DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Cortex Classic System Role Playing Game
by Jon L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2015 21:17:19

I am new to the cortex rules but I love them. They are easy to use and easy to learn when creating a game. No complaints from me here. I use a lot of game settings but Cortex I will definitely use at some point.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cortex Classic System Role Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Firefly: Things Don't Go Smooth
by Matthew H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2015 12:06:41

This book is a must have addition to your firefly RPG library. Not only does it have a pile of more adventures and jobs to go on but it had a very nice FAQ in the back going through some very common questions. More distinctions, more ships, more assets, more bad guys, just more of everything. Quality is just as good as the core book, very well made and the art is top notch.


I would recommend every firefly player to own this book and give a few good read and play throughs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Firefly: Things Don't Go Smooth
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Firefly Role-Playing Game Corebook
by Matthew H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2015 11:54:53

Hello,


Over the past few weeks I have been reading through the corebook for Firefly from Margaret Weis Productions and i do have to say, I have yet to find such a well made, easy to use, and fun way to create a character as this. The rules are fairly straight forward to understand and the book has the whole series of firefly as an example of gameplay plus a few extra adventures to go on near the back of the book as well.


The quality of the product is also very very good, not that i will purposely damage it but i know this book is going to last a very long time. the art also inside is very well done high quality and includes many shots from the series.


I really cant wait to see more from them and soon!


-Matt Hanna



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Firefly Role-Playing Game Corebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Firefly Echoes of War: Thrillin' Heroics
by Tim R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/13/2015 16:39:14

Works as both a players-guide style rules summary and character-creation helper as well as containing a number of adventures. The first, with a wedding caper that could've come right out of hte actual show, is the best.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Firefly Echoes of War: Thrillin' Heroics
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Firefly: Smugglers Guide to the Rim
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/26/2015 08:32:57

There's a lot here: new rules, new places to visit and two complete adventures to play. Primarily aimed at game masters, there is a wealth of material to enhance an existing campaign or spark off a new one. It's all presented in the casual conversational style that has characterised all releases in the Firefly line, jarring for some but somehow fitting to the style of the original show.


The rules stuff is mostly to do with Reputation. What are you known for? And how well are you regarded? There's plenty of detail about how to get a good Reputation... and how easy it is to lose it. Note that Reputation only affects how NPCs view you, fellow player-characters are free to make up their own minds, no matter what the numbers say. The four 'factions' found in the 'Verse are also introduced: Alliance, Browncoats, Corporations and Criminals. Each one is a collection of assumptions (right or wrong) about the folk lumped into that category, and most people do not actually view themselves as belonging to one anyway. It mostly serves as a mechanic for determining how NPCs will react, but there is a lot of detail here to help you get a feel for how different groups think and feel. Some of it's useful, some of it may come over as rather too mechanical - but it can serve a use, perhaps as a 'rule of thumb' for determining reactions or even bringing out just how polarised society can be in the wake of a civil war. As examples, the Reputations of the characters from the show are analysed in detail. You can do the same for your own characters (or if you've chosen to play the show ones, well, it's done for you!).


There are also twelve new archetypes for those looking for new characters to play. They are grouped by faction, which may influence your choice. The notes take you through the steps from archetype outline to full-blown character, and then each one gets a full page including basic statistics, a run-down on what makes them tick and even a portrait. There are a lot of new Distinctions to choose from as well, and it is even possible to retrofit existing characters if you want. The process of adding Reputation to them is also covered here. If that wasn't enough, there are also a whole bunch more of Signature Assets that you might wish to have.


Once characters are dealt with, there's a similarly copious array of material for your ship. Different classes of vessel, history, signature assets, distinctions and customisation options - everything you need to make your ship a whole lot more than a means of transportation. There are some ready-made examples too.


Next comes the Good Shepherd's Run, a route through ten planets which are all described in sufficient detail to make a visit interesting. Notable people, what the different factions are doing, places to go... even ideas for adventures to be had there. A wealth of snippets of information to make each location come to life in your game.


This extensive section is followed by two complete adventures, All in the Family and Circling the Wagons. These are laid out in the pattern established by earlier published adventures, and both give plenty of scope for profit and trouble... or maybe that ought to be the other way around. The stakes are high. They are beautifully detailed and easy to run, although you have to edit a bit on the fly if your players have their own characters rather than the ones from the show (mine always want their own characters!). Resources are provided to help you deal with characters who do something other than the intended, seamlessly and without derailing the entire plotline. Nicely done.


There are several Appendices, including a whole lot more Chinese, some rules FAQ (and answers), maps and charts, colourful phrases typical of the various sorts of folk you might encounter, summaries of personal and ship Distinctions and a regular army of NPCs all ready to use (complete with complete character sheets).


There's a wealth of stuff here that will enhance your game - who could want more than that?"



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Firefly: Smugglers Guide to the Rim
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Firefly Echoes of War: Thrillin' Heroics
by Walter H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2015 17:16:05

Rather than purchasing the individual adventures, I bought this. For the price, this a wonderful supplement for the GM to pick up and use. My crew really loved Shooting Fish and Freedom Flyer. Wedding Planners, not so much... They were pretty neutral on the other. I loved Shooting Fish so much that I even adapted it run in my Edge of the Empire game.


If you're the GM, this is a good book and gives lots of good stories... it also gives a reprint of the characters from Serenity. I actually like the crew sheets from this more so than the ones out of the main book. Having a short section on how to play is also included, and a life saver when at the table... print it out, and have a copy or two on the table. Really helps the new players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Firefly Echoes of War: Thrillin' Heroics
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Firefly: Things Don't Go Smooth
by Walter H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2015 17:06:58

This book is a great addition for the GMs, not so much for the players. The Players should check out Smugglers Guide to the Rim. As a GM, it contains a lot of helpful hints to challenging the players, introducing enemies as well as NPCs.


This book contains a few very interesting antagonists for the party and can introduce a mite heapin' of trouble. The advice on how to "run a crime organization" is awesome and sure to please the GM (and their players). It shows how to make some characters that your PCs are sure to love to hate. Some additional Signature Assets and Encounters are given to help you on your way.


The Rival Crews and Gangs section gives you a good bit of information on creating a crew to be your crews rivals. This helps make your players feel like they are not alone, and gives them someone to compete against. The crews that MWP details are pretty fun, and humorous. I specially love da McCoys.


Enemy Boats gives you plenty of competition and ideas for your own. It gives a number of new Ship Distinctions, Signature Assets and how to create your own, as well as triggers.


I haven't been able to run through the two adventures yet, but they really help clarify the material in the book from my reading them.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Firefly: Things Don't Go Smooth
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Firefly: Smugglers Guide to the Rim
by Walter H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2015 16:55:17

I am so glad to finally get the pdf (I ordered the dead tree version and can't wait to actually see it). I'm very selective of which books I get because money is always limited, and this is a wonderful book to add to the collection. If you can only get one PDF or book other than the Core Book, this is the one!


This has a lot of good information that any player can use, as well as the GM. More Archtypes to add to the list and an interesting new mechanic -- reputation. While I've always had a similar thing in my game, this gives a good rule-set to use and makes it easy to use and understand. More options for your ship also line the pages.


In the end, all I can say is Shiny!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Firefly: Smugglers Guide to the Rim
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Firefly: Smugglers Guide to the Rim
by Matthew T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2015 05:17:40

I'm giving this a five star review, because I think it's a more essential supplement to the Firefly RPG than the previous Things Don't Go Smooth. The main reason for this is the addition of a reputation mechanic that looks like it will be a lot of fun to play. I worried when I read about four "factions" that the 'Verse was going to be divided into "Goodies and Baddies" but I' pleased to see that the factions are shorthand for four loose sets of beliefs, and indeed, the game forbids mention of said factions within the game's fiction, explaining they are tool for operating the GMC side of the Reputation mechanic only.


That said, the book also offers some more archetypes, and extra Distinctions, that riff off the idea of the four factions. All good grist to the mill, and I noted with interest an archetype (with new distinctions) that would have been a great help to one of my players who, when we started, was trying to create a Blue Sun scientist type.


A good part of the book also expands the mapped 'Verse, adding lots of detail to the Kaldisa and Blue Sun sub-systems. I like the approach taken here, not just limiting every idea to the western motif's found in those all-to-few original episodes, but pushing the boundaries and adding colour in a way that leaves plenty of space for each grouso's own take on the 'Verse. There of lots a episode seed ideas in this section.


But there are also two fully written up episodes, one by Margaret Weis and one by industry veteran Greg Stoltz. The Weis one is weaker (in my opinion) - it relies too much on players running the original crew, and doesn't offer much help in adapting it to my player's characters. So for example in hinges of the players doing a mission to save Jayne's Mom. There is NOTHING in my crew's 'verse that their characters (or indeed the players) would love as much as Jayne loves his Mom.


Stolze offers us a meatier scenario in his episode and one that involves two actual game-world Factions, which works to emphasise the difference between such a group in the diagesis and the faction mechanic in the rules. This one of course offers ways to get the Serenity crew involved in the action, but also pages more help about using player generated crews.


All in all, and excellent addition to the game. If you can afford only one, buy this in preference to Things Don't Go Smooth. (Of course, Things Don't Go Smooth is lively too, if you can afford both).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Firefly Interactive Crew and Ship Sheets
by Paxton K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/12/2015 21:40:40

Can't add anything to what Meagan said; but can offer some advise to her and others in the 'Verse.


Traveller RPG has a lot of free ship designs. They are not Firefly ones; but they may give you a place to start, Some of them that have been done by fans are incredible.


The fuel tanks and engines from Traveller are WAY oversized; but I did the math. Traveller ship tonnage is about 1/10 of Firefly's. This may help in doing deck plans. 2,400 tons for Serenity doesn't help much; but Travellers 240 Tons does.


Hope this helps.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Firefly Interactive Crew and Ship Sheets
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cortex Plus Hacker's Guide
by Francis D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2015 16:15:21

At the time the Cortex Plus Hackers' Guide had come out there were three major published games using Cortex Plus; Smallville, Leverage, Marvel Heroic Roleplaying - but the license for both Smallville and Marvel Heroic expired at the same time (Firefly has now been added to the ranks). The Cortex Plus Hackers guide presents generic rules for all three games, plus handfuls of hacks for each of them, showing how to adapt each of the three games to various settings.


The system (or more accurately the family of systems) is fast, light and incredibly evocative as long as the GM is good at thinking under pressure and coming up with random complications at a pacing set by the system. The biggest weakness of the system (or rather systems) are that they are incredibly swingy.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cortex Plus Hacker's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Firefly Role-Playing Game Corebook
by Dan C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/02/2015 10:07:13

Really loving this rule set, nice and simple to understand but flexible enough to do almost anything and open to adaptation. Can't wait to get a crew together and set out into the Black and the wider Verse.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Firefly Role-Playing Game Corebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Lost King - Star of the Guardians Vol. 1
by Erik G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/15/2015 10:52:34

I really liked this book. I thought the entire series was fun and always thought it would make an interesting universe to RPG in.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Lost King - Star of the Guardians Vol. 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dragon Brigade: The Affair of the Orb Adventure
by Walter H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2015 21:33:47

I acquired the Opening Salvo book a long time ago, back well before I picked up Firefly. I was looking for a system that was different from the games like Pathfinder and Savage Worlds I was playing. I fell in love with the system even though I never managed to get a game going other than a one off. For a long time, I was hoping that MWP would come out with the Dragon Brigade RPG. Hopefully this is the next step.


This uses a similar system to Firefly, Leverage, and Smallville. It is a narrative system so it's not crunchy like Pathfinder and games like that. Instead, it's more like everyone is an actor. Because of the loose restrictions, anything is possible. I will be running a group shortly using these rules. I can tell you that it blends the old Cortex Classic System and FATE.


If you've picked up the Opening Salvo, a bit has changed. Unlike in the Opening Salvo, MWP has explained the Character Creation System very well. It doesn't take long to create a character and you can have your players in the action very quickly.


I don't remember Flourish Dice being in Opening Salvo, but they are a welcome addition to the system. If you are familiar with Firefly, these are the Banked Dice.


This book is enough information to get started. It has a little bit of background but could easily expand on it. I won't go into the adventure so I won't spoil it for someone, but I will say it's pretty good.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Brigade: The Affair of the Orb Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Firefly Interactive Crew and Ship Sheets
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/14/2015 07:54:13

These are a very elegant yet simple tool to help you maintain your records. Using the form-filling technology available within PDFs (and using it well!), this download contains a blank character sheet and a blank ship record sheet that you can type on and print out.


It's a lot better than trying to read your handwriting mid-game, it makes it a doddle to update as your character advances or your ship is improved, and - provided you remembered to save a copy after filling it out - you can print them out again and again if someone spills a drink at the gaming table or you keep having to scribble on it to keep track of combat damage and make almost as much of a mess of the sheet as the brawl has done to your character!


The one thing you will still have to do by hand is draw your ship schematics. There's no facility to add a drawing or draw on the space provided on the ship sheet.


Naturally, they can also be used by the Game Master to keep NPC details and ship records in order... and if you have the sort of GM who asks for a copy of your character sheet for plotting purposes between games, why you can print out another one.


It's the sort of useful resource that all game publishers should think about providing - the technology is there so why not use it?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Firefly Interactive Crew and Ship Sheets
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 297 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates