DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Misadventures of Clark & Jefferson #1
by Keith M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/17/2014 05:51:54

The art's nice, the writing... well, there's an interesting idea for a story underneath the cursing, unlikable characters, and the writer's poop obsession. Not a fun read.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Misadventures of Clark & Jefferson #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Zero Hunters #1
by Scotty G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2013 18:38:03

Zero Hunters

Staff: Jay Carvajal, Marc Borstel, Federico & Karina Lopizzo, and Carlos Razetto

Overview: "Vampire" + “film noir” + “cop”. Follow that formula to the letter and you basically have everything in this comic.

Review: So I’m once again on a vampire book. I’ve stated before that it’s a genre I’m not super fond of, but I’m excited to dig into it. Sometimes this genre surprises me, so let’s sink our fangs into Zero Hunters #1! The first thing that grabs me is that this is a scifi and I’m a fan of the clean cut modern art style they use in this comic. The lettering is nothing shy of professional grade. There is excellent use of silhouettes (which fits with the tone quite well). Some of the character designs (particularly for some of the vampires) are quite cool, but others lack any real inspiration (including Garrick, the protagonist). This comic also makes great use of this color and takes advantage of the visual medium it uses. Both visuals and script skip happily across the pages of this free 34 page comic.

But I’m afraid that’s where the praise ends. The plot is very simplistic and exposition heavy, the art has a few slip ups (though is generally pretty solid), and the main character is forgettable. A few of the onomatopoeia bugged me as they didn’t exactly jive with the fantastic lettering.

A lot of the plot relies on film noir clichés and stock characters. You can see everything coming and nothing is really new or unique. It seems like someone threw a few darts as a board with ideas tapped to it and came up with “vampire”, “film noir” , “cop” comic. Near the end they get into this interesting plot point about how the protagonist and the antagonist are locked in eternal struggle across multiple lifetimes. A nice little twist, but it doesn’t save the comic.

Ultimately there is a lot of like about this comic but a lot of it falls by the wayside. The plot is cliché, but it has some saving elements. The art is good but it never really rises to the point where it’s noteworthy. The characters are blank slates, though at least they feel like people (through dialogue and action).

Metrics Art: 7/10 (Decent art) Lettering: 7/10 (Professional grade) Plot: 3/10 (Nothing new) Novelty: 3/10 (Generic) Overall: 5/10

Review from: http://indycomicreview.wordpress.com/



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Zero Hunters #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Zero Hunters #1
by Gerwazy B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2013 05:39:06

Moderately interesting comic, but it is operating on schemas and stereotypes. Sure, you can read it if you have a spare time, but otherwise don't even bother.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Zero Hunters #1
by jeffrey v. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2013 17:57:21

ZERO HUNTERS is a nicely written, nicely colored, nicely drawn comic. It has a familiar story of a man who haunted by the memories of his family being killed in front of him by a vampire and his unrelenting quest for revenge. There is a secondary thread of a plot line that concerns a “history” the vampire and his hunter have between them that could turn out to be the strongest part of this story. There isn’t enough in this one issue to hook me into the storyline as I don’t see anything really unique at this point, but that shouldn’t stop fans of the genre from indulging their appetites.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Misadventures of Clark & Jefferson #1
by Charles M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/23/2013 11:25:12

It's not a particularly enticing cover, after all. The cover image, itself, lacks visual impact. Sure, it depicts a scene, but it is done in a rather ho-hum fashion. There is nothing about the cover that makes me want to read the tale that it contains, much less make me look forward to the book as a series.

The way that the green text is depicted on the front cover helps to imbue the cover with a very amateurish look. It helps this title to blend in with a virtual sea of other mediocre comic book titles that compete for attention and readership with one another.

All that I was looking for, on this particular day, was a comic book to read - a free one. I had a little spare time, today, and I decided that I wanted to grab a comic book, one that was published by an independent publisher (i.e.: not a Marvel or DC title), and I was then going to try and sit down and write a review for it. So, in a roundabout sort of way, what I needed was a guinea pig - and Sheriff Clark and Deputy Jefferson, as things turned out, just happened to "volunteer" for the job.

I quickly flipped past the WANTED poster on page # 2, not even bothering to read the part where it said that Sheriff Clark was wanted for being a "notorious murderer of spacemen and such."

That should have been a clue.

So, anyway, I skip on past to page # 3, which is where the story actually started.

And this is where we get to the nut inside the shell of this review.

I liked the interior art. It's fine. It does it's job, good. It serves its purpose. It lends itself well to the telling of the story. Why on Earth they went with such mediocre cover art for this comic book, when the interior art is far superior to the cover art, is beyond me.

As for the story, itself - I like it. I enjoyed it. I really did. While, thus far, at least, I have only read just this first issue, I soon enough came to enjoy reading it. Personally, I thoroughly enjoyed reading it.

Why?

Not because the story featured poop in it, nor even because its use of poop as a literary tool helped to inject humor into the storyline.

Rather, more than once, I found myself laughing aloud, as I read from page to page. It was amusing. It was honest laughter, on my part. If you focus on the issue's use of poop as a staging point for humor, then you are, I'm afraid, likely to miss the big picture. The humor worked, not because it was poop-based, but rather, because the dialogue between the two main characters worked.

This dialogue that they had going on between themselves was believable. It made the characters seem as if they had a personal connection. The dialogue extended past the poop. It built the narrative of the story.

The real story is not the tale covered by this single issue. Rather, the real story is the relationship between Clark and Jefferson, between Sheriff and Deputy.

Thus, in spite of this issue's over-reliance upon poop as an element to inject humor into the storyline, I feel that the issue succeeded. Personally, I think that it passed muster with flying colors. How do I know this?

Because, at the end of the story in issue # 1, I found myself looking forward to issue # 2. It's called anticipation, and it is a crucial part of a successful formula for comic books. Not just exclusively for comic books, mind you, but certainly, for comic books, amongst other things.

It works, and was successful, because I - the reader - found the work in question to be entertaining. It won't work as well for everyone, just as nothing works equally well for everyone. We each have different likes and dislikes. We each gravitate towards our respective tastes.

If this issue of this comic book had had a decent front cover, then I might well have considered rating it a 5-star find. The front cover certainly reeks far worse than the issue's fascination with poop.

Would I recommend this issue to others? Absolutely. Positively. I certainly would - and do, in fact.

Even though the setting is apparently in the Wild West/Old West, issue # 1 made only marginal use of the setting. The setting is secondary to the dialogue between Clark and Jefferson, where carrying the story to the reader is concerned. This isn't an inherently bad nor inherently wrong thing. In fact, there's much that can be said for this style of story telling.

Oh, sure, the accoutrements of the Wild West are there. There's horses, and cowboys, and bad guys, and even cactus. So, why, then, doesn't it have a stronger western flavor to it, to me?

Maybe it's due to adding space aliens into the mix. Or, maybe it's due more to the deputy's persona, as depicted. Deputy Jefferson has a strong lead playing that role. He's more than just a supporting character, that's for sure. Considering the name of the title, that's probably appropriate. Maybe the full "westernness" of it will only sink in, after several issues of it are notched on my belt.

The actual story of issue #1 of The Misadventures of Clark and Jefferson: Creatures from the Sky is a full 30 pages in length. Then, of course, you have the two pages that precede the story, and the three pages that follow it.

The follow on pages do a much worse job of tempting me to read the other comic book titles advertised on them, than this comic book issue did of tempting me to seek out the next issue in this series.

Issue # 1 was available as a free download on Drive Thru Comics, when I grabbed a copy of it. At that price point, you can't go wrong. You don't even have to hold the place up, in order to get a copy of it. Reading it is its own reward.

The "normal price" that is struck through has issue # 1 listed at $3.99. At that price point, any comic book feels like highway robbery to me. Don't let 'em scalp you on the price - but do read it, if you get a chance to.

And this is the point where this comic book review rides off into the sunset.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Misadventures of Clark & Jefferson #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Misadventures of Clark & Jefferson #1
by William H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/24/2013 20:38:18

I was looking forward to a buddy-Weird Western about cowboys and aliens (even though it's been done), but this was just terrible. The actual plot is decent, if not paper-thin, but the dialogue is really forced-Western and riddled with cliches. Every other panel had a character spouting off some bad one-liner. The thing that really killed this issue is the OBSESSION with crap (which is appropriate in hindsight). Seriously, our heroes spend about half the time either stepping in, falling in, hiding in or taking a shit. There were so many references to it that I'd completely forgotten what was going on in the story to begin with. No wonder this comic is free.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Ork Lycantrophis #1
by Elwood W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/13/2012 12:34:20

Great story and artwork,can't wait for the next one!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ork Lycantrophis #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ONE: Season 1 #1
by Sergio R. d. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/03/2011 10:26:49

In a near future, a one-man army faces a sort of totalitarian/autoritarian system. It looks like déjà vu, but at least the narrative is good, as well as the art. I am curious to see how it will evolve, even because it is a three-edition only series.

As to the scanning, great work!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ONE: Season 1 #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Disc #1
by matt b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2011 07:59:07

I'll be honest--this would be okay if we had a full story. There just wasn't enough here to make me hunt down issue number two. No real characterization and extreme vulgar language that didn't seem to be important--swearing just to swear. I really think new series like this should have a full story to start with, so we get invested. I cannot recommend even bothering to download it.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Disc #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Zero Hunters #1
by Flames R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/28/2010 07:22:49

A FlamesRising.com Review:

At first glance this seems like it could be tagged as “The Punisher Meets Blade,” and that’s not necessarily a bad thing because there are solid differences that give this comic its own signature stamp, so endless comparisons are not needed. In the first panels we’re introduced to William Garrick, a man that’s part of a special task force hunting “the things that aren’t human.” But he’s also on a personal mission of revenge. The opening gives enough background to get things started before the story moves into a tense and revealing action sequence.

The protagonist here has a slick “don’t mess with me” attitude and there’s a nice mixture of darkness and humor. Some of the dialogue in a few spots is a bit cliché but, because of the fast pace of the story and the composition within the panels, it doesn’t detract from enjoyment of the narrative. Instead, that seems to serve as more of a tongue-in-cheek wink-wink to the readers that would likely be familiar with other works in this genre.

The artwork is strong; there’s depth, a feeling of immediacy, and the action sequences as well as the slower panels flow. There’s a very nice use of page space and also an overall glossy look to the art that gives it that “live” feel. The cover composition foreshadows with artistically detailed and carefully-placed items. I also found that the dialogue bubbles were easy to follow from one speaker to the next and the lettering throughout was solid.

This comic seems like it will continue to deliver a decent read and a visual experience that will be welcomed by many readers.

Read the full Review at Flames Rising: http://www.flamesrising.com/zero-hunters-1-review/



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Zero Hunters #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ork Lycantrophis #1
by Lana H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2009 12:03:54

Really enjoyed this free comic. Was hoping there was a series to purchase with this. The talking ape gave me a couple of 'Planet of the Apes' flashbacks, but I considered this an excellent work worthy of a purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ork Lycantrophis #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates