DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
SpellCards 5e
by Ron P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2016 10:19:33

Having initially rated this as 3 stars due to my not being able print it, I can now say I've Realised my mistake and give it the 5 stars it deserves.


To print the pdf file with the fronts and backs aligned, I selected duplex printing and "auto-rotate and centre" in the options given by the pdf print program. This worked absolutely flawlessly.


The content of the cards is accurate without being as verbose as many of the descriptions in the PHB. They are a real pleasure to use in-game and as an aid while preparing for the game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
SpellCards 5e
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

SpellCards 5e
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2016 23:24:52

5e spells are plagued with unwieldly descriptions that are way too verbose to deal with mid-game. Enter SpellCards 5e, which expertly rectifies that problem. The real reason you want to buy this product is because of the condensed mechanics; all the important information is presented exactly where it needs to be, and all the stuff you don't care about is eschewed. The fact that it's packaged in a nice double-sided card format is just icing on the cake.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sord
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/11/2016 13:51:06

Great PDF. They've even added combat manuvers and mounted combat! All the rules you need in combat are here!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sord
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

SpellCards 5e
by Nathan T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2016 07:57:35

As a long-term player of spellcasters, I have a lot of different spellcards from different publishers, ranging from top-of-the-line commercial packs bought at my FLGS to PDFs bought here & elsewhere. The Spellcards 5e cards rank among my favourites, for being clear, concise, easy-to-use and attractive. My GM was so impressed he wants a set for himself!


The first thing to draw the eye is the legend in the top right, clearly showing at a glance whether the spell has verbal, somatic or material components, if it's a concentration spell (hugely important for 5e wizards!), and even if the material component is consumed. When your GM likes to throw adverse effects at you whilst you're spellcasting, and you have only seconds to pick a spell, the ability to spot one that can be used while restrained or silenced can be a lifesaver!


Highlighting ritual spells with another icon is another great idea, and I now game with a little stack of cards that I don't have to memorise but can cast with ten minutes' preparation (funny how the party's always willing to pause the dungeon crawl while I cast identify...).


Unlike almost every other spell card I've used, the cards don't slavishly copy the (sometimes tortured and convoluted) text of the PHb: instead, they're a clear summation of the rules, with nifty colour-coding for the results of failing & passing saves. Highlighting important words in the spell description (types of saves, durations, etc) means less time spent reading rules, fewer mistakes in the heat of battle, and more time crushing enemies!


Filling empty slots on pages with condition & area of effect rules cards as 'extras' is a wonderful idea, & it's great having these to hand as a quick reference during play. My only problem is that you then have to print multiples of these pages, scattered throughout the set, if you want to issue cards to several players affected by the same condition(s). Of course, by definition, using them as space-fillers means that's going to happen. The only suggestion I can make is that if Myth Merchant chooses to add separate pages to the PDF just for the condition/AoE rules, players & GMs will be very happy.


Lastly, kudos to Myth Merchant Press for continuing to support these cards, quickly correcting the (minor) errors & releasing improvements like variant card backs.


Pros: Clear & attractive art & icons; simple, easy-to-use rules; nice features like colour-coding; important rules are highlighted.
Cons: The PDF cards being laid out with a little white space between them is an annoying feature, as it means twice as many cuts.
Value for money (PDF): superb.
Rating: A solid 4/5, probably edging up to 4.5/5 if the cards were laid out as a single sheet & easier to cut! Overall, an impressive product.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
SpellCards 5e
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks for the review! I hope you have seen the new backs (added for free). Each spell has its own unique back now. The gaps.... I can certainly tighten them up a bit. That will take a bit of jiggering (like a weekend\'s effort) and I will dedicate some pages to the conditions being clustered together. Thanks again for the insight. and be on the lookout for the next update... :-)
Sord Pf
by Ronald G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/25/2015 18:12:50

Fantastic! A great help that EVERY Pathfinder GM could use! The reduced price just can't be beat.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sord Pf
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sord Pf
by Bastion L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/23/2015 00:15:57

This is one of the best documents you could ever purchase for pathfinder, and I wish more systems had something like this. I am usually highly skeptical of paying for products (especially from 3rd party), especially those I cannot review before purchasing, but this Reference document has helped immensely.


Most "Rules Compendiums" are highly verbose and full of fluff text, which negates the purpose of what they are supposed to do: reduce time researching the rules which are causing conflict at the table. This booklet contains nothing but easy-to-read tables, diagrams and examples, all organized in a simple and coherent fashion.


Thanks Myth Merchant!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sord Pf
by Stefan K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/07/2015 08:48:40

As a long time gamer, I actually bought this document for the few newbies I have around the table. The expectations on whether I myself would find it valuable was not huge. I am therefore positive surprised and very happy to announce that this in fact is the one and only reference I'll be using from now on :-) It's simply boiled down every important rule into a condensed but nevertheless still very readable format.


The fun about PFRPG are - partly - the incredible, long term developed rules which enables you to flesh out spectacular battles and skills. With this handy formatted rules, both experienced and new players can navigate easily and look up forgotten quirks and ride DCs without stumpin'the'judge.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sord Pf
by Toby B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/25/2014 05:27:58

Our group has moved from 4E D&D to Pathfinder and there is a notable step up in complexity. As DM I found this booklet immensely useful, both as a quick introduction to the most important rules before we played and as a go to reference during play. It cut down reference to the big rulebook to a minimum. It is well written and attractively and well laid out in colour. The one page per concept idea works very well in practice allowing you to rapidly find the information you're after. A really excellent product. Thank you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sord Pf
by Christopher S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/11/2013 11:39:29

I'm new to Pathfinder. The prospect of hunting down important information that's spread out over hundreds of pages was daunting enough to give me second thoughts about getting into such a richly developed game. The SORD PF reference is a godsend. It's given me the courage and resources to tame the beastly task of learning this system. Thank you so much for producing such a finely crafted and valuable tool!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sord Pf
by Peter T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/03/2013 12:49:19

I think is an excellent product. Well worth the $5. Using these very handy sheets, I discovered that we were not playing a few rules correctly. It's changed the game for the better. I printed them out in thick card stock paper. I know that they will get worn out otherwise!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sord
by Julian J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2013 20:54:45

This is an amazingly useful product.


Having the vast majority of the more commonly referenced rules, each on a one sheet easy to find, view and use page...
Amazing.


I wish our group had found this product the first time we were playing 3.5.
We've recently come back to 3.5, after several years of 4th edition.
So these 'cheat sheets' are especially valuable in 'teaching' us the rules again.


I actually went to FedEx/Kinkos and had them print these up on heavy weight card stock.
Definitely very worthwhile.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sord
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sord Pf
by Scott C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/06/2013 10:41:23

Excellent resource! I use it with when play with my children and they (8 &9) find it very helpful. It has almost every tid bit of combat knowledge you could hope for in a quick reference manual. I hope his next project is a quick reference manual for rolling up individual character classes with suggestions for different styles of play (such as Ranger two weapon style vs Ranger archer).


Also it would have been awesome if it referred you to the page numbers for the rule section in the core book, but I am sure there are legal reasons why it does not do that.


It really speeds up play and allows folk to see visually how the rules play out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sord Pf
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sord Pf
by Luigi P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/17/2012 11:21:54

Great product! All core battle rules (and not only) in few pages.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sord Pf
by Joshua M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2012 09:33:31

Straight forward and easy to use, has most things we want to look up right at our finger tips which helps us keep our game moving along quickly. Worth the few bucks it cost!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sord Pf
by Kristian C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/21/2012 12:47:59

Easier to browse than the hardcover, less intrusive than having laptops and tablets at the table can be, SORD PF makes the crunch of Pathfinder manageable. It's all there, it's indexed clearly, and at only 38 pages of mechanics it'll fit into a folio with your character sheet or GM notes easily.


There's only one thing 'wrong' with SORD PF and it's relatively minor: It's got SO MUCH information packed onto every page that there's not enough margin if you want to hole punch it! Thankfully, sheet protectors are cheap and ensure one copy will last years.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 37 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates