DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Four Against Darkness
by Victor F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/26/2016 14:32:07

Four against darkness is nice, dungeon generation solo game. Fun to play it and in the meantime you can generate template dungeon!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Four Against Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Faustus Furius
by Tom G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/30/2016 21:02:24

I don't normally write reviews, but for this game I will. Faustus Furius is an absolute blast of a game. We are playing it with 1:72 chariots, but it could be played in many scales. We have also started building pod racers and will use the same rules.


The game is very fast-play. The rules are easily grasped, my youngest player is 8. And yet there is plenty of depth and tactical choices so that even I, the jaded gamer, don't get bored. There is an interesting twist to the basic "Songs of" dice mechanic that works well to represent fatigue as the race extends.


Cannot recommend this game highly enough. If you are interested in racing games, this is for you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Faustus Furius
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Four Against Darkness
by Ian M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2016 08:50:24

Love this game. A nice little solo dungeon crawl experience that plays quickly once you get the hang of it. The game gives you just what you want from such an experience. You get a choice of different characters, battle against several interesting minion or boss monsters, treasure, leveling up. It even saves room for story. There are chances for side quests and events that add flavor to your adventure. There are also, at this time, three prewritten adventure modules out for the system that offer their own stories, treasure, character classes and monsters to encounter. A lot of adventure here for just a few dollars. Can't recommend it, or Ganesha Games other games, enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Four Against Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Basic Song of Blades vs Advanced: A primer
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/12/2016 14:51:37

This does exactly what it claims, telling what what will be new (and that the old stays the same). However you will have to know the old system to really grasp some of the changes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Basic Song of Blades vs Advanced: A primer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Swatters - Large Scale Bug-Hunting Miniatures Rules
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/14/2015 02:13:32

A good system to scratch that Alien itch! Can't wait for the skirmish supplement.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Swatters - Large Scale Bug-Hunting Miniatures Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Galleys and Galleons
by michael n. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2015 10:48:08

I'm really having a lot of fun with this set of rules! It uses the Song of Blades and Heroes idea of Quality and Combat to great effect. It is a simple and fun alternative to most other rules dealing with naval warfare. It even has sea monsters!! The included campaign system feels a bit tacked on but the game itself is solid. Anyone who has played one or more of Ganesha Games rule sets will be able to play this game in no time. One thing I plan to change is a rule that if a successful attack is made but the die roll is odd, no damage is suffered. When we first played the game I missed that rule and we had a blast. When my mistake was pointed out to me by a fellow gamer, we then played with the rules as they were written. It was frustrating to line up a perfect raking full broadside on a ship and have it hit the target and have it bounce due to the die roll being an odd number. In most SoBaH rules the odd roll hits but has a different effect than an even rolled hit. I think I'll either have a "Enemy crew stunned" result that will cause the target ship to lose an action next turn to clear, or just allow the hit to count like I did originally in my ignorance. Those early games were fun and fast! That is the only reason this game gets 4 instead of 5 stars. It is still an excellent game and really fun to play!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Galleys and Galleons
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mighty Monsters - Giant Monster Combat Rules
by Ian M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2015 17:23:56

This game has been great fun and has sparked a Kaiju-minis buying frenzy in my minis group. Most of us are 26-30 in age and this game went over well with both the adults and my kids.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mighty Monsters - Giant Monster Combat Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Swatters - Large Scale Bug-Hunting Miniatures Rules
by Jason S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2015 13:05:26

Simple mechanics (but not TOO simple), coupled with game-altering decisions to be made each turn. The loss-of-turn mechanic when rolling too many failures during action generation is tense, and can make for tactical conundrums. Don't be fooled to think the game is only a "marine vs alien" affair; the game is touted to be usable for any type of army vs army, and it doesn't disappoint, as long as you're willing to do some unit creation work (points system given in the game works well). It's not very terrain intensive, but it can be if you really want. Gluing some "finger-holds" to the movement trays you create out of CDs can help with maneuver of the units without too many issues. Nice game, I highly recommend it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Swatters - Large Scale Bug-Hunting Miniatures Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Song of Wind and Water
by Benjamin N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2014 20:02:20

This supplement added a lot of good and useful new rules to the system. I really like the rules for standard bearer, again it lets me dust off more warhammer figures and shield wall. This was a good supplement and well worth the price, it made our campaign better and the fantastic terrain rules are actually fun.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Song of Wind and Water
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Song of Gold and Darkness
by Benjamin N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2014 19:57:46

This book does as promised adds new rules. There not bad but compared to Deeds and Glory they just don't add enough to really enhance the core rules. The dungeon scenarios are cool, I just don't feel that they fit the wargame genre.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Song of Gold and Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Song of Deeds and Glory
by Benjamin N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2014 19:48:00

The new rules introduced in this for the campaigns are really cool. I like how personalities and goons have separate tables for post battle aftermath. I really like the exploration phase, that is something that I feel really adds to the story of the campaign.
The raid scenarios are great, again not just kill all the other guys to win.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Song of Deeds and Glory
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Song of Blades and Heroes
by Benjamin N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2014 19:37:50

I bought this game hoping to use my warhammer figures and I was definitely not let down. I have an army of goblins and an army of dwarfs I dusted off and have had an awesome time. I really like that there are missions within in the book that are much more than kill all the other guys. As far as balance horde versus elite small armies its been pretty good. My goblins were rolling through our last campaign and our next one will be based off of those results. Also a friend of mine brought along his digimon figures which we made a warband around and had a great time with.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Song of Blades and Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Song of Blades and Heroes
by Steven S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2014 23:01:58

This is a great set of very simple rules with a fluid initiative system that really feels like a good skirmish. It is a simple, under-one-hour play time with solo-game playability was great. I tested it with one of my kids, and the others wanted to play too!


Definitely a recommended game system. It's easy to learn, easy to teach, and you can use your entire minis collection if you want to do so.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Song of Drums and Shakos
by Christos S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2013 08:43:14

I never thought I would play a Napoleonic period wargame until Song of Drums and Shakos! Amazing skirmish game. Full of variaty of troops, very fun to play, strategic and most important not expensive! I suggest it to everybody who likes wargames. Not only the Napoleonic period. You will not get dissapointed. Try it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Song of Drums and Shakos
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

BattleSworn - Bid for Victory!
by Russell C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2013 07:53:09

I knew nothing of Battlesworn until I saw it on the Wargames vault Top Ten. It immediately caught my eye because a) it was by Ganesha Games (and was designed by the same chap who wrote Song of Blades and Heroes) and b) the look and clean visual style of the actual document really jumped out at me. I picked up copy then and there and I’m really glad I did because this looks like it could be a great little game.


Like SOBH it is a fantasy skirmish game designed for about a dozen figure and quick play. In all other respects it owes nothing to the Song of Blades rules and there are a number of aspects that set it apart from other systems I have seen.


First the game uses a bidding system for initiative and combat. At the start of each turn, players bid for 'initiative' by secretly selecting a number between 1 and 6. The player who bids lowest has the initiative and can activate their forces, but the number of figures that can be activated is equal to their actual bid. The player who lost the bid may also activate figures, but they may only react to what the initiative player’s forces do and are similarly restricted in how many reactions they can take based on what they bid for initiative.


Melee combat also uses a bidding system, again by secretly selecting in a number between 1 and 6. The player that bid the lowest attacks first (combat is not simultaneous) but the number of dice they roll for their attack is equal to what they bid. If their opponent survives they may now attack with as many dice as they bid.


This bidding system looks like it could be a lot of fun as you try to out think (or out guess) your opponent and provides a nice risk versus reward style of play. The nature of the rules also keeps players fully engaged throughout the game with little or no ‘down time’. It also looks like it will play very fast.


Another feature that looks interesting is there are no set movement distances for figures; they can all move any distance the player wishes, but may only move in a straight line and must stop moving when they encounter either another figure, or a piece of terrain. Because of this the game recommends that there should be plenty of terrain on the table to prevent combatants from zooming across the battlefield willy-nilly and also creates ‘hotspots’ of action. This slightly abstract movement system means that in theory you can play on any size (or shape) of table with any scale of figure.


In addition there are no ‘stat lines’ for figures; each combatant simply has a Class (or multiple classes) that slightly alter the way they interact with the rules. This gives each figure a unique feel and role within the combat and by combining different classes you can actually get a lot of variety for your forces. The rules for the different classes are quite subtle and not too game breaking (for instance the Shooter class allows a figure to make a ranged attack at the nearest enemy in LOS, whereas the Sniper class may make ranged attacks against any target within LOS – near or far).


There’s more to the game of course (rules for magic, campaign play as well as advice on adapting the system to other genres including SF and historical play are provided). The rules themselves are not overly long or complicated and look like they will give a very interesting and tactical game. As for the rulebook itself, it is very nice; simply but attractively laid out with many colour illustrations that have a stylised ‘cut-out’ look. The pdf also looks great when printed out in booklet form.


In conclusion if any of the above intrigues or interests you, I heartily recommend you pick up a copy. Although some of the mechanics are slightly more abstract than normal for a table-top wargame, it still seems to feel like an actual miniatures wargame (rather than say a boardgame). I’ve yet to play a game myself so can’t really say for sure, but having read the rulebook a couple of times now, I certainly want to give this system a try because it looks like a heck of a lot of fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BattleSworn - Bid for Victory!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 46 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates