DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Leverage Companion 05: Tropes Vs. Leverage
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/02/2013 00:00:00

WHAT YOU SHOULD KNOW: As above, you can get it as a single PDF or part of the Companion Volume 2. The purpose of this Companion is help out a bit with defining a character by making use of different archetypes. About 15 archetypes are provided, with descriptions and advice on combining each archetype with each of the five Roles, as well as a Talent that fits each Archetype. Maybe your Hitter is a Mama Bear (or Papa Wolf), maybe your Hacker is a Romantic, maybe your Thief is an Artist, maybe your Grifter is a Rebel and maybe your Mastermind is an Architect who has built each of their plans off of the backs of their last ones.


WHAT WORKS: A real simple way to get a starting point for your Leverage characters, using common archetypes as the core concept (combined with the Roles, obviously). Some of them are truly inspired, as are their related Talents (like an Architect getting a bigger Asset die when using a Callback, since they are building to these moments).


WHAT DOESN'T WORK: Some of the combinations don't fit so well, and at times the writing seemed to struggle to define the Archetype/Role relationships without repeating the same ground. Several of the pages carry the footers from the Hollywood Hacking Companion, which presumably got brought over in formatting but never changed.


CONCLUSION: A very useful Companion for those struggling with character creation, or for those who are maybe looking for inspiration for a unique spin for their next character. I also appreciate the fact that there's an attempt at backing these decisions up mechanically, with the inclusion of Talents. A good, well written companion piece to the Leverage rulebooks and supplements.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Leverage Companion 05: Tropes Vs. Leverage
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Leverage Companion 06: KRYPTOS
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/02/2013 00:00:00

WHAT YOU SHOULD KNOW: Available in the same formats as above, Companion 6 takes your Leverage game from the Populist Revenge business and into the realm of Espionage (and Counter-Espionage). This includes advice on changing up the roles (Hitter to Wetworks, Thief to Acquisitions, Mastermind to Handler, etc). This is even a recommended mode of play for Single Player games (James Bond or Jason Bourne, anyone?) While these Companions commonly offer new Talents, this one also offers new rules, such as resisting Interrogations, handling "Gadgets", and even an "Enhanced Flashback" mechanic that allows the Agents to throw the trust of each other into question.There's even a few campaign set-ups, including an amusing one set in a retirement home for secret agents. An Instant Mission Generator replaces the Job Generator from the Leverage core rules, so you can generate spy-appropriate missions on the fly.


WHAT WORKS: Well, I love random generators, so that's a win right there. There's lots of good information in a small package to tweak Leverage from its default mode of play and into spy games.


WHAT DOESN'T WORK: A few spy-related Talents would have been great. Mentioning the Trust mechanic before the section that actually introduced it was a little counterintuitive, but not a huge problem given the size of the product.


CONCLUSION: If you're going to write a niche product like this, present the information as usefully and as compelling as you can. This book totally hit the mark in that regard, giving you the necessary tools to turn Leverage into a spy game with a small package. I always like extra options for Talents, so the book lacking those is disappointing. That said, it's a well-written, micro supplement that was released with a very clear goal that it accomplishes admirably. A great pick-up if you want to diversify your Leverage campaign options.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Leverage Companion 06: KRYPTOS
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gaming in the 'Verse: Firefly Gen Con 2013 Exclusive
by Daniel B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2013 13:56:40

I hate the rules system they used. I was hoping that they would have used the system in the Classic Cortex version of the Firefly game. The Cortex Plus system was a bad system when it was introduced in the Marvel RPG and it's still a bad system. There's no detail to it. It's too arbitrary for my taste. I run other RPGs for 2 different groups of players and none of them would enjoy this. I love Firefly and the universe created by Josh Whedon but this game doesn't do it justice.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Gaming in the 'Verse: Firefly Gen Con 2013 Exclusive
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Annihilation Event Book (Essentials Edition)
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/09/2013 09:06:58

Fun product. Too bad it is gone now. I will admit I am not familiar with the comic-arc Marvel did here though so I can't judge it on that.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Annihilation Event Book (Essentials Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gaming in the 'Verse: Firefly Gen Con 2013 Exclusive
by Ed R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/06/2013 14:18:49

I truly hate to write this review; the Net is overflowing with angry little men looking to grind an axe and establish their value via a point of view. But the truth is, I’m a fan of the Verse and a paying customer, so here goes…


Let’s be frank; this rules set is nothing more than a poorly executed hak of the Marvel Heroic System. Take everything bad about that game, stir in some poorly executed amalgams of so-so ideas from Smallville or Leverage and you have Gaming in the Verse. Its as if the Original rule set had ben cut open, everything good about it scooped out, then replaced with an uninspired rehashing of old ideas born of a looming deadline and poor time management skills.


Possibly the saddest thing about this game is the way the skill sets have been gutted. The robust skill system of the original has been replaced with an oversimplified idea that barely worked in the Marvel game and certainly doesn’t in a game about ordinary people.


Put simply, I am horribly disappointed in this offering. I expected much more from MWP. This offering is poorly third rate. I cannot recommend this book on any level. I give it a 1 rating only because the system seemed to dislike a zero.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Gaming in the 'Verse: Firefly Gen Con 2013 Exclusive
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cortex Classic System Role Playing Game
by Ian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2013 12:20:23

A solid and very playable game. It takes a lot of tinkering to get it just how you want for a particular game, but it is worth it. Unfortunately, it does suffer from some balance issues in their advantage/disadvantage system. Even with those problems, it plays very well and was greatly enjoyed by my group.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cortex Classic System Role Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gaming in the 'Verse: Firefly Gen Con 2013 Exclusive
by Francis D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/21/2013 18:53:23

This is a fully playable demo rather than the finished product, and as such is missing quite a number of things, but is more than enough to play. So be warned - the full game will have more content and this is more a very functional preview or a lite version. It's wonderfully presented (as anyone who knows any MWP games will know) and very effective.


It is also the second system for running in the Firefly universe, with the first being Margaret Weis Productions' Serenity using the Cortex system. The two systems are very similar, both light and fast flowing - and haveIMO too much volatility with the inept having decent chances to beat the experts.


Ultimately, however, the difference between the two systems is one of emphasis - Firefly ows a lot to the previous (and excellent) Leverage system for which MWP subcontracted Evil Hat (Fate Core, Spirit of the Century, Dresden Files). And whereas Serenity put its focus on questions like "You are Ianara firing a bow from behind a rock at goons hiding behind pillars. How much less damage do you do than Jayne with Vera?", Firefly puts its focus on questions like "You are Jayne and have just punched someone out for making fun of your cunnin' hat. How much trouble have you just created for the rest of the crew to deal with later?"


And that second type of question is, to me, the core of the 'Verse. Combine that with a couple of excellent and fun (if very slightly railroady) adventures (one being intrigue heavy and involving weddings and popular princesses, and the other being a romp of a race to rescue orphans) and you have an excellent game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Gaming in the 'Verse: Firefly Gen Con 2013 Exclusive
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gaming in the 'Verse: Firefly Gen Con 2013 Exclusive
by Ron M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/16/2013 00:31:04

I have to say, I've been a fan of the Cortex system for quite sometime now. I've got all of the RPG books its ever produced outside of supplements (mainly MHR).
I have to admit I wasn't a big fan of the original Serenity Game, although it had its uniqueness to it, I felt that it was unorganized and slightly more complicated than it should have been, then they tried to fix it with the BDH Book, which was great by the way, but I have to say this new version of this book is Great, I love the layout and design, I have to agree the Archetype art was not the greatest, but it works for simplicity (showing that they can be Male or Female), other than that I feel it was a better rounded book.
Also I would like to add that I've tried the other Cortex Plus books and felt they all lacked something in them, but I don't feel this way with version (which I'll use from now on). It has everything I wanted in it; Attributes, Skills, Distinctions, Specialties and Signature assets that could define the character "Concept" rather than just spending points to build a ridiculous Concept.
I'm looking forward to running this with my group as well as seeing the other supplements for it.
I give it a five star rate and a tremendous Thumbs Up!


Shiny!
Ron



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gaming in the 'Verse: Firefly Gen Con 2013 Exclusive
by Jeremy J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/15/2013 07:46:22

By comparison to the original Firefly RPG released by Margaret Weis Productions, this is simplistic drivel. The rules laid out here have no respect for the depth of the Firefly universe, nor do they attempt to establish any new cannon (which this would've been a perfect opportunity to do so!). Instead, a good chunk of this book's first half is a rehash of the episodes (breaking down the Chinese phrases used, giving stat blocks to NPCs, and a general overview of the episode's plot). Most of the NPC blocks could've been bunched together in the NPC section and the Chinese is mostly covered in the pronunciation guide in the back. It feels like they were desperately trying to just fill the pages with something, anything, to pad their page count.


So, where the hell did the Cortex system go!? That worked quite well for Firefly! It's like they completely dashed a great system for a barely functional system. I understand that the idea was to go with a simpler system so that more people could get into the game, but they sorely missed the mark. If you want simple and functional, look at Monty Cooke's Numenera! That system is simple, emphasizing RP over rules, but he at least understands that you still need a strong rule set to base your world in. There is no equipment list in this book and the options for ship building in this guide are sub-par as well. Where the original had a robust guide to ship building as well as many examples of ships of various sizes and uses for your perusing pleasure, this guide has a short, shaky chapter with no feeling of life.


As to maps and guides to the worlds of Firefly, don't look for that here. The best they have is a single page "atlas" of the White Sun system. No details on the world are given, just a page with a basic graphic and the planet names. Where are the other four systems? Not here, apparently. It's like they didn't even try to work with QMx, who have made an officially sanctioned and licensed map of the 'Verse.


Lastly, the art is an issue. While I don't mind them using images from the TV show (Wies did that in the original guide books), it doesn't look at clean in this book. It's not as big of an issue though as the extra art for the character archetypes which is simplistic and does not mesh with the style in the rest of the book. It feels out of place and horrible. The art presented alongside the two adventures in the back of the guide is great though and blends well with the images from the TV show. If only they had gotten that artist to do the rest of the guide! The only thing saving this guidebook from a 1 Star review is that the missions presented in the back are functional. The story presented is coherent, but needs a little more work. That and I'm going to have to spend time converting it back to Cortex if I'm to use it.


Simply put, this guide is garbage. I was expecting so much more. I was expecting something that would breath some new life back into the Firefly RPG. Instead I'm left with this book that I'm sad to say I paid for. So, DO NOT BUY THIS.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Serenity Role Playing Game
by David R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2013 14:16:13

Richly illustrated, and lavishly produced, this game system looked to be everything I'd been looking for to play in one of my favorite fictional universes.


Sadly, while it is very rich in sourcebook type information, I find certain elements of the mechanics to be somewhat unfinished. Overall, it's a terrifically enjoyable read for any Firefly fan, but, of itself it does not offer a complete system for satisfying roleplay. Perhaps in concert with its several companion books, this could be a truly great product, but not on its own.


(I have this personal opinion that core rulebooks should actually give you enough to play successfully without having to improvise rules for what should be common gameplay situations.)


If you are a grognard who enjoys thinking on your feet, and improvising where needed, yes, this is a beautiful setting for a game. Otherwise, look for the rest of the system, and especially for the fan-created material that helps round this system out.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Serenity Role Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Civil War X-Men
by Roger L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/22/2013 06:54:00

„Was mach ich eigentlich hier?“ ist die erste Frage, die ich mir beim Schreiben dieser Rezension gestellt habe. Warum? Nicht etwa, weil der Band irgendwelche herausragenden Mängel hat, oder ich den Band von vornherein blöd finde. Nein, der Grund für diese Frage ist die jüngste Entwicklung im Hause Margaret Weis Productions. Was ist passiert? Für einen bekennenden Fan von Cortex Plus und dem Marvel Universum (auch wenn ich letzteres erst kürzlich für mich wieder entdeckt habe), ist die Katastrophe schlechthin eingetreten: Margaret Weis Productions hat die Marvel-Lizenz verloren, bzw. zurückgegeben, bzw. nicht verlängert. Was davon nun stimmt – ich weiß es nicht. Für uns Rollenspieler ist das auch relativ egal. Es ist einfach nur blöd!
Nicht nur, dass kein neues Material erscheinen wird (es war ja noch einiges in der Pipeline), nein! Auch bisheriges PDF-Material wird nicht mehr vertrieben. Es ist nicht mehr erhältlich. Schon jetzt sind aus den diversen Online-Shops die Bände verschwunden. Die Printausgaben (so aufgelegt) können natürlich nach wie vor gekauft werden – solange der Vorrat reicht.
So weit, so schlecht. Komme ich also zum eigentlichen Grund warum ich hier sitze: Der Rezension zu Marvel Heroic Roleplaying Game – Civil War – X-Men.
Der vorliegende Band ist ein Zusatzband zum Civil-War Settingband. Er ermöglicht den Spielern und dem Spielleiter bzw. Watcher, Mutanten ins Feld des Bürgerkrieges der Superhelden zu führen. Der Band ist sozusagen ein Ergänzungsband zum Ergänzungsband Civil War.
Erscheinungsbild
Ich habe hier das PDF Marvel Heroic Roleplaying Game – Civil War – X-Men vorliegen. Der Band umfasst 134 farbige Seiten und ist ohne das zugehörige Event Book Civil War nicht spielbar. Das PDF ist in englischer Sprache.


Die Schrift ist auf meinem Tablet bequem lesbar. Die Verlinkung von Inhaltsverzeichnis und Index ist vorbildlich. Die Navigation innerhalb des Dokumentes ist also einfach möglich. Das Layout selbst ist, wie schon beim dazugehörigen Settingband, sehr verschwenderisch. Am Rand ist häufig ein großer freier Streifen zu sehen. Die üppigen, durchgehend farbigen Illustrationen sind zwar alle nett anzusehen und stimmen gut auf den Band ein, knabbern aber nichtsdestotrotz kräftig am verfügbaren Platz auf jeder Seite. Wie schon beim Vorgängerband werde ich das Gefühl nicht los, dass Seiten geschunden werden mussten.


Inhaltlich ist der Band nicht einfach zu beurteilen. Von den 134 Seiten, sind ca. ¾ der Seiten Datenblätter der diversen Mutanten. Da bleiben nur knapp über 30 Seiten rezensierbarer Text übrig. Dazu kommt noch das verschwenderische Layout, das den Textanteil des Bandes nochmal reduziert.


Inhalt


Wie schon der Vorgängerband, eignet sich der vorliegende Band nicht dazu, ihn kurz vor der nächsten Spielsitzung durchzuarbeiten. Der Spielleiter sollte sich einige Zeit nehmen um sich in den Text einzuarbeiten und sich zu überlegen, wie die hier enthaltenden Informationen am Besten in die Civil War-Kampagne eingearbeitet werden können. Zwar gibt der Band dazu einige Tipps und Hinweise, um das volle Potential des Bandes auszunutzen, ist aber einiges an Eigenarbeit notwendig – wie ich finde, eine durchaus lohnender Aufwand. Gerade die besondere Situation der Mutanten nach den Ereignissen nach House of M und dem M-Day bietet viel Potential für absolut erstklassiges Rollenspiel.


Damit wäre ich auch gleich beim eigentlichen Inhalt des Bandes. Wem House of M und M-Day nichts sagt, findet hier einen kurzen Abriss über die vergangenen Ereignisse. Mir als Leser, der in das Marvel-Universum erst mit Civil War wieder eingestiegen ist, boten mir diese Seiten genügend Informationen, um mir die Situation der verbliebenen Mutanten vorzustellen.


Moment! Verbliebene Mutanten? Ja! Während des M-Days verloren ein Großteil der Mutanten das X-Gen und somit ihre Fähigkeiten. Aus Millionen wurden wenige hundert. Und 198 von ihnen leben kaserniert in einem Zeltlager auf dem Gebiet des Institutes von Professor Xavier. Bunt gemischt leben die verbliebenen Helden und Schurken zusammen, beschützt bzw. bewacht von den Sentinels des Office of National Emergency (ONE). Gefürchtet und gehasst von vielen der „normalen“ Menschen gleichermaßen, leben die letzten Mutanten der Erde in freiwilliger Isolation und gelten als neutral im aufkommenden Civil War.


Diese eine Seite Hintergrundinformationen bietet natürlich keine allumfassende Erklärung über die vergangenen Ereignisse, der Spielleiter sollte hier aber genügend Anhaltspunkte finden um sich alles notwendige zu ergoogeln (auch hier ist Tante Wiki dein Freund).


Der Band geht zunächst einmal auf die gegenwärtige Situation der Mutanten ein. Es folgt eine Auflistung der verschiedenen Spieloptionen. Was bedeutet es, einen der legendären X-Men zu spielen? Bekannt wie ein bunter Hund? Gehasst, geliebt, gefürchtet? Wie wäre es, in die Haut einer der neuen X-Men, oder einer der neuen Studenten zu schlüpfen?


Oder aber, man spielt einen der anderen 198 Mutanten. Deren Kräfte sind zwar nur vergleichsweise gering, im direkten Vergleich zu den übermächtig erscheinenden Alpha und Omega-Mutanten. Rollenspielerisch hört sich das aber nichtdestotrotz nach einer gelungenen Herausforderung an.


Das Buch hat aber noch mehr zu bieten. Ebenso im Rahmen des Möglichen ist es, eine der Sentinel-Einheiten in den Civil War zu führen. Die Gründe können vielfältig sein. Desertierte der Sentinel-Pilot um „das Richtige“ zu tun? Um Partei im Civil War zu ergreifen? Oder folgt er nur einer neuen Liebe oder einem neuen Freund in die Schlacht? Wurde er als Aufpasser oder Beschützer einer Gruppe von Mutanten zur Seite gestellt? Oder liegen ganz andere Gründe für die Anwesenheit eines Sentinels in der Kampagne vor?


Im Anschluss an diversen Datenblätter sind einige mögliche Szenen kurz angerissen. Das Format folgt dem bereits aus Civil War bekannten Schema.


[spoiler]


Field Trip with ONE


Auf einem Ausflug um ein neuartiges Trackingdevice zur Kontrolle von Mutanten zu testen, stößt man auf einen Mutanten, der umringt von ONE Agenten tot auf der Straße liegt. Wie wird diese kritische Situation gelöst?


198 Breakout


Chaos überall. Eine Gruppe namens X-Force beschließt einige Mutanten zu befreien, bzw. ihnen die Chance auf Freiheit zu geben. Wie werden sich die Spielercharaktere verhalten? Brechen sie mit aus? Versuchen sie die Ordnung aufrecht zu erhalten?


Battle in Nevada


Die Gruppe der Ausgebrochenen wurde aufgespürt. Ihnen sind sowohl Sentinel-Einheiten von ONE und die X-Men auf der Spur. Wie wird der Konflikt ausgehen? Auf welcher Seite stehen die Spielercharaktere?


[/spoiler]


Eine weitere spielbare Option bietet sich in X-Factor Investigations. Eine Gruppe von ermittelnden Mutanten, die sich in Mutant Town als Detektei einen Namen gemacht haben. Ich stelle es mir spaßig vor, diese Gruppe von Spielern besetzt zu sehen.


Ebenso wie schon zuvor bei den X-Men und Professor Xaviers Institut wird auf einer Seite kurz auf die aktuelle Situation der Mutanten bzw. Ex-Mutanten in Mutant Town eingegangen. Es folgen die diversen Datenblätter dieser Superheldengruppe, gefolgt von einigen Einstiegspunkten, wie Mutanten als auch X-Factor Investigations in die Kampagne eingebunden werden können.


[spoiler]


You lied to us!


X-Factor wird angeheuert um den Ursachen für den Massenhaften Mutantenschwund auf die Spur zu kommen.


[/spoiler]


Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis
Als ich diese Rezension angefangen habe zu schreiben, war das PDF leider schon aus den Shops verschwunden. Eine Aussage zum Preis-/Leistungsverhältnisses kann ich also leider nicht treffen.
Fazit


Meine erste Reaktion beim Lesen des Bandes war: „Mensch ist das Dröge. Viel zu wenig Material.“ Nachdem ich aber erst mal angefangen habe zu lesen, war mir relativ schnell klar, wie viel Potential zu richtig genialem Rollenspiel der vorliegende Band bietet. Die Spannungen innerhalb der verbliebenen Mutanten, die Konflikte mit ONE, das Misstrauen der „normalen“ Bevölkerung – all das bietet unheimlich viel Stoff um intensive Geschichten zu erleben – auch abseits des eigentlichen Hintergrundes der Kampagne. Ich sehe hier sogar so viel Möglichkeiten um zu sagen, dass ich viel lieber eine eigene Kampagne erleben wollte und ganz auf den Civil War Hintergrund verzichten könnte.


Was kann man mehr von einem Zusatzband zu einem Zusatzband erwarten, der auch noch in recht begrenzter Seitenzahl daherkommt? Es ist allerdings anzumerken, dass der Spielleiter hier sehr viel Eigenleistung erbringen muss.
Bonus/Downloadcontent


Folgende Linkliste ist zwar nicht Bestandteil des rezensierten Bandes, doch dürfte sie Spielern, welche mit dem Marvel-Universum nicht vertraut sind einen guten Einblick in das fehlende Hintergrundmaterial bieten:


Civil War: http:/-
/en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Civil_War_(comics
)
House of M: http://en.wik-
ipedia.org/wiki/House_of_M

M-Day: http:-
//en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Decimation_(comics
)
Sentinels: http://-
en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sentinel_(comics
)
Unsere Bewertung


Erscheinungsbild 5/5 Viele farbige Illustrationen, gute interne Verlinkung des PDFs.
Inhalt 2/5 Viel Datenblätter, wenig spielbares Material, dafür aber sehr viel Potential bei viel Eigenleistung.
Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis - Entfällt.
Gesamt 3,5/5 So sehr ich auch das Potential schätze, das der Band bietet, mehr spielbares Material wäre wünschenswert gewesen.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Civil War X-Men
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Civil War Young Avengers / Runaways
by Schuyler C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/13/2013 11:17:29

One of the latest in the Marvel Heroic Roleplaying Game line, this supplement is meant to introduce numerous younger and less earth shaking characters to the game. For the most part, these are characters that the average comic book reader isn't fully aware of, yet in some cases, they shaped important aspects of the universe. (Such as The New Warriors causing the event that spawned the entire Civil War storyline.) This is primarily a listing of the canonical points of these characters, and how they fit into the universe.


On the plus side, these are nicely in depth write-ups on these characters, complete with illustrations of them from an assortment of artists. If you have an interest in learning more about Stature, Ricochet, Hulkling, or the Power Pack kids, this is more than eager to share. Think of it as the latest supplement to the Marvel Handbook Of The Universe, with game stats added in to allow to bring the characters to your game.


On the down side, that is about all this is. There is little more than character write ups, and some hints about how these characters fit into the established storyline from Marvel. Everything is fiercely canon, and there is little room for straying from said storyline. And yet, there is no real storyline laid out here, nor are there maps to be used. As much as I appreciate the chance to dig into these characters, there is little here to convince me that I am wrong to be working to convert these characters for use in my Champions campaign.


Bottom Line - If you are seriously invested in the Marvel universe, or even just the Civil War story, get this product. If you are looking for a full supplement to help you set up and run Civil War as a campaign, look a bit farther afield.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Civil War Young Avengers / Runaways
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Civil War Event Book (Premium Edition)
by David W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/03/2013 12:53:18

This strikes me much like the Firefly TV series... the best product ever canceled prematurely...


The system is a balance between the indy narrative style and the more crunchy game systems. You get to describe how your hero is approaching a problem and then go through your sheet to see what skills and powers support that.


The basic mechanic consists of pooling dice based on your character then pulling two die for a success total and a third die to show the magnitude of the success. Simple and effective.


The powers may sound similar (how many supers are strong?) but the sfx'es make them unique to the character.


The doom pool can be used to add a sense of increasing difficulty or chaos. And the Power Points are simply the best designed use of Luck/Fate/Hero/etc points. They're not just add a plus to hit.


All in all very good. Too bad the license is pulled.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Civil War Event Book (Premium Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Basic Game
by Samuel T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2013 15:58:05

I've bought three copies of this total: one digital, and two physical copies. Its very well done, is a real bargain for its production values, and the game itself? Nice, reasonably light, and flexible. I like that its looser than HERO or M&M, and isn't so focused on specific minutia for simulating things as those titles, but rather its more about making the game "feel" like a comic to me.


I'd really encourage you to pick it up; at $10 for the PDF, its a steal. From what I've read, its very "hackable," so you can use it for other games/genres. The upcoming Cortex Hacker's Guide will even have a fantasy hack for it as an example! If they ever release this particular Cortex variant as a stand-alone set of rules, definitely get it!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Basic Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Basic Game
by Mitchell H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2013 15:57:55

While I am a fan of flexible rule systems, this one is too vague, and non-existent when it comes to character creation. Without a decent character creation system, this is little more than pen-and-paper cosplay. I don't want to play Iron Man, or Thor, or any other already-existing characters. I want to create a new, unique character.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 61 to 75 (of 296 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates