DriveThruRPG.com
Umschauen
 Verlagsinfos











Zurück
Andere Kommentare über diesen Verlag:
Sundered Skies - Setting Book
von Richard W. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 05/02/2018 08:31:38

Underrated and frequently overlooked, in my opinion Sundered Skies is still one of the best Plot Point campaigns for Savage Worlds, with a lot of twists and surprises.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Sundered Skies - Setting Book
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Hellfrost Map Sheets
von David B. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 01/09/2018 22:12:46

Hoooooooly mackerel this map is huge. Like Skyrim-level, enormously, massively, mind-bogglingly huge.

Unlike most Savage Worlds settings, where the authors flesh out a "lite" framework which constitutes about 40 pages or so, and a plot point campaign & some savage tales, Triple Ace Games instead dived deep to create a super-rich setting that I dare say rivals the greats like Tolkien or GRRM. And where else but in Savage Worlds can you support 8 distinct magicial styles? (And that's if you don't seperately count each cleric for the two dozen gods in the pantheon. Well, maybe you can support 8 magic styles elegantly with FATE but I like SW's crunch-lite rules more.)

Where was I? Oh yes: this map. This beautifully illustrated, high-resolution, 45-page-plus-a-legend map. Clearly this was a labour of love, and does it ever show. Print it (or get it shipped to you), mount it on your wall, and prepare to marvel at the esquisite details of every trade route, mountain pass, forgotten ruin or flyspeck villiage. Every feature on the map is simply begging to attach the weight of history - either of your own devising, or that in the Atlas of the Frozen North & the Gazetteer.

This clearly is a monument, and it's oh-so very pretty.

Strap on a pair of boots, say a prayer to Freo the Voyager, and get yourself lost. May you find glory in the Fimbulvinter.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Hellfrost Map Sheets
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Sundered Skies - Setting Book
von David D. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 12/07/2017 13:00:11

Magitech High Fantasy

The setting is well outlined but rarely gets beyond 'broad strokes'. Many original and evocative ideas are to be found, few are developed very far.

Races include fully sapient baby-dragons (Drakin), plant-based Elves, steampunk Dwarfs, sky-viking Orcs, mutant Goblins (Glowborn), and anthrophomorphic animals enslaved by the Elves (Wildlings)

The setting itself is a shattered world of sky sialnds floating between an icy glacier and a raging inferno. Sky ships navigate this oddly glowing world in search of salvage, and commerce. Sadly many of the physical laws of the world are based on game balance rather than cinematic appeal or intuition (sky ships cannot approach sky islands from the top or bottom, only from the edges for example)

The religion is fairly detailed and involved avatars still walking amongst mortals in the world. But it reads like a bad soap opera or over the top anime. The gods come across more as reckless and childish superhumans than divine personifications.

Half of the book is dedicated to a plot point campaign. This is the story the setting was designed to tell. Sadly it is both a hard railroad and poorly written. Few options are presented besides 'run screaming into combat' and there's not enough detail to support any other play style. The plot itself makes little sense, follows no logical train, build no momentum. It's just a long series of combat encounters with the vaguest excuse as to why a fight is needed. Indeed sometimes I have no idea why the author believes a scenario would ever lead to combat. He just types 'when the fight begins...' leaving me asking 'what fight? why?'

There is not much art in the book. What is there is full color but of variable quality. the PDF is bookmarked.

The setting itself likely deserves a 3/5. Good ideas, just not enough detail. Even the hokey 'religion' can't drag it down too far. The plot point campaign is 1/5. At times it makes no sense and cannot be followed even after several re-readings.



Wertung:
[2 von 5 Sternen!]
Sundered Skies - Setting Book
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Savage Worlds Handbook: Perilous Places & Serious Situations
von Justin S. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 10/26/2017 09:41:36

This remains my go-to book when I want to run an exciting scene in Savage Worlds. Whether you have an idea in mind for something exciting or are looking for ideas, this book has it all.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Savage Worlds Handbook: Perilous Places & Serious Situations
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Hellfrost: Rassilon Expansion
von Tom P. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 09/23/2017 18:04:31

Useful material for Hellfrost. Well worth the PDF price.



Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
Hellfrost: Rassilon Expansion
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Hellfrost Action Deck
von Jerry W. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 09/22/2017 11:40:47

Good artwork on the cards, the face cards are the best. All the cards (except deuces) have a rune block, which is similar to anadventure deck. There are no rules for it, but you can make up house rules, or ignore it entirely.

Like many card decks when new, this one is stiff. You will need to shuffle and flex them a bit to loosen the deck a bit.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Hellfrost Action Deck
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Hellfrost: Matters of Faith Standard Edition
von Ryan P. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 08/27/2017 14:51:46

After the core books, this book is pretty important if you want to run a campaign in Rassilon. If you don't want to do a lot of work filling in the gaps about the religious festivals (and there are a lot of them), how clerics are trained, what gods the bad guys worship, the names and rituals of a whack of lesser gods or what the Abyss is like, this book is for you. Wiggy has done a great job here and I'd highly recommend this book considering how important religion and the gods are in Rassilon.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Hellfrost: Matters of Faith Standard Edition
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Hellfrost: Player's Guide
von Benjamin S. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 08/04/2017 13:00:39

I like the setting, it is a blast to play. The pdf is great quality with great bookmarks for everything.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Hellfrost: Player's Guide
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Hellfrost City Book 4: Cities of Royalty
von Francesco B. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 05/26/2017 13:01:59

Helps to flesh out these two cities. Not 100% necessary to run sessions in these cities, but it allows a GM to give them a more individual character and does contain some information that can be used to generate adventures. More focused on information than adventure seeds.



Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
Hellfrost City Book 4: Cities of Royalty
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Leagues of Gothic Horror: Guide to Apparitions
von Timothy B. [Häufiger Rezensent] Hinzugefügt am: 10/28/2016 11:20:41

Softcover book. Full-color cover, black & white interior art. 64 pages. Set up in a similar fashion to all of TAG's "Guide to" books, this covers ghosts and the damned. Again, this is fairly setting specific but a lot of the material here is drawn from myths and legends from around the world, so first of there should be something in this book that everyone recognizes. Secondly there is plenty in this book that everyone can use. The first third of the book covers why ghosts happen and their nature. This is followed by the means of disposing of these pests and some of the powers that they have. The last third (more like half) covers new monsters and some very specific ghosts. Frankly it is worth the cover price for the ghost of Lady Macbeth alone. I once said in a game at Gen Con that are more ghosts in London than living people. This book helps prove my point rather nicely. Another really solid buy.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Leagues of Gothic Horror: Guide to Apparitions
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Leagues of Gothic Horror: Guide to Black Magic
von Timothy B. [Häufiger Rezensent] Hinzugefügt am: 10/28/2016 11:14:08

Softcover book. Full-color cover, black & white interior art. 64 pages. Set up in a similar fashion to all of TAG's "Guide to" books, this covers Black Magic and "Wickedness". This book is fairly setting specific, so it has more game stats than some of the other guides. I still found it to be a fantastic read and can't wait to try some of this out in my next Ubquity game. The book covers a brief history of "black magic" practices around the world. Later (Chapter 2) we move into why someone might take up this sort of power. Fiendish lairs are also discussed since in the tried and true traditions of both Gothic and Pulp fiction every bad guy needs a lair. The next three chapters I found the most interesting, they are respectively, Power, Demons and Evil NPCs. So much great stuff here that I really could spend dozens of sessions working through all the ideas this has given me. In particular, I have a Ghosts of Albion adventure that would work so much better with some of the ideas here. I am going to have to re-run now under Ubiquity to see. For a small book it packs a lot of punch.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Leagues of Gothic Horror: Guide to Black Magic
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Leagues of Adventure - Globetrotters' Guide to London
von Timothy B. [Häufiger Rezensent] Hinzugefügt am: 10/28/2016 11:02:38

Softcover book. Full-color cover, black & white interior art. 78 pages. A great sourcebook for the Leagues of Adventure game this covers the City (and County) of London in the 1890s. The bulk of the book is devoted to a "tour" around London pointing out places of interest. There are also sections on the police force, entertainment, and transportation. The book is largely fluff free (ie not much in the way of games stats) so it immediately has utility for a wide variety of games. Even the adventure hooks for London are game-stats free. Most of the game-related material comes in the form of detailing various NPCs and archetypes, but there is enough flavor test to still make them usable in other games too. This is a well-researched guide and extremely useful. If you are playing a London-based Leagues of Adventure, Leagues of Gothic Horror or Leagues of Cthulhu game then I say pick this up.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Leagues of Adventure - Globetrotters' Guide to London
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Leagues of Gothic Horror
von Timothy B. [Häufiger Rezensent] Hinzugefügt am: 10/27/2016 11:12:27

A while back I spent some quality time with the Ubiquity system reviewing a number of games including Leagues of Adventure one of my favorites. Today I want to have a look at Leagues of Gothic Horror, the gothic horror (naturally) supplement to Leagues of Adventure.

Leagues of Gothic Horror (LoGH) is not an independent game but rather a "thick" campaign supplement with a lot of rule additions. In it is designed to be used with Leagues of Adventure, but it could also be used with any Ubiquity game with a little work. Actually with a little more work it could be used with any Victorian era game. It is light on crunch really and full of flavor.

I am reviewing my hardcover and PDF from my Kickstarter backing. The book is 158 pages, color covers with black and white interiors. Again for my money black and white interiors are the way to go for both Victorian and Horror.

I am just going to come right out and say this. This book is damn near perfect.
This really has everything I enjoy in one volume. Gothic horror, the Victorian era, black magic, science, horror, it's all here.

Chapter 1 covers new Archetypes for the LoA game. These include some of my favorites of gothic and Victorian lore such as the mystic, the mentalist and an old favorite, the alienist. There is even a subsection on how to play Ghost characters! If I didn't love this book so much I might feel threatened that it was encroaching on Ghosts of Albion's territory! There are also new talents, skills, and flaws for your character. These are of course designed with LoA in mind so no idea how they might overlap with say, Hollow Earth (HEX) or other Ubiquity games. There are also new Leagues. These are usable in any game. In particular, I was thinking of Victorious the whole time. Chapter 2 details horror and sanity mechanics. Again this is expected. The sanity system is mostly relegated to phobias. This is fine for me since this game deals more with heroic actions of daring-do. This chapter also deals with more magic including black magic, pagan magic, ceremonial magic and ritual magic. There is a great sidebar here on various Solar and Lunar eclipses during the late Victorian era. Really handy to have. The large section of magical texts, their translations and uses is also really great. Not just to use, but to read. Many are based on real-world books too. Along with that are new magics and magical/occult artifacts. Chapter 3 is another great addition with new monsters. All the usual suspects are here; vampires, golems, werewolves, demons, even evil witches and a couple of different types of necromancers. We get a section on major villains too, Dracula, Count Orlock, Brain in a Jar, Lord Ruthven, Varney the Vampire, even Rasputin. Pretty much any Gothic-age or Victorian-age bad guy is here. Like the leagues presented in Chapter 1 there are some new sinister cults. Chapter 4 takes us on tour to the Dark Places of the world. Great addition to LoA. Reminds me a bit of the old AD&D Gazetteer to Gothic Earth. Specific locales are given and more generic ones for use anywhere in the world. Chapter 5 covers advice for the gamemaster and Chapter 6 has ideas for running games using this book. There is a great "Gothic History" timeline and list of "Who's Who" in the real world. The last page has a nice list of references of Gothic literature, audio, movies and television. I'll admit I had fun trying to guess the references from the material in the book. I did pretty well if I say so myself.

I have already gushed over this book, doing so more will only make me look foolish, but I can't help it. It is that much fun. I call it a "must have" if you are playing Leagues of Adventure.

If you are playing other Victorian era games and want to add more Gothicness (as opposed to "Gothiness") then please consider this book.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Leagues of Gothic Horror
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Sundered Skies Compendium 2
von Mikael C. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 03/21/2016 02:03:32

The second compendium includes three longer adventures and one collection with shorter ones at the back. In generall I find this collection of adventures better then the ones found in the first Compendium. Mostly because it happens more in them and you have a good progress in all of them. That the three longer ones connect to a bigger story is good as well. They revolve around the historic and failed attempts by a group of mages to controll the movment of the islands in the Skies. And that they also have some connections with the adventures and plot point campaing in the Sundered skies core book. The third adventure "Festival of madness" will have a pretty big impact on both the Skies and the plot point if the GM wants to. It is worth knowing that the three long adventures are for Heroic level heroes, so there is no real reason to get these adventures at the start of your camapaing. Except if you want them for idea mining or just for a pretty good read. Ill give it a 4/5.

MC



Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
Sundered Skies Compendium 2
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Leagues of Gothic Horror
von Steve P. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 03/16/2016 14:46:18

Great product from one of the best rpg writers around and an expert in the genre. Quality stuff.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Leagues of Gothic Horror
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Rezension 1 bis 15 (von 67 Rezensionen) werden angezeigt Suchergebnisse:  1  2  3  4  5  [Nächste >>] 
0 Einträge
 Die heißesten Produkte
 Gift Certificates