DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Lusus Naturae
by Troy V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2015 07:19:07
The book crashed with Abstruct, and burned with damn near every single monster that proceeded after it. It's just a digest book of grimdark, perversion, and referee delusion all in one and turned up to eleven. I'll stick with the Monster Manual.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Lusus Naturae
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lusus Naturae
by VE P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2015 03:22:12
Rafael Chandler brings the grisly, twisted weirdness from first monster entry to last. Each entry provides enough hooks to easily unpack into a whole adventure.
Chadler's writing is tight and punchy, delivering everything you need to know in an easy to follow style.
Artwork is full colour with some nice variations of style and is easy on the eye (if not on the soul).
Some nice additional features includes a sugested pseudo-ecology/mythos linking some of the monsters together and unique death conditions that trigger when a monster is slain, some of which are beneficial and some are goddamn catastrophic.
These monsters would all port very easily to any OSR game with a horror flavour, and Im probably going to transplant a few into other horror games, the material is that rich.

Professional product, worth your time, not for kids (except the cool ones).

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
SlaughterGrid
by Sven F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2015 02:48:14
Deadly, funny, scary and, above all, weird. Like any good OSR module it needs more prep or, even better, a dose of imaginative improvisation at the table. Really stoked to inflict this on my players!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
SlaughterGrid
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lusus Naturae
by Timothy H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2015 07:04:24
This collection of disturbing beasts defiled all other monster manuals, devoured them alive, and then vomited their digested remains into new quivering forms. I'm glad this tomb of messed up creatures is now in my hands. Great Stuff!!!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lusus Naturae
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lusus Naturae
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2015 01:26:58
All day, I've been quietly wanting this PDF and quietly lusting over the insanity inducing madness of these monsters. There isn't really an easy way to talk about the monsters within this tome, from the moment when I received my copy of The Lusus Naturae I've pretty much been all over this LoFP download. Look do me and yourselves a favor and go grab this book now! Right now! To say that this is not work safe is an understatement and its very well done in what it does. The description of Lusus Naturae is Lusus Naturae is a bestiary for Lamentations of the Flame Princess (and other old-school games), featuring 103 face-melting monsters. And it lives up to the hype. This book isn't for kids and this is a strictly adult book of monsters that go far beyond the usual suspects.
The Lusus Naturae is a book of monsters in the way that body horror is a genre, for those who don't know what I'm talking about here's a definition: body horror, biological horror, organic horror or venereal horror is horror fiction in which the horror is principally derived from the graphic destruction or degeneration of the body. Such works may deal with disease, decay, parasitism, mutilation, or mutation. Now you can add this book to the definition as well. Each monster has been carefully constructed by Rafael Chandler and his artist to get the most out of his horrors. The artwork is very evocative and well done capturing the mood, methods, and blood guts as well as gore of each monster. And what monsters they are, I'm not entirely sure if Gennifer Bone is a mad woman or simply a demented genius or a bit of both but her art captures the insanity that these horrors bring to the table in The Lusus Naturae.
Forget Lovecraftian, these things are enough to give Pinhead of Hellraiser fame nightmares and that's exactly what you get. Nightmares that can be fitted right into the background of adventures right into the Lamentations Of The Flame Princess universe. Each monster is an adventure into themselves. Seriously well done monsters that dovetail into the setting history and of one another. If you liked the Teratic Tome then grab a copy of The Lusus Naturae. Each and every monster is an adventure of horrific proportions waiting to happen to a party and most have histories that dove tail with one another. This makes the Lamentations of the Flame Princess campaign resound within itself when it comes to laying the foundation of further adventures for a party should they survive the experience of encountering some of the ancient and weird horrors.
You get the Lusus Naturae pdf itself, the text of the pdf, the artwork of Gennifer Bone, book cover, and a boat load of some of the coolest monsters I've seen this side of Event Horizon. But who cares this is simply another bunch of gross out monsters! Right??! Wrong, what your getting are monsters that are both personal horror things from beyond the pale and things that could easily be plugged into other LoFP setting books such as Carcosa. The reason why the multiple downloads is pretty simple and quite brilliant. There's the DM's book of Lusus Naturae as the monster book, the text of the pdf for adventure construction, Gennifer Bone's art book as a pdf of player handouts and to show your players exactly what sort of horrors that they will be encountering during the adventure. And I say during the adventure because each and everyone of these monsters meets the LoFP rule. Each and every monster for an adventure should be unique. And believe me they are. Each one is drawn deep from the weird depths of the mind of Rapheal Chandler and uniquely put together by Gennifer Bone. These are monsters that are more like interconnected adventure events then simply another monster to run into during the course of some random roll on an encounter table. Plus these are not simply weird but PC altering in strange and completely twisted ways. There's a random monster generator table that has about the same level of a splatterpunk goodness as the rest of the monster book and then some. You can generate literally thousands of Lusus Naturae monsters by the score.
And then there's the 'things found in a monster's lair' table which gives even more LoFP setting material goodness.

Now there is a ton of potential here for the LoFP Dm to sink their teeth into this putrid slime filled mass of a book. Lusus Naturae encapsulates some of the ideas I've seen kicking round Raggi's creations for sometime now. That the powers and gods of the universe are inimical and incredibly dangerous to our universe on a mind boggling scale. Some of these monsters are world enders in every sense of the word but there's a sense of history and twisted horror filled adventure that follows in their wake. This is a book of monsters that is the way that monsters should be, open, dangerous, completely unpredictable and utterly unforgettable. Personally speaking in my estimation this isn't simply another monster book but a system for creating horrors that go way beyond the pale. Because this is a LoFP this book will work with any number of OSR games. Especially Swords and Wizardry, OSRIC with some adjustment, Labyrinth Lord, and especially Astonishing Swordsmen and Sorcerers of Hyperborea. This book's creations are open game content and the whole shebang was created with the OGL, so read it and get cracking on making these horrors a part of your old school campaign. I'm completely and utterly happy that this book came my way and five out of five in my mind.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Teratic Tome
by Aaron T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/07/2015 21:31:47
I'm only part way through this book, and I'm blown away. This is the perfect cross between 1e AD&D and DCC RPG. I want to get this bound with an orange spine.
The entire production makes it worthy to sit beside my old-school TSR books. This is what they should have put out instead of Legends & Lore.
The writing, the art, the layout and fonts are all spot on.

I can't wait to unleash some of these horrors on my players!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Teratic Tome
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

SlaughterGrid
by Brian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2015 09:35:59
I think the other reviews were very complete. While I really like reading it, I can see it being a hard sell to some players.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
SlaughterGrid
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pandemonio
by Ryan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2015 04:16:47
I highly doubt the other reviewer, Oliver, gave this a fair examination.

This is simply a bad cut & paste job of previous editions of the rules. Same artwork, same everything, with a couple rules changed, and huge, game ruining formatting errors.

Creatures do bonus damage to character classes that don't exist in the rules. Character classes get bonuses against creatures that don't exist in the rules. Creatures are described as being spawned by spells that don't exist in the rules. Erelim angels have access to special spells called Benisons. What's a Benison? Who knows, they aren't referenced any other time in this book. Several creature entries are simply cut off because the person doing the copy-paste from the previous edition of the rules didn't realize the text went on to the next page. The general write ups for 'what is an angel' is literally just a copy paste of the 'what is a demon' section, with the word 'angel' stuck in there using a wordpad find and replace by the looks of it- and who ever did the finding and replacing didn't even bother to replace any other words, so you'll read about angels spending Wrath to do things, even though that isn't a stat they have. Problems like that abound.

This is a shoddy product by somebody who was in a hurry. That said, it is a shoddy edition of one of the best indy RPGs out there, so there is still plenty of awesome material here. Unfortunately, if you are already a Books of Pandemonium GM, there is nothing in this book that you don't already have, and if you are new to the setting, the above problems will make aspects of the game practically incomprehensible- Crusaders are immune to the spells of Archons. What's an Archon? Who knows, they are never referenced again. That's one of the two abilities that defines 'Crusader'.

Imagine the normal chaos and confusion of trying to learn a new rules system, without the confidence of trusting the author to actually explain the reference in a coherent way. See a mention of a rule you don't recall? Maybe it's somewhere in the book, or maybe it's a reference to something from a previous addition that they forgot to cut out. Good luck skimming the book for something that may or may not be there in the middle of a session!

As a fan of the Books of Pandemonium from which this product was squeezed, there is no way, no way, this deserves five stars to be highly regarded.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Pandemonio
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Roll XX
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2015 01:10:02
So there's apparently an entire back system of weird random charts that I wasn't even aware of. This is a part of the Roll 'XX' family of game books which is really a nice piece of work and slight of hand bit of editing on Neoplastic Press's part.
I ran across the title last night whist playing that Thundarr game. So what is it? Well its a hundred and one pages of sheer awesomeness packed into a genre bending dose of utter weirdness wrapped up with character after chart of game neutral goodness that can be used right across the campaign board.
And its open source.
According to the Rpgnow blurb:
Roll XX is a system-agnostic book of random tables for fantasy, sci-fi, superheroes, and horror role-playing games.
Packed with adventure hooks, story seeds, NPCs, magic items, spaceships, demons, and locations, Roll XX features 90 questions and 1800 answers.
And it's open-source!
All proceeds from this book will be used to purchase clothing for the orphans at the Noel Children's Home in Kenya.

I've never heard of the Noel Children's home in Kenya but I know a great piece of gaming real estate when I see it. This is one of those rare titles that can be applied straight across the gaming board and while I favor the 'old school' approach to my gaming materials this book can be used to seed, grow, and expand campaigns at a rapid and somewhat staggering rate with the mind boggling amount of charts in the 'XX' line of books. From post apocalyptic, horror, modern, and old school fantasy this is a book with a chart for it. The fact that its an organized and concise execution of a book is an added bonus. The book covers most of the major areas of gaming in one go. This is the adventure construction set and random set of charts that your going to want. This book is inventive, dangerous, and somewhat insidious because it allows the DM endless options to mix and match their creative juices in the form of charts that can construct and add all kinds of high end and low end options to a campaign, encounter, adventure, and more all at the toss of the dice.
So I can easily see using a nice and tidy portion of this book as fodder into a post apocalyptic or sword & sorcery campaign. The material here in some of the charts easily covers such a wide range of material that adapting isn't a problem. Narrowing the focus might be though and that's not the product's fault so much as the DM.

So say that you really love the charts in Roll XX and you want to use them in your own games or even 'gasp' a published adventure? Well friends this is an open source supplement and it can easily be done with a simple mention and personally some back pointing to Neoplastic press.
This allows this system to sit right in the back of your campaigns and where the rest of the XX lines of books comes in.
There's a certain amount of style and grace to having something like this system adding itself quietly in the backdrop of your old school adventures. The book clocks out at a jam packed one hundred and ten pages but boy it is it wall to wall ideas in a nicely wrapped can of gaming goodness. Needless to say, pick this one up and toss Neoplastic a few gold pieces for their well deserved efforts.
Very nicely done folks.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Roll XX
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Starship From Hell
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/26/2014 22:54:27
I'm extremely surprised that no one's yet put up a review of this product on Drivethrurpg, The Star Ship From Hell is everything that I needed over three years ago as a science fiction or science fantasy DM. Simply put this is a random tool box of tables that the author/designer has cleverly arranged and created to allow a DM to create a system agnonistic star ship with a clear cut and concise back ground, setting, cargo, back drop and even NPC right along with it.
This is done through a series of random tables that lists everything needed to gauge, install, and twist into a system antagonistic space ship and adventure generator all in one package because its done with wit as well as style.
Rafeael Chandler is a clever bastard and he's balanced his material against the criteria of the science fictional elements for his creation.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Starship From Hell
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Obscene Serpent Religion
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/22/2014 23:20:16
Obscene Serpent Religion

Sweet mother of serpents, where does one begin upon this pdf of metastatic awesomeness dripping with the
bile of a thousand serpents echoing from a forgotten age? Hmm Serpent Religion is everything & has everything a DM could want for an OSR campaign all compacted into thirty two pages of disturbing and slightly over the top options for a DM to basically construct a Serpent Religion of Lovecraftian horror from the ground up for any old or new school game system with the emphasis being D&D style systems and retroclones.
Here all of the options are laid bare right from the get go.
From Way Of The Circle - This is very foundation core of the Serpent religion well thought out but with a core of over the top metal weirdness and supernatural core belief right out the gate.
Who Is The Goddess - Whose your serpent goddess at the core.
Tenets of the Faith - These might be rumors or could be solid core beliefs its really up to the DM Here are rites and disturbing rituals of high weirdness for your NPC's or PC's should you want a really weird campaign. Not my bag but some folks might.
Quests of the Hexagram - Raise your status in the cult, astound your friends, and put your serpent cult social standing higher.
Assigned Missions bring even more grim and metal assignments to your NPC foes or dark deeds of renown for your PC's within your serpent based religion.
Sacred Sites - Adventure locations based in part on your serpent cult's religion. All right there to get your party into deeply assigned random trouble right up to their necks.
Bestowed Powers - The gifts of the serpent goddess visited upon NPC cult members or high level PC's right in the thick of the coils of the religion itself. Again all randomly chosen.
NPC in Cities- Where are the movers and shakers of the serpent religion and how deeply does its corruption go in your campaign? This random chart will tell you.
Encounters In the Wild- This chart will allow PC's to stumble upon the serpent's influences in the wilderness of your world.
Sable Nectar - A mixture of blood and essence from those half serpent monsters. Don't tell the orthodox serpent religions.
Scarlet Nectar - This is a potion made from the blood of purer serpents and its effects randomly determined.
New Monster - Skin vessels - A new serpent religion AD&D style monster with deep campaign usefulness. Very much at the core of serpent religions where stealth verses combat is the norm.

Alright tongue is placed very firmly in cheek with this particular product from the almost unreadable Metal based font of the opening title. Obsence serpent religion plays half heads and tales with the 80's Satanic panic vibe mixed in with a healthy dose of Robert Howard on a Popsicle stick style high weirdness. Yet it still retains a high standard of game utility.
The artwork and themes are not work safe and have been chosen on purpose. You've been warned.

This product does one thing and does it very,very well. It randomly generates a Serpent religion and one of an extremely unpleasant nature. Once that's done the religion can be placed in any Lovecraftian horror, science fiction or fantasy, sword and sorcery setting of the DM's choosing. The fact is that this is very cleverly done product that uses OSR random table conventions to create new and different incarnations of a serpent based religions. Everything is right at the DM's finger tips. This product could be used to create a very dark and dangerous PC serpent religion based campaign of obscene and dark evil. I personally wouldn't take this particular avenue but there it is. This campaign tool box of nastiness could be used with many new and old school gaming systems. The core tables can concisely and dangerously be added to any number of old school games. This is a fine product with its forked tongue planted firmly in its cheek with its artwork depicting serpent/human hybrids with slongs, tattas, and scenes of serpent god and religion depravity. The artwork adds in to the 'charm' and humor of the product.
This isn't a product for everyone at all but a solid investment for a DM with over arching need in the old school traditions of horror and depravity that needs a solid set of serpent based religions for adventure and NPC construction. The added bonus here is that this product has so many versatile and solidly done bits and pieces that I can see using this for years and years to come.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Obscene Serpent Religion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Narcosa
by Emil B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/16/2014 11:47:42
The world of Narcosa is colorful, crazy and simply fun. I can see this book being usefull even in other campaigns, addin a bit of narcotic trip to grey and boring adventure. Playing Narcosa as a standalone campaign might prove difficult but it's a great material for a one-shot.

Keep up the good work guys!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Narcosa
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Narcosa
by Amanda P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2014 21:42:02
This is adorable, wild, and silly in all the best ways. I'm not sure that I'd want to make an entire campaign out of this, but as a one-shot (especially at a con), this would be fabulous. Also, I can't wait to drop some of the more interesting substances, etc into some of my other games- the players won't know what hit them! Catheter Vine-Bulbs???? OwOwOwOwPrettyOwOw...

This would be a five-star product if it had a little better spelling & grammar check. The 'almost right' words are a little distracting, but not too bad.

Excellent work, folks! And thanks for making it available!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Obscene Serpent Religion
by Joel B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/02/2014 09:11:37
The first thing that I noticed about this book was that the author’s name (Rafael Chandler) was written in that typically awesome yet hilariously illegible Black Metal font. I chuckled at this because it was pitch-perfect. From this part of the product’s description: "Inspired by the sound of black metal", I knew that I was in for a treat.

Like many of its kind, this supplement is deeply seeped in the weird, the grotesque and the sinister. It is definitely not a product for everyone, just like how Hellraiser and the Holy Mountain aren’t for everyone (in that they’re well made and well written but they’re very disturbing and challenging).

There’s a lot of whimsy in this product, despite the somewhat sinister subject matter. Lots of little jokes for the reader. The artwork is nice, although a few pieces were clearly better than others – while they all used appropriate subjects, some felt a bit amateurish. But that’s also kind of appropriate for OSR games, if you know what I mean.

The main function of this product is to create a Snake Cult. This is particularly useful for many different settings—and it helps that most of the tables are more about cool descriptors rather than mechanics—so I could see using this for fantasy, Lovecraftian Horror or even for stuff like Dark Heresy or any other darker Sci-fi, modern or fantasy offerings.

This book helps you determine such things as:

-the Cult’s “Way“, which is sort of their core ideologies. Even though this can be determined randomly, I’d personally apply all of them.

-the Cult’s Goddess, which draws from various worldly mythologies and superstitions. Very cool stuff here.

-Tenets, which are the main goals of the Cult (eg.: kill all Ophiophages – look it up)

There’s a ton of flavor in these sections. Even though everything is Snake-centered, you could use this book for inspiration for any kind of cult activities. There’s just so much useful stuff here that can generate mysteries or conspiracies. The one section on “Quests” that enable members to rise in rank could be used alone to create conflicts for characters to investigate. Warning: some of these are very grim and disturbing.

The rest has very interesting subjects like Sacred Sites and Powers to make the cult more menacing. The last part has useful rules for quickly generating NPC cult members and story hooks to get things going.

SUMMARY

I found this to be a very useful supplement that will go into my folder of inspirational generators and tables. There’s a lot of good, if sometimes disturbing, material in this product that can be re-used many, many times. The writing is easy to read (once again, very conversational) and it hits all the right notes for this kind of horror.

I recommend it for GMs who like to run games that involve sinister cults, whether they be modern Call of Cthulhu games or Sword and Sorcery. Frankly, you could use this product with any game system you wanted!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Obscene Serpent Religion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Teratic Tome
by Barbara H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/12/2014 23:13:50
Two words: amazingly creepy! This is one of the few monster manuals I have ever perused that made me sort of creeped out for a moment. All I must say is pick the book up! I paid for my copy and the money was well spent, but it's available to everyone for whatever price they want to pay or free, for those who are so inclined. My only suggestion is that the author make a version that's Pathfinder RPG compatible with full-color art and it would be even more cool!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Teratic Tome
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks so much, Barbara! I will definitely think the Pathfinder idea over. Best regards, Rafael
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 48 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates