DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Shadowrun: Anarchy
by Roger L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/18/2016 09:15:19

Auch wenn Shadowrun für mich den Einstieg ins Tischrollenspiel darstellte, ist es nicht gerade für seine Einsteigerfreundlichkeit bekannt. Schon die Grundregeln sind unglaublich sperrig, werden in dicken Bänden ausgeliefert und gefühlt jeden Monat um ein Quellenbuch erweitert. So blieb Shadowrun für mich ein System, das ich als Spieler aufgrund seiner einzigartigen Hintergrundwelt immer sehr gerne genoss, als Spielleiter aber nach Möglichkeit mied. Wer gleichzeitig einen Rigger, einen Magier und einen Decker in der Gruppe hat, muss umfangreiche, teils völlig unterschiedlich funktionierende Regelkomplexe parat haben, wenn er sich nicht permanent wie ein Pennäler fühlen möchte, der seine Hausaufgaben vergessen hat. Oder er vertraut seinen Spielern und verlässt sich darauf, dass die Jungs und Mädels schon nicht schummeln werden und wissen, was sie da tun. Dummerweise korrumpiert Macht und verführt die Spieler dazu, ihre Charaktere – bei Shadowrun auch Runner genannt – zu hochgefährlichen Spezialisten heranzuzüchten, die jede Schwäche im feindlichen Plan erkennen, ausnutzen und somit manches sorgfältig vorbereitete Szenario sprengen können.

Inhalt

Dass mit Shadowrun: Anarchy nun also eine alternative Regelversion erscheint, die den Spielern ohnehin mehr Einfluss auf den Verlauf der Story gibt, erscheint unter diesem Gesichtspunkt also gar nicht so abwegig. Und wie soll das gehen, fragt ihr euch? Nun, Shadowrun: Anarchy orientiert sich an den Regeln von Fate. Das kennt ihr nicht? Gut, dann sollte ich dazu ein paar Worte verlieren, denn seit einigen Jahren gibt es im Tischrollenspiel eine Alternative zum üblichen Spieler-und-Spielleiter-Schema.

Weniger Regeln – mehr Drama!

Das kennt ihr sicher alle: Der Spielleiter hat sich ein Abenteuer ausgedacht oder gekauft und abgesehen von einigen Improvisationen hat er oder sie eine Vorstellung vom Verlauf der Story und quasi gottgleiche Kräfte. Wenn er es will, erscheinen Sicherheitsleute, die trotz ihres lausigen Gehalts übermotiviert sind und euch den Tag vermiesen werden, oder Straßenschamanen, die euch den entscheidenden Hinweis aus dem Kaffeesatz lesen. Nebenbei wird versucht eine möglichst realistische Welt zu simulieren, in der viele – auch alltägliche – Handlungen durch bestimmte Regelmechanismen abgewickelt werden.

Bei Systemen wie Fate gibt es das so gut wie gar nicht. Erstens werden Regeln auf ein Minimum reduziert und nach Möglichkeit nicht durch Zahlen, sondern erzählerisch dargestellt. Ganz ohne Regeln geht es natürlich nicht, aber in Shadowrun: Anarchy sind die Grundregeln auf gut 20 Seiten begrenzt. Mit Ausrüstung und Charakterschaffung kommt man auf knapp 40 Seiten, während das Grundregelwerk von Shadowrun 5 dafür über 300 Seiten benötigt und zusätzlich noch fortlaufend durch weitere Spielhilfen um neue Regeln erweitert wird.

Zweitens sorgt der Spielleiter in diesem System nur für eine grobe Handlung, in deren Rahmen einige wenige unverzichtbare Elemente vorkommen werden. In welchem Zusammenhang diese stattfinden, ist aber völlig offen und sehr stark von den Aktionen der Spieler abhängig.

Der Reihe nach schildern diese nicht nur, was ihre Charaktere selber tun, sondern entscheiden auch, was als nächstes passiert. Ist die vom Spieler beschriebene Wendung der Ereignisse etwas schwerwiegender, dann muss er einen Plotpunkt ausgeben. Der Spielleiter fungiert in diesem Zusammenhang als Schiedsrichter, der entscheidet, wann dies geschieht. So kann ein Spieler noch ganz harmlos entscheiden, dass gerade seine Jugendliebe Peggy auftaucht, aber wenn sich im Plausch mit ihr herausstellt, dass sie inzwischen in dem Industriekomplex arbeitet, den die Runner infiltrieren wollen, dann kann der Spielleiter verfügen, dass dies einen Plotpunkt kostet. Jetzt kann der Runner sein Glück versuchen und Peggy bezirzen, damit sie ihm die Zugangscodes verrät, woraufhin der Spielleiter einen Wurf auf die entsprechende Fertigkeit verlangt. Für einen weiteren Plotpunkt könnte der Spieler jetzt noch einen sogenannten Glitch-Die zu seinem Würfelpool addieren, der den Ausgang der Probe massiv beeinflussen kann. Zeigt er eine 5 oder 6 hat der Spieler einen unglaublich guten Erfolg, bekommt die Zugangscodes, wird von Peggy noch zum Stelldichein geladen und gewinnt in ihr einen dauerhaften Kontakt für spätere Jobs. Bleibt der Würfel aber bei 1 liegen, dann kann Peggy die ganze Sache auf einmal zu heikel werden und sie kontaktiert sofort den Sicherheitschef des Komplexes, der daraufhin die Sicherheitskräfte verstärkt und ihnen auch noch eine Beschreibung des Runners zukommen lässt. Das soll als kleines Beispiel genügen, um die Dynamiken zu beschrieben, die so ein Spielsystem hervorbringen kann.

Weniger Regeln – mehr Dynamik!

Es gibt natürlich auch noch traditionelle Regeln. Die Designer haben hier ein eigenes Regelwerk ausgearbeitet, das sich irgendwo zwischen Fate und Shadowrun einpendelt, auch wenn das Pendel etwas mehr Richtung Fate ausschlägt. Erfahrene Spieler von Shadowrun sollten sich dennoch leicht zurechtfinden, denn Begriffe wie Karma und Edge sind erhalten geblieben. Auch wenn sich die Regeln stark vom Shadowrun-Grundregelwerk unterscheiden, sind Sinn und Zweck im Wesentlichen gleich geblieben. Die Höhe des Karmas spiegelt zum Beispiel immer noch den Fortschritt und die Entwicklung eines Charakters wieder, der Edge-Wert bestimmt, was der Spieler in riskanten oder vermeintlich ausweglosen Situationen in die Waagschale werfen kann.

Ich möchte hier nun nicht jede Regeländerung aufgreifen – dies würde zu weit ins Detail gehen – sondern in erster Linie meinen Eindruck wiedergeben, wie gelungen die Ausgangsideen des Regelwerks umgesetzt wurden. So soll Shadowrun: Anarchy ja nicht nur die Macht über den Verlauf der Erzählung umverteilen, sondern auch den ganzen Spielfluss dynamischer und flotter gestalten. Die Regeln sind entsprechend unkompliziert und unterstützen die flexible Spielführung. Zum Beispiel muss sich der Spielleiter vorher keine Gedanken darüber machen, ob die Runner das Magnetschloss knacken können, das ihnen den Weg in die Katakomben einer Kinder raubenden Troll-Sekte versperrt. Bei Shadowrun: Anarchy geht es einfach Wurf gegen Wurf. Der Spielleiter würfelt so viele Würfel, wie das Magnetschloss Stufen hat und aus den Erfolgen ergibt sich die Schwierigkeit. Der Spieler würfelt wie gewohnt Attribut plus Fertigkeitswert und versucht, mit seinen Erfolgen diesen Schwierigkeitswert zu knacken. Dadurch werden die Proben etwas leichter und zur Not können die Spieler so gut wie jedes Problem mit etwas Fantasie lösen, wenn Sie mit der Erzählung an der Reihe sind.

Weniger Regeln – mehr coole Typen!

Ein Spieler kann seinen Runner übrigens nur mit sechs Fertigkeiten ausstatten, die deswegen weise gewählt werden sollten. Zusätzlich gibt es maximal sechs sogenannte Shadow Amps für jeden Runner. Damit werden sowohl Cyberware als auch Zaubersprüche, Adeptenkräfte, Cyberdecks und Technomancerfähigkeiten bezeichnet.

Dies macht es leider notwendig, dass sich die Gruppe vorher gut abspricht, wer was für einen Runner ins Feld schicken will. So sind die Spieler also mehr oder weniger gezwungen, gut aufeinander abgestimmte Spezialisten zu erstellen. Das ist aber kein Bruch mit dem Rest der Regeln, sondern fügt sich ins Gesamtbild ein. Denn leider kam es mir beim Lesen des Kapitels zur Charaktererschaffung so vor, als würde mich das Regelwerk dazu ermutigen, ein wandelndes Klischee auf zwei Beinen zu entwerfen. Versteht mich bitte nicht falsch, denn unter den Archetypen findet sich zum Beispiel Ms. Myth, ein weibliches Troll Face, also eine Trollfrau, die vor allem mit ihren gesellschaftlichen und charismabasierten Fertigkeiten glänzt. Also ein durchaus untypischer Charakter, den ich so noch nie als Spielerfigur erlebt habe.

Aber enge ich mich nicht auch ein, wenn ich vorher festlege, dass mein Charakter innerhalb der Gruppe ein spezielles Feld abdeckt und eine bestimmte Rolle übernimmt, die dann eben auch gewisse Erwartungen erfüllen muss? Ich soll mir coole Sprüche für meinen Runner und Tags zu seiner Beschreibung ausdenken, damit ich auch bloß nicht vergesse, was er oder sie in dieser oder jener Situation sagen könnte. Gut, das ergibt ja auch Sinn, da jeder Spieler gleichzeitig Erzähler ist und es weniger darauf ankommt, wer den höchsten Wert in Heimlichkeit hat, sondern wer den besten Einfall hat, wie dieser Wert am besten eingesetzt werden kann.

Letztlich hängt es wahrscheinlich vom eigenen Geschmack und auch von den Mitspielern ab. Wer in einer Runde spielt, in der nicht jede kleine Eigenschaft schriftlich und gesiegelt vermerkt sein muss, kann sich hier also ein kleines bisschen austoben und seinem Runner nach Gutdünken einige Nebenfacetten verleihen, solange er ihm nicht plötzlich Vorteile andichtet, die ihn zum Hansdampf in allen Gassen machen. In Runden, in denen ansonsten streng nach Charakterbogen gespielt wird, dürfte es aber anfangs zu kleineren Diskussionen kommen, wenn sich einer der Mitspieler in diesem Punkt ein paar Freiheiten erlaubt.

Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis

Für ein paar Nuyen, äh, Dollar bekommt ihr hier ein wunderbar gestaltetes und übersichtliches PDF, das alles beinhaltet, was man benötigt, um direkt mit Shadowrun: Anarchy loszulegen. Alle Regeln, alle Gegenstände, alle Infos über die Sechste Welt. Oben drauf gibt es 30 Archetypen und gut 40 Abenteuerszenarien. Wärt ihr hart schuftende Konzernsklaven, dann könntet ihr hiermit, umgerechnet auf eure spärliche Freizeit, ein Produkt erwerben, das euch bis an euer Lebensende erfreuen wird, wenn ihr hin und wieder mal eine kleine Runde Shadowrun: Anarchy zocken wollt.

Erscheinungsbild

Klar, alleine bei 30 Archetypen gibt es hin und wieder eine Illustration, bei deren Anblick eine Augenbraue skeptisch nach oben zuckt. Aber im Großen und Ganzen ist Shadowrun: Anarchy hervorragend bebildert. Zwar werden viele Artworks aus anderen Büchern recycelt, aber mich persönlich stört so etwas nicht sonderlich.

Die Kapitel sind alle klar strukturiert und der Leser findet sich schnell zurecht, auch dank des übersichtlichen Inhaltsverzeichnisses. Das Buch ist also genauso unkompliziert gestaltet wie das beinhaltete Regelsystem.

Fazit

Shadowrun: Anarchy ist unkompliziert, schnell zu erlernen, erfordert nur wenig Vorbereitung und es ist sehr einsteigerfreundlich. Das wollten die Designer wahrscheinlich auch erreichen, weswegen ich hier nichts bemängeln kann. Ich kann mir sogar sehr gut vorstellen, dass ich mit so einem Regelwerk Leute für ein kurzes Tischrollenspiel begeistern kann, die damit ansonsten nichts am Hut haben. Denn im Prinzip sind sogar spontane Ausflüge in die Sechste Welt möglich, wenn sich jeder Spieler einfach einen Archetyp auswählt und sich der Spielleiter für eines der zahlreichen kurzen Szenarien entscheidet.

Leider offenbaren sich bei näherer Betrachtung einige Designfehler, was die Charakterentwicklung angeht. Ich persönlich finde es zum Beispiel etwas langweilig, mich bei der Charaktererschaffung auf eine bestimmte Aufgabe festzulegen, die mein Runner den Rest seines Daseins erfüllen muss. Dass man nur sechs Fertigkeiten wählen kann, macht dieses Dilemma nicht gerade erträglicher.

Aber wahrscheinlich soll man in Shadowrun: Anarchy auch nicht ewig lange Kampagnen bis zum Abwinken durchspielen. Dieses Regelwerk eignet sich perfekt für kurze Runs, die Laune machen und ein paar Nuyen für das nächste Soybier generieren. Und das reicht manchmal ja auch.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Anarchy
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

BattleTech: A Time of War the BattleTech RPG
by Rowan G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/13/2016 17:35:40

This book is good for a Battletech fan. Ive been roleplaying in the Battletech universe on and off for years. The combat rules are balanced nicely. The reason I give it a 3 instead of a 4 is due to how unsupported the book is. There are no adventuring material to find online or anything other than lore. There is tons of lore. However, the lore is based on certain time periods rather than specific operations. You can buy books that show you famous battles and how to play them yourself using miniatures and some extra source books for battletech the turn based war game. Yet these do not provide roleplay opertunities. Although I can get pople to play time of war, they are always battletech fans who also roleplay with no newcomers. Perhaps as people warm to science fiction roleplay as they have been doing then there will be more need for a more fully fleshed RPG which could then feed back into the franchise. If playin with the wargame rules I suggest delving into the Chaos Campaign rules. This is great for a DM as it can structure where the next battle is coming from.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: A Time of War the BattleTech RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadowrun: Anarchy
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/26/2016 05:02:38

Short answer is this book is highly recommended and i love it to bits.

When i saw that this had come out i was intrigued because the shadowrun mechanics is overwhelming in the core system. Now that i had my first run i feel like i can focus on what is really good about shadowrun, The world and ignore all the fiddly bits. I recommend this to ANYONE who feels that the mechanics of shadowrun is too daunting and frankly time consuming. I do enjoy shadowrun 5 too but this makes it sooo much easier.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Anarchy
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadowrun: Anarchy
by Matthew G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/21/2016 21:06:25

4.5/5 Stars

The rules aren't perfect, but this book allows you quickly and easily play in the Shadowrun Universe. (aready fixed many of the errors)

That said, I love Anarchy!!

We have ran 3 games already and have had a ton of fun.

We created our first characters in under an hour and were sharing books. I expect we will be faster next time. If you are in a hurry there are 30 premade characters that are packed full of color and fluff.

The primary rule is very simple roll Skill+Attribute and then modify with an Amp (usually rerolls) then compare the agressor and defender's results, whoever has the most succeeds. That sums up 90%+ of the rules.

Bringing back Hooding and Neo-Anarchy!!!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Intelligence Operations Handbook
by Glen W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/21/2016 17:13:43

This book has been very helpful as a resource for my writing. I use it to play the related games and also as a resource for my fan fiction. Thank you for making it available,



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Intelligence Operations Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

BattleTech: Touring the Stars: Butte Hold
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2016 19:08:33

Meh. These Touring The Stars are medicore but could be so much more.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Touring the Stars: Butte Hold
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadowrun: Anarchy
by Russell D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2016 11:36:37

I love this drek. There may be things I would’ve considered doing differently, and I’ll admit it feels a bit schizophrenic in places trying to decide its target audience (too crunchy for story gamers, too narrativist/hand-wavey for traditional SR players.) This isn’t 5th Edition trimmed down; this is the SR setting hacked & reskinned to fit the Cue System.

And that’s fine — I haven’t ran or played “Shadowrun proper” in years. I have a shit ton of old SR books on my shelf, and the latest ones I have are 3rd Edition. 4e character creation was too GURPS-ish for my taste; 5e looks wiz but I don’t have the time like I used to in order to teach it and run it.

Anarchy makes me nostalgic for what my favorite Shadowrun campaigns were — sessions where we disregarded the simulation, the minutiae, and focused more on the story. I didn’t punish my players for over-the-top, I rewarded them. I always made it a house rule that if you bought a few clips of ammo between runs, we’d play with “cinematic” ammo rules. I streamlined the fuck out of the Matrix with “Rule of Cool” and simple skill tests, because cyberpunk hacking to me is more about style than substance.

Anarchy is mechanically NOT Shadowrun. Yes, you’re rolling handfuls of six-siders and trying to wrack up successes. That’s sexy, and that’s honestly about as much “rules nostalgia” as I want. Combat is streamlined; there’s not even different modes of gun fire and initiative rolls are optional. Armor is just a bubble of extra damage pips before it goes on your actual health marks. Magic doesn’t have any Force or Drain — it’s straight forward effects. I mean hell: magic, cyberware, adept powers, cool equipment, and any other strange knack that makes you a badass are all rolled under the banner of “Shadow Amps”. These could be called Gifts, Stunts, Feats, Perks etc in many other systems. And I’m cool with that.

I don't have the time to teach or game master the Shadowrun I cut my teeth on. But this is a good foundation for me to get my Sixth-World fix, and introduce others to it. It's lean, mean, and pretty easy to wing it. It’s almost two games in one — the default “Narratavist” style is something to play on a moments notice. Grab a pre-gen character, pick a mission, everyone contributes to the story. It’s like Fiasco but more game-ish and pretty violent. Play it “Traditionally”, and with a few minor adjustments (that are in the book) it’s a game I can actually see myself running a campaign of despite my limited schedule.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Anarchy
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadowrun: Anarchy
by Andrew L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2016 18:53:34

Where Shadowrun 5th ed is a mess of to any rules, clearly writen by poeple that did not agree on the rules or what should be in the book at all. All setting story points could not happen within that rule set. Anarchy goes the other way. Basicly it is for story GM/DMs that believe rules should be guidelines. I found Anarchy rules to be lacking to the point, they did not even make good guidelines. It was really just a rules outline. Spell and skills go from 5ed half/full pages to ONE LINE. Noncombat spells mostly went away. I hoped for the middle and I got something I well need days/hours homebrewing rules for. I like the shadow run setting. I just wish someone made a good rule set for it. Anarchy is not that rule set.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Anarchy
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2016 05:19:15

For those who love the setting of Shadowrun but, like me, can't stand the level of crunch or rule-based modelling this is a perfect system. The Anarchy system gives lots of agency to the players and plenty of flexibility. If you really miss the table-consulting and buckets of dice the system is easy enough to add layers of complication. Why would you though? This game system is designed to be simple, fun, and quick to set up and run. For players and gamemasters alike whose tastes run from mirrorshades and gritty film-noir to pink mohawks and shoot-everything-in-sight this system will work for you. Excellent artwork and relatively well laid-out book.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Anarchy
by Justin R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/15/2016 07:58:32

I started playing shadowrun at 3rd edition as a teen in the 90s. I love the Shadowrun universe, but the rules were always the biggest obstacle for my friends and I. That's why I was pumped when I learned about Anarchy. Upon my first reading, I described it to my old Shadowrun group as "Shadowrun, Apocalypse World and Fate Accelerated got freaky and birthed a super baby." Now that I have had a little more time to read the game, it is a little more crunchy then I initially thought. Basically it falls into the spectrum of being more rule-sy then your typical story driven rpg (AW, FAE) but when compared to Shadowrun 5e, it is slim and trim. When everything's said and done, this the shadowrun rules set I want to play. I hope it gets some traction and some additional support material is released.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Anarchy
by Alejandro V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/07/2016 16:30:46

I was overjoyed when I heard that Anarchy was going to be a thing, as I know several people (including myself) who love the setting but are turned off by the complexities of the main system.

Pros: -Easy to GM and easy to play. -Incredible amount of pre-made characters and missions -Character Creation is quick and easy to understand. -Still offers numerous amounts of character options with tables to make your own "amps" -Maintains the Shadowrun feel of Attribute + Skill with d6 die -Offers traditional Gming option

Cons: -Terrible Editing issues in the current release as of this review -Can be pressuring to put players "in the spotlight" -Cues are nice for new players and premade characters, but offer no real benefit -Would probably turn off a traditional Shadowrun player who enjoys more simulationist gaming.

An example of play would be nice, as it's not entirely clear how involved a gm should be within the cue system (though I feel this could be intentional to the games "do what you want attitude"). All in all though, would play (and will play) again.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Anarchy
by David C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2016 22:35:30

As a rules lite variant to Shadowrun this is great. There are even rules to bring over and convert SR5 to Anarchy so i am happy with it for the mozt part. Like others mentioned though, there is stuff missing as well as some nonsensical errors in the book. I think once catalyst sorts that out, it will be an awesome game!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Anarchy
by Gábor C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2016 14:36:32

Besides leaning towards a more rules lite approach, Anarchy is also a dominantly narrativist version of Shadowrun.

The roles of GM and Player are somewhat mashed together. Even though there's a lead GM, players are given serious GM-like powers which can be used primarily during a player's own "narration" phase. Such a phase is kinda like a round in a traditional simulationist rpg, only rounds here are used all the time, not just during combat, and when it's your round, you become the GM (whether you want to or not) whom only the lead GM can override.

Having read the rules it doesn't seem impossible to use Anarchy for old-school gaming. It's definitely not the default mode, though, and going simulationist is not really supported at all. You'll have to cut out some core mechanics, and introduce a number of house rules to heal the wound on the system, without any significant help.

Even if you intend to use SR:A as designed, as a narrativist, rules lite (or maybe medium) game, you'll find a number of rules / details questions you'll have to answer for yourself. (Well, unless we get an updated pdf and/or an errata.) Please, see the other reviews and the Discussion section here for details – I'm not going to list them, as my primary hope was, indeed, to get a rules lite/medium simulationist version of Shadowrun. Sure, I did know SR:A has been advertised as a primarily narrativist game – yet ever since its announcement it has been implied online that you'd be able to use it for a traditional style nearly equally easily, possibly through some optional rules.

I wouldn't say I'm disappointed, because I mostly (not fully) got what I expected based on the pre-release communications. Yet I'm not happy (though the art is awesome and inspiring.) A serious errata and a possible expansion with the "missing", optional, simulationist rules (with the chance to ignore all the narrativist Cue System stuff) would definitely make me reconsider my rating.

TL;DR: Great art, great world, yet currently not really useful alternate SR for an old-school GM who's been waiting for a chance to return to traditional, simulationist SR gaming for years, without having to grapple with a narrativist system introduced here, or the rules-superheavy SR5.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Anarchy
by Markus S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2016 06:08:35

The rules section of this book is IMHO unfinished and not ready for publication.

Once the publisher releases an update with complete and proofread rules, I will edit this review and discuss the rules themselves. (From what I've read so far, my review would be a fairly positive one, but for now, I am surprised and somewhat angry that Catalyst would release a book at this stage of development.)

For now:

Several sections of the book obviously use or refer to earlier, outdated versions of the rules. (One of many examples: P. 68: Your Runner starts with at least two weapons; the group must approve if you want more than two. In the example, Sledge selects four weapons. - P. 83: Sledge has a Level-1-Amp "More where that came from", granting "2 additional weapons" and the ability to "trade melee and ranged weapons", whatever that is supposed to mean. - P. 66: Sledge does not buy this Amp in the example for buying Shadow Amps. - P. 204: The Amp shows up in the complete listing of Amps, but with an Amp-Level of 2.)

Stats for vehicles and drones are missing (except for mounted vehicle weapons and "enemy drones"). This is a bug, not a feature - the rules do make reference to stats like vehicle armor or durability, for example, I just could not find these stats anywhere. Didn't anyone play a Rigger during playtesting?

Stats for Technomancer Sprites are missing completely.

I just hope this is not the file that was sent to the printer!



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Fifth Edition Core Rulebook (Master Index Edition)
by notKlaatu L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/02/2016 14:36:59

Shadowrun converted me from hating the cyberpunk genre to loving it, and loving especially Shadowrun for its originality and unique take on a technological wasteland combined with magick and fantasy. The 5th Edition is my first edition, so I have no history with the game to compare this to. Compared to other rulesets, I'll definitely say that this one is complex, but that's not necessarily a bad thing and, in fact, can be a really great thing if part of the reason you enjoy RPG is for stat management and rule parsing. I happen to enjoy that quite a lot, so the intricacy of the Sixth World and its rules is just a further excuse to keep exploring it.

My only complaint: I would love for this rulebook to be released as an epub. The PDF format is great for pre-press, but for everyday reading and reference, it's just too big and the text, of course, is not resizeable. There's a lot of information in this book, and while the book is very attractive and nicely designed, I'd much rather be able to just read the text, instead of zooming in on the pdf and scrolling around the screen to follow the columns. It makes a leisurely read-through difficult, and as a refernence book it's basically useless. Realistically, you're probably going to need to buy the physical book whether or not you own the PDF, because the PDF is just not convenient. An epub version would solve that, and while I have extracted all the text from this book in an effort to convert it to a hand-rolled epub, there's A LOT of text to deal with, and proofing it and fixing all the tables just isn't really worth my time. PDF is a horrible format for a digital lifestyle, and how ironic that a game about the tech elite should have no clue how to cater to modern technologists.

Aside from format issues, this is a great rulebook and a great game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Fifth Edition Core Rulebook (Master Index Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 919 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates