DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Stars Are Right!
by Alex M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2015 03:50:08
An excellent collection of scenarios that not only play well as investigations but also capture the tone of modern Call of Cthulhu perfectly. They have dated in some places (which is why it loses one star) but not some much that any Keeper worth his or her salt won't be able to fix them with very little effort.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Stars Are Right!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Magic World
by Richard T. H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/04/2015 07:59:11
Magic world is a simple D100 fantasy RPG. It uses Chaosium’s BRP system and is quite similar to the call of Cuthulhu game. I’ve found combat relatively quick in comparison to other RPGs. Instead of grinding away a few hit points per strike, combat feels fast and fluid. The character’s attributes effect their skill chances of success and the skill list is comprehensive. Magic is plentiful and powerful and the bestiary extensive.

All of this sounds good but we can say this about most games. What I like about MW is the way you can keep most of the rules in your head. There isn’t the need to spend hours looking up some obscure rule. Now this isn’t because Magic World is overly rules light. It’s because the rule system is homogenous. Once you grasp one concept most of the others just fall into place. Secondly there aren’t endless lists of feats, cults and combat styles to learn. Tell the referee what your dong and they’ll calculate in a few seconds the modification and or Effects.

Yes this is a fantasy game but we do want so cohesiveness within the frame work and it’s a relief for me that there aren’t any 98HP fighters going around or abstract game mechanics that have to be computed before the fun begins. This is because although MW is new, it’s actually old. It has grown out of other Chaosuim games from Elric to historical RQ and has been refined and play tested through decades of RPG evolution via these other systems.

It’s the game I play the most. It’s the one I introduce other new gamers to RPG with. It’s my go to fantasy RPG. The system is smooth and works really well and it's never let me down. I think it’s probably the best Fantasy RPG system in the market today.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Magic World
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dead Light
by Eric S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/04/2015 03:28:16
Played beautifully. This is what Cthulthu *should* be. The antagonist creature very easy to play for the Keeper without pushing human motives--very much a 1950s kind of relentless evil, a la The Blob or Stephen King's The Mist. Meanwhile there's no railroading; the PCs were smothered by their own choices in every direction. The most beautiful moment for me as Keeper was when the PCs realized they would endanger themselves no matter what they did and decided they would just be as courageous as they could be. Ending a bit anticlimactic (due to player choice) but it worked out for a very fun evening.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dead Light
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Christmas in Kingsport
by Shannon M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2015 00:36:32
There are some really good ones and some mediocre ones. That said, I think "Silent Night" by Bob Brinkman is a great one-shot in modern day Arkham and perfect for running during Xmas (which I have done for the last two years). For a dreamier scenario Oscar Rios' "Xmas in Kingsport" revisits the characters playing children (his first being from Halloween Horror 2005). I'd give an honorable mention to "Gaudy" as well.

OVERALL GRADE: B to B plus.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Christmas in Kingsport
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Last Rites
by Ed S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/06/2015 12:53:10
My one star is based on the pdf scan. The pdf resolution is slightly blurry. It is insulting because I spent money on this to support the publisher when I could have just as easily downloaded a 'free' version that is bright, crisp and clear.

Seriously, this pdf looks like Chaosium chose to use some 3rd rate torrent or scribd version as their own.

Disappointing to say the least.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Last Rites
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Green
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/01/2015 08:30:58
Typically solid work from Chaosium that takes a well-worn fantasy trope -- living in the trees -- and says "lets break that down and see what it would actually take to have a society there; why would people live in such a challenging way?" I mean there's a reason we don't live in the trees now. It's impossible. The Green shows us how it could work, given of course the existence of magic and goblins and ape dudes.

The presentation is very good. The photoshopped photographs are a bit funny looking, but the style is unified throughout so it suits itself just fine. The writing is clean and intelligent. All in all, a very good overlooked product for people who want a challenging, internally realistic take on this idea. Fully statted for BRP in the typical clear style of Chaosium.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Green
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Horror on the Orient Express
by Alexander L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/17/2015 09:56:39
Originally posted at: http://diehardgamefan.com/2014/10/02/tabletop-review-horror--
on-the-orient-express-digital-edition-call-of-cthulhu/

After more than TWO YEARS since being funded, a final version of the Horror on the Orient Express remake has been sent to the 1,374 Kickstarter backers that made it happen. Sure it was originally scheduled to come out in August of 2013, but it’s very rare that tabletop games make their estimated release date. It’s part of the industry. What matters is that it is here now – at least for Kickstarter backers who pledged at least $20 to the project. For everyone else, you can get this massive PDF collection for a “mere” $499.95. Now don’t worry – this price will drop after the official release of the physical product in a few weeks. This hefty price tag is to make sure that the Kickstarter backers (or those who have Sanity Points in the single digits) have a few weeks to themselves with this. Considering the physical product can be preordered for about $120, it’s safe to say the PDF collection itself will be under $100.

Now if you joined me back in January of 2014, you already know that I’ve extensively looked at the first four books in this collection (Chaosium sent me the proofs – that’s why I could cover it nearly a year before the actual release) and did a photo collection of some of the many ancillary items that can be obtained with (or separately from) the physical edition of the game. I won’t be rehashing those. Instead I’ll be covering everything but those parts of the collection in this review. For those interested in reading very long and detailed coverage of the first four books and some physical swag, here are the links:

Add-on & Ancillary Items (http://diehardgamefan.com/2014/01/10/tabletop-preview-a-loo-
k-at-horror-on-the-orient-express-ancillary-and-add-on-items-
-call-of-cthulhu/)
Book I: Campaign Book (http://diehardgamefan.com/2014/01/03/tabletop-preview-horro-
r-on-the-orient-express-book-i-campaign-book-call-of-cthulhu-
/)
Book II: Through the Alps (http://diehardgamefan.com/2014/01/10/tabletop-preview-horro-
r-on-the-orient-express-book-ii-through-the-alps-call-of-cth-
ulhu/)
Book III: Italy and Beyond (http://diehardgamefan.com/2014/01/17/tabletop-preview-horro-
r-on-the-orient-express-book-iii-italy-and-beyond-call-of-ct-
hulhu/)
Book IV: Constantinople and Consequences (http://diehardgamefan.com/2014/01/24/tabletop-preview-horro-
r-on-the-orient-express-book-iv-constantinople-and-consequen-
ces-call-of-cthulhu/)

I should also mention that I will also do a review of the physical product when that is finally release, although that will be more a pictorial of all the bells and whistles. I will review the story collection Madness on the Orient Express that was a stretch goal funded by the Horror on the Orient Express Kickstarter as well. Man, you are probably getting sick of all the Horror on the Orient Express coverage I’ve done this year but honestly, I’ve been waiting for a new version to go with my Fifth Edition version since I was in high school, so I’m even more excited for this than the Seventh Edition books coming my way. Now, let’s look at what else is in Horror on the Orient Express besides those core four books we looked at in January and February.

Book V: Strangers On the Train. This is the final core campaign book for Horror on the Orient Express. I didn’t cover it in my original preview pieces, mainly because Chaosium had not sent it to me. Now I have a copy and can delve into some detail about what you’ll find in this ninety-four page booklet. As this is the biggest piece I haven’t covered, expect this to be the largest section of the review.

Strangers On the Train starts off with a look at famous people who could be found riding the Orient Express. This two page brief is broken into three sections: 1890-1900, Around 1900 and After 1920. From there, the book goes into a list of non-essential NPCs to populate the train with. This list of over forty characters (more if you count the “entourage” each NPC has with them) includes both passengers and staff and also can make for potential PCs once one of the original characters dies in the campaign. You’ll have to flesh the stats out a bit in this case, but if there’s a particular NPC a player gravitates toward, this might be a fine option for you. The “List of Passengers” is quite long and it’s arranged not by page order but by alphabetical order. Of course alphabetical order is by first name or beginning of a title, so take a good long look at the list or you’ll get confused thinking the actual layout of this section is in alphabetical order as well. Much of “List of Passengers” is a direct reprint from the original campaign, although the list was in a small loose leaf (Unstapled) pamphlet. There is new art in this re-release of the campaign though.

Book V then concludes with “Investigators.” There are twelve premade characters here for your use. The first six come from the Bradford Players recording of Horror On the Orient Express, which can be found over at Yog-Sothoth.com and the other six were created by Kickstarter backers. All characters are given Seventh Edition stats, so you’ll have to do a bit of converting if you want to use with an earlier edition.

Book VI: Handouts for the Investigators. This is a 196 page book and a new addition to the campaign from previous printings. Previously the campaign was only numbered up to Book IV and the handouts pamphlet was about sixteen pages in length. This is a greatly expanded booklet with a page count worthy of being considered a full campaign book in its own right. The production values are also greatly increased. It is all stuff you have seen before though. It’s just a collection of all the handouts and maps in the first four books, collected for easy use and printing. After all, you don’t want to show the players one of the handouts in a campaign book and let them see snippets of content they aren’t meant to view! I really like this addition, especially the PDF version, because I don’t cut up my books and I hate folding/creasing them on a Xerox machine or scanner to make actual handouts for players. This is a great move by Chaosium.

Le Guide du Voyageur: The Traveller’s Companion. This is another new piece for the updated and expanded 7th Edition Call of Cthulhu version of Horror on the Orient Express. This fifty-two page supplement is meant to really enhance the look and feel of the campaign for those that want a more immersive experience. The piece is written completely in-game and it acts as a little booklet from the Orient Express and its concierge to its travelers. You get travel advice, menus, information about the routes, sites to see and so much more. This is perhaps my favorite aspect of the Horror on the Orient Express remake as it’s so well done. Sure some gamers won’t appreciate or even make use of this, but this little travelogue is pretty fantastic and it’s something I’ll give to each player who takes part in this campaign the next time I run it to really help them get a feel for what the level of class and care the Orient Express was known for in its heyday.

Air Routes of Europe in 1923. This is a one page PDF and it’s exactly what the same suggests. It is a map of Europe complete with air routes that were used back then. This should help players who are trying to circumnavigate the region or who might have missed the Orient Express and are trying to catch up quickly. It’s worth noting that Italy, Portugal and Ireland lacked air routes at this time – at least according to the map.

Routes of the Orient Express. Another self-explanatory one page PDF. This is a full colour piece showing the routes of the five different Orient Express routes throughout Europe, along with a sixth “lesser services” route. Each route is assigned a different, distinct color so you should be able to follow the map quite easily. Unless you are colorblind or only can see in black and white. Then you’re screwed. The map also a nice little legend details major cities, capitals, and locations important to the Horror on the Orient Express campaign. There are also close-ups of three regions to let you and your gaming troupe better see these areas which will come into play as you go through the campaign.

Orient Express Bumper Sticker. Exactly what you think it is.

Sedefkar Simulacrum. A print and play version of the McGuffin that the campaign revolves around. A VERY different version from the one in my old 5e set. I like the new design.

Train Car Plans. Five pages of diagrams showcasing the layout of the Orient Express cars. You have a dining car, a sleeping car, a cathedral car and more. Everything you need to give a visual representation of the train is right here.

Scroll of the Head. This is a one page PDF describing what the Scroll of the Head is and how to use it in the campaign. It also gives some neat ideas on how to make the scroll look aged and weathered. It also references a “How to Use Supplemental Items” sheet that should be in the boxed set, but unfortunately, it’s not in my PDF collection. Boo-Urns.

Overall, the updated and expanded version of Horror on the Orient Express is truly fantastic. If you missed out on the original back in the day for whatever reason (Age, lack of funds, didn’t play the game), you really need to pick this up to see just what an incredible job Chaosium has done on this boxed set. Sure the original version was terrific in its own right, but this new expanded version really makes the overall experience that much more immersive and entertaining. Unless you are dead set against Seventh Edition for whatever reason. Even then, it’s worth picking up Horror on the Orient Express because it contains a conversion guide. It’s also cheaper than trying to buy an unused version of the original edition on the second hand market. Of course, you’ll want to wait for a price drop on the digital because five hundred dollars is insane, even for a terrific job like this, but once the Kickstarter backers have everything in their hands, expect the price to drop to something far more reasonable. Of course, you can still pre-order the physical version if you missed out on the original Kickstarter campaign. You won’t get as many bells and whistles, but it’s still a fantastic deal for anyone even remotely interested in Call of Cthulhu. I can safely say that Horror on the Orient Express has been worth the wait.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Horror on the Orient Express
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Call of Cthulhu 7th Edition Quick-Start Rules
by Chris B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/12/2015 10:54:12
Call of Cthulhu is a great setting, and this is a simple yet solid rules system.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Call of Cthulhu 7th Edition Quick-Start Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Strange Cases of Rudolph Pearson
by spiros s. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2015 13:53:07
This was surprisingly well written. I enjoyed it tremendously. Just the right blend of Cthulhu mythos and mystery, with some very decent character development.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Strange Cases of Rudolph Pearson
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Machine Tractor Station Kharkov-37
by eric t. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/09/2015 23:20:11
This scenario reduces the colour out of space to something more to akin to a DnD monster. The inevitability and incomprehensible motives/nature of the colour, what makes it interesting, is ignored in favour of a series of repetitive encounters. Running the scenario my players very quickly picked up on what to look for and it became a game of avoidance.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Machine Tractor Station Kharkov-37
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Xothic Legend Cycle
by Rodrigo C G R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/27/2015 14:34:26
It's really comforting to know that Chaosium fiction is now in electronic format. The Xothic Legende Cycle it's a good starting collection for the neophyte, and a fundamental reading for anyone exploring the Mythos.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Xothic Legend Cycle
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Halloween Horror
by Shannon M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2015 23:16:35
Get this for the Oscar Rios scenario

One of the scenarios is more of an outline than a complete scenario and the other is a pretty standard investigation for experienced CoC gamers.

But the Oscar Rios scenario is the best hitting much of the New England folklore and allowing the players to play children on the eve of Halloween who must save their extended families. That scenario in itself is worth the price of admission. I've run it four times now and plan to keep running it as long as victims, errrr players, are interested.

OVERALL GRADE: B to B plus.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Halloween Horror
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Call of Cthulhu 7th Edition Quick-Start Rules
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/07/2015 07:01:41
Did you like Call of Cthulhu, Editions 1 thru 6? Did you buy the modules, and other products? Own Cthulhu Invictus, Achtung Cthulhu, World War Cthulhu, Atomic Age Cthulhu? Do you own Chaosium's Basic Role Playing Game? Did you like them all? Did you find that with a little tweaking here and there, you could run 1st Edition modules with 6th edition? Did you enjoy a system so universal that you could, quite literally, use Cthulhian horrors to "enhance" your Stormbringer, Hawkmoon, or any other Chaosium setting? Did you like having a system so incredibly universal, that it all fit, nearly seemlessly to other systems/worlds?

Well.... Get ready to THROW THEM ALL AWAY!!! It's a BRAND NEW SYSTEM!!! And it is NOT COMPATIBLE with the old stuff. So... you've got a library full of great products... now useless with the new system.

Along with the website changes (Like those?), looks like Chaosium is changing their system. This is NOT an improvement.

Hopefully, they will publish some form of FREE conversion guide.

But if you are a Call of Cthulhu veteran, who truly loved the product, system and world... give the new edition a miss.

This quick start guide is worth the money spent... Nothing.

7th Edition appears to be nothing more than a fleecing of fans of Call of Cthulhu.

In the immortal words of every Call of Cthulhu player.... RUN!!!!

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Call of Cthulhu 7th Edition Quick-Start Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Beyond the Mountains of Madness
by Brett D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2015 14:34:01
This is a massive and complex adventure for Call of Cthulhu. Looks good, but Keepers will ened to do their homework to run it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beyond the Mountains of Madness
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dead Light
by Dan C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/23/2014 20:37:03
I found that this scenario served as a great introduction to the new edition of the COC rules. I ran it with the free quickstart rules for five friends who had never played an RPG.

The scenario provides numerous opportunities for roleplaying and allows the keeper to present the mechanics at whatever pace best suits his players; this was very helpful in my case as a steep learning curve might have turned off my players.

My players liked the plot, but I believe it was the atmosphere that really hooked them.

I was surprised by the quality of the writing and the editing. I have read perhaps a dozen or so collections published by Chaosium--and many more third-party products--which I'd describe as "easy reads". Here is an excerpt from "Dead Light":

"Looking out into the storm between the flashes of lightning, a farmer’s truck has just swerved to avoid hitting the gas pumps. The farmer babbling incoherently about a 'Dead Light' he saw on the road and who is now passed out at one of the tables, sweating feverishly with Sam, the station’s owner, and Walter the pump jockey fussing helplessly over him."

This is not an easy read. And a staggering amount of the text in "Dead Light" uses this sort of sentence structure. I found it very distracting. It made referring back to the text difficult during prep and gameplay.

If you can get past the writing style then the scenario itself serves as a nice, quick introduction to the new edition of COC or to horror roleplaying in general. My group loved it. If you simply enjoy reading RPG material and doubt you'll actually have the chance to run it, I would not recommend this product.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Dead Light
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 187 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates