DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
BattleTech: 25 Years of Art and Fiction
by Randy S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2016 07:36:57

I just downloaded this and don't be fooled by the comment that it's low resolution. This PDF is beautiful. It is packed full of content. Can't wait to read it all. Thanks!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: 25 Years of Art and Fiction
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadowrun: World of Shadows
by Antony V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2016 11:01:03

On the whole I enjoyed the anthology, some stories I'd like to see extended in novels, but there were a couple that left me scratching my head and wondering why they were included.


I really enjoyed Patrick Goodman's story about Dragonslayer actively choosing to mentor a new runner, and I'd like to read more about how Erica grows as a Mage.


Russell Zimmerman, you actually made me get a little angry at the start of your story, so thoroughly did I get immersed in the story. Great to read more about one of the Street Legends.


I was particularly disappointed by "Queen for a Minute" by Annie Bellet. If it had been included with the original Shadowrun Returns game it may not have thrown me so much, but having a 2052 setting story in a new Shadowrun compilation seemed a very strange choice.


Overall I'm glad I bought it, and look forward to more Shadowrun fiction, particularly as it's what really drew me into the game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: World of Shadows
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadowrun: Coyotes
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/11/2016 15:18:35

Pros:


/ Gives a good idea what Coyotes do
/ Price table
/ Outlines types of border, and what's present at each in terms of actual assets, eg. guard stats, no of spirits, etc.

Cons:


/ Doesn't address corporate extra-territoriality - big omission really, since countries who've signed the BRA and other corporations can't search vehicles belonging to AA and AAA corps (is my understanding)
/ Doesn't look at what happens at a border when you try to get thru! Eg. I have a rating 4 fake SIN, and I try to cross a 'Normal' border - does it work? Ratings of devices such as SIN scanners, MAD detectors, etc. at each border type is not addressed at all.
/ Would have been helpful to have more info about visas, etc. I'd also expect info on bribing officials, etc. here with regards to what's allowed, who gets searched, etc. In the Denver missions there are come quick rules on border crossing, which I imagined would have been expanded upon.
/ Would have also been useful to outline security of borders rather than just checkpoints, eg. drones, minefields, motion detectors, ratings, etc.

I enjoyed what was there, but it seemed somewhat incomplete.


Just my 2c



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Coyotes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadowrun: Shadows in Focus: City by Shadow: San Francisco Metroplex
by David B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2016 16:23:35

I wanted to like this, but I am a native of the SF Bay Area and it is painfully obvious that the writers are not, nor did they bother to look at a map. The other issue is that they specify certain items, and then fail to define them. They also use names that are already defined, and then I can only assume push them past their currently defined boundaries to areas that aren't traditionally included. They don't really add any new gear, since the new pistol is speced in the new hard targets book, unless you want police NPC's for the SFPD. The only good thing is that they brought forward the previous history for the area, however that history was never of decent quality and they could and should have performed cleanup and minor changes and corrections to it to make it actually make more sense.


Examples of what I am talking about.



  • They claim San Francisco has now managed to encompass the entire bay area, yet the only districts they list are the southern half of the bay area.

  • They talk about the caldecott tunnel and Oakland, failing to mention that only half of the tunnel is in Oakland, and it has no impact on access to the valley.

  • They fail to mention San Jose at all, I assume it is included in the 'Silicon Valley District' but it's never mentioned, despite that being the location of the airport.

  • They mention districts and fail to define their borders leaving huge grey areas (the bay area is a contiguous urban area).

  • They appear to have expanded named locations like Oakland, without actually telling us what they encompass.

  • Most of the plot for the Japanese invasion doesn't really make any sense and they did nothing to clean it up.

  • They have a map on the last page that lists interstates and state roads, and some of those state roads are city streets with stop lights (SR-82 is El Camino Real a city street, compared to I-101 a 8 lane highway).

  • That map also fails to define any disctrict borders, is blurry, and isn't that good on topography either (which explains the freeway layouts).


I would really love to go into deeper specifics, and offer my personal corrections and commentary, but this is suppossed to be a review, not a dissection.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Shadows in Focus: City by Shadow: San Francisco Metroplex
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

BattleTech: Turning Points: Epsilon Eridani
by Richard R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/05/2016 15:15:10

I found it informative just wish it was just a little longer. Also wish the mech complent was non existant would love to know which mechs were being used



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Turning Points: Epsilon Eridani
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadowrun: Run & Gun, Preview #1
by Dionne W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2016 15:26:16

I love this. I am playing it with a group of friends and family and hope to get the rest of these for more fun in playing. Thanks for having it out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Run & Gun, Preview #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadowrun: Fifth Edition: Core Rulebook Errata
by Dionne W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2016 15:25:00

This was very useful for me and I intend to keep using it. I'd like to thank you all for having such useful book/PDA for us when one needed it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Fifth Edition: Core Rulebook Errata
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadowrun: Boundless Mercy
by Oliver S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/17/2016 08:51:28

While the premise is interesting, the general setup and difficulty curve of all runs in this compilation seems unfocused and all over the place. Furthermore, in one of the runs I had the distinct feeling of reading a badly written D&D campaign, since all it basically boiled down to was a minimum amount of legwork and then encounter after encounter the players would have no chance of knowing anything about.
Either way, I cannot recommend this book to either experienced GMs (who will find it badly written and have to rewrite most of the encounters and scenes) or inexperienced GMs (who might not realize how unbeatable or laughable some of the encounters and scenes will be). To end on a positive note, the idea of the legwork tables has been done quite nicely, though the information attainable is both too little and too much.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Boundless Mercy
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadowrun: Shadow Spells
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/10/2016 09:46:17

Shadow Spells provides additional information about magic in the Shadowrun setting filling in some gaps left by the Street Grimoire. With the niche nature of the new spells and powers and the groups and threats provided, it seems aimed primarily at GMs who should definitely pick this product up if they are running a game that is magically oriented. Players who are focused on the magic side of the game will probably want a copy too.


Shadowrun: Shadow Spells, is an additional resource on magic in the Sixth World of Shadowrun building on the material provided in the Street Grimoire providing new traditions, magical societies, threats, and (unsurprisingly given the title) more spells, ritual and adept powers.


Unlike most 5th edition books, this one is devoid of fiction (though not of in setting commentary) which I find as welcome for a focused source like this one. There are four new traditions, each ending with a paragraph description of an example (and semi-famous) practitioner, they are: Aboriginal, (Ancient) Egyptian, Norse and (my favorite) Psionic.


Next are five magical groups running from gangs to political parties, two get short write up on their most prominent member, these are useful for using as patrons or targets in a campaign. Then we have three threats, which will be used as opposition, one gets a creature (with a new power), the next three NPCs and the last, just a single NPC so they can be dropped into a game with only a little work.


The final section is new spells, around forty of them, including some classics (mob mood), a few that only work on specific types of being (ghouls, vampires), some designed for villain use (inflict disease, rot), and lots of interesting narrow purpose spells. While most of these spells are not general use, when you need them, they will be good to have. Three new rituals are included which seem to have clear use as scenario seeds. Lastly, seventeen new Adept powers, covering increased swimming, performance, and various other fun but unlikely to be seen often options. There is also a box listing the costs of reagents at the end, though I am not sure why.


Overall, a good addition to the resources for Shadowrun providing books hooks for a GM to hang adventures off of and new tools for magically active characters.


Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofsta-
rsrpg.wordpress.com/



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Shadow Spells
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadowrun: Hard Targets (Deep Shadows Sourcebook)
by Kent C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2016 12:21:05

This is a well needed book for both runners and GM's.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Hard Targets (Deep Shadows Sourcebook)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadowrun: Rigger 5.0
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/05/2016 16:17:05

Shadowrun: Rigger 5.0 provides a wealth of vehicles and drones to expand the mobility (and other) options for riggers and other vehicle oriented characters, but especially riggers. Do you need this book? As a GM, probably, it provides such a depth of additional vehicles and drones that it helps to flesh out the world considerably, if you game uses vehicles at all, put it on your list to acquire. If you are a player, if you are playing a rigger or vehicle oriented charter, you will want to pick this up, otherwise, it can wait. Overall, another solid entry in the sourcebooks for the new Shadowrun. (Now we just need a used vehicle lot for 5th ed.)


Shadowrun: Rigger 5.0, is a Core Rigger Handbook for the 5th edition of Shadowrun, so what does that mean? It means that this book is full of information on riggers, what they do and how they do it, and the vehicles and drones they do it with, in the Shadowrun world.


The book begins with one of the ubiquitous fiction sections, then it looks into what life is like for a rigger including eight views from various riggers about their lives, ranging from Doc Wagon pilot to racer, military rigger to construction operator. It then discusses the various roles that a rigger can fill and a very brief overview of the various vehicles and drones that they can use.


Next, All the Angles, gives some in-game advice on how to get the most out of drones followed by new rules on repairs, electronic warfare and swarms. This is followed by On the Bleeding Edge which provides more positive and negative qualities for those who drive and ride, and new life modules (for that alternate character creation method).


After some more fiction, we get to the part everyone can enjoy, more vehicles: ground vehicles, water vehicles, air vehicles and more drones than you can shake a tire iron at. Ground vehicles range from personal transport to big rigs with a subsection of security/police vehicles, truly something for everyone. Water vehicles range from water ski-like vehicles to motor sailors and luxury yachts (but nothing bigger). The air vehicles section is fairly small but has helicopters, helicopter gunships, t-birds and even a couple of zeppelins.


Next, in the Automated Army, drones! Beginning with who manufactures drones in the Sixth World and then moves into how drones can be modified, it then moves into a catalog of drones from the smallest (mosquito-sized) to massive construction machines and everything in between including a wide range of humanoid drones for work and security uses. Again, something for just about every use.


Building the Perfect Beast provides rules for modifying vehicles from the basics of improving engines and adding weapons and armor to various unusual things, such as secondary propulsion systems (though, oddly, neglecting wheels), ram plates, and much more. Almost any variant that can be imagined can be built, if one has the time, money and skills.


The final rules section is Maximum Pursuit which introduces slightly expanded rules and new maneuvers for the various vehicles types and drones (and passengers!). It adds some complexity but not an excessive amount and if one wants to have vehicles play a more important role in their campaign, it increases in options and, thus, complexity, may be required.


The last section of the book is a compilation of all the vehicle and drone statistics from all of the Shadowrun (5th edition) products so far, seven pages of small type.


Rigger 5.0 is a solid sourcebook but for my tastes, has far more fiction than is needed, space that could have been used for more vehicles and drones (what most people will be buying the product for). The art is generally good but there is a whole set of Dodge vehicles that are given a very distinct set of descriptions and the art does not match that.


Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofsta-
rsrpg.wordpress.com/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Rigger 5.0
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadowrun: Wolf & Buffalo
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/01/2016 11:13:45

I really liked this story, even though it was a bit short. It was a good intro story for novice-level runners, and can be the start of good ideas for players and GMs.


And I was especially thankful that one of these Shadowrun fiction zip files FINALLY included a PDF version, so that those of us who can't use .mobi or .epub files can purchase and enjoy! I have so many others on my wish list, just waiting for the day they include a PDF version... Hint, hint!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Wolf & Buffalo
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadowrun: DocWagon 19
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/31/2015 13:59:23

Very enjoyable read. It gave me some great ideas for running a campaign based on a DocWagon HRT.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: DocWagon 19
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadowrun: Shadowtech
by Kenneth H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/26/2015 19:21:36

Downloaded the file several times, but could not open it afterwards... it seems to be corrupted or incomplete.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Shadowtech
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadowrun: Rigger 5.0
by Nick E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2015 20:23:39

Overall a great book, heaps of vehicles and drones, new qualities, life modules, modifications for all your toys, and best of all the contents pages are well laid out, clear and unambiguous.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Rigger 5.0
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 61 to 75 (of 886 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates