DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Fate System Toolkit
by Jon L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2015 21:20:32
I have never used FATE Core rules yet but I am playing a game that will be utilizing those rules this weekend. They are easy and simple to learn, its a great system to use when trying to engulf your players in the story of your game. The system tool kit is very useful when trying to build your own game when in the back they give you some nice game scenerios like horror and resources to create a good game and campaign.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate System Toolkit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fate Accelerated Edition
by Jon L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2015 21:18:54
I have never used FATE Core rules yet but I am playing a game that will be utilizing those rules this weekend. They are easy and simple to learn, its a great system to use when trying to engulf your players in the story of your game. The accelerated edition expands on the rules a great deal. Very good system to use.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Accelerated Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Spirit of the Century
by Thomas W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/26/2015 04:51:13
Essentially Fate 3.0. Prepare for awesome rip-roaring adventures full of derring-do!

Very simple system that allows pick-up games in a few hours or longer campaigns. I am currently running a campaign using the system and it is some of the best, silliest adventuring I've ever had the pleasure to run.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Spirit of the Century
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fate Core System
by Thomas W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/26/2015 04:49:38
A nice update to a brilliant system. Easy to use for pick up and play story-driven RPGs. Very open to inexperienced players.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Core System
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Eagle Eyes • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/24/2015 14:05:31
As a lover of historical fiction, I think this is my favorite "World of adventure" for Fate so far.

Obviously, both the Roman setting and the noir genre are too big to tackle in this format, but this title gives you enough overview that you could fake your way through, and some guidance as to how to do more research. However, i was surprised that the section on Inspirational Materials did not actually mention any of the popular Roman detective series that exist in print - Lindsey Davis' Falso series, or Steven Saylor's Gordianus the Finder, or John Maddox Roberts SPQR series.

I especially like the advice on how to create conspiracies and mysteries, and how to handle things when your players solved things too fast.

Other things - liked the cover, interior art was fine, didn't notice any crazy grammer or spelling errors, game mechanics made sense, not crazy about renaming FAE approaches with Roman deity names but don't hate it....

In summation: Quick enjoyable read, a subject I like, a world I would love to play in and would consider to run as well. I would give 5 stars if it was a little longer, maybe included a map of the city and a list of Latin terms to throw around.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Eagle Eyes • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Eagle Eyes • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Winston C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/22/2015 06:24:10
The concept of Roman Noir is not one that seems immediately natural to me, but this setting makes it quite convincing.

(+) The book provides a decent overview of Roman life insofar as that information is useful to running a game and creating characters. The adventure builder is very nice for constructing a quick framework suited to impromptu noir tales, which typically take a good deal more effort. The flavored Fate Phase Trio provides excellent direction for the campaign as a whole and what the players want to get out of the game. Layout and readability is the high quality we've come to expect from Evil Hat.

(-) This book attempts to center stories on the unraveling of conspiracies within the setting. Unfortunately, constructing a conspiracy or using it in a game as an current or impending issue is given no treatment; the conspiracy is simply described as stress track which the characters are attempting to take out in order to end the story - and few details are provided on just how that is accomplished. This book lacks either the focus of a directional campaign or the detail of a complete setting. Campaign advice may be summed up as "emulate this list of tv shows."

(=) There are a few example adventures built using the generator, but they are only story seeds. Not bad, but I would have liked to seen them fleshed out. The art direction is heavily shaded and lacks detail. I suppose its evocative, but it's not to my taste. Overall, I don't think this book added anything to mechanics of the Fate system as far as using them in a noir or Roman setting, but I think it was more useful for running a Roman Noir campaign than simply reading the Wikipedia entries on the subject.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Eagle Eyes • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by David H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2015 16:37:21
Having given this a once over I am impressed by the art style, organization of the book, and writing. The concept is interesting, the level of detail gives a good foundation for a longer campaign but retains flexibility for a quick pickup game.

FAE is actually my preferred version of FATE and I really like the way the designer integrated Aspects and Approaches into the bones of the setting. I like that the author leaves it to the group using Eagle Eyes to determine the time period, and level of historical accuracy. This book seems to do justice to both the setting, and the genre that the author chose.

Just reading it has me thinking of myriad ways to use the information and how much fun it will be.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Core System
by Kevin T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/30/2015 20:05:05
A very simple system with a surprising amount of depth.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Core System
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Romance in the Air • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Chuck C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2015 15:49:50
This is an excellent way for a group to get rolling with a SteamPunk campaign - or a Fate campaign - or both - with very little preparation. The book walks you through launching your new game step by step, presenting a bunch of premade character sketches that you can add your own touches too, but leaving enough room to build characters from scratch if you want to. You'll need some familiarity with the concepts in the Fate Core rules to use this book well, but if you've read those rules and are saying "Now what?" this is the book you need.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Romance in the Air • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fate System Toolkit
by Alexander P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/18/2015 02:15:20
It's no secret that I'm desperately in love with the FATE system; I think it's elegant as hell, and use it for everything under the sun. How? That's where the Toolkit comes in.

With this book, you're looking at just shy of 200 pages worth of optional rules and game advice. Want to shake up the default skill list, or change the expected power level of the player characters? That's in here. Want a magic system in FATE? You'll get five different ones, plus cybernetics, superpowers, and advice for building your own subsystems. Need help turning FATE into a horror game? That's in the book, too. Class systems, squad combat, kung fu, social combat, swashbuckling, vehicles, mass warfare, help for setting design and character creation... if you can think of a topic, this book deals with it in an informative and easy-to-grasp manner.

The layout is clean, the art's functional (not great, not bad, but often unique; for every dwarf or wizard, there's a cybernetic gorilla or a six-armed alien swordsman), and the meat of the book is stellar. If you're playing FATE, you'll find something worth using between the covers. It comes with my highest praise.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate System Toolkit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dresden Files RPG: Paranet Papers: Vegas Chapter Early Preview
by jerome t. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/16/2015 15:24:12
I was a big fan of the books and now I'm a bigger fan of the game

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dresden Files RPG: Paranet Papers: Vegas Chapter Early Preview
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fate Core System
by Alexander P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/15/2015 20:41:07
FATE Core is my new favorite roleplaying system, and the most elegant thing I've ever run. It's getting to the point where I'm hesitant to play anything else, because it simply does the job that well.

FATE is a setting-agnostic rules-lite game with a heavy focus on fast play, cooperative storytelling, and the ability to do damn near anything you can imagine. The traditionally strong border between Game Master and player is broken down somewhat, with lots more power to shape the narrative given to players than usual. Modular mechanics are king in FATE, with the ability to add or strip out anything you could possibly want.

The game shines best when dealing with cinematic styles of play; I ran a pulp adventure game in the Eberron setting (normally from D&D; FATE shines in porting over existing settings with minimal effort) that had the players swinging through the jungle and swashbuckling on the rolling deck of a pirate ship with ease. FATE's rules are there to make play easier when they show up, and are otherwise unobtrusive and out of the way. Don't expect constant dice-rolling or rules memorization during play, nor any lengthy lists of equipment or spells.

Some will be put off by FATE's rules-lite nature, or the lack of a default setting. But for me? I'm head-over-heels in love.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Core System
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Romance in the Air • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Alexander P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/15/2015 20:35:06
Romance in the Air is a charming alternate history game that places its focus on faux-Victorian salon parties of the upper class and the Great Game played by the empires of a bygone age. For those who enjoy the trappings of the steampunk genre at its least-obnoxious, Romance makes for an entertaining read and a fun push for a night or three of play. The game doesn't do anything terribly innovative in terms of the FATE ruleset (a subsystem is briefly described for political maneuvering between nations, but it's not terribly deep; I'd love to see it fleshed out a a later date).

The art's not bad but not incredible, the fiction pleasant but a little bland, the rules functional but not fantastic. It's exactly what you'd want from the concept and nothing more.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Romance in the Air • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Psychedemia • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Alexander P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/15/2015 19:49:06
Take Ender's Game, add psychic powers, and make the whole thing a lot friendlier; you've got Psychedemia. Players take on the role of young adult psychic prodigies training at a secret military academy to become the first line of defense against various alien races. The concept is fresh, but the setting is frustratingly vague, and I don't see a full-length campaign being born from the material. Buy it if you want a few simple psychic power Skills, because there's not much else in it.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Psychedemia • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Aether Sea • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Alexander P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/15/2015 19:48:11
The Aether Sea is a sci-fantasy game that immediately brings back memories of old-school Spelljammer; classic fantasy races fly magical airships through the void. It's swashbuckling fun that doesn't have a lot of depth, but could definitely be built into a fun campaign with a lot of effort from the GM.

Where this product does shine is the airship combat system; the rules could easily be hacked apart and rebuilt into something for hard sci-fi, or a FATE take on Fantasy Flight Game's "Rogue Trader." Worth a look.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Aether Sea • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 31 to 45 (of 245 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates