DriveThruRPG.com
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Dresden Files RPG Casefile: Evil Acts
by Dan S. O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/24/2017 12:46:56

Super fun one shot to play Dresden Files with. Loved it a lot. I wouldn't play this is your first DFRPG experience though.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dresden Files RPG Casefile: Evil Acts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Venture City • A Superpunk Sourcebook for Fate Core
by Josh H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/17/2017 13:35:11

Since my friends and I love to run supers, and we've been using FATE since we discovered it, this was a godsend! Easily quantified powers, we had to do so little work on the boring stuff (crunch) so we could get to quickly telling dramatic stories about our favorite supers-ours!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Venture City • A Superpunk Sourcebook for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Do: Fate of the Flying Temple
by Myron B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/24/2017 13:28:14

A Very Kid-Friendly RPG

In Do the players take on the role of pilgrim monks who journey around their world solving problems. Interestingly, despite the strong Wuxia feel of the setting, they do this without beating people up. This emphasis on non-violent resolution is part of Do's kid-friendly design. It's intentionally designed to be a game you can safely play with your kids and use to introduce kids to the tabletop RPG hobby.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Do: Fate of the Flying Temple
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Young Centurions
by Myron B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/24/2017 13:26:18

With Young Centurions, Evil Hat expands on the world first introduce back in Spirit of the Century. Here we see the Centrions in the pre-war years, when they were still teenagers. Young Centurians is a stand-alone game using the Fate Accelerated Edition ruleset. A good choice as FAE's approaches fit better with young characters that Fate Core's skill list would, since even pulp adventurers wouldn't be highly skilled at that age.

The setting receives some welcome fleshing out. In addition to providing more detail about the years 1910-19, Young Centurions also gives us a closer look at the Shadows and the internal structure of the Century Club.

The book also provides some very useful suggestions for running "kid-oriented" adventures—such as making use of mentors, keeping the tone kid-friendly, and even an handy guide to childhood development.

All in all, a very solid game and a must have for pulp enthusiasts.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Young Centurions
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fate Core System
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2017 14:36:34

Very dope. I started with the free pdf, and now I have the hard cover for core and the toolkit. There are lots of examples, and it's pretty easy to grasp. So far my group has enjoyed it. Infact, one of the members enjoyed the simplicity and versatility so much that went out, bought dice, and is starting up his own games! Fate Core has budded!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Core System
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Andromeda • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Ryan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2017 18:18:25

This setting pulled me in hard. I love the epic drama, the system for advancing personal and faction agendas, and the incredibly simple rules for alien civilizations and PCs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Andromeda • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dresden Files RPG Casefile: Neutral Grounds
by Jeremiah E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2017 10:46:38

Being a fan of the Dresdenverse, I have enjoyed this adventure and felt like it fit into the "feeling" of Jim Butcher's world. Easy to read and it ran fairly quickly with the players enjoying the session. No issues with the adventure, but at the time we were new the mechanics of the rules and it took us a bit to get the hang of the part.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dresden Files RPG Casefile: Neutral Grounds
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Andromeda • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Alfred R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/06/2017 08:54:14

Awesome art throughout, although one or two pieces caught my eye as a little lacking. Deeply, deeply interesting setting that feels ready to use -- exactly what you want from these World products, and very impressive given how very weird and far-out this particular entry is. I really like the factions and find their motivations are excellently set-up to serve as jumping-off points for players; they're primed for conflict and drama from the get-go. I could see a game of Andromeda easily capturing some Game of Thrones-style politicking and maneuvering. I really love the way that the Deck of Fate is woven into the DNA of this game: it uses every aspect of the Deck of Fate in everything it does, making it feel integral to the game and even serving to drive home the 'alien-ness' of the far-off future Andromeda setting. I equally appreciate that the Deck of Fate isn't required for playing, but I'm convinced if I find the time to play this I will be using the Deck.

If I have one complaint about this product, it is that it lacks a starter scenario. On one hand, I understand why it doesn't: the game is meant to be very specific to your group. Your group defines what generation your ark is, what its people are like, what agendas your factions have, and you randomly determine what alien life you come across. Its all very subjective. That said, the tagline for Worlds of Adventure is "The Fate Adventures & Worlds line provides compact, rich, affordable, gorgeous settings with a ready-to-go adventure for GMs in a pinch" and there simply is not a ready-to-go adventure in this game. I honestly do not think anyone buy this book and run it in the same day, simply because of what a specific and unique style of play it promotes. A simple scenario or a skeleton demonstrating what a scenario might look or play out like would be a very welcome addition. That said, this remains an excellent product.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Andromeda • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Masters of Umdaar • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/24/2016 08:57:52

The World of Adventure series is a great Pay What You Want series of various worlds to adventure in and to inspire other games. Master of Umdaar is one of my favorite, reminiscient of the fantasy / future cartoons of the 80s. This is certainly one of the best worlds created though I recommend all of them.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Masters of Umdaar • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Red Planet • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Jon F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/19/2016 06:06:06

An exciting and well conceived pulp "rocket ships and ray guns" type sci fi setting for Fate Core Rpg. The thing that makes it particularly interesting and different from standard fare, is the basic premise that the players characters are all heroic loyal citizens of a Utopian Mars colony. Adventures will have them struggling against oppression from Earth, and against implacable alien foes. Like the best of the Fate "Worlds of Adventure" books, Red Planet gives just enough setting detail to provide a springboard for GMs and players to create hours of interplanetary adventure. As with other "Worlds" books in the series, there are character generation rules with a few sample setting-appropriate character stunts, some details of the technology available, and rules, or subsystems to add flavour for the particular setting. In this case the new rules are concerned with detailing political and philosophical debate or "conversion", which leads me on to the subject of the controversy that has accompanied the release of this book. What has made this a contraversial setting, and has led to some fairly rabid reviews of it, and critical ccomments about it, in certain discussion groups, is that the Utopia depicted is a communist society. Some of these critics seem to have taken it as implicit, that the society depicted in this game as "communist", to be an endorsement of 20th Century earth communist states. As if the game is attempting to promote the idea that these are somehow utopian or admirable societies. That is not my reading of it however, as the Red Planet book clearly explained the Martian Communist Utopia has amongst it's enemies the earth based Soviet Union, as well as capitalist America. (and incidentally The book also includes a fairly lengthy sidebar detailing the very real evils of the historical Soviet style Communist regimes), clearly indicating that the team involved in its production, at least, are well able to distinguish between real world societies, and their real problems, and playing games; role-playing in fictional worlds, with fictional problems). Interesting, and saddening, that this setting with its depiction of an idealised Communist Utopia with lofty goals of working for the common good, should be more offensive, than, say, the default sci fi RPG mode of "space bastards" making money. But of course, each to their own. Well done Evil Hat, and author Jess Nevins, for packing so much setting, intrigue, and down right "this would make an awesome game" into such a small package. Good work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Red Planet • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Knights of Invasion • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Kyrinn E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/17/2016 12:35:01

Let me preface this review by saying that I really don't like FATE at all. I download these settings when they look interesting, and most fall flat for me as very niche ideas or what have you...

This one, however, is really good, like, REALLY GOOD. I recommend players of any fantasy RPG system to pay something to download this setting module. The artwork is quirky, and at times, downright lovely. Wait until you see the Emerald Knight in its full glory, or the alien line up piece.

OK, what is this about? A low tech setting, potentially fantastical, but mediaeval-like in technology and feudal set up, is invaded by space (or dimensional) aliens. Which aliens? A quick idea generator is included, as well as defined powers for comparison to other systems, for outlining them in a manner germane to your chosen game system.

Imagine the Emerald Knight as a Green Slaad and the invaders as Githyanki, for instance.

Again, well worth a paid download.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Knights of Invasion • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fate Core System
by Andrew D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/17/2016 10:39:27

I am currently in a campaign of Fate Core System with some friends of mine and i absoultely fell in love with the game. So much so that I decided to start my own campaign of it. I had only previously played DnD in terms of RPGs and the thing I hated about it was how insignificant charcater development was. So when I found Fate, I loved how you literally can't play the game without developing your character. I also love how open-ended it is with genre. My friend's game is a fantasy theme with a "Game of Thrones" feel to it while my theme is a fantasy-steam punk crossover. My only critique of it is the manual doesn't explain how damage works very well. Other than that, I highly recomend this RPG.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Core System
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Red Planet • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by jam c. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/16/2016 12:36:46

Based on comunist sorry usa usa usa !! Who makes this up? Not in my games and not in anything that I actually would pay money for. What does this teach us nothing but a false doctrine of hate ie Comunistic proproganda. Why do they even have this up on site should be banned.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Red Planet • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
I look forward to an updated review from you when you've actually read Red Planet, as this provides little evidence you did.
Aether Sea • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by D. R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/12/2016 01:00:23

4/5 Stars. Because I don't really understand how to apply approaches in FAE. I feel really comfortable with Fate Core skills. FAE almost seems "handwavium" at times in its approach to approaches (oh yeah I went there). I know folks have made all sorts of comments about "This should have been called FAE." "Or it really doesn't matter Fate Core and FAE are the same thing." I don't know about that. Personally I cannot get the hang of FAE. Approaches seem to be open to entirely too much abuse especially by players with the gift of gab.

Be that as it may, truthfully this is a delightful setting. First and foremost, this is a Fate Worlds of Adventure setting that means it is spare in detail. Typically Worlds of Adventure Settings are only about 50 to 60 pages. You can cram a lot into that many pages and Evil Hat and its contributors typically do so. But that still means there is only 50 to 60 pages and only so much setting material is going to make it in there. Especially if there are new rules or new ways to use old rules. Another thing typical of World's of Adventure Settings are they are professionally done. Production values are through the roof. Great art. Great editing. Each Book follows an almost identical format. Each is crisp, clean, and with enough detail to get you started.

Which brings up point number two; this is to get you started and your creative juices flowing. This is not that stack of Warcheese 20K books, or B&B 10th Ed, that require a stack of books as tall as I am. (I am about as tall as a half-welf from B&B). Worlds are yours to do with as you please.

In this setting you are presented with a Firefly meets Spelljammer type setting. You have a ship that is magic enough to fly through space and reach its destination barring any GM spawned distractions. Problem is that magic is expensive to maintain and you are on the fringes of the core worlds, maybe because your Ship's captain and a large percentage of the crew were on the losing side of a war with the Royal Hegemony or your mage has a problem with the Spell Casters Union. You gotta do what it takes to keep the ship flying (sailing?).

There are rules for spell casting. Not like B&B. More like "My Goblin Mage has the aspect, 'Fire, Fire, Fire' and the stunt 'Focused Flame Evoker' so I think I will set the pirates on fire." Then you roll your appropriate action/approach combination as per the FAE rules. There are rules for dabblers, focused users, raw magic users, or prepared spell users. I will not waste a bunch of time explaining all this.

There are rules for making a ship! This ship's aspects will be based on the aspects of the crew (meaning player characters). Very cool. Very straight forward. Your ship is pretty much like another PC.

If you want an FAE version of Firefly meets Spelljammer this is for you. If you are going to play beyond the first adventure you are going to have to flesh it out some more.

If you want a Fate Core version PWYW for "Sails full of Stars" another great Worlds of Adventure setting and combine the two. They don't match exactly but making changes and creating a new storyline can be a blast.

There is a vibrant Fate community on Google+. There are tons of good ideas percolating there for this setting. It's a great setting and it isn't going to cost you much. Having said that I am a Patreon supporter and I would really encourage you to pay something. The folks that make these settings are top notch and the monetary support they receive will go a long way toward encouraging them to make more.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Aether Sea • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Red Planet • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by D. R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/11/2016 17:33:36

First, I am giving this a 4 out of 5 stars not for any production issue or for any game play issue. I am a Patreon supporter of the Worlds of Adventure for Fate Core and FAE. This setting meets or exceeds all the game play criteria of any of the Evil Hat Settings out produced to date.

There are some well thought out new additions to Fate's version of skinning the cat. If you are a Fate fan you know that the is game is all about fun and not so much about the rules. The first or Golden Rule of Fate is to describe what you are trying to do before trying to come up with the "proper" mechanics. Fate is flexible on so many levels in dealing with obstacles, problems, dice rolls etc. Skills, or aspects, or even declarations of fact (using Aspects and Fate Points) can solve problems. So when a setting introduces new mechanics (or a new way to solve a problem) it is fun to see how Fate can accomodate those new mechanics. Pilot Skill isn't really something new. It is Drive skill reskinned. Several other settings include a very similar reskinning of the Drive skill. Renown skill is new in that it kind of mashes up some effects of Rapport, Contacts, and Resources. It represents your fame and how readily you can cash in on it. This is important because your characters live in a Communist Utopia. Resources no longer represents personal wealth; you don't have any. Resources represent how readily you can acquire the use of resources from the state to achieve your missions.

Conversion rules is an interesting wild card. You run some pretty typical Fate challenge to get NPCs to join your cause (Communism). You can do this even while the death rays are splattering the hull all around you. These rules add a fun touch to the pulp action for characters who aren't necessarily combat heavy types. How much more fun can you have as a Commisar than engaging in materialist dialectic with evil Americans while your brawny New Woman takes apart uses her immense combat prowess to pulp the less enlightened American mooks.

Here is where the four star rating comes in. Ideology. If you are an older gamer who remembers the Cold war and Communist rhetoric a bit more immediately than younger gamers who only know it from history books; this setting may leave you a bit cold. Jess Nevins always does a stellar job on his settings. He even dedicated a page to the evils of real life communism. That page can not make up for a lack of real life experience of communism's heinous record. On the Fate Google+ community there have been commentators that feel this setting seems akin to playing Nazi PCs. Those individuals who lived through the Cold War are probably going to have some strong reactions to the premise of this setting.

Remember once you have it, it is yours to change. It is a pulp setting so it doesn't really invite you to look under the hood at ideology all that much; it is about square jawed heros punching weak chinned ne'er do wells. If the setting doesn't tickle your fancy change it up. Maybe the Communists in the setting are more akin to the Empire of Space Opera fame and your PCs look more like a Rogue unit trying to throw a wrench in the works. So all the setting material in the book becomes self promoting propaganda instead of the actual truth. The great thing about Fate is its ability to mimic just about anything you care to throw at it. Frankly the price is right.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Red Planet • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 343 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates