DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Psychedemia • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Roger L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/10/2016 16:14:46

Mit Psychedemia hat Evil Hat Productions eine World of Adventure entwickelt, die Science-Fiction von einer unverbrauchten Seite zeigt. Die Akademie sollte euch darauf vorbereiten, eure neu entdeckten psionischen Fähigkeiten zu kontrollieren. Doch die Entdeckung des Reiches, das ihr in euren Träumen und Meditationssitzungen bereist verändert alles.


Rezension: Psychedemia – Harry Potter im Weltall (Fate Core)


Rollenspielern fällt es leicht, neue Welten zu erdenken und mit allerlei spannenden Orten und interessanten Herausforderungen zu füllen. Bei Psychedemia, einem weiteren Ableger der World of Adventure-Reihe, liegt dieses Privileg aber nicht mehr länger nur in der Hand des Spielleiters, sondern auch die Spielercharaktere dürfen sich in diesem Setting nach Herzenslust kreativ austoben.


Psychedemia ergänzt die Produktserie um ein spannendes Science–Fiction Setting, das Elemente aus Harry Potter, Trinity und klassischen Sci-Fi-Stories zu einem bunten Mix um die weitere Zukunft des besiedelten Weltalls verwebt.


Inhalt


Die Menschheit hat es geschafft. Zunächst gelang es nur, einige wenige Planeten in der direkten Umgebung zu besiedeln, doch mit der Entwicklung des Überlichtantriebes konnte ein erster Kontakt zu außerirdischen Wesen hergestellt werden. Leider verliefen alle bisherigen Begegnungen nicht sonderlich friedvoll.


In Aufruhr versetzt, beschlossen die führenden Mächte, die erst kürzlich entdeckten psionischen Kräfte der heranwachsenden Generation zu fördern. Damit wurde die Akademie an einem geheimen Ort auf einem verlassenen Asteroiden im All errichtet. Um an der Akademie aufgenommen zu werden, muss der Aspirant eine ganze Reihe an physischen und psychischen Tests, Neuroscans und wissenschaftlichen Prüfungen über sich ergehen lassen.


Je nach Können der aufgenommenen Jung-Psioniker werden sie einer der vier Ausbildungskompanien, Alpha, Bravo, Charlie und Delta zugewiesen. Während es sich bei der Ersten um die Elitekompanie der Akademie handelt, landen in Delta all jene, die die Prüfungen gerade so hinter sich bringen konnten.


Die Spielercharaktere sind Teil eben jener berüchtigter Delta-Kompanie, von den Ausbildern belächelt und den Mitschülern schikaniert.


Charaktererschaffung


Ganz im Stil von Fate Core bedient sich auch Psychedemia den meisten Mechaniken des Grundregelwerkes. Die Aspekte werden hier allerdings nicht in Zusammenarbeit mit den anderen Spielern entwickelt, sondern konzentrieren sich auf den eigenen Charakter. Neben den üblichen Aspekten Konzept und Dilemma wird je ein Aspekt für das Erwachen der psionischen Fähigkeiten, für den Testablauf der Akademie und ein letzter für die ersten Erfahrungen auf der Akademie gewählt. Der letzte Aspekt kann und sollte dazu genutzt werden, erste Beziehungen und Rivalitäten zu Spieler- oder Spielleitercharakteren aufzubauen.


Bei der Auswahl der Fertigkeiten wird zwischen den vorgegebenen psychischen und den weltlichen Fertigkeiten unterschieden. Viele der normalen Fertigkeiten, wie zum Beispiel Kämpfen und Schießen, wurden in allgemeinere zusammengefasst, dafür dürfen nicht mehr so viele Fertigkeiten gewählt werden, um dem jugendlichen Alter der Akteure gerecht zu werden.


Die psychischen Fertigkeiten sind außersinnliche Wahrnehmung, Psychokinese und Telepathie. Jeder Spielercharakter verfügt über grundlegende Kenntnisse in allen Bereichen, darf sich aber eine aussuchen, die er oder sie besonders gut beherrscht. Es existieren keine gesonderten Regeln für den Einsatz psionischer Fertigkeiten, allerdings werden in Psychedemia Zustände (engl. Conditions) eingesetzt, um besonderen Situationen Rechnung zu tragen. Jede Fähigkeit kann entweder „unkontrolliert“ oder „ausgebrannt“ sein und erlaubt es den Charakteren damit, über ihre eigenen Grenzen hinauszuwachsen.


Sind die Spielercharaktere erstellt und die ersten Beziehungen geknüpft, kann es losgehen.


Ich denke, also bin ich


Haben die Spieler sich erst einmal in der Akademie eingelebt, die wichtigsten Spielleitercharaktere kennengelernt und die ersten Auseinandersetzungen mit den Mitschülern gehabt, erwartet sie eine Überraschung: Während einer Meditationssitzung finden sie sich gemeinsam in einem Raum wieder, den sie nach eigenen Vorstellungen formatieren (Spielausdruck für „gestalten“) können. Wer jetzt an Matrix denkt, hat schon eine ziemlich gute Idee von dieser Parallelwelt, die einfach nur „das Reich“ genannt wird. Dieses Reich ist in mehrere Regionen eingeteilt, die unabhängig voneinander formatiert werden können. Dies wird regeltechnisch über Aspekte realisiert. Je mehr Aspekte eine Region bereits hat, desto schwieriger wird die weitere Gestaltung.


Nach ersten Versuchen und der Erforschung der Möglichkeiten, entdecken auch andere Schüler, allen voran die Alpha-Kompanie, das Reich und beginnen, sich ihre eigenen Regionen zu erschaffen. Schon bald erregt der menschliche Schaffensdrang die Aufmerksamkeit eines Webers, der die Spielercharaktere zu einer Reise zum Mittelpunkt des Reiches einlädt. Dort treffen die Charaktere auf weitere Rassen und erkennen, dass das Reich eine friedliche Austauschplattform zwischen den Rassen des Universums ist, von denen nicht alle den Menschen wohl gesonnen sind.


Die vorgestellten Rassen sind zum Beispiel die Weber, die stets nach Optimierung streben oder die Spindle, deren Neugierde nahezu sprichwörtlich ist. Der Chor ist eine Rasse, die die Wahrheit kennt. Bedauerlicherweise bedeutet das nicht, dass sie diese Wahrheit auch in andere Sprachen übersetzen können. Daher sind ihre Bemühungen, die tieferen Wahrheiten mit den anderen Rassen zu teilen, bisher zum Scheitern verurteilt. Das Quartett wird durch die kriegerischen Wandoon abgerundet. Wandoon sind keine Freunde der Menschen und sehen sie als Gefahr für den galaktischen Frieden an. Mit ihren massigen Körpern und acht Gliedmaßen sind sie Wesen, vor denen man sich besser in Acht nehmen sollte.


Und damit befinden wir uns mitten im Abenteuer, das einen großen Teil dieses Settingbandes ausmacht. Anders als in klassischen High-School Geschichten geht es hierbei allerdings weniger um die inneren Konflikte der Teenager, sondern um eine handfeste Auseinandersetzung zwischen den aggressiven Menschen und den harmoniesuchenden Außerirdischen. Die Story erinnert entfernt an Avatar, die Parallelen sind aber so gering, dass sich Avatar-Witze am Spieltisch in Grenzen halten.


Leider bietet der Band dabei ziemlich wenige spannende Charaktere an. Die Leitung der Akademie übernimmt ein Duo, dass stark an Albus Dumbledore und Hausmeister Filch aus Harry Potter erinnert. Die Kompanien erhalten jeweils einen knappen Absatz Beschreibungstext und auch die studentischen Kommandeure erhalten nicht viel mehr an Hintergrund. Genug, um sie voneinander unterscheiden zu können, aber zu wenig, um wirklich im Spiel als unterschiedliche Kompanien wahrgenommen zu werden.


Dem Spielleiter bleibt nichts anderes übrig, als selbst spannende Mitschüler oder sogar Rivalen zu entwickeln. Auch das tägliche Schulleben wird nur knapp angerissen und bleibt in vielen Teilen ziemlich vage.


Das gilt übrigens auch für die Welt nach dem Abenteuer. Egal wie die Charaktere innerhalb der Kampagne handeln, die Ergebnisse werden nur grob für die gesamte Galaxie beschrieben. Das Schicksal der Spielercharaktere wird in der Beschreibung nicht weiter berücksichtigt. Aus diesem Grund ist das Setting in erster Linie für Systemeinführungen geeignet, denn nach dem Abschluss der Kampagne bleibt leider nicht mehr viel übrig, auf das der Spielleiter an Hintergrundmaterial zugreifen könnte. Dieses Problem haben aber auch andere World of Adventure Settings, wie zum Beispiel Behind the Walls.


Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis


Psychedemia wird, wie alle World of Adventure Produkte, mit dem Pay What you Want–Modell vertrieben. Der vorgeschlagene Preis von 4 USD ist dabei angemessen. Wäre die Beschreibung der Akademie, des Reiches und vor allem der Welt etwas ausschweifender gewesen, hätte der Preis durchaus höher sein können, das Setting gibt auf jeden Fall genug Material her.


Erscheinungsbild


Wie die anderen World of Adventure Produkte, verwendet auch Psychedemia das gemeinsame Layout. Dieses besticht durch eine gute Lesbarkeit und klare Kontraste. Die verwendeten Abbildungen im Comic-Look sind professionell gezeichnet und vermitteln ein stimmungsvolles Bild der Akademie und des Reiches.


Leider verzichtet Psychedemia neben dem voll verlinkten Inhaltsverzeichnis auf weitere multimediale Orientierungshilfen wie einen Index oder Verweise im Text. Der Textsatz ist professionell, aber längere Textpassagen wirken gedrängt und sind mitunter schwer am Stück zu lesen.


Ein nettes Gimmick sind unterschiedliche Symbole für die Akademie und das Reich. Diese werden bei der angebotenen Kampagne genutzt, um den Schauplatz bereits in der Überschrift anzukündigen.


Insgesamt überzeugt das Erscheinungsbild des Bandes. Die vermittelte Stimmung hat viel eines fantastischen High-School-Movies wie zum Beispiel Sky High oder Harry Potter, ist von der Atmosphäre aber etwas ungezwungener.


Fazit


Psychedemia hinterläßt einen guten Eindruck. Das Setting ist in sich schlüssig und die gegebenen Hintergrundinformationen sind für eine kurze Kampagne ausreichend. Gruppen, die an einem länger währenden Setting interessiert sind, müssen auf die eigene Kreativität zurückgreifen, um die zahlreichen Lücken zu schließen. Gerade das weitere Spiel im Anschluss an die Kampagne wird durch die Unterschiedlichkeit der weltlichen Akademie und des träumerischen Reiches zur Zerreißprobe.


Dafür bietet die Kampagne einen interessanten Einblick in die Haltung der vier anderen Alienrassen, die alle in kurzen Worten angerissen wurden. Generell ist dieses Spiel, gerade durch die Formbarkeit des Reiches, ideal für den Einstieg in Fate geeignet. Neulinge lernen schnell, die Umgebung frei für sich zu verändern, ein Regelmechanismus, der in dieser Form bei allen Fate-Settings zum Einsatz kommt. Der überspitzte Einsatz fordert Spieler, selbst kreativ zu werden. Damit ist Psychedemia gerade für Gruppen, die mit dem Gedanken spielen, Fate einmal auszuprobieren hervorragend geeignet.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Psychedemia • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dresden Files RPG: Paranet Papers
by Roger L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/30/2015 03:03:38

http://www.teilzeithelden.de/2015/12/30/rezension-paranet-
-papers-der-tourguide-fuer-das-dresdenverse-dresden-files/a>


Dresden Files-Fans aufgepasst! Evil Hat Productions haben dieses Jahr endlich den Erweiterungsband Paranet Papers veröffentlicht! Der Band erzählt von spannenden Orten, furchteinflößenden Monstern und NPCs und räumt mit einigen Regelunstimmigkeiten auf. Wir haben uns das fast 400 Seiten starke Quellenbuch angesehen und verraten euch, was sich darin im Detail verbirgt.


Rezension: Paranet Papers – Der Tourguide für das Dresdenverse (Dresden Files)


Mit Paranet Papers liefert Evil Hat Productions den längst überfälligen Ergänzungsband des Dresden Files Roleplaying Games, kurz DFRPG. Fünf Jahre sind seit dem Erscheinen des Grundregelwerkes vergangen. Fünf Jahre, in denen sich die Romanserie immens weiterentwickelt hat. Dieser Entwicklung wurde mit Paranet Papers Rechnung getragen, in dem der Stand der Romanserie als Grundlage dient. Auf fast 400 Seiten wird das Dresdenverse konsequent weiterentwickelt und wartet mit allerhand spannenden Geschichten auf.


Das Paranet ist eine von Harry Dresden ins Leben gerufene Organisation zum Schutze und der Vernetzung magisch gering begabter Menschen. Diese genießen nicht die Vorrechte der Zauberer des Weißen Rates und stehen der feindlichen Welt schutzlos gegenüber. Die so genannten Paranetter halten sich mit regelmäßigen Berichten auf dem Laufenden, warnen sich vor aufkommenden Gefahren und bieten auch ansonsten gegenseitigen Schutz und den freien Austausch von Wissen an.


Die Paranet Papers sind eine Sammlung wichtiger Informationen über Orte, Personen, Monster und die Zauberkunst an sich, und erweitern die bespielbare Welt erheblich.


<box>SPOILERGEFAHR!
Der Meta-Plot der Dresden Files hat sich seit dem letzten erschienen Regelwerk deutlich weiterentwickelt. Dieses Quellenbuch setzt nach dem 12. Band der Serie, Wandel, an und enthält massive Spoiler. Auch diese Rezension ist nicht frei davon. Leser der Romanserie sollten daher über den 12. Teil der Serie hinaus sein, um Spoiler zu vermeiden. </box>


Inhalt
Wie die beiden Vorgänger ist auch dieser Band als Entwurf für einen Rollenspielband aufgebaut, der von unterschiedlichen Personen kommentiert wurde. Im aktuellen Band haben diese Aufgabe Will Borden, Waldo Butters und Karrin Murphy übernommen, die mit ihren kurzweiligen Kommentaren auch teilweise dröge Passagen auflockern. Der Band enthält insgesamt drei große Informationsblöcke: zusätzliche Städte und Regionen, ergänzende Sonderregeln und ein umfangreiches Bestiarium.
Wo die wilden Kerle wohnen
Das größte Kapitel nehmen die Ortsbeschreibungen mit den Kampagnenideen ein. Diese sind als Augenzeugenberichte aufbereitet, die Will Borden zugespielt wurden und zeichnen ein immens düsteres Bild der Welt, wie sie sich nach den Ereignissen in Wandel verändert hat.
Der erste Bericht handelt von einem verdorbenen Las Vegas, das seit Jahrzehnten unter der Kontrolle des Roten Hofes war. Nachdem dieser ausgelöscht wurde, fehlt eine starke Hand, die die Stadt am Laufen hält. Viele Fraktionen streben mittlerweile nach der Macht und versenken die Stadt in ein blutiges Chaos, der noch Schlimmeres bevorsteht, sollte die Ordnung der Dinge nicht bald wiederhergestellt werden.


Der zweite Bericht entführt uns in die Vergangenheit, genauer gesagt ins Russland im Jahre 1918. Die Bolschewiken führen einen Bürgerkrieg gegen die Obrigkeit, der Sommerhof wehrt sich gegen einen erstarkenden Winterhof und auch in der sonstigen übernatürlichen Bevölkerung wollen die Chancen dieses Krieges genutzt werden. Die Geschichte wird uns durch die Korrespondenz von Simon Pietrovich nähergebracht, dem legendären Vampirjäger des Weißen Rates, der bereits in Bluthunger das Zeitliche gesegnet hat.


Dieser Hintergrund hat den offenen Schlagabtausch der Bolschewiken gegen die Rote Armee als großes Thema, daher werden alle an den Kämpfen beteiligten Parteien auch mit eigenen Motivationen und Hintergründen vorgestellt.


Das dritte Setting befasst sich mit Okeeokalee Bay in Florida, dass mitten in den Never-, Verzeihung, Everglades liegt. Dieser Hintergrund strotzt nur so vor Anlehnungen an die Südstaaten und wartet mit allerlei, für die Sümpfe besonderes Kroppzeug, wie zum Beispiel Weraligatoren, auf.
Das vierte vorgestellte Gebiet sind die Las Tierras Rojas, oder „die Roten Lande“. Damit ist das vom Roten Hof kontrollierte Herrschaftsgebiet in Südamerika gemeint. Das Setting setzt direkt nach den Ereignissen von Wandel an. Nach der Vernichtung des Roten Hofes entstand in dieser Region ein riesiges Machtvakuum, das von zahlreichen übernatürlichen Fraktionen, allen voran dem Weißen Rat, ausgefüllt werden möchte. Doch auch der Krieg der Polizei gegen die Drogenkartelle spielt eine große Rolle, denn gerade die Kartelle schrecken vor dem Einsatz übernatürlicher Kräfte nicht zurück.


Der letzte Paranet-Bericht widmet sich, anders als die übrigen Berichte und den Setting-typischen Gepflogenheiten, keiner Stadt oder Region, sondern der Reise an sich. In diesem Kapitel wird das Nevernever, die mystische Zwischenwelt der Welt von Harry Dresden kurz angerissen und einige Regeln zum Umgang mit natürlichen Gefahren zur Verfügung gestellt. Das Herzstück dieses Kapitels ist die reisende Gruppe als Kampagnenform. Die Empfehlung lautet, in Episoden zu arbeiten, in denen an jedem Ort eine Bedrohung entwickelt wird, um die sich die Spieler kümmern müssen.


Da in dieser Variante nicht übermäßig viele alte Kontakte recycelt werden können, bleiben die NSC hier etwas flacher, treten dafür aber auch in größerer Zahl auf. Insgesamt erinnert dieser Aufbau sehr stark an die Serie Supernatural, in der zwei Brüder quer durch Amerika reisen und überall mit dem fiesen Gekreuch aufräumen, dass der Menschheit aus den Schatten heraus ans Leder will.
Um das Kapitel noch ein wenig anzureichern, werden noch zehn Episoden beigelegt und ein grober Kampagnenrahmen definiert, der auch gleich die die Reisemotivation der vorgefertigten Charaktere erklärt.


Jede Region verfügt über umfangreiche Beschreibungen der verwendeten Lokalitäten und der dort lebenden Charaktere. Wie in den in Your Story und Our World beschriebenen Städten Baltimore und Chicago sind einige Charaktere als mögliche Spielercharaktere gekennzeichnet. Da diese Charaktere direkt in ihr Umfeld eingebettet sind, kann direkt aus einem reichhaltigen Hintergrund geschöpft werden.


Du bist ein Zauberer, Harry!
Im darauffolgenden Kapitel wurde die Gelegenheit genutzt, mit unklaren Regeln aufzuräumen, veraltete Regeln auf den neuesten Stand zu bringen und neue Regeln mit einzubeziehen.


Die Entwicklung ist dabei sehr interessant: Es wird offen eingeräumt, dass die Regeln auf Basis der vergangenen Dresden Files-Bände erstellt wurden und diese nicht mehr im Einklang mit der fortlaufenden Geschichte waren. Dabei beschränken sich diese neuen Regelungen aber rein auf die Zauberei an sich, weitere Sonderregeln sind unglücklicherweise über den gesamten Band verstreut.


Spieler eines Zauberers freuen sich über Regelerläuterungen zum Thema der Sponsored Magic, also der durch ein mächtiges Wesen zur Verfügung gestellten Kräfte, der Zauberei im Nevernever, und zahlreiche Regelanpassungen zum Thema Evocations und Thaumaturgy, zu Deutsch also der Anrufungen und Rituale. Weitere Bereiche wie magische Gegenstände, Zaubertränke oder spezielle Stunts für Zauberer runden das Kapitel ab.


Who is Who
Der letzte Teil des Bandes schließt mit einem Bestiarium der neuesten Monster des Dresdenverse und vergisst dabei auch nicht, alte Bekannte zu aktualisieren. Als Kenner der Serie stolpert man so über allerlei bekannte Namen und Gesichter, was sich im folgenden Kapitel, dem tatsächlichen Who is Who, fortsetzt.


Neben zahllosen Charakterupdates (unter anderem für Harry Dresden, Molly Carpenter oder dem Erlkönig), werden auch neue Charaktere wie Grigory Cristos, Samuel Peabody oder (endlich) Karrin Murphy vorgestellt. Besonders mächtige Charaktere haben ein eigenes Kapitel erhalten, das zusätzlich auch noch Hinweise zum Umgang mit solchen Charakteren gibt. Zusammen mit den in den Regionsbeschreibungen vorgestellten Charaktere gibt in diesem Band eine enorme Anzahl neuer Charaktere, die nur auf ihren Einsatz warten.


Erscheinungsbild
Die DFRPG-Reihe hat eine hervorragende Optik und auch Paranet Papers ist keine Ausnahme. Ein richtig dicker Wälzer, der in Schriftbild, Lesbarkeit, Illustrationen, und Wortwitz glänzt.
Die Aufbereitung als ersten Entwurf des Bandes macht Spaß und versorgt den Leser mit den teilweise urkomischen Kommentaren mit Hintergrundwissen. Als kleines Easter Egg sind wieder Bereiche geschwärzt, die aber aus der PDF in ein Textprogramm kopiert werden können, um den verdeckten Inhalt zu lesen.


Multimedial ist der Band voll auf der Höhe und verfügt über ein verlinktes Inhaltsverzeichnis, und einen Index. Wieder sind die im Text angegebenen Seitenverweise verlinkt und erlauben ein schnelles Springen zu relevanten Informationen.


Fazit
Wo der Weltenband Our World zu wenig auf die Anforderungen einer Spielgruppe ausgelegt war, trumpft Paranet Papers auf: spannende und abwechslungsreiche Regionen, zahllose mehrdimensionale Charaktere mit eigenen Wünschen und Motivationen und ein umfangreiches Bestiarium. Der Wahnsinn!
Präsentiert wird der Band in grandioser Optik, die zwar zuweilen ein bisschen chaotisch ist, dadurch aber auch authentisch wirkt. Man hat fast den Eindruck, als wäre man bei der Entstehung dieses Werkes dabei und werde von den Autoren mit auf diese Reise genommen.


Mein persönliches Highlight sind die Regeln einer reisenden Gruppe, liefert dieses Kapitel doch spannende Impulse und Inspirationen, wie man spannende Episoden, nicht nur für Dresden Files, sondern für beliebige Settings aufbaut. Insgesamt zeichnet Paranet Papers ein finsteres Bild des Dresdenverses und bietet so den Spielern die Möglichkeit, in eine düstere Welt ein wenig Licht zu bringen.


Dieses Buch ist ein absoluter Pflichtkauf für DFRPG-Spielrunden. Aber auch darüber hinaus können auch Urban-Fantasy-Fans alleine der spannenden Ortsbeschreibungen wegen zuschlagen!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dresden Files RPG: Paranet Papers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Three Rocketeers • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Jon F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/29/2015 03:40:04

I got myself a copy of "The 3 Rocketeers" the newest World of Adventure for Fate RPG, by P K Sullivan. I thought it my offer some diverting reading over the Christmas break. How wrong I was! It was so good, such a cool premise executed so engagingly, and so tickled my fancy that I read the whole thing over the weekend, before my holiday break even started! Now I cannot wait to have a chance to play it.
The setting is a combination of two major tropes. First the swashbuckling adventure and heroic thwarting of nefarious conspiracies portrayed in the novels of Alexander Dumas. Second space-age adventure, with rocket-packs and interstellar travel. Instead of musketeers, we have rocketeers as PCs and they serve to protect the young Queen of Gallia from interstellar, yet familiar rivals. There is a Britain, Germany and Spain equivalent, and even dastardly Cardinals and a Star Pope. Enough background is provided for setting the scene for CharGen and for sparking a host of stories. The swashbuckling style of The Musketeers is maintained because melee weapons and duelling are still commonplace (for the usual sci-fantasy sci-fudge reasons). I am not usually that keen on crossing-the-genres games, as they often extend towards "the gonzo" which often seems only suitable for one-off games. But this is one that feels to have some depth right-out-of-the-book, and that I think could support some extended play. By presenting a setting based on the spirit of an adventure book set in 17th century France, but transposed into an interstellar hi tec setting the game is able to be fully equal ops, and inviting to all, avoiding those perils for fully historical settings where massive gender and racial inequality permeates the cultures presented. I would have liked a star-map (just because I love them!) but it certainly is not needed.
The rules are an interesting twist on Fate core, with skills ratings replaced by a simpler (but subjective) totalling of +1 for each of your 6 PC aspects that are relevant. NPCs use the 6 approaches of FAE. There is a system for fencing stunts, which seems perfectly appropriate given that it is clear that the game's intention is that there will be a lot of duelling. Other new rules include a simple system for quantifying the attributes of the conspiracy that our heroes face, and how that impacts on play. I cannot yet comment on how any of these will work in play, but nothing is so complicated as to offend my simple tastes.
Almost a third of the 40 page book is taken up with an introductory adventure "Battle for the Gallian Throne". I havent studied this in detail but after a quick read looks to be a well crafted and exciting romp, that might take several sessions. With the insertion of a few extra NPCs, detours and red herrings could easily be the become a longer adventure and possible foundation for a larger campaign.
All in all, a great package and one which P K Sullivan and Evil Hat should be very proud of! If I could make a criticism it is only that because my enthusiasm for this is so great, I want more than such a small world book can deliver! I have a whole bunch of questions about the setting, unanswered in the limited space available in the book, which I'd love to have illuminated.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Three Rocketeers • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

War of Ashes: Fate of Agaptus
by Max L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/17/2015 02:28:14

War of Ashes is a great D&D Style game, that has some great new rules additions. Bull Rush, Disarming, Leathel Dmg. Magic Rituals etc... This additions can be added to any Fate game that need miniature rules.


If your are looking for a classic RPG with miniatures translated in Fate terms, War of Ahes is for you. The Setting on the other hand ist very different from anything I know, some classic elements mixed with war-like, ancient greek, vikings aspects combinend with a grimsical twist.


Ah and the Book itself looks gorgeous!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
War of Ashes: Fate of Agaptus
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Masters of Umdaar • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Paul O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2015 17:53:24

Packed with great material and an interesting Cliffhanger mechanic for FAE, Masters of Umdaar offers a great chance to revive the pulpy sci-fantasy world of 80s Saturday morning cartoons.
Though it's very slim, it includes a solid starter adventure which can be run or picked apart for ideas and examples. I've been inspired by this Fate World, I hope you will be too.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Masters of Umdaar • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

It's Not My Fault! (A Fate Accelerated Character & Situation Generator)
by Aaron G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/07/2015 15:42:13

I'm a huge fan of oracles and random generators like this. Add on to the top of it some easy to understand FAE Aspects, Stunts, and Approaches all on one card, and you get a fantastic little deck that packs a big punch.


I plan to use this deck to introduce some traditional gamers to Fate. It should go fantastically.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
It's Not My Fault! (A Fate Accelerated Character & Situation Generator)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

It's Not My Fault! (A Fate Accelerated Character & Situation Generator)
by Scott A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/07/2015 14:31:12

We love this quick and easy game. This will be a mainstay for local game days and Games on Demand at conventions. I hope more comes out soon.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
It's Not My Fault! (A Fate Accelerated Character & Situation Generator)
by Benjamin C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2015 12:28:27

Running this with 2 first time fate players and one experienced player, this proved to be a great introduction to the fate system. Getting people to stop laughing held things up more than learning the system. Picking familiar "classes" generated stats for them, and providing a thematic stunt for each gave them interesting toys to play with, but avoiding option paralysis of having things wide open. Picking up the rest of the mechanics from there was fairly simple, particularly since it uses the 6 fate accelerated approaches. I think in our game every approach got used but careful, but that one's omission was mostly just a side effect of teleporting naked into an arena just as the beasts were released. Only one person had a 3 in anything, most people had several 2s and stunts that made them better, so there wasn't much issue of spamming one aspect. Except for the con-man's compulsive clever lying, but again, that was unique to the situation and really helped make the scene dramatic.


Aside from the aid in helping new players, this also offered a good experience to explore and RP a new character quickly, not having a large backstory to try and remain consistent with. My players commented on how enjoyable it was to try and fit full character exploration into just an hour or two. After one session, everyone involved asked me to bring it to fill in time before or after existing campaigns.


Game ran about 2 hours, although I think it was a little slower due to getting new players up to speed with the system and getting use to how open ended decision making is in fate.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Three Rocketeers • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Chuck C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/28/2015 16:16:45

This looks like a fun and accessible introductory campaign frame for people new to Fate. The Musketeers tie-in should give many players a handle on the setting, and who doesn't want to fly around with a jet-pack? For Fate GMs, there is a nifty take on Conspiracies that can be ported to any setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Three Rocketeers • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dresden Files RPG: Paranet Papers
by ROY D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2015 08:09:58

Retracting my previous review as I learned it was my device that had an outdated version of Adobe. I apologize for the negative initial review. Upon looking closer it isn't terrible. It's actually great and adds some new narratives in the book which I appreciate.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dresden Files RPG: Paranet Papers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Designers & Dragons: The 00s
by Chad B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2015 20:27:48

So I just finished reading all 1,672 pages of Designers & Dragons, a 4-volume history of the role-playing games industry. What most people would find ridiculously niche and boring, I found absolutely fascinating! So why did I find it so interesting? I'm writing this mostly to reflect on what I just read, but also as a kind of review.


I was born in 1974, the same year Dungeons & Dragons was released. I remember poring over my friend's brother's copy of the 1978 Player's Handbook in 1980 at the age of six, and I remember getting the original D&D red box set for Christmas in 1983 at the age of nine! The RPG hobby is more widespread and accepted today than it ever was back then. Thanks to things like Harry Potter, the Lord of the Rings movies, and World of Warcraft, the fantasy genre has become mainstream. Today's multi-billion dollar video game industry has roots in the RPG industry.


One of the most striking things to me was just how many RPG companies there actually were! Each chapter of these books covers one of 83 different companies that made significant contributions to the development of RPGs. But there were many other companies merely mentioned, bringing the grand total to around 200! That's crazy! There were the big ones, of course--TSR, White Wolf, Wizards of the Coast, etc. But I was shocked at how many smaller companies there were as well. A lot of them only lasted a few years, and many of them were licensees. I was also surprised at how many times games would change companies and/or licensees. And these books only barely touch upon fulfillment houses, cons, miniatures, fiction, and tabletop wargaming. Growing up, I would have guessed there were only around 50 companies making RPGs!


In fact, reading Designers & Dragons made me want to go look into and try a whole bunch of new games. I'm especially intrigued by some of the different game mechanics mentioned in less mainstream games. I've considered designing my own RPG, and now I want to research all the existing mechanics out there first. The whole indie RPG scene of the 00s was completely foreign to me. I barely knew it existed. Looking back, I see that my pre-internet exposure to new games was dependant on what I saw in game stores, ads inside the gaming books I purchased, and what friends or schoolmates introduced me to. The RPGs of my "formative years" include Dungeons & Dragons (in all its various settings), Star Frontiers, Car Wars, Shadowrun, BattleTech, Robotech, and even TMNT.


It was also cool seeing all the behind-the-scene elements. The RPG industry is a hard business. Most companies don't make much money or last long, and even the big companies eventually fall. It's more about creating something out of passion and exploring new ideas. Fun lies at the core of what RPG players--and designers--do. In fact, whenever a company became too large and corporate, their game lines seemed to suffer. It was interesting to see when companies figured out certain things that we now take for granted like the development of new character classes, splat books, adventure paths, etc. I like that these books spotlight such innovations and the awards that various games won for coming up with things no one had seen before.


Then there were all the huge changes that have occurred over the history of RPGs! There was the release of White Wolf's Vampire the Masquerade in 1991 and the huge industry shift to storytelling games. There was the release of Magic the Gathering in 1993 and subsequent rise of collectible card games. There was the d20 boom (and later bust) when WotC released the industry-changing d20 License and Open Game License in 2000. There was the development of things like PDFs and print on demand that made RPG creation and distribution way easier. There was the rise and quick fall of 4th edition D&D and Paizo's 2009 release of Pathfinder, which has taken over as D&D's spiritual successor. I remember all of this as it happened, and I love it!


Overall, these books were a fun, nostalgic trip down memory lane. They include pictures of the covers of the major RPG releases that came out from each company. Beyond that, these books were an education on what has been a beloved hobby to me for over three decades. I highly recommend these to other people who grew up playing and loving role-playing games like I did. The electronic versions are only $10 each, and I think I got all four as a package deal for $30. It was worth every penny, and I'm thankful that the author--Shannon Applecline--took the time to research and write these to share with the world!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Designers & Dragons: The 00s
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Designers & Dragons: The 90s
by Chad B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2015 20:27:13

So I just finished reading all 1,672 pages of Designers & Dragons, a 4-volume history of the role-playing games industry. What most people would find ridiculously niche and boring, I found absolutely fascinating! So why did I find it so interesting? I'm writing this mostly to reflect on what I just read, but also as a kind of review.


I was born in 1974, the same year Dungeons & Dragons was released. I remember poring over my friend's brother's copy of the 1978 Player's Handbook in 1980 at the age of six, and I remember getting the original D&D red box set for Christmas in 1983 at the age of nine! The RPG hobby is more widespread and accepted today than it ever was back then. Thanks to things like Harry Potter, the Lord of the Rings movies, and World of Warcraft, the fantasy genre has become mainstream. Today's multi-billion dollar video game industry has roots in the RPG industry.


One of the most striking things to me was just how many RPG companies there actually were! Each chapter of these books covers one of 83 different companies that made significant contributions to the development of RPGs. But there were many other companies merely mentioned, bringing the grand total to around 200! That's crazy! There were the big ones, of course--TSR, White Wolf, Wizards of the Coast, etc. But I was shocked at how many smaller companies there were as well. A lot of them only lasted a few years, and many of them were licensees. I was also surprised at how many times games would change companies and/or licensees. And these books only barely touch upon fulfillment houses, cons, miniatures, fiction, and tabletop wargaming. Growing up, I would have guessed there were only around 50 companies making RPGs!


In fact, reading Designers & Dragons made me want to go look into and try a whole bunch of new games. I'm especially intrigued by some of the different game mechanics mentioned in less mainstream games. I've considered designing my own RPG, and now I want to research all the existing mechanics out there first. The whole indie RPG scene of the 00s was completely foreign to me. I barely knew it existed. Looking back, I see that my pre-internet exposure to new games was dependant on what I saw in game stores, ads inside the gaming books I purchased, and what friends or schoolmates introduced me to. The RPGs of my "formative years" include Dungeons & Dragons (in all its various settings), Star Frontiers, Car Wars, Shadowrun, BattleTech, Robotech, and even TMNT.


It was also cool seeing all the behind-the-scene elements. The RPG industry is a hard business. Most companies don't make much money or last long, and even the big companies eventually fall. It's more about creating something out of passion and exploring new ideas. Fun lies at the core of what RPG players--and designers--do. In fact, whenever a company became too large and corporate, their game lines seemed to suffer. It was interesting to see when companies figured out certain things that we now take for granted like the development of new character classes, splat books, adventure paths, etc. I like that these books spotlight such innovations and the awards that various games won for coming up with things no one had seen before.


Then there were all the huge changes that have occurred over the history of RPGs! There was the release of White Wolf's Vampire the Masquerade in 1991 and the huge industry shift to storytelling games. There was the release of Magic the Gathering in 1993 and subsequent rise of collectible card games. There was the d20 boom (and later bust) when WotC released the industry-changing d20 License and Open Game License in 2000. There was the development of things like PDFs and print on demand that made RPG creation and distribution way easier. There was the rise and quick fall of 4th edition D&D and Paizo's 2009 release of Pathfinder, which has taken over as D&D's spiritual successor. I remember all of this as it happened, and I love it!


Overall, these books were a fun, nostalgic trip down memory lane. They include pictures of the covers of the major RPG releases that came out from each company. Beyond that, these books were an education on what has been a beloved hobby to me for over three decades. I highly recommend these to other people who grew up playing and loving role-playing games like I did. The electronic versions are only $10 each, and I think I got all four as a package deal for $30. It was worth every penny, and I'm thankful that the author--Shannon Applecline--took the time to research and write these to share with the world!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Designers & Dragons: The 90s
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Designers & Dragons: The 80s
by Chad B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2015 20:26:33

So I just finished reading all 1,672 pages of Designers & Dragons, a 4-volume history of the role-playing games industry. What most people would find ridiculously niche and boring, I found absolutely fascinating! So why did I find it so interesting? I'm writing this mostly to reflect on what I just read, but also as a kind of review.


I was born in 1974, the same year Dungeons & Dragons was released. I remember poring over my friend's brother's copy of the 1978 Player's Handbook in 1980 at the age of six, and I remember getting the original D&D red box set for Christmas in 1983 at the age of nine! The RPG hobby is more widespread and accepted today than it ever was back then. Thanks to things like Harry Potter, the Lord of the Rings movies, and World of Warcraft, the fantasy genre has become mainstream. Today's multi-billion dollar video game industry has roots in the RPG industry.


One of the most striking things to me was just how many RPG companies there actually were! Each chapter of these books covers one of 83 different companies that made significant contributions to the development of RPGs. But there were many other companies merely mentioned, bringing the grand total to around 200! That's crazy! There were the big ones, of course--TSR, White Wolf, Wizards of the Coast, etc. But I was shocked at how many smaller companies there were as well. A lot of them only lasted a few years, and many of them were licensees. I was also surprised at how many times games would change companies and/or licensees. And these books only barely touch upon fulfillment houses, cons, miniatures, fiction, and tabletop wargaming. Growing up, I would have guessed there were only around 50 companies making RPGs!


In fact, reading Designers & Dragons made me want to go look into and try a whole bunch of new games. I'm especially intrigued by some of the different game mechanics mentioned in less mainstream games. I've considered designing my own RPG, and now I want to research all the existing mechanics out there first. The whole indie RPG scene of the 00s was completely foreign to me. I barely knew it existed. Looking back, I see that my pre-internet exposure to new games was dependant on what I saw in game stores, ads inside the gaming books I purchased, and what friends or schoolmates introduced me to. The RPGs of my "formative years" include Dungeons & Dragons (in all its various settings), Star Frontiers, Car Wars, Shadowrun, BattleTech, Robotech, and even TMNT.


It was also cool seeing all the behind-the-scene elements. The RPG industry is a hard business. Most companies don't make much money or last long, and even the big companies eventually fall. It's more about creating something out of passion and exploring new ideas. Fun lies at the core of what RPG players--and designers--do. In fact, whenever a company became too large and corporate, their game lines seemed to suffer. It was interesting to see when companies figured out certain things that we now take for granted like the development of new character classes, splat books, adventure paths, etc. I like that these books spotlight such innovations and the awards that various games won for coming up with things no one had seen before.


Then there were all the huge changes that have occurred over the history of RPGs! There was the release of White Wolf's Vampire the Masquerade in 1991 and the huge industry shift to storytelling games. There was the release of Magic the Gathering in 1993 and subsequent rise of collectible card games. There was the d20 boom (and later bust) when WotC released the industry-changing d20 License and Open Game License in 2000. There was the development of things like PDFs and print on demand that made RPG creation and distribution way easier. There was the rise and quick fall of 4th edition D&D and Paizo's 2009 release of Pathfinder, which has taken over as D&D's spiritual successor. I remember all of this as it happened, and I love it!


Overall, these books were a fun, nostalgic trip down memory lane. They include pictures of the covers of the major RPG releases that came out from each company. Beyond that, these books were an education on what has been a beloved hobby to me for over three decades. I highly recommend these to other people who grew up playing and loving role-playing games like I did. The electronic versions are only $10 each, and I think I got all four as a package deal for $30. It was worth every penny, and I'm thankful that the author--Shannon Applecline--took the time to research and write these to share with the world!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Designers & Dragons: The 80s
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Designers & Dragons: The 70s
by Chad B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2015 20:25:32

So I just finished reading all 1,672 pages of Designers & Dragons, a 4-volume history of the role-playing games industry. What most people would find ridiculously niche and boring, I found absolutely fascinating! So why did I find it so interesting? I'm writing this mostly to reflect on what I just read, but also as a kind of review.


I was born in 1974, the same year Dungeons & Dragons was released. I remember poring over my friend's brother's copy of the 1978 Player's Handbook in 1980 at the age of six, and I remember getting the original D&D red box set for Christmas in 1983 at the age of nine! The RPG hobby is more widespread and accepted today than it ever was back then. Thanks to things like Harry Potter, the Lord of the Rings movies, and World of Warcraft, the fantasy genre has become mainstream. Today's multi-billion dollar video game industry has roots in the RPG industry.


One of the most striking things to me was just how many RPG companies there actually were! Each chapter of these books covers one of 83 different companies that made significant contributions to the development of RPGs. But there were many other companies merely mentioned, bringing the grand total to around 200! That's crazy! There were the big ones, of course--TSR, White Wolf, Wizards of the Coast, etc. But I was shocked at how many smaller companies there were as well. A lot of them only lasted a few years, and many of them were licensees. I was also surprised at how many times games would change companies and/or licensees. And these books only barely touch upon fulfillment houses, cons, miniatures, fiction, and tabletop wargaming. Growing up, I would have guessed there were only around 50 companies making RPGs!


In fact, reading Designers & Dragons made me want to go look into and try a whole bunch of new games. I'm especially intrigued by some of the different game mechanics mentioned in less mainstream games. I've considered designing my own RPG, and now I want to research all the existing mechanics out there first. The whole indie RPG scene of the 00s was completely foreign to me. I barely knew it existed. Looking back, I see that my pre-internet exposure to new games was dependant on what I saw in game stores, ads inside the gaming books I purchased, and what friends or schoolmates introduced me to. The RPGs of my "formative years" include Dungeons & Dragons (in all its various settings), Star Frontiers, Car Wars, Shadowrun, BattleTech, Robotech, and even TMNT.


It was also cool seeing all the behind-the-scene elements. The RPG industry is a hard business. Most companies don't make much money or last long, and even the big companies eventually fall. It's more about creating something out of passion and exploring new ideas. Fun lies at the core of what RPG players--and designers--do. In fact, whenever a company became too large and corporate, their game lines seemed to suffer. It was interesting to see when companies figured out certain things that we now take for granted like the development of new character classes, splat books, adventure paths, etc. I like that these books spotlight such innovations and the awards that various games won for coming up with things no one had seen before.


Then there were all the huge changes that have occurred over the history of RPGs! There was the release of White Wolf's Vampire the Masquerade in 1991 and the huge industry shift to storytelling games. There was the release of Magic the Gathering in 1993 and subsequent rise of collectible card games. There was the d20 boom (and later bust) when WotC released the industry-changing d20 License and Open Game License in 2000. There was the development of things like PDFs and print on demand that made RPG creation and distribution way easier. There was the rise and quick fall of 4th edition D&D and Paizo's 2009 release of Pathfinder, which has taken over as D&D's spiritual successor. I remember all of this as it happened, and I love it!


Overall, these books were a fun, nostalgic trip down memory lane. They include pictures of the covers of the major RPG releases that came out from each company. Beyond that, these books were an education on what has been a beloved hobby to me for over three decades. I highly recommend these to other people who grew up playing and loving role-playing games like I did. The electronic versions are only $10 each, and I think I got all four as a package deal for $30. It was worth every penny, and I'm thankful that the author--Shannon Applecline--took the time to research and write these to share with the world!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Designers & Dragons: The 70s
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Three Rocketeers • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/19/2015 12:40:52

My only complaint is that I wish it were longer!


Three Rocketeers is a cinematic mash up of space opera and swashbuckling adventure, using an "even rules lighter" version of Fate!


This 40 page pdf gives you rules, including a "drill down" focus on fencing that enables you to differentiate all the different sword wielders in the game, an easy to read and expand upon background, several per-generated characters, and a complete adventure.


Admission 1: I am a patreon backer for Evil Hat, so I am the target audience for this
Admission 2: I am a HUGE Three Musketeers fan, so I really, really am the target audience for this.


I give this product 6 stars, 2 thumbs up, and my highest recommendation.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Three Rocketeers • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 31 to 45 (of 315 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates