DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Career Book 1
by Daniel C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/23/2016 18:22:10

Picked up this along with a few other Spica books. I really thought they did a great job with the new careers and felt they offered some fun shifts for players without becoming munchkinish. I loved the d66 charts as well. I thought the layout was nice, the information was presented clearly and was easy to use. In fact the only thing I didn't like was having to deside which of the new careers to play first. LOL

I am glad I bought this book and will be picking up the 2nd and 3rd books as well for my collection. I would recomend this for any GM or player looking to try some new careers without ruining th egame balance.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Career Book 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Through the Veil Part 1
by David H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2016 03:21:43

Downloaded all the other parts of this adventure. Contains a lot of interesting material.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Through the Veil Part 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Through the Veil Part 9
by Jon D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2016 01:50:04

The whole series has a refreshing set, it's not space aliens - or pirates and bang, it is just surviving in space and a lot of roleplaying opportunities. Something I was looking for a long time!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Through the Veil Part 9
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Through the Veil Part 1
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/15/2015 11:24:24

This is, ultimately, just nowhere near interesting enough to justify its length.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Through the Veil Part 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Outer Veil
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/15/2015 14:22:14

How do we go from moon landings and space probes to a Galaxy spanning Empire in only a few thousand years? How did this all start?

Outer Veil is a great prequel to the Traveller universe. It is the beginning of man's "conquest of the stars." There are colonies in space, there are space stations and there are Jump/Warp speed craft.

So many have detailed the setting, so instead of adding to that... here's my take.

Outer Veil seems to offer a logical step to early human colonization of space... the first 100 years or so. With the advent of Jump technology, humanity can now reach the nearest star systems in less than 100 years or more... and of course, with the ability to travel, comes the first desire to PROFIT... and it seems only natural that the corporations would be the first to exploit the technology to get their hands on the materials available from far away colonies. Which leads to competition... which leads to fights.

Bad news is... the investment is hard to make pay off... so eventually, economic upheaval ensues, then civil war.

This is just a taste of the world of 2159... well thought out... and unlike others who have made games similar to this, this one is done without the need to make up a political screed at the same time.

The background is presented without editorializing... it is written as if observed dispassionately, IE "Here's how everything went down..."

And it is all plausible...

This is Traveller... without the Empire... without Jump 6... and without aliens (kind of a shame, given the intense development of the alien cultures of the Traveller universe... but I digress...) There are alien ruins, abandoned colonies and a plethora of good Science Fiction tropes waiting to be explored.

If you liked Firefly/Serenity... this one is for you... here's the future... not everyone living in gleaming cities, but a future where you have the gleaming cities, and the frontier of old. Access to the technology does not mean everyone uses it. Farms on frontier worlds may be plowed with tractors... but they will not necessarily have the latest and greatest tech.

So, here come your characters... what do you want to do? Want to smuggle high tech cargos? Want to explore strange new worlds, and spelunk alien ruins? Want to be a Seccessionist? It's all here. And it is compatible with the Traveller universe.

Want to take your Merchant Prince character from Traveller and transplant him? Easy. A few tweaks and BOOM welcome to 2159.

There are some changes, and they are well summed up in the Outer Veil main book. Look no further than this main book to get started... everything is here.

Better... The authors have PROVIDED (thru drivethrurpg) a 10 part introduction scenario.

This is good, crunchy material. If Traveller isn't your game... no worries.... this material can very easily be converted to any system, thanks to the authors' attention to detail...

The Megacorporations, the "Federation," and the universe are detailed in such a way as to be easily transferable.

You KNOW you want it.

This is an OUTSTANDING product... easily worth the $14.99 cost.

Are you ready to "boldly go..."



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Outer Veil
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Field Manual
by Wayne Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2015 11:25:05

A handy resource detailing more of the ins & outs of mercenary life and motivations. Regardless of what flavour of Traveller you're running, the Field Manual will help make your merc PCs & NPCs much more than gun-toting thugs or bad-ass veterans.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Field Manual
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Allies, Contacts, Enemies & Rivals
by Wayne Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2015 10:42:53

This is a really good collection of ready-made, fully fleshed-out NPCs. Specific to Mongoose Traveller, it adapts easily to other variants. Similarly, it is your prerogative as a GM to tone down or flesh out character specifics, but the NPCs presented have enough information to give them personalities, motives, and good descriptions.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Allies, Contacts, Enemies & Rivals
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Wreck of the Tereshkova
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2014 16:24:12

As our heroes investigate the crashed vessel, a mystifying sight reveals its bizarre and horrible fate. Well-developed detail should provide a rich short-run experience. The location may take some thought to fit in to particular settings.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Wreck of the Tereshkova
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

System Book 2: Xibalba
by Kaden S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/06/2014 18:32:42

This is an interesting and story-inspiring supplement that lays down the background for interesting adventures of different types. I was glad that it didn't have too many specific sites in it but did the work of defining a bleak and foreboding environment that can be used for many purposes. As a pdf it has graphics that can be viewed at zoom or displayed for players. Overall I enjoyed this supplement for the good balance between the book providing information, and inspiring me to fill in any blanks.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
System Book 2: Xibalba
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Through the Veil Part 8
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/29/2014 03:38:43

This episode feels a little rushed, leaving details for the referee to develop, but the dilemma is real.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Through the Veil Part 8
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Through the Veil Part 6
by Robert M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/09/2013 17:37:03

Excellent continuation of the 'Through the Veil' series. My players seem to really enjoy it and the episode's fleshed out so that I don't have to do tons of work, yet I still get to customize the adventure enough to make it fit in with my own campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Through the Veil Part 6
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Astrogator's Map Pack
by allen c. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/08/2013 17:31:12

Downloaded last week, and i am already customizing a sector. It would have been more useful to include a sheet for each subsector to include planetary data, but a spreadsheet will work well enough for that.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Astrogator's Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Through the Veil Part 2
by arthur p. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/30/2013 08:17:23

THAT WAS AMAZING! I mean, wow. Adventure, violence, danger ...

... opportunities for even the most gun-crazy, psychopathic group of adventurers to let off all the steam they might ever want to

... opportunities for the most thoughtful group to avoid most of the worst of the trouble

And none of it seemed like a railroad or contrived.

I loved it! John Wayne would approve.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Through the Veil Part 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Through the Veil Part 3
by arthur p. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/30/2013 08:15:11

Interesting. An all-is-not-as-it-seems adventure.

... and a moral choice. ... and an emotional drama sub-plot ... and lots of hints

Overall, a great thinking man's adventure and a chance to be a Big Damn Hero.

I like it, but a more shoot them up group might find it a little slow ... although a group making all-the-wrong-moves could find enough action to turn anyone pale (nothing like going to war with the marines to get your blood flowing).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Through the Veil Part 3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Through the Veil Part 4
by arthur p. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/30/2013 08:05:54

The fourth part of the series reminds us that sometimes a landing is just a landing, sometimes a short stopover to refuel is just a short stopover to refuel, and sometimes a routine action ... is anything but routine. As part of an 'Epic Series', it makes sense that not every world you stop at is a struggle to survive. Sometimes life is about just getting through the normal moments.

The shortest installment so far, I am not quite sure how I feel about this adventure. I loved the way it turned a typically routine action into a white knuckled struggle to survive, and played on primal fears of being alone in the dark when something is just not quite right. I felt a little of that mixed relief and disappointment when you discover that the 'monster' in your closet is really just a sweater. The overall adventure series probably needed a little breather between life and death decision adventures, without getting dull, so I liked it overall.

I gave this 4 out of 5 stars because I thought that the second world, Epsilon Cygnii, needed just a little more. It hints that there is a vast unexplored world waiting for the crew to get out there and explore, pushing the boundaries of exploration, but then leaves all of the work of even coming up with ideas to the referee. Like a Sunday without the whipped cream and cherry, it just needed a few short suggestions to really finish off the adventure.

Overall, a great product with lots to offer a referee, both as an adventure and as inspiration for your own adventures.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Through the Veil Part 4
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 47 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates