DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Gossamer Worlds: Stratospheria (Diceless)
by Peter P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/19/2014 15:16:22
This is another great source book showcasing the battle between the universal forces of perfection and entropy.
Like the world book Tetsujin Shogunate but on a much larger and different scale. While I liked the Kaiju and Giant robot inspired Tetsujin Shogunate world better it is only a matter of personal taste. If you prefer more cosmic sci fi you will like this sourcebook a lot.

The best way to put it is a few diamonds of high technology afloat on a sea of chaos. It has a little bit of aliens detailing some in more detail. The spin on a race called Jinn is interesting you really have to read about them to see.

Some of the things you will find in Stratospheria:

Air Pirates !
Avian like aliens that are superior pilots.
The mysterious Jinn who are a high tech spin on genies.
A supermax prison (For you Riddick fans)
Mention of the Deep Gods mysterious unknown creatures and beings living within the maelstrom.
Giant floating jellyfish designed to help make the world more habitable.
The battle of Eidolon vs Umbra on a more cosmic scale.

and the tantalizing possibility of something hidden at the heart of the gas giant.

Even as a source book on ideas to mine for other sci fi games this has some good ideas.

Well worth a purchase.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gossamer Worlds: Stratospheria (Diceless)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

20 Variant Foes: Worgs and Winter Wolves (PFRPG)
by Trev W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2014 20:25:14
If you are a fan of worgs or winter wolves, like I am, this is what you need. RITE publishing love their monster variants and here we have 20 variants for a dm to enjoy reading over, before they are inflicted upon the players.

The worgs and winter wolves are quite strong with varied special abilities and templates. I quite liked Judge Kerist the celestial worg inquisitor, and his combat tactics. The CR 14 silver wolf was quite impressive, and while the damage isn’t great, the buffs, fortification and protections are.

This book also has a number of extra features hidden in the back of it. We have templates, such as for the dread vampire, dread wight and apex predator. There are half-balors, phalanxes, and the ravenous creature (which weirds me out as it looks so creepy). There are magic items, archetypes for classes and some very powerful feats, intended for monsters, to make them really challenge the party. Some of these feats though, are deliberately overpowered, so a dm should be cautious and perhaps up the CR of monsters or villains that have them.

This book isn’t just about worgs or winter wolves. There is a lot more to it and I am very pleased with it, and look forward to sicking them on to the players. 5/5. Now to try and work out how to get a lot of this into my games.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
20 Variant Foes: Worgs and Winter Wolves (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

101 Not So Random Encounters: Forest Kingdom (PFRPG)
by Trev W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2014 20:01:59
This book is a welcome discovery. I was surprised by not only the amount of monsters and variants inside, but the breadth of CRs covered. The first one is CR 23, and they go through and down to CR 1/2.

The monsters and enemies are the guts of this book, and their stats are either complete, or they are variants of existing monsters with added special abilities and more description. What I most approved of was the “scaling the encounter” sections, which explain what to do to drop or increase the CR.

Having gone through the book, I will be using some of these in my game tonight. I especially liked the Green Guardian Alraune, the Greater Verdurous Ooze (that sleep effect could be fatal), the Dweomercat (to deal with spellcasters), the swamp eels and green hag encounter and Yooli the fearsome owlbear scaled up in CR.

Now for my rating, I am giving it 5/5. I really didn’t like the cover art, but that is not enough to detract from the high quality monsters and enemies inside—which is why we are really here.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
101 Not So Random Encounters: Forest Kingdom (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Addendum: Blessings & Curses (Diceless)
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/13/2014 08:36:33
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This supplement for DICELESS LoGaS is 8 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, leaving us with 6 pages of content, so let's take a look, shall we?



Based on Psyche, the ability to bestow blessings & curses costs 35 points - 15 points for the ability and a pool of 20 points to make said blessings & curses. Once these are used up, the rest of the required point costs are converted to bad stuff or detracted from good stuff. So...what's the difference between stuff and these conditions? The pdf does explain that rather nice, and the process of delivering blessings & curses is also covered in detail. The more severe the curse, the more points it costs.



The same holds true for gradient influence and persistence of these effects. How hard a curse/blessing can be dismissed also determines the final point cost, as does the effect's duration - from this, one can craft exceedingly easily new and varied effects, guided by a concise, easy to grasp system, with your imagination being the only limit.



We also get a 10-point, 21-point and 55-point sample curse, including a cost break-down.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice any significant glitches. Layout adheres to RiP's beautiful two-column full-color standard and the pdf comes with gorgeous full-color artworks. The pdf comes with rather minimalistic bookmarks, which is all it needs, though.



Jason Durall delivers a simple, elegant, easy to grasp concept for making blessing and curses in LoGaS and overall, the supplement features a great system - one with one crucial flaw in my book: Why is there no cost for creating either exclusively blessings or exclusively curses? Fiction is full of characters that can enunciate dreadful curses, but couldn't bless a wart away... So yeah, that does constitute a rather significant oversight in my book, one that, at this length, weighs quite heavily. Add to that the rather generic sample curses, and we are left with a good little expansion, but one that lacks the little spark of brilliance to catapult it to the highest echelons. My final verdict will hence clock in at 4 stars.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Addendum: Blessings & Curses (Diceless)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gossamer Worlds: Stratospheria (Diceless)
by Mark K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/08/2014 19:53:16
The newest Gossamer World to hit the stores is the mini source book on Stratospheria. Its full title being Gossamer Worlds: Stratospheria. It has been written by Matt Banach and looks at the introduction of a world that is populated by airborne cities that circulate around a super large planet with crushing gravity completely inhospitable by regular beings.

Let me start with the quality of the writing in this booklet. It is fantastic! I read the booklet and it read more like a novel than a source book. The stories and possibilities that arise through the text are evocative and descriptive. I just loved the idea of a floating city world but this does so much more and packs the entire booklet from the first page with ideas that would make this a fun setting to run the game in.

The idea of the planet below is largely glossed over for many pages but then there is a small paragraph in the booklet that reveals a possibility of what is on the planet that made me appreciate this little booklet tenfold! Am I going to reveal it? Hell no! Buy it and find it out for yourself.

The beauty of these booklets that are coming out for the Gossamer worlds is they are cheap $1.49 (USD) and made for the game Lords of Gossamer and Shadow but can be used for any suitable system. I can see myself using this booklet for Traveller in the very near future! Sure, there are probably a few bits and pieces that are Lords of Gossamer and Shadow specific but the overall feel of the worlds can be transferred while ignoring those components. For example, there is only one page in this booklet that has anything listed that is mechanically related to the game (great thing about a diceless system). Alternatively it may open up the urge to investigate the game of Lords of Gossamer and Shadow as well and if that happens, pursue the feeling. You will not be disappointed.

The artwork inside this booklet is phenomenal. In reality I am a very shallow human being that is easily pleased by a pretty picture and Rite Publishing's Steve Russell taunted me in the lead up to this products release with some of the most lush pictures of this world. The layout is great and fits with the theme of all of the books so far and makes for easy reading. Great work as always by the people that work on both of these portions.

In short, I can not find a reason to dislike this book. I try to be thorough and I believe I have here and come up with nothing but love for this setting. Once you have finished this paragraph GO BUY IT. Just go buy it! It really is that good. Five out of Five drops to the planetary surface! Are you still reading? Go buy it! And remember Don't keep rolling (with Lords of Gossamer and Shadow at least)!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gossamer Worlds: Stratospheria (Diceless)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gossamer Worlds: Empyrea (Diceless)
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/06/2014 02:49:49
An Endzeitgeist.com review

Infinite worlds lie on the Grand Stairs - here, we get Empyrea in the second installment of the Gossamer Worlds-series in a 9-page pdf, of which 1 page is the front cover, 1 page the editorial, leaving 7 pages - so what is this place all about?



If you're a comic-book-nerd, think New Genesis. If that doesn't ring any bells - think an idealistic, enlightened greco-roman-style planet of essentially superhumans - guided by a benevolent allfather who is only slowly coming to grips with the existence of the Grand Stair, the people of Empyrea essentially live in bliss and, via positive eugenics, can be indeed considered superb beings. If you're like me, this makes you shudder somewhat, though the ruler seems indeed to be a mostly benevolent influence. Overall, though, the otherwise very elysian society remains ignorant of the Grand Stairs...at least for now.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice any glitches. Layout adheres to Rite Publishing's purple-bordered two-column full-color standard and the thematically-fitting stock-art by Thomas Cole is great. The pdf comes with bookmarks, in spite of its brevity.



Matt Banach's in-character prose once again is glorious and Empyrea comes alive from the pages of this supplement - the writing is awesome and the world per se compelling and full of potential. That being said, the world as such feels slightly less unique than Brokeworld, has no per se unique characteristic regarding its influence on magic/characters. It makes for a great, compelling backdrop, but it feels a tad bit less original than Brokeworld. It makes for a great place to visit, but verdict-wise, this installment of gossamer worlds clocks in at 4 stars for me - a good supplement, but not 100% as unique as its predecessor.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Gossamer Worlds: Empyrea (Diceless)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gossamer Worlds: Brokeworld (Diceless)
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/26/2014 03:03:11
An Endzeitgeist.com review

Infinite worlds lie on the Grand Stairs - here, we get Brokeworld in a 6-page pdf, of which 1 page is the front cover, 1 page the editorial, leaving 4 pages - so what is Brokeworld all about?



In in-character prose, this little supplement introduces us to the Brokeworld, a cosmic dumping ground for other gossamer worlds - plagued by size/shapechanging gremlins that propagate via fecal matter, roamed by the Unmade, broken practitioners of Eidolon, this world not only is notoriously hard to leave, its domain table also makes sure that poor saps stranded there have their good stuff slowly drained and means of taking control etc. all are present - a truly destitute, apocalyptic vista indeed!



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice any significant glitches. Layout adheres to Rite Publishing's purple-bordered two-column standard for LoGaS and the pdf even comes with bookmarks, in spite of its short length.



Written by Matt Banach, who has proven his mettle for the weird before in RiP's superb Faces of the Tarnished Souk-series (which remains my go-to benchmark for NPC-supplements), Brokeworld is a captivating read of a supplemented by a superb top-notch artwork by Trung Ta Ha. Mechanically interesting, with ample narrative potential, it makes for a great place to integrate into a LoGaS-campaign and should also act as a neat inspiration for planar adventures of other settings. Final verdict? 5 stars + seal of approval.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gossamer Worlds: Brokeworld (Diceless)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rite Map Pack: City by the Sea
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/23/2014 12:14:30
If you love designing cities for your campaign world but are handicapped by the inability to draw city plans this is something to pounce upon.

It's quite a big sprawling city - at least by the cod-mediaeval standards appropriate for a fantasy game - set on a coastal plain. It's a little unusual in that there is no natural harbour nor is it at a river mouth, but if those are in short supply in the area the nice flat land it sits upon is probably what attracted those who founded the city to build here.

It is all set up to make customisation easy too. The PDF includes an unmarked single sheet version and a series of pages that you'll have to stick together to make a poster-size map. With good use of 'form fillable' technology, there is also a labelled map where you can enter in your own city name and the names of selected numbered locations ready to show the important places to your players once their characters start to find their way around (or purchase a map).

The ZIP file that also comes with your download contains large JPEG files which can be worked on in your favourite graphics package, used in a virtual table top or even printed if you have access to poster printing facilities.

All you need to do is decide who dwells there and what adventures will take place when the party visits town!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rite Map Pack: City by the Sea
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rite Map Pack: City by the Sea
by Trev W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2014 22:00:22
Tommi Salama does a fine job with this map pack.

This city is ready for adventurers. It is quite detailed, and could be a hive if villainy or a bastion of goodness.

For this product, the price is also quite good, and you get close ups and larger views of the city. I only wish that page 4 with its 15 landmarks had a lot more listed - which always provides ideas and places for a dm.

I really appreciate cartography and fantasy maps, and I liked this: 4/5.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Evocative City Sites: The Rogue's Gallery Tavern (PFRPG)
by JK R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2014 03:33:33
This is basically a floorplan for a one-room tavern, seemingly intended for a quasi-Victorian setting, although it's easy enough to adapt to any other. It's a nicely done line drawing, done as a single page version and a full-size one that can be fitted together from several pages, plus a GM key. There is also one page of text description, and a page detailing the barman and the serving girl, who are both interesting, with some plot hooks built into their backgrounds.

Nicely done, although it's more of a concept outline than a fully fledged location.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Evocative City Sites: The Rogue's Gallery Tavern (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Secrets of the Divine: Pantheon, Love, Sky, & Wright
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/18/2014 12:37:10
An Endzeitgeist.com review of the revised version

This massive pdf is 36 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD and 2 pages of advertisement, leaving us with 31 pages of content, so let's take a look, shall we?



So if you've been following Rite Publishing's releases for some years like I have, you probably will have to have noticed by now the implicit setting of the books, Steven D. Russell's much-anticipated Magnum Opus Questhaven. This supplement constitutes one of the releases that can be considered very much tied to the setting, with us getting an introduction to some of the deities of the setting and their servants. Thus, one could call this a sourcebook of divinities as well as of their adherents.



First of all, it should be noted that the respective deities are not called by their name, but rather by epithets - a notion which I have adapted to my campaign: The deity of song and love would be for example known as "Our Laughing Traveler of Passages and Messages", while, when talking about e.g. Asmodeus, a good character would probably call the archdevil "Their Dark Lord of Fire" or "Their Infernal Tyrant" - a great way to utilize processes of identity construction and othering to create identities. The respective entries of the deities come with full (sub-)domain-information, portfolios etc. as well as information on the respective church's background, secrets, manifestations, holy days, mythology and hierarchies, written in lavish, awesome in-character prose that actually makes the pdf a joy to read.



So let's get into the meat, shall we? Well, first would be the church of the great pantheon, which is essentially the catch-all pantheon sans evil deities - and thus, clerics of the pantheon can choose from almost ALL domains or subdomains. Read that again. Yes. When I showed this to the player in my group who almost always likes to play divinely-inspired characters, he was grinning from ear to ear. On one hand, it's awesome because you get to finally choose the obscure domain/subdomain combination you always wanted. On the other hand, this can be potentially problematic if you use a lot of domains in your game and consider the assignment of domains to deities a balancing factor - after all, some domains simply are, at least regarding their granted abilities, better than others. So yeah, DMs beware regarding that one.



The first servant of the Pantheon we're introduced to would be the Deacon of the Great Church, a 10-level PrC that gets d8, 6+Int skills per level, 3/4 BAB-progression, 1/2 ref-and will-progression, +1d6 sneak attack progression on every odd level and full bardic spellcasting progression, should you have bardic levels. It should be noted that the classes HD are somewhat hidden directly below the table above the requirements, a slightly confusing place layout-wise. Beyond the obvious agent-angle, the PrC also get a discount at most places. At 4th level, Deacons get the Astute Planning-ability - 1/day, the Deacon can devise a plan as a move action that adds the Deacon's class level to any roll and even flat-footed AC of an ally. EDIT: Now, the ability is fixed, comes with a limit that makes sense - nothing to complain anymore!



They also get a cohort and as a capstone, may use suggestion at an increased, rather evil DC, with mass suggestion also being possible. Another quick fix that over all, makes the PrC now completely bereft of complaints on my part.!



We also get a new paladin archetype, the Orphans of Ecumenical Commandments. These paladins replace their detect evil with the option to assist healing by maximizing numerical variables of their own or another's healing, but only for one target. They also are keepers of the law, modifying smite evil to work against known lawbreakers instead and get law-themed auras. What's downright genius is their mercy that nets them essentially an extra-dimensional holding cell to temporarily keep hostiles you don't want to kill. This one is glorious and wills be quite a bit use in my campaigns - great to see some non-lethal ways to deal with foes, though the lack of any form of increased non-lethal capabilities mean that the archetype could have used a bit more options in that array. Nice: We get a proper code of conduct!



Then there would be Divine Vessels - summoners that cast from the inquisitor spell-list as divine spells and divine variant of any directly eidolon-influencing spells. Additionally, they may enter what can be considered a kind of avatar as a standard action. This form allows you reassign your attributes (with a bonus), skills and even feats, but also temporarily prevents you from using some abilities. This form has its own hit points to take care of and effects, curses etc. all are covered. Essentially, this allows you to pseudo-gestalt with your eidolon, though the armor-bonuses the form may have beyond those granted for eidolon-form, are negated. A former issue here has been fixed as well - the avatar now has fixed stats.

The new feats for the archetype allow you to have your animal companion change to fit your avatar form or hit harder when charging while transforming. 1/day form-change as an immediate action is also rather powerful, as is an elemental aura, and similar effects to accompany transformations - now all with concise, nice limits to eliminate an exploit that was there before. Now, this archetype is actually THE way to go Captain Marvel on your foes and one of the most ambitious ones I've ever seen. Kudos!



The Fairest Lady of Love and Song's two new domain feats that allow you to expend domain abilities to create unique effects - rather cool ones, if I may say so! Lacing spells with channel energy as damage is a concept I like, as is inciting permanent megalomania. Hedge Knight cavaliers replace mounts and cavalier's charge with an option to temporarily make armor or shield magical, choosing from a wide array of possible spontaneous enchantments and at 11th level, may combine full attack with total defense - interesting take on the mount-less cavalier! Speaking of cavaliers - they get a new order with the Order of the Nightengale: These knights may grant temporary hit points with inspiring poetry and are buffed by permanent heroism (which can be suspended to temporarily become its greater-version) as long as they have a love. Awesome RP-potential there! At 15th level, they may also force all creatures within 30 feet to take the same damage they do - though the cavalier may not willingly fail saves while the ability is in effect. WHICH IS AWESOME! Seriously, now perfectly working!



We also are introduced to 6 bardic feats (one of which you'll know from 101 bardic feats), on allowing you to duplicate dimensional lock via bardic performance, antimagic field summoned/called creatures, inflict damage to aberrations or steel your will against will-save-prompting effects. Nice feats.



Next up would be Our Master of Thunder, who comes with a (YES!!!) Legendary Curse that depicts the consequence of speaking the deities names in vain - loved this one in 101 Legendary Curses, still love it. The first archetype in service to which we're introduced to would be the Hawk of Vengeance, an inquisitor archetype with a full BAB and no spellcasting..and it may also execute coup de graces as a MOVE action - OUCH! Rather cool - instead of killing adversaries, these inquisitors may elect to instead withhold damage to instead main/scar etc. their targets, the effects requiring a CL-check to heal. I only wished the pdf had a table of more varied effects regarding the consequences of maiming/scarring etc.



Rogue Genius Games' Dragonrider also gets support in the guise of the windrider, who may choose just about any flying creature. They also cast spells as a divine caster and use the ranger spell-list. Essentially, the class is a more versatile than the standard dragonrider in its mount-selection. There also are two new feats, one of which lets you create a net of thunder and lightning on your weapon or add the thunder/lightning to attacks, Sphinxes, Griffons, Hippogriffons and Birds of Prey, Manticores, Pegasus, Chimeras and Perytons are included among the steed choices. Nice one for flying-heavy modules.



The final deity would be the Grand Wright of Heaven. Via a domain feat, clerics may grant items 3 temporary charges, which you can expend in increments to activate items as certain actions sans expending charges - thankfully with a caveat that leaves the final say to the DM. The first archetype would be the Relic Seeker, an inquisitor who gains SR against curses instead of detect alignment and is particularly adept at finding and identifying items. Not that interesting.

Artisans of Hallowed Vessels, a type of rogue who is particularly adept at crafting magical items (and counts as with a caster level etc.) and also get a pool of points that scale and refresh with levels (but don't accumulate - not spending = your loss!) - these may be used as substitutions for gold when crafting. The archetype also gets an array of rogue (and advanced rogue) talents, themed around item creations Doing the math for this one took FOREVER. While the archetype shares some characteristics with the artificer that can become problematic for very WBL-strict campaigns with a lot of downtime, I did not experience a significant detriment to balance as long as a DM isn't too careless with it. So yeah, while the archetype could be slightly abused, I do think that in most campaigns, the class will not prove to be problematic - so yeah, kudos. One thing that's somewhat a pity - this would also have been a nice opportunity to fix the broken crafting of mundane items .



The pdf closes with a short 2-page introduction to Questhaven.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good now - Rite Publishing has wasted NO time and immediately started fixing just about all issues I pointed out. See, that's them doing things the rite way! Artwork contains awesome holy symbols in full color for the deities and original pieces, but also features some nice b/w-pieces you may know from other supplements.



This pdf is a joy to read, and, much like the best of Steven D. Russell's writing, not only contains glorious prose, but also several distinctly high concept-ideas: From the mostly awesome feats to the cool deities to the archetypes, there is no filler material herein. Everything breathes inspiration and there are quite a few pieces of crunch here that are downright inspired, brilliant. The complaints I had have been almost unanimously been purged and what remains is a thoroughly cool supplement, full of great prose and evocative character concepts, just waiting to be unleashed upon your players. Hence, I upgrade my review to 5 stars, omitting my seal only by a very slight margin - this revised version is worth your every buck.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secrets of the Divine: Pantheon, Love, Sky, & Wright
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Threats: Dawn of the Dwimmerlaik (Diceless)
by Peter P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2014 11:37:31
I have just read through this Threats book from Rite Publishing and these are my initial thoughts.

It is light on mechanics only having one page really dedicated to some expansion to the Channeling power. This is perfectly fine, as I bought this book not for the crunch but for information on one of the most pervasive forces of evil ? in the Lords of Gossamer and Shadow multiverse.

It does a good job in describing how they see themselves and their place in the universe. Details about their culture, how they deal with their outcasts. (Spoiler: It is not what you might think ) Some of their unique sports, as well as their view as a people to other forces and beings. Their respect for history and their ancestors, and how they record history is both a little creepy, and cool at the same time.

It also has a single act that entirely changed them as a species. (I can only say you need to read it, It is pretty epic.)


The reason I don't give it five stars is the whole is laced with the constant repetition, that all of this can of course, be a lie. This is both a good and bad thing. Good in that if a GM doesn't like it. They can discard it in part or whole, and use their own creation for the Dwimmerlaik. It is bad in that if it is all a lie, it has less value as a source book.

It does have some interesting characters in it towards the end and they are statted. A young Lady of Gossamer who is pretty interesting and the Dwimmerlaik's chief assassin. (Yes he is a scary guy)

If you want to get a good feel for the Dwimmerlaik with the caveat that all of it could be lies this is a good book to pick up.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Threats: Dawn of the Dwimmerlaik (Diceless)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

101 Not So Simple Monster Templates (PFRPG)
by Jeff A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2014 10:18:38
the Good stuff...

Great resource.
~Awesome layout - haven't noticed any major typographical issues.
~Great diversity! Both up and down templates, which is rare... and a lot of the templates are fairly "versatile" in that you could put them in any geographic area and they'd make sense...
~Very good artwork (I'm not much of a critic, but I liked it)

The Other stuff...

~I do wish they'd included more than just +/- 2cr... not a whole bunch, but a few higher / lower would have been nice. [Note, there ARE 2 +3 and 2 +4, no +5; there are 2 -3 and 1 -5 but no -4] A wider spread, rather than 95% being in the -2 to +2 range (of which only 3 are 0) would have been nice... on the other hand, many of these could EASILY be modified to fit the higher/lower needs of a GM. (but the whole point of the book was to not NEED to tinker - just have something to slap on...)

The bad stuff...

~Some of the internal logic in assigning CR's didn't make a lot of sense to me... since one or two +2 templates were powered just barely a sliver more powerful than a similar template at +1... most of the templates are fine, but a few do need (minor) adjustments up or down.


The "Big Picture"...
~Would I buy it again? Yes!
~Would I recommend it? Absolutely

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
101 Not So Simple Monster Templates (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gossamer Worlds: Tetsujin Shogunate (Diceless)
by Peter P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/07/2014 22:44:57
I have been snapping up the books for Rite Publishing's Lords of Gossamer and Shadow line of pdfs as they come out.
Originally I wasn't too impressed with the World Books. While they did show what could be done with a Gossamer World and had some interesting places. Nothing really captured my imagination like Tetsujin Shogunate. Broke World gave us a view of a hopelessly flawed garbage dump of a world heavily influenced by the Umbra. Epmryea showed us a pretty interesting take on an ultramodern beautiful technological version of ancient Greece. The Nightmare Kingdom was what one might expect of such a title a place influenced by the Umbra but even more a place of fear and terror. All nice in their own way. Tetsujin Shogunate though shows a battle between two forces and has some more in tune with the perfection of Eidolon with their technology, (Giant Robots, Power Armor wearing Samurai and Star Steel) siding with humans to fight the Oni a force decidedly more in tune with the Umbra and destruction as well as corruption. (Giant Kaiju like monsters, and their corrupted human blood tainted mutant warriors ) This book really shows the tension between these two forces playing out on this Gossamer world. Something which I really think needed to be highlighted and this world book does it well.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gossamer Worlds: Tetsujin Shogunate (Diceless)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
I wanted to thank Peter Perkins for taking the time to do a review of our product.
Gossamer Worlds: Tetsujin Shogunate (Diceless)
by Trev W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/07/2014 20:14:27
Reviewing Tetsujin Shogunate I will say up front that it is simply amazing. Bizarre settings like this are just what rpgs need. This is heavy on the Japanese themes (it is a shogunate setting of course) but also very sci fi and suitable even for abberation heavy or feudal but with lost tech fantasy.

The story and set-up is good. The alien kappa have fallen to Earth and allied with the Tokugawa shogunate and given them far future technology. The world has been devastated by the consequences of an alien war and the oni (also aliens) are on the loose. The kappa build their titans to counteract the Oni, who are not simply and singularly angry beasts, but manipulators and corruptors with a plan. It is quite an exciting set-up, although some may balk at mainland Asia being controlled by the Oni (and their mind-control technology) and Japan being the last hope of humanity.

Still it is a brilliant little setting, with a lot of good ideas in a small space. This is also so cheap at the moment, you really should get it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
I wanted to thank Trev W. for taking the time to do a review of our product.
Displaying 121 to 135 (of 922 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates