DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Mazes & Perils Deluxe Edition
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2017 00:00:30

There's definitely potential here but the presentation and layout doesn't match the price tag. it looks like it's been knocked together in MS Word; the tables don't present well and about half of the stock art seems to be really out of place. One more lick of paint and it'll be ready to go.

One final point, this game lives in the shadow of the mighty Blue Book but lacks any kind of a beginning adventure (that blank map just doesn't count). When I first learned that a revised edition of M&P was on the cards I mentioned to the author that an adventure was an essential inclusion; he agreed and promised the same. Sadly, it didn't happen.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mazes & Perils Deluxe Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mazes & Perils: The Vile Witch
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/06/2016 12:58:48

The Vile Witch is the newest class for Mazes & Perils. Before I talk about the class I want to give a shout out to cover artist Jacob Blackmon. Another great witchy creation from him.

The Vile Witch is a 14 page book (cover, 2 pages of OGL, 1 page of ads, 1 title page for 9 pages of content) dedicated to the new vile witch spell caster. This is a character that revels in what others throw away. It immediately reminded me of the Junk Lady in the movie Labyrinth AND Maja the witch from Adventure Time; she is the witch that buys Marceline's teddy bear Hambo for its memories. The idea is that there is power in memories and power in items that have been associated with others. It's a powerful archetype really and one with a LOT of potential. But because the witch is so often mired in the refuse of others her appearance and form suffers.

The class has a lot of interesting features and powers in addition to some new spells and familiars. Vile Witches are limited to 9th level. I think I see why, but I would try them to 10th or 12th like the other spell casting classes. Though she does have more powers (familiars and "vile blood") as well as a quicker spell advancement. The book has both "vile familiars" and "common familiars". Common familiars can be used by any spell casting class, the vile ones are for the vile witch. The rules are simple, as befitting the M&P game, and easy to use. If you want familiar rules then this is a good choice to be honest even if you never use the class itself. The book also contains 19 new vile witch spells. While these spells could be used with any other magic using class, they are very specific to the vile witch and really give her a lot of flavor and color.

For just under $2 there is a lot of material here. It is a very different sort of witch and I like that. I am certain that this class will make for some great NPCs and hopefully some really great PCs as well.

What I kept thinking while reading it was that a Vile Witch dedicated to the Goddess, Tlazolteotl would be a good idea. She could even be "good" or Lawfully aligned. Something like a "Sin Eater". Her job is to make good things happen by "eating" the bad things. Only a thought, but it would be how I'd play the class.

In any case this is a really original twist on the witch and one I really like.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mazes & Perils: The Vile Witch
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mazes & Perils Deluxe Edition
by James S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/04/2016 08:55:28

Mazes & Perils Deluxe Edition, published by Moebius Adventures, the follow-up to the original ENnie Award-winning Mazes & Perils roleplaying game. Written by Vincent Florio and Brian Fitzpatrick, M&PDE is a modified retro-clone of the Holmes version of Dungeons & Dragons. It clocks in at a mere 75 pages, but packs a helluva a lot of content into such a tiny book. While loyal to the eccentricities of Holmes-era D&D, Mazes & Perils isn't afraid to add its own tweaks and modifications to what many regard as the greatest pre-AD&D version of the game.

Absent from the original M&P are two new classes: The Enchanter and the Shaman. While I was initially drawn to paralell them to the AD&D Illusionist and Druid simply based on their names, these classes (while similar) do bring their own unique flavor to the game and because they are included as core classes, show that Mazes & Perils Deluxe Edition isn't afraid to go beyond its Holmes roots. Nor is M&P afraid to draw more directly from AD&D for inspiration, while still holding true to its roots. The Fighting-Man (a class wonderfully reminding me of the long past gaming days of yore) who has a Strength attribute of 18 may roll on a special d100 percentile chart, giving them exceptional modifiers in that attribute. This is a direct paralell to AD&D (1st and 2nd editions), without drawing the reader out of the game's simpler-time-simpler-rules feel. In addition, its demihuman races (dwarf, elf, and halfling) are given a broader selection of classes than most old school incranations, but still retain level limits to keep humans important and balanced in the greater context of the game.

But M&P never strays so far from its roots as to feel like a mishmash of various D&D editions slapped together to create a Frankenstein game. It holds fast to the Holmes-era level limit of 12 and the games visual style is both simple and light-hearted. Art is sprinkled liberally throughout the core rules and alternates between an almost comedic style all the way up to grandiose high adventure. All of it is done in black and white line art and the book is cleanly laid out in two column format that's easy to read and reference.

The game also remains true to old school DIY values, by including a complete map which can be easily stocked using the monsters provided. The GM simply needs to decide the thematic elements of the dungeon and stock it in a manner that suits their campaign. While a general sense of how to do so is provided, the reader is not spoon-fed their options and is given ample liberty to make it something all their own.

In short, Mazes & Perils Deluxe Edition does exactly what it claims to do - it is a faithful recreation of Holmes-style D&D that provides a well described rules set, is easy to read, and adds a few bells and whistles without becoming bogged down. At a slick 75 pages it provides a full gamiang experience and anyone looking to re-create the 1977 gaming experience is sure to have a heck of a good time with this rules set.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mazes & Perils Deluxe Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the kind words James!
Insta-NPCs #0: A Simple Plan
by Will S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2015 01:37:43

So this is a single d100 npc generator. Wasn't really impressed with it, mainly because it doesn't bother to separate out different kinds of traits (physical, personality, etc.) There are a ton of similar products out there, and writing a more interesting one yourself isn't too difficult. You could do worse for free, but not worth the space it takes up on your hard drive / tablet imo.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Insta-NPCs #0: A Simple Plan
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Brick by Brick: Doors
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/20/2015 03:57:55

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This installment of Moebius Adventures' Brick-by-Brick-series is 14 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page advertisement, 1 page editorial/ToC, leaving us with 11 pages of content, so let's take a look!

The introduction makes pretty much clear from the get-go what this pdf provides - a detailed door-generator - or rather a door-related storytelling tool! The first d10-table provides 10 entries for the purpose of a door, with sample examples being provided - and yes, the keep in/out-dichotomy is covered. The placement of a door can be determined via a d4, while a d8 determines the shape of a door, the presence of a keyhole, etc.

Two tables, each covering d8, cover the profession of the maker and the reason that led to the door's creation. The construction type (e.g. single pane/bricked up) can be determined via a d6, whereas a total of 20 entries covers materials - including exotic ones like diamond or basalt.

Opening doors, from sliding to screwing them open (!!!), automation styles and 4 states of lock-down can also be quickly determined. 8 conditions, 6 states and 6 ages for the respective door allow for more details and yes, for more modifications.

There also are 3 pages of sample doors, again, much like each page, with inspiring suggestions, to be found here. Now for all people not that versed with the English tongue (or the peculiarities of door), the final page sports a great b/w-artwork, with arrows pointing towards e.g. lintel, lock rails etc. - teachers of English could conceivably scavenge the basic layout here for vocabulary classes, so this appendix itself may be worth the file for you - this is one handout that just asks to be adapted. (Note: I'd suggest getting your own picture of a door etc. to avoid legal issues, but still - love this inclusion!)

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I noticed no glitches. Layout adheres to an easy-to-read, printer-friendly two-column b/w-standard. The pdf's artwork of a door is superb. The pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience.

Brain Fitzpatrick delivers an inexpensive DM-brainstorm-enhancer here - while the level of detail potentially provided by this supplement is by no means required in most settings, the sheer fact of the matter is that this generator works well at getting the creative juices flowing. This is NOT a dressing-generator, it is a pdf designed to get the creative juices flowing. Indeed, one use of this pdf made me come up with an interesting adventure idea/expansion to a concept I've been working on, all via the generation of a door. Add to that the crisp and concise presentation and I am left with no valid complaints - well worth the low asking price! Have I mentioned that this comes with a very handy 1-page extra-pdf, a step-by-step cheat-sheet? Yeah! Final verdict? A well-deserved 5 stars.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Brick by Brick: Doors
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for the very kind words!!
The Snake's Heart - A Lost Age Adventure
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/20/2015 13:13:37

This is my newest one. The overall feel of this one is like an action movie. Maybe more like a horror-action movie, but you get the idea. The adventure is hard core old school. It is compatible with S&W: White Box but like most of the OSR adventures it can be used with just about any rules. The file is a pretty simple affair; 19 pages, line art. So nothing too fancy, but the aesthetic is very, very old school. It looks like something your older brother's friend who was the first kid in the neighborhood to play D&D might have made; only a lot better. The adventure itself starts with a simple set up and encounter (I like adventures that make the players DO something right away) and then that simple encounter leads to a confrontation with an evil cult. Shenanigans ensue. The adventure takes a few cues from more modern adventures and separates encounters. The effect this has is to keep the action flowing. If this were a movie it would be Raiders of the Lost Ark or, more aptly, The Temple of Doom. At just under $2.00 it is also perfect for an afternoon when you want to play something but don't have an adventure ready to go.
For myself I might make some minor changes here and there. Snake Goddesses are fun and all but what if I need a Wolf Goddess or a Centipede one? It make a great introduction for some characters that have already been through one adventure and are their way to the larger plot brewing. I say grab this one and use it this weekend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Snake's Heart - A Lost Age Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Awesome. Thanks for all the kind words!
The Snake's Heart - A Lost Age Adventure
by James S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/20/2015 08:14:47

The Snake's Heart takes a bold new approach to the classic dungeon crawl. Not necessarily in the dungeon itself, but in its presentation. The "scripting" descriptions really give it the feel of an 80s fantasy film like Conan the Barbarian or Beastmaster. The adventure itself is a definitely good for a solid night of adventure - well written and clear.

For two bucks, you just can't go wrong.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you for the awesome review!
The Snake's Heart - A Lost Age Adventure
by Matt F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/19/2015 19:29:47

Interesting and innovative format on this one. The maps are utterly old school, and so is the situation presented. As another reviewer mentioned, it has read-aloud text that functions in an interesting way. Definitely worth checking out. The adventure is very directed, but doesn't have the feel of a railroad, just a very, very narrowly delineated, minimalist adventure. Extreme Conan-type feel.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks for the kind words!
The Snake's Heart - A Lost Age Adventure
by Nick K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/16/2015 10:30:08

A nice little old school adventure! I like the sword & sorcery style of the story presented here. Probably I will run it using Crypts & Things. Nice descriptions, great layout, overall a nice -and cheap- product. Can't wait for the next adventure of Lost Age campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you for the review! Let us know how it works using Crypts & Things!
The Snake's Heart - A Lost Age Adventure
by Raul D. L. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2015 20:53:08

This is an excellent introductory adventure for your old school gaming. The prose differs from typical adventures in this genre as the presentation is in a format one might expect a cinematic or television screenplay. A cut scene is even included! The format harkens back to the D&D white box days. The price point makes this item an easy, no-brainer!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks for the fantastic review!
Insta-NPCs #3: Scum and Villainy, Inc.
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/17/2015 04:21:28

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This little, system-neutral pdf clocks in at 8 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page advertisement, leavintg us with 6 pages of content, so what do we get?

It has happened to the best of us - DMing for years and then, suddenly - dry. No idea. We need a villain, but, due to real life issues or simple stress, the creative juices just won't flow. This is where this pdf comes into the picture.

While its introduction explains how to use it and we get some sample, developed stories, this pdf breaks villains down into components, which you role - archetypical components, if you will. These are Origins, Goal, Method, Role and Emotion. Each of the different aforementioned components is assigned a dice from d4 to d20; To create a villain's personality-skeleton, if you will, you simply roll once on all of the tables and write down the result.

Simple, right? And yes, that works surprisingly well. to give you an example of the output; i rolled on them:

As origin, I rolled family tragedy. As a goal "advancement at all costs." For methodology, I got "Law." The Role for the villain to play was "Catalyst." Finally, the associated emotion was "Amusement."

From this framework, these scarce few words, one can easily craft a vast plethora of personas for just about any setting.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I noticed no glitches. Layout adheres toa printer-friendly two-column b/w-standard and the pdf comes with nice stock-art and has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.

Author Brain Fitzpatrick's generator herein is pretty hard to rate - why? Because it does what it's supposed to - admirably well. As a means of getting the creative juices flowing, this pdf is indeed a nice catalyst and is fully functional. That being said, it is also slightly less varied than I would have liked - a generator with character flaws, a despicable general ideological bent, things like that would have easily helped making the creative process even easier for the DM. Just a tad more depth would have made this, at least to me, even more useful. Hence, while not in any way shape or form bad, especially due to the low price, I will settle on a final verdict of 4 stars for a good, useful tool.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Insta-NPCs #3: Scum and Villainy, Inc.
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for the fantastic review and food for thought as additions for any upcoming revision!
Insta-NPCs #1: Motivation, Attitude, and Appearance
by Kai P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/07/2015 05:03:00

The product is a nice little help for every GM/Storyteller who is in need of a little inspiration for a minor NPC or some minor details about a major NPC. It helps breaking up your „set of mind“ by feeding you some new (and perhaps unexpected) input to wrap your thoughts around.

The three tables that make up the whole tool are filled with terms that are broad enough to fit into every gaming background one could think about. I personally used it for "lackey NPC" in modern day vampire games as well as for enforcers, civilians and gang members in the bowles of a Megacity in a certain grimdark scifi setting.

The fact that the third of the tables sports 100 entries ensures that it will take a while till your roles lead to repetitive results since we are talking about 20.000 possible combinations here. If you consider the small sales prices, once cannot has a hard time to claim that it would have been cheaper to put down the list yourself.

The only let down is that this (early) product of Moebius Adventures is not having all the tables on one page. This approach was incorporated in later products of MA and is a featurees that DOES makes a difference if used for inspiration during a game. While having to shuffle with two sheets of paper is only a minor distraction, it is one that does not have to be. That being said, the product IS good for „mid-session improvisation“ since the tables and the entries are large enough for ease of use and the simple concept behind them allows the mind to focus on creativity (instead of „tool handling“).

THUMBS UP for this product.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Insta-NPCs #1: Motivation, Attitude, and Appearance
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for the great review! I\'ll see what I can do to update the early Insta-NPCs to include the worksheets soon!
Insta-NPCs #7: Damsels in Distress
by Jenette D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/19/2014 12:50:46

I purchased this after the author so kindly provided a 3 page full view sample, and I was able to see first hand the quality of the writing and get a clear idea of it's use, and I am deeply pleased with the purchase.

At it core it allows you to quickly create random NPC's (male or female) and the type of distress they are in need of rescuing from, all from a few easy to reference random tables.

While not something to provide an entire adventure by itself this is an excellent tool for crafting an instant encounter to spice up overland travel or add depth to an otherwise ordinary area and can be the focus of a simple adventure.

I also especially liked it's variety, with additional tables making it useful not only for fantasy, but modern day and sci-fi settings as well.

In short, a great tool for the GM toolkit that speeds prep time and is great for last minute encounters when prep time is at a premium, and at a price that makes this product a worthy addition to nearly any GM's toolkit.

Clarity of Writing: 5/5 Organization/layout: 5/5 Artwork 2/5 (not that much at all is even needed for a product of this style) Price: 5/5 Over all value 5/5



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Insta-NPCs #7: Damsels in Distress
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

One Spot #0: Hand's Goods
by nomore a. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2014 22:10:42

Handy resource that can fit into any campaign, packed with ideas.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
One Spot #0: Hand's Goods
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the kind words!
Little Spaces: Spacecraft
by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/13/2014 02:22:25

I'm a big fan of the little spaces book range and I have to admit I was not disappointed with this purchase. The reason for buying this product was because I was in the planning stages of running a Rifts adventure for my gaming group and as it had been over 15 years since I had last played Rifts this book was a real help in setting the scene for certain encounters.

As always the book is compact and well thought out and the table structure makes it very easy to quickly roll up or pick some key words/phrases that will help you describe a room or encounter.

Now for the shameless blog plug, you can see pictures and a brief description of the Rifts adventure I ran for my friends at my blog.

http://dungeonjaeger.blogspot.co.uk/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Little Spaces: Spacecraft
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the kind words! I\'m so glad it helped with your RIFTS adventure!
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 24 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates