DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Children of Wyrms
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2016 02:44:12

Dragons drew me into Dungeons and Dragons and roleplaying in general. Hence, I have had to beg many DM’s and GM’s for the opportunity to roleplay half-dragons, wyrmlings and servants of wyrms. I have also created various options for PCs and NPCs alike for the games that I run. From both standpoints, this is a superb supplement. It adds additional flavor to the story of half-dragons, dragonkind and the fantasy world that includes them. Here are the items I especially liked:
• The content draws on the existing framework that is familiar for those with any 3.x or Pathfinder experience. However, (IMO) some of the options given are overpowered for 3.5, though they seem to mesh for a Pathfinder campaign at first glance.
• It offers an excellent template options for less-than-half-dragons (although focused on Silver, Gold and Brass, these can be easily drawn out to their relatives). The feats presented fill many voids appropriately. (That last opinion may be a confirmation bias, as they match closely with my personal attempts to expand upon half-dragons, etc.)
• The background information presents various complexities of the creation of half-dragons that can add excellent role-playing opportunities, plot hooks, and depth to your campaign/character background.
Well worth its cost ($6.50 at the time), though knowing what I now do, I would have been willing to pay twice that amount. Fantastic Gallery is now on my list of publishers to search on. Thank you for the great supplement; I will let you know of any balance issues I discover, which I expect will be few if any.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Children of Wyrms
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sisters of Rapture (Modern Path 2.0 Edition)
by R. A. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2016 16:04:58

I am extremely disappointed in this product. I have the other versions of Sisters of Rapture which are far superior. It would have been simple to include a character class table instead of having to look up the charisma class in another product. Then it refers to to the original Sisters of Rapture for feats. But my real problem is the fluff, the story of the Sisters through history. They just laid a superficial overlay on history. They just said the Sisters were involved here and here and here without any real significant effect.
The monothesistic religions are foes of the Sisters who supposedly hunted them, destroyed their temples, captured and executed senior sisters. Except for the fact the Sisters of Rapture have MAGIC. Some of them were high level casters. So how could the church with opposes and condems magic been able to defeat them by purely mundane means. In fact how could the church become a significant power. In real life they converted people away from the pagan relgions by various means (including force). However, why would you convert to a religion whose priests have no powers from one where the clerics can Cure wounds, Remove Disease and even Raise the dead. There is no explanation of any kind.
The Sisters of Rapture (Modern Path 2.0 Edition) just seems like a poor effort to capitalise on the original Sisters of Rapture. The Modern Path Edition is certainly not worth $12.00. It was a waste of my time and money.
In fact I want my money back.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Sisters of Rapture (Modern Path 2.0 Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks for your feedback. I\'m really sorry you aren\'t pleased with this product. If you\'d like to discuss further compensation, please email me at everwho@comcast.net. -Talon.
Sisters of Rapture (PFRPG Edition)
by Michael I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/01/2016 07:58:29

This is a great suppliment for the adult PFRPG player. Not only did it keep with most of concepts and ideas from the D20 version, but it also brought over one of my fondest D20 prestige classes, the sacred prostitute. I hope one day Fantastic Gallery will add more supliments such as this to their line.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sisters of Rapture (PFRPG Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Children of Wyrms
by Alex H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/15/2015 20:25:05

So you’re running a campaign. The story: the classic tale of liberating a ravaged kingdom from the claws of a tyrannical dragon overlord. Your players have spent weeks writing up backstories (and debating whether or they should try that cool orc bard concept or play it safe and go with the halfling’s Charisma bonus). They hand you their character sheets and notes. You smile. The stats are balanced. The writing is legible. There isn’t a single ninja to be found. Everything looks ready to go...until one of the players mentions their character is the dragon’s half-breed daughter, born from when the dragon bribed the knight originally hired to slay her into abandoning his quest by...dropping the S.


It’s one of the ultimate, nerd power fantasies, being half-dragon. Everybody into classic fantasy fiction has had it at least once in their lifetime, and each time we ask to play one, they’re almost universally shot down because:




  1. It’s too powerful to be a player race.




  2. The odds of a mighty, immortal, and terrifying creature like a dragon and a mortal falling in love is just too rare to have a population large enough to make such a race plausible.



  3. Anatomy. Nuff said.


Even with houserules and the classic wizard excuse, the idea of playing a half-dragon never feels right because dragons were never meant to be playable or interact heavily with mortals. But that hasn’t stopped people like Shane O’Connor and Talon Dunning from trying, and with “Children of Wyrms”, they’ve brought us a small step closer.


Because the book is advertised as a kit for playing as dragonblooded characters, I’ll be looking over how they work as a player race rather than NPCs or monsters (check out Thilo “Endzeitgeist” Graf’s excellent review for that). But enough talk, let’s see what we have to work with.


BIRTH AND BLOODLINE


Even more so than racial statistics, the biggest hurdle when using half-dragons is making them fit in universe. After all, “a wizard did it” only goes so far, and only covers “how” they come into being. What the logistics? The details? The ramifications? Well “Children of Wyrms” covers that, and while it doesn’t live up to its full potential or revolutionize the concept, it’s a good way to give these hybrids a place in your world beyond munchkins and “a wizard did it.” (“Uhuhuhuhuh” “hah-hah snort hah”)


Obviously, the book provides details on the biggest half-dragon question: pregnancy. Not a whole new ground is broken, half-dragon pregnancies have a longer gestation period and labor, as one would imagine, is long and very painful. After consulting a table to determine the length of the gestation period, chance to term, and duration of labor, the mother must make a Fortitude (DC 5) save every four hours of labor or take damage (success halves), with the damage and the DC increases with each roll, regardless of success. To grant some perspective, the labor for humans lasts 8 + 5d6 hours and takes 1d6 damage. Even if you got lucky and passed every throw, pray you have potions or your midwife’s a cleric, because you’re still looking at 135 damage on average! Obviously, hybrids of lower generations have shorter, less damaging births, but this definitely captures the essence of two species that were never meant to mix. But anyone can whip up some tables and assign damage and saves, did O’Connor and Dunning make sure to do more than that? Yes!


Aside from the birth logistics and the usual “reasons dragons go adventuring and falling in love outside their species” information, the book expands on existing half-dragon tropes, the most notable being the idea of dragon-hybrids past one generation. That’s right, O’Connor and Dunning not only cover half-dragons, but quarter-dragons and beyond! These different generations are represented by four templates: the “legacy half-dragon” (to distinguish them from the normal half-dragon template), the “quarter-dragon” (for grandchildren), the “greater draconic legacy”, and the “lesser draconic legacy.” But there’s a catch. Only dragons that can shapeshift as a supernatural ability can pass on their bloodline this way, due to dragon blood rapidly degenerating from the magic used to alter their form. Unfortunately, this means only bronze, gold, and silver dragons have this option. Metallics would be more likely to engage in these kinds of relationships than a chromatic, so it makes sense, but it’s still a missed opportunity (fingers crossed for a sequel). Additionally, each template comes with a sample character, each with different classes and backstories, but O’Connor and Dunning go the extra mile and use these backstories to tell a short, generational story arc. It’s not particularly deep, but it’s a good example of how to incorporate dragonblood into your world and makes for some good plot hooks. They even answer the cliche of the dragon parent always being the father. Simply put, female dragons have an instinctual aversion to “carrying another species’ child.” Additionally, should she wind up impregnated by one and changes shape, any unborn offspring and fertilized eggs are destroyed. Wow. Dark.


Unfortunately, the book never really gets into the details of half-dragon life. What about the struggle of raising a hybrid child, or trying to keep their heritage a secret? How would they interact with members of other races? How would other dragons view them? What about the child growing up? What about the inevitable meeting with the in-laws and other awkward family gatherings!? For all the love put into justifying their existence and fleshing out the little details, it’s actually surprising (and disappointing) this was left out. Additionally, they don’t provide any kind of side-effects or post-labor repercussions. The book encourages GMs to come up with their own, but some examples would’ve been nice. Despite this, we get some interesting concepts and enough details to make half-dragons feel like they don’t exist in a vacuum.


But what about playing as one?


THE RACE(S)


Aside from carving out a place in your world, the biggest hurdle with half-dragons is designing racial traits that capture the power of their mystical progenitor while still keeping it from utterly breaking the game. Countless designers have tried, and failed spectacularly, and “Children of Wyrms” has, unfortunately, become the latest addition to that pile.


As mentioned earlier, the book provides four templates, representing a different generation of dragonblood. The legacy half-dragon template, the closest generation, changes the creature’s type to dragon, grants a +4 natural armor bonus, darkvision 60, low-light vision, immunity to sleep, paralysis, and the energy of their dragon parent’s breath weapon, a fly speed equal to twice their base speed with average maneuverability, two claw attacks, a bite attack, a breath weapon usable once per day, and a choice of one of three “Draconic Inheritance” abilities derived from their dragon parent (which shares the breath weapon’s uses per day interestingly). The character also receives a whopping +8 Strength, +6 Constitution, and +2 Intelligence and Charisma, and Draconic as a bonus language. Already it’s extremely overpowered, but because it’s a template, it stacks with the base creature’s abilities! The other templates grant the same abilities, albeit fewer or weaker versions, but all of them are still far too strong for PC race without some tweaking.


The book also provides some feats and a few magic items, but their benefits are fairly standard or don’t really bring anything new to the table. The only other piece worth mentioning are some rules for playing legacy half-dragon sorcerers, which basically amounts to forcing the player to select the same type of dragon as their ancestor, and damage and statistics don’t stack.


CLOSING


The half-dragon has been a staple of fantasy fiction for years, and playing one has been every gamer’s dream at one point or another. “Children of Wyrms” provides some good ways to integrate the eponymous race into your game, but due to their grossly high stats, it seems playing one will continue to remain a dream.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Children of Wyrms
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sisters of Rapture (PFRPG Edition)
by Jason D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2013 01:37:19

This is an excellent product. The art and layout are excellent, the concept is brilliant and well fleshed-out. I look forward to seeing more products like this in the future, whether of "mature" content or not.


One quibble: did I miss the CR for the half-nymph? I don't see one in the stat block.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sisters of Rapture (PFRPG Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Hi there. Sorry for the extreme lateness in this reply, but DriveThru doesn\'t alert me when reviews or discussions are posted and I just now spotted your question. The Half-Nymph template doesn\'t technically bear a CR increase, but, with a few years\' perspective since the book was converted to Pathfinder, I now see that that was likely a mistake on our part. In the OGL 3.5 edition, the half-nymph has a level-adjustment of +2. Based on that, I would say that the PFRPG version should have a CR adjustment of at least +2. A +3 is likely justifiable, should a GM be on the more sensitive side when it comes to applying templates to PCs. Like most templates with CR adjustments, this one\'s effectiveness as a true alteration of your character\'s CR diminishes as you level. For instance, DR 5/cold-iron is a lot more meaningful at 1st level than it is at 15th. A crafty GM could adjust the template so that it grows with the character. Of course the ability score increases are useful throughout your character\'s life and are, frankly, the real meat of the template. Thanks for giving our book a try! I hope you\'ve enjoyed it. -Talon Dunning
Children of Wyrms
by Kenneth A. C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2012 09:05:00

Dragons are a part of most fantasy settings, or at least, most of my fantasy settings! I love dragons and have played a Dragon Disciple more than once, they are just damn awesome. So when I saw this book I knew that I just had to buy it, if for nothing else then to learn something new about dragons and their children.


So, did I learn anything? Was there anything within these pages that I could actually use?


The simple answer is... yes, but it was not what I expecting. I had hoped that this would be a book useful for players, but since all the templates within increases a creature's CR (from +3 to +1), they wont really be useable for players starting a campaign at 1st level. Sure, you could easily use these if starting a higher level campaign, but I tend to start games at 1st level. I was also hoping to learn a bit more about life as a wyrm child, but the book actually has very little of this type of information and is mostly focused around the four different draconic legacy templates (legacy half-dragon, quarter-dragon, greater draconic legacy and lesser draconic legacy). Don't get me wrong, these templates are all varied and useful, especially to GMs and you could certainly build a campaign around these, imagine if all the PCs start as one of these?


Aside from the templates, you'll also find a couple of NPCs that use the templates (CR 7-13), a few new feats (logical, but nothing spectacular), 3 new magic items (solid and useful), and some optional rules for draconic sorcerers.


I liked the last part of the book the best, which describes the problems of carrying a wyrm child to term. It's just as dangerous as it sounds, especially if you are a halfling! This is the type of information I was hoping to get more of.


All in all, a nice book with spectacular artwork and probably the most beautiful layout that I've seen in any 3PP book (not counting most Open Design books). However, I would have loved more information about how society view these children, how their presence could form a setting or maybe just a campaign, and overall, how to introduce them into the game. Had the designers presented a playable race for players wanting to introduce one of these into a 1st level party, that would have been perfect.


For the price, I actually don't think you get all that much information, so I am going to settle on a 3.5 star verdict, rounded down to 3. A nice book, but more beautiful than it is insightful.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Children of Wyrms
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks for the review! You make some valid points, and the CR-adjustment thing seems to be a sticking point with most readers. I would have loved to have left them off entirely (especially since all of this was born out of trying to find a way to play a "draconic legacy" concept without incurring a CR adjustment), but I'm afraid they were just unavoidable. The existence of the original half-dragon template was the true hurdle I had to face as that set the precedent for everything I did in this book, and it has a CR adjustment. Now, that being said, there are ways to play a creature with a CR adjustment at first level, at least CR+1. Paizo addresses some of these in a few different products, most directly, "Bastards of Erebus," the first module in the Council of Thieves adventure path. These include starting the rest of the party at a higher level so the CRs match, giving them better magic items and, my personal favorite, denying the CR-adjusted character the ability to take traits (essentially treating the template as his traits). That's a bit harder with the higher CR templates, I'll admit, but it helps. Another way to do it would be to take all the special abilities of a particular template, including the wings and breath weapons that the higher CR templates get automatically, and treat them all as individual Traits, allowing the player to pick two at character creation. The closer the character is to his draconic ancestor, the larger the pool of abilities he has to choose from, but he still only gets two. Although this method ends up somewhat equalizing the Draconic Legacy generations, eliminating the "fading power" effect I was going for, it should go pretty far towards creating a somewhat balanced character at 1st level. Thanks for giving our book a try! I hope you can find some use for it in your games! -Talon Dunning/Team Fantastic Gallery
Children of Wyrms
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/10/2012 03:27:06

This pdf is 32 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page blank inside of front cover, 1 page ToC, 1 page back cover, 1 page blank inside the back cover, 1 page SRD and 1 page advertisement, leaving 25 pages of content, so let's check out this offering, shall we?


We all know that dragons can produce offspring and that half-dragons exist as well as that many a sorceror draws his power from his lineage. But what in-between? How does the transition from clearly draconic being to dormant power happen? This pdf kicks in with a discussion of exactly that by introducing the term "legacy" and discussing the transition from 1st generation legacy half-dragon to draconic legacy sorcerors of up to the 30th generation.


Starting at the beginning, the first complex template we get is for the legacy half-dragon (CR +3), which includes natural attacks for 3 sizes and 10 different draconic inheritances. Draconic inheritances include breath weapons (which are always part of the package) and 3 different sample legacies (bronze, silver and gold) à 3 recommended abilities that include luck, faster flight and similar gifts. A CR 7 sample character is included to illustrate the application of the template.


After that, we get the Quarter-Dragon (CR+2) complex template, again with natural attacks by size and 5 draconic inheritance options, again including breath weapons and 3 inheritances we already know from the half-dragon. However, the quarter-dragon must use an inheritance to gain access to a breath-weapon. Wings aren't included in the package either and thus one inheritance can gain access to them. There's a formatting glitch that reads "half-dragon" instead of "quarter-dragon" in the breath-weapon entry. We get another sample character, this time a rather complex one - a CR 13 quarter-dragon ninja! COOL!


One step further down the lineage, the greater draconic legacy creature-template adds +1 to the CR (minimum 2) and gains either a breath weapon, or one of 3 possible draconic inheritances, which we at this point already know from the other templates. There's a formatting glitch that reads "half-dragon" instead of "greater draconic legacy creature" in the breath-weapon entry. Greater draconic legacy creatures don't get a bite, but only claw attacks. We get a sample NPC at Cr 10 this time a sorceress.


Finally, there's the lesser draconic creature (CR +1, minimum 1), which can't get access to breath weapons, but to one of 3 draconic inheritances and natural claws as weapons. Again, we get a sample character, this time a rogue at CR 8.


Finally, there a kind of minor template, the draconic legacy sorceror - essentially, the template/page describes how sorcerors of draconic bloodlines and the templates in this book interact and how being a half-dragon AND a draconic bloodline sorceror enhances the power granted by one's lineage.


We also get 6 feats, ranging from being more agile flyers to gaining an elemental aura, additional draconic inheritances, additional breath-weapon uses and a 1st-level feat that bumps you up one step on your lineage as well as the ability to add energy damage to your weapon. We also get 6 sample traits that include improved natural healing and graceful aging.


On the magic item-side, we get a lesser hat of disguise, the hat of racial purity, that disguises one part of your lineage. The Staff of the Dragon is an ok staff with thematically-linked powers and the ring of draconic presence can frighten foes.


Finally, we get an optional one-page table on which characters generated with this pdf can roll d%s to determine cosmetic features that set the character apart like a snout, vestigial wings etc.


Part 2 of the pdf is rather interesting - it includes information on pregnancy with draconic children of all varieties as well as rules for the rather difficult birth and labor. While only a short section, it comes with a variety of tables for the different kinds of draconic beings introduced in this book and is the most innovative and, in my opinion, cool and unique chapter of the pdf.


Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are very good - I only noticed one minor formatting glitch, as mentioned in the review. The pdf is extensively bookmarked and comes with an artless, printer-friendly additional version. Art and layout are a good cue - The layout of this book adheres to a 2-column standard and is STUNNING. Beautiful. Glorious. And the same holds true for the GORGEOUS artworks. The cover is indeed just as beautiful as the interior artwork - only 2 pieces, on page 23 and 24 fall short of a quality that could be found in a paizo-publication. The artists Jon Hodgson, Talon Dunning, Jonathan Kaufman, Matt Manard and Lorraine Schleter did a great job. The content per se is neat, but before I get into details, I'll have to come clear. I don't like half-dragons. I consider them overdone, predictable and a dilution of draconic awesomeness, especially since the 3.5-days.
This pdf thus has a hard standing with me and addresses at least some of my gripes with half-dragons, namely that they seemed to exist in a vacuum - no-one knew how they gestated, how their blood dilutes etc. and this pdf acts as a comprehensive guide that adds variety to them. The option to scale them and their generational special features are rather nice, as they add to their variability. The second chapter is especially worth a read. However, not all is perfect in this supplement: My first gripe is that only the gold, silver and bronze-bloodlines are covered. While I do realize that more would have expanded the book, that's exactly what this one would need: Expansion. Evil bloodlines for example. More options for draconic inheritances and coverage of at least the basic kinds of dragons (or at least all the good ones in this and all the evil ones in a companion pdf) would have been neat.


My second gripe with this pdf is that there is no racial option that truly caters to draconic player characters, as all of the templates add at least 1 to the CR. While depending on the player's options you use this might not necessarily upset your game, the options presented herein are more powerful than standard-races. That means players looking for a PFRPG-variant of the Dragonborn won't find one in these pages, which is a huge pity, as I think that the potential to create such a being is definitely here and within the capabilities of authors Talon Dunning and Shane O'Connor. If you don't like Half-Dragons, this pdf will probably not change that. What it does, though, is put them into a context within the overall setting and thus make them less vacuous. Even better, the quality of the overall production and the price make this a rather interesting book to make the by-now predictable half-dragon more versatile. I fully expected to despise the book personally and approached it on my reviewer-perspective. Surprisingly, I did enjoy what I finally read and consider this pdf a worthwhile investment for DMs seeking to spice up draconic characters in their game. If the pdf was longer and featured all draconic bloodlines and more inheritances (perhaps even unique ones for different age-categories) to choose from, I'd immediately score this 5 stars. As written, I still consider this book a good resource with afore-mentioned minor shortcomings, thus my final verdict will be 4 stars.


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Thanks so much for your honest review! I'm very glad to have been able to "win you over," so to speak, despite your inherent dislike of the half-dragons in d20. While I myself have always loved the idea of half-dragon, I too have found the templates lacking in sophistication and detail, which was, ultimately, the genesis of this project. I would have liked to have expanded on the concept myself, and included all of the draconic types, both chromatic and metallic, but the entire concept was based on the fact that only dragons who can naturally shape-change can produce legacy bloodlines, and that whittled the list down to only three types, gold, silver and bronze. None of the other standard dragons in the Bestiary have that ability and must use external magic (polymorph spells and the like) to shape-chage. While they can certainly produce half-dragons this way, I decided that such half-dragons should be created with the standard template in the Bestiary, as opposed to the ones found here. My intention was to allow the standard half-dragon template to exist alongside the legacy half-dragon instead of overwriting it entirely. The Legacy Half-Dragon is intended to be more pure, because they were created "naturally," which is why they pass on their physical traits for many generations and "standard" half-dragons don't (which explains why we haven't seen their offspring before). But of course, that's all MY particular take on it. An enterprising GM with a taste for creating a other draconic legacy bloodlines could easily modify the templates in this book to fit, say, a red legacy by substituting gold, silver or bronze draconic inheritances with the abilities of red dragons as listed in the Bestiary. Simply choose the three abilities you least mind you PCs having access to and them let them choose their inheritance. For the subsequent templates, simply drop one of the three options with each, starting with the most powerful. Otherwise, the templates can apply across the draconic spectrum as written. In this case, the Legacy Half-Dragon template should likely supersede the standard half-dragon template in order to keep the feel of the loss of power through the successive generations (Cr+3 to Cr+2 to CR+1). I also sympathize with your wish to have had a "dragonborn" race without any CR adjustment, but, unfortunately, that sort of thing would have been outside the scope of the book's theme (the family bloodline of a dragon/humanoid mating). Dragonborn in 4e are, of course, a full race that breeds true among themselves and while having such a thing in Pathfinder would, indeed, be awesome, they wouldn't tie into a whole "draconic legacy" thing, so we weren't able to include such in this book. Doing so would have broadened the focus of the book and made it more akin to WOtC's "Draconomicon" or "Races of the Dragon," both fine supplements, but much larger projects than we were looking to take on here. Perhaps a future supplement can tackle the idea of a true "dragonborn" race! ;-) Anyway, I hope that gives you a bit of insight as to why we made certain decisions. Thanks again for your review and I hope you will enjoy CHILDREN OF WYRMS! -Talon Dunning/Team Fantastic Gallery
UPDATE: We have corrected the mistakes mentioned in this review. Thanks to Endzeitgeist for pointing them out!
Sisters of Rapture: Character Sheet (PFRPG Edition)
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/09/2012 10:20:33

A very functional and very attractive sheet. But then again I don't expect anything less than that from FG since I have been using a number of there free character sheets.
This one is perfect for use with Sisters of Rapture (of course) but I have been using it for a number of female characters even if they are not using the SoR rules. It is something nice to set them apart (and maybe even a little above) the others.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sisters of Rapture: Character Sheet (PFRPG Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Children of Wyrms
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/09/2012 08:25:46

My son loves dragons. One of the things he loved the most about D&D4 was the ability to play a Dragonborn. But we didn't get to play that much D&D4, he does get to play a lot of Pathfinder. So Children of Wyrms is a great product.


Let's start with the obvious. You get to play half-dragons, quarter-dragons and dragon-bloodied (not their word) characters. So dragon plus some other race. The details for the race creation is detailed. The bonuses are detailed as expected and follow from the Pathfinder source. So nothing is unexpected here. All four "races" are detailed and special attention is give to Draconic Sorcerers.
Plenty of feats are included as are magic items.
For the old-schooler there is even a table of random physical traits varying by generation.
Part 2 deals with the "Birds and the Bees" aspect of dragons and birth. It is assumed for the most part that the father is dragon and the female is humanoid. I suppose the reverse does not pose as many problems for a dragon female.


The book is only 30+ pages, but packs it full.


The artwork and layout is top notch, what I have come to expect from FG actually. And works as good companion piece to Sisters of Rapture. I am guessing from the point of view of both books the Sisters spend a lot time with dragons.


I am not 100% sure I'll use the entire book. But I do plan to use the feats next time my son's "3.x Dragonborn" levels up and it really has a lot of potential.


My only con in this book? No rules for playing 1/2 Chromatic dragons. Not that I can't figure it out from all of this, but the assumption here is that only good dragons do this. I get that and I understand where the authors are coming from, but the option would have been nice.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Children of Wyrms
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks so much for your review! I hope that you and your son continue to enjoy the book book! The reason for the lack of chromatics (or any metallic other than gold, silver or bronze) is explained in greater detail in my reply to another review on this page, but it boils down to the fact that the entire concept is one of "natural" shape-changing abilities vs. "magical polymorphing." Only gold, silver and bronze dragons gain shape changing as an inherent ability and, thus, are the only dragons able to create the draconic legacies found in the book. All other dragons must use external spell-casting to change shape and any offspring they create while under such a spell should be a "standard" half-dragon as found in the Pathfinder Bestiary. That was a thematic choice I made and I thought it was an important one. As you say, though, the templates can easily be modified to include al types of dragons should an enterprising GM wish to include them in the fun as well. As for female dragons birthing legacy half-dragons, this can happen, but is much more rare, since they must remain in their humanoid form for the duration of their pregnancy. Since dragons are naturally egg-layers, most female dragons would find the process of mammalian birth to be...distasteful, at best. Those that do go through with it, though, would find that the chance of bringing the child to term is automatically increased to 99%, regardless of the race their mimicking. She is still in a humanoid form, however, and still not physically designed to birth a scaly baby with horns, fins and other pointy bits, so she still has the same risk of sustaining massive damage during the birthing process, however, her inherent draconic ability scores and other statistics, which she keeps even as a humanoid, would apply, making the process a lot more survivable. Thanks again for the kind words! -Talon Dunning/Team Fantastic Gallery
Sisters of Rapture (PFRPG Edition)
by Martin S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2011 12:39:27

Ive read through this product and it was well done. The layout is awesome and makes it easy to read. Everything is layed out in a perfect system. The pictures are awesome and coloring is beautiful. I like this product and I hope that T.Catt and gang put more products in the near future.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sisters of Rapture (PFRPG Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks for the review! You'll be happy to know that T.Catt & Co. are, indeed, working on two supplements for Sisters of Rapture: a sexy monster manual called "Beauties & Beasts" and a guide to love goddesses called "The Book of Divine Love." Since we all work on these books in our spare time, we don't have a regular production schedule and no way to tell exactly when they'll be out, but we're hoping to have Beauties & Beasts out by the end of summer 2012 and the BoDL by Christmas. We'll see how it goes! Both should be available in both PDF and PoD versions! -Team Fantastic Gallery
Sisters of Rapture: Rapturous Factions Guide
by Adam P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/26/2011 16:30:37

I always wondered how the goddess of love would handle fighting evil. This is definitely an intriguing sourcebook and can add some spice to a campaign :) As a suggestion you may want to use the Chain mail Bikini rules with this as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sisters of Rapture: Rapturous Factions Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks for the review! This is a supplement to the PFRPG version of Sisters of Rapture, which you can find on our page, which is, indeed, about how worshippers of the goddesses of love fight evil. It could definitely be used outside of that product, however, as a standalone addition to any Pathfinder game. Thanks for giving it a try!
Sisters of Rapture (OGL Edition)
by Kenneth W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/30/2011 01:51:25

It's added an interesting and certainly enjoyable twist to my groups game. Thank you very much.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sisters of Rapture (OGL Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Sensitive (Complete Editions) [BUNDLE]
by Ronald L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2010 23:43:19

Talon Dunning, Ravenloft artist extraordinaire, has released a pdf with a cool new class: The Sensitive.


Rules are provided for 3.5, Pathfinder, and d20 Modern. You can buy them separately, but I recommend getting the "bundle" with all of them in it, since each one contains a different NPC example, and all three are excellent characters.


Perfect for a Ravenloft game, the "seance" power especially fills a niche that's been missing in game terms.


And I may use all three of the NPCs in my campaign. (even the Modern guy. shouldn't be too hard to retrofit. I like that he's "Tough" but "Sensitive". makes me giggle.)


Anyway, everyone go buy these!



  • Gonzoron of the Fraternity of Shadows



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sensitive (Complete Editions) [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Sensitive (Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Edition)
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/29/2010 21:33:26

The Sensitive: a ghostly prestige class for your gothic horror fantasy game -Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Edition- is a 7-page PDF (four pages if you remove the cover, credits and OGL page) for the Pathfinder RPG written by Talon Dunning and published by Fantastic Gallery.


The layout is a standard two-column with clear charts. The art is public domain 19th century black and white illustrations and the layout is attractive and though the background -while fitting the mood- makes it less easy to read. However, a clean text only file is also provided.


The Sensitive’s powers are triggered by a traumatic encounter with a ghost or similar spectral being. The Sensitive gains the ability to sense emotional echoes and spirits and later to disrupt and control spirits. It is a beautifully thematic set of powers and very focused on dealing with ghosts and spirits.


An example Sensitive, Madame Dumont, is included and she a good character with several potential plot hooks (though it would have been helpful to have had her husband Lord Jacob Dumont statted out as well).


While the concept of the class and its powers are superb, they are very narrow. My concern in a campaign would be that the Sensitive prestige class is too much about their interaction with the spirit world. It seems they should have access to a slightly broad set of additional skills, perhaps some increase to caster level (as spellcasters seem most likely to take this path). A few supporting feats, magic items and plot hooks would all have been welcome.


The Sensitive prestige class is very well written and it is perfect for a gothic horror campaign but may prove difficult to fit into other sorts of game.


Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Sensitive (Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sisters of Rapture (OGL Edition)
by RAISTLIN W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2010 11:34:41

I will admit, I had been hoping for something a little less ... fanservicey ... and more a straight-up treatment of an alternative cleric class dedicated to a more generalized idea of pleasure and love as opposed to just orgasm.


That said ... I'm a pretty rabid feminist. It's not all that hard to offend me. But the only things in this book that made me raise an annoyed eyebrow were a single class ability's "you must be naked or scantily clad to use this power" and the Pleasure Ooze monster. The rest was ... tasteful. I was shocked.


While this material wasn't what I was looking for, it's a well-illustrated, high production value, high quality book for those looking to add a very explicit choice to their class selection.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sisters of Rapture (OGL Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 21 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates