DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
In The Company of Medusa: A 1st-20th level Player Character Racial Class (PFRPG)
by Joshua B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/08/2015 17:25:34

There's a lot of great things to pull in from this pdf.

I love the introductions of characters from someone "representative" of that somehow, something that Rite Publishing has done quite a bit. It explains how to introduce medusas into your world. There's all in all a huge amount of fluff here that is incredibly useful (especially as someone who struggles a bit to introduce things like this into a game world)

The pdf introduces 2 styles of medusas that could be used as player characters: regular medusas that have feet, and larger medusas known as greater medusas which are more snake-like and have a tail instead.

There's an ample amount of alternate racial traits which is something i enjoy as well. It gives you a lot of options and flavors you could have with your character.

The main feature all in all though isn't just making the medusas playable character races: it's the racial paragon class. Which is something I would love to see more of in Pathfinder overall, and it's one of the biggest reasons I was excited to buy this when I saw it available here.

The class itself plays out more like a grappler, but with a lot of options for mobility (being able to jump from statue to statue, flight), and a good poison as well. The base gaze of a medusa starts out rather weak overall, but as they level up in the class, it becomes far more powerful and iconic: turning your enemies into statues, and eventually being able to animate them as well. The class itself is far more synergistic and powerful when used with the greater medusa (a lot of abilities affect the tail strike overall), but I still believe it's quite powerful for regular medusa overall.

All in all, I love this book quite a bit. I can't wait to be able to use it in my games. The class itself seems strong, but not blatantly OP. The fluff is rather well written and gives out a lot of great information here as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In The Company of Medusa:  A 1st-20th level Player Character Racial Class (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Secrets of the Iron Titan (PFRPG)
by Trev W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2015 20:01:21

This is a very neat supplement if you want golem-like characters in your setting, and want to easily be able to implement it without too much fuss or hard work for the dm. It can be used for pcs or npcs; and the iron titan is a class you add to a character. The character, having at some point, having been turned into an iron titan from an original form.

There are plenty of special abilities and choices to be made. Good art so as to guide the reader in what type of iron titans can be created. Iron titans get a lot of resistances and invulnerabilities making them, after they level a bit, very suited to facing specific foes and existing in hostile environments. Woe to the party that is vulnerable to iron titans.

What I most liked though, was the "we can rebuild him" section. This covers converting a dead character over to an iron titan, and it also throw in the possibility of how a party could continue from a tpk (everyone comes back as an iron titan). In doing so, the character or party are rebuilt, taking the class levels of the iron titan. What also interests me would be the possibilities of multi-classing. Just a bit, to secure some very cool abilities to complement the MANY options for iron titans in this book.

There are also feats, including feats for huge titans. Yes, you can be huge, and that means you have huge guts.

5/5



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secrets of the Iron Titan (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Way of the Samurai (PFRPG)
by Garrett C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2015 21:10:25

A fun, if not a little short, supplement that adds quite a bit of stuff for Pathfinder Samurai. The town of Kawashi (the samurai town given for the setting) has some really fun and easy adventure hooks to bring players in. The new feats are nothing that appears to be game breaking (which is always good), but also nothing new (which is okay, given the balance some 3rd party supplements lack).

I have three issues with the game, that make me rate it lower.

My first issue is a mechanical problem with the game, and the main reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5. Simply, too many of the introduced archetypes are based on the samurai class. I'd have liked to see them take and retool more classes to make more of the base classes open to players. Not everyone wants to play a modified samurai archetype, and while you could create rules for them, to me that argument is outside the scope of a supplement review. Gunslinger, ranger, paladin and wizard are all given nods, but in unexpected and varied ways. IE Gunslingers being used for a musket man, rangers used for a bodyguard, etc.

The second problem I have, is that the game never mentions anything about females being excluded from being samurai (which is fine, some gender roles don't need to be enforced) but the entire town of Kawashi doesn't have a single major female NPC. They are mentioned offhandedly as wives and daughters, but all of the major ones are males. (No archetypes for Onna-bugeisha either, sadly) The same can be said about races. Everyone is a human, despite the book never calling out Kawashi as being a human-only town, but no one outside of humans are mentioned. I'd just have liked to see the supplement address these at some point, to give a little justification. Again, it's easily within a DM's ability to modify this, but I still feel it's outside of the scope of a supplement review.

Lastly, if you wanted a full world for a samurai game, this supplement falls a little short. The world of Kaidan is fairly unexplained here, in that everything the book gives you information on can be largely found via Wikipedia or books on Japanese culture. Short of one or two archetype explanations, you won't find anything on the world that makes it jump out as being truly unique. If you are not very good at world building (like myself), it doesn't really give you any more information to go with.

(Edit, I LOOKED BEFORE I LEAPED FOR ONCE! Make sure to download their free setting overview from http://rpg.drivethrustuff.com/product/85269/Kaidan-The-Preview-PFRPG to get a little more about the world)

Past that, the setting really has some fun stuff in it and works very well with PF's Eastern supplements. If you need a good jumping off point to start a samurai campaign, this book is worth picking up. It's got some solid adventure hooks in the town of Kawashi that can be fairly easily expanded into a larger meta plot for the world. Just be prepared to modify a few things!

Thanks to the folks at Rite Publishing for giving me yet another Asian themed setting to dig my teeth into! Happy gaming everyone!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Way of the Samurai (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

10 Wizard Magic Items (PFRPG)
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/10/2015 06:21:42

An Endzeitgeist.com review of the revised edition.

This pdf clocks in at 11 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD and 2 pages of advertisement, leaving us with 6 pages of content, so let's take a look!

As always with Rite Publishing's 10-items-series, the first thing you may wish to know is that you actually receive much more bang for buck than the 10 items promised on the cover - quite a few of the items herein come in a bunch of variations - e.g. a lesser, standard and greater version with increasing power. Now another peculiarity established by the series would be that this improved versions do not simply provide numerical escalations of bonuses, but instead provide additional abilities, making the better versions of the items a whole slew more unique than one would expect.

That out of the way, let's take a look at the items, shall we? The first item, the boots of jaunting, will probably immediately end on the wish-list of any wizard interested in a longer lifespan - they grant motes of movement, a mini-pool of 3 points per day. The lesser ones allow the wizard to use a swift action to escape grapples or teleport into a standing position. The standard version lets the wizard blink automatically away from critical hits or any attacks that would reduce the wizard to below 0 hp - if the wizard manages a second save equal to DC 10 + 1/2 attack bonus or DC of the ability, the damage is negated. The greater set also has the option for short-range teleportation. Damn cool items that would be utterly op, were it not for their limited uses. Still pretty strong for the price point (greater boots cost a mere 6300 GP - that is very liberal...), but that may just be me.

The next item, the Emerald Familiar, is pretty cool - it can be tossed to the floor (and reforms the following day) and increase the size of the wizard's familiar into...let's say, nasty dimensions - the greater variant increases sizes by 3 categories, including natural weapons, attribute bonuses, etc.! Yes, that is awesome. Conversely, the lesser version, which is now included, just becomes a regular sized creature. Damn cool!

The emerald of expectation comes in no less than 10 variants - one for each spell level and one that can contain up to two spell levels. What does this item-class do? It allows the wizard to swap a prepared spell with a spell of an equal level or lower (provided the spell is upgraded to the target spell level via metamagic) from her spellbook 1/day. Generally, I enjoy this type of item since it allows for an increased flexibility, without treading too hard on the toes of spontaneous casters - that being said, I consider the frame of time required for activation to be too liberal - 1 standard action is nasty. Depending on the power level of your campaign and the amount of spells your wizard finds, this may be a nasty kick in the shins for spontaneous casters, whereas in other groups, this may be just what the doctor ordered - still, DMs should very carefully contemplate the massive added flexibility for wizards - remember, this allows for infinite spell-changing due to a lack of daily uses, bringing wizards almost up to spontaneous casters in terms of flexibility! They cost less than pearls of power and while they do not increase the spells per day, they have no daily limit...for most groups, this will probably be too strong. (If you like the idea, set the activation to 10 minutes or 1 hour to make them less useful in combat/stressful situations...)

Eyes of the Studious Failure are interesting - the more a creature saves against your single-target spells, the more insight-bonuses to your spell's DCs against said target you accumulate. The lesser version can activate this once per day, the standard thrice per day and the greater one always triggers it.

Gloves of the Ray allow you to increase the range of spells with a range of touch to close as per the Reach Spell feat a limited amount of times per day, but they now require ranged touch attacks. The different item qualities denote the spell level at which these items cap - lesser can cast up to 3rd, standard up to 6th and greater up to 9th level spells this way. Additionally, the gloves can 3/day as an immediate action completely negate an incoming ray, with the max level of the incoming ray following the same formula. Designer Steven D. Russell has eliminated all prior ambiguities - now these gloves work properly and rock!

The Mantle of the Schoolmaster doubles the duration of the 8th level wizard school class feature, while diviners and scryers may 1/day spontaneously convert a spell into a divination (scrying) spell of equal level or lower. Cool item that enhances one of the few truly iconic wizard tricks - kudos!

The Robe of the Schooled instead allows activation of the 1st level school ability as a swift action or temporarily extend a continuous 1st level school ability to an ally within 30 ft. as an immediate action.

The Wizard's Battered Hat is high in concept and imagery-wise - it acts as a handy haversack for spellbooks only. Additionally, once per day, the wizard identifies a spell from his spell-list being cast (here at DC 15 + double spell-level), the spell is automatically inscribed in the book without cost or space required in the spellbook. Before, this lacked a daily limit -with it, it is a pretty nice, cool item!

Wizard's Journeymen Rings allow for the 1/day reroll of d20-rolls, with lesser applying only to concentration, higher ones also applying to caster level checks, failed melee/ranged touch attacks and dispel-checks.

The pdf also provides a minor artifact/legacy item with Alymmanthar, "the Dire Wand" - to give you a brief run-down: legacy items are specific items that grow in power with your character level, increase their potency thus and require specific tasks to become better. Their chosen wielder senses an omen. This item has been crafted by some of the legends of Questhaven from a new special material and sports generally some nice abilities that involve dampening magic items, high jacking them and yes, even golems, as well as dire magic item related curses. Better yet - the wording of this cool, complex item has been streamlined to be easier to grasp.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting of the revised edition of this pdf are neat - I noticed no rules-relevant glitches survive the purge. Layout adheres to Rite Publishing's 2-column full-color standard. The pdf comes with nice full-color artworks I haven't seen before and is fully bookmarked for your convenience, in spite of its short size.

Steven D. Russell can craft superb crunch - I never doubted that. But thatis something quite a few (though by far not "many") authors can do. Where he excels, though, is in capturing high-concept, iconic imagery and representing said material in tight rules-representations: There aren't many books I review that tend to make me grin feral smiles as often as Rite Publishing books.

Now there is another reason I thoroughly respect Rite Publishing - Steven cares about quality. If a pdf (like this one's first iteration) has glitches, he fixes it. The first iteration of this pdf was nice, but had some issues. It is a small, inexpensive pdf and I wouldn't have been surprised, had it not been fixed. Well, it was. The issues are gone, the new writing is concise and improves even my nitpicks. This is customer service...AND it renders this pdf the cool book it deserves to be. Now on the nitpicky side, I consider the emeralds as an item class too strong for all but the most high fantasy of games (or those where players never want to play spontaneous casters in the first place), but that is just about all of the negativity I can muster towards this cool pdf. The items herein are glorious, interesting and often downright inspired. My final verdict for this revised edition will hence clock in at 5 stars!

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
10 Wizard Magic Items (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Adventure Quarterly #6 (PFRPG)
by Trev W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2015 18:11:44

With a very exciting cover of a brightly coloured Otyugh about to devour an adventurer, we can be sure there will be excitement and danger in this Adventure Quarterly.

Starting with the maps, they were easy to follow and grasp. The dungeons were not too large or small. My favourite map was The Palanut Badlands, it has real character and you just know from looking at it, that a maze in the badlands is going to spell trouble.

Back to the Quarterly, in the ruins perilous we find ourselves in the "Fungarium". Well you can't spell fungarium without fun, and this area for level 4s has a nice range of monsters. The Fungal Queen is tough, but the fungal spined otyugh is an absolute beast. One that could really take a party already carrying injuries. It's AC is good, its hit points aren't the best, but it sports some very nice poison abilities.

Now I don't want to give away too much about the latter adventures, but Mibre the isle of pleasures would be rife for rp, would serve as an excellent base in a longer campaign, and reminds me of Sune temples in the old Forgotten Realms. I like it.

As the Quarterly goes on, the adventures are for higher level parties. "In Iron Clad" is about piloting a golem so the player can fight above their "weight class", and that is an excellent hook. Why would you need to pilot a golem (of course you want to, but why)? Well... kaiju. Yes, this is a monster hunt and a very inventive one at that with really high CR beasties.

The Quarterly also has part III in running your own sandbox. As a fan of sandbox play and having run three of my own, I can say the advice looked good to me! There is even a small list of really cool loot.

The Quarterly is great. I am herding my players into the Fungarium in two weeks. :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventure Quarterly #6 (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

#30 Magic Tools (PFRPG)
by Trev W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2015 17:34:23

Players and DMs that want new and innovative magic items should get a hold of this.

There are plenty of magic swords and staves in other books, but here they are more normal everyday items with magical abilities. Two examples I will discuss are the compass of desires and the fading gloves. The compass will lead the adventurer to one of their desires once per day. This would be extremely useful for adventurers hunting specific monsters or items.

The gloves are arguably better, and are an improved version of gloves of storing. They make what you hold invisible, and only that. Perfect for weapons, keeping stolen good in the hand but hidden, holding potions or crossbows or the like. An excellent idea, and the fading gloves aren't the only excellent items. Some like the heatsink gauntlets are even made to counter specific classes - like druids.

Items also come with a little background information and their past uses. All items are created by Mellan (who really has a Lann the clever vibe), a crafter who came into magic late in life. Mellan is clearly a bit of a scoundrel as well as an inventor.

One of the last things I wanted to say, is that the art is gorgeous. It appears to be from an excellent fairy tale book. There is a high attention to detail in the pictures, and they really work for Mellan's creations, giving a sense of a mischievous world that the players can enter.

I am running a low magic game, and these are ALL going in because of how useful they are, and because of the unusual special abilities and effects of the items. So I say get it, see what it has got and throw them into your games to really add more fun via these unusual magic items.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#30 Magic Tools (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Secrets of Renegade Archetypes II (PFRPG)
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/07/2015 08:36:11

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This supplement clocks in at 27 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD, 1 page advertisement, leaving us with 23 pages of content, so let's take a look!

First of all - what is this? Well, if you're new to the whole "renegade"-concept: This is Rite Publishing providing new material for 3pp-classes - either simply because they're awesome or because they can use some more tools due to the original class not seeing enough support. In any case, we receive new tools for classes that would otherwise start to collect dust - and this is awesome, at least in my book. This pdf cover, surprise, archetypes - so let's see how they hold up!

First of the archetypes herein would be Death's Paramour for Rogue Genius Games' Death knight-class. These guys replace gravestrike with gjenganger awakening (which btw. translates to Wiedergänger or, in English, revenant) - the ability allows the death knight to animate those slain by him or by his servants as a swift action, with telepathic commands and concise writing providing a nice means of balancing the class. Now also pretty awesome -touch of corruption causes no harm, but using touch of corruption, the paramour can temporarily swap places, for one standard action with a gjenganger. If you can't see the massive potential here, I can...and I love it! Providing teamwork-feats to gjenganager servants, buffing them, executing melee attacks through gjenganger bodies - all of that is already pretty awesome. Now there is another cool trick - high-level members of the class may free gejengangers for one final task to go to the afterlife. This nets the death's paramour 1 quietus, a point-resource he can utilize to buff himself or allies; granting them is easy, activation can be done as an immediate action - that one adds a whole new dimension and as a capstone, the aforementioned phasing allows for the negation of attacks and rays - nasty - and awesome! This archetype is inspired in all the right ways and one of the best undead-pet/commander classes I've seen; certainly the best one with a martial focus.

Kobold Press' Elven Archer is next on the list with the Elven Exemplar list, who receives no proficiency in armors or shield and double non-proficiency penalty and also just 2+Int skill bonuses - but what does the archetype get for that? The archetype receives good ref- and will-saves and can cast spells like a ranger who also adds all magus spells with a required touch or touch attack (so e.g. shocking grasp, but not shield) or that produce an area of effect in a spread. Her bow acts as a spellbook of sorts and bonded item and the governing attribute is Intelligence. HOWEVER, there is an issue here - magus spells are arcane, ranger spells divine - while I think the elven exemplar casts all of tehse spells as arcane spells, the ability does not state this. And yes, this is more than relevant when taking a look at arcane spell failure... Anotehr issue would be that the cdlass does specify when the exemplar learns new spells, yes, but not whether she can learn new spells like a wizard/magus or not. On the cool side, the archetype may use arrows as melee rapiers with the fragile quality.

Downright brilliant would be arrow scrolls - you make a scroll as per Scribe Scroll, but the only means of activation is hitting a target with the arrow at the culmination of activating a scroll - this increases the risk of a spell failing, but promises a significantly increased reward by a better action economy. I love the idea! Speaking of glorious - know all those touch-range buffs? Well, these guys can transform the spells into harmless energy arrows they can use to shoot allies and e.g. charmed adversaries. The non-damage caveat prevents abuse, the increased buffing capacity is beautiful. Two thumbs up! The 3rd level ability, ranged spellstrike, could use some nerfing -while the -5 atk penalty is significant, 3rd level might be a bit soon for it. Expending prepared spells for temporary bow enchantment makes for a cool variant of arcane pool benefits. Now downright awesome from a designer's perspective would be ray arrows - this allows an exemplar to treat rays as arrows (regular AC, not touch) and thus benefit from weapon enchantments and even fire multiple rays allotted by a spell in one round. Once again - significant drawback versus something I haven't seen before. The higher level abilities improve the tricks here, but that's the gist of it. So do I like the Elven Exemplar? Yes, surprisingly, I do - unlike the base class, which I consider boring, and unlike various iterations of the ranged magus-concept I've seen, this one is surprisingly cool - apart from aforementioned gripes and slightly high power, this one is downright inspired, offering more unique tricks than the last 3 ranged magus-style classes I've read combined. Even if you don't use this one, for scavenging purposes alone worth the page-count!

LPJr Design's immensely popular Machinesmith-class (and its less refined fleshwraith-brother) also receive new material , with the Cybernetics Doctor sporting separate indicators for what it replaces in each of the two classes. While both classes can select this archetype, it has in common that it sports some exclusive tricks for both, creating a broader variety within the archetype itself. The cybernetics doctor archetype provides a new greatwork for its base-classes, the cybernetics workshop - this is not a physical locale, but rather a mindspace powered by mobius core and direct-to brain interfaces, which provides benefits overlapping with reality, allowing the machinesmith to implant benefits in allies, granting e.g. DR, bonuses, slam attacks, low-light vision etc. For full-blown cyber-punkery, why not graft items permanently to a creature for a price... or for none, when applying the item to the cybernetics doctor himself. And yes, this does come with a thoroughly unique, cool way of countering/suppressing the grafted item!

Okay, thought that was cool? Gearworks upgrade 1: Put your brain in a jar to either put it back in or have it act as an ioun stone-like trabant. Let me spell that out again: YOU GET TO HAVE/BE A BRAIN-IN-A-JAR!! I am not engaging in hyperbole when I'm saying that I have NEVER seen a class sell ad execute that as a benefit! It's glorious! Oh yeah, you can escape your body. Perfect for any villain. At this point, I'm grinning from ear to ear, something I very seldom do these days. Spell-like abilities to be triggered by brainwaves, better defensive capacities - all that accompanies this damn cool greatwork. 6 new machinesmith tricks, from dart guns to firearm fingers (!!!) to retina zoom lenses are part of the deal as well and 6 augmentations come as part of the package: what about electricity shockwaves while being a brain in a jar (aptly named System Shock) or receive a prototype as a spell-like ability for your brain-form (called Brainiac - what else?) - cool and iconic. Want talons added to your brain? Graboid prime, baby! This archetype is one of the FEW, the proud. The type of archetype that oozes heart's blood, that is downright inspired from top to bottom, that supplements glorious ideas with high-caliber crunch for a thoroughly inspiring whole. I can't stress enough how much I like this archetype. It's inspiring.

Now, if you've been following my reviews, you know that I'm a huge fan of Pact Magic - well, this book adds two constellations - the artisan and the lover constellation. The former allows you to temporarily suspend one negative, predetermined condition and helps crafting. Additionally, it allows you to declare creatures as unworthy for the purposes of wielding specific items. The lovers constellation's aspects allow you to improve your social prowess and prevent violence via sanctuary and calm emotions. Each of the constellations receives one new spirit, which is a slight issue for me - introducing new constellations with opposed constellations etc. may seem like a good idea mechanically, but in practice, this will probably make the two constellations herein "orphans" without further support. I hence suggest to treat the benefits they grant as alternative benefits for allied constellations. The first of the two spirits provided would be the 5th level spirit Merülf Balm'et, a crippled goblinoid, but gifted smith. His abilities are all about efficient crafting and generating phantasmal items from thin air. The signs/influence, ceremony etc. are nice, but over all, this guy did not blow me away. the second spirit, the bride Marie-Jeanne is all about moving on, rejoining a lost love and withstanding emotions and providing solace - a thematically cooler spirit with a more interesting execution.

Rogue Genius Games' Shadow Assassin also receives some new tricks with the new mage slayer archetype. Instead of an offensive deadly focus, the mage-slayer receives a save and AC-enhancing defensive focus -now the class receives anti-mage tricks as you may have expected, but as an uncommon and cool synergy, it may also wilder in Rouge Genius Games' Witch Hunter's toolbox. Nice!

The next archetype elicited a kind of jubilation from yours truly: Dreadfox Games' Swordmaster is still, hands down, my favorite martial class for PFRPG (same goes for my players) and the now years-spanning delay of the expansion for the class has left us dry and yearning for more. The Braggart archetype receives proficiency with an exotic weapon of your choice and allows you to execute sword arts with said weapon. Additionally, partnered blade is replaced with a weapon of legacy, essentially a legendary weapon with a specific purpose that increases in potency over your levels -which is neat for narrative purposes indeed! Instead of Intelligence, Charisma is the governing attribute for a braggart's tricks. Instead of destroying magic items, the weapon of legacy is tied in gold price to the continuous advancement of the legend of the braggart. Additionally, when fighting against a current compound opponent, the braggart may substitute Reflex saving throws for Will and Fort-saves as an immediate action and is particularly hard to fool. If may not be that obvious from the text, but in play, this has become known as Devil May Cry-the archetype. And yes, that is meant as praise. The basic opener-sequitur-finisher-chain of the braggart is all about infuriating opponents and drawing their ire and is per se neat. While personally, I prefer my solution to swordmasters drawing aggro, but this one works pretty neat as well. we also receive an additional array of 1 sequitur and 4 openers - from acrobatic charges to spontaneously duplicating effects via environment and performing the equivalent of a weapon bind maneuver (see Razor Coast) with a bare hand also makes for an interesting option. The sequitur, which allows you to enter the square of an allied person for an immediate aid may not sound like much, but in combat, it can be used for pretty awesome ballets of death. Great additional material for the swordmaster!

Witch Hunters (also by Rogue Genius Games) may elect to become Witch Eaters - and yes, that means literally eating witches. These guys receive an anti-magic bite attack and depending on the part of the body they consume, they receive different abilities. (These do btw. increase in potency at higher levels.)Bites drain magic and are particularly effective when chewing through mirror images (haha!) and reactive, resource-based regeneration does not help in making these guys less creepy. Have I mentioned to option to essentially can creatures slain for later consumption? Or the option to substitute damage for dispel magic? One utterly creepy, iconic archetype!

The final archetype would be for Paizo Fans United's Wolfshifter, as premiered in the superb free Wayfinder e-zine. The archetype is called Were-beast and that's exactly what it's all about. Instead of a regular Hybrid or Wolf transformation, this archetype opens the class wide for a vast array of different options, including dinosaurs, felines and anything else you'd want, making this the ultimate broadening of a cool, but thematically pretty narrowly-focused class that is free to boot - kudos!

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I noticed no significant glitches and the rules-wording is, for the most part, up to the highest standards. Layout adheres to RiP's 2-column full-color standard and sports beautiful full-color artworks by various artists. The pdf comes fully bookmarked.

Benjamin Rombeaut has DONE it. Not only surpasses this pdf the first collection of renegade archetype, it almost mops the floor with it. Why? Because this is INSPIRED. There is not a single archetype herein that is mediocre or even just good. NOT ONE. Each and every archetype has something iconic and special going for it and I love this book for it - especially the swordmaster, death knight and machinesmith content deserve special mentioning here, being radiant examples what crunch should do - inspire.

I see a lot of crunch. I can appreciate the beauty of complex math and when that works with the rules to create something unique, I feel warm and giddy. Alas, more often than not, crunch equals the recombination of established rules, the mixing and blending of abilities. Not so here. This pdf's archetypes are not "X with ability z" - they are triumphantly unique, inspired, complex. They provide iconic imagery that is partially baffling in its awesomeness, in its "OMG, how cool is that"-knee-jerk rule-of-cool reaction. While not always 100% perfect, the quality of the underlying rules does actually manage to supplement these complex concepts in a way that can only be described as beautiful.

This pdf is an excellent reminder of what Rite Publishing is capable of and what made me fall in love with some many of their pdfs - versatile, high-concept and oozing flair, this is a gorgeous book. Now admittedly, there are some minor issues to be found herein. And yeah, the Pact Magic content is the one part where the book slightly falls off, feeling less awesome and more like some pretty common ideas. But know what? This is one of the very few instances where I don't care - all issues can be easily fixed by most DMs and this pdf does deserve a verdict befitting the excellence of its idea-rich content - 5 stars + seal of approval.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secrets of Renegade Archetypes II (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pathways #1
by Don M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/31/2015 13:57:49

Nice first issue. I'm looking forward to seeing what the next issues offer. I especially like the A Divine Wind: Clerics of Air, Clouds, and Wind article and will be using parts of it in my Pathfinder campaign.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Pathways #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pathways #9 (PFRPG)
by Don M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/31/2015 12:05:15

This issue of Pathways has some content that will fit very nicely in my campaign, namely The Blackness of Darkness: Priests of Loss and Night and Mad Hermit.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Pathways #9 (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pathways #8 (PFRPG)
by Don M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/31/2015 12:02:30

This issue of Pathways has some really great content that I'll be using in my game, especially The Holy Hearth: Priests of Home and Family, The Shattered Bridge, and Death from Above. The Dreaming Gods story as a bit strange.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Pathways #8 (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pathways #7 (PFRPG)
by Don M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/31/2015 11:45:37

Nice product. I especially liked the 10 Magical Armor and Shield Properties article. Players can expect to see some of this in my campaign.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Pathways #7 (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pathways #6 (PFRPG)
by Don M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/31/2015 11:40:43

This issue really didn't have much that I can use in my campaign. Other issues are much better.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Pathways #6 (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pathways #5 (PFRPG)
by Don M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/31/2015 11:05:13

Not a bad product. I especially like the Divine Devotion: Clerics of Charm, Love and Lust article and will be using parts of it in my Pathfinder campaign.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Pathways #5 (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

10 Paladin Magic Items (PFRPG)
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/19/2015 15:37:38

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This pdf clocks in at 9 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD and 1 page advertisement, leaving us with 5 pages of content, so let's take a look!

We kick off this pdf with 2 new enchantments - harm's way allowing you to intercept attacks on adjacent allies a limited amount of times per day, whereas the Patience enchantment is very interesting - it confers +2 to atk and +2d6 nonlethal damage if you or your allies do not execute the first attack in a combat encounter, thus rewarding not setting up a first strike ambush scenario. Cool way to reward paladins for behaving virtuously. That being said, on a slightly nitpicky side, the wording does refer to "the paladin" instead of "the wielder", insinuating that the enchantments are paladin-exclusive when they aren't. This does not impede their functionality, but it does constitute a minor glitch. This partially extends to the items.

In the tradition of the 10-series, we actually receive much, much more than the promised 10 items - with the exception of the new artifact and 2 items, all of the items herein come in three versions - a lesser, a standard and a greater version. Though, on an admittedly nitpicky side, some items instead differentiate between lesser, greater and superior versions for a slightly confused terminology. As far as I could tell, GP-costs are not a factor between deciding which terminology to use, rendering thus the chosen words just non-unified. Once again, this is a cosmetic glitch, but one that potentially could cause unnecessary confusion.

Enough nitpicking, onwards to the items: Boots of the Brave allow you to excel when kicking down the door and protecting your allies when covering their retreat (temporarily enhancing their flight-speed!), including an option that allows you to make combat maneuvers to shut down enemy movement. Pretty cool item, though the latter option to negate movement of target creatures may be a bit strong for the 18,500 GP price-tag of the superior boots. Bracers of Heroic Deeds allow you to catch allies about to fall - which is iconic. Switching positions with an injured or helpless ally should probably specify that the effect is a conjuration (teleportation)-effect and magically taking an effect or attack - all of these have a limited number of uses per day to balance them. Once again, extremely useful and damn cool.

Gauntlets of Remand hearken back to the exceedingly cool "Manalces of Idonis" from Rituals of Choice I, granting the character an extradimensional prison, with efficiency increasing over the levels - exceedingly cool and awesome to take foes alive, this also allows for pretty cool infiltration strategies. The heavenly helm (here, there's only one) allows you to use lay on hands as a gaze attack a limited amount of times per day. While it's called "layout on hands" once, that once again is a typo I can live with - it does not impede functionality.

The Ring of Honor's Justice is also interesting -it penalizes foes that use poison or similarly cowardly tactics with scaling curses. Nice! The Tabard of Righteous Metamagic increases effective spell levels for spells with the [lawful] or[good] descriptor. On another nitpicky tangent, formatting of the presentation of the 3 variants deviates from the one established in the other item entries.

Vestments of Honor's Virtue defines honorable attacks and allows a paladin to receive a powerful defense buff a limited number of times per day.

The final item herein would be the artifact Harngaul, "The Righteous Storm" is created from alchemical ceramic, a new material, and is a double-edged greatsword and also a legacy item - this would be Rite Publishing's take on magic items that increase in power over the levels. a hint of the significant power is granted via an omen the chosen wielder experiences. The blade increases in power at 3rd, 6th, 8th, 10th, 12th and 15th level, with unconscious-rendering effects to grant foes mercy to increased smiting capacity, channeling spell-like or supernatural abilities via the blade to dimensionally anchoring foes and even making force-weapons to accompany your strikes and finally adding holy avenger-style abilities.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting of this pdf are its weak point - the pdf has a number of cosmetic glitches that render some rules slightly opaque and some typos are in here. Layout adheres to Rite Publishing's 2-column full-color standard. The pdf comes with nice full-color artworks I haven't seen before and is fully bookmarked for your convenience, in spite of its short size.

I sometimes wish RiP-mastermind and author Steven D. Russell had more time on his hands for writing - Steven ahs a massive flair for creating iconic, cool things that just rock and this pdf is no different. Where other pdfs would have bored me with celestial pseudo-apotheosis number 3849 or bland numerical escalation 489, the items herein dare to be unique. There is not a single, lame item herein - this pdf is literally all killer, no filler in the content-department, offering powerful, cool tools for good PCs as well as great fluff in between the crunch. Were it only for the content, I'd immediately rate this 5 stars + seal of approval. However, the pdf does sport more glitches than usual for Rite Publishing and some of them could conceivably cause confusion on whether the item in question is paladin-exclusive or not. As much as I want to, I hence can't rate this the full 5 stars, instead settling on a final verdict of 4.5 stars, rounded down to 4. HOWEVER, personally, I love the items herein - they are often just godsend on the utility level and hence we have one of the rare pdfs here that receives my seal of approval in spite of not getting the full 5 stars - to denote how cool these items are, in spite of the formal glitches.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
10 Paladin Magic Items (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

101 Swamp Spells (PFRPG)
by Aaron H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2015 10:03:19

The following review was originally posted at Roleplayers Chronicle and can be read in its entirety at http://roleplayerschronicle.com/?p=45673.

This installment of Rite Publishing’s 101 series takes gamers to a place that is both loved and feared; the swamps. In the real world, swamps are very deadly places. In the real world there is no guarantee that the next step you take will be on firm ground, no matter how firm it might look. In real world swamps, any of the animals that don’t want to outright consume you, tend to carry some type of disease that will kill you, only much, much slower. In the real world swamp, dry is a foreign concept; no matter how far away from the water you are, there is an overwhelming sense of moist, clammy and damp. The environment keeps changing and can flood with little or no warning. Now when you add swamps to your fantasy world, things get even worse! Now you have magic, and magical creatures and intelligent races that are as at home in this dynamic environment as humans are on regular land.

Swamps are a place with a special draw for many gamers. T.V. shows like Swamp People, the dreaded fire swamp in the movie The Princess Bride and the comic and movie The Swamp Thing are great examples of people’s fascination with this environmental nightmare. Who could blame anyone for wanting their fighter or witch to spend a few gaming sessions in an asymmetric environment like this? Rite Publishing has done what they normally do, they saw a need, assembled a crack team and have given us 101 Swamp Spells.

Many of the spells in these 38 pages of crunch are variations on existing spells that most Game Masters and players know. Rite Publishing didn’t just take existing spells, change the names and call it a day, they built on the foundation of those spells , seasoned them up and added some toppings that scream swamp. I had no idea you could do that much with fog. I’ve seen it used in horror movies, but in Rite Publishing’s naughty little hands things escalated quickly. On my initial read through nothing jumped out as unbalanced, there were lots of devious spells in this collection, but everything seemed above board. No company is 100%, but Rite Publishing has shown themselves to be very responsible when it comes to ensuring their products are balanced when they need to be, and clever in their overall design.

The biggest problem with this product is its limited use. Many of the spells described in this book could be used many places, but when you specialize something like this, limits occur. I actually looked at many of the spells, thought about using them in a sprawling urban sewer and many of them still worked. This product is a wonderful companion for a campaign based in a swamp, but for a caster who has to select spells they might be stuck with for several levels, or for the rest of their adventuring career, this book could hurt, badly. Many of the spells are usable outside of the swamps, but some of them lose usefulness quickly when say in a desert.

The artwork and formatting are great; the page borders are standard fare for Rite Publishing, but I’m glad they went with swamp green instead of their normal light tan. There is no doubt this book is part of Rite Publishing’s 101 series. Rite Publishing has done a great job establishing their brand and making sure the people who see their products know who made them. If you as a Game Master are looking to get your players soggy, this book is a must. For any spell slinger, 101 more spells to choose from is never a bad thing, well unless you have a player who can never really finish their character because they are looking for just the right spell. Because I’m not a nice person, the next game I run in a swamp, I will ensure my spell casting NPCs use these to great effect on my players before I grant them access to them. This is a well-made product that fills a rather specialized role. With minor tweaking and some creativity, many of these spells can be used on dry land, but most of them are more fun when surrounded by Kermit and his cousins.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
101 Swamp Spells (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 121 to 135 (of 1002 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates