DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
by Joey M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/25/2010 13:03:33

Great game. One of the best resources for using unisystem in any setting. This too me is what WOD tried to do.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ghosts of Albion
by Joey M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/25/2010 13:00:39

This game is awesome. One of my favorite applications of cinematic unisystem. While the game is set in Victorian England it could be used for a lot of different applications. The magic system is one of the best for a cinematic feel. Its great to find a game where players can play all manor of supernatural and strange character types (mages, vampires, ect) while still being balanced.

Although I picked up and printed out the entire book if the book comes out in print I'm picking it up too.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ghosts of Albion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Armageddon the End Times
by Diogo S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/21/2010 20:46:07

Great setting, also this edition covered all the problems of the first edition (like missing text, repeated paragraphs and reference page to non-existent pages). Also, a GREAT SETTING.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Armageddon the End Times
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Enemies Archived
by Diogo S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/21/2010 20:44:29

An essential book for anyone playing Armageddon. Each monster has a text helping the GM how to create encounters plus a lot of really, really nasty monsters (the eating bullet comes to mind).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Enemies Archived
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

City of Heroes RPG Quickplay Pack
by Ronald W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/24/2009 08:31:53

The unisystem mechanics work very well for a super hero based gamed. I am looking forward to seeing the final product.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
City of Heroes RPG Quickplay Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Buffy RPG Revised Corebook
by William H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/15/2009 12:11:20

The Revised Core Rulebook is a fully realized RPG in a single volume. The supplemental materials in other products are just that, supplemental. The core mechanic is 1d10 + Stat + Skill +Difficulty Mods for 8+, human stats run 1-6. The game mechanics are tailored well to the style of play; fast, furious, and cinematic. Further, compatibility with the Angel RPG means that more of the buffyverse is available. Sadly, Eden no longer is developing new material for either line. That said, the game is clearly written, simple to play, has both template and custom-build options for character generation, and addresses strongly the needs of running a game that feels like the Buffyverse. There is one hitch, which I found as a player: The GM rolls no dice. That's right, it takes the approach that the GM doesn't roll to hit, the player rolls to dodge, instead. The combat mechanics work quite well, in part because of this, and in part in spite of this. Combat is fast, brutal, and works well both in narrative mode and with minis. Should you go on to expand with the other books in the Buffy line, the tone is consistent. You can also expand with Angel, Army of Darkness, and Terra Primate easily, or with Full Unisystem games as well. • Bottom line: Best licensed game I've played.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Buffy RPG Revised Corebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fields of Blood: The Book of War
by Cameron S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/05/2009 18:09:23

I bought this book at the current DriveThru price of USD7.50 and at that price it was very good value for money. Having now read through it I think USD10-15 would in fact be reasonable.

I bought this book for a specific purpose - I run a fantasy rpg PBP ( http://rpol.net/game.cgi?gi=33805&date=1254758160 ) and as it grows I had a need for a system to help me run the politics and larger combats which take place in the background.

I spent a while reading reviews of many systems and eventually settled on this for several reasons: a. It contains BOTH resource management and mass combat in one book b. The resource management scales down to fairly small settlements which is what I need - not huge empires c. It has a strong medieval feel d. The rules, although they are d20-based, are clearly-explained and were easy to adapt to the system I am using (Dragon Warriors) e. Price is reasonable - some of the games I looked at weigh in at USD40 just for one part of the system f. The rules for mass combat do not require masses of miniatures or cards - and there are even optional simplified rules for determining the result of a combat without playing it out in detailed.

Once I bought the product I was pleased at its depth, presentation and layout. Although some of the rules are fairly detailed, there are always lots of examples which help clarify everything.

Another handy feature is that the authors take pains to point out certain rules and multiplier factors which can be tweaked to give the game a different flavour or pace.

The only reason that I don't give this 5 stars is that I have not yet playtested the combat part of the rules, which are about 2/3 of the book - however I have run some experiments and they seem to fit in nicely.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fields of Blood: The Book of War
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Angel Corebook
by Timothy B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/01/2009 12:06:37

Eden's captures the feel of the TV show perfectly and like the show is much better than it's more famous sister. What makes this game shine in additiion to the wonderful Cinematic Unisystem Rules are the demon creation rules. Now any sort of demon can be created for use in your game.

Play it as is or as any type of modern supernatural horror drama.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Angel Corebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Abomination Codex
by Timothy B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/30/2009 20:48:07

If you are a fan of C.J. Carella's WitchCraft then this is a must have book. If you are a fan of his work in GURPS Voodoo, then this is a must have book.

AC extends WitchCraft to include True Immortals, Ferals (the Weres) and the various servants of the Mad Gods. We also get a little voodoo in the form of the Covenant of Legba.

Crunch wise we get some new skills, qualities and some weapons. There are also a new branch of metaphysics, the Lesser Keys of Solomon and Voodoo.

Not required for WitchCraft (it is still a great game all on it's own) this book does enhance it quite a bit. I of course think it is a must-have for any game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Abomination Codex
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
by Michael K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2009 11:19:17

This is a great game. I love the concept (witches fighting evil essentially, not exactly like Charmed or anything) which is very well written. The game runs on Eden's Uni-System which serves it's purpose in a workman-like fashion. Nothing fancy, but it gets the job done. There something very '90's about the game to me, it was born out of the same end-of-the-millenium anxiety as the Original World of Darkness, Buffy, Charmed, The Craft, etc. It has a real vibe about it that way. There are supplements for game, but you can play straight out of this book and never miss them. Just a great combination of setting, concept, and a solid mechanical system.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Magic Box
by Michael K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2009 09:09:26

Much like the Slayers Handbook, which focused on slayers this book takes a character type and expands it - namely practitioners of magic. Presents the usual mix of character and setting options with a focus on magic. Also presents new archetypes. Not strictly necessary, but well worth the money if you have interest in expanding magic in your Buffy game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Magic Box
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Slayer's Handbook
by Michael K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2009 09:01:34

An extension of the BtVS RPG that introduces new player options and archetypes, and generally expands your game. Is it absolutely necessary? Not really, you can play without it, but is very well done and the options presented are solid in my opinion. I think it's well worth having.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Slayer's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Monster Smackdown
by Michael K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2009 08:51:00

This extension of the Buffy RPG is essentially a monster manual, and a really good one at that. It does a nice job explaining the nature of the monsters and how they fit into the Buffyverse. I also like the fact that they included monsters not seen on the show so you have a little something to surprise players with. Very well done.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Smackdown
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Buffy RPG Revised Corebook
by Michael K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2009 08:41:50

I like Buffy, you like Buffy, we all like Buffy. On TV anyway, but what about the roleplaying game? It's really pretty good, which surprised me a little as I've got little to no faith in "media tie-in" products. This game does a great job handling the Buffyverse material and turning it into a playable setting. I didn't read any of the character write-ups from the show that I thought seemed to not fit. It does use Eden's Uni-System so if you don't like the Uni-System you may not like this product. I strangely have no particular feelings about the Uni-System which is wierd as I usually have pretty strong feelings about mechanics. I think of it the same way I think of later D&D editions - it's there and it works, but I'm neither overly excited or under excited by it. Overall this is an excellent TV based RPG, and it can be used as a somewhat generic (it will still obey the metaphysics of the Buffyverse) monster hunting game if you want to ignore Buffy and friends.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Buffy RPG Revised Corebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
by Marcus G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2009 15:50:34

I've had this PDF on my hard drive for some time and have just never gotten around to taking a look at it. The PDF is original digital, so it's a perfect copy. Unfortunately there are no bookmarks and it is locked so that you cannot add any. Otherwise, it's flawless.

The system is very simple and to the point. It does not get bothered about the fine specifics of combat; just covers what you need to know and moves on. The magic system is similarly simple.

It seems to approach witchcraft from a viewpoint closer to reality (than Awakening), in that the mages are just people and not children of gods or the like. They are just gifted with the ability to shape aspects of reality. The dangerous nature of the magic is also an improvement over Awakening.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 76 to 90 (of 136 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates