DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Call of Cthulhu Quick-Start Rules
by Rafael L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2016 13:24:21

Not all Quick Start Rules Booklet comes with an sample adventure. This one does! For that, I consider this product one of the best Quick Start RPGs ever. Congrats!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Call of Cthulhu Quick-Start Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Call of Cthulhu Investigator's Handbook
by Michael G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2016 15:49:47

This is the only book Players of 7th edition CoC will need to play the game (Keeper's/GMs will need this AND the Keeper's Guide). I own several previous editions of CoC rule sets and in the past, they used to be combined (a player's section AND a Keeper's in the same book). Chaosium has separated them for 7th edition. Like in previous editions, this book contains everything you'd expect to find in a Player's Guide for a game: how to play the game, how to create characters, skills, background stuff, and historical and cultural context for how to play in the 1920s (default setting for CoC). This book is well formatted, good art and has several rules tweaks from previous editions. Even if you want to stick with a previous edition of CoC, I would recommend picking this guide up at some point for Keeper's and pick and choose which new rules you might want to bring into your game. FYI: character creation in 7th edition is different in some ways from 6th, such as attributes and skills (you can now essentially have critical success as well as critical failures, although they're not called that). You can also "push" a roll, which is re-rolling with more at stake (if you fail a second time something bad happens, which adds a great element of increased tension to the game). Overall, a good book. Again, if you're ONLY playing CoC 7th edition, this is all you will need. If you are a Keeper, you will need this book AND the Keeper's guide.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Call of Cthulhu Investigator's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Call of Cthulhu 7th Edition - Keeper's Rulebook
by Michael G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2016 13:26:33

I own the 5th and 6th edition of CoC and have been playing for several years. The 7th edition of the Keeper's Rulebook is massive and has many changes from the 6th in terms of art, content and rules changes. The spirit of CoC, of course is still the same. I feel like the art, layout choices, information and overall presentation of information in this guide are very solid and a slight upgrade from the 6th (which I love btw). Even if you decide you want to stick with an earlier version of CoC I recommend buying this guide and picking and choosing which rules and information you want to cannibalize for your game. Several rules tweaks, such as "pushing" (attempting to reroll a failed skill check, but with the added risk of some type of adverse effect if you fail again) are brilliant.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Call of Cthulhu 7th Edition - Keeper's Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Masks of Nyarlathotep
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/01/2015 02:41:57

Just brilliant. I don't play Call of Cthulhu but I'm certainly going to be heavily adapting this for my Dungeon World game. It's that good. I was inspired to read this by Justin Alexander's discussion of the 3 clue rule. Recommended reading if you want a good example of how to run a mystery game no matter what rule system you run. B



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Masks of Nyarlathotep
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Basic Roleplaying Quickstart Edition
by Richard A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/20/2015 13:02:08

This is a good edition of Chaosiums Universal system. works with Call of Cthulhu and old runequest editions. It is easy to pick up, and is very well written. a GREAT product from one of the older RPG groups out there!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Basic Roleplaying Quickstart Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Basic Roleplaying Quickstart Edition
by Jeffrey M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/06/2015 13:15:19

I will start off by saying anything that is FREE should automatically get 3 stars. I happened upon this while in search of an RPG to play. I had about a 15 year hiatus from RPGs and wanted to get back into it. The $0 price tag caught my eye instantly. I do very much like this particular game. After playing a bit with some friends, I decided to purchase the full version. Totally worth a look.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Nephilim Character Dossiers
by Bjørn K. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2015 05:02:10

I already own the physical product but decided to purchase this pdf verion so I wouldn't have to bother scanning the dead tree version.


I thought scanning it would result in a mediocre result and so, full of anticipation, I bought, payd for, and downloaded this.


Which then turns out to be exactoly what I described above, Namely a hand scanned version of the printed edition.


Not only are the pages of the pdf horrendously dark, bordering on useless for printing but the scans are also crooked and tilted to one side.


At the very least I had expected it to be in a correct horizontal position but printing these out and using them in a game is compleely out of the question.


Quite a dissapointment to have paid money for this.


There, consider yourself warned.


That said I love the Nephilim setting and it's source material, all of which I am the happy owner!


So please DO buy the core book :)



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Nephilim Character Dossiers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mythic Iceland
by Ahimsa K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/05/2015 12:53:28

I actually haven't ever run a game here, but the book itself is so well researched that I've read through this book a couple times.


It's really everything a sourcebook should be!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Iceland
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Stars Are Right!
by Alex M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2015 03:50:08

An excellent collection of scenarios that not only play well as investigations but also capture the tone of modern Call of Cthulhu perfectly. They have dated in some places (which is why it loses one star) but not some much that any Keeper worth his or her salt won't be able to fix them with very little effort.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Stars Are Right!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Magic World
by Richard T. H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/04/2015 07:59:11

Magic world is a simple D100 fantasy RPG. It uses Chaosium’s BRP system and is quite similar to the call of Cuthulhu game. I’ve found combat relatively quick in comparison to other RPGs. Instead of grinding away a few hit points per strike, combat feels fast and fluid. The character’s attributes effect their skill chances of success and the skill list is comprehensive. Magic is plentiful and powerful and the bestiary extensive.


All of this sounds good but we can say this about most games. What I like about MW is the way you can keep most of the rules in your head. There isn’t the need to spend hours looking up some obscure rule. Now this isn’t because Magic World is overly rules light. It’s because the rule system is homogenous. Once you grasp one concept most of the others just fall into place. Secondly there aren’t endless lists of feats, cults and combat styles to learn. Tell the referee what your dong and they’ll calculate in a few seconds the modification and or Effects.


Yes this is a fantasy game but we do want so cohesiveness within the frame work and it’s a relief for me that there aren’t any 98HP fighters going around or abstract game mechanics that have to be computed before the fun begins. This is because although MW is new, it’s actually old. It has grown out of other Chaosuim games from Elric to historical RQ and has been refined and play tested through decades of RPG evolution via these other systems.


It’s the game I play the most. It’s the one I introduce other new gamers to RPG with. It’s my go to fantasy RPG. The system is smooth and works really well and it's never let me down. I think it’s probably the best Fantasy RPG system in the market today.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Magic World
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dead Light
by Eric S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/04/2015 03:28:16

Played beautifully. This is what Cthulthu should be. The antagonist creature very easy to play for the Keeper without pushing human motives--very much a 1950s kind of relentless evil, a la The Blob or Stephen King's The Mist. Meanwhile there's no railroading; the PCs were smothered by their own choices in every direction. The most beautiful moment for me as Keeper was when the PCs realized they would endanger themselves no matter what they did and decided they would just be as courageous as they could be. Ending a bit anticlimactic (due to player choice) but it worked out for a very fun evening.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dead Light
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Christmas in Kingsport
by Shannon M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2015 00:36:32

There are some really good ones and some mediocre ones. That said, I think "Silent Night" by Bob Brinkman is a great one-shot in modern day Arkham and perfect for running during Xmas (which I have done for the last two years). For a dreamier scenario Oscar Rios' "Xmas in Kingsport" revisits the characters playing children (his first being from Halloween Horror 2005). I'd give an honorable mention to "Gaudy" as well.


OVERALL GRADE: B to B plus.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Christmas in Kingsport
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Last Rites
by Ed S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/06/2015 12:53:10

My one star is based on the pdf scan. The pdf resolution is slightly blurry. It is insulting because I spent money on this to support the publisher when I could have just as easily downloaded a 'free' version that is bright, crisp and clear.


Seriously, this pdf looks like Chaosium chose to use some 3rd rate torrent or scribd version as their own.


Disappointing to say the least.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Last Rites
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Green
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/01/2015 08:30:58

Typically solid work from Chaosium that takes a well-worn fantasy trope -- living in the trees -- and says "lets break that down and see what it would actually take to have a society there; why would people live in such a challenging way?" I mean there's a reason we don't live in the trees now. It's impossible. The Green shows us how it could work, given of course the existence of magic and goblins and ape dudes.


The presentation is very good. The photoshopped photographs are a bit funny looking, but the style is unified throughout so it suits itself just fine. The writing is clean and intelligent. All in all, a very good overlooked product for people who want a challenging, internally realistic take on this idea. Fully statted for BRP in the typical clear style of Chaosium.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Green
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Horror on the Orient Express
by Alexander L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/17/2015 09:56:39

Originally posted at: http://diehardgamefan.com/2014/10/02/tabletop-review-horro-
r-on-the-orient-express-digital-edition-call-of-cthulhu/
-


After more than TWO YEARS since being funded, a final version of the Horror on the Orient Express remake has been sent to the 1,374 Kickstarter backers that made it happen. Sure it was originally scheduled to come out in August of 2013, but it’s very rare that tabletop games make their estimated release date. It’s part of the industry. What matters is that it is here now – at least for Kickstarter backers who pledged at least $20 to the project. For everyone else, you can get this massive PDF collection for a “mere” $499.95. Now don’t worry – this price will drop after the official release of the physical product in a few weeks. This hefty price tag is to make sure that the Kickstarter backers (or those who have Sanity Points in the single digits) have a few weeks to themselves with this. Considering the physical product can be preordered for about $120, it’s safe to say the PDF collection itself will be under $100.


Now if you joined me back in January of 2014, you already know that I’ve extensively looked at the first four books in this collection (Chaosium sent me the proofs – that’s why I could cover it nearly a year before the actual release) and did a photo collection of some of the many ancillary items that can be obtained with (or separately from) the physical edition of the game. I won’t be rehashing those. Instead I’ll be covering everything but those parts of the collection in this review. For those interested in reading very long and detailed coverage of the first four books and some physical swag, here are the links:


Add-on & Ancillary Items (http://diehardgamefan.com/2014/01/10-
/tabletop-preview-a-look-at-horror-on-the-orient-express-anc-
illary-and-add-on-items-call-of-cthulhu/
)
Book I: Campaign Book (http://diehardgamefan.com/2014/01/03/tabletop-previe-
w-horror-on-the-orient-express-book-i-campaign-book-call-of--
cthulhu/
)
Book II: Through the Alps (http://diehardgamefan.com/2014/01/10/tabletop-pr-
eview-horror-on-the-orient-express-book-ii-through-the-alps--
call-of-cthulhu/
)
Book III: Italy and Beyond (http://diehardgamefan.com/2014/01/17/tabletop-p-
review-horror-on-the-orient-express-book-iii-italy-and-beyon-
d-call-of-cthulhu/
)
Book IV: Constantinople and Consequences (http://diehardgamefan.com/2014/01-
/24/tabletop-preview-horror-on-the-orient-express-book-iv-co-
nstantinople-and-consequences-call-of-cthulhu/
)


I should also mention that I will also do a review of the physical product when that is finally release, although that will be more a pictorial of all the bells and whistles. I will review the story collection Madness on the Orient Express that was a stretch goal funded by the Horror on the Orient Express Kickstarter as well. Man, you are probably getting sick of all the Horror on the Orient Express coverage I’ve done this year but honestly, I’ve been waiting for a new version to go with my Fifth Edition version since I was in high school, so I’m even more excited for this than the Seventh Edition books coming my way. Now, let’s look at what else is in Horror on the Orient Express besides those core four books we looked at in January and February.


Book V: Strangers On the Train. This is the final core campaign book for Horror on the Orient Express. I didn’t cover it in my original preview pieces, mainly because Chaosium had not sent it to me. Now I have a copy and can delve into some detail about what you’ll find in this ninety-four page booklet. As this is the biggest piece I haven’t covered, expect this to be the largest section of the review.


Strangers On the Train starts off with a look at famous people who could be found riding the Orient Express. This two page brief is broken into three sections: 1890-1900, Around 1900 and After 1920. From there, the book goes into a list of non-essential NPCs to populate the train with. This list of over forty characters (more if you count the “entourage” each NPC has with them) includes both passengers and staff and also can make for potential PCs once one of the original characters dies in the campaign. You’ll have to flesh the stats out a bit in this case, but if there’s a particular NPC a player gravitates toward, this might be a fine option for you. The “List of Passengers” is quite long and it’s arranged not by page order but by alphabetical order. Of course alphabetical order is by first name or beginning of a title, so take a good long look at the list or you’ll get confused thinking the actual layout of this section is in alphabetical order as well. Much of “List of Passengers” is a direct reprint from the original campaign, although the list was in a small loose leaf (Unstapled) pamphlet. There is new art in this re-release of the campaign though.


Book V then concludes with “Investigators.” There are twelve premade characters here for your use. The first six come from the Bradford Players recording of Horror On the Orient Express, which can be found over at Yog-Sothoth.com and the other six were created by Kickstarter backers. All characters are given Seventh Edition stats, so you’ll have to do a bit of converting if you want to use with an earlier edition.


Book VI: Handouts for the Investigators. This is a 196 page book and a new addition to the campaign from previous printings. Previously the campaign was only numbered up to Book IV and the handouts pamphlet was about sixteen pages in length. This is a greatly expanded booklet with a page count worthy of being considered a full campaign book in its own right. The production values are also greatly increased. It is all stuff you have seen before though. It’s just a collection of all the handouts and maps in the first four books, collected for easy use and printing. After all, you don’t want to show the players one of the handouts in a campaign book and let them see snippets of content they aren’t meant to view! I really like this addition, especially the PDF version, because I don’t cut up my books and I hate folding/creasing them on a Xerox machine or scanner to make actual handouts for players. This is a great move by Chaosium.


Le Guide du Voyageur: The Traveller’s Companion. This is another new piece for the updated and expanded 7th Edition Call of Cthulhu version of Horror on the Orient Express. This fifty-two page supplement is meant to really enhance the look and feel of the campaign for those that want a more immersive experience. The piece is written completely in-game and it acts as a little booklet from the Orient Express and its concierge to its travelers. You get travel advice, menus, information about the routes, sites to see and so much more. This is perhaps my favorite aspect of the Horror on the Orient Express remake as it’s so well done. Sure some gamers won’t appreciate or even make use of this, but this little travelogue is pretty fantastic and it’s something I’ll give to each player who takes part in this campaign the next time I run it to really help them get a feel for what the level of class and care the Orient Express was known for in its heyday.


Air Routes of Europe in 1923. This is a one page PDF and it’s exactly what the same suggests. It is a map of Europe complete with air routes that were used back then. This should help players who are trying to circumnavigate the region or who might have missed the Orient Express and are trying to catch up quickly. It’s worth noting that Italy, Portugal and Ireland lacked air routes at this time – at least according to the map.


Routes of the Orient Express. Another self-explanatory one page PDF. This is a full colour piece showing the routes of the five different Orient Express routes throughout Europe, along with a sixth “lesser services” route. Each route is assigned a different, distinct color so you should be able to follow the map quite easily. Unless you are colorblind or only can see in black and white. Then you’re screwed. The map also a nice little legend details major cities, capitals, and locations important to the Horror on the Orient Express campaign. There are also close-ups of three regions to let you and your gaming troupe better see these areas which will come into play as you go through the campaign.


Orient Express Bumper Sticker. Exactly what you think it is.


Sedefkar Simulacrum. A print and play version of the McGuffin that the campaign revolves around. A VERY different version from the one in my old 5e set. I like the new design.


Train Car Plans. Five pages of diagrams showcasing the layout of the Orient Express cars. You have a dining car, a sleeping car, a cathedral car and more. Everything you need to give a visual representation of the train is right here.


Scroll of the Head. This is a one page PDF describing what the Scroll of the Head is and how to use it in the campaign. It also gives some neat ideas on how to make the scroll look aged and weathered. It also references a “How to Use Supplemental Items” sheet that should be in the boxed set, but unfortunately, it’s not in my PDF collection. Boo-Urns.


Overall, the updated and expanded version of Horror on the Orient Express is truly fantastic. If you missed out on the original back in the day for whatever reason (Age, lack of funds, didn’t play the game), you really need to pick this up to see just what an incredible job Chaosium has done on this boxed set. Sure the original version was terrific in its own right, but this new expanded version really makes the overall experience that much more immersive and entertaining. Unless you are dead set against Seventh Edition for whatever reason. Even then, it’s worth picking up Horror on the Orient Express because it contains a conversion guide. It’s also cheaper than trying to buy an unused version of the original edition on the second hand market. Of course, you’ll want to wait for a price drop on the digital because five hundred dollars is insane, even for a terrific job like this, but once the Kickstarter backers have everything in their hands, expect the price to drop to something far more reasonable. Of course, you can still pre-order the physical version if you missed out on the original Kickstarter campaign. You won’t get as many bells and whistles, but it’s still a fantastic deal for anyone even remotely interested in Call of Cthulhu. I can safely say that Horror on the Orient Express has been worth the wait.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Horror on the Orient Express
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 195 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates