DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Secrets of Cats • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Dean K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/22/2015 14:50:55
I bought the print copy of this and, after reading the first several pages, decided I needed the PDF version as well. So far I am impressed with it. It does a good job of incorporating some of the peculiar behaviors of cats. I am looking forward to finishing the book and running a game of cat PCs.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secrets of Cats • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Save Game • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Jon L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2015 21:23:46
This game seems very cool, trying to get some people together to play it with. The saved game makes me think of tron so I like it very much. The art is good and the set up is very good.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Save Game • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Spirit of the Century
by Jon L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2015 21:22:51
It didn't hook me at all in the story. Don't know why but this wasn't the game for me.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Spirit of the Century
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Honestly at this point it\'s showing its age. We published this in 2006. We\'ve learned a lot in the nine years since. Stay tuned for its sequel, Shadow of the Century!
Venture City Stories • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Jon L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2015 21:22:09
Its very good but I prefer my superhero games be constructed by d6 system but overall this game wasn't that bad for a FATE Core game. It just wasn't my cup of tea but I won't bash it by a bad rating just because it wasn't my cup of tea.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Venture City Stories • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fate System Toolkit
by Jon L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2015 21:20:32
I have never used FATE Core rules yet but I am playing a game that will be utilizing those rules this weekend. They are easy and simple to learn, its a great system to use when trying to engulf your players in the story of your game. The system tool kit is very useful when trying to build your own game when in the back they give you some nice game scenerios like horror and resources to create a good game and campaign.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate System Toolkit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fate Accelerated Edition
by Jon L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2015 21:18:54
I have never used FATE Core rules yet but I am playing a game that will be utilizing those rules this weekend. They are easy and simple to learn, its a great system to use when trying to engulf your players in the story of your game. The accelerated edition expands on the rules a great deal. Very good system to use.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Accelerated Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Spirit of the Century
by Thomas W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/26/2015 04:51:13
Essentially Fate 3.0. Prepare for awesome rip-roaring adventures full of derring-do!

Very simple system that allows pick-up games in a few hours or longer campaigns. I am currently running a campaign using the system and it is some of the best, silliest adventuring I've ever had the pleasure to run.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Spirit of the Century
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fate Core System
by Thomas W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/26/2015 04:49:38
A nice update to a brilliant system. Easy to use for pick up and play story-driven RPGs. Very open to inexperienced players.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Core System
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Eagle Eyes • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/24/2015 14:05:31
As a lover of historical fiction, I think this is my favorite "World of adventure" for Fate so far.

Obviously, both the Roman setting and the noir genre are too big to tackle in this format, but this title gives you enough overview that you could fake your way through, and some guidance as to how to do more research. However, i was surprised that the section on Inspirational Materials did not actually mention any of the popular Roman detective series that exist in print - Lindsey Davis' Falso series, or Steven Saylor's Gordianus the Finder, or John Maddox Roberts SPQR series.

I especially like the advice on how to create conspiracies and mysteries, and how to handle things when your players solved things too fast.

Other things - liked the cover, interior art was fine, didn't notice any crazy grammer or spelling errors, game mechanics made sense, not crazy about renaming FAE approaches with Roman deity names but don't hate it....

In summation: Quick enjoyable read, a subject I like, a world I would love to play in and would consider to run as well. I would give 5 stars if it was a little longer, maybe included a map of the city and a list of Latin terms to throw around.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Eagle Eyes • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Eagle Eyes • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Winston C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/22/2015 06:24:10
The concept of Roman Noir is not one that seems immediately natural to me, but this setting makes it quite convincing.

(+) The book provides a decent overview of Roman life insofar as that information is useful to running a game and creating characters. The adventure builder is very nice for constructing a quick framework suited to impromptu noir tales, which typically take a good deal more effort. The flavored Fate Phase Trio provides excellent direction for the campaign as a whole and what the players want to get out of the game. Layout and readability is the high quality we've come to expect from Evil Hat.

(-) This book attempts to center stories on the unraveling of conspiracies within the setting. Unfortunately, constructing a conspiracy or using it in a game as an current or impending issue is given no treatment; the conspiracy is simply described as stress track which the characters are attempting to take out in order to end the story - and few details are provided on just how that is accomplished. This book lacks either the focus of a directional campaign or the detail of a complete setting. Campaign advice may be summed up as "emulate this list of tv shows."

(=) There are a few example adventures built using the generator, but they are only story seeds. Not bad, but I would have liked to seen them fleshed out. The art direction is heavily shaded and lacks detail. I suppose its evocative, but it's not to my taste. Overall, I don't think this book added anything to mechanics of the Fate system as far as using them in a noir or Roman setting, but I think it was more useful for running a Roman Noir campaign than simply reading the Wikipedia entries on the subject.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Eagle Eyes • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by David H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2015 16:37:21
Having given this a once over I am impressed by the art style, organization of the book, and writing. The concept is interesting, the level of detail gives a good foundation for a longer campaign but retains flexibility for a quick pickup game.

FAE is actually my preferred version of FATE and I really like the way the designer integrated Aspects and Approaches into the bones of the setting. I like that the author leaves it to the group using Eagle Eyes to determine the time period, and level of historical accuracy. This book seems to do justice to both the setting, and the genre that the author chose.

Just reading it has me thinking of myriad ways to use the information and how much fun it will be.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Core System
by Kevin T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/30/2015 20:05:05
A very simple system with a surprising amount of depth.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Core System
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Romance in the Air • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Chuck C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2015 15:49:50
This is an excellent way for a group to get rolling with a SteamPunk campaign - or a Fate campaign - or both - with very little preparation. The book walks you through launching your new game step by step, presenting a bunch of premade character sketches that you can add your own touches too, but leaving enough room to build characters from scratch if you want to. You'll need some familiarity with the concepts in the Fate Core rules to use this book well, but if you've read those rules and are saying "Now what?" this is the book you need.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Romance in the Air • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fate System Toolkit
by Alexander P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/18/2015 02:15:20
It's no secret that I'm desperately in love with the FATE system; I think it's elegant as hell, and use it for everything under the sun. How? That's where the Toolkit comes in.

With this book, you're looking at just shy of 200 pages worth of optional rules and game advice. Want to shake up the default skill list, or change the expected power level of the player characters? That's in here. Want a magic system in FATE? You'll get five different ones, plus cybernetics, superpowers, and advice for building your own subsystems. Need help turning FATE into a horror game? That's in the book, too. Class systems, squad combat, kung fu, social combat, swashbuckling, vehicles, mass warfare, help for setting design and character creation... if you can think of a topic, this book deals with it in an informative and easy-to-grasp manner.

The layout is clean, the art's functional (not great, not bad, but often unique; for every dwarf or wizard, there's a cybernetic gorilla or a six-armed alien swordsman), and the meat of the book is stellar. If you're playing FATE, you'll find something worth using between the covers. It comes with my highest praise.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate System Toolkit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dresden Files RPG: Paranet Papers: Vegas Chapter Early Preview
by jerome t. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/16/2015 15:24:12
I was a big fan of the books and now I'm a bigger fan of the game

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dresden Files RPG: Paranet Papers: Vegas Chapter Early Preview
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 31 to 45 (of 249 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates