DriveThruRPG.com
Browse
 Información de la editorial











Regresar
Otros comentarios dejados por esta editorial:
The Idol of Thoth
por Felix A. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 04/18/18 08:10:30

Perfect to kick off a new campaign. I changed it to happen in Vienna and it was a great way to establish the PCs and NPCs they know. One of the PCs is an acquaintance of Sigmund Freud now for example. Also the low violence/mythos/magic was great. I feel like too often authors put in too much supernatural or violent stuff, and it just takes away the tension when you have to fight a dark young every session. It it was probably better than at least half the official scenarios I've read in the last two years.



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
The Idol of Thoth
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Down Darker Trails
por Todd C. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 04/03/18 21:44:43

Wonderful resource for my weird wild west game. Eventhough we are using FATE rules, this is an amazing resource of top quality. i didnt need it, but I bought the hardcover book also and it is beautiful. Top notch product.

My only negative comment is that I dont see work being done on more cases. I've bought all of the ones it suggests to convert, but I'd love more.



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
Down Darker Trails
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

An Invitation in Yellow
por Sarah B. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 04/01/18 22:33:11

I ran my first Call of Cthulhu game with this! I've been playing CoC for about a year now but wanted to introduce it to some of my friends via a one shot and this was the perfect solution! It had just enough clues and information to set them in the right direction without being too railroady and overly specific allowing me to customize it to my players. The map and handouts were VERY helpful as I was able to show them to the players and let them get the feel of the game and have materials to refference. Highly reccomend!



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
An Invitation in Yellow
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Creator Reply:
Hi Sarah. Thank you for your review. I am very happy that you and your friends enjoyed "An Invitation in Yellow". Kind regards, Patrick
Call of Cthulhu 7th Edition Quick-Start Rules
por Monica G. [Crítico destacado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 03/31/18 23:27:28

The classic role-playing game Call of Cthulhu is one of the greatest of its kind. Where in many games, you play a powerful character fighting monsters for treasure, in this game you are a vulnerable human fighting for your life and sanity. Based on the writings of H. P. Lovecraft, you must investigate and stop dark occult forces before they destroy you or drive you insane. This Quick-Start guide is a great introduction to the game. It features the classic adventure 'The Haunting', which Chaosium has included with the core rules for decades, making it a standard first-adventure for generations of players. The only downside to the compact quick-start guide is that it's a bit too small to fit in any detailed information about the 1920s. As game master (or 'keeper') you will need to know a bit about the 1920s to run the game. Your characters will likely get hurt, want to pay bribes, or buy weapons to fight the horrors they encounter. You'll have to know what technology is available at the time and for what prices, so do a little research online before running the game. Better yet, if you want an emersive experience, pick up Chaosium's Investigator's companion. It really comes in handy in any Call of Cthulhu 20s-era game. As well, the adventure gives you some hooks to keep the game going--if your players survive. I recommend picking up the full rules and some of adventure books. They are amazing, and some include amazingly elaborate handouts and setting-specific details. This scenario is a great introduction, but the game goes much deeper, and gets much scarier.

Get our full rankings for this book at Geeks A Gogo.com!



Puntuación:
[4 de 5 estrellas!]
Call of Cthulhu 7th Edition Quick-Start Rules
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

13th Age Glorantha
por Andrew M. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 03/06/18 23:34:22

A terrific addition to Gloranthan gaming. I have done a comprehensive review here;

https://andrewloganmontgomery.blogspot.jp/2018/03/13th-age-glorantha-review.html



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
13th Age Glorantha
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Terror
por Jason C. [Crítico destacado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 03/03/18 12:57:52

A friend suggested I post some reviews of some underrated or overlooked gems for this year's GM's Day Sale, so I thought I would put up Terror, currently on sale for under $4 for your consideration. Terror is a Call of Cthulhu adventure originally published in 1997, though the procedural changes in the most recent edition actually serve to assist in getting over some of the bumpier spots. Essentially a retelling of John Carpenter's The Thing set in Stalin-era Moscow, the best part of The Terror is that the monster fits the mood which the historical milieu attempts to recreate, and vice versa. Lovecraft's monsters reflect his fear of an atheistic, multiracial world, and he situates his stories in the crumbling remains of the Victorian milieu he (correctly) feared was dying out.

In Terror, the purges of the 1930s-era Soviet Union provide a backdrop for a monster who - like a cosmic NKVD officer - literally can be anyone or any living thing, and whose monstrous intent is the destruction of identity itself, to subsume the target in its own consciousness. This is a properly conservative fear to base a Lovecraftian horror scenario on.

However, Terror has a couple of big holes in it. First, the investigators are state prisoners who are brought out of prison in order to dig into the mysterious events at the behest of a secret policeman. This is fine, but there are no pregenerated characters and not one word about what types of "criminals" they are, nor about what types of "crimes" they might have committed - literally the first thing that happens is an interrogation about this, so while that's a great, atmospheric way to start, neither the GM nor the players will have any real grounding for what type of situation they could be in. The opening also doesn't really give a strong direction to the group - in standard Call of Cthulhu, you make a character who is "an investigator", someone who digs into occult matters for some personal, professional or psychological reason. Here, though, there's a strong incentive for characters to abandon the investigation and attempt to escape, and only some fairly severe railroading keeps this from happening. I think the character creation sections of the new corebooks might help with this problem, but unlike 1920s New England, there really isn't anything in either the corebooks or Terror to get across what it is like to dig into this situation in Stalin-era Moscow. The GM and players will be left to do their own research and build their own scaffolding around the scenario.

Still, Terror is worth mentioning, and worth looking at, for the close connection between the monster and the historical moment, an extremely Lovecraftian thing to attempt. In this, it beats out a number of other Call of Cthulhu "monster" scenarios that don't attempt to draw this type of tight connection.



Puntuación:
[3 de 5 estrellas!]
Terror
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

The Idol of Thoth
por Sindre H. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 03/01/18 14:37:25

The Idol of Thoth is one of the best Call of Cthulhu scenarios I've ever read, and possibly one of the best introductionary scenarios for both new Players and Keepers alike.

It's very well paced and provides everything a new Keeper needs to run the players through an interesting investigation into the theft if the titular object; NPC and locations are described well, but always leaving it open enough for the Keeper to add their own twists and spins to them, which I see as a plus in my book.

This is a very investigation heavy scenario, so if you want more action and even more horror, that's something you'd have to add yourself. But if you're interested in a solid investigation scenario to have as the start of your campaign, or fit it into an already running campaign, I can't recommend this scenario enough!



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
The Idol of Thoth
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

The Idol of Thoth
por Alex A. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 02/23/18 18:49:30

The Idol of Thoth is the perfect scenario for new players. The focus of this scenario is on egyptology/mythos and detective work. There is little combat and the horror elements will need to be fleshed out by the keeper to make them truly scary. Aside from a few spelling errors, the book is presented beautifully with detailed maps of a few locations. In order to make this scenario run for five hours I needed to add afew of my own elements, Joe has left some parts sparse in order to encourage a little invention on the part of the keeper.

All in all, we had a lot of fun with this! Its an easy scenario to learn if you are new to running CoC and has many of the classic cthulhu locations and dynamics with a few excellent twists.



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
Alone Against the Flames
por Daniel F. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 02/16/18 12:50:29

Really nice 'choose your own adventure' single-player RPG. Also, a good intro to the CoC gameplay.



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
Alone Against the Flames
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

The Idol of Thoth
por Zachary J. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 02/16/18 11:20:58

I had the pleasure of being a player in this scenarion last week. It was absolutely superb(even though after reading through the scenario, we missed a TON). The pacing felt great and logical. The clues were easy enough to find, and there was even a fantastic revelation moment where our suspicions came true. I love playing this scenario and cannot wait to run it. A+ effort. Note: as others have stated, draw a map of the museum, it helps immensely.



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
The Idol of Thoth
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

The Idol of Thoth
por Alexander P. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 02/07/18 15:50:09

The Idol of Thoth is one of the best, single session (6-10 hours) adventures I have ever had the pleasure to run. It has everything you would want to experience in a nearly perfect Call of Cthulhu night! Plenty of roleplaying-opportunities, a dense plot that keeps your players on the edge of their seats, cool and logical investigation - even the action and the mythos part satisfies on every level you can imagine! The writing is absolutely stellar, the box text (And I normally don't like the prewritten text of another GM for my table) builds up the strange, uncanny atmosphere that will lead your party of detectives from a seemingly simple case all the way down beyond the curtains of darkness! The author did go even further adding some awesome advice and tips onto the back of the book, which really helped me a lot in running the session! (Why is this so uncommon in most publications? I need more of that!)

It is easily enjoyable for new and experienced players alike. You can crank up the difficulty of the whole scenario as you and your players desire - even possibly on the fly.

The art fits the tone mostly, from awesome character portraits to usable (but somewhat lifeless) floorplans, it is filled with inspiring visuals. Oh, and the (!) fully detailed room-to-room map of the Arkham Asylum is worth the price of admission alone!

If you couldn't tell by now, we loved this adventure. For less than a few bucks, we got a night long to remember!

Thanks to Joe Trier and Stygian Fox!! I really hope, there is more to come from you!



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
The Idol of Thoth
por Andrzej R. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 02/06/18 18:07:29

An excellent, short adventure with loads of classical Call of Cthulhu feel - just right for one longer session including an intense investigation, an Ancient Egyptian mystery and a race against time. I ran it for 3 players with beginner Investigators, their victory was hard-won and extremely satisfying for all of us.



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
NYNG Call of Cthulhu 7E [BUNDLE]
por Charles B. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 02/03/18 06:11:22

Have only had time to skim the surface but the bundle deal seems well worth the price. The time period sampler is a nice touch, and having both rule books in a portable form is very cool.



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
NYNG Call of Cthulhu 7E [BUNDLE]
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

HeroQuest: Dragon Pass Gazetteer
por A M. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 01/27/18 15:15:02

Not a lot to say except where's the map? What's the point of a grid reference if their's no map to reference?

A fair number of the locations aren't represented in more up to date maps like the Argan Argar Maps so I can't even use that as a substitute.



Puntuación:
[3 de 5 estrellas!]
HeroQuest: Dragon Pass Gazetteer
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Call of Cthulhu 7th Edition - Keeper's Rulebook
por Riccardo G. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 01/27/18 03:52:09

My personal favourite RPG system. Sanity system is a masterwork, character creation is intuitive and easy, combat is very good considering that this is an investigative game, a lot of examples and tables help both master and players get around. Also, your world, your history books, an article on a newspaper can be easy and effective inspiration for your adventures. (7 Ed is the first I played of CoC)



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
Call of Cthulhu 7th Edition - Keeper's Rulebook
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Mostrando de 1 a 15 (de 271 críticas) Páginas de resultados:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Siguiente >>] 
0 artículos
 Los mejores productos
 Gift Certificates