DriveThruRPG.com
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Fate Core System
by brian w. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2017 12:18:57

I'd been hopeful about FATE ever since I heard about "a game that uses FUDGE dice." I backed the kickstarter at the hardcover level, and was impressed with how its creators maintained transparency, produced professional work, and kept backers updated.

But even slick layout and consistent design and organization wouldn't mean much if the game is not on-point. Fortunately, FATE is both clearly organized and fun to play.

My gaming group has run several sessions, and we've loved it since our initial session of setting up the campaign world. It's been a great ride so far, and we're looking forward to more FATE in the years to come.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Core System
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Karthun: Lands of Conflict
by Teos A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2017 20:39:16

I highly recommend this product. It is an excellent setting book with beautiful art and layout. I'm generally not a big fan of setting books, but this is an imaginative setting with some excellent concepts that grip you right away. And, those concepts are cool both for the players and the DM. For example, the former goddess of justice and valor has become the mournfull and dark godess of death! This appeals to the DM (making the gods dynamic and interesting, while tying into the threats Karthun deals with) and to the PCs (one of my PCs is trying to worship her old values and try to undo the change). Another example is the impending doom coming to the land, which becomes a compelling force for both players and DMs and ties to all of the setting aspects, from different cities to cosmology to the gods to the different player races.

Bottom line: this is a superb read, a beautiful book, super fun as a setting, and filled with ideas you can borrow for any setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Karthun: Lands of Conflict
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Karthun: Lands of Conflict
by Stephen B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/16/2017 14:52:38

Brian Patterson has given a gift to the gaming community. This book pulls together author's life long dream of sharing a fantasy setting that is packed with flavor. This book is perfect for anyone lookig for inspiration for a setting to run in for D&D, Pathfinder, or any system you choose.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Nitrate City • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Josh R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2017 13:47:21

I just read this FATE World supplement, and have fallen in love with the setting and characters. Like other Evil Hat-produced Fate World books, this is beautifully designed with stellar illustrations that capture the look and feel of a horror-infused Hollywood with a distinctly American comic book aesthetic. Young and White's Nitrate City setting itself is really fascinating: the "Big Flicker" event of 1948 shifted Hollywood and L.A. into a reality populated by movie archetypes: monsters, werewolves, vampires, gangsters, superheroes, etc. But this is not just flavor: Young and White modify the default approaches to mimic the genres of Hollywood films. Now Comedy, Horror, Drama, and Action are the default approaches, and drive narrative and actions in a way that feels like classic movies.

Suffice it to say, I am not itching to try this setting out!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Nitrate City • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dresden Files Accelerated
by Charles M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2017 15:04:56

Warning: The information in the book will spoil the plots of the Dresden books through Skin Game. If you don't like spoilers, tread lightly.

The PDF weighs in at 64 MB but doesn't feel like it. I tried it in Adobe Reader, EZ PDF Reader, and Moon+ PDF. It was smooth and quick in all three.

It's fully hyperlinked not only within the TOC and the index, but also within the text. If you see a reference to another page it's hyperlinked.

All chapter and subheadings appear in the PDF bookmarks table.

The text is in a single column format with margin-notes - which makes it idea for reading on a handheld device such as a phone or tablet. Text is black, Subheadings are purple. Chapter titles are in white on a purple background. Page margin contain the chapter title of the page, so you don't get lost.

The game is presented as a RPG game written by Ivy (the oracle) with notes from Kinkade (her hit man). It's cute.

The art is dresden-appropriate and not excessive.

This is one of the best PDFs I've come across. Initially, I blanched at the idea of paying more than $10 for a PDF. Most of them aren't worth it (epescially the trainwreck that is the Coriollis PDF). ...but I pulled the trigger based on interest in the game and the source material. It is well worth it.

(If you've seen the version of this that leaked to backers a few months ago, this is a much improved version of that document. Buy it, you will not be disappointed.)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dresden Files Accelerated
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dresden Files RPG Casefile: Evil Acts
by Dan S. O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/24/2017 12:46:56

Super fun one shot to play Dresden Files with. Loved it a lot. I wouldn't play this is your first DFRPG experience though.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dresden Files RPG Casefile: Evil Acts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Venture City • A Superpunk Sourcebook for Fate Core
by Josh H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/17/2017 13:35:11

Since my friends and I love to run supers, and we've been using FATE since we discovered it, this was a godsend! Easily quantified powers, we had to do so little work on the boring stuff (crunch) so we could get to quickly telling dramatic stories about our favorite supers-ours!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Venture City • A Superpunk Sourcebook for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Do: Fate of the Flying Temple
by Myron B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/24/2017 13:28:14

A Very Kid-Friendly RPG

In Do the players take on the role of pilgrim monks who journey around their world solving problems. Interestingly, despite the strong Wuxia feel of the setting, they do this without beating people up. This emphasis on non-violent resolution is part of Do's kid-friendly design. It's intentionally designed to be a game you can safely play with your kids and use to introduce kids to the tabletop RPG hobby.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Do: Fate of the Flying Temple
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Young Centurions
by Myron B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/24/2017 13:26:18

With Young Centurions, Evil Hat expands on the world first introduce back in Spirit of the Century. Here we see the Centrions in the pre-war years, when they were still teenagers. Young Centurians is a stand-alone game using the Fate Accelerated Edition ruleset. A good choice as FAE's approaches fit better with young characters that Fate Core's skill list would, since even pulp adventurers wouldn't be highly skilled at that age.

The setting receives some welcome fleshing out. In addition to providing more detail about the years 1910-19, Young Centurions also gives us a closer look at the Shadows and the internal structure of the Century Club.

The book also provides some very useful suggestions for running "kid-oriented" adventures—such as making use of mentors, keeping the tone kid-friendly, and even an handy guide to childhood development.

All in all, a very solid game and a must have for pulp enthusiasts.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Young Centurions
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fate Core System
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2017 14:36:34

Very dope. I started with the free pdf, and now I have the hard cover for core and the toolkit. There are lots of examples, and it's pretty easy to grasp. So far my group has enjoyed it. Infact, one of the members enjoyed the simplicity and versatility so much that went out, bought dice, and is starting up his own games! Fate Core has budded!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Core System
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Andromeda • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Ryan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2017 18:18:25

This setting pulled me in hard. I love the epic drama, the system for advancing personal and faction agendas, and the incredibly simple rules for alien civilizations and PCs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Andromeda • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dresden Files RPG Casefile: Neutral Grounds
by Jeremiah E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2017 10:46:38

Being a fan of the Dresdenverse, I have enjoyed this adventure and felt like it fit into the "feeling" of Jim Butcher's world. Easy to read and it ran fairly quickly with the players enjoying the session. No issues with the adventure, but at the time we were new the mechanics of the rules and it took us a bit to get the hang of the part.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dresden Files RPG Casefile: Neutral Grounds
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Andromeda • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Alfred R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/06/2017 08:54:14

Awesome art throughout, although one or two pieces caught my eye as a little lacking. Deeply, deeply interesting setting that feels ready to use -- exactly what you want from these World products, and very impressive given how very weird and far-out this particular entry is. I really like the factions and find their motivations are excellently set-up to serve as jumping-off points for players; they're primed for conflict and drama from the get-go. I could see a game of Andromeda easily capturing some Game of Thrones-style politicking and maneuvering. I really love the way that the Deck of Fate is woven into the DNA of this game: it uses every aspect of the Deck of Fate in everything it does, making it feel integral to the game and even serving to drive home the 'alien-ness' of the far-off future Andromeda setting. I equally appreciate that the Deck of Fate isn't required for playing, but I'm convinced if I find the time to play this I will be using the Deck.

If I have one complaint about this product, it is that it lacks a starter scenario. On one hand, I understand why it doesn't: the game is meant to be very specific to your group. Your group defines what generation your ark is, what its people are like, what agendas your factions have, and you randomly determine what alien life you come across. Its all very subjective. That said, the tagline for Worlds of Adventure is "The Fate Adventures & Worlds line provides compact, rich, affordable, gorgeous settings with a ready-to-go adventure for GMs in a pinch" and there simply is not a ready-to-go adventure in this game. I honestly do not think anyone buy this book and run it in the same day, simply because of what a specific and unique style of play it promotes. A simple scenario or a skeleton demonstrating what a scenario might look or play out like would be a very welcome addition. That said, this remains an excellent product.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Andromeda • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Masters of Umdaar • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/24/2016 08:57:52

The World of Adventure series is a great Pay What You Want series of various worlds to adventure in and to inspire other games. Master of Umdaar is one of my favorite, reminiscient of the fantasy / future cartoons of the 80s. This is certainly one of the best worlds created though I recommend all of them.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Masters of Umdaar • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Red Planet • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Jon F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/19/2016 06:06:06

An exciting and well conceived pulp "rocket ships and ray guns" type sci fi setting for Fate Core Rpg. The thing that makes it particularly interesting and different from standard fare, is the basic premise that the players characters are all heroic loyal citizens of a Utopian Mars colony. Adventures will have them struggling against oppression from Earth, and against implacable alien foes. Like the best of the Fate "Worlds of Adventure" books, Red Planet gives just enough setting detail to provide a springboard for GMs and players to create hours of interplanetary adventure. As with other "Worlds" books in the series, there are character generation rules with a few sample setting-appropriate character stunts, some details of the technology available, and rules, or subsystems to add flavour for the particular setting. In this case the new rules are concerned with detailing political and philosophical debate or "conversion", which leads me on to the subject of the controversy that has accompanied the release of this book. What has made this a contraversial setting, and has led to some fairly rabid reviews of it, and critical ccomments about it, in certain discussion groups, is that the Utopia depicted is a communist society. Some of these critics seem to have taken it as implicit, that the society depicted in this game as "communist", to be an endorsement of 20th Century earth communist states. As if the game is attempting to promote the idea that these are somehow utopian or admirable societies. That is not my reading of it however, as the Red Planet book clearly explained the Martian Communist Utopia has amongst it's enemies the earth based Soviet Union, as well as capitalist America. (and incidentally The book also includes a fairly lengthy sidebar detailing the very real evils of the historical Soviet style Communist regimes), clearly indicating that the team involved in its production, at least, are well able to distinguish between real world societies, and their real problems, and playing games; role-playing in fictional worlds, with fictional problems). Interesting, and saddening, that this setting with its depiction of an idealised Communist Utopia with lofty goals of working for the common good, should be more offensive, than, say, the default sci fi RPG mode of "space bastards" making money. But of course, each to their own. Well done Evil Hat, and author Jess Nevins, for packing so much setting, intrigue, and down right "this would make an awesome game" into such a small package. Good work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Red Planet • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 348 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates