DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Gamescapes: Story Maps: The Crypt Of Darkness
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/12/2010 12:48:21
This entry in the Gamescapes Story Maps line strikes me as a bit less creative than some of the others, although it is highly detailed and beautifully drawn. Like all Gamescapes Story Maps, the crypt was crafted as a whole. This map exhibits almost complete right-left and top-bottom symmetry, the top corners different from the bottom corners (or vice versa) only in the presence of staircases. If you wanted a smaller crypt, there are ways you could trim down the map; for example, if you print only the left, center, or right tiles, you could construct a long, skinny crypt complex. The excellent artwork in this map outstrips the layout, which suffers from repetition.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Gamescapes: Story Maps: The Crypt Of Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gamescapes: Story Maps: Lair Of The Necromancer
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/23/2010 01:03:31
The dark, foreboding mood of these printable dungeon tiles is perfect for the titular necromancer's lair. This product features twelve 8"x8" tiles, but it's not clear to me how the tiles are supposed to fit together to form a 24"x32" battlemap. An overview map or positioning guides (like those found in the "Scaling the Great Dragon" and "Scaling the Undead Dragon" sets) would have been helpful.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Gamescapes: Story Maps: Lair Of The Necromancer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gamescapes Battlemat Terrain: Ice Realm (PDF)
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/22/2010 22:55:47
"Ice Realm" provides you with twelve 8"x8" tiles that you can print and assemble to form a 24"x32" surface of ice or snow. It's not fancy, but it's very useful if your adventure takes PCs to (ant)arctic climes. There's nothing genre-specific here, so you can use the layout in any game. It's a bit hard to get excited about an ice sheet, but Savage Mojo executes the setting well on this printable battlemap.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Gamescapes Battlemat Terrain: Ice Realm (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gamescapes Battlemat Terrain: River Of Souls (PDF)
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/22/2010 22:48:43
When printed out and assembled, the twelve tiles that make up the "River of Souls" form the widest river I've seen in any printable or preprinted terrain set to date. The artwork is very nicely done, and ghostly images give the river a sense of mystery. You can also choose between a square grid and a hex grid. This would be a good addition any DM's printable tile library.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gamescapes Battlemat Terrain: River Of Souls (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gamescapes: Story Maps: Battlemat Terrain, Scaling the Great Dragon
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/22/2010 18:31:51
If you want a set of printable terrain tiles that will allow to run a combat encounter on the back of a reddish-gold dragon, this is the product for you. You can print the tiles with a square grid or a hex grid. The artwork is well-executed, but the setting doesn't really appeal to me that much. This product seems to me one of the less useful entries in the Gamescapes Story Maps line.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Gamescapes: Story Maps: Battlemat Terrain, Scaling the Great Dragon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gamescapes: Story Maps, Sci-fi Set 3
by Jacob W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2010 23:16:02
This map looks great. Kind of like the level design from a top down sci-fi computer rpg game with lush 2D graphics. There is plenty of detail, and objects like computer consoles, space suits, and power...thingys (which will surely serve a purpose in your game). One room kinda looks like it could have a portal/teleporter in it. The only problem for me is that I wish there were more doors on the rooms so that you could put hallways on either side, but most of them have just one door. I also had some questions about the apparent elevators like another reviewer, but it's not really an issue.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gamescapes: Story Maps, Sci-fi Set 3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Savage Suzerain Play Now, For Free (PDF)
by Andrzej P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/07/2010 01:12:28
to nie jest dobra recenzja
to nie jest dobra recenzja
to nie jest dobra recenzja

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Suzerain Play Now, For Free (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gamescapes: Story Maps: Battlemat Terrain, Scaling the Undead Dragon
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/29/2010 01:12:56
Although the artwork in these twelve tiles (repeated twice in the product, one with a square grid and once with a hex grid) does a rather good job of depicting a dragon's scales, I have a hard time envisioning a dragon's back as the site for an extended battle. Somehow, laying down the grid on a dragon's back seems to "freeze" the dragon and turn it into scenery rather than making it a compelling part of the campaign. I suppose if the dragon were asleep or dead (rather than undead), I might could pull it off. I guess if the dragon were alive and kicking, and actually one of the combatants, I would want to see more of its body. This product lets you lay out a 24" x 32" battlemat that's pretty much nothing but scales (I assume the few squares that aren't scales are supposed to be ribs, though if so, they seem kind of small for such a massive dragon). I would gladly trade down to a smaller dragon to have more of its body represented.

A few logistical issues raise additional concerns. Most notably, the product does not include a pattern for fitting the tiles together. Each page does, however, bear a notation about where to put the tile in the overall scheme of things ("row 1, left," for example). As I mentioned above, the overall layout measures 24" x 32", though a typical piece of foam core, on which I and many other gamers like to mount tiles such as these, measures only 20" x 30". It's not that hard to trim the tiles down, though, to fit your surface. On the other hand, many DMs may find themselves with less than the full tile on three out of our sides, leading to great frustration. This potential frustration results from the layout running a full 8" x 8" on an 8.5" x 11" page. If your printer cannot print all the way out to .25" from the edge of the page, you will lose some of the artwork on the right, left, and top of each tile.

The quality of the artwork is a plus for this map, but its limited usefulness (you can't pull this battlemap out more than once a campaign, I would think) and the layout issues diminish my overall enthusiasm for the product.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Gamescapes: Story Maps: Battlemat Terrain, Scaling the Undead Dragon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gamescapes: Story Cards, Pirates Set 4
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/05/2010 00:57:33
More booty for your crew to snaffle! This is good stuff.

Players love getting something to look at not just the piffle that most GMs (myself included) present. Pictures are diffinetly worth a thousand words. Save yourself some time and words and use these cards and let them do your talking for you.

My only gripe on these cards...no descriptions. I love the stories presented with the characters in Pirate set 2 and would really love to see something simiilar...or even just a bare bones discription as some of these devices are unfamiliar to me as they are presented or by the way they are named. What is a celestial sword? and why?

Overall worth the money!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Gamescapes: Story Cards, Pirates Set 4
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gamescapes: Story Cards, Pirates Set 3
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/05/2010 00:50:07
Story cards are a great way to reward your players. I can't wait for them to acquire some booty so I can pull these out.

I have used the SavageMojo Scifi Sets before and my players loved them. There is space with each card to write up each piece. This is great for personalizing each item.

I must admit after having read the stories from Pirate set 2 I wish there had been even a bare bones description for each item (or maybe a more fully fleshed story even). There was no need for the profusion of coinage however. I think it would have been better to present several different currencies and their various denominations than repeats of the same denominations and currencies.

The art is great and overall this is a wonderful product and well worth the price.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Gamescapes: Story Cards, Pirates Set 3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gamescapes: Story Cards, Pirates Set 2
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/05/2010 00:41:50
I have used SavageMojo (Talisman) gamescape story cards before. I and my players like them.

This set has a great story line as well as great characters. Vignettes give the characters and story depth. Character relationships are even covered with a succinct chart for each character.

My only complaint is the art work. I like the art work for the other sets, but the character pictures are done with pastels or pencils and by a person with out a mature skill in this medium.

I'd recommend this set for the stories and characters (it's worth the price) I would not recommend it for the art.

My recommendation to SavageMojo is to redo the art in styles similar to the SciFi set.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Gamescapes: Story Cards, Pirates Set 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gamescapes: Story Cards, Pirates Set 1
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/05/2010 00:22:39
I have used the Sci Fi set of gamescape story cards and pretty much knew what I was getting. My players loved the art and being able to see the devices they were using. Now we are about to start a Privateer campaign and I anticipate a positive response from them when they see the cards from this set.

I love the notes section I can use to bring life to the weapon and personalize it for the different players.

After having read the second set of Pirate story cards I now wish that SavageMojo would create a story or description for each weapon, especially the more unusual ones.

Overall well worth the money.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Gamescapes: Story Cards, Pirates Set 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Suzerain Scrying 9, Gas And Glass
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/09/2009 18:42:29
A new creature that could set a nasty ambush (I'd like to see how this would look for 4e). The setup described in the text seems unlikely to work with ordinarily cautious players - not because they find the clue described in the blurb, it just isn't a feasible location for several other reasons. Some good ideas for further implications out of combat, such as a new healing spell (dropping the Harry Potter-ish name) that could be helpful at low levels in a number of circumstances.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Suzerain Scrying 9, Gas And Glass
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Suzerain Scrying 6, Silk And Steel
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/09/2009 11:11:09
Are you scared of spiders? For if not, you probably will be after visiting this little gem in the Suzerain Scrying series of resources.

Adventurers are faced with a narrow passage, a lot of webs around... place virtually undisturbed save the recently-deceased corpse of an earlier (and unluckier?) adventurer lying in the far corner. The good news is that the spiders visible are regular-sized, not the giant man-eating sort all too often found down a dungeon. Going in?

As well as an atmospheric description, replete with details just waiting for the observant to notice, there is a beautifully-clear explanation of how the webs actually work, how they are used by the resident spiders to their advantage.

The accompanying rules section gives all the details you need, and even if you don't happen to be using the Suzerain ruleset there is enough information that should you like the idea of this dungeon room, it will translate readily to the game mechanics of your choice. There are a few goodies to be found on the corpse by characters who survive long enough to take a look - an interesting mix with plenty of potential for further exploits.

Another of these neat little snippets, which pack a tremendous amount into a few pages, not just stuff you can use straight off but also inspiration for further use and development.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Suzerain Scrying 6, Silk And Steel
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gamescapes: Battlemat Terrain: Desert Steppes
by abraham e. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/08/2009 10:44:28
This is a superior map set for RPGs and miniature games in almost any scale. Although the tiles are supposed to lay out in a specific order, I have found that the maps are really geomorphic and can thus be laid out in almost any fashion.

I have been using the maps for skirmish wargaming in 20MM (1/72 scale), with only minor adjustments.

I have actually bought all the map packs and am heartily satisfied!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gamescapes: Battlemat Terrain: Desert Steppes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 46 to 60 (of 120 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates