DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
INDEX CARD RPG Core 2E
by James S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2018 06:37:49

What jumped out at me the most is how good this RPG would be for introducing people to TTRPGs. The system is reminiscent enough of a board game that peoples minds can make the leap from playing board games to TTRPGs. Mechanics like always being in turn order, having the target number for players rolls clearly displayed and having all character progression bonuses condensed into loot (items) make things easier for new players to pick up. Probably my favourite mechanic is the "effort" system, where any task that takes more than one roll (killing a monster, picking a challenging lock, running an long distance race) is assigned so many "hearts" of effort (each heart being 10 points). You 'attack' this effort with the appropriate skill, succeeding if you beat the clearly displayed target number and getting to 'damage' the effort, gradually reducing it to zero. when you succeed. This unified system that treats monster battles and a negotiation the same, along with the games simple mechanics, means that new players won't be left going "uhhhh... what do I roll to do this" that you see in other systems (5e).

The book itself is very short, stylized and engaging. An entire system, plus adventure seeds, two settings and a bunch of monsters in under 220 pages. Not a burden on prospective players to read. I did find some small issues with the document structure though. In some places mechanics were mentioned but not explained (and no page reference for where they could be found). If you kept reading you would eventually find them but a reference e.g. "SPELL BURN (p.80)", would have been helpful as I kept finding myself searching the page to find where I had missed the explanation.

One thing I do not so much criticize as point out is that this is a devil-may-care system designed for fast paced play. People who enjoy slower and more crunchy systems might not like it as much.

I would highly recommend this to anyone wanting to get their friends into TTRPGs.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core 2E
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

IRON HEART Complete Set [BUNDLE]
by Paul B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/14/2018 00:43:39

Just received my complete Iron Heart bundle today. This is amazing. The fit and finish of these cards are awesome. The art and design from Runehammer is top notch as always. Can't wait to get this to the table.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
IRON HEART Complete Set [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

INDEX CARD RPG Core 2E
by Jimmy S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/11/2018 09:08:46

In my quest to find a great rules-light, but with some nice crunchy edges, and a flexible non-genre specific rules system for one-shots or short campaigns, I really wish I had found ICRPG much sooner! This is simply download, read, and go. Everything I needed all bundled into one nice little package. It even encourages the use of make it your own style house rules; whatever works for you. Perfect way to get the busy lads and lasses from the days of old back into beer and pretzel RPG nights and to teach n00bs and kids the ropes. Keep it coming Runehammer!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core 2E
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

INDEX CARD RPG Core 2E
by Jeff C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/01/2018 12:42:11

We tend to start a lot of rpg reviews by saying the game is impressive and/or outstanding, The Index Card RPG 2nd Edition lives up to that standard and more. It’s not just a remarkable starter game. It’s not just a good generic RPG engine. It’s also packed with unique concepts, print-and-cut minis, and functions as a plugin to other RPG’s. The thing I like the most is- it’s a world designer’s dream come true. It might not be the greatest system ever invented, but it is ridiculously useful.

I can’t remember the last time I was this excited for a new game. Although I was shocked a second edition followed so closely on the heels of the first one, I was pleasantly rewarded once the waiting was over. It reminded me a little bit of opening that certain red box all those years ago. The funny thing is, there really aren’t any startling new concepts, genres or worlds in this game. Originally, when it was first released, I glanced at it, scoffed and moved on. It wasn’t until I downloaded the free QuickStart that I saw how ridiculously flexible the system is and how it could fit with several pre-published worlds.

ICRPG breaks several tried and true game designer rules when it comes to organization and layout. It wastes no time teaching you how to jump right in and make the most of your game using its very simple rules. It threw me off slightly when I went digging for the standard indices of character creation, races, combat, vehicles and spells. While all of those things are there, they are scattered throughout the book, especially the vehicle rules. As a writing teacher once told me, “do it all wrong.” The approach this game has to layout and organization is unique and wonderful. Please, keep it up. I am thankful the PDF is fully indexed and searchable, though.

I like how combat in this game has the potential to be an impeccably bloody affair if the GM so desires. The character death rules are even very well spelled out early on in the book. A solid hit or two from a weapon or monster and you could find your character down for the count. It definitely makes you think before you act.

That brings me to my next point. I love, love, love the turn taking and initiative mechanics in this game. If I come away with nothing else, I’m likely going to adopt this part of ICRPG for many of the other games I run. Not only does it cut down on cross-table chatter, but it makes people think before they act. The other amazing thing is the timer system. This game puts the clock into play for the characters any time the GM deems it necessary and there’s potential for a lot of heart-pounding, intense rounds with timers winding down.

ICRPG tends to be very medieval fantasy/sci-fi oriented. That’s not intended as disrespect, but just an honest statement of fact. Nor is this the time and place for a lengthy debate about whose genre is better. In fact, some of the world’s best, most well played, well loved rpg’s started out this way, or just doing one or the other very well. While the rules allow for kit-bashing almost any genre together, it just doesn’t seem suited very well toward non-magical modern espionage or modern warfare types of games. The skill system, turn-taking and timers work well. But, the combat, classes and loot just don’t seem to mesh with modern style play. Maybe time and effort will prove me wrong (pun intended.)

One other thing I think I would very much like to have seen spelled out in this book is some sort of non-loot-based advancement system. Again, it’s an easy fix. I can port the experience system over from any other number of simple rpg’s. Even the advanced rules in the ICRPG Worlds book seems to miss the boat on this, and I’m not entirely certain why. The advancement system in Worlds was nice, but it could be so much easier just to award some type of experience points.

As-is, ICRPG is loot-centric, which doesn’t work in modern games where gear might be issued by an agency or some far flung perfect utopian society where currency has been rendered all but meaningless and gear can easily be replicated. But in a fantasy setting or some non-Roddenberry sci-fi environment, finding a new magical bauble, spell or alien doodad is perfectly acceptable. Some games, if emulated by ICRPG might have to switch up their magic die and fancy loot for something more skill-based or practical. After all, some gamers like to go non-magical, no psionics, nothing weird or fruity.

Another plug-n-crunch change I’m likely going to use involves character generation. I don’t think I’ll ever see Armor as a basic stat one can readily increase. I’m also throwing out 8 starting points instead of 6 to increase the survivability of some characters. I also want the characters to be more reliant on themselves and their abilities than gathering loot.

The skill system in this game is just ingenious. No long list of skills to look up. No complex cross-referencing. And the best part is- complex skills are a matter of time and skill. Need to decipher a musty tome? It might take a few rounds. Need to disarm a bomb? You’ve got three turns. Better make them count. If it’s reasonable that your character might know what he’s doing, you can roll for it. If not, it might be a Hard roll and only a d4 Effort, but go for it.

Another advantage ICRPG has, as do many simpler games, is the ability to bring in creatures or characters from other games. Monsters convert in mere minutes. Other character classes with GM approval, are a simple matter of starter abilities and loot. Converting a race to your ICRPG bioform takes a description and some vague idea what they’re capable of. Role-playing games like Star Wars, D&D, Mech Warrior, and Deadlands are easily brought in. In fact, there are already examples within the ICRPG book for some of them. Of course, D&D or any other fantasy genre game is pretty easily emulated with ICRPG. A campaign world somewhat similar to Deadlands actually appears in the ICRPG Worlds book (sold separately, but well worth the investment.)

ICRPG is an amazing game to start kids on. I’m pretty sure this is going to be my own kids’ first experiences in role-playing. It’s what I would refer loosely to as a gateway game. If you can grasp the basic concepts of ICRPG, you can move up to any d20 based game easily. It covers the basic concepts of die rolling, skills, combat, gear, minis, and so on so much better than any game I have owned prior to this. I wish I had taken first ed more seriously.

Another thing I would like to point out is that my physical copy of the book came to me printed very poorly. It was lopsided within the binding. I hope this was an isolated incident. However, the nice folks at DrivethruRPG need to be commended for a prompt response and replacement of the book. Awesome job, guys!!!

The last thing I have to show a ton of praise for is the fan base for this game. It reminds me so much of the early days of D&D when a small but devoted cadre of game nerds sprouted up in Lake Geneva WI and blossomed from there to places like Des Moines, IA and all the way to California, and then the rest of the world. ICRPG has a remarkable fan following on Google Plus, Facebook, and even on DrivethruRPG itself. I see new posts every day on Google Plus that reminds me of my enthusiasm of being a new gamer, drawing maps for minis on brown paper grocery sacks in my parents’ dining room. I love the dedication and comradery shown even in the GM section of the book itself. It has brought back the love of the game and what it means for me to be a GM.

Thank you so much for the Second Edition Core Rulebook! You’re doing a great job with this game. Keep up the good work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Deck of 52
by Jacob H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2018 21:06:10

I really love these! I have many of the previous Index Card volumes printed out on plane basic paper and these are so much easier to flip through and sort. The only issue I have is the number of them. I want more... More. More! MOOOOOOAR!!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Deck of 52
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

INDEX CARD RPG Core 2E
by Spencer G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2018 07:41:06

A great resource that's also fun to read. It's so packed full of ideas and advice that it's well worth purchasing even if you've no intention of using the system.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core 2E
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ICRPG Worlds
by Zachary G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2018 09:26:16

Ever bought a setting book or supplemement and been so excited to crack it open, only to discover an hour later that under all the maps of places no player will ever care about and paragraphs of lore trivia no player will ever know, you've bought about 3 total pages of table-ready ideas?

This is the complete opposite of that. It's ALL table-ready content. Nothing but the good stuff.

Are you still here? Must buy, Regardless of whether you own the ICRPG Core book or even intend to ever run ICRPG. Are you a DM of tabletop games? Buy it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ICRPG Worlds
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

INDEX CARD RPG Core 2E
by Nicolas W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2018 11:30:35

Simple but not limited rpg book, finaly a book that i can use to improve my dming. ^^

The writher is very dedicated to his work, there is a great community around his creation (https://plus.google.com/u/0/communities/113794869422304907451 , https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCCh5vto8JFstb9Sma9zV25g) , if you decide to buy this book you won't regret it. But, if still you hesitate just dawnoald the free quickstarter. ^^



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core 2E
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

INDEX CARD RPG Deck of 52
by Chris M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/18/2018 07:37:40

These cards are great. My daughter and I love the artwork ,and she loves playing card games. We both love the role-play / story-telling aspect as well. I highly recommend this deck.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Deck of 52
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

INDEX CARD RPG Core 2E
by Samuel S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/13/2018 15:58:06

A very fun and fast-paced D20 system. Great for New and Old Players who get bored with the long turns and complicated systems of other TTRPGs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core 2E
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Heroes of the Hammer
by Manuel T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/21/2018 11:38:35

I always enjoy the art of the Runehammer products, and this one in color… wow, so cool! Here you have a fistful of great characters, with inspirational backgrounds and system agnostic stats, so you can use them with any fantasy setting. The portraits and tokens to use with the VTT of your choice are very handy and I can’ wait to use them in my games. Another great work from Runehammer.

PS: I miss more female characters!! Maybe in Vol. 2??



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes of the Hammer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Heroes of the Hammer
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/16/2018 16:22:51

Great set of PCs or NPCs for your fantasy RPG. I like that the characters are portrayed in a general sense with suggestions for typical ability score modifiers so that you can adapt each hero or antihero, as it were, to the rule system of your choice be it ICRPG, 5E, DCC, etc. I know the general description approach may turn some people off, but if you're playing something like 5E it would be easy to take one of the NPC stat blocks and then apply and modify to the characters in this supplement (e.g., veteran stat block for Eric of Englemoor and then modify according to the suggestions). The art accompanying each of the heroes is great, and I'm not easily swayed by digital art.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes of the Hammer
by matthew j. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/07/2018 14:18:40

A fabulous product. Informative while still being evocative. I would like to see many products like this. Even if you do not use these as Player Characters, any DM would find these useful as NPCs in there games. Great layout and art only make the product even better.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes of the Hammer
by Lon P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/07/2018 11:44:20

The artwork really sets a great tone for adventure gaming. The stories and stats behind the characters make them come alive. I'm already evil-laughing like a fiend as I plot NPC shenanigans--and I'm only half way through the book!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ICRPG Worlds
by Lon P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/07/2018 11:35:44

So worth every penny. Adds a solid handful of new stuff for players then jumps right into the meat of building worlds and adventures. A well-thought out design helps keep things terse but memorable in each entry throughout the 3 DIFFERENT worlds presented.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ICRPG Worlds
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 139 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates