DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Enemies of the Empire (4th Ed)
by Adrian S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/03/2011 20:24:31
This is the type of book that you want to read through in its’ entirety and then let the ideas clatter about inside your head. The sheer diversity of the adversaries covered makes this a remarkably appealing addition to any L5R GM’s bookshelf (virtual or otherwise). The designers have excelled in concentrating on a wide breadth of thematically different races and organisations so there is very little repetition throughout the book.

Included is a widespread conspiracy that most think of as a folktale (the Kolat), the monsters of the Shadowlands and the Undead, the Bloodspeaker Cults, Ronin, Nezumi, Naga and my personal favourite – the Nothing (an unknowable, implacable elemental force beyond human comprehension). The choice of ‘evil’ for your campaign is a huge strength to the book, but it goes far beyond simply providing a horde of stats and new powers. Whilst these are present, the real gold lies within the descriptions. Comprised of legends, half-truth, rumour, advice and ‘behind the curtain’ designers sidebars, each chapter fulsomely covers the enemy, gives advice for scaling character interaction with it, and even foreshadowing its arrival. There is plenty of fodder to flesh out a campaign centred on only a single chapter, providing rich story information, as well as the much-needed stat blocks.

The writing style shifts from conversational to storyteller to informative as required and makes the text easier to read, and the artwork is brilliant. I especially liked the quasi-Japanese watercolours set behind the pages (although the artistic values for the chapter on The Nothing are superbly executed).

I had no complaints about this book save the fact that I don’t have the free time to launch into an L5R campaign immediately after purchasing this book. That’s probably for the best though – it will give the seeds of adventure a little more time to take root. For those of you with the time (and I am deeply envious of you), this represents a solid addition to a long line of good L5R books.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Enemies of the Empire (4th Ed)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

World's Largest City
by Malcolm M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/28/2011 23:59:08
The World's Largest City does deliver on the promise of its title. The problem here is the quality of the PDF scan.

What you see in the Full-Size Preview section of the listing? That's the quality of the scan throughout. Useable, but not crisp or as clear as it ought to be.

The scan was not made from the original book layout; in fact this PDF looks like a hand-scan. Some of the pages are slightly askew, the contrast and crispness of the scan could be so much better than it is, and the book's cover image isn't even included as part of the scan.

Again, it's all usable (see the preview) but it's disappointing -- even slightly insulting -- that a $40 PDF couldn't be created with better quality, or more care for the customer.

Still, publisher AEG appears to have essentially abandoned D&D gaming as of this writing, and the book is generally out-of-print as far as I can tell. Unless one wants to pay $80 to buy a physical copy of The World's Largest City from AEG's website store, this is your best bet for owning a copy.

Short version: the book delivers on its promise, but the scan quality as of this writing is mediocre. Functional, but far from professional.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
World's Largest City
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Legend of the Five Rings 4th Edition
by Dennis S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/01/2011 23:48:55
Legend of the Five Rings 4th Edition continues to provide the same interesting, flavorful japanese roleplaying game in its latest edition. The rules are still the same roll and keep you knew, and if you knew it, you'll be able to pick everything up quick. There are changes though, and I believe they're for the better. Schools have been organized better, they're more balanced, and they're very interesting. If you don't know the rules, they're easier than ever to pick up, although there's a lot of stuff to be read. Still, there really isn't any RPG like L5R out there. It's not for everyone, but the people who understand it will buy this edition of the game. It's well worth the reinvestment.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings 4th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

7th Sea: Players' Guide
by Joshua G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/16/2011 11:04:40
Great book. Some space is wasted on gaming stories but the book is good overall

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea: Players' Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Brave New World
by Devon K. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/12/2011 16:36:01
I purchased the hardcover print edition of this book. In regards to the printing, the pages seemed a little thin for my liking, but the cover was very nice and the book was very well bound. I have no complaints there.

As far as the game goes, the setting is phenomenal! It stimulates my imagination as I read through the book and myriads of stories and scenes pop into my head, just waiting to be seen in a game! If only for the setting, alone, this book is way worth getting.

The system leaves much to be desired. It appears to be a version of Savage Worlds, but without the good things I love about SW. The character generation options are confusing and the rules are a bit more complex that I feel they need to be. The char gen options are also rather limited. I'm sure there are people who will love the system, but I'm not one of them.

All in all, this book is worth it! If you want to play in a world of dark heroes, where the criminals are the good-guys and the superheroes are on the run, this is the game for you!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Brave New World
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Brave New World
by Paul S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/04/2011 16:59:21
Brave New World is a simple, elegant system. The d6 dice pool mechanic works well and drives the combat forward quickly so players can get back to the really juicy stuff...the narrative.
Brave New World's setting is an ever expanding collection of mysteries and moral ambiguities that are just plain fun to read, let alone play. Matt Forbeck's style is more like an entertaining history read rather than plowing through a straight rulebook. Makes getting through the rules that much easier as you really want to get to the revealed mysteries in the back of each book. Great stuff.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Red Isle
by Roy M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2011 22:56:24
The adventure its self is a good one shot or could be dropped into a exisiting campaign easily, but the scan is not in order. The pages alternate between the first and last pasges of the original in a way that makes reading it a pain a refrencing it akward.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Red Isle
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tomb of the Overseers
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/16/2011 12:16:18
This adventure is pretty much a dungeon crawl, although neatly dressed up with a backstory which makes it easy to provide suitable introductory events to round it out into a full scenario or to weave this little jaunt into an ongoing campaign. Alternatively, the backstory could be read out as a summary if you plan on running this adventure as a one-off game.

As provided, the adventurers are standing on the threshold of the Tomb of the Overseers, ready to go in. The map is laid out clearly, a bit linear... but such is the way of tombs of this sort (just look at the archaeological record!); with good succinct descriptions and notes on what you will find in each chamber. With a couple of exceptions, all monsters encountered are just that - something with which to do combat. The exceptions are pretty constrained in what they'll do, but should at least give those characters who like to talk rather than fight some opportunity to do so.

There is a distinct tendency for this adventure to be merely a mechanical puzzle-solving, monster fighting and item collection exercise, but this fits well in this instance because of the nature of the mission that the characters have been given. However, if there is a reason why the Big Bad Evil Guy at the end is actually there, it's not stated: however, he is the reason that the characters will want to collect all the handy items scattered around the place, so it is worth scavenging them all up!

Assuming the characters do defeat him, they will be able to complete their task, and there's even a note about follow-on events, although you will have to flesh them out for yourself... potential to kick-start a whole campaign if the ideas appeal.

An interesting note is that this adventure was published very early in the life of D&D 3e, and many of the monsters given cursory descriptions here appeared in later monster books - you may wish to track them down and so flesh the monsters out a bit before you run the adventure. But there's sufficient here to run them without, especially as they are there as combat-fodder rather than true encounters.

Overall, what seems to be a basic dungeon-bash actually has a bit more to it, if you wish to make use of it within a broader context, else if a quick fight through a small dungeon is what you need to fill an evening, this will do very nicely. Worth having around, for those nights when someone's missing or nobody feels like heavy role-play and ongoing plot arcs.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of the Overseers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Legacy of Disaster
by Kevin K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/03/2011 15:52:58
This pdf was made available for free, which is definitely a shame, as I would have been extremely happy with my purchase had I spent money on it. This module is ready to go, no NPC creation necessary. It deftly handles multiple paths a group of samurai handling this adventure might take, written out like a mini "choose your own adventure" for STs. I have never read a module and immediately felt comfortable with the thought of running it without making some kind of change, but this did not need any. I truly hope AEG makes more of these, and I will purchase any that they make.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legacy of Disaster
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Winter Court: Kyuden Seppun
by Kevin K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/02/2011 09:50:29
This book is nothing but general setting info, often repeated from other L5R sources, most of which in no way pertains to a court setting. I purchased this in hopes of better understanding how a traditional Winter Court would flow, a topic strangely absent from this book. The book did give me noteworthy NPCs (for the time period) and a map of Kyuden Seppun, but I am no closer to understanding the schedule of events or traditions of an actual court in Rokugan. This is the first L5R book I have purchased and later felt cheated.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Winter Court: Kyuden Seppun
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wilds
by Lorinc P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2010 14:57:15
The content is okay, but the poor quality of scanning makes it hard to read on-screen and impossible to print.
Not recommended.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Wilds
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

L5R- Game Master's Screen and Adventure
by Don L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2010 20:57:49
I have a problem with the way it was scanned. I would like to print this off but as it is scanned now, it is difficult to do. I have tried using GIMP but I have not figured out how to divide it into easily printed sizes.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
L5R- Game Master's Screen and Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Legend of the Five Rings 4th Edition
by Adrian S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/19/2010 05:20:09
Third and Fourth Edition of L5R herald a return to the 'Roll & Keep' system that is long overdue after the debacle that was D20 L5R.
The system is excellent in conveying the flavour of the setting - one of heroism and epic deeds and is well-married to a rich, deep setting. The setting - a quasi-historical fantasy Japan - that offers a myriad of role-playing styles and opportunities. You want a game focused on ninja assassinations? Fine. How about a high-intrigue court game with an intense social setting? Done. How about a tragic game of honour, loss and epic battle? Check.

This is not 'AD&D with katanas'. It is a game where the social setting, etiquette, customs and culture come to the fore and the 'kewl powers' take a definite backseat. It is a setting where your characters see definite advancement and it is not always measured in dice and stats.

I'd recommend two other items to go with this purchase - the free module 'Legacy of Disaster' to get you started, and the novels. Whilst the latter are not brilliantly written (very standard gaming novel fare), but they do evoke the setting and advance the timeline very well.

On this note, the backstory is quite well-developed and tied to the events in the card game's continuity, but don't let this discourage you - it makes for entertaining reading and you can ignore almost all of it in any campaign.

In short, if you are after a fantasy game with a little more substance and a very different feel, this will fit the bill.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings 4th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Legacy of Disaster
by Erathoniel W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/16/2010 19:40:53
The question I have to ask about this product is:

Why hasn't everyone with an internet connection downloaded this?

Take everything I like about L5R, put it in an easy-to-play package, and you've got Legacy of Disaster. Granted, there's a lot you can do with more, but if you wanna give the system a quick spin, this is perfect for you.

This is like a slice of cake: There's still more out there, but it's really, really good.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legacy of Disaster
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

L5R- Game Master's Screen and Adventure
by Erathoniel W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/16/2010 19:09:15
There's one thing you know for certain when you look at anything related to L5R. High quality.

That's all I can say about the GM screen and Descent into Darkness.

Top notch art, top notch writing.

While the $9 may be a lot for a GM Screen, if you play L5R, this is a must-have, and the included adventure provides a great stepping point for a campaign.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
L5R- Game Master's Screen and Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 106 to 120 (of 215 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates