DriveThruRPG.com
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
100 Oddities for a Creepy Old House
by Timothy M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2017 15:24:54

Skirmisher is right on with their "100 Oddities" series, and this one is up there with the others. Each of the items has just enough information to allow a game referee (whatever nomenclature you use) to drop a hook on. The oddites presented can be used as simple window dressing, advising your players of the kinds of things they encounter along a path, or developed in its own right to become subquests or possibly even items of some power.

For the minute amount charged for the product, the value is astounding. Pick an Oddity and have a go at it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Creepy Old House
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Adventures in Wonderland: A Sourcebook for OGL Roleplaying Games
by Clint S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/17/2017 10:47:49

I enjoyed Adventures in Wonderland a Lot! The whimsical illustrations of Arthur Rackham pair well with the treatment of the material, which provides you with everything yiou need to introduce your party to the Magical World of Wonderland! I especially liked the Template for "Wonderland Animal" and the Card Person Description and Statblock!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventures in Wonderland: A Sourcebook for OGL Roleplaying Games
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
100 Oddities for a Treasure Hoard
by Jason A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/14/2017 23:40:06

I really enjoy these as seeds for full adventures or side-quests, especially given the additional roles determining the ture nature of a piece of treasure. You can throw gems and coin at your players, but giving them options, or tempting them into a trap by a statue that might possess them, a chest that might lead to another plane, or a target being put on their heads for just having the loot in their bag, I love that kind of color added to a dungeon delve. As usual, really fun art that also leads to some ideas and a barfing whale....



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Treasure Hoard
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
100 Oddities for a Treasure Hoard
by Richard P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/14/2017 08:08:33

Another superb entry into the oddity series. The usual creative smorgesbord is here with ideas aplenty. Legend checks add a layer of extra depth, giving lore and plot hooks to some extra special items. I think my favourite is 31, a golden Idol with a very familiar sounding name. At the back of the list are some tables to generate random coinage which I particularly like.

Buy it! It's dirt cheap but worth its weight in gold.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
100 Oddities for a Treasure Hoard
by Wilfredo M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/13/2017 20:32:37

You might think: another one of these? Aren't treasure lists a dime a dozen? Ah, but Skirmisher's are more than just a collection of coins and items. They provide plot hooks- intended to give the GM ideas for events within the game.

This particular Oddities book offers more possibilities than ever. That's because some of the d100 results require further rolls for description- meaning you have more than a hundred possible oddities! Add to it the new Legend Check feature- which gives specific rather than generic story backgrounds to certain items on a succesful spell or skill check- and you could build a campaign on the findings of your treasure hoards alone!

Also included is a Coin Generator that allows GMs to create unique coin types for his or her setting if desired.

As usual, the book is whimsically yet exactingly illustrated by William. T. Trasher.

Overall, 100 Oddities for a Treasure Hoard is probably the most useful volume in the series yet.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
100 Oddities for a Treasure Hoard
by Tom H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/13/2017 20:26:06

Another great entry in the 100 Oddities series. The ever sought after treasure hoard and loot is too often treated as a casual tally or inventory list that is handed out after a challenge is completed or a monster defeated. This GM supplement turns a treasure room into a series of potential plot hooks, dangers or just "odd" gems to entertain and engage players. Counting coins and valuables was never quite so strange... Recommended along with all the other Oddities supplements.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
100 Oddities for a Creepy Old House
by Loke v. P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/13/2017 14:52:51

This was a given purchase for me as soon as I laid eyes on it; it's weird, it's creepy, it's got mansions, everything! I wasn't disappointed having read through it either, I don't think there's been a single one of them I've seen without going "Huh, what if...?" or "This could fit in really well riiiiight here...". They are, you might say, the seeds of plot hooks; they're lying there, being all mysterious and begging for a storyline to reel people into. You have to put in a little bit of work as GM to able to use them as story tools, but (for me, at least) they make that work so much easier. Well worth the $1 or $2 price tag, and I would still feel I'd gotten my money's worth even if they were a dollar more.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Creepy Old House
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
100 Oddities for a Treasure Hoard
by Ford F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/13/2017 10:56:21

The players have found the treasure! Or have they? This supplement is an invaluable tool for any GM in any game. Rewards come with a price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Treasure Hoard
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
100 Oddities for a Treasure Hoard
by Christopher C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2017 22:02:24

As with the other "100 Oddities..." titles, this product is designed to help GM's create more unique encounters. "100 Oddities for a Treasure Horde" is chock full of great items. Items that are much more than just a pile of coins and a handful of gemstones. This product is great for GM's in a hurry or need a special item in a pinch. This lets the GM create fun treasure hordes, great or small, that are as interesting as the players.

Another great set of random tables from Skirmisher Publishing and well worth the price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Men & Monsters of Ethiopia: An RPG Sourcebook for 5th Edition
by Nicholas D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2017 18:59:42

The Good: Flavor and stats for a few creatures and NPCs which is always good if it means I don't have to make them myself!

Some of the entries are really pretty unique. I especially like the Brown Dragon addition to the Chromatic Dragons. I'd go so far as to say that this is all you needed if you were simply looking to run a historical campaign based around Ethiopia!

Over all not too terribly priced, but in any case I bought it on sale.

The Bad: While I understand that according to myth they are accurate, but certain monsters seemed just silly like the Unipod or whatever, just kind of absurd.

On another note, there were one or two copies of creatures that are already a part of the Monster Manuals and Volo's Guide

Even further, some entries specifically state to use the appropriate Monster Manual entry! Lacking in content to truly call itseld a source 'book'.

Conclusion: Totally worth it if you can buy it on sale, but I wouldn't pay more than a 5 spot to be honest. 4 stars because of the price I payed really.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Men & Monsters of Ethiopia: An RPG Sourcebook for 5th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Aigyptos: A Gazetteer for 5th Edition
by Heath F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2017 10:52:24
Once again the Skirmisher crew delivers the goods!

A great literary piece from the Swords of Kos setting, this time in 5th ed scripting. Ready to use within the SoK setting or drop any of the content directly into your own campaign! Concise and quality! I especially like the guardians..... but telling any more would spoil the fun!

A solid 5 star effort! :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Aigyptos: A Gazetteer for 5th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Aigyptos: A Gazetteer for 5th Edition
by Richard P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/02/2017 01:52:30

What a fantastic little guide this book is. I must mention the art first - it is colorful eye-catching and very evocative of the setting. I can see many of the pictures providing great inspiration for tokens for Roll20 and the like.

The actual book itself is great. It is designed to complement Skirmisher's Swords of Kos setting but can also be used as  a standalone product. I can see players of 5e Dark Sun and Al Qadim games finding many uses from the monsters, encounters and table herein.

There is a great overview of the area, including a map, to give you an idea of how the region feels to adventurebe in. The new creatures themselves are wonderfully detailed - the stat blocks are very clear and stand out well from the text (in fact the layout of the whole product is well thought out altogether). I I think my favourite part is the Aigyption Background. There are some great Bonds, Traits, Flaws and Ideals that work really well for this and other games. I don't want to give everything away so I'll leave it there but if you've bought any Skirmisher products you know the high level of quality you'll be getting with this one too for a  great   price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
100 Oddities for an Enchanted Forest
by Jason A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2017 13:49:19

Forests can be so boring, but I used this book to add some interesting sidequests, some flavor to the traveling between towns, between modules, and even in the middle of a plot, with enough dread and fantasy to make it worth the price. Great if you want to add to your game or even start a new campaign off some of these seeds. Bonus, watch out for the Wild Hunt.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for an Enchanted Forest
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
100 Oddities for an Enchanted Forest
by Rick N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2017 15:32:04

This is a nice mix of very flexible ideas. Some just scream to be turned into fully fleshed-out scenarios (or even campaigns), and linking two or three together can easily provide enough material to build several sessions worth of play. Most of them can also be peppered in to an existing adventure to provide a little bit of colour and interest without derailing the main story - adding some depth to the world, while still letting the PCs keep their focus and agency.

A great collection of story seeds.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
100 Oddities for an Enchanted Forest
by Richard P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2017 10:05:53

Love the ideas, love the art. Some really thought-provoking encounters here to inspire you.

This series is awesome but each product is individual so you do not need to own any of the others to get the full benefit.

My players are just finishing White Plume Mountain and have a forest to return through next week, looks like they will be encountering an oddity or three...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 337 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates