DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Lucien's Guide: Legends & Lies (Diceless)
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/28/2016 03:42:42

An Endzeitgeist.com review


This installment of the Lucien's Guide-series for Rite Publishing's critically acclaimed Diceless system clocks in at 18 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, leaving us with 16 pages of content!


This pdf, presented as an account of famous Lucien, depicts various legends and ominous tales that make their rounds among the blessed beings capable of navigating the Grand Stair - generally, the respective entries begin with a brief legend that can be encountered, to then go on and discuss the truth...or one of it, behind the respective legend. The first of these we encounter would deal with Doorghuls - the legend of mimic-like creatures, masquerading as doors, waiting to swallow hapless travelers...


The second legend herein is a more complex one and one that will bring smiles to fans of the Dark Tower - it pertains the Fall of Gilead, reimagined as an inconceivably powerful world, one possibly shut down or destroyed by the Dwimmerlaik...or...well...perhaps they have chosen isolation? Instead of King's gunslingers, the fabled champions of this iteration of Gilead were the paladins and we do get concise rules for the 57 point paladin armor as a sample relic of fabled Gilead. By the way, have you heard about the darkened doors, that seemingly can't be opened, sealed from one side or another? For what reason, none can fathom...


Know how the Grand Stair is reasonably free of detritus? Well, in the drowned expanse, this is not the case, with partially and fully submerged doors leading...somewhere. To be more precise, the realms of a once unified lizard-like people called the Notar -and these fellows, as a whole race...can NATURALLY navigate the stairs. It's not rocket science to grasp the implications of such a race existing...and lets you gulp when thinking about the progenitors that engineered them. Lucien, btw., does not believe in the Old Ones that presumably exist beyond Eidolon and Umbra.


If you've read my review of the Gossamer World detailing the ramifications of colonization by the Incursion, you'll already be familiar with some of the problematic implications of this empire - which consider the Stair foremost a logistic problem - one they are methodically solving, step by step...and sure, their empire may have collapsed...but perhaps, they are just preparing themselves to rise...this time, with magic as well.


The legend of the infinite door is dismissed pretty quickly, but the nature of dragons and their interaction with the Stair...well, let's just say it's hard to find reliable sources. Oh, btw. - there is a section of the Grand Stair called God's Passage - where doors range from 60 ft - 200 ft....and if that doesn't unnerve you, you probably are a fool...particularly since they all lead to dead worlds, burning under a red sun. The pdf also talks about the forest of doors and Old Man Cavendish, who has lived through all tragedies of the Stair. Really cool: The cupboards - think of the Grand Stair, but only for interconnected cupboards...as though for mice or similar beings...


Finally, the pdf talks about broken stairs - the hypothesis being that the Grand Stair may shed sections of it, which then tumble as separate entities through time and space, but continue operating on a smaller scale...which is narrative gold.


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are top-notch, I noticed no glitches. Layout adheres to Rite Publishing's two-column full-color standard with ample of high quality, glorious full-color art and the pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience.


Rob Donoghue's Lucien's Guide to Legends and Lies is a truly inspiring read that provides not only ample intriguing ideas and narrative potential, it also lets you ask some important questions pertaining the nature of the Grand Stair, while providing an indirect glimpse at the psychology of those that travel its expanses as a social entity. This is an inspired pdf and well worth a final verdict of 5 stars + seal of approval.


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lucien's Guide: Legends & Lies (Diceless)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

In The Company of Unicorns (PFRPG)
by Trev W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2016 17:26:17

This is an impressive book on bringing unicorns into your Pathfinder games. It begins with a conveyance of the unicorns’ sense of transcending and surviving great epochs of time, their experiences and what they learned, their roles since the beginning of time, and their derisive observations of those proud being that walk on two legs which harmed them and drove them into secrecy. We have presented information on unicorn society, relations with others, various types of unicorns: all that is needed to run unicorns and have them feel different with their own perspectives.


The base stats are presented, and the benefits are many and well thought out. Strangely they are listed as small, but height and weight are listed if they are medium or large. This makes more sense when you look to archetypes, and the unicorn hero at 5th level becomes medium size, and at 10th becomes large. The hero gains many bonus spells, feats, and altered abilities. The unicorn sorcerer was particularly well tailored, with the very nice bloodline powers, making the unicorn quite the adept supporting character to a party. The Arboreal equine, a ranger archetype for the unicorn, gets woodland stride at first level (very nice!) and stalk at level 7, fast stealth, would make the unicorn considerably sneaky. Your unicorn can easily fit different roles, and be of an existing class, or, a new class.


The Silvermane unicorn paragon has a plethora of “Alicorn” abilities. They get teleportation, changing shape, poison horn attacks, and natural armour. There are pages upon pages of abilities to customise your unicorn. The Alicorn bolt, a nice energy line attack is one that grows in power as the Silvermane levels, making it very useful in giving a reliable magic attack. I think the Silvermane would make a particularly strong player class with a great number of options in one class, and if I were throwing in a unicorn npc ally, or a unicorn as an enemy, I would make them a Silvermane.
The book ends with feats and teamwork feats.


If you like unicorns you are going to want this. If you want to put unicorn spellcasters as friends or foes into your game, the rules are here. If your players may want to run unicorns of any class with new abilities, this will excite your players. There are a large number of rules, and a great deal of choice in what is used, and in how your unicorn develops. I would try the Silvermane first, and dive into full customization.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In The Company of Unicorns (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks for taking the time to do a review of our product Trev!
Pathways #57 (PFRPG)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2016 19:17:10

Layout is very good. Very professional looking. Good, clean look and easy on the eyes. Interesting stuff here for a Pathfinder GM. Interesting new monster, lots of reviews of other books for Pathfinder. About a quarter of the page count is ads (more...about a third if you count the cover, small ads and the SRD). I figure that pays for the content. Curious how much the mag would cost if you took away the ads. Overall, some good stuff here for fans of RPGs and Pathfinder.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Pathways #57 (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Addendum: Shape Shifting (Diceless)
by Daniel W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/22/2016 14:19:07

A good addendum to the Lords of Gossamer game line. A nice additional power to the set.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Addendum: Shape Shifting (Diceless)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Secrets of the Metadventurer (PFRPG)
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/22/2016 07:30:09

An Endzeitgeist.com review


Wow, wow, wow...are you serious? This is the reviewer who is supposed to judge my magnificence? This odd, long-haired German goth/metalhead-sod? Really? Oh well. I'm in a good mood, so I'll "help" you, okay endy? Great! So, my splendorous debut is 11 pages long, though 1 page is the front cover, 1 the editorial, 2 are advertisement and 1 page is the SRD, which means I get a full 6 pages...not that I'd need more to show how awesome I am, mind you...but still, gotta talk to my agent about that... walks off


Ehem, yeah, so this is a prioritized review and was moved up in my queue at the request of my patreons, before this strange guy rudely interrupted...oh damn, he's coming back!


Hey, Chris...yeah, about those... WAIT. You there, endy! I said I'd do that for you, right? Right! So, what do I do - urgh...I hate repeating myself and I explained it in the book already...but, in a nut-shell:


I WIN PATHFINDER.


There, 'nuff said.


Urgh, you're still reading. I can see you. So yeah, wanna know more? Gotcha. I am better and more awesome than all other classes, because I friggin' know. I'm not some pseudo-smart wizard-sheeple...I know I'm a character in your game. Yeah, you heard me. I know I have 2+Int skills (really? come on!) and d8 HD and proficiency with simple weapons, light and medium armors. I have 3/4 BAB-progression. I also am good at Min/Maxing - bonus points for kicking off a discussion on the Stormwind Fallacy. When resting, I choose one good save (two good saves at 12th level) and the others are bad save.


Starting at 4th level, I can select two skills that are not knowledge (No, GM, I don't care about the intricacies of your world!) and get max ranks for the day. At 8th level, I can also swap attributes and at 16th level I can swap 1/day saving throws, ability scores and bogus feats. I also am a master of optimizing flexibility: I can choose each day to gain arcane casting, divine casting, martial tricks or a crapton of skill. Oh yes, I'm that awesome.


Starting at 2nd level, I get a metagaming pool equal to 1/2 class level + 3. I can spend these as free actions to get skill bonuses, additional non-AoO-5-foot movements and even negate partial effects on successful saves. At 3rd level, I know what you know. No seriously, I can simply metagame what you know - d20+class level + Int-modifier and bam...you're GM is pissed. Priceless, believe me.


At 5th level and every 6 thereafter, I get Bogus feats. I can change these whenever I rest. Why? Cause that is how I roll! Oh, and 6th level, I can spend metagaming points to alter the damage of my weapons. At 7th level, I am adept at making allies count as abettors for Betrayal feats...who needs these suckers, after all? Oh, and yeah, at 9th level I can Rules Lawyer game-mechanics 1/day and alter them by +2/-2 or +10%/-10%, twice that much at 19th level, +1 daily use every 5 levels above 9th.


At 10th level, I can change energy types or better pass through SR via metagaming. At 13th level, I can divert effects when I failed my save to allies - we all know we only have to do better than the other suckers, right? And guess what? I have read all those supplements - at 13th level, I can take a treasure and identify it...and determine which treasure it is, within GP-boundaries. I always get what I want, man. At 15th level, as long as you, the player, bring a third party book to the table, it'll be game for me. I know. Awesome, right? Oh, guess what, at 18th level, I can metagame those stupid action economy limitations. But the most fun is 20th level - the ability's called "Make the GM Cry" - extraordinary wish. Oh, and when I die, I immediately resurrect. Oh yeah. You know you want to see that in action, right? Thought so.


Conclusion:


All right, so this reviewer-git doesn't pay me enough for this, so blabla, nice artworks full color 2-column layout etc. Bookmarks are there as well.


So, I dictated the book to Wendall Roy and he seems to be able to write it - congrats, dude. No seriously, I couldn't wait anymore. This game needs my awesomeness in it. It's time that those prissy wizards and stuck-up paladins learn their place. This is where I come in, by the way. So do yourself a favor and get this book - we'll have a lot of fun making your fellow players cry. And best of all - you can always just point to the fact that I'm not "overpowered." Not our problem if the others just can't play the game, right? Hate the game, not the player!


Ehem...how do you end these things? Oh yeah, I'm obviously 5 stars + seal of approval (Seriously? "Seal of approval"? Pretentious much? Man, reviewer-dude, you got some issues...) and totally inexpensive, so buy my awesome book!


Metadventurer out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secrets of the Metadventurer (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Secrets of the Metadventurer (PFRPG)
by Sam H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2016 22:55:57

Very amusing with unique but balanced abilities. My only issue being the 24 hour limit on nearly all abilities which can severely neuter the character in campaigns with irregular rests or attrition themes.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Secrets of the Metadventurer (PFRPG)
by Robert M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2016 13:07:49

Firstly, I have not actually made a character with this class so I cannot speak of how well it plays. However, I have shown the class to multiple people in my gaming group and they all found it to be absolutely hilarious.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secrets of the Metadventurer (PFRPG)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2016 12:53:27

Actually I was quite surprised by the class. When I first read it, I was expeciting an overpowered class with overthetop abilities. But to my surprise, the class was actually quite balanced, and I would honestly allow the class to be played in any games I run (however, I may require the renaming of all class features so to promote good roleplaying). The general feel of the class gave me the impression of the factotum class (from v3.5 Dungeons and Dragons: Dungeonscape). It is very adaptable to different encounters while not overshadowing the staple abilities that other players may have. In short it is a very decent class, and one that I would allow to be used in-game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
In The Company of Dragons (5E)
by Jacob B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/12/2016 13:38:44

I am glad to see the "In the Company of" series make its way to 5e rules. While this pdf does not have as many options as the Pathfinder version, it is still and excellent read. I lok forward to getting the chance to play a dragon in the next 5e game I play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In The Company of Dragons (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Addendum: Shape Shifting (Diceless)
by Paul B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/10/2016 15:11:39

If you've played the old Amber Diceless RPG then most of what's here won't be a surprise. Shape Shifting gets broken into four levels; Lesser, Normal, Advanced, and Exalted.


Lesser nets you one alternate form and some limited partial shifts. Say a were-panther who can change just their eyes with a bit of work.


Normal gets you a broad set of abilities, covering most 'normal' forms.


Advanced you start getting better access to more fantastic forms and some related powers, such as making detachable limbs or aligning your shape with cosmic principles for fun and profit.


Exalted really opens up the potential size changes, although you'll need some work for the truly massive shifts, and grants additional esoteric capacities.


Overall it is well presented, we get some abilities explicitly stated rather than implied like in Amber, and it makes Shape Shifting a solid enough platform to serve as a character's focus. The overlap between Shape Shifting the Umbra Personal Transformations feels a bit strange; especially since we've already seen characters in other books using the Umbra to take on different forms but such is the price of expanding a game line.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Addendum: Shape Shifting (Diceless)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Faces of the Tarnished Souk: An NPC Collection (PFRPG)
by Elexious C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/06/2016 16:36:31

Faces of the Tarnished Souk is quite the bookful. It is a huge book with lots of pieces. When I first heard of it I was under the impression that it was pretty much an NPC codex but it’s a bit more than that making it a lot to take in and evaluate who would want this and what they would use it for.


Well for the most part it is mostly an NPC book but the NPCs are crazy. They’re all a mixture of third party classes, archetypes, templates, races and/or feats, making for characters that don’t really don’t really fit in most situations. They’re mostly NPCs that you would want as an endgame villain or the end of a chapter of an adventure path. To make them fit in a few slots other than the end of an adventure each of the NPCs come in high CR, mid-CR and low CR. That way if you encounter them early in your adventuring carreer you can meet them again later when they’ve leveled up too.


Each NPC has a few paragraphs about their personality and history along with how they appear in Coliseum Morpheuon and how to use them. Sometimes there is a lore chart to determine what kind of information you can get about them using knowledge checks. This is the point where I realized that while I’ve heard of the Coliseum Morpheuon I have no idea what that is, and I refuse to look it up for this review because really it can stand on its own and I think that’s important for my purposes.


There is a downside. Since there’s a lot of third party material used sometimes you’re left not knowing exactly what’s going on with a character. The races, feats, templates and traits are all covered because they mostly appear in the last ¼ of the book, (Which is actually pretty amazing, I didn’t know about some of these despite having a lot of third party products and some of those are really cool.) but you’re going to have to find some of the classes on your own. For the most part it isn’t that big of a problem but the psionic one, the Savants that make you need to really need to look at another product to figure out how the NPC works. Although the Artisan’s portfolio was confusing because I don’t know what it is. Luckily this doesn’t cost you money because all of the classes in the book appear on d20pfsrd.com except I can’t figure out if the Artisans in the book is a Drop Dead Studios Artisan or something else.


There are a few format glitches, like text that should be bolded, the Rite logo looking wonky and one bit where two paragraphs are in the wrong order but other than that I didn’t really notice anything wrong. As a whole I really like this book. These aren’t really NPCs that you throw in a game and more NPCs that you build a campaign around which says a lot for their creativity, vividness and uniqueness. The format is nice and easy to read, and the art brings some of the characters to life very well. I would give this product 4 stars. Its imaginative and useful but I feel like it makes me have to do almost as much work as it saves by pulling from such a variety of sources. I’m a bit okay because I have most of these options in other books I own but I can’t say the same for everyone.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Faces of the Tarnished Souk: An NPC Collection (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Secrets of the Metadventurer (PFRPG)
by Si N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/02/2016 00:44:58

Hilarious, clever, definitely going to trick my GM into letting me play this after he kills my current character. Mwahaha.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secrets of the Metadventurer (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

In The Company of Rakshasa (PFRPG)
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/29/2016 04:44:03

An Endzeitgeist.com review


The latest installment of Rite Publishing's "In the Company of..:"-series clocks in at 23 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD, 2 pages of advertisement, leaving us with 18 pages of content, so let's take a look!


This review was moved up in my review queue as a prioritized review at the request of my patreons.


We begin this supplement, as always, with a letter from a member of this race to Qwilion of Questhaven, one that has a sense of decadence and the disturbing reverberating in it, setting a great precedence, theme-wise, for what's to follow. The pdf asks the question whether you ever did STARVE - not just hunger, starve. Now if the implications of this very concept are lost, I'd very much recommend Knut Hamsun's legendary "Sult" (Hunger) Now here's the powerful imagery: The in-character narrator states "We are that hunger." That actually did send shivers down my spine.


When the in-character narrator speaks of "hunger and desires so terrible they transcend death", you believe it - the yaksha are CREEPY. Terribly so. And in fact, the leitmotifs of hunger and desire extend throughout the whole fluff, providing a slick and surprisingly suave justification for the predations of these beings - in case you haven't gleaned that by now - yes, the relationships with races, adventurers etc. actually are a joy to read here.


The rakshasa base-race here is the yaksha, a medium shapechanger which gets +2 Dex and Cha, -2 Wis. The race gets +4 to Bluff when lying (NOT when feinting) and has darkvision 60 ft. and they may alter self at will, but sans modifying ability scores and retaining darkvision. This ability allows the character to become small or medium. Thanks to their shapeshifting, yaksha get +2 to CMD vs. grapples and +2 to Escape Artist checks made to escape grapples. Now here's the deal, though: Yaksha are defined by their hunger, which can only be sated by consuming humanoid flesh - said flesh may come from a living or dead humanoid, but may not come from the undead (which interestingly puts them at odds with necromancers). Yaksha must consume their weight in humanoid flesh in a given month - failure to do so results in 1 negative level, more if the yaksha is starved further. See, this is interesting - by tying hunger to a long time frame, it becomes less of an active hindrance for adventuring and still retains its theme. Before you're asking - yes, I'd allow this race as presented, though the shapechanging is pretty powerful. The race sports age, height and weight tables and 7 alternate racial traits with which you can modify the base race. These include natural armor, saving bonus versus divine spells; a 2 RP or less wildcard ability representing the host race, better impersonating, +atk versus outsiders, better CL or better positive/negative energy - all of these are valid and feel balanced versus the abilities they replace - kudos!


The race also has favored class options for bard, brawler, luckbringer, monk, slayer, sorceror, time thief, rakshasa paragon...and vizier! Yup, we actually get support for the great Akashic class here! There also are racial archetypes in this book, the first of which would be the Cheeno (slayer) - these guys only get simple weapon and light armor proficiency. Instead of studied target, the archetype provides a predation pool equal to class level +3. These points can be used to activate predations, supernatural abilities, as a swift action, expending 1 predation point. And these are...brutal. Blissful Ignore of the Prey makes all humanoids within 30 ft ignore the cheeno for 1 round, being treated as unaware...ooh, and the memory of events involving the cheeno are eliminated as if subject to modify memory...and yes, this is properly classified as a mind-affecting compulsion effect. As long as the cheeno has at least 1 predation point, the character is protected from cold by endure elements. Cheeno can also use these points to gain scent, which increases in effectiveness versus the starving, cannibals as well as humans upon which the cheeno has fed and a 15-ft-range to pinpoint humanoids. At 1st level, the cheeno gets a 1d6 primary natural bite and gets a morale bonus after consuming sufficient humanoid flesh as well as counting as a rakshasa - this is known as hungerborn.


4th level provides a 10-ft. aura of 1d6 cold, Fort save to mitigate fatigue, which can be activated as a swift action, but only when in the original form. It can similarly be dismissed and otherwise lasts for 1 minute. At 7th level, the archetype gets the cannibalism rarefied taste (see my breakdown of the paragon class later) and an original form with features of a starved stag. At 10th level, the chenno can shapechang into a large form, complete with a gore primary attack and thabkfully sans shapechange-stack abuse. Additionally, at higher levels, the archetype may choose predations at full level and sports two unique ones - Snow striding (which also mitigates sleet or hail) and feast of ashes as an SP - note that, as a predation, this is subject to predation point consumption and has a solid DC. Quarry is limited to creatures fed upon, cannibals or the starving and 16th level allows the chenno to add class level in cold damage to a single melee or ranged attack, with the target also being denied Dex-mod versus these strikes, while 20th level provides full shapechanger apotheosis with cold immunity, SR and powerful natural weapons.


The second archetype would be the Hokhoku for the luckbringer class, who gets a pool of predatory chance that can be used interchangeably as predation points or moments of chance. Predation-wise, the aforementioned blissful ignorance trick is part of the deal...as is perfect maneuverability fly at 60 ft. (40 if wearing medium/heavy armor), but only for one round, upgrading to 1 round/level at 8th level. While this is restrictive, it still violates the prohibition versus unassisted flight at the lowest levels and can break quite a few modules - not a fan and, depending on your campaign, OP. This replaces weal or woe and narrow escape. At 1st level, hungerborn is gained. Instead of 3rd level's nothing is written, the hokhoku gains a rarefied taste (more on that in the paragon class) based on misfortune, which features an original form with avian features - they can feed on humanoids that fail at something of great importance (or that roll natural 1s on their saves) and may use fatespin to force rerolls of saves, using the lower of the two. Instead of 4th level's improbably, the archetype gets an ability that I have used in my home game for YEARS for some creepy magic - consuming the eyes of the dead plays the last minute of the dead person's life before the hokhoku's eyes. Creepy and awesome! 8th level allows for the consumption of the brain of the deceased for a speak with dead-like ability and 10th level allows for predations to be gained instead of improbables, basically streamlining them and using them interchangeably, with two exclusives being included: Both are activated as immediate actions - one combines a visually neat vanish with a debuff for the attacker, while the second increases the crit multiplier of the bite to x4 - based on action expenditure, of course. The archetype sports a similar apotheosis that instead of cold focuses on better crits.


The taotie monk gets an expanded skill-list and begins play with hungerborn and the archetype begins with a pool or predation, as with the other archetypes - predation-wise, they can use the pool to bite off chunks off her opponents, adding Con-damage and counting as having consumed 10 lbs. The second predation allows the taotie to ignore class level hardness when sundering objects with the bite - magic items consumed can potentially be reconstructed upon killing the monk...but that is not easy. Taotie are also excellent liars, gaining a predation that provides a significant bonus and may be even proof versus magic. As long as the taotie is not starving, she gains Cha-mod to AC instead of the monk's usual progression and 2nd level provides predatory resilience at fool level (see rakshasa paragon) instead of evasion/improved evasion. 3rd level provides rarefied taste: gluttony, which allows the taotie to feed on gluttonous humanoids and upgrades bite damage to monk unarmed damage. 5th level provides a 30 ft.-cone belch that sickens foes and may even stagger those that fail the save - nasty predation! 9th level provides addictive feeding and 11th level and every 3 levels thereafter provide a new predation, with a scent to smell out valuables or assume the form of statues, urns, etc. This one is full of potential! finally, 20th level provides an apotheosis, this time with an added focus of better DR and unarmed strikes.


All right, so the archetypes heavily intersect with the paragon-class - is it good? Well, framework-wise, it provides proficiency with simple weapons, no armors or shields, d10 HD, 6+Int skills per level, full BAB-progression, good Ref- and Will-saves, 1/2 AC-bonus progression. 1st level provides the hungerborn class feature and similarly, the class begins play with a pool of predation. The class gains the blissful ignorance trick, the option to smell out mortals affected by emotion or fear-effects or that have been fed upon and they also get the silver tongue-ability. Every two levels above 1st, the paragon gets an additional predation - some of these require more predation points and/or have minimum levels - high-level paragons can, for example call adhukait, make illusions supplemented by shadow, compress her form (great for infiltrators) or become a predatory protector of the humanoids that nourish her - dismissal bite versus outsiders.


Size-increase to large, aforementioned gluttonous bite, marking humanoids on who's she fed as property (potentially useful not only offensively), sight that can pierce darkness and deathwatch...cool. But the most fun would probably be "playing with one's food" - i.e. magic jar-ing corpses or undead while in spirit form. Oh yeah, spirit form. HP-based precision damage that will end most foes via killing blows, assuming forms of specific individuals, beast shapes and suggestions, forming scaling figments, mesmerizing prey - there are a LOT of thoroughly unique, awesome tricks here - tricks that make the class highly viable beyond the martial role expected by the chassis - indeed, these often allow for awesome new tricks.


Now I did mention rarefied taste - chosen at first level, this determines the animal head and features and may draw nourishment from the respective rarefied taste - anger, cannibalism, curiosity, creativity, fear, heresy, lust, etc. - and yes, these allow the rakshasa to work in the context of good groups, depending on the taste chosen. However, this is not the limit of customization options - 2nd level and every 2 levels thereafter, the paragon may choose a hungerborn gift - these include making being fed upon addictive, an affinity for asura, claws, at-will nondetection or a second head and high-level paragons may even get extra limbs, complete with hand and ring slot-rules-clarification - kudos. Better DR and SR are also provided...wait? Yeah, second level nets scaling DR and 10th level provides an outsider apotheosis and SR of 4+class level...as well as at-will command of lesser yaksha with HD of 10 or less. Finally, 20th level provides better SR, DR and unlimited yaksha command.


The pdf closes with 2 feats - one for +1 rarefied taste and one that allows characters sans the paragon class levels gain hungerborn and rarefied taste.


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are top-notch - I noticed no significant glitches in either formal or rules criteria. Kudos! Layout adheres to Rite Publishing's two-column full-color standard and the pdf comes with plenty nice full-color artworks. The pdf is fully bookmarked for your convenience.


One caveat before we start: Yes, this is a powerful race/class; one definitely intended for high-powered gameplay - but you could have guessed that, right? It's a monster class/race and they don't necessarily mix well with gritty low fantasy. (Though, provided other PCs have similarly cool tricks, I can see this race working well in a gritty, but high-powered game.)


Wendall Roy shows how it's done. It's as simple as that. Wait...it totally isn't. Apart from the one unassisted flight ability of an archetype, which may be problematic for some campaigns, I'm pretty much left sans complaints. This is PRECISE. Exceedingly so. Natural attacks specify their type and damage dice properly; mind affecting effects are properly codified; otherwise boring spells-in-a-can-abilities get modifications that make them unique; there are ROLEplaying abilities that are super-useful and completely unique. Sure, you can go natural attack shredder...but you'll miss out some awesome tricks that make the class unique. The Full BAB-high-skill-combo is an uncommon chassis, but works. Best of all, though - beyond being a highly customizable array of options that puts player agenda high on the table, the concepts are awesome. Visually stunning. Oh, and as a further plus, guess what? This book's prose is also excellent.


So basically, we get a powerful, but balanced array of options with a cool base-race, awesome class options with great ideas and a superb paragon class that is also a joy to read. This is how such books ought to be crafted. I tried so hard to pick this apart, but can't find anything that sucks. Finally, one should not fail to mention the elegant sustenance mechanic utilized here - relevant and nasty, but it doesn't cripple the character. Overall, my favorite part about this book remains the fact that the pdf doesn't chicken out - it sports rakshasa as what they are, adds dimension to them and still allows PCs with less problematic alignments to use this book. Triumphant. My final verdict clocks in at 5 stars + seal of approval. This is how a race book's done.


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In The Company of Rakshasa (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gossamer Worlds: INK (Diceless)
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/21/2016 04:00:24

An Endzeitgeist.com review


This trip to one of the countless Gossamer Worlds clocks in at 15 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, leaving us with 13 pages of content, so let's take a step through this door!


Okay, have you read Flatland? If not, I'd strongly suggest you do so - for its implications are very much relevant for this Gossamer World: You see, INK is unlike most such worlds in that it exists as a 2D-world, where visitors are subject to the so-called rendering, as they are translated into 2-dimensional versions of themselves - for this world is one of sentient comics, classic ink drawings and the like - INK is layered on sheets and traveling from one sheet to another changes you - and yes, there is danger in this brute-force conversion of styles...in this translation, in which beauty and reality may be lost or gained.


In a world defined by the artistic, one should not be surprised to see a class-system, as portraits lord over sketches and the underclass of downtrodden scribbles, while specialized drafter annunaki (stats provided) and the erasing eraser erebi can be considered to be the truly powerful forces of nature of INK, dangerous in either the scroll kingdoms, panelopolis, the funnypaper farms or the scrawl - oh, and have I mentioned Major Maim? This guy makes Judge Doom look like a downright cute, reasonable guy - think of superman as evil and as an existential nihilist hell-bent of destroying (and/or escaping) the limitations of his world...


Considering the strange nature of INK as opposed to many more conventional gossamer worlds, it does come with rather detailed pieces of advice to properly implement it in your game, which is greatly appreciated.


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are top-notch, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to Rite Publishing's two-column full-color standard for the series and a diverse array of high-quality full-color artworks illustrates the world in the different styles you can expect - nice touch. The pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience.


Matt Banach's INK is brilliant - much like Planet Fiction, it allows for a huge array of real life creatures to be inserted in the game - from your favorite superheroes to manga/anime-characters and classic paintings, this one sports so many narrative options, it's not even funny anymore. Ever wanted to know what would happen if Garfield and Odie could duke it out in a Gundam? Well...there you go. Unlike Planet Fiction, though, this may have less space to develop the world - but it has the upper hand in one crucial regard: A unique selling point. Depicting the 2-dimensional, comic book reality herein can lead to truly memorable, unique adventures and constitutes one of the crucial strengths of this extremely evocative world. Granted, you can mostly ignore this component, if the repercussions give you a headache, but personally, I love this pdf for it and consider it one of the best in the whole series, on par with the genius Poetica Mundi-installment. Final verdict? 5 stars + seal of approval.


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gossamer Worlds: INK (Diceless)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

In The Company of Rakshasa (PFRPG)
by Peter C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/13/2016 03:41:44

I have been fascinated by Rakshasa ever since I read the entry in the First Edition AD & D Monster Manual. In the Company of Rakshasa describes the Rakshasa race. There are Rakshasa class archetypes, too. The capper is a description of the Rakshasa Paragon class, a race-based class. The descriptions of the Rakshasa's background, abilities and the Paragon class are all cool, which is what I ask from a Pathfinder supplement.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In The Company of Rakshasa (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 984 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates