DriveThruRPG.com
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Unorthodox Monsters: Goblins
by Marshall B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2017 16:33:52

The good: Lots of interesting variations on goblins without having to memorize 12 new stat blocks. Very much a good way to spice up a common monster without havign to re-invent the wheel. Or in this case, the wheel with lots of teeth that eventually explodes.

The less good: Some of the restrictions are a little hacky (for instance, there's an exploding goblin that can only be ignited by a particular other version of goblin, which given that the explosive is mundane, seems a strange restriction). One or two of the goblin kin seem like they've got enough difference to warrant a XP recalculation, but don't get one; I haven't done the crunch on this to verify, so I could be wrong on that point.

Special mention: The artwork is outstanding and justifies the price of the download as much as the content.

Overall: This is a great bit of inspirational work. Nothing too mind blowing, but lots of solid "Huh... that's pretty cool". Influences are transparent, if not outright stated, but feels like a solid supplement rather than geekfluff.

If you would like your goblins to be a little less predictable and need ideas, give this a shot. It's worth it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Unorthodox Monsters: Goblins
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Unorthodox Monsters: Goblins
by John L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/19/2017 00:12:09

As someone who has DM'd since 1992, it's been troublesome at times to make goblins relevant throughout adventurers careers. 5th edition started the process on how to do so, and, The Le Games leaped it into a quantum gear. Excellent useage, and very extensive. Recommend highly.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Unorthodox Monsters: Goblins
by Saffron B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2017 23:34:41

A lovely collection of wee beasties! Just reading the write ups has my DM brain tingling with new ways to vex my players!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Unorthodox Monsters: Goblins
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/05/2016 00:46:34
Variety is very nice, especially for the chaotic, much maligned, goblin!

This is a targeted, useful pdf! Goblins are close to the bottom of the food chain so in some settings they are everywhere! Don’t let your goblins get boring.

The PDF is 12 pages, of which 10 are content. The pages are two columns and the text crunch is clearly the focus. The first page has the 5e goblin stat block and then there are 24 roles or unorthodox variations. There are about 2 pages of magic items spread between page 10 and the writeup for the goblin ‘Mad Tinker’. All of the variations embellish the vanilla statblock. This makes it a quick read and easy to implement. You can cut & paste the text to share with your players but its mostly DM stuff.

Unorthodox Goblins has great and welcome ideas. My chief criticism of this edition is that there are no new statblocks and no real template data that would include updated challenge rating etc… Having that information available would save a step for encounter building.

I don’t hesitate to recommend ‘Unorthodox Monsters: Goblins’. Interesting low level monsters are vital because they are so much of the game world. Product variations really suggest scenarios and stretch the goblin to be a better monster. Expanded tribe, or higher level encounters could use these ideas to flesh out the goblin hierarchy and make more of their racial character. There is a lot of use in this!

Full Disclosure - I won this pdf in a contest but I'm not beholden to its authorpublisher. These are my views.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Unorthodox Monsters: Goblins
by Ty M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/02/2016 15:13:28

At first glance you may think "I don't need any extra source material for goblins. They're just fodder anyway!" but this short and simple booklet completely made me rethink how to use goblins for my campaigns!

This book contains the quirky and vile little buggers you're used to and enhances them into truly disgusting wretches that will kill each other, kill themselves, and even eat one another for benefit in combat, as well as for the sheer enjoyment of it.

Because of this little PDF, I am now writing a campaign centered around goblin rituals and culture that my players are going to love!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Handbook: Ranger Feats (for 5e)
by Ken C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2016 06:38:56

Another well written and highly usable publication by this writer! Just love his work and this did even more to add to his already great reputation. There is something in here for anyone looking to add to the somewhat but not totally lack luster Ranger presented in the Players Handbook.

Well Done!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Handbook: Ranger Feats (for 5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Enchanted Armory: Sniper (for 5e)
by Ken C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2016 06:24:44

To be honest, I can't fault this. The writer has gone to great lengths to ensure the contents are workable to all tastes and that there is something for everyone within.

Well worth the money spent and looking forward to seeing more :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Enchanted Armory: Sniper (for 5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Unorthodox Archetypes: Spartans (for 5e)
by paul c. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/07/2016 18:03:54

My Review. I think the Spartan class as a whole is very well made and would be something fun to run as a story or even just a character. The Spartan Archetype for Fighters seems Weaker as you don't get as much as just rolling up a Spartan Class but i feel that its fine if you think it as a more modern take on Spartans.

Personally i feel like the Spartan races should include the other Warrior races like Half-Orcs, Dragonborn, Dwarfs not just humans i understand for a history point why humans but i think it shouldn't be labeled as only humans. I do agree it should stay as a DM option.

All in All i like what i saw. The Small selection of Magic Items for the Spartans gives you a taste of what you could make for your Spartan magic item line and would be interesting to see more from other DMs. Maybe some that are easter eggs to Actual History Weapons.

4.5/5 Everything was great i could see myself using this for a theme campaign.

-DM Paul



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Unorthodox Archetypes: Spartans (for 5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Enchanted Armory: Sniper (for 5e)
by Sasha W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/06/2016 22:15:13

Very Well written, Good description of items. Great ideas on weapons / ammunition / buffs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Enchanted Armory: Sniper (for 5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Heroic Handbook: Ki Powers (for 5e)
by Kris L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2016 14:04:47

This is a great product for anyone that enjoys monks. The new feats that are introduced are really well done. Thr magic iteks are something i am immediately intergratinginto my world.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Handbook: Ki Powers (for 5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Enchanted Armory: Orbs of Oblivion (for 5e)
by Saffron B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/24/2016 10:35:01

Thank the Maker! New Orbs for my Arcanists!!

I absolutely love little books such as these. The ability to give my players something that they haven't seen before, something they have to experiment with and discover.... well, thats priceless to me. And ORBS! The most underrated of the Magical implements! This will be a fun surprise for a very unlucky Enchanter in my next game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Enchanted Armory: Orbs of Oblivion (for 5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Enchanted Armory: Rings of Power (for 5e)
by Saffron B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/24/2016 10:31:25

Loved it!

For only $2.00 you get a wonderful little book that has far reaching potential. As a long-time Dungeon Master of a loyal group of gamers, we have seen all of the standard treasures. Its great to throw the players something truly unkown to them. That sense of discovery, renewed!

As a side note to potential DMs out there: Use the Ring of Detect Invisibility! A villian in one of my tales had it, and was able to surprise the Trickster Rogue of our group. THEN, after she claimed the Ring for herself, she noticed all of the invisible creatures moving across the rooftops of the villiage.... a great lead into the next quest!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Enchanted Armory: Rings of Power (for 5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Enchanted Armory: Arms & Armors (for 5e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/19/2016 21:44:27

Great backgrounds for the items. A number have downsides which offset their utility or higher "cool factor".



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Enchanted Armory: Arms & Armors (for 5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Enchanted Armory: Arms & Armors (for 5e)
by Steve F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/27/2016 21:47:07

This product is a well written source of new magic items for use with 5th Edition.

I feel the items are fairly well balanced and could be used to add some variety to any campaign. Some items have a good background information provided that could be modified to fit personal needs. But, the background provided is at least a start.

Full Disclosure: I was awarded a free copy of this product in a random Facebook contest.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Enchanted Armory: Orbs of Oblivion (for 5e)
by Robert L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2016 18:32:21

If you're like me then you quickly get tired of the standard items and like to mix things up. Whether you are looking to bolster a NPC or give your players soemthing new I think there are some good wrinkles in the items to make things exciting without breaking anything. Have to say I enjoy the artwork too. Not fully painted splash page stuff, but cool and within the formatting of the book. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Enchanted Armory: Orbs of Oblivion (for 5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 212 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates