their website to see if they are still in stock.


Palladium Books has been experimenting with print on demand according to Kevin Siembieda. A lot of their most recent prints have actually been PoD runs. Although this option is not available yet for individual book purchases it is a sign that Palladium is exploring their options in the ever changing game industry.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
2012 Catalog of Palladium Books
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

2012 Catalog of Palladium Books
by Ted R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/16/2012 17:09:39

It was just what I wanted, Needed, & hoped for! I recommend
this to all my Palladium Role-Playin Gamerzz.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Rifter #52
by Michael V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/17/2012 16:44:15

I bought this product because I heard thru various reviews that it contained information on new Magic Tattoos and new OCCs for True Atlanteans.
Once I got into it, I saw that yes, it does have many new magic tattoos and a few new OCCs for True Atlanteans so on that score it deliverd.
Most of the new tattoos I thought were interesting, potentially useful and did not disrupt the game balance. I thought a few were under powered and a few over powered but overall, the tattoos were a good addition to the game.
The new OCCs were not all that interesting to me.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Rifter #52
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

After the Bomb RPG
by Geoff J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/17/2012 12:45:57

Good scan no Problems reading it even on my iPhone



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
After the Bomb RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rifts Black Market Preview
by Erich E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2012 18:02:35

The preview gives you an excellent snapshot of what is in the book, while you cant really use anything in it for a game from this preview you should be able to decide if you want the full version.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rifts Black Market Preview
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rifts Game Shields and Adventures
by Jeremiah B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/10/2012 17:51:09

This has lots of useful references, tables, and maps. The adventures are mostly interesting, although a couple of the Hook, Line & Sinker Adventures are too simplistic and one of them is just bad guys take over a village and the villagers ask you to help(thanks Siembieda I couldn't have though of that on my own), but there are several that are interesting and fairly complex.
The only real negative is that the is not the best quality, it is still readable and most of the text is fine but some of the smaller text in the reference tables is fairly hard to read and many of the pictures have odd patterns of fading on them.
Overall this is a mediocre scan of a good GM reference set.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Rifts Game Shields and Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Rifter #50 - Special Anniversary Issue
by Carl A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2012 13:16:14

I bought this primarily for the Splicers information. The additional classes covered are interesting, but might be a bit difficult to use in actual game play. The Gardener OCC is designed for fortifying a location against the Machine by plucking and planting plant-based Biotech defenses in the ground, but while mention is made of what they need to do to raise the plants to full maturity (skill roll once per day) I didn't see anything indicating how long this actually takes per day. If it takes hours, then they could only tend a couple of plants if they want to to reach full maturity, but if it takes minutes they could tend many, or they could be much further apart. Also, rolling once per day when most of the plants take several weeks to reach full maturity means you will likely fail at least a few times, and each time you fail, you have to roll another (different) skill check, and if you make that one then you get to roll the best two out of three on the first check to recover. Again, no explanation for how long this takes. And if you fail the plant will never reach maturity. I'm not sure how any of the plants every would reach maturity this way. Even if you had a 90% skill (not likely!) if a plants takes 10 rolls you only have a 34% chance to make every one of them, and that's a remarkably low number of rolls to need to make. You could need far more than 30 in some cases. If you have around 50% (possible at first level) you have not realistic chance to raise anything to maturity. And the actual plants themselves have some really annoying rules, like this plants gets 3d6 branches and each branch has 3d4 of this fruit on them, etc. I really like the concept, but the crunchy bits needed to be thought out a little more. I still liked it simply for the ideas it presents, even if I don't think the actual OCC would be much fun to play.


Then there are a couple of additional classes, from a sort of bizzaro Saint that is interesting and flavorful (hurts rather than heals) to the Geneticists that do the actual grunt work around the genepools, from taking care of the young host armors and mounts until they are ready to be used in the field, to modifying biotech to come up with alternate designs and mods. They get pets in the form of failed (as in not quite right, but not truly useless) host armors that they can modify to do their bidding and act as test beds for experiments. They don't get host armors, so I'm not sure I'd want to play one as my primary character, but they could be very interesting in the right setting, or as an alternate for for a Dreadguard.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Rifter #50 - Special Anniversary Issue
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Rifter #52
by Alexander L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/25/2012 08:09:09

Originally published at: http://diehardgamefan.com/2012/06/25/tabletop-
-review-the-rifter-52/


This issue, as with #51, shows Palladium dealing with basically the same issues: the Rift MMORPG lawsuit, the movie, and some personal things with Kevin Siembieda. The meat of the issue consists of News, a huge article about Atlanteans, Sunaj, Nogs (new races?), and all kinds of tattoos (Rifts), a “Cannibal Magic” article (Fantasy), an article on rune (i.e. sentient/sapient) weapons (Fantasy), and then some fan fiction.


The Crusaders & The Black Crusade


This article takes up about half of the entire book! It starts off with about 8 pages containing two short stories that are quite evocative and well-written. They are mostly about battle, so I keep getting this Warhammer 40,000 vibe from a lot of the Rifts material I’m reading. Weapons, weapons, weapons, factions fighting for who knows what reason, but a good read nonetheless. Plus, they highlight things mentioned in the rest of the article.


First, after the fiction, a race called “Nogs” are introduced which some sort of low-intelligence human that look more like orcs. The “True Atlanteans” highlighted in the article are the race that use Nogs as slaves and give them these special, powerful tattoos (mentioned later). The Atlanteans are given some occupations (O.C.C.s) that seem rather social in their leanings: Dilettante, Drifter, Tattoo Master. Another sect of Atlanteans called the “Sunaj” are given several occupations that are almost exclusively related to combat: Assassin, Warrior Thrall, Slayer, Slaver. After some occupations we get some general gear for Atlanteans, and some specific stuff for the Sunaj, like the “’Black Ball’ E-Sphere” which is an energy weapon clip that can double as an energy grenade, as well as several suits of armor and accessories.


The Atlanteans are apparently very big on tattoos. All of the art that shows any skin shows tattoos covering it. This article gives TONS of new tattoos that grant all sorts of powers, from enhancing the power of weapons and deadliness of strikes to healing and detecting. One of the tattoos is a “Black Sphere (Sphere of Destruction)” that can vaporize anything it touches. Sphere of Negation anyone? Even more crazy than regular tattoos are “Flux Tattoos” which are supposed to be very rare and let you do things like summon a swarm of insects. Basically tattoos are like spells that are notated on the skin of the recipient.


Cannibal Magic


This is material for Palladium Fantasy RPG that details certain trolls that have special magical powers that are enhanced by er… eating their victims. After they have been basted with enchantment, preferably. I had to suppress a sigh as I read through the rules for the cooking, eating, and preservation of certain body parts and how things will simply not work right if such and such goes wrong (if the food is not completely eaten). Further sighs were required when I saw that there were eating times listed for body parts. Yes, there are rules for how long it takes to eat a particular body part. Ok, so I didn’t actually suppress any of the sighs.


The body parts will grant the Cannibal Mage different temporary powers depending on what is eaten. Have a liver? It will negate the effects of disease. Eating the appendix will prolong life…possibly forever. The article goes on to describe some more information about trolls and abilities, and then stats out the Cannibal Mage O.C.C.


Intelligent Weapons


This article contains more material for Palladium Fantasy RPG, but it is mostly focused on weapons. Not just any weapons though, we are talking sentient swords. Basically this article is about weapons that start out like low-level characters, and then over time become more and more powerful, just like a character. The article details several kinds of weapons that correspond with well-known character classes like a “Cleric R.C.C.”, “Elementalist R.C.C.” (druid or mage), or with certain alignments like the “Lightbringer R.C.C.” which is a weapon specifically for use against “supernatural evil”.


The second part of the article discusses weapons with personalities and gives them stats just like an NPC (or PC for that matter). One weapon even has multiple personalities, each with their own abilities and stats. The article finished with what is, in my plain outspoken opinion, a bunch of crap. The last part of the articles is an O.C.C. called “Weapons Expert”, adapted from Heroes Unlimited. “This character is an expert with virtually all aspects of weapons…” really now? Don’t we usually just call that a fighter? Anyway, besides this last bit the article has some cool ideas in it.


What Do I Think?


I liked this issue more than the previous one, but partly because I am just biased toward fantasy over sci-fi. Overall, the publication is still mostly just adding more gear and character classes, neither of which I am a huge fan of. What I find most disturbing is the complete absence of adventures. Is The Rifter actually about role-playing? Or is it just about killing stuff and being powerful? There are some cool ideas presented, don’t get me wrong, but it would be great if there was some material that provided an environment to use these ideas in.


The fiction is ok…but it just whets my appetite for an adventure. I don’t need pages and pages more of weapons and spells and classes and whatever, just about every major system has tons of source material and anybody who wants to can come up with their own brew of class or special weapon. What would be really great are some adventure ideas to help flesh out the Rifts world. I don’t even know how people who contribute to The Rifter might play the game, because all I am seeing is stuff. It would be nice to see some juicy module to balance all the crunchy stats, that’s all I’m saying.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Rifter #52
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 31 to 45 (of 79 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates