DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Hex Kit: Desktop App
by Matt A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/01/2018 10:15:26

The program is super easy to use. Within 5 minutes I was making the exact map I needed. The aesthetic of it sets it apart from any other hex program i've used. Can't recommend it enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hex Kit: Desktop App
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hex Kit + 2 Tile Sets (Collection)
by Markus D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/05/2017 01:49:41

These tiles are beautiful ( 5 stars), and the editor is very helpful especially as you can import hexes from other publishers and I also love the random map creator. There is ONE DOWNSIDE, though: the random map creator creates a map only on the base layer and so you can't move this layer up or down. But with GIMP or PHOTOSHOP you still can work around that "error" - it just takes additional time. When this feature gets fixed it will be perfect. Absoulutely recommended, even with random map basic layer fault a 5star rating!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hex Kit + 2 Tile Sets (Collection)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hex Kit: Desktop App
by Donald W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/12/2017 08:30:09

Works like a charm, and lots of fun to use! Has hundreds of hand-drawn tiles, with add-on packs for more colors & styles. Randomly generate a quick map for tonight's RPG, or "paint" with tiles of a selected type, or even pick out each hex by hand. Has layers so terrain features like roads and settlements can be added to the DM's map while hidden from players, even fog of war so players can be shown a limited selection of the map during play. One slight negative: the hex tiles are drawn vertically to show off the art, so there's no option to make maps with flat-topped hexes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hex Kit: Desktop App
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Do Not Let Us Die In The Dark Night Of This Cold Winter
by Sebastián P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/02/2017 10:10:46

It is a very fun game. We use to play it as its very own game. Easy to set up and it has some very interesting happenings.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Do Not Let Us Die In The Dark Night Of This Cold Winter
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Do Not Let Us Die In The Dark Night Of This Cold Winter
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/26/2016 02:14:04

A few decades ago it seemed like every game had some mini-game type mechanics to handle situations outside the regular scope of the game. Lately more games have their scope so narrow that their mechanics are close to those mini-games of the past. Take that to its natural conclusion, and you get Don't Let Us Die. A supplement that can be used with any game, and adds mechanics for the PCs to help a desperate village survive a harsh winter. While it delivers on its premise without dazzling, it's in its auxillary content it excels.

The first two chapters sets up the situation. Winter is hard, a village is in need, and the PCs are the solution. The supplement lays out the ground work for how this situation could arise. It gives attention to both the mechanical and roleplaying side; showing how to immerse the players into what is basically a dry numbers game.

In the second chapter, it falters somewhat. It begins by stating that there is only one unbreakable rules, then follows by describing two. One of which is that all players must now all the rules perfectly. It might be a simple game, but still; pretty harsh for an unbreakable rule.

Live and let die To survive winter, the players and village must survive a set number of rounds. Each round is divided into steps. Here food, fuel and medicine is found and consumed, and people starve, freeze and cough to death. Pretty harsh. The rules demand you track certain aspects of the village, but nothing too complicated. A round might be a week or a month; a "person" might be a household. It is all very flexible. Frankly, even though the supplement assumes a gritty, medieval fantasy setting, you could easily use this for a mining colony on an asteroid, low on energy, air and water.

The mini-game itself is streamlined and simple, but I do miss some more talk about how roleplaying could fit into it. That is what sets this apart from a dry board game. For instance, I could see myself having this run in the background of a campaign, having rolls being made at the end of each session.

The beauty of winter The next three chapters contain as assortment of tools for the mini-game. This is where the real gold is! The game sheets made for tracking the village's situation and resources are superb. There are also several tables of random events that could easily spark an entire session of play. Some of the creativity here is worth the supplement alone, which makes it even odder that roleplaying gets so little emphasis earlier in the supplement.

Finally there are map tools and tiles, suitable for constructing your own village. Again, beautiful work. Overall, the quality of the art and design of the supplement is amongst the best this year. Not because of any costly art work, but rather thematic and purposeful illustrations. Its black and white illustrations of crosses, leafless trees and wooden hovels, really enhances the feel of the entire product.

In many ways, this product sells itself short. It might not seem that interesting given the limited application of its mechanics. There is more than meets the eye. The tables, maps and illustrations are very useable for those that want some tools and inspirations for their depressing, little village. And when winter finally does come, you have the mechanics waiting.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hex Kit: Fantasyland Utilities Tileset
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/14/2016 12:21:43

Great work as always. Very useful to have these additional tiles to get the job done.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hex Kit: Fantasyland Utilities Tileset
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hex Kit: Fantasyland Tileset
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/19/2016 10:39:19

A very consistent product, given that it's hand-drawn, with enough variation in common tile types that I don't feel I'm repeating too often. Coasts are just bonkers, I've had to use three monitors to transcribe a map-- one with the new map, one with the old, and one with all the coast tiles! There are a few things I would've liked out of this edition and a few more that I'm looking forward to in the next.

I'll start with the next-edition territory first. I think it goes without saying that the dynamic coast tiles are the most interesting part of this pack. I would be very interested to see that system extended to the Mountains and Hill tilesets especially, but Mushroom, Crystal, and Volcano tilesets as well. I'd also like to see road tiles in the same vein as this edition's river tiles. Multiple styles -- cobblestone, dirt, asphalt, major, minor, etc. would greatly enhance the usability of the existing tilesets.

In this edition, my complaints are almost entirely related to the consistency of tileset construction. While some tilesets incorporate bare-background tiles, some of the more complex tilesets like forests, hills, and mountains do not include these tiles. For some of the more complex coastal tiles, it's essentially impossible to attractively represent a coastal forest. Riparian forests are similarly affected, as are rivers in hilly areas. Coastal jungles are right out, except on the most simple coastal tiles.

But those are really my only gripes with what is, taken in its totality, a fantastic tileset which absolutely exceeds my (admittedly measured) expectations. It's an absolute steal for $10. Here's hoping the next edition is as fantastic.

As a side note for Roll20 users, these tiles are 2 units wide so you'll need to adjust your grid spacing accordingly to get them to line up properly.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hex Kit: Fantasyland Tileset
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
This is a great review! I\'ve jotted down some notes from your review on things to include in the first \"booster\" pack to this kit. Roads are coming in a free \"utility pack\" any day in one style, but further styles could definitely be included in the future. This upcoming utility pack also includes a handful of blank (color only) hexes that you can use to bolster those coastal situations. Thanks again!
Hex Kit: Fantasyland Tileset
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/17/2016 19:27:04

Do you want to make cool maps that look like you drew them yourself? Would you like it to be about as easy as playing with Legos? This is the product for you. The recommendation is to use GIMP, but I got pretty good results in MapTool (turned off "Snap to Grid" and just laid things in the Background free-hand). This is worth every penny and then some.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hex Kit: Fantasyland Tileset
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2016 12:26:50

Every single hex is lovingly crafted in a delightful art style. It's hard to make a map that's not beautiful with these.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hex Kit: Fantasyland Tileset
by Richard G. J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/08/2016 21:10:13

Great kit! Exactly what it says on the tin. A little fiddly to work with, but I have very limited graphic skills and in less than half an hour I can throw together hexes that look great.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates