DriveThruRPG.com
Browse
 Información de la editorial









Regresar
Otros comentarios dejados por esta editorial:
Secrets of New Orleans
por Ryan I. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 08/04/17 19:21:39

The Secrets of New Orleans is a great companion for creating a near-real world campaign in 1920's New Orleans. If you were to play Call of Cthulhu in New Orleans this would be a must. You would have to do some converting if you were playing 7th Ed, but not much. I'm using it to run a Savage World's based Noir Game set in New Orleans (I know there is Deadlands Noir, but I didn't want the world to be that far out). It has been super helpful. It covers big topics like Social Stratification, the different groups within New Orleans, many important and weird districs, and deals a bit with the bayou as well. A great read at a resonable price.



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
Secrets of New Orleans
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Argan Argar Atlas
por JD S. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 07/04/17 03:10:16

While the maps are comprehensive and exhaustive in this product, I deducted a star because there are no roads shown. On a scale of five miles per hex there is no excuse for displaying major roads.

I also deducted a star because the key is only printed on thelarge-scale overview masps, and are unreadable; a comprehensive map isd of little use without a key.



Puntuación:
[3 de 5 estrellas!]
Argan Argar Atlas
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Secrets
por S. J. R. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 06/23/17 18:29:05

The PDF (even graded on the curve of a scanned book) could be greatly improved on a technical level (contrast and alignment, bookmarks, print clarity, etc), but technical matters aren't the reason to buy (or not buy) this book. Secrets delivers exactly where you want it to, with evocative, reliable single-session adventures. The first in the collection, A Love in Need, is one I've GMed dozens of times for as many groups, not only as a CoC run but even adapting it to my Uresia campaigns. It's an entertaining and instructive example of an adventure designed so (A) the players have the freedom to create and explore their own solutions but (B) the adventure still ticks along with strong pacing and a certain conclusion ... because events at the Sanderson Boarding House operate on their own timetable. The level of interference with the horror underway is up to the PCs, and the quality of their interference is up to their investigative skills, boldness, and quick thinking. The cast of NPCs is memorable, and there's a smart mix of physical clues and dialogue-focused mystery-solving. A Love in Need is, in simple terms, one of my favorite one-shot adventures, for this or any other game. If your players have never waxed philosophical with the The Amazing Kraygen, they're overdue.



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
Secrets
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Call of Cthulhu 7th Edition Keeper Screen Pack
por Scott F. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 06/07/17 11:49:35

I'm very disappointed in this product. For some bizarre reason they have provided the printable PDFs oriented in landscape orientation (so they are wide but short), rather than the traditional portrait orientation. Which is extra weird, because if you buy the actual, hardcover screen, it's in portrait orientation! And look, not many people have folders that unfold in a horizontal orientation, so I'm not sure how they think you're going to use these.

And keep in mind, I'm reviewing the newest release - they give you printable files, it's not just the giant and nearly unprintable ones it looks like (from reviews below) they originally had. The printouts are also tough to read, the charts are confusing...overall, annoyed I spent the money. Don't be me, save your cash!



Puntuación:
[1 de 5 estrellas!]
Call of Cthulhu 7th Edition Keeper Screen Pack
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Call of Cthulhu Investigator Handbook 7th Edition
por Alan S. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 05/05/17 12:27:16

The Most interesting thing about this book is that it has no rules in it.....The book focuses Solely on character creation and role playing....It does not even tell you how to roll dice. All of that stuff is in the hands of the Keeper, as it should be. A pretty bold move for a book of this type and I like it. A cool book. It has extra character options lots of great information about the era and the genre to help role playing. If you are a player it is a great option.



Puntuación:
[4 de 5 estrellas!]
Call of Cthulhu Investigator Handbook 7th Edition
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Children of the Storm
por Thomas P. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 03/24/17 15:54:00

This is a collection of adventures in a cthulhuid version of the early 40s in North America, an era known as the Great Depression.

The books starts with an essay about the era. For me it was an interesting and atmospheric dense read (as I'm european, I haven't know much about this era in America before). It gives some idea for player character backgrounds but has very few (if any) information about the Cthulhu myth. It inspired me to have a look into Steinbeck's 'The Grapes of Wrath'.

However, the adventure fall short to this. They all fall into the category 'hounded house'. And it does not help that this theme is variegated in all permutations.

Don't get me wrong: the adventures are not-that-bad as one-shots. But there connection to the Great Depression is rather thin.

Technical this is one of the rare few PDFs with extreme deficiencies: on my tablet, I was only able to read them with the 'real' Adobe PDF reader. Several other readers crashed. Certainly there is no PDF enable TOC or Glossary or Index.



Puntuación:
[3 de 5 estrellas!]
Children of the Storm
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Queensguard
por Thomas P. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 03/24/17 15:29:44

This is a Cthulhu campaign constructed on a very special background. As such it will be very difficult to integrate it into a more 'normal' Cthulhu setup.

This is because the world of Queensguard is mixture of elements from a steampunk scenario (steam engine high tech, magic, but no electricity and/or computers, no areoplanes and no internal combustion engines), a cold war scenario (2 superpower kingdoms fighting with each other, with (northern) america as their main frontier with a 'neutral' zone between the opponents), and aftermath elements (declining knowledge about tech and magic, mostly because of the dualism of the world).

Background and adventure(s) are tightly coupled, with some brilliant ideas. There is some rail-roading involved (and a clever plot for having (nearly) the same showdown at the end independant of what the players undertake).

As consequence, your satisfaction with the adventure will depend on your attidute towards the background. Queensguard is atmospheric dense and convincing. But my feeling is that Cthulhu myth is rather artificial fold into this world.

This is a good campaign for a group looking for an alternative background a bit aside from the well-worn trails.



Puntuación:
[4 de 5 estrellas!]
Queensguard
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Ravenar Sagas
por Thomas P. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 03/24/17 12:54:32

This is complete compaign consisting of three parts (adventures) that leads the players/characters starting as juvenile adventures to become wise leaders of a clan (and the unavoidable viking boat(s)). As such, there is some rail-roading involved (as the sequence of parts is fixed and cannot be altered easily). It is also not that easy for the GM to 'loose' one of the player characters before the campaign is over.

The book includes some atmospheric (and historic) background about the vikings. But this material does not extend much over what you learn in school about this time period (at least, if you have been schooled in Europe).

Sound handcrafting, but I'm missing some unusual ideas and scenario twists.



Puntuación:
[3 de 5 estrellas!]
Ravenar Sagas
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Beyond the Mountains of Madness
por david g. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 03/10/17 07:38:53

The adventure is massive, at least an index with hyperlinks would have been appreciated



Puntuación:
[2 de 5 estrellas!]
Beyond the Mountains of Madness
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Call of Cthulhu 7th Edition Quick-Start Rules
por Perry T. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 12/23/16 12:51:55

A great free intro to those who may have never played Cthulhu or those considering upgrading to the 7th edition rules.

All you need to play the introductory scenario "The Haunting" or the solo adventure "Alone Against The Flames" which is available from the Chaosium website for free.

Check it out.



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
Call of Cthulhu 7th Edition Quick-Start Rules
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Call of Cthulhu 7th Edition - Keeper's Rulebook
por Edward K. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 10/23/16 17:51:42

Ring Side Report- RPG Review of Call of Cthulhu 7th Edition

Originally posted at www.throatpunchgames.com, a new idea everyday!

Product- Call of Cthulhu 7th Edition System-Call of Cthulhu Producer-Chaosium Price- $30.00 here http://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/150997/Call-of-Cthulhu-7th-Edition--Keepers-Rulebook?affiliate_id=658618 TL; DR-Great RPG with an ok execution. 85%

Basics- ia ia cthulhu fhtagn! Call of Cthulhu is back with the newest edition of the classic horror RPG. It’s got a new update, a new hardcover, and a new look. Let's see How it stacks up to the current stack of other RPGS!

Mechanics or Crunch-Let’s break this one down into a few different areas.

Base Mechanics- This is a classic percentile dice based game. Much like any other RPG, when you are told you need to roll the dice, you roll percentile dice (d100). The goal is to roll under your skill or ability. An example would be trying to read an ancient Egyptian manuscript. You would see if you have the skill Language(Ancient Egyptian). If you do, you can roll your d100. If you roll under, you roll succeed. It’s quick and simple.

Additions that are new to the system (or at least to me)-CoC 7th edition my first edition of Call of Cthulhu . What this system does instead of modifying your percentage in a skill or ability like other systems is the use of ½ and ⅕ skills. If the test is difficult, you may be asked to roll under ½ your skill. If the task is amazingly difficult, then you have to roll under ⅕. Again, it's a quick and easy way of executing difficulty .

Pushing- Let’s say you fail, but you want to try again. You want to steal a wallet. You fail once, but you think you could do it again. This is called a push. When you push, you get to reroll a skill. Failing to steal the wallet is bad as you might get caught. BUT, if you push, you might get the wallet and not get caught. HOWEVER, if you push and fail, then it get really bad. Maybe instead of pushing you off as a harmless carpetbagger, the target of the theft calls the cops and starts swinging immediately instead of just yelling loudly. It’s a great addition to the risk and reward of Call of Cthulhu. Also note-you may never push in combat. Speaking of which….

Combat-Combat is quick. There is no initiative. You have an statistic called dexterity (dex). Combat resolves from high to low dex. Each turn you can move a bit and then do one action. Just like the base mechanic it’s roll under. If I want to attack, I roll under an attack skill, and the target tries to roll under a dodge or counter attack skill. If we both succeed , then we look if both are under ½. If that happens, we check to see if we’re under ⅕. If that happens, the defender wins. Each character only has a few hit points and damage adds up quickly, so combat is deadly fast! I love quick and efficient systems.

Bonus and Penalty Dice- Many other percentile based systems have modifiers you add or subtract from a skill. Call of Cthulhu 7ed doesn't do this, but It uses something similar to DnD 5th edition advantage system with bonus and penalty dice. When a situation is particularly good like doing research on ancient Egyptian mythology in at the University of Cairo’s Egyptology department library, you would get an extra d10 die. You roll this die along with your other percentile die and use the lower of the 10 position dice. Penalty dice work exactly the opposite. Say you are trying to decipher a deep one script while riding across the countryside in the dark avoiding horrors from beyond time and space, you get an extra d10 die. Now, you get the higher of the two dice as you have a harder time doing the skill. Of all the things I’ve seen develop in the RPG world lately, this is one of my favorites.

Money-Here is a weird one. Characters don’t have cash, per se, they have a credit rating. This is a rough estimate of how much they can spend at any given time. You walk into a shop and want to buy something and it’s under your credit rating expenses in a day, you just get it. If it's massively above your credit rating, then you might lose some credit rating at the end of the adventure!

Advancement-Every session, a character marks all the skills they use and succeed at. At the end of every session, the character makes single attempt to roll over their current skill in that task. If they do, then they gain 1d10 extra points in that skill. In addition, characters can also attend school and do a test over their skills and advance much the same as above.

Sanity-It wouldn’t be Lovecraft without someone going mad! When you see something scary or learn a spell, you make a sanity roll. Sanity is like any other skill that you roll under. If you roll under, you lose less sanity. If you roll above, you lose more. Both events make it harder to deal with in the future! Lose all your sanity and you go insane!

Magic-Magic exists, but it comes with a cost. Spells use skills like any other action, and each spell uses magic points. When you run out of magic points, you start to lose hit points. To cast a roll, a character has to succeed at a ⅕ power roll. From then on, the character doesn’t have to make a check to cast the spell. Again, it’s a sleek and easy system.

Summary- Overall, I like what I see here. It’s sleek, easy to run, and more important, easy to play. Players are not buried under a mountain of information at the start of the game. You want to do X. If X could fail, then you roll. If you do fail maybe you can push and succeed or things get really hairy. Call of Cthulhu has an advantage-like system that makes life easy instead of having to fiddle with different modifiers. Money is easy to handle, and advancement is a snap. I like what I see here. My only issue is diversity and options. You really only advance in things you succeed at. If I want to learn to speak Aramaic, I have to know it at the start of the campaign. I don’t freely learn that unless I train which might not happen. My second problem is character options. Sure there are lots of cool options, but beyond character generation, character are more flung into situation and can’t really build in a direction. It feels a bit swingy to me, but that also enhances the helpless feeling from Lovecraft. These are minor complaints, but overall, it's a good system. 4.5/5

Theme or Fluff-The theme of this game is on point. This is the 7th edition of the game, so they know how to make a good story with Lovecraftian themes. In general, you CAN’T hack and shoot your way out of a confrontation with the horrors beyond time. The book has lots of help to get new investigators into the game quickly and efficiently. There are even two fully fleshed out adventures that the keeper(GM for this game) can throw at the players to get them playing the day you get the book. 4.75/5

Execution-This is the one area where I have some significant problems. Things are written relatively well, and the art is good. But, the layout of the book is a problem. The PDF is hyperlinked, but finding what you need is still a pain. The book has over over 300 pages, and I still have problems every time trying to find the credit rating table to figure out how much my players can spend at any given time. That is a significant problem! 3.5/5

Summary-This is a great system that the layout of the book hurts a bit. I love the way the system works in general, but wish that it had just a bit more options for the players during the game. The theme is on point, and I love what here. My major problem is the book's design. I can’t find what I need when I need it. I will admit, that might be a problem from me not having much experience, but if a new keeper is having problems, then that’s bad no matter what. However, if you can push through some problems with using the book, you can easily fall in love with this horror RPG. 85%



Puntuación:
[4 de 5 estrellas!]
Call of Cthulhu 7th Edition - Keeper's Rulebook
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

A Resection of Time
por Joshua O. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 10/08/16 16:49:06

The authors clearly know a lot about Mayan archaeology, like on a grad student level. One of my players studied Mayan archaeology and so did I and the fluff really holds up. The handouts are extraordinary, lots of glyphs and everything really looks like real archaeological research material. Lots of handouts means a few red herrings that my players turned into a whole other act of the campaign (a trip to a town in Lovecraft Country).

It's a good 1990s or modern campaign, of which I haven't found too many. The story is very good, very suspenseful. The plot can get convoluted, but I only found one loose thread. I think we did it in six sessions which is pretty good -- there's a lot of meat in this volume. Plenty of sections of texts to read to players, I always knew what to say. And the ending; well, this is a campaign that is actually scary, no matter how jaded your players are. Full marks. One of the best campaigns I've seen for any game.



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
A Resection of Time
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Ravenar Sagas
por SengKok L. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 10/04/16 22:16:46

The monograph series of adventures from Chaosium are some of the most unusual (and creative) material published for their flagship Call of Cthulhu (CoC) game. These monographs while not as polished in layout and art from Chaosium's standard books, provide for some truly different and interesting CoC sessions.

The Ravenar Sagas is a set of three linked adventures spanning the adventuring career of six Norse crewmen of the titular ship The Ravenar. Unlike the typical Call of Cthulhu "investigators" these player characters are men of their time and place in history (Scandanavia, 989 AD - 1002 AD), warriors and men of action who fear only the "Straw Death" of dying in beds without their bloodied swords in hand. While there are some aspects of investigation and social encounters, these Viking adventures will revolve around resolving problems with shield walls and swords. The player characters are going to be running towards the mythos creatures shouting battle cries instead of fleeing from them. If you have a group of CoC players who might enjoy 'going Viking' for a change of pace, they are going to have a lot fun with these adventures.

The first adventure "The Unsung Saga" sees the crew of the newly launched Ravenar embark on its maiden voyage and first adventure. The next part, "The Second Saga" takes place 3 years after the first, and the now-seasoned crew of the Ravenar are thrown into their second encounter with creatures of the mythos. The last part "The Vinland Saga" sees the former crewmen - now lords of their own right, with retainers and ships - reunite for an epic adventure at the edge of the known world.

Conclusion: The adventures are well written and there are tactical problems in each of the three parts that need to be resolved with smarts and not simply by hacking and slashing.



Puntuación:
[4 de 5 estrellas!]
Ravenar Sagas
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Mythic Iceland
por Customer Name Withheld [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 10/03/16 22:37:14

A pretty good source book for Icelandic/Norse mythology. I think the price is way too high for a PDF - especially since there are NO bookmarks. c'mon really?



Puntuación:
[4 de 5 estrellas!]
Mythic Iceland
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

The Cruel Empire of Tsan Chan
por Raymond W. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 09/22/16 02:40:44

The Cruel Empire of Tsan Chan is a wonderfully inventive extrapolation of a future Mythos setting where Cthulhu emerges to begin an apocalyptic reign of psychotic madness, and the titular Tsan Chan Empire becomes the primary surviving human civilization. But this is not a story of plucky survivors who prevail against daunting odds - appropriately for a setting with Old Ones stomping around the Earth, things are only slightly less awful for the time being, and doom seems assured. It's very much in keeping with a Lovecraftian interpretation of the future, where our choice is extinction or transforation into something terrible and alien.

This is also the primary weakness of The Cruel Empire of Tsan Chan as a campaign setting: it's bleak as hell. There are no happy endings in Tsan Chan, even less so than in your typical CoC campaign. Some groups will definitely be into this, but it might grow old, after a while. Personally, I would prefer to use TCEoTC as some kind of alternate timeline or planet in another campaign. Or you could just take advantage of the many excellent and atmospheric details, like The Empress: a toxic gelatinous mass as large as a city, godlike in power, but only capable of communicating through cryptic pronouncements and dreams to be interpreted by the surgically-tortured Eunuchs.

There's a lot of great gonzo detail here, and plenty of intriguing dangers and rewards that could be introduced into any campaign. I really like TCEoTC's interpretation of the Tcho-Tcho, and the terrible implications of what could happen if they allied with the ghouls. Traditional Mythos entities are given slightly tweaked interpretations to fit into a coherent setting. Why are the Elder Things giving Tsan Chan access to their technology? Because we have agreed to serve as their foot soldiers against the Shoggoth in Antarctica. Who even Cthulhu might be a little afraid of. It all fits together very nicely, while staying true to what the Mythos is all about. All the while, this creates a setting rife with possible "adventure" (generally ending in madness and mutation or death).

This monograph is mostly setting detail, with very little in terms of mechanics, which is fine for what I'd want to use it for. There are some guidelines on creating characters, campaigns and plot hooks for this setting. The latter are more useful for me since, as I mentioned, I'd probably not use this as a primary setting. Tsan Chan would be a great place to have your players visit through a gateway in a more contemporary CoC campaign, or even via a portal in a more fantasy-oriented game. This is a solid and inventive use of Mythos ideas for roleplaying purposes.



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
The Cruel Empire of Tsan Chan
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Mostrando de 1 a 15 (de 245 críticas) Páginas de resultados:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Siguiente >>] 
0 artículos
 Los mejores productos
 Gift Certificates