DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Demolished Ones (Fate)
by Hubert M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/07/2015 00:38:33

Gra ciekawa , wprowadza klimat zagadki . Jednak ma słaby punkt , zazwyczaj można jej użyć tylko raz bo później traci swój zagadkowy klimat . Najlepszy jest ten pierwszy raz kiedy gracze odkrywają pokłady kłamstwa i prawdy które w tej grze przeplatają się ze sobą nieustannie .



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Demolished Ones (Fate)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

101 Forest Spells (PFRPG)
by Bennett S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/06/2015 13:49:45

Why did I buy this? What did I actually get?
I have been growing a bit tired of Vancian magic for a while, even at the point when I bought this, but it seemed like it would have something interesting to offer. And it did... I had no idea.


Have I used this, or will I use this?
I have not yet implemented this in game, but come tomorrow, I imagine at least one of my players will be getting a Friend of the Forest tattoo from an allied tribe of werewolves...and there's nowhere to go but up from there.


How is the fluff?
Not a lot of 'independent' fluff to speak of in this book, but there's definitely cool imagery invoked in the spells, and in the way they tie to the mechanics. As a simple example, Winter Hag Form says that you have an urge to worshipped, and eat warm raw flesh (especially that of children); if you're actively pursuing these goals, you get a hefty bonus to a number of skills. Many of the spells work on this 'mechanics-meets-narrative' platform, and it's utterly refreshing.


How are the mechanics?
Nothing in this PDF jumped out to me as OP or out-of-control; especially when you factor in an introductory paragraph, explaining that a lot of these spells will be very powerful within to forest, but may be useless outside of it, and therefore may be better suited towards NPCs. But there are many cool categories of spells featured here in - many 'Aspect of the <blank>' or '<specific creature> Form' polymorph spells, altered core spells in the form of 'Mass Barkskin', 'Leaf on the Wind' (a Feather Fall variant) or 'Bones & Branches,' a lower level version of animate dead that creates weaker undead through the substitution of natural materials - dirt, sticks, leaves, etc. The aforementioned Friends of the Forest spell is a cantrip that leaves a simple magical tattoo on an ally - where this gets cool is the OTHER spells that work off of it: Friends Defend the Forest gives marked creatures combat bonuses, whereas Gather Friends teleports those creatures to your side from anywhere on the same plane. And I always appreciate useful cantrips, like Gather Kindling - everything in this PDF just looks like FUN, rather than work, which is how I've started to view more traditional Vancian spells (though Occult Adventures did something right with Explode Head).


How's the art?
It adds a lot. Rite Publishing products often include cool, evocative art, but it doesn't always seem like it fits. That is not true in this case; I don't worry too much about art outside of monster books, but this would absolutely be a lesser PDF if any piece were absent.


How’s readability?
As per usual, Rite Publishing has some great editing, a simple, easy to read layout, and a practical font. No problems here.


Was the price fair?
I was hesitant to drop $5.99 at the time, not sure I wanted to pore through more spells under the Vancian system. But I'm glad I did - it was more than worth the cost. If you're not sure you'd ever see use of this in your game, go look at others in the series that might match up with your game better. Or maybe you're like me, and even if it never sees the table, you have fun reading cool mechanics and ideas; if so, I also cannot recommend this enough.


Favorite part?
Like DaVinci, the Wright Brothers, and other inventors of old, the sky captures my imagination, but I'll never know it like a bird does. Wait, 'Host of Sparrows' lets me do exactly that, AND take my friends with? Sold.


Least favorite part?
Unicorn's Prowess is a cool idea for a spell... but I don't know if I need to spend 10 minutes casting a combat-focused spell that last for 1 round/level, even if I'm at least 13th level before I gain.


5/5 - Worth every penny for games spending any time in the forest...maybe even those that don't.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
101 Forest Spells (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

10 Kingdom Seeds: Forests (PFRPG)
by Bennett S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/05/2015 10:33:43

Why did I buy this? What did I actually get?
I really enjoy the Village Backdrop series by Raging Swan Press, and I trust Rite Publishing's product quality. So purchasing this, despite knowing the focus and level of detail would be different, was still a no-brainer for me.


Have I used this, or will I use this?
I'm hoping that one of the next campaigns I run can incorporate Ultimate Campaign's kingdom building rules. This would be, as of this writing, the first place I turn for a starting settlement.


How is the fluff?
This is the lynchpin of a product like this right? Well, it delivers, each settlement sporting a paragraph or two summary, two or three buildings, and three rumors. Every settlement here has something cool to offer, whether it's Butteroak's double palisade with assassin vine's planted between to keep out the wildlife, or Garrant's copper jewelry trade, based on leaf molds taken from red-leaved trees. Moreover, this fluff is dense. The longest of these barely spills into the next page. Very good.


How are the mechanics?
I didn't take the time to match qualities to the corruption and etc scores, but the stat blocks are all present, including stuff like Notable NPCs, Marketplace, and even Terrain Type.


How’s readability?
Layout, font, and page backgrounds are all good.


How's the look?
Art is sparse, but well done and appropriate. The covers certainly my favorite.


Was the price fair?
At $1.49, this PDF is a steal.


Favorite part?
Butteroak deals with troublemakers by making them run circuits of the aforementioned assassin vine palisade. A deliciously evil punishment.


Least favorite part?
The rumors are kind of weak. They may have been better presented as a d% table at the end, as they all come off a bit generic as is, and I don't see that any but one or two of them couldn't be used for other settlements with a slight wording tweak.


5/5 - not perfect, but amazing bang for your buck



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
10 Kingdom Seeds: Forests (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

#30 Magic Tools (PFRPG)
by Bennett S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2015 11:28:08

Why did I buy this? What did I actually get?
I've always found a disconnect in the default High Fantasy Pathfinder playstyle where magic is commonplace, but magic items that are a practical price for low-level characters is non-existant. Having enjoyed the Loot-4-Less series by (then) Super Genius Games, I was imagining this product to be along a similar line. Surprisingly, there is number of high price point items in here as well.


Have I used this, or will I use this?
I bought this around the time of it's release, and have yet to incorporate these items into a game. However, I would like to believe that they will see some use in a future game; neither of the characters I play, nor the campaign I presently run, have an obvious place for anything.


How is the fluff?
The fluff is a blast to read, following the tale of Mellan the bard, creator of the items herein. Learning the history of the items have DCs as well, making sure the fluff not only keeps from interfering with game mechanics, but actively complements them. This is something Rite Publishing always does well.


How are the mechanics?
In a word, fun! These items cover a lot of bases, from commonsense items in a magical world (a spoon that can detect and then purify poison) to iconic (Lightfoot Shoon allow you to double jump, while the Mantle of Unremarked Passage is a perception filter a la Doctor Who).


How’s readability?
Probably the only item I take issue with is the Arcane Anthology, as it seems to refer both to a specific book and a general type of enchanted book at the same time. It works in either sense, but I found it a little obtuse. Otherwise, editing is good, and font and layout render the PDF readable.


Was the price fair?
Absolutely.


Favorite part?
Gauntlets that protect you from the heat of forging weapons - they fall not only it the "duh" category, but they're perfect for baking, too!


Least favorite part?
Since I'm making myself pick, we'll say the bridle that prevents the rider from falling out of the saddle. Nothing wrong if it's your jam, but it tastes a touch too cheesy/exploitable for me.


5/5 - not quite what I expected, but it's probably a better product for it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#30 Magic Tools (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gossamer Worlds: Poseidon's Rapture (Diceless)
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/30/2015 10:07:35

An Endzeitgeist.com review


This installment of the evocative Gossamer Worlds-series clocks in at 17 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 2 pages of advertisement, leaving us with 13 pages of content, so let’s take a look!


Poseidon's Rapture was a bountiful world like many others - with ages good and bad...and then, Poseidon left...or died...or was abducted. The world's god was gone, and soon after he had abandoned the place, the deluge began - or rather, the lack thereof. Mysteriously, the water did start to rise, swallowing most of the land of this world, forcing civilization beneath the waves - into remnants of former places, ships...


Poseidon's Rapture is literally land-under. Above and below the seas, robbers, pirates and the like roam the waves and a sense of decrepitude suffuses the world - somewhere between high civilization, age of sail and water world in a world of technology adrift and houses feuding over the remnants of erstwhile civilizations.


Beneath the waves, the Cerulean Choir (with full abilities), the abandoned angels of Poseidon, still roam the waters and leviathans glide through the depths - and in the light-less darkness, creatures from the deep roam, once again, with full qualities listed.


From the cities of New Atlantis to the tropic Razor Falls, lavishly rendered and fascinating places to visit, await -and perhaps, you can even take control of the legendary boat Pequod (again, with stats)... As always, this installment ends with a summary of the world's properties and advice on how to use it.


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are top-notch, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to Rite Publishing’s beautiful 2-column full-color standard for LoGaS and the pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience. Artwork consists of glorious full-color pieces that are absolutely gorgeous to behold.


Matt Banach's Poseidon's Rapture does fall a bit short of the previous installment on Poetica Mundi - but then again, I expected that. The concept of a water-world is interesting, with the details and depicted houses and their politics providing an intriguing blend. At the same time, i couldn't help but feel as though this could have gone one step further - unlike many other Gossamer Worlds, this one didn't jumpstart my imagination to the usual extent - perhaps due to resources or the like not being that pronounced. Perhaps it's that I would have loved this to go more full-blown bonkers. Then again, this reflects only my personal preferences - perhaps, for you, this does the job. My final verdict, then, will clock in at 4.5 stars, rounded down to 4.


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Gossamer Worlds: Poseidon's Rapture (Diceless)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

101 Subterranean Spells (PFRPG)
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/29/2015 04:46:40

An Endzeitgeist.com review


The third book of Dave Paul's terrain-centric spell-supplements clocks in at a massive 49 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page advertisement, 1 page SRD, leaving us with a massive 45 pages of content, so let's take a look!


Okay, so subterranean spells, hmm? The theme itself is something near and dear to my heart - I still consider the lack of support for spells interacting with/requiring faerzress in the Forgotten Realms a criminally-negligent oversight, so let's take a look at what type of spells we can find within these pages!


After the obligatory spell-list by class, we dive right into the new array of spells Dave Paul has crafted -and begin with a theme of aberrant magicks - and they do sport some rather nasty tricks: What about a 2nd level spell that grants you all-around vision via red-eyed tentacles growing from your neck and shoulders, ones that also show you the current emotional state of creatures of your subtype, albeit only within 5 ft.? Yes, this is pretty cool...and powerful. Indeed, it may be too powerful. Granted, the spell's visuals render it less than subtle - but in the confines of the underdark and its weird creatures, it is powerful. The issue here would be that the spell allows for the detection of shapechangers and the like - you can't detect the emotions of targets of other types, nor can you share thoughts with creatures you touch via this spell. This would be less of an issue, were the spell not transmutation, the emotion-detector a supernatural ability. There is next to no option to bypass/fool this one. No exchange, reliable detect. Worse, the spell can be expended via a touch attack that save-or-suck renders the recipient unconscious for 1d4+1 rounds. UNCONSCIOUS. Remember, this is a 2nd level spell. For me, this is one step too far.


On the plus-side, though, the spells also allow for some unique effects: Take the lvl 9 aberrant mind: Beyond the increase of Int/Cha-based skills and checks, this one allows you to act out that power-fantasy from editions long gone, using kind-of-psionic-y, devastating mental assaults. On the even more awesome side would be a kind of ritual: Know that undead thing you just defeated? Well, if you know a certain spell from this book, you can pulverize the skull of the undead and expend A LOT of gold to acquire a spell of up to 6th level usually unavailable to you. While this sounds pretty much like a textbook broken spell, the narrative ramifications are intriguing and the spell, at lvl 7, costly and limited enough to imho work pretty well.


We all know it - the trope of the ageless, ancient man who has sustained his life beyond the limitations of a usual life-span. Well, for only 3 skum tears, casters capable of 8th level sorcery may now prolong their life via ageless...to an extent, for the fragility such magic entails in the tropes is represented by negative levels, which you can't cheat out of - you may delay the reaper, but you can't cheat him. Variant summoning of ascomoids, an ability that lets you detect the blood of the living. Speaking of the living - there are rather intriguing spells herein that vary in their effects depending on the target: Casting burning bones on a living creature, for example, nets the target significant pain. Undead or constructs made of bones instead take damage and the spell can also be used to damage unattended bones. I particularly enjoyed options to cripple burrow speed (or breathing while burrowing), providing fixes to petty glaring logic holes that burrow speed to me always represented.


Adaptation to the hostile underground terrain is also a theme of this book - including thematically fitting components that prevent the undue spamming of such magics. Perhaps you'd rather assume the form of a cave troll or call a svartalfar assassin to take down your foes in a variant of planar ally? Jup, thematically, pretty cool, though the latter feels a bit like filler to me.


The same can thankfully not be said about the curse of claustrophobia or the collapsing tunnel trap... I am very weary of Crypt Sight, a cantrip-version of detect undead, which may not showcase auras, but it does render undead ambushes pretty hard - that spell is not gonna see use in my campaign. That being said, the spells also feature some mechanically innovative aspects - like doubled range when cast in the correct surroundings or the requirement of targeting commanded undead when cast as an arcane spell -it's small nods and tricks like this that add significantly to the flair of the respective spells provided. The highly complex and well-crafted walls of crystal should be considered a star herein.


Balancing options via components are some of my favorites and an upgraded form of mnemonic enhancer could be considered an excellent example why this is great: The power the spell offers is significant, but it does so at the cost of a scroll and a rare component, allowing for sufficient GM-control, even in the case the spell falls into the hands of the players. There also are some intriguing double-edged swords herein - take Derro's Madness. The spell is a curse that cripples your Wis and enhances your Cha - significantly. To the point, actually, where it may seem more like a buff than a curse. However, it also afflicts the target with a con-damage-causing weakness to sunlight and makes the target incessantly obsess over other creatures not being affected by sunlight thusly. From a mechanics point of view, the significant cha-boost demands to be cheesed by cha-based characters. However, the obsession and weakness are roleplaying potential galore...and should make PCs think thrice before casting this curse on an ally - especially considering the derro's predilection for rather...unpleasant experimentation...


What about a variant of invisibility right between it and its improved brethren, which allows for tactical readied actions versus the adversary before he vanishes again? Indeed - this one is one of those "why has no one done this before???"-moments. Want to really piss off that vain dark elf? What about an otyugh-transformation-curse? Or a truly astounding spell: Ignore Metal. What you get is a highly complex, codified spell that gets a VAST array of corner-cases right. Granted, I would have liked it to explicitly spell out more distinctly the fact that e.g. spears still deal full bludgeoning damage, but the fact that e.g. molten lead, dragons with metal claw-supplements and the like are covered, still render this a spell that feels MAGICAL. Complex, versatile and awesome. And it can lead to hilarious PC-deaths. You'll see when you read the spell... cough fall through the metal fortress.../cough Also downright brilliant: Fooling foes with tremorsense by imprinting tremors...absolutely glorious! Less versatile, but also pretty cool - selective silence that allows the dead to speak! Or what about FINALLY a spell-representation of the near-death-experience that is featured in so many initiation-rites of death-cults? Need some guarding spells versus those upper-worlders? Well, there is a means to supplement e.g. shriekers or the like via sonic damage. I also really like the low-level spell that allows you to conjure forth moisture from the walls... And yes, there are a lot of undead-related spells.


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are top-notch, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to a neat two-column full-color standard with beautiful full-color artworks and a dark, stone-like border. The pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience.


I feel like a colossal hypocrite as I'm writing this - why? Because, quite frankly, the above text does not properly sum up how inspiring and awesome the vast majority of the spells herein are. Dave Paul has a huge talent for the creation of thoroughly unique, glorious spells that feature a level of detail and complexity that hearkens back to a sense of realism often lost in current min-maxy circumstances. Via numerous design-choices, balance and versatility offer a diverse selection of unique tricks that dwarf almost every supplement of spells you can name in quality and ambition. You should be aware that my criticism voiced above must be understood in context with Dave Paul's almost perfect forest and swamp spells, which single-handedly made me look forward to new spells again, which brought the sense of the magical and awesome back to my reception of spells. The two predecessor books are pretty much the pinnacle of what you can expect from any collection of spells.


Against these predecessors, this installment feels like it stumbles a bit - stumble, mind you - it doesn't fall. This book still contains more excellent and mechanically sound, innovative high-caliber spells than 99.9% of spell books you can get for any iteration of d20-based gaming - but, at the same time, it does have a couple of spells that overshoot their power-level by a margin. Unlike the previous two books, there are some spells herein I'd advise against, some that will not find their way to my table.


This fact alone made me think for a while, I'd settle on a final verdict in the higher echelons, but not at the top of my rating scale...but then again, the issues are few and far in-between...and (mostly) are based on my own tastes and my admittedly insane expectations of the Dave Paul's offerings by now. Quite frankly, it would be unfair to this book to only hold it to its direct predecessors, not to the standard of the collective of spell-books out there. And in the general, broad comparison, this still mops the floor with the vast majority of its competitors. Ultimately, any rating below 5 stars would be a disservice to the book - get this. It's an awesome book and well worth the asking price. It may not be as flawlessly perfect in its balance as the predecessors, but it still transcends the basics of what one can expect and provides utterly unique, complex, options.


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
101 Subterranean Spells (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gossamer Worlds: Poetica Mundi (Diceless)
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/22/2015 04:36:47

An Endzeitgeist.com review


Fifteen pages in total await, with two devoted to cover and credits,


leave thirteen, all suffused with content galore.


This must have required a gazillion of edits...


Why? Let's not tarry and read more!


Now this is unlike any of its brethren before,


even though I've reviewed more than a score.


You see, there's magic in worlds uncounted -


and on others, you'll find mechs, laser-mounted.


But in this world, which sees its fair share of strife,


reigns but one principle: Poetry is life.


And yes, let me state this brief and terse:


This whole book is written mostly in verse!


Where the forces of nature itself align,


and pentameters grow the waves,


with the fair muses' gift so sublime,


there is power is the lowliest staves.


Many lands and places dot this world,


courtesy of the fair poet's powers and that of their muses.


Granted, some of them may seem quite absurd,


but rules are provided for these roles and their uses.


The muses, symbiotically sustained,


by the poet's toil and victories


ensure that reality's maintained;


thus comes to life each of their stories.


The mistress of this wondrous land,


is neither mad, nor wicked witch or empress;


but beware if you plan to make a stand:


Mary Fair, of Copper Hair, commands legions, diverse and endless.


Among the skies of this weird world,


the fractalox fly free:


Embodiments of poetic math


suffused with chaos theory.


We get stats for the most common of their ilk,


gliding on tendrils of perfect polygons,


through skies, blasting foes with their photons,


silent, as a hand on purest, cold, silk.


Beyond the lands of far and wide, this land sports a nasty, mystic pox!


It scavenges your mind and rattles your thoughts, makes you want to eat your socks!


Fans of classic simian islands will get my drift; but wait a second, before you sift


through the internet's ether to research - I will state it here, all loud and clear:


The wretched fruit and color and word - all may infect your being,


as Orange, here, is more than all of these, more than a verbal sting:


It could be symptom or cause of most terrible afflictions - reality rejects it,


as your poetry crashes and you try oh so hard to correct it.


It may brand you an outcast, a leper or worse,


In this world that's governed all by verse.


From Meadowland to Newfangle Town,


you'll only be greeted with a sneer and a frown.


Perhaps, the one recourse is then, not to exert a poetic spasm,


but to visit instead, Ceasura's Chasm?


The space, that lies between all things,


where in absence, silence sings.


Obviously, we conclude,


anything other would be rude,


with a nice table of a concise summary


of rules of the world Poetica Mundi.


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are top-notch, I noticed not a single botch.


Two columns of text on each page,


provide this text's content and stage


and you don't have to be a scholar to appreciate art most gorgeous, all in color.


You won't have to scroll through this in crawl


there's a bookmark for one and all.


This inspired book by Matt Banach,


had me cackle with glee like a manic.


Please be lenient with my butchering of verse


shill out the low asking price from your purse.


This is my favorite in the whole line,


if this were bound paper, I'd kiss its spine!


I can't really praise this too high -


5 stars plus seal from this German guy.


Thus, I remain your reviewing kraut,


sincerely yours,


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gossamer Worlds: Poetica Mundi (Diceless)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

10 Angelic Magic Items (PFRPG)
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/15/2015 04:48:36

An Endzeitgeist.com review


This pdf clocks in at 10 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD, 1 page advertisement, leaving us with 6 pages of content, so let's take a look!


But before we dive into the subject matter, let's make a few basics clear - for one, while these items are intended to be used in conjunction with Rite Publishing's "In the Company of Angels," I'm going to try to rate it as its own autonomous supplement. Secondly, like all RiP-books detailing items in the 10-series, you actually get much more than 10 items: Quite a few items come in different versions, with the distinction being made between lesser, standard and greater versions of the item - so more content than promised by the title!


We begin this pdf with the big brother of the merciful special weapon quality, the +2-equivalent compassionate that may 3/day paralyze foes it damages - pretty nasty, but also an enchantment that helps heroes be heroes - and I love that!


The Celestial Lenses increase a celestial paragon's pool of providence and angelic senses (or an increase of these), while non-angelic wearers get providence with 2 points in the pool - for 2K. I'm not a fan of this item due to multiple reasons: For one, the celestial paragon's class isn't exactly perfectly balanced. But I said I'd review this on its own - and here, one can see a central class feature as a very inexpensive class feature. I don't particularly like this on a personal level and as a reviewer, I'm not sold on the very low price for the gaining of a class feature.


Sandals of the Celestial Step, available in 3 versions, can be used 1/day, 3/day or 5/day, each time netting you +1 5-foot step, which can stack with the regular one - I like these ones and their pricing seems fitting - kudos here! The Bardic Empyrean is another item I'm not a fan of - +5 levels for the purpose of celestial weapon providence ability is pretty nasty - full step-increase...even before the +2 points for the pool of providence. Non-paragons gain the ability and the celestial weapon providence of a 5th level character - see my complaints on the lenses on character ability-sharing.


Bracers of Purity, available in 3 versions allow for SP or providence-powered rerolls of effects affecting the character - per se pretty cool...but the item becomes pretty OP once you have a base-class that casts via SPs...like I have...a couple of them, in fact. GMs beware, especially since the more powerful bracers allow for omni-rerolls of all effects affecting the character when activated. The gauntlets of contrition, again, available in 3 steps allows the wearer to demand a target to confess his or her sins, essentially delivering a nasty save-or-suck. On the plus-side, the included option to revert alignment-changes thus is intriguing. The Helm of Heaven's Ire is pretty awesome - expend a point of providence to afflict a creature (or more at higher levels) with a divine curse - one of 14! From becoming barren/infertile to gaining cataracts or taking the ability to speak, the curses are nasty, but thematically concise.


The Ring of Celestial Salvation is essentially an extra life - whenever you'd be slain or banished, expend all SPs and providence to negate the attack. The lack of a minimum-requirement of SPs or the like to be consumed is nasty - the item should require one of them, at least. At 4550 Gp, it is a pretty inexpensive ring, one saved from being broken by the fact that it crumbles upon being used. While I maintain that the item should be limited regarding which classes/characters can use it and the cost they pay, I generally like the notion of the extra-life-ring...as long as the PCs can craft these. Rich PCs could otherwise pretty much cheese the hell out of this item, an option that a cool-down à la "Every character can only be saved once per year from death by such a ring." would have easily avoided. The Tabard of Angelic paragons is brutal, increasing soulfire and AC by 5 levels, the DC of a heavenly gift by +2 or gains 2 providence + a single 1st level providence. Once again - see my comments of items above - they are pretty much mirrored here.


The pdf also provides a legacy item, i.e. a powerful magic item with a complex history, requirements and scaling abilities - this time, this would be Shawmay-Aphim, also known as Heaven's Wrath. Crafted from the new material golden wildwood, this +1 warhammer gains the guided quality, decreasing the miss chance. The hammer also allows you to penalize the attacks of foes with natural attacks, allowing a GM to reward smart fighting - for the item e.g. also can be used to decreases the efficiency of sources of extraordinary or supernatural abilities - nice! Spell and SP-draining, dimensionally anchoring foes...that may be nice. At the highest level, the wielder may 1/day pronounce a curse that can strip a target of his magical powers. I like this general idea, but at 12th level, it feels a bit soon to me - why? Because the follow-up feels less powerful to me...and ultimately, more interesting in-game: AoE shaken may be cool, but the final ability provides a 50% HIT chance - all attacks targeting the creature have a 50% to hit, even if they would miss. This is VERY powerful...but also an actually innovative rule that has quite some potential!


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are back to the level I generally assume from Rite Publishing - very good, with some minor typos! Layout adheres to Rite Publishing's two-column full-color standard and the pdf has more awesome full-color artworks than a pdf of this size and price-point usually features - kudos! The pdf comes fully bookmarked, in spite of its brevity - again, kudos for going the extra mile.


Steven D. Russell, in this pdf, feels like he's getting back to his game as a designer - at least, that's the impression I have here - the rules-wording is once again back to his precision, while maintaining the trademark high-concept approach that made me a fan of his designs in the first place. That being said, I'm not sold on the precise balancing of several abilities, mainly because they are tied to a pdf I consider pretty OP - a fact that tarnishes this pdf's usefulness for me as a person. At the same time, as a reviewer, I try to rate this on its own merits and the concept of the hit chance is an actually unique one I haven't seen before - and one that can, when carefully handled, provided a whole array of interesting (but hard to balance) design opportunities. I only witness such a concept very rarely these days and, to me, it is worth A LOT. Then, there'd be the fact that this is a rather inexpensive pdf...and that, at some tables, the high power level of celestial paragons may fit. It's due to these that I will settle on a rating of 3.5 stars, rounding up to 4 for the purpose of this platform. GMs of more gritty games should beware, though.


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
10 Angelic Magic Items (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

101 Forest Spells (PFRPG)
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/13/2015 02:49:00

An Endzeitgeist.com review


The second of Dave Paul's massive 101-spell books centered on terrain-specific spells clocks in at a whopping 42 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD, 2 pages of advertisement, leaving us with 37 pages of content, so let's take a look!


We begin this pdf with spell-by-level-lists, containing, btw. also the ACG bloodrager and shaman - and then, we're right at the spells. I'm not going to go through the spells one by one, instead trying to provide a showcase of the best and worst of the bunch - so let's dive in!


At low levels, better options to forage for food and water can be found - but thing become interesting pretty immediately after that - let's take a cloak of acidic mist: In a 5-ft.-radius around you, you generate acidic mist that moves with you -and it lingers, decreasing its damage by two dice per round - the issue becomes pretty much apparent for all spell-designers - in order to move, you'd have to pass your own acidic cloak's first 5-ft.-AoE, thus dealing damage to you when you move. Know what? the wording manages to elegantly fix this rules-language conundrum. And yes, I consciously do not say how here - I won't you folks to take a look at this. Much like in the predecessor book, casting the spells herein in the correct, wooden environment, obviously increases the spell's prowess - which may translate to numerical increases of the spell's parameters. But the pdf actually goes one step beyond that - you see, there are several different forests (D'UHHH) - and quite a few spells herein have different effects when cast in e.g. cold or temperate or warm forests. This would be pretty much "going the extra mile" as far as I'm concerned.


Indeed, this adds a strategic component to the pdf I did not expect to see in such a pronounced manner - the spells here, in short, manage to tie the aspect of magic and the world in which it is cast even tighter together than the previous book. Beyond terrain variants, there also would be spells that allow you to emulate different aspects of trees, thus granting the type of buff you require in a given situation. Another component I enjoy about the spells herein would be that they act as a kind of roleplaiyng catalyst in quite a few of the cases - buffing yourself to become an aurumvorax may have nice imagery, yes. But the spell becomes cool when it states that this prompts a powerful drive to act alone...and rewards you when you go solitary on your scouting rounds. See, that's how you make spells that enhance roleplaying by granting tangible benefits, providing a unity between crunch and fluff.


Calling bear guardians to perform either tasks or be on guard duty is interesting due to the LONG duration of the service - and if you're like me, you immediately looked for the obvious army of bears-exploit - guess what? The spell has a caveat that prevents it. Purging the undead, outsiders and constructed from the area may sound okay - until you realize how hard this spell is - with variable alignments and the option to purge them in large areas of the caster's home, one pretty much immediately realizes that the rules-language here is not something any designer could have crafted - beyond that, though - the spell also manages to represent pretty neatly the trope of home-advantage, of the requirement to get the powerful druid back in time to halt the encroaching horde - Love it!


Druids cultivating flower-based plant-guardians will appreciate the cantrip that allows them to bloom faster. We also know the trope of undead, held together by plant-matter - well, the spell's in here for the root-suffused undead. High-level druids may actually call a powerful hamadryad to their aid.


On the iconic image side, what about bards conjuring forth a chorus of nonlethal damage-dealing, deafening cicada chorus - oh, and if there actually are cicadas around, you'll definitely enjoy the proper power-increase. What about conjuring forth a variant of solid fog that deals damage...and is particularly nasty versus cold iron-susceptible creatures while ALSO acting as a combo-set-up for certain damage-types? Yes, that would be an interesting terrain-control spell! Conjuring forth curtains of swirling, autumnal leaves, dropping branches on your foes, summoning rot grub swarms - the spells range from absolutely glorious to intriguing.


Declawing temporarily animals, reducing the efficiency of their claws, is pretty cool. Psychological warfare via eyes in the dark and a series of interesting fey form-spells further supplement this obvious thematic connection - speaking of fairytales - what about a compulsion that takes grains of a fine material and compels the targets to count them? Yes, this resonates with our real world mythology perfectly and puts it into concise game terms.


The pdf also continues the absolutely awesome innovation utilized in the first such book - there are spells which allow you to designate a target creature as a friend of the forest - hereafter, you can call such beings to your aid via other spells. Once again, this type of magic ultimately allows not only for interesting tactical options - it provides an in-game rationale for terrain superiority of a certain group of beings and has roleplaying potential, friendships and the like, all rolled up in its frame. Love it!


You and your allies may also transform into sparrows (great for reconnaissance), gain a slightly more flexible form of feather fall (at an appropriate level, btw.), render forests truly labyrinthine for those succumbing to your magic. What about coating allies in acidic repellant? Sounds okay? Well, it is. It goes that extra mile by featuring information on how it can be dissolved and countered - it's these small bits, not necessarily required though they may be, that add this sense of magical realism to the spell-books, that make them feel like they're part of a concise setting.


There also is an interesting terrain-control variant of healing - create a gorgeous, glowing garden - each square traversed heals(or harms the undead) - when fighting the living dead, this definitely is intriguing - and it may free the healer to do other, awesome things - interesting indeed! There also would be quite a few spells that let you duplicate some of the iconic tricks of various fey and there also would be the powerful 9th-level ritual that renaturalizes 10 miles of land - reverting the natural order in the area - whether at the PCs or NPC's hands, this is an adventure on its own. Need to conceal the rather anti-stealthy, clunking Joe Platemail-Fighter? The Spell's in this book. If you're on the less scrupulous side, summoning a moonflower may offer a rather creepy ally. Oh...and you can temporarily make a tree. With full stats, hardness and everything. need a tree? Cast Tree! You may be stumped as to why I consider this awesome, but the sheer plethora of things you can do with this spell if you're creative is pretty impressive - if you need some ideas, drop me a line! Another star should be mentioned: There is a spell that allows a creature to bound itself to a forest in exhange for more power - spells like this make the trope of creatures with their own domains and stalling feuds between terrains and dominions so much more believable!


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are top-notch, I noticed no glitches. Layout adheres to Rite Publishing's two-column full-color standard and the pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience by spell-level, spell list AND individual spell! The pdf sports numerous absolutely gorgeous full-color artworks.


Dave Paul's first terrain spell-book came at a time when I was quite frankly burned out on new spells. I had seen too many and, with Deep Magic, to me, being a deeply frustrating book, I was not excited to read it. Well, I should have. Right when I thought I had seen everything, he singlehandedly changed my opinion - this is due to various factors:


1) His rules language is precise, even when tackling highly complex spell-effects.


2)The general power-balance of the spells is well-reasoned and so far, I felt no need to complain about any spell being OP.


3) The spells go above and beyond in tying their effects to terrain by rewarding players for planning and making them feel unique and magical.


4) The spells feature unique visuals from our shared mythologies and put them into concise rules.


5) They do so in actually innovative interesting ways that emphasize player-agenda, while showing his experience in academia and teaching - even complex concepts are conveyed in concise and easy to grasp ways.


One great spell book is an occurrence - two are a tendency. This is pretty much a textbook example of what a spell-book should be - inspiring, intriguing, exciting. Here, the crunch actually makes you come up with storylines, plots and enhances narrative options rather than limiting. This is a great example of Rite Publishing's key-strengths of evocative concepts married with neat crunch and well worth a final verdict of 5 stars + seal of approval, given without hesitation - I consider not a single spell herein problematic. Not one. Get this!


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
101 Forest Spells (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

101 1st Level Spells (5E)
by Trev W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/08/2015 20:17:18

If you want very low level spells for multiple classes, and to have a lot of spellcasting options, here you are. What surprises me are two things. First, they have been very efficient in cramming the spell lists and descriptions into only 29 pages—you won’t get lost in hundreds of pages of spells. So it is quite well contained. The second thing is the art. Good quality images are here, and for spells like torchbearer the creepy humanoid bearing a torch, made me immediately want to check out the spell, which didn’t disappoint.


This is quite clearly for 5th ed and the number of spells per class is pretty well balanced, even the paladins are not left behind! Of course, the wizards/sorcerers get the most spells. Earth Charger, to enhance a mount and allow them to plough through enemies is excellent, and comes with good art; Hidden Shelter would be extremely useful (look to what it blocks out and protects you from, and it is for a large party) so that gets a mention; Id Seizure and just sapping actions from a target as you overwhelm them with “primitive urges” is quite amusing and poison weapon could really give the (painful and debilitating) edge to low level combat (everyone loves doing more damage, without the fuss of fiddling or worrying about poisons too much). Pressure spray also does a nice amount of damage and gives the “shooter” of the spray a good nonlethal option (the damage can kill, or doesn’t if you do not want it to). Good thinking went into designing this spell. Lastly, Share sacrifice where you take away half of the target’s damage and take half of that upon yourself would be great for combat spellcaster builds that have hp to spare and want to be able to help their party survive by taking away half of their damage at any time. I like this spell (and there are many others I also think are excellent).


Conclusion
It is good, it is the worth the money. There are some well-designed spells here and many of them are very interesting and would add new tactical options and possible actions to an adventuring party.
5/5



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
101 1st Level Spells (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

10 Kingdom Seeds: Forests (PFRPG)
by Trev W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/08/2015 20:00:33

True to its title, this very inexpensive product gives you ten settlements to throw into any fantasy campaign. This is a product for Pathfinder, and follows its stat arrangements for settlements.


It is clear, quickly imparts information for a DM to use and Liz Smith has ensured that each village, thorp or hamlet has its personal character. There is well-written information on how each differs to other small settlements, along with noteworthy sites and buildings and the latest rumours that could lead to adventure. I particularly liked that the statue in the town square of Garrant is actually a petrified adventurer. I wonder from what century?


Very useful for those dms that get stuck adding character to villages or the like. With good attention to detail and plenty of leads to follow I found myself wanting more than 10 villages, 50 would have made this absolutely marvellous. However, having said that, a dm would be unlikely to get through and use all 10 settlements in one campaign.


4.5/5, rounds up to 5.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
10 Kingdom Seeds: Forests (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Threats: Secrets of the Annunaki (Diceless)
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/02/2015 04:38:59

An Endzeitgeist.com review


This installment of the Threats-series for LoGaS clocks in at 17 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, leaving us with 15 pages of content, so let's take a look!


Following the tradition of LoGaS-supplements, the content herein is framed by a well-crafted frame-narrative and provided in well-written prose. This prose guides us, via speculations and potential truths a GM can use and treat as correct (or incorrect!) through the depictions of the Annunaki.


But what are they? The strangely and suddenly appearing Annunaki are creatures of Eidolon, usually depicted as glowing diagrams drawn into thin air and moving akin to a roughly humanoid shape. The anecdotes of Annunaki influence are diverse - from a hidden conductor of a civilization's development to an acceleration of technological advancement to the point of the disappearance of all humans, there is, obviously, a plan guiding the actions of the Annunaki - though whether benevolent or hostile - ultimately, their morals are beyond us.


As beings of lines and nodes of energy, their lights and pulses can extend beyond a dimension, its very presence a glimpse at the eidolon's uncanny perfection. It shouldn't come as a surprise that the annunaki do have some subtypes that have been observed more often than once, the first of which would be the exemplar of blades -fully statted, these Vitruvian Man-like conglomerates of limb-like light-structures are truly dangerous, powerful adversaries. Beyond these warriors, annunaki that adhere to the role of "The Namer and The Shaper" are meant to assume control and guide people and whole civilizations. Oh, and then there is the "Crawler Upon the Stair" - a rather huge and highly disturbing annunaki that seems to be chronicling the Grand Stair - if you see it, RUN!


Annunaki can choose the 10-point power Imperatives - phrased in the ur-language Logos, these effects do not require prior knowledge of a creature's true name, compelling obedience similarly to an invocation. Personally, I would have enjoyed a slightly different way for resisting these imperatives, but that may just be me. Also for 10 points, annunaki can teleport, but only within a gossamer world or within the Grand Stair, not between planets. Also for 10 points, annunaki can choose Eidolon Stasis, by which they can suppress any Eidolon mastery but their own, hampering reality-changing effects. This ability, to me, is a bit opaque, even within Diceless' relatively free-form narratives - increasing power for more points would have imho made this a more compelling option, especially seeing how annunaki are creatures of eidolon.


The relentless logic that makes the annunaki dangerous is further highlighted in a compelling excerpt from the journals of a master of Eidolon, before we are introduced to what makes LoGaS-threats usually interesting -the theories and options - much like previous installments, the annunaki sport options to choose from, theories. this dossier's theory on form and the relation to function, for example, makes sense; as does the theory of their existence (or presence) being tied to their function. The utterly terrifying revelation that continued conflicts with annunaki may engender is also a narrative gold nugget: What if you found out that a fundamental part of reality itself wanted you dead? Frightening, even for an accomplished Gossamer Lord/lady! It should also be noted that this pdf makes one thing very clear: Eidolon Mastery is anything but that - mastery implies subservience, when in fact, the very principle might, deity-like deem to grant a tiny fraction of its power, as it follows its relentless plan.


The advice on using them further expands these dimensions - from reality-debuggers to annunaki at war, the hooks provided are intriguing - eliminating disturbances, promotion of a sense of cosmic equilibrium, modification and evolution of Eidolon itself, a war versus the agents of Umbra - the hooks are inspired. For truly apocalyptic options, what about an alliance between Eidolon and Umbra to take control of the Grand Stair, with your PCs in the middle of the conflict? And what if the Eidolon is actually the collective will of all annunaki, the respective individual manifestations only being temporary extensions of the massive will cosmic? What if the Dwimmerlaik's channeling is actually the antithesis to the Eidolon?


On a narrative power-development level, we do receive information for extending eidolon mastery to also be capable of annunaki-like-feats. Players may have their own annunaki for 5 or 10 points - but, alas, the creature is neither loyal, nor beholden to the character, following its plan and agenda and potentially, there is also the option to have annunaki capable of wrighting. And, as the final piece of prose reminds us - the Eidolon is ALWAYS listening...deceiving it is impossible...or is it?


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to Rite Publishing's nice two-column full-color standard for LoGaS, with a significant array of beautiful, original full-color artworks provided. The pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience.


This is the first supplement by H.M. "Dain" Lybarger I have reviewed and it proved to be a surprisingly awesome read. When I first understood what annunaki were and saw their imagery, I thought "bland." I shouldn't have - the annunaki are beyond what I would have expected from hyper-lawful beings - while their imagery, at first glance, may be slightly less evocative and fearsome than other threats in LoGaS, actually using them and depicting their merciless advance, their relentless determination can make them very frightening foes indeed. Add a sense of a cosmic plan that tries to destroy you and we have a scenario for a rather brutal campaign - in fact, much like the angels of Neon Genesis Evangelion (Yes, I LIKE NGE!), the annunaki can be pretty and wondrous, but at the same time, their goals do not align with those of mere mortals...or even gossamer lords and ladies.


Ultimately, the annunaki are a well-crafted adversary-type, one I thoroughly enjoyed - but at the same time, I found myself wishing that the Eidolon's structure were reflected in more detailed variants of the powers with better defined parameter groups - I'm aware that this is uncommon in Diceless, but it would have constituted an option to make Eidolon also feel different on a meta-level. As provided, some powers herein feel a bit chaotic in the scope they offer. This may be me, but my players remarked a similar observation and this component did somewhat continue to irk me. Now, please remember that this is me complaining at a very high level - this is still a fun supplement indeed, but, to me, slightly short of excellence. hence, my final verdict will clock in at 4.5 stars, rounded down to 4 for the purpose of this platform.


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Threats: Secrets of the Annunaki (Diceless)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pathways #51 (PFRPG)
by Andrew T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/20/2015 19:24:15

As usual excellent quality and an enjoyable read with lots of good stuff in it :-)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pathways #51 (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pathways #50 (PFRPG)
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/07/2015 02:11:33

An Endzeitgeist.com review


The 50th installment of Rite Publishing's FREE e-zine clocks in at 44 pages, 1 page front cover, 11 pages of advertisement, 1 page SRD, 1 page editorial/ToC, leaving us with 30 pages of free content, so let's take a look, shall we?


We begin this installment with David Paul's editorial recapping the journey of the magazine so far before we are introduced to Steven D. Russell's new template - the grandmaster creature. At CR +4, it renders the target lawful and allows for the creature in question to assemble a cabal of creatures that can be teleported to the grandmaster creature by uttering their name. When calling the cabal, the grandmaster also receives a significant buff -better yet, the cabal receives essentially mini-templates - brute, genius, mystic and sniper all provide multiple unique abilities for the cabal members with the respective designated roles. Finally, disparaging remarks can be uttered as swift action debuffs for foes and the level 15 hobgoblin war master used as a sample creature can be considered a fun foe to throw at your players. A great template indeed!


Raging Swan Press mastermind Creighton Broadhurst also has something nice for us - a nice dressing article that provides no less than 20 sample things your PCs may find in a pit as well as 20 things to be found in a sea cave - nice! And yes, you should get GM's Miscellany: Dungeon Dressing and GM's Miscellany: Wilderness Dressing, my number one choices of best product of 2014 - they indeed will enrich your game!


Thereafter, we dive into Elton Robb's first article covering the Leviathan Archipelago - the Questhaven setting's tropical/(under-)water-themed regions. Utilizing concise terminology, we are introduced to the concept of Light Zones, going on to explain the undersea topography and concepts like photic and aphotic zones in a concise and easily understood manner. Benthic Zones and their respective categories are also covered herein, with water pressure and currents also being noted. Bends and various means of covering pressure and its dangers have also been provided. Oh, what's that? You already have Cerulean Seas, the definite resource for underwater adventuring? Great, then you'll be excited to hear that this series endeavors to provide full-blown synergy with those races and rules. And yes, this has only further enhanced my vast anticipation of Questhaven and makes me look forward to the cultures hinted at in future installments!


Speaking of Questhaven - Steven D. Russell does provide a write up of Our Mother of Many Ways, a deity of both wine and inspiration, knowledge and madness, associated with hyenas. With the two nice subdomains, inspiration and prophecy, the well-written article receives some nice crunch back-up. 3 feats that allow you to convey retributive madness afflictions or make wine into a lethal poison - ouch! I'm very weary of a feat that lets you 3/day activate revelations with an activation of 1 round or less as a swift action -with a lack of prerequisites and a very broad focus, this feat can result in some rather powerful combos and personally, I allow too many sources to consider it a smart idea. The article also provides a rather interesting Paladin archetype - the Joyous Brother/Sister - essentially a chaotic good paladin with an aura of hope. These guys replace spells with wine-filled barbarian rage and may, at higher level, grant this euphoria-induced state to allies via the expenditure of uses of smite evil. The archetype is well-crafted and unique and comes with its own creed - neat!


David Paul showcases hereafter some of his Forest Spells (review coming soon!) before we get an interview with Owen K.C. Stephens - designers, take a look!


After this, we get a showcase of some of the best 3pp-products out there, with highly-rated product-reviews by Trev W. and yours truly before Jacob Blackmon's Path Less Travelled webcomic ends the book on an upbeat note.


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no glaring glitches. Layout adheres to Rite Publishing's two-column full-color standard with some nice full-color and stock-art pieces inside. The pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience.


It's been a while since I've reviewed free products, mainly because I think my readers can easily verify for themselves what they like or don't like. With the sheer amount of books to cover, I try to tackle those first and thus, alas and much to my chagrin, I had less time than I would have liked to devote to Pathways-reviews.


Personally, I always enjoy my free monthly Pathways fix and I always gladly find my reviews published there. There usually is something awesome in each issue and quite a few articles in the magazine's history have made their way into my game. So yes, this is nice content FOR FREE. That's very hard to beat, you know - and well worth 5 stars + seal of approval.


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pathways #50 (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

In The Company of Gelatinous Cubes (PFRPG)
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/01/2015 05:20:32

This installment of the "In the Company of..."-series clocks in at 10 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD, leaving us with 7 pages of content, so let's take a look!*


So, we begin this pdf, in the tradition of Rite Publishing, with an expertly-written piece of in-character prose: "Glub." The sheer brilliance of this reduction of the conditio pituitae in a manner of linguistic atomization should be considered the ultimate piece of flavor - nowhere else has the sheer courage to express the fundamental truth of an existence been so brilliantly crafted in such a concise way. When the further physical descriptions and society/religious stances of gelatinous cubes are elaborated upon in a repetition of said sequence of letters, duplicated and then, disintegrated beyond guttural sounds, one cannot help but notice the very limitations our own fragile language imposes on communication, rendering the feeble attempts to convey an existence's experiences moot. Within the absolute reduction executed here, truth of cosmic proportions can be found - up to the cutting off of humanoid screams, for, in those sounds, life lies and the death awaiting at the end, beyond the veil, ultimately comes for us all, while the ooze's eternal truth remains, transcending the bounds of mortality and subjectivity, a zen of slime, a slimy nirvana of the ooze is all that remains.


I hesitate to descend back into the nit and grit, the profane simplicity of language, but for the purpose of providing a guidance for all of us unenlightened accumulations of cells, I will...thus, the conventionalizing racial stats provided would be +4 Con, -2 Int, Wis and Cha - obviously a nod towards the mental capacities ultimately ending up as detriments to one's own enlightenment and the eternal perpetuation of one's genetic make-up. The same can obviously be said about fast movement - 15 ft and a slow, but steady movement towards one's foes is more than sufficient, since a undue hastening can be considered ultimately an acceleration BEYOND the ability to grasp the intricacies of the moment, of the fleeting "now" that is eternally transformed into the past. Since sight and similar senses are the purview of lesser creatures, blindsight is not a surprise here, either - the senses, ultimately, do convey an individual Rorschach-test of reality, after all. The perfection of a cube's essential form, as handed down by philosophers older and wiser than I can ever hope to be, obviously allows them to literally carry us feebly humanoids within their very frames, though obviously, mortals may be endangered by the stripping of primitive components of their physiology - like skin. Being beyond classes, these paragons of evolution and form obviously cannot advance in classes beneath their power and yes, they are transparent, for there is nothing in substance and substance in nothing.


The blasphemous notion of a limited existence and the weight of these creatures has been provided alongside obvious benefits to be gained from following the paragon path to transcendence. Being beyond the concern of paltry saves, gelatinous cubes thus do not progress much in this category. At 3/4 BAB-progression, d8 and 2+Int skills per level, there is not much to be done except reducing all those distracting choices to a minimum. At the same time, these glorious zen-masters of enlightenment may deem to adopt an adventuring ally among the less blessed races and at 2nd level and every 2 levels thereafter, the cube may select special ooze abilities, which include BAB-based attacks that negate incoming assaults (all is nothing, nothing is all, remember!), compress forms (size is an illusion) or corrode things (all is vain!) - ultimately, there is a lot of wisdom and different truths to be unearthed here. Now once your existential anxiety reaches its peak, around 5th level, you'll be happy to know that the cube's anesthetically potent properties may literally take your pain away and free you from the chores of all those annoying choices - potentially permanently. Of course, if you get past this stage, you'll experience growth alongside your cube's literal ascendancy to a more significant bodily representation - usually around 7th and 15th level.


Particularly adept cubes may elect to choose one of 3 unique feats to help the few mortals beyond their grasp see the truth they represent more clearly.


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting bespeak the superiority of the cubical masters. Layout adheres to a two-column full-color standard -and each page is rendered as a square, the basis of a cube! If you take the content-bearing pages, you can make a full cube - + an extra page, representing your task, nay, calling, to complete what these pages set up right before you. The pdf comes fully bookmarked.


Wendall Roy's gelatinous Cubes are a milestone for humanity - beyond the game, this pdf contains literally all essential truths of mankind - all our history and striving and promise, condensed to a few pages - what a brilliant pdf! Have I mentioned the low donation required to partake in this glory cosmic of less than 2 bucks? My final verdict will clock in at 5 stars + seal of approval.*


Endzeitgeist out.


*This is an April's Fool-product and it's hilarious. My review reflects this and I sincerely hope my little exegesis made you smile. Furthermore, while the tone of my review may be humorous, the verdict indeed describes what I think about this funny, nice book. While not a good option for a PC, it makes for compelling NPCs and remains an excellent offer at a low price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In The Company of Gelatinous Cubes (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 61 to 75 (of 999 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates