DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Shadowrun: DocWagon 19
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/31/2015 13:59:23

Very enjoyable read. It gave me some great ideas for running a campaign based on a DocWagon HRT.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: DocWagon 19
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadowrun: Shadowtech
by Kenneth H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/26/2015 19:21:36

Downloaded the file several times, but could not open it afterwards... it seems to be corrupted or incomplete.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Shadowtech
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadowrun: Rigger 5.0
by Nick E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2015 20:23:39

Overall a great book, heaps of vehicles and drones, new qualities, life modules, modifications for all your toys, and best of all the contents pages are well laid out, clear and unambiguous.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Rigger 5.0
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadowrun: Shadows in Focus: Sioux Nation: Starving the Masses
by Jeffrey G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2015 08:26:24

Great quick adventure, lots of sub-plots for Running in the Sioux Nation; BUT NO Maps...none, so the GM will have to "shoot from the Hip" on this one and the players will have to struggle with hand drawing scratching's on the fly. Maps and handouts are a very important part of adventures; it would have made this a better run.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Shadows in Focus: Sioux Nation: Starving the Masses
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadowrun: Rigger 5.0
by Robert P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/23/2015 09:38:07

Pros: Plenty of specific rules for upgrading Pilot programs and providing autosofts. Lots of vehicle and drone modifications. Lots of vehicles and drones. Anthroform drones are back, and they're awesome. Don't expect them to replace metahumans anytime soon, but if you feel the need for a Deployable Mariachi Band, this book has you covered. Their more versatile (and a little tougher) than their equivalent in non-anthroform drones, but tend to have lower Body and Armor, and are overall quite balanced. Rules for upgrading vehicle and drone stats, for vehicle stunts, and for getting the most out of your piloting. Great Table of Contents.

Cons: Chapter order is a little strange (vehicle modifications are after Drones and Drone Modifications, while the Vehicle List is before the chapter on Drones. Drone and vehicle modification rules are separated, but since Drones can use Vehicle OR Drone modifications (that's an exclusive or -- its one or the other) this isn't a huge issue.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Rigger 5.0
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

BattleTech: Combat Manual: Mercenaries
by Graham l. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2015 16:27:36

on par with the original but missing the contracts section outlining the forms and documents for negotiations



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Combat Manual: Mercenaries
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadowrun: Rigger 5.0
by Josh B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/19/2015 18:04:51

I need to preface this by stating that I had a good deal of personal hype and hope for this book. I have been working on some things for a while and as a stopgap was trying to reverse engineer the drone and vehicle stats from 4th edition into something that fit in 5th. I think I did ok-ish... but this book does amazingly well, and more.

The first thing I want to note about the book in question is actually not what it contains, but what it lacks. Up until now almost every main book for the current Shadowrun edition has had a good deal of its content devoted to the ongoing metaplot with headcrashers and AIs and the like. Maybe It has to do with Deus, maybe not. It's interesting enough... but it is also something I would prefer to see left largely to Novels. When I am looking at a game, any game, the books I want are the ones with tons of crunch and enough fluff to keep me interested in and inspired with that crunch. I already have my ideas for my games, and tomorrow night the small team of runners hitting a gangs pseudo-fortress in an old public works building to get at the decker who sold some of them out won't have anything to do with Boston, head crash, AIs or anything else.

This book, thankfully, keeps more on task talking about riggers in general and primarily focused on the vehicles and drones needed to keep that aspect of the game going. Rigger culture and new rules are covered rather well in my opinion along with some rule tweaks that I think will make chases and other longer term travel far more interesting. It is especially nice to have a good way to put a rough MPH (Or KPH I guess) on things. But if you are like me you bought this for the vehicles, the drones, and the mods.

And boy do they deliver.

So long as you don't mind the 'counts as' to milk a bit more diversity out of what is already presented you will end up with a vast array of things ranging from commuter cars and bikes, to bigger civilian vehicles, up to milspec and commercial vehicles. Then you have boats of various shapes and sizes including housebotes. Helecopters, T Birds, even a Zeppelin or two.

The diversity in vehicles is nice and lets you give each runner who has their own mode of transport something a bit more unique than what is presented in the core book. Hell even if you aren't a rigger many of these things should be considered for characters who may have abnormal modes of transit or special/specific conditions just for the sake adding a bit of personality to the things.

Vehicle mods are mixed between old and new, with the old ones all seeming to get a very nice cost revamp to them. The rule-set designed to accommodate all of this actually makes for a very interesting setup since you don't have to apply all mods to one pool but have different pools for different types... which makes sense since you really aren't inhibiting your capacity for armor by shoving in better electronics or throwing in real leather seats. There is still a decent deal of kajoling to get everything you want out of these things, but A rigger with a vehicle or small stable he or she can baby will find it very rewarding. Just be wary if you are the GM because this is exactly the type of thing a cash heavy rigger will be looking to break at character creation.

Drones are likewise diverse, perhaps even more so. They give a good mix of military and non military drones with a wide array of applications. I still think the Shamus looks like a goat, but maybe that is the point. They even get into the huge and the humanoid, which with the right mods can apparently simulate a person to a decent degree, which gives me quite a few ideas for later.

Now with all of that said I think the Drone Mods are where this book falls flat, and would likely be my only real criticism. They have a good selection of them, and as implied before I like the 'realistic' mod as it allows you to ensure your drone looks far more real be it fly or new secretary for an exec. Unfortunately they don't leave much room for mods in most drones. The system is based on body like you see in previous editions and it could work, save for the simple fact that Drones by and large are not given enough points in body to accommodate... well... anything. They give a rule that lets you swap out a point of body for more overall mod points but many of the drones in there only have two or three body to start with and that just does not allow for anything at all.

Now granted if you are willing to tweak things a bit (I have my eye on one drone where I'd likely drop the speed and up the body by a couple points in a custom variant or something) then this might work out ok with some drones. But the fact is that in many cases you simply can't do anything beyond the stock creation and that can feel very, very limiting. I understand vehicles are bigger and there should be more options to customize them, plus it shouldn't really be possible to mount a Predator on a fly drone. But it still feels off to me. The problem also crops up a bit with vehicles (can't seem to stick a rank 3 speed mod in a sports car sadly) But at least then you can understand it may be a balance issue. Drones can have stats tweaked, but can't really fit much change of any sort to them, and it feels like basing it on body when so many drones of medium size or larger have body below what they 'should' really limits the customization.

But considering the gripes I've had at a few of the other books in this series, I frankly think that is a pretty small 'nitpick' to gripe about. In the past the overwealming amount of fluff, the details for locations I simply was not going to use and worst of all the insanely small amount of crunch for character growth in things like Data Trails left me a bit cold on continuing to buy the hard copies of these books. It wasn't really worth hunting down something like that when I might be buying a book for ten or twenty pages of crunch, maybe some semi usable expanded rules in the back and tons of stuff I didn't' want. This book appeals to me far more and gives me far more of what I am looking for in a book.

Now I want to make that clear because this is a very biased review. This is my impressions based on how I run my games or play my games. I am that guy who thought the 'complete' splatbooks for 3.5 and things like Weapons of Legacy were largely brilliant because he already had his own setting. I am that guy who disregards every shred of location based fluff in the Fantasy Flight 40K stuff because I know the setting just fine and I don't even run it in that area. I want weapons and armor and equipment and gear and abilities and things to shape characters and NPCs as I see fit, and if they are written well some nice expanded rules to help flesh things out. If that sounds like you, then I think this will be among the most satisfying books Catalyst has put out this side of Battletech's core stuff. If not, well I'd still recommend it as the book does cover the weak core book rigger setup, just take my gushing with a few grains of salt.

Me? I think I'll be seeing how my Adept can jam a Thunderstruck pop-up under the hood of his new Dodge Charger. God I love GM Characters.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Rigger 5.0
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadowrun: Seattle Sourcebook
by Kirk W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/18/2015 12:38:09

It's a older book but still has a lot of good info on the Seattle setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Seattle Sourcebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cosmic Patrol: Core Rulebook
by Angela K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/14/2015 20:09:38

First and foremost- this is a very fun, lean game. Mechanics suggest lots of player-motivation and non-traditional ways to play many different roles without strict adherence to charts, levels, etc. I purchased both this rpg product and its expansion.

HOWEVER- the game has absolutely ZERO on-going support. The website online forums, Facebook, Twitter, etc. have fan-asked questions and have been left unanswered. While a member of the team admitted to having health issues, I question why 2 years later we don't have an heir-apparent to manage social media or to direct fans with rules-based characters.

Conclusion: Buy and play the game with 100% of its content for about $20, but be prepared to feel as alone as your space-launched characters.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cosmic Patrol: Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadowrun: Quick-Start Rules (Free RPG Day 2012)
by Jon B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2015 17:12:04

Good primer to see basic mechanics of the game and possibly determine if it may be something that interests you and your gaming group.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Quick-Start Rules (Free RPG Day 2012)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

BattleTech: Interstellar Operations
by Thomas M R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/20/2015 17:07:39

Catalyst Game Labs/Topps Interstellar Operations - Beta adds to the first four core rule books by allowing game masters, players, and gear heads to play from the early years of the Star League to the latest conflicts in the BattleTech Universe. If the final release is as good as the battle this will be a very good addition to anyone's BattleTech Collection.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Interstellar Operations
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

BattleTech: Combat Manual: Mercenaries
by Russell W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/16/2015 01:39:08

Sexist and racist artwork? Where? Except for the full page color art, it has all been used before.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Combat Manual: Mercenaries
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadowrun: Hell on Water
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/13/2015 10:38:47

Totally disagree with the previous review. There was little time to expand on all of the characters as the action was expansive. I loved the way the book was written, more episodic than linear. It made me want to spend more time in Africa (as a character)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Hell on Water
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

BattleTech: Combat Manual: Mercenaries
by Taryn F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/11/2015 21:39:40

It has some racist and sexist artwork in it, and the chapter on Force Building is hard to get through. Plus, the whole book basically requires the Alpha Strike Companion, and one of Catalyst's employees admitted to me on their forums that omitting this from the description was an error.

Having said that, the artwork of the "Unseen" mech redesigns is pretty, and there are a ton of named characters of both (binary) genders and multiple ethnicities. And if you can digest the rules, and own a copy of the ASC, this should make your Alpha Strike battles much more entertaining ... at least the ones with mercs in them. There's even a "character sheet"-style thing to print out, where you can list all the pilot and lance special abilities for your company (3 lances, or 12 mechs, plus optional support units) at a glance.

Oh yeah, there are a lot of textual errors and typos as well, a lot of which you should be able to tell was not what was intended. Unlike with the artwork (and Catalyst's typical wall-of-text wording), I'm confident that most of those will be fixed once this is out of beta.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Combat Manual: Mercenaries
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

BattleTech: BattleCorps Anthology Vol 1: The Corps
by Trevor R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/06/2015 14:54:06

A good series of short stories in the BattleTech universe.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: BattleCorps Anthology Vol 1: The Corps
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 106 to 120 (of 919 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates